Feefo - Independent reviews
  Contact Us

Request a Brochure | Newsletter

BOOK AND TRAVEL WITH CONFIDENCE
Read more about our enhanced flexibility

Customer reviews: Austria independent walking holidays

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted to our website, so that people can make an informed decision based on past experiences before heading off on holiday. We don’t edit the reviews, the only thing we do is proofread them and alter any typos, where necessary, to ensure they are easy to read for everyone. All reviews will be published (except in certain extreme circumstances), and a member of the Headwater team will respond to any constructive criticisms/comments under the reviews, at their discretion. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Mr Fletcher
Walking in Austria's Lake District
27/11/2019

The walks gave an excellent taste of the area and coming in October we saw the autumn colours at their best yet were able to enjoy warm sunshine!

The walk instructions and timings were spot on for us. We had a really enjoyable and relaxing time

Headwater response:
Dear Mr Fletcher
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and managed to relax and enjoy the warm autumnal sunshine in Austria.
We do hope that we will be able to welcome you on another Headwater holiday in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Customer Services

Mr Collins
Austrian Lakes Walk
30/09/2019

Excellent scenery and walking, all linked together by footpaths, trains, buses and cable cars! We were fortunate with the weather with sun and temperatures 20-25 degrees. The reps Colin & Jill kept in touch throughout to make sure everything was going smoothly and offering additional suggestions which we found useful.

Mrs Higgins
Walking in Austria's Lake District
26/09/2019

We had a wonderful holiday which more than lived up to expectations. We loved the location. The lakes and mountains, towns and villages in Austria, were really picturesque and were fortunate to see them in amazingly good weather.

Our holiday Reps, Jill and Colin were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Their knowledge of the area and advice on walk routes were the basis we used to planning what turned out to be a wonderful week of walking.

Mrs Bray
Austrian Lakes Walk
24/09/2019

Well organised with brilliant support from our reps. Lovely hotels and good to have time to explore the towns as we stayed for 2 nights in most places

Excellent from start to end, great base for walking holiday. Glad we could fly from local airport. Team in Austria - very friendly and knowledgeable.

Excellent hotel in Bad Ischl with very good transport connections to various walks just 10 minutes walk from hotel. All walks suggested were within the grade with some being a little more challenging than others. All with outstanding views. If there weren't so many other places to visit in the world I wouldn't hesitate to return. A friend and I found the walk descriptions easy to follow and going at your own pace gave you the options to take as long as you liked at various places of Interest. Would definitely recommend this holiday to anyone who enjoys walking with a little challenge and stunning views .

Mr Franks
Austrian Lakes Walk
29/07/2019

This is an excellent trip- it exceeded our expectations, especially as we didn't know anyone who had been to this area before, and we cannot work out why as it is a really stunning area. It is a combination of accessible mountains and lots of beautiful lake views. The walks are varied, the paths well marked, and the walking instructions were very clear. The itinerary gives lots of time to do your own thing and take advantage of various activities in the area. The hotels were all different but all comfortable, with delicious food, and careful attention given to vegetarian requirements. Colin and Jill were the local representatives and kept in touch with us throughout the trip, helping with advise on weather conditions and alternative suggestions-they really couldn't have done more to help make us happy. We would highly recommend this trip to those who want a balanced combination of walking and leisure activities.

We had an excellent 10 days walking in Wolfgangsee district even though we happened to strike a heat wave.

Ms Fairchild
Walking in Mozart's Lake District
22/07/2019

A beautiful way to experience the Mozart Lake District! The Headwaters team was flawless at preparing us for the day's hike and weather and getting our luggage from place to place.

Mr Plumridge
Walking in Austria's Lake District
18/07/2019

Good location, great walks, brilliant food.

We had a excellent walking holiday in the magnificent Austrian Lake District. The weather was kind and we walked every day up into the hills and mountains and were rewarded with spectacular views of the lakes,forests and snow capped mountains. Must give a special mention to our guides Colin and Jill who’s briefings and tips about the walks were excellent, went out of their way to keep in contact via text and helped to make this holiday special.

Very enjoyable holiday, not having to worry about anything. Hotels and locations absolutely beautiful. The reps Colin & Jill were world class. We particularly liked their enthusiasm and details for the walks. Wish I could do it all again tomorrow!!!!!

Mrs Allen
Austrian Lakes Walk
23/11/2018

Excellent easy walking, good to have the extra nights to explore the local towns. All hotels were very good, as was the food. It would be perfered to have a direct flight to Saltzburg instead of having to change at Frankfurt.

Miss Knott
Austrian Lakes Walk
06/11/2018

Lovely holiday and wonderful scenery. The hotels were all of a good standard, as was the food. Colin and Jill were always available if we had questions, and we did text them a few times and they came back to us very quickly with suggestions. As it was self-guided it was really up to you if you wanted to do all the walks or just do some more exploring using public transport, which we did.... We did notice how clean everywhere was and everyone was very friendly....

Beautiful Scenery, well planned walks, interesting food and a chance to get off the beaten track. You always feel supported but also independent.

Mrs Lewis
Austrian Lakes Walk
25/10/2018

Blessed with fine weather most days, we had some great walks, and good hotel and food at the end as a reward. Colin & Jill were very helpful in suggesting options for the 'rest' days, tailored to our ability. They were also flexible and attentive to make sure all was ok.

