Customer reviews: Holidays in Sardinia

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Billington on 29/11/2016

***#.
Alberto made the holiday and went over and above the call of duty.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Elfick-wood on 13/10/2016

***#.
The itinerary and Alberto the guide were excellent, the hotels a bit of a mixed experience. The Sa Muvara would probably been really nice with better weather, but getting hot water for a shower was a bit hit and miss, and a lot of other members of the group found their rooms very cold. The food was sometimes really good but generally a bit salty and far too much of it. Comparing our experience with a previous holiday (walk in the florentine hills), perhaps we expect too much for basic rustic italian food. The Hotel Dorada was in an excellent position, but I didn't find the rooms that comfortable, and the food rather disappointing although the soups were excellent. For all the above, it wouldn't put me off having another Italian holiday with you.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Bowling on 13/10/2016

*****
My first time in Sardinia, our guide Alberto really brought the island alive. His extensive knowledge of nature, culture and history far exceeded my expectations, a brilliant holiday, highly recommend it.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Kendrick on 16/06/2016

***#.
Brochure slightly misleading about Hotel Costa Dorada; the idyllic location portrayed was not accurate - next to a busy public car park, not an isolated location. We had upgraded rooms so they were fine. Others in the group were very disappointed with their rooms. Walks were good and our guide Alberto was superb. He really made the holiday.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Baker on 14/06/2016

*****
We enjoyed the challenges of walking in a beautiful landscape. The walks were varied and interesting. We also enjoyed time to relax returning home feeling refreshed

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Grierson on 07/06/2016

*****
A very well organised holiday with superb Sardinian hospitality and comfortable accommodation. Alberto's extensive knowledge of the history, flora, fauna and geology of the island added to a wonderful week's experience as did his 'surprises and adventures'!

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Parsons on 07/06/2016

*****
A friendly guide,very good knowledge of area,fantastic lunches. Great walking,a lovely group of people,will book another trip next year. Thank you Headwater.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Hay on 26/05/2016

*****
A varied week with an excellent guide

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Ms Butterworth on 23/09/2015

*****
Excellent, wonderful area and wildlife. Archaeology and geology easy to see and museums excellent. We hope to go agin to see the spring flowers.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Charlett on 22/09/2015

***#.
Well planned holidays which offer something different to the traveller who wants to experience the country in more detail.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Knight on 18/09/2015

***#.
Wonderful range of walks. Alberto was the best guide we have ever encountered in our many walking holidays. His knowledge of the history, geology, flora and fauna of Sardinia was extremely wide and very well presented. He was very kind, friendly, efficient, sensitive to our needs and flexible in adapting the itinerary to best meet the weather conditions. We cannot praise him too highly.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Hollis on 16/09/2015

*****
An excellent week in Sardinia. Our guide, Alberta was responsible for making the holiday so memorable with his fantastic knowledge of the history, geology, plants and animals of this beautiful island. He has a lovely manner and was greatly liked by the group. I was disappointed initially that the group was so small, being only five but we all got on well so it became a luxury with plenty of space in the vehicle and a very personal service. The boat trip on our free day was exciting and showed us the magnificent coastline and caves.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Smyth on 15/09/2015

*****
Alberto - our guide was fantastic - knowledgeable - kind - patient - fun - punctual - and always smiling ! The highlight of our trip. Not to mention his delicious picnics !

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Toombs on 12/05/2015

*****
Alberto was an outstandingly good guide, whose knowledge and enthusiasm added substantially to my enjoyment of this holiday. The picnic lunches that appeared from his rucksack were fantastic, and his concern form our well being and enjoyment genuine and appreciated.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Lambert on 14/10/2014

