Feefo - Independent reviews
  Contact Us

Request a Brochure | Newsletter

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

1-800-267-3347

Email us
  • Holiday type
    Self-guided walking
  • Duration
    8 nights
  • Accommodation
    hotel-to-hotel
    and
  • Activity level
  • From $2649per person, tour only
  • Departures
    Selected Mondays from 23 Mar '20 to 26 Oct '20
  • What your holiday price includes
  • 8 nights hotel-to-hotel accommodation in a mix of and hotels
  • All breakfasts
  • Management by your local Headwater-appointed agent
  • Route directions and maps
  • Standard transfers at the start/end of the trip (if booking inclusive flights)
  • Luggage transfers between hotels
  • GPX files
  • Walking transfers
  • Optional Upgrades
  • Room upgrades and extra nights at selected hotels
  • City break add-ons in Naples
  • Excellent choice for
  • Flora & fauna, art & history, swimming opportunities, couples, coastal routes, island exploring


For 2020 departures our trip inclusions are changing - please contact us for full details

      from 66 reviews

Mrs Ajder says...
This holiday was a wonderful way to enjoy not only the the Amalfi coast but also the villages we walked through in 'real' Amalfi. Paths into countryside ...
Read reviews »

Italy: The Bay of Naples

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

  • Emerald seas, plunging gorges, balcony views of Vesuvius brooding on the horizon
  • Vertical landscape of pastel villages clinging to dramatic hillsides
  • Stunning walking trails through lemon groves, olive trees and vines; swimming possibilities most days
  • Stay in elegant Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento
  • Option to visit the enchanted isle of Ischia, Capri or fascinating Pompeii

This ever-popular self-guided walking holiday explores the Sorrentine peninsula below the gracious crescent of the Bay of Naples. Travelling at your own pace, you'll combine the elegance of eternal favourites like Ravello, Positano and Sorrento with discoveries most travellers never make such as farmers harvesting olives, fishermen crouched over brightly painted boats mending their nets and the bird's eye view of the entire peninsula from the Path of the Gods above Positano.

From Ravello, whose exotic formal gardens at Villa Rufolo and Villa Cimbrone seem to float ethereally between sea and sky, your route takes you first to Positano's chic pastel houses and enticing pebble beach. It's then on to Marina del Cantone, and the hidden shingle coves few visitors ever find. Finally you reach cliff-top Sorrento. With balcony views over Vesuvius, it's a great base to visit Pompeii or Herculaneum by train, or Capri or Ischia by boat.

You stay at carefully picked hotels throughout your Amalfi Coast walking trip. They range from a family-run clifftop hotel with stunning sea views in Amalfi, to an elegant 4 star hotel in Sorrento overlooking the panorama of the Bay of Naples. Dinners are either taken at the hotel, or at one of the many fine local restaurants. Lunch options are varied and include picnics in panoramic locations or a trattoria lunch, perhaps delicious mozzarella, grilled vegetables and fresh fish from the sea.



We're here to help

If you have any questions about this holiday call our sales team on 1-800-267-3347, use our live webchat or email usa@exodustravels.com

Day-by-day itinerary

Walking information

This holiday follows stone steps, coastal paths and some forest trails. You need to be a reasonably fit and confident walker, as the frequent ascents and descents, particularly on the coastal paths, make this a more demanding holiday than the distances suggest. On day 3 guests with a fear of heights may have problems with certain sections. Walkers with knee problems may have difficulty descending the stone steps and walking poles are strongly recommended.




We're here to help

If you've any questions about this holiday call our sales team on 1-800-267-3347 , or email usa@exodustravels.com

Day 1: Arrive in Amalfi

Arrive at your gorgeous 4 star hotel in Amalfi. There's time for a dip in the swimming pool, offering stunning views, before dinner (Pay locally for dinner).
You stay at the Hotel Miramalfi (breakfast included)

Day 2: Exploring Ravello 10km/6.5mi/3.5hr

A 20 min bus ride (pay locally) to picture perfect Ravello where your walk begins. Time to view the famous Villa Rufolo and Greta Garbo's legendary retreat, Villa Cimbrone, before descending through citrus groves to Torre dello Ziro (the Saracen watchtower inspired Webster's Duchess of Malfi), then along panoramic terraces, to enter the Valley of the Mills (a testament to Amalfi's mediaeval paper industry).
You stay at the Hotel Miramalfi (breakfast included)

Day 3: Amalfi/Bomerano to Positano 11km/7mi/4hr

We will drop you off in Bomerano to begin today's walk which takes you along the Path of the Gods, the region's most famous walk offering views all the way along the peninsula, with Capri's famous Faraglioni cliffs marking 'land's end'. There's a choice of picnic spots with stunning views as you continue onwards past lemon groves and brigands' treasure troves to Nocelle. Then it's down through lush terraces to the vertical pastel town of Positano and your hotel in the historic centre.
You stay at the Casa Albertina (breakfast included)

Day 4: At Positano

Positano's wide pebble beach is perfect for a lazy day, but if you fancy exploring further afield there's a pleasant walk to Fornillo Bay with its twin Saracen watchtowers. Boat excursions to discover coral lined sea grottoes, as well as trips to the magical mediterranean island of Capri, are available in the harbour.
You stay at the Casa Albertina (breakfast included)