Mrs Spencer
Austrian Lakes Walk
12/09/2018

The landscape was beautiful, the villages were picturesque all the hotels were comfortable and welcoming. Colin and Jill were excellent reps who gave a very informative briefing and ongoing advice which helped us to make the most of our holiday.

Mr Hughes
Austrian Lakes Walk
07/09/2018

Just like it says in the brochure ! A beautiful area and the holiday fully met our expectations. A visit to this region is enhanced by the very impressive local transport system.

Mrs Heath
Austrian Lakes Walk
07/09/2018

Our independent walking holiday to the Lakes south of Salzburg was all we could have hoped for - we were a group of 5 oldies, relatively but not super-fit. We dound the walking to be most suitable because of the FLEXIBILITY of options. We could walk, use buses or trains , or ferries, to reach our destinations, and to add variety. We could gain height by the cog-railway or chairlifts - and walk around contours up high, so gaining the views and different flowers - which, in May, were superb. Paths were good, and well marked.

Mrs Niblock
Austrian Lakes Walk
03/09/2018

Excellent experience with Headwater and good notes to accompany the walks on this holiday. Hotels were all good and the welcome extremely friendly. The resorts were very pretty, clean and the people hospitable. The scenery on the walks was stunning. The rooms at each hotel were large and well furnished and the food at all hotels very good. I did not eat meat so fish was offered without asking at all but Hotel Gasthof Zur Post.

Mr Birney
Austrian Lakes Walk
14/08/2018

Any doubts I had about this kind of holiday being suitable for us proved unfounded. From the first contact with Headwater My travelling companion and I were helped to understand the nature of the holiday and received every encouragement and assistance at every stage. The hotels were excellent as were the members of Headwater's staff who were In attendance when required. Thank you for a memorable experience.

Ms Clarkson
Austrian Lakes Walk
24/07/2018

Excellent holiday - great walking. Quite challenging in parts but scenery worth it. Food and hospitality great. reps very supportive and shared lots of data

Beautiful walking through exceptional scenery. Hotels comfortable, friendly offering great food

Excellent reps Colin and Jill always available kept us informed and in contact by email daily.

Mr Lambert
Walking in Mozart's Lake District
31/01/2018

It was a very enjoyable holiday all round. We were particularly impressed with our reps Colin and Jill who hit exactly the right note, were proactive and kept in regular touch with us. This really helped us make the most of our holiday.

Mrs Cottis
Walking in Mozart's Lake District
14/08/2017

Excellent holiday, we were blessed with fantastic weather which made the scenery even more stunning! Good support from Colin & Jill. Walk instructions clear, hotels and their locations of a high standard. Summit of Schober (optional) not for the faint hearted - deserve a Gold star for completing it!! Highly recommend this holiday.

Mrs Webster
Walking in Mozart's Lake District
03/08/2017

we absolutely had a brilliant time, the most beautiful clean organised holiday. Fabulous walking, fabulous views, lovely swimming places. Super reps to help us who went above and beyond. The hotels were fantastic and for me the food spot on. Kids found the half board fixed menu a little tough, so some more options may have been helpful

Mr Anderson
Austrian Lakes Walk
21/07/2017

What made this holiday for me was the briefing provided by the reps on arrival at the first hotel. Information about routes, local buses (and bus stops), trains and ferries helped enormously to make me feel at home in the holiday region. The daily updates by text were extremely helpful too. Well done to Colin and Jill

once the holiday was sorted out properly, everything ran smoothly. All the hotels were well located and the reps very helpful with suggestions for local activities. We had lovely weather and the scenery was impressive.

Austria is a lovely country and the people are friendly. We had a great time and enjoyed the walks. My advice to you and my only difficulty was because we choose Stansted it meant getting up at 3.am. This was ok but the problem was that when we got to our first hotel we were too tired to take in all the information that Colin and Jill gave us. Its not a complaint of them but if we could of had that information on day two after a good nights sleep it would of been better.

Such a beautiful area and we enjoyed the walks - even in mixed weather conditions!

All the hotels were excellent - the staff friendly and welcoming and all meals and wines were delicious. There was plently to keep us occupied on our rest days.

Altogether, a perfect holiday!

Mr Schafer
Walking in Mozart's Lake District
17/11/2015

We took our trip in late August. The trip was very well constructed and we thoroughly enjoyed the mix of hiking and exploring days as it gave us a chance to enjoy the beauty and culture of the areas we were visiting. This was our first self-guided Headwater trip (4th Headwater trip overall). The local reps Colin and Jill were very helpful, providing updated route notes and suggestions for things to see and do during our hiking and off days. The route notes were accurate and easy to follow. The hotels were all very nice and with the exception of the Hotel Bergrose, were all centrally located. ( The Bergrose was in a beautiful, quiet setting 20 mins out side of town.) It was very warm during our trip (~32 degrees) so we had to sleep with the windows open. The central location of the hotels made for rather noisy nights and we ended up sleeping with earplugs. The hotels and food were otherwise excellent across the board. This is a wonderful holiday.

Excellent - we had a fab holiday!

Mr Stephens
Walking in Mozart's Lake District
24/08/2015

It is a varied holiday of mountains and lakes with plenty of opportunities for wild