*****
It was an exceptionally enjoyable, stress-free holiday. Exactly as described in the Headwater brochure and all aspects were efficient and well executed. We were very lucky to be with a great group of like minded people (7 in total). Maggie, our guide, was amazing. Her contributions to the group dynamic, her local knowledge and incredible enthusiasm for Sardinia made our holiday. She was a lovely person to spend our time with and we were delighted when she chose to join us on her day off for a boat trip! All the other staff we came into contact with be it at the hotels or on our days out (the river picnic for example) contributed to a wonderful experience. The hotels were fantastic. The Hotel Sa Muvara in the mountains was wonderful - great accommodation, attentive staff, lovely food and the views were amazing. The Hotel Costa Dorada on the coast was perfectly located by the sea; again good accommodation, delicious cuisine, great staff and a lovely outlook. Both hotels made you feel you were staying somewhere special, immersed in the local culture and that you were not staying in some bland building presented with international cuisine. We felt we completed our holiday having had a taste of the real Sardinia. Having never previously taken a holiday with a group and guide, we are sorely tempted to take a similar trip.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Ms Hodges on 25/09/2014

*****
This was an absolutely superb holiday. The guide and both hotels were excellent. It was good to have the contrast of staying 3 nights inland and the rest of the holiday on the coast. Maggie, the guide, was exceptionally well informed and helped make this a great holiday. The food was varied and freshly prepared in both hotels. The walking took us to beautiful locations with superb views from high points. The group gelled and it was one of my best ever holidays. Enormous fun!

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Moran on 24/09/2014

*****
Fascinating holiday with an excellent mix of walking, archaeology and food! We actually put on a tiny bit of weight the food was so good. Excellent group and we all got on really we'll from the first evening.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Deeley on 24/06/2014

*****
Very memorable. Great scenery, great food, great companions and an excellent guide in Maggie. Haven't laughed so much in a long time!

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Goodfellow on 10/06/2014

*****
Perfect for the discerning holidaymaker wanting small group companionship, trouble free guiding, most meals included, not too many extra expenses and bettter standard of accommodation than offered by lower cost operators.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Gibson on 10/06/2014

*****
Maggie was a superb guide. The walks were varied and spectacular , but much more challenging than the brochure implied... That said , because of Maggie's experience ,whilst challenging , they were very enjoyable. Transport was poorer than expected . Picnics , with the exception of the roast suckling pig event , were essentially the same each day which was a tad disappointing. Overall, a terrific break and I look forward to the next...

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Taylor on 29/05/2014

*****
The weather was not too good (mostly cloudy) so mountain-top views were out. But our guide Alberto was so good. he made up for the lack of sun! His knowledge of trees, plants (medicinal uses) and history was extraordinary, and he was good company. The historical sites on the island were fascinating. As it's such a large island a lot of time was spent getting to places but the roads were good and Alberto was a good driver. Sometimes the walking was quite rough as the landscape is very stoney so two walking sticks is recommended, Tiscali was definitely the highlight: both a dramatic walk and a uniquely interesting site..

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Sherren on 28/05/2014

***#.
The unexpected cold,wet.windy weather in Sardinia in mid-May required a change to the advertised programme.We actually had three organised walks instead of five (plus one of our own),but our knowledgeable guide substituted archeological visits instead. A very enjoyable week despite the weather.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Hill on 19/05/2014

*****
Sardinia is a very beautiful island with an interesting history and culture. Headwater enabled us to gain a real insight into the island and the holiday took us to some very stunning locations. Our trip was very ably led by Alberto who was one of the best guides we have had, very considerate, knowledgeable and excellent company.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Dr Simpson on 14/05/2014

*****
This was an excellent guided holiday which provided good contrast between the two hotels and areas visited. The flowers and birds were excellent too. Our guide, Alberto, who was 'standing in' for the normal guide, Maggie, was outstanding and couldn't have looked after us better. As a local, his knowledge of Sardinia, its customs and culture, together with his botanical meant he was the best Headwater guide we have had.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Davies on 14/05/2014

*****
The holiday was excellent. Each days walk was so different from high mountain tracks with stunning views to pleasant pathways banked with wild flowers which meandered down to a river plus the last walk which ended at a lovely white sandy beach. The lunches provided were great - suckling pig cooked over a charcoal fire and local produce including wine at Tiscali. The picnic at Cala Luna was excellent too and all carried by Alberto - no problemo for him!