Day 5: Positano to Marina del Cantone 12km/7.5mi/4.5hr or 15km/9.5mi/5hr

We take you into the hills near Fontanelle (30 mins) from where you wind through olive trees as you climb gently to Sant'Agata. There are balcony views - making this a fantastic picnic stop - of Capri, Procida and the Li Galli islands, once considered to be the home of the mythical sirens who lured sailors onto the rocks. A paved lane finally leads you down past geranium-decked houses to the small fishing resort of Marina del Cantone.
You stay at the Taverna del Capitano (breakfast included)

Day 6: At Marina del Cantone (Optional 6km/4mi/2.5hr)

You'll be tempted to linger in this pretty little village with its pebble beach lapped by incredibly azure waters, but it's a shame to miss out on our optional walk on the gorgeous Jeranto Bay. There are sea views throughout as you climb to the Montalto Tower, perched on its 100m-high cliff-top outcrop with a truly fabulous panorama over Marina del Cantone and the Li Galli islands. You then descend through olive groves and olive growers' dwellings to an atmospheric ancient limestone quarry, with great sea views, before a final ascent back to your hotel.
You stay at the Taverna del Capitano (breakfast included)

Day 7: Marina del Cantone to Sorrento 7km/4.5mi/3hr or 8km/5mi/3.5hr

We give you a lift (15 mins) to Termini from where you wind through olive groves with ever-opening views over the Bay of Naples and its islands, Capri, Ischia and Procida. It's well worth the detour to lovely little Annunziata to visit its pretty Aragonese castle for wonderful views. It's then on to bustling, pastel-coloured Sorrento, with its enchanting gardens, maze of narrow streets and stunning views over to Vesuvius.
You stay at the Hotel Continental (breakfast included)

Day 8: In Sorrento

Staying at your 4 star hotel panoramically overlooking Mount Vesuvius, you're ideally placed to visit Naples or one of its islands, such as Ischia or Capri, by hydrofoil. Alternatively the historical sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum can be visited using the excellent Circumvesuviana Railway.
You stay at the Hotel Continental (breakfast included)

Day 9: Leave Sorrento


Where you stay

During your holiday you stay at the following hotels. If you'd like to extend your time at any of these or, if you'd like to enhance your stay with an upgraded room, just let us know at the time of booking.

To find out more call our sales team on 1-800-267-3347, use our live webchat or email usa@exodustravels.com


Find out more on the hotel website.
Read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Hotel Miramalfi, Amalfi

Swimming Pool IconHair dryer iconNEARBY:

Owned and family-run by the Mansi family since the hotel was built back in 1956, you can be assured a warm welcome and attentive service. Just an 8 minute stroll from Amalfi's main piazza, the hotel boasts spectacular views along the Amalfi coast and has excellent facilities including a restaurant, swimming pool, private beach (accessible via stairs or a lift carved into the cliff), bar with terrace and spacious public lounge area. The Angolino snack bar is located close to the bathing area and pool and is open during high season, from 13:00 until 14:30, serving seafood, grilled meat and traditional Napolitano-style, thick-crust pizzas baked in a wood-burning oven.

Rooms all have either a balcony or terrace with stunning views out to sea. They are beautifully furnished and designed using traditional Italian ceramic tiling in Vietri green and turquoise to complement the sea views. The rooms offer all the standard modern conveniences such as air-conditioning, minibar, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, safe as well as comfortable rattan chairs. .


Room upgrades: Superior with a Sea View.


Extra nights: Please contact us for details.


Find out more on the hotel website.
Read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Casa Albertina, Positano

Hair dryer iconNEARBY:

This small and friendly hotel has just 19 rooms - all are ensuite with balcony. Originally a private villa, it boasts a unique setting on the hillside overlooking Positano. The rooms are a refreshing mix of whitewashed or pastel coloured walls with the local ceramic floor tiles, which lend the rooms a cosy yet Mediterranean atmosphere. Breakfast is taken either in the rustic dining room or on the terrace overlooking the Gulf of Salerno. This lovely view can also be enjoyed from the two roof terraces.


Room upgrades: Superior Terrace Sea View.


Extra nights: Please contact us for details.


Find out more on the hotel website.
Read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Taverna del Capitano, Marina del Cantone

Hair dryer icon

The Taverna del Capitano has been in the Caputo family for over 3 generations. Built on the site of a former fisherman's cottage, the hotel has an enviable location, overlooking Marina del Cantone's shingle beach and the azure Mediterranean waters beyond.

Please note your stay at the Taverna del Capitano will be on a BB basis.


Find out more on the hotel website.
Read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Hotel Continental, Sorrento

Swimming Pool IconHair dryer icon

Situated in a pretty piazza in the very heart of Sorrento, the 4 star Hotel Continental benefits from superb views over Vesuvius. The comfortable bedrooms are all ensuite and with balcony, and feature the local Vietri tiles for which the region is renowned. The hotel boasts excellent facilities including a sparkling outdoor pool and jacuzzi set amongst tranquil gardens, and 2 stylish and modern bars - one with an external terrace looking out over the stunning backdrop of the Bay of Naples. Massages are also possible on request.


