Customer reviews: Holidays in Davos

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Beresford on 17/08/2016

***#.
We went in early June and many places in Davos and Klosters are closed - it is not a 'bustling city' at this time of year. A number of cable cars and bus services are not running at this time, so some walks are not possible, or a long climb up is required. The hotel was running on minimum staff levels for the first few days, although the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the accommodation was excellent. The half board dinners were generally disappointing and the restaurant did not meet 'the excellent reputation for its cuisine'. We had the 'a la carte' menu one night and this was far superior. Overall the walks and scenery were excellent which made up for a few disappointments in other areas.

Walking in Davos

By Mis Ng on 13/08/2015

*****
The service staff at the hotel provided in the package for the Davos walk was excellent at Hotel Meierhof. They were very attentive, and the hotel had really great facilities when it was raining (pool, sauna). Please note that the directions on the notes for the walks (which is the primary aspect of the holiday) are often wrong! I found myself halfway through a 10 km hike completely lost in the middle of the mountains, and I was fortunate I had my smart phone on me with googlemaps on it. The notes they provided me with needed a lot of updating. This was particularly dangerous as I was hiking through some rather difficult terrain and received wrong directions halfway through a very difficult walk. If you decide to go hiking, it's highly recommended you take either your smart phone with a maps app on it, *and* strongly recommended that you have some kind of map skills as well as a physical map when you go hiking. The scenery is beautiful, however the level of difficulty of the walks is much harder than you might anticipate as the pathways were often quite challenging, the 'descent' that they describe in the directions often means a very, very steep slope that could be very dangerous if raining. This is for people who are relatively fit and are mindful of trekking through some mountain terrain with a walking stick even if you are relatively young. The rest of the holiday was absolutely wonderful, but the hiking aspect is very challenging and you can't rely on the directions of the notes they give you as a general guide.

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Langleben on 24/07/2015

*****
The fact that we have been travelling with Headwater since 1996 speaks volumes. This should be recommendation enough

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Keen on 13/07/2015

***#.
Wonderful walking in Switzerland as long as you have good weather. The packed lunches were the same every day better not to include in hol price.Also you forgot to inform us of the local taxes payable ar end of holiday,an extra 64 franks

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Bishop on 27/10/2014

***#.
We were a little concerned as to whether the three train connections we needed to make to get from the airport to the hotel would work but in the event everything dovetailed perfectly. The hotel was well located for access to/from the station and bus stops, and the walking was varied and interesting, making full use of the lift systems, and covering all different sides of the valley. The food in the hotel was good on some evenings but only average on others - the starter on the first night for instance consisted of tiny cubes of cheese and a few salad leaves and the main course looked as if it had been kept warm for a while, rather than being freshly served. Something to be aware of is that during August, when we visited, Davos is a popular destination for Hassidic Jewish families, with many hotels and apartment blocks being completely taken over so if you are expecting a traditional Swiss experience, you may be disappointed. Visitors should also compare Headwater prices (we paid around £1500 per person for half board) as against about £850pp charged by Inghams for the same week for full board.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Griffiths on 08/10/2014

*****
The holiday was what we had hoped it would be. The wonderful weather made the walking and views the best they could possibly have been (apart from one afternoon of rain). The hotel was comfortable and the staff were friendly, kind and helpful, The wine in the hotel was extremely expensive - when we requested house wine we were told that a delivery was expected and that there was none........ So we didn't have wine with our dinner. We are not big drinkers but would have enjoyed a glass of wine with our evening meal.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Baxter on 26/09/2014

*****
Holiday met expectations. The stay was perfectly enjoyable - getting around on buses and trains was very easy and straightforward and all the hotel staff were very helpful. Walkinng notes were helpful and accurate. Travelling from Zurich Airport via rail was a pleasurable experience apart from getting our luggage on and off the trains!!

Walking in Davos

By Ms Nicolson on 19/09/2014

*****
I was really taken with Switzerland, finding the people so friendly and helpful. Scenery and transport were fantastic and I will definitely consider a trip to Switzerland again

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Weyman on 29/07/2014

*****
Davos was an excellent base for quick access via the various cable cars and funiculars to many stunning high level walks in the beautiful alpine scenery. The Hotel Meierhof suited us perfectly - it is ideally located for transport links between Davos dorf and Davos platz. The close proximity of Davos lake and its many and varied activities was a hit with us - we had an afternoon of windsurfing with an instructor who spoke perfect English. Next time we must have a go at the paragliding which we watched taking place from our spot above Klosters! We visited the Hallenbad and its wellness centre in Davos on two occasions - another bonus after a hard day's walking. We were very fortunate with the weather which made our holiday all the more enjoyable.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Rodger on 13/06/2014

*****
Unfortunately I am getting too old for even 1 boot holidays ! Apart from that I have enjoyed all my Headwater holidays.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Mais on 21/09/2013

*****
First class holiday in every respect.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Parr on 20/09/2013

***#.
An excellent hotel with very good food, accommodation and facilities. The pool, sauna and steam room are first-class. The staff are friendly and helpful. The walks are also excellent, though the stated distances and times seemed to be under-estimated. The transport in and around Davos, usually free with the hotel's card, is superb, making it easy to access and plan the walks. Everything runs on time, to the second. The weather was awful all week - very cold and lots of rain - but all the walks were still accessible. We missed out on a lot of the scenery, though - too much low cloud to see very far!

