Customer reviews: Holidays in The Bernese Oberland

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mr Shore on 25/02/2016

***#.
The weather throughout the Alps this season has been too warm, so as a result the snow in the cross-country areas is fairly poor. At Kandersteg some of the more interesting valley skiing was closed. However Kandersteg has the advantage that - in addition to the valley skiing - there is some high (2000 m) cross-country skiing at Sunnbuel which is accessed by cable car. When we skied at Sunnbuel it was very quiet and we felt like polar explorers! The valley skiing is less extensive than at Leutasch or Dobbiaco, but this also means it attracts fewer people, meaning the trails are quiet. The hotel Alfa Soleil is old-fashioned, in keeping with the whole village which is sleepy and - like the trails - quiet. Although it is on the 'main' road, there is hardly any traffic and it is very quiet at night. The food at Alfa Soleil was good, including the vegetarian options. The restaurant has a good selection of local wines. The service was excellent - in the restaurant, at reception and also the housekeeping. In fact the housekeepers were more thorough than I can remember at any other hotel - even tidying disorganised pairs of shoes for us! The owner, Peter, provided a warm welcome and was available throughout the week for help and advice. We paid a supplement for a junior suite and I'm glad we did - the basic rooms are small.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mrs Best on 22/02/2016

***#.
Kandersteg is a picturesque spot. Unfortunately the snow was not as good as in previous years in Austria and Italy. It meant that I didn't feel that I had done as much skiing as in the past, however I still had a lovely holiday. The ski instructor --Stephan-- was excellent. Good spacious twin room at this hotel for single occupancy. That is good when they feel the need to charge a single supplement.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mr Munro on 22/02/2016

*****
Kandersteg and its mountain setting made for a glorious winter holiday offering ua a mix of cross country skiing and winter walking in the high Alps. All in the knowledge you are returning to a very comfortable hotel with delicious meals and a lovely welcome always

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mr Summers on 17/02/2016

***#.
The resort was small with limited skiing available (we accept the weather was a factor but the skiing was limited even with good snow). The hotel staff were exemplary but our bedroom was small and tired. The resort lacked atmosphere and energy. Without the cake shop/cafe it would have been a disaster. Fortunately we were with friends we had met on an earlier Headwater holiday! Having to pay for the sauna and for tap water at table was an irritation!

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mrs Welling on 27/03/2015

*****
The family who run Alfa Soleil couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. The food was of an amazing standard. Hotel is a little walk from town centre but quiet with lovely views.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mrs Lynn on 03/02/2015

*****
We really enjoyed our week in Kandersteg. Lucky to have blue skies for much of the week we could make the most of the winter walking and cross-country skiing trails and also the extra activities of the Belle Epoque week during our stay. The hotel was friendly and comfortable and has a sauna and swimming pool in the basement, ideal for soothing any aching muscles after a day of activity. There were few other UK guests there in that week but we found some of the other guests from Switzerland and Germany friendly and happy to practice their English in conversation with us.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Ms Wilson on 24/02/2014

*****
As this was my first activity holiday alone, and in a country that I have not previously visited, the security of knowing all the arrangements had been made for me was a great pleasure. The hotel and village were particularly quiet during the week I chose but this meant very personal attention during the cross-country skiing lessons!

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mrs Bullock on 14/03/2013

*****
At the last minute we had to change our holiday plans because a shoulder injury prevented me from cross country skiing. Both yourselves and the hotel owner were very helpful in suggesting walks and activities we could do from this location.We had a fantastic time and would recommend Kandersteg as a lovely location for all the family. The food at the hotel was exceptional and the scenery stunning.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Dr Hamilton on 17/04/2012

***#.
Good holiday, unusually warm weather made skiing a little difficult

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Dr Ferguson on 18/02/2012

*****
Excellent holiday - slightly abrupt hotellier but wonderful staff and excellent food made up for it- room a little old fashioned needed updating especially the sound proofing or take the batteries out of your hearing aids

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mrs Bence on 18/02/2012

*****
Relaxing and enjoyable ski-ing; lovely location but slightly outdated hotel although the owners/staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mrs Burchfield on 10/02/2012

*****
Very good holiday, which we enjoyed enormously.