Room upgrades: Terrace and Side Sea View.

Extending your stay

If you'd like to extend your trip with extra nights at the start or end, or if you'd like to arrange a stop off point en-route, then we recommend the following hotels.


Read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Hotel Il Convento, Naples

Hair dryer icon

Il Convento is located just a few minutes' walk away from the Via Toledo shopping area and ten minutes away from the famous Piazza Plebiscito and Castel dell'Ovo. It is ideally situated for a long weekend break or a short stopover.

The hotel dates back to the 1600s and has been tastefully converted to make the most of its original features. There's a cosy feel to all the rooms, with exposed brickwork walls and breakfast served by candle light!

Travel

Transfers can be arranged at a supplement from Naples Capodichino airport at 10:20, and back to Naples Capodichino airport at 07:00.

Call now to speak to our specialist team at 1-800-267-3347 or email us at usa@exodustravels.com for enquiries or to book your trip.

Reviews

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted to our website, so that people can make an informed decision based on past experiences before heading off on holiday. We don’t edit the reviews, the only thing we do is proofread them and alter any typos, where necessary, to ensure they are easy to read for everyone. All reviews will be published (except in certain extreme circumstances), and a member of the Headwater team will respond to any constructive criticisms/comments under the reviews, at their discretion. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.


Mrs Ajder, 29/09/2019

This holiday was a wonderful way to enjoy not only the the Amalfi coast but also the villages we walked through in 'real' Amalfi. Paths into countryside abundant with food being grown, not only lemon and olive groves but grapes, tomatoes, kiwi fruits and all sorts of beans and other veg. Staying two nights in every location allowed time to explore these beautiful towns and take a trip to Pompeii. Consider staying in Naples for a couple of extra nights.


Mrs Martin, 22/09/2019

Great to see an area on foot with sufficient down time to explore independently.

Stress free baggage transfer between accommodation aiding an enjoyable experience


Dr Green, 15/09/2019

This was probably the best holiday we have had with Headwater out of the four we have experienced. One of those was in Tuscany. What we liked was the accurate grade of and types of walks and the well situated hotels - within easy access to the main towns/cities. The first and last hotels - Miramalfi and Continental were accurately starred and very comfortable. The Grand Hotel Continental in particular we found outstanding in quality and service. Our decision to stay another night was the right one as we were able to get round and visit the different sights. We were disappointed with the Hotel California. Although the bedroom was spacious with an excellent view (though the bathroom could have been cleaner) we found the service lacking - a three star hotel with a two star service (the family appeared inexperienced in relation to customer service). There were no lounge areas to relax - we had to spend any time at the hotel in our room. Hotel Punta Campanella was the only hotel were we had half board. We don’t think this was necessary as there were a number of good restaurants close by. Others in the party who stayed at Taverna De Capitano enjoyed the local tavernas at a reasonable cost. We found the restaurant pretentious and the offer of a three course meal was unnecessary. If we were to do this trip again happy to stay in the same hotel without half board package. We did not meet Anna we forgot to attend the meeting. We made contact -she was unable to meet us.


Mr Shah, 27/06/2019

We did the Amalfi coast walking holiday in the first week of June. Just about made it before it gets too hot. The hikes in Ravello and Path of Gods were stunning and every bit met and exceeded expectations. Hotel Miramalfi has a brilliant location where our rooms faced the sea and do not miss going to the deck chair platforms by the sea- below the pool. Highly recommend this one.


Mr Ross, 23/06/2019

The views were tremendous from the hikes and our hotels. The hikes were well planned with good directions and all the taxi pick ups and drop offs went smoothly and we really appreciated not having to start our hikes up hill out of the hotels. We also liked the itinerary design of 2 nights at each hotel giving us a chance to rest if we chose to. The first hotel was so lovely that it caused us to feel a bit disappointed by the subsequent ones. All the hotels were quiet at night except the Continental in Sorrento where we were given a room on a noisy square even with an expensive upgrade and a prior request for a quiet room. Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento are beautiful but very busy towns full of people and cars so this is not the walking trip if you want tranquility.


Dr Ball, 14/06/2019

Excellent walking on spectacular coastline


Mrs Lammiman, 03/06/2019

We had a wonderful walking holiday on the Amalfi coast. The hotel's were well chosen for their stunning views, food and comfort. The 2 extra nights in Sorrento ment we had plenty of time to visit Pompeii and enjoy Sorrento. Well done Headwater


Mrs Hunt, 05/05/2019

Very interesting walking holiday. Hotel accommodation extremely good.


Mr Alexander, 22/10/2018

We enjoyed the holiday immensely thank you.


Ms Waldman, 21/10/2018

Amazing trek, walk of the Gods the highlight, few inaccuracies in the walking notes so make sure you read the map as well


Mr Brown, 29/09/2018

An enjoyable holiday. The weather was marvellous. The accommodation was very comfortable. However, our experience was marred by my wife’s injury. Positano was very busy.


Mr Brosinovich, 22/09/2018

This was our third walking holiday you have organised on our behalf and we have enjoyed all of them. Accommodation has always been good and standards generally very high.

All the drivers/taxis employed were all well turned out, helpful and on time.