Walking in Davos

By Dr Iosson on 29/08/2013

*****
Davos is a superb centre for walking, with hundreds of kilometres of signed walking trails. The provision of the Davos inclusive card meant that most buses, trains and cable cars in the Landwasser valley were free of charge. In addition, the card allowed free entry to the Alpinum garden at the top of the Schatzalp cable railway [not 5 CHF as shown in the Headwater notes] - although there seemed to be no-one on duty at the entrance when we went. Use of the cable cars, and the provision of 'soft' and 'leisurely' walks meant we could 'mix and match' the walks we did, and take our time to look at the scenery, the flowers and the birds. The weather was a good temperature for walking, with only one wet afternoon - most of the rain we had came at night, although when we left, there was fresh snow up on the tops of the hills. This was about our 14th holiday with Headwater [I have lost count! - and the first we have done with only the two of us] - but it certainly won't be the last.

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Edmondson on 08/08/2013

*****
This was our first Headwater holiday, we chose the Meierhof in davos Dorf, Switzerland which was a very good location . The staff were very helpful and food was excellent (unlike what we had read from the reviews on the web) after a long day walking. The use of the travel pass for the local bus, train and cable car was an extra bonus. Thankyou Headwater we had a wonderful holiday and will certainly use Headwater holidays again and recommend to our friends.

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Granger on 27/07/2013

*****
We had a brilliant holiday luckily we didn't need any help because we didnt hear or see anybody from headwater the whole holiday! but the hotel were very helpful with local information. We did not know there were other headwater guests on the trip until we met them in the minibus going home and it would have been nice to chat with them, apart from that we had a great time and I am looking forward to my next holiday with you.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Tuffill on 25/07/2013

*****
I sent you a separate letter - we had a problem regarding a rail upgrade to First Class. When I say good value for money, we lived in Switzerland nearly 40 years ago. The Swiss are remarkable at still providing good holidays when the exchange rate from SFR:£ has changed by a factor of seven. Would that we were as efficient!

Walking in Davos

By Mr Crowe on 25/07/2013

*****
A wonderful walking holiday in the most beautiful pristine mountains.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Williams on 23/07/2013

*****
Fantastic holiday in beautiful scenery.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Bracken on 11/07/2013

***#.
Good holiday with friends, but walking was poorly rated by you and not either soft or leisurely. Walking at over 6,000 ft in very high temperatures over rough uneven undulating tracks is neither. Many public transport services were closed during our visits, trains, Parsenn cable cars etc. Davos was very disappointing not that attractive really The holiday was good due to the company, but holiday poor really , only 5 out of 10 and well down on other Headwater holidays we have had

Walking in Davos

By Mr Wilding on 10/07/2013

***#.
If you like walking in a mountain environment then Davos is a fine location. The town itself is not particularly attractive - functional rather than picturesque. The use of the local trains, buses and cable cars with a free Davos Pass was a great add on.

Walking in Davos

By Mis Newall on 10/07/2013

***#.
Would not return to Davos, too big and ugly, would not return to hotel - too much noise from main road outside had to use ear plugs to sleep and found live music in hotel, which I could hear in my room annoying. However, convenience of buses, trains, skilifts to access beautiful valleys and lovely walks was appreciated. excellent swimming pool, good to have single rooms available without a surcharge. Found the walk descriptions very helpful.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Swanborough on 15/06/2013

*****
The Staff at Headwater carefully prepares their holidays, and have good knowledge of the locations. When we had need of a Dentist, the hotel reception staff quickly set up an appointment nearby.

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Bent on 30/10/2012

*****
We had not been on a walking holiday before and I would recommend Headwater Holidays without reservation. The hotel was excellent and the service they provided was superb. The walks were well planned and the free bus, train and cable pass made it so easy to get around. It was wonderful to view the Swiss countryside form altitude. We would certainly now have the confidence to go on a walking holiday again and maybe consider a multi location holiday with Hesdwater. I would also recommend the Meiroff Hotel in Davos, it is an ideal location and the staff were excellent.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Fennell on 29/09/2012

*****
The holiday was all we expected it to be with a good variety of well thought-out walks and a comfortable hotel with good facilities. Our only disappointment was that the gala dinner was offered at a CHF60 supplement and seemed to be a rather overblown affair mainly aimed at the local gentry, consisting as it did of a champagne reception, an 8 course meal and accompanying tenor. We did not go because it did not fit in with the sort of holiday we were on; although we did hear the tenor from the adjacent restaurant. He was quite good from that distance.

Walking in Davos

By Dr Emerson on 23/07/2012

*****
We had a wonderful time, even though the weather was not perfect. There are so many walking options, and the maps so good, that one could spend much longer at the Hotel Meierhof in Davos. Local travel on the ski-lifts, buses and trains with the guest pass was easy and efficient. The hotel itself was perfect for us. We have been on many excellent Headwater holidays, but this is amongst the best, if not the actual best. Value for money? Kuoni stay at the same hotel and are a lot cheaper. The local maps would enable similar walks. Kuoni also have a resident agent.

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Dayani on 23/07/2012

*****
This was a wonderful holiday. Relaxing and invigorating at the same time, Davos is clean, well situated and surrounded by fantastic walking. The Davos card gives local travel opportunities and discounts at a multitude of local outlets.