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Harris on 14/05/2014

*****
Beautiful scenery, varied walking, wonderful guide!

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Waddell on 26/10/2013

*****
Thoroughly enjoyed my first visit to Sardinia, second walking holiday with Headwater. Got a real feel of the countryside and the variety of terrain. So mountainous! Wonderful coastline and coral sands, clear sea water, glorious. Actually swam in late September with 'old wives' fishes nibbling on my legs! Good walking, excellent guiding, not an endurance test, but still challenging. Great views.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mis Low on 21/09/2013

*****
Excellent week, stunning scenery, friendly people. Fantastic local food and drink. Couldn't fault Maggie the guide, terrific. Some really good walks but could have been tested a bit more and walked further on some days. Would travel with Headwater again.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Ross on 19/09/2013

*****
Very good holiday with interesting and varied walks. The whole experience benefitted from the knowledge, enthusiasm and encouragement of our guide Maggie.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs Johnson on 18/09/2013

*****
Walks were longer than stated in your brochure, but this was not a problem, Maggie our guide was excellent, very helpful, adaptable to individual needs, she went 'the extra mile' A very interesting and enjoyable week, which not only involved the beautiful walks, but information about local customs, history and plants, trees and the terrain.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Cant on 22/05/2013

*****
A set back because the guide(Maggie) was ill. After initial problems and changes to plans the local reps rallied round and both Robin and Flavio were excellent . I think that the grading of some of the walks was affected by these inevitable changes. ( Flavio was suffering from broken ribs) . It is to your credit that such a difficult situation was got over so well. I have been helped both at the time and since we got home in trying to retrieve lost glasses

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Fotherby on 21/05/2013

***#.
The unavailabilty of Maggie due to illness did cause problems mainly in the area of not communicating with the group exactly what the situation was. On the first night one of the owners of the hotel came up to tell us our guide would not be appearing that evening as expected but would appear next morning. He added not to worry if a guide did not turn up the hotel would arrange something. We sat there a group of largely strangers in a strange place at the beginning of a holiday which may or may not happen as planned - not a good start. Robin did appear next morning but we got the impression no body knew at that point whether Maggie would appear or not later in the week. When Flavio appeared on the Thursday morning and told us he would be with us for the rest of the holiday we were delighted, he is an exceptional guide. I have every sympathy for Maggie having a condition that results in sudden devastating episodes and we were sorry we did not meet her having seen many very positive comments in clients reviews. She seems to be the lynch pin of this tour but you do need a firm plan B in place to cover for her unavailability. We had the impression of fingers crossed and hope for the best and fortunately you were lucky.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Davies on 21/05/2013

*****
Beautiful and varied walks in unspoilt mountain and coastal locations. The guides were very knowledgeable and ensured a group of mixed abilities got the best out of each walk. The hotels offered the best of the two regions - good food and wonderful settings. The staff were were friendly and helpful.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Wilson on 17/10/2012

*****
Accommodation in mountains was first class in every respect. Accommodation at seaside was good, but no in the same class as first part of holiday. The walks were excellent, with Maggie being an outstanding guide and host. The variety of walking was just right for the length of time we were in Sardinia. The picnic sites were top class, the buffet lunch provided after the river walk could not be bettered. All credit to Maggie and the Hotel employees.

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr McKay on 13/09/2012

***#.
This trip used two excellent hotels and the walks were varied and interesting. Maggie, our guide, was experienced, excellent and extremely helpful. She went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed the experience to the full, including giving me one to one help over some of the more difficult parts of the walks. It is always better to be guided by someone who loves the area and during the entire trip, her love and thorough knowledge of the country shone through. The food exceeded my expectations, particularly in the first hotel. There was so much and all of it exceedingly tasty. This walking trip is at the top end of two boots in my view

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mrs McKinstry on 25/05/2012

*****
interesting, testing, enjoyable

Contrasts of Sardinia Walk

By Mr Brown on 25/05/2012

*****
Very good all round. Maggie, our guide, was excellent.