Mr Pederson, 17/09/2018

Hotel choice's were all good except for one ( Punta Campanella Resort). The text provided for the hike directions were excellent and we would definitely have got lost without it. All transfer pickup's and baggage delivery between hotels were on time which made the whole trip a absolute pleasure. Overall a well organised holiday which I would highly recommend to anyone wishing to hike the region.


Mr Dey, 07/07/2018

We have traveled widely in Europe and further afield with the experiences of this holiday rating as good if not better than any others. Well done Headwater.


Mrs Mckinnon, 08/06/2018

Headwater is a very professional company to deal with and our holiday more than met our expectations,we enjoyed every minute of our trip to the Amalfi Coast and we look forward to our next Headeater adventure !!


Mrs Henneker, 03/06/2018

Headwater were extremely professional. Everything ran smoothly with pick ups, accommodation and trip notes. The trip notes on the Day 3 (Amalfi Coast Walk) which was substituted for the Walk of the Gods (officially closed) were a little confusing and unclear but that is the only complaint we have. The drivers were fantastic always on time and very helpful and friendly with nice clean vehicles.


Mrs Mills, 23/05/2018

A very enjoyable holiday walking through beautiful unspoiled countryside with abundant wild flowers and endless lemon groves and olives. The walk descriptions were very detailed, the hotels of a good standard and the transfers punctual with good quality transport. The customer service provided by Headwater was excellent.






Mr Richardson, 24/04/2018

Lovely springtime break with fantastic coastal scenery and wildflowers; plus lemon sorbets.


Mrs Webb, 22/09/2017

The Amalfi coast is an excellent place for fantastic walks, good food and great scenery. Headwater planned a great itinerary with detailed walking instructions. Thank you.


Mr Dawson, 11/06/2017

We are members of a Nordic Walking Group in North London and when we mention that we were considering a walking holiday a couple of the members enthused about Headwater. We are so glad that they did. Really good advice and guidance.



The walking guidance notes were amazing providing every little detail of the walk, much better than any of the maps.



Apart from the very disappointing hotel in Punta Campanelle the accommodation was very good. I would strongly suggest a change of route away from that Hotel, or accommodation in the village immediately before arriving at the coast.



We will definitely look to have a holiday through Headwater again, but we will definitely research the hotels first.



Many thanks

Robin


Mrs Mclaughlin, 19/05/2017

Walking is a great way to see a country. Headwater, make the experience easy by removing the hassle of booking hotels and moving bags around. The local information is good and maps walks are generally pretty god.


Mrs Bali, 12/10/2016

This was our second time with Headwater. We really enjoyed our holiday. The walks were well chosen and so were the towns where we stayed. The Amalfi coast is stunningly beautuful. Some of the popular walks can get a bit busy - there seemed to be a lot of Americans everywhere. We stayed in 4 different hotels and they were all different in character. The highlight was La Conca del Sogno, a family run hotel in a cove with a beach. Would certainly recommend this holiday.


Mr Mathieson, 03/10/2016

Very enjoyable holiday overall, staying in good quality hotels. We did find some of the walking a bit more challenging than we had anticipated. It rained on the day we did the Path of the Gods which made it slippery and therefore extra care needed to be taken. We were warned about the 1,000 plus steps down to Positano but maybe more warning about the descent to Marina del Cantone would be helpful for future walkers.

The guidance notes were very accurate on the whole with one or two minor errors. We didn't get lost.

The taxi drivers were all very pleasant and punctual and we had no problems. Our only criticism is that we were not contacted by a local rep. at all. This may have been because we were slightly delayed on arrival ( only half an hour). We also had to confirm our final taxi pick-up ourselves (via the hotel) as this hadn't been communicated to us in advance- a slight worry on the day before we were leaving.


Mr Pearce, 22/07/2016

A marvellous combination of: exercise and relaxation in wonderful locations, staying in top hotels with everything superbly organised.


Mrs McDonough, 17/06/2016

Well organised and great routes. Accommodation usually gives more of a local flavour than big anonymous chains.


Mr Morrison, 13/06/2016

A perfect way to enjoy the splendours of the Amalfi Coast from a perspective impossible for holidaymakers tied to the roads. The routes were planned so that each day's walking was different - from rugged cliff paths and breathtaking coastal scenery to peaceful lemon and olive groves and friendly villages. While this holiday does not have the same amount of walking we have had previously, we welcomed the days off as an opportunity to catch the ferry over to Capri and visit Pompeii and Herculaneum. All our 'standard' rooms at Amalfi, Positano and Marina del Cantone had wonderful sea views. We upgraded to be sure of a sea view in Sorrento and were booked in to the fabulous Belair Hotel - would really recommend this - and indeed the whole holiday.


Mr Hewson, 31/05/2016

What a great way to see the Amalfi/Sorrento peninsula. The walks take you through stunning scenery away from the roads - areas that you would definitely not see from a car or a bus. The Walk along the Path of the Gods is breath taking. You also get the opportunity to see a wonderful array of colourful wild flowers. Don't miss Ravello and the two villas with their stunning gardens. The walk back to Amalfi from Ravello is very interesting for its industrial archaeology.



The Capodimonte and Luna Convento Hotels were particularly luxurious and we had great sea views. The food in both was very good with plenty of choices.



We had booked 2 extra nights in the Capodimonte and were told before leaving the UK that we had half board on one of the nights so we were delighted to find that in fact the price we had paid included dinner on all four nights.



Pompei and Heraculeum are very interesting and a must. If you are going to see them by train from Sorrento, it is a good idea to go early afternoon rather than morning as the trains and the sites are less busy then.



Headwater take note:that we did see a snake crossing the path before Massa Lubrense. My husband said it was only about 2 feet long but I think it was more like 6 feet!! It was jet black. The internet says that this type is completely harmless and in fact is a good garden aid as they eat pests.



If visiting Massa Lubrense on your way to Sorrento, it is worth walking right down from the main square to the terrace overlooking the sea and going down the steps to the restaurant 'Il Cantuccio'. It serves great food in a shaded terrace adorned with colourful flowers and with wonderful views of the sea and Capri.



All in all - what a great holiday!



Janet Hewson 31 May 2016


Mr Floyd, 11/05/2016

VERY well organised. HIGHLY efficient. Excellent hotels. Hard to beat


Mr Allan, 06/05/2016

Hotels selected were superb (a higher standard than we would normally select for ourselves - that is one of the real pleasures of travelling with Headwater). Pick ups and tranfers were seamless and enjoyable - it was a delight to hear the drivers laugh! Food through out was excellent. Check out board arrangements - Grand Hotel Capodimonte actually provided half board for the duration of the stay (and not just the first night!) and this included a free salad buffet every evenning. Towards the end of the first day walk from Ravello to Amalfi (after the ruined foundry) there is a restored warehouse called Agricola Fore Porte converted to a restaurant/cafe where you can drink fresh lemon juice - a delightful family run business witha multi lingual daughter. Well done Headwater another excellent holiday!


Mis Brooks, 29/04/2016

It was really great because we made it so. Headwater played very little part. The last walk was inadequately replaced with no warning or alternative. The second hotel was silly. You did not get a proper breakfast you had to pay extra. It was not to the standard of the other hotels was a strange choice. At the 3rd hotel there was nothing to do. We could not walk due to the weather. So this too was a strange choice. There were no reps what so ever. It did seem very expensive for what was provided. The taxi company used was excellent we were lucky to have the same driver 3 times. He really was wonderful with lots of recommendations for us. His name was neillo please pass on our regards.


Mr Saunders, 22/04/2016

We very much enjoyed our holiday. The walking part was not as good as many we've experienced with other companies. This was partly because of its discontinuous nature - walking the Vermillion Coast with Sherpa gave us a full, continuous walk from the start in Colliure to the end at Cadaques. And apart from the 'Path of the Gods' and the walk from Ravello through the valley with the old iron works and paper mills, it was, in parts fairly mundane, particularly the last section to Sorrento. Our extension enabled us to see Herculaneum and Pompeii, and climb to the top of Vesuvius. We also took trips to Capri and to Napoli. So, all-in-all, the holiday was a great success. However, we would have been prepared to pay more for something that was slightly more interesting - better walks and better hotels. Having said that, the Luna Conventa was magnificent! Although the Capodimonte was very good in most areas, many English people we spoke to thought the quality of the dinner very disappointing.


Mr Tonner, 16/10/2015

Transfers were seamless - friendly drivers and always on time. Good variety of locations and hotels. We feel that we saw most of the Amalfi and Sorrentine peninsular because of the walks organised for us. And probably saw a lot of places normally not seen. We were a little disappointed that we were the only Headwater clients that week but it was apparently at the end of the holiday season. The weather although warm was unpredictable at times and we had one very wet day on which we had to abandon our walk halfway and catch a bus to our next hotel. The food arranged was varied and delicious. Sorrento was an ideal base from which to visit Capri and explore the historical sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum amongst others. We had an and extra couple of days at the Grand Capidimonte hotel which was in a good location to walk down to Sorrento and was the perfect place to end our holiday, it was excellent in every respect.


Ms Olson-Williams, 13/10/2015

Disappointing


Mr Black, 24/09/2015

well organised travel. route descriptions were accurate and easy to follow. beautiful scenery and well away from the crowds


Mr Unsworth, 21/09/2015

A good holiday we both enjoyed. The hotels were in great locations, most with fantastic balcony views. Transfer between hotels was prompt in clean modern vehicles. The walks came with good route plans, occasional misleading directions, but no great dramas. Went through some fantastic small villages and great views, especially the walk of the gods.


Mrs McDonagh, 10/09/2015

difficult to fault,made by extreme helpfulness from local agent,Liberata


Mr Lewis, 07/07/2015

A beautiful but very popular and busy part of Italy. Seeing it by means of a walking holiday is an excellent way of minimising the experience of crowds and seeing parts that most tourists do not see. Many of the views are spectacular and some of the foot paths are not to be missed. The end of June is a hot time and walkers need to be able to cope with that. All of the hotels provided typically friendly Italian service.


Mrs Senior, 08/06/2015

All the arrangements worked well, the route guides were, with one or two minor wrinkles, very clear and accurate, the maps and information were good, the drivers always turned up on time. The hotel in Sorrento was very centrally placed and convenient for the train station and the ferry terminal, which was important to us.


Mr Carter, 23/05/2015

This was our first holiday of this type and was not sure what to expect, the route notes given were easy to follow we were collected on time at airports/ train stations /hotels. The agents were excellent with a full briefing one in person and one over the phone and both came back to me with requests that I made for additional information.

The accommodation throughout the holiday was of a very high standard, all very clean and with excellent quality of food.

Well done Headwater we will have no problems in booking through you again.

Nick & Sue Carter


Mrs Jenner, 22/05/2015

We enjoyed the walking, loved the hotel in Amalfi which was exclusive and liked the hotel in Positano.

However we were the only English amongst a large tour party of Germans in Marina del Cantone and the Hotel Capodimonte was ghastly, appalling, dreadful and full of low cost package holiday tourists and the dinner in the evening at the hotel made me feel closer to my grave.


Mrs Richardson, 18/05/2015

It was unfortunate that, having made the booking for this holiday, when the maps and walking guides were forwarded to us, they had been incorrectly copied so that every even page was missing. It took a couple of phone calls to sort this out. Also took a bit of time to clarify travel arrangements to and from the airport. This made us feel a little vulnerable though, actually, the arrangements were absolutely spot on - all the taxis arrived on time and were of a very high standard. The representatives in Italy were exceptionally charming and helpful.

The description of the walks was a little misleading as some sections involved quite a lot of climbing and, in one case, scrambling down a rather precipitous, overgrown gully with loose rocks and stones presenting quite a challenge. The evening meal at the Capodimonte was dire, especially in comparison with the Punta Campanella, which was absolutely lovely. Breakfasts at the Casa Albertina were poor and I have marked the location as 'poor' because I thought it was harsh to expect your customers to climb all those steps to he hotel after the most challenging walk of the holiday involving, potentially, the descent of 1,000 steps through Positana at its conclusion.

You will note, however, that I would book with your company again, and am considering the cycle ride along the Danube for our next adventure! Your staff in the UK are, without exception, very charming. It was unfortunate that our walking guides were not complete at the outset but it was a wonderful holiday so thanks to everyone involved.


Mr Adler, 14/05/2015

Wonderful walks and spectacular views.


Mr Johnston, 30/04/2015

Excellent holiday. All arrangements worked well except initial briefing - see below. Local transfers were excellent.


Mrs Higgins, 11/10/2014

Could not fault Headwater for their excellent customer service and organisation. I'm not even going to look at other companies now for any future walking holidays.


Mrs Makin, 03/10/2014

Travel arrangements were good, hotels were easy to find and all but one was well maintained. Walks were very well described, distances were not accurate and the number of steps was a joke but the walks were clearly described an the views were wonderful. We saw many rural areas of the Amalfi Peninsular that most people will never see, they don't know what they are missing! are missing

The rest days are a very good idea and gave us chance to do several things we wanted to do, ie go to Pompeii and Capri, without the break I think that the last few days would have felt like hard work.


Mr Abrahams, 25/09/2014

Well thought through and excellent administration meant we could concentrate on our walking


Mrs Moss, 23/06/2014

We have just returned from another very enjoyable holiday, all the hotels were very good, in amazing locations with fantastic views. I would definitely upgrade to a sea view room at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, especially if staying on longer in Sorrento. The walks were varied and we had no real problem with the notes. Could be challenging to some as there are defiantly plenty of steps, both up and down, in many places! Walking poles very helpful. But you are rewarded with the views and the hotels.

All our pick ups where excellent by the local agent, and the rep phoned us on the first evening as promised. We know she was easy to contact if we needed her. So, overall, an good holiday exploring this part of Italy, Thank you again, Headwater.


Mrs Welham, 16/06/2014

We had a fantastic holiday with Headwater and loved every minute of the walks which were well planned, with clear instructions. Everything worked as expected and it was a very easy way to walk the best of the area without any worries. Thank you.


Mrs Young, 12/06/2014

Terrific holiday in with superb views, excellent food and wine with delightful walks.


Ms Hall, 06/06/2014

We had a marvellous holiday and really enjoyed the variety of walks and hotels, and the suggestions for days off. The area was so beautiful and arriving on foot in each town was magical.

Minor gripes were: not hearing from the rep (we phoned her on day 2). She told us of a landslide and said she would send us an alternative route, but this didn't happen. We found the alternative route without difficulty. The maps for the Amalfi coast were not helpful (and one was missing). The route notes were sometimes difficult to follow (we had to learn to concentrate!). We became proud of our navigation skills.

Thank you! Where next?






Mis Perry, 29/05/2014

This is a lovely area of Italy and all the places we stayed were good. The travel arrangements worked like clockwork and the walks were lovely. My favourite Headwater holiday, so far.


Mr Bevan, 27/05/2014

This was our first experience with Headwater although we have previously toured and trekked with a number of other companies. We were overall impressed, and would certainly consider Headwater for other walking or cycling holidays.


Mr Wyatt, 17/05/2014

Overall holiday was good. Never saw rep, although not really necessary. Big hotels at punta campanella and sorrento not great as they cater for the mass coach trip market and lose personal touch. We met inntravel (or possibly atg) walkers in punta campanella staying in small hotel which was idyllic. Luna convento excellent and set a high bar others did not come close to. Sorrento particularly disappointing as it was in chaos and couldn't handle the number of guests . It was the first time in 50 years travelling i have had to queue (30 minutes) for a dinner table. Food also left much to be desired. A smaller hotel in town might be a better bet and certainly more our preference

Headwater response:
Dear Mr Wyatt, Thank you for your feedback. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your holiday overall. We were however sorry to see that you did not receive your welcome brief on arrival, this is usually carried out via telephone. We will ensure this is made clearer in our documentation for future customers. We were also sorry to see you were disappointed with some of the hotels you stayed in due to the size and lack of personal touch, wherever possible we try to use small and friendly hotels. I have passed on your feedback to our programme manager for their consideration. We would like to thank you for travelling with Headwater this summer and look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future.


Mr Martin, 08/05/2014

On our arrival we were welcomed by our driver Seor Russo who we found to be both entertaining and informative. Throughout our stay he was always punctual and reliable. Although we never actually met the resort agent she rang us to advise about adverse weather condition, diversions and alternative routes. Unfortunately we experienced poor weather but it did not interfere with our enjoyment of the holiday and we managed to complete the planned itinery. Overall all the htels were good and we were delighted to find our accommodation had been upgraded at the Pumta Campanelle where we had the benefit of a suite and a large sun terrace. We have only two observations to make to improve the holiday:

(1) The cost of porterage at 3 euros per bag on arrival and departure should either be included in the holiday cost or guests advised of this in the holiday information.

(2) the time of departure for the airport should be included in the holiday informattion to avoid guests having to make an educated guess based on flight times.


Mr Ausden, 24/04/2014

Could not be faulted to be perfectly honest, excellent accomodation throughout,well balanced walking itinerary, first class route notes and maps.The Amalfi coast was everything we hoped it would be and more, a great holiday.


Ms Parks, 24/04/2014

Fantastic locations with carefully selected routes and hotels. Descriptions of the walks for for self guided tour where very easy to follow and very accurate.


Mr Waite, 12/10/2013

Headwater provides an excellently organised walking experience - choosing breathtaking routes which are brilliantly and minutely mapped out.

Quite the best walking holiday operator I have ever used.


Dr Banyard, 23/09/2013

This was one of our all time favourite holidays owing to the stunning scenery & the very high standard of accommodation offered. The walking schedule was relatively relaxed but the amount of step climbing might be daunting to some, though it would be easy to slow the pace if necessary and to take full advantage of the alternate 'rest days'. It was well worth the time and expense in adding a couple of extra days during which we explored Pompeii and Herculaneum and took a trip up to the summit of Vesuvius. The local bus & train services (although a little basic & crowded) were easy to use and efficient. Our dietary restrictions were catered for very competently and without fuss.


Mrs Brown, 14/09/2013

The major walks were excellent, views were superb and the route notes very well put together. The heat and lack of shade was the main problem, especially in the afternoon when the long 'downs' and many steps made for hard work. Your choice of bases for hotels was excellent as at all places there were plenty of opportunities to see the local sites using local transport which was very cheap. Our visits to Pompeii and Herculaneum from Sorrento were made even better by the fact that it comes free for over 65 EU citizens making for cheap days out when you consider that the return rail fair was at it's most expensive just over 8 Euros for the 2 of us! Extending our stay in Sorrento at the end gave us the opportunity to chill out at the excellent Hotel Favorita ( the icing on the cake in terms of facilities, service and comfort) and fit in the trips we wanted without being rushed at other times. Well done for putting together such an excellent package.


Mrs Turner, 07/09/2013

All the arrangements, transfers and pick-ups worked well with the drivers being friendly, helpful and always on time. All the hotels were of a very high standard with large rooms and excellent bathrooms. We had no contact with the representative over there but did not need any help anyway.

All the walk instructions were very detailed and accurate and the only times we made errors was because we were talking and not concentrating on the instructions!


Mrs Walker, 06/09/2013

A fantastic holiday with excellent organisation, well-chosen hotels and superb walking route notes. Nothing ever goes wrong on a Headwater Holiday. Can't wait to see next year's brochure.


Ms Biagini, 08/07/2013

We were very disappointed that our walking itinerary was missing from the package sent to us, and we received it only at The end of our second day. We were also expecting to be welcomed by a headwater rep upon our arrival at Luna Convento Hotel, instead we had to call the help line to figure out what to do. Our rep Liberata, told us very bluntly that due to costs cut our briefing could only take place over the phone, with the line being cut every 3 minutes from her end. As a result ot this delay, we missed the visit to Ravello (supposed to be among the must see of the Amalfi coast) and nearly got lost on our first walk. In The hotel in Sorrento I had to sleep on a sofa dressed as bed for two nights, as we were given a double room instead of a twin. As a result I ended up with a bad back for the rest of the week! I would expect a bit more for the price I have paid!!!!


Mr Castell, 18/06/2013

The itinerary was well structured and well organised. Pick up and transfers were punctual and efficient. Hotels were excellent - great locations, wonderful views, comfortable and with a high level of service. The upgrade to the Excelsior Vittoria in Sorrento - due to the Favorita being overbooked - was very much appreciated. We were also grateful that a transfer to Sorrento port was organised for us on the last morning.


Mr Stather, 18/06/2013

We stayed at the Royal Prisco in Positano (not the hotel on the questionnaire) and I cannot change the hotel name - but all comments on the Royal Prisco are 'good'.



Neither did we stay at the Favourita in Sorrento - biut we did stay at the Excelsior Vittoria which was excellent in all respects.


Ms Priday, 17/06/2013

We had a lovely time marred only by the fact that 3 of the 4 hotels provided a double bed when we as 2 female friends sharing a room needed our booked twin beds!


Mr Plumb, 24/04/2013

A very enjoyable holiday. we were particularly impressed by the taxi transfers and their good driving on difficult roads. Always hugely reassuring to be welcomed at the airport, and when the taxi arrives on time, indeed early! The hotels were far more luxurious than we expected, so a real treat.



Dates and prices

You can be confident that our pricing includes all the standard requirements of your holiday and many additional extras. Always ensure that you are comparing like for like when booking your holiday.

Find out about The Headwater Price Promise to ensure you're getting the very best value for money.

For 2020 departures our trip inclusions are changing - please contact us for full details.

This 8 night self-guided walking holiday includes:

Hotel-to-hotel accommodation in a mix of and hotels

All breakfasts

Management by your local Headwater-appointed agent

Route directions and maps

Standard transfers at the start/end of the trip (if booking inclusive flights)

Luggage transfers between hotels

GPX files

Walking transfers


How to book:

For further details, or to check availability, speak to our sales team on 1-800-267-3347 or complete our holiday enquiry form (we'll contact you at a time that's most convenient for you).

To enquire about this holiday, or for further information, call our sales team on 1-800-267-3347 or complete our holiday enquiry form.

  • Mar 2020
  • Apr 2020
  • May 2020
  • Jun 2020
  • Aug 2020
  • Sep 2020
  • Oct 2020
DepartingTour only Availability
23rd Mar US$2649 Check availability
30th Mar US$2649 Check availability
DepartingTour only Availability
6th Apr US$2779 Check availability
13th Apr US$2979 Check availability
20th Apr US$3049 Check availability
27th Apr US$3049 Check availability
DepartingTour only Availability
4th May US$3149 Check availability
11th May US$3149 Check availability
18th May US$3149 Check availability
25th May US$3279 Check availability
DepartingTour only Availability
1st Jun US$3279 Check availability
8th Jun US$3279 Check availability
14th Jun US$3299 Check availability
15th Jun US$3279 Check availability
22nd Jun US$3279 Check availability
29th Jun US$3279 Check availability
DepartingTour only Availability
24th Aug US$3279 Check availability
31st Aug US$3279 Check availability
DepartingTour only Availability
7th Sep US$3279 Check availability
14th Sep US$3279 Check availability
21st Sep US$3279 Check availability
28th Sep US$3279 Check availability
DepartingTour only Availability
5th Oct US$3279 Check availability
12th Oct US$3279 Check availability
19th Oct US$2979 Check availability
26th Oct US$2879 Check availability

The prices quoted for each individual departure supercede those published in our current brochures. Air prices are subject to change and we advise early booking to obtain the best prices. Please see our Planning your holiday and What's included in the price? pages for additional information.

Holiday details

Minimum group sizes
No minimum group size, however transfers are subject to at least 2 people (in total) booked on each departure.

Children
This holiday is unsuitable for children.

Holiday type
Self-guided walking Managed locally by Headwater appointed agent.

Departures
Selected Mondays from 23rd Mar 2020 to 26th Oct 2020, for 8 nights. All dates are subject to availability, please contact us to check.

Meals
All breakfasts

Tailor-made travel

Tour only

Transfers can be arranged at a supplement from Naples Capodichino airport at 10:20, and back to Naples Capodichino airport at 07:00.

How to book

For further details, or to check availability, speak to our sales team on 1-800-267-3347 or complete our holiday enquiry form (we'll contact you at a time that's most convenient for you).

Call now to speak to our specialist team at 1-800-267-3347 or email us at usa@exodustravels.com for enquiries or to book your trip.



Due to the tailor-made nature of our holidays, we need a little more information in order for us to check availability for Amalfi to Sorrento Walk. Simply complete the form below (fields marked * are mandatory) and a member of our sales team will contact you (when it's most convenient for you) to provide availability information, travel options and an accurate price. Of course there's no obligation, but if you do wish to proceed with a booking they will be on-hand to assist you throughout the process.

Alternatively, you can call our sales team on 1-800-267-3347 to discuss your requirements in more detail.

We are ATOL registered We are an ABTA member
Independent customer reviews and ratings







If you would like to subscribe to our emails in accordance with our Privacy Policy, please tick this box.

+ Add More Passengers

We can often obtain preferential rates with our travel partners. We can often obtain preferential rates with our travel partners.

We can call you when it's most convenient for you, or contact you by email if you'd prefer. During busy periods we cannot always guarantee a specific call time but we promise to try our very best.

By clicking the 'Enquire now' button, you confirm that you have read and understood our Privacy Policy and consent to our use of your information.

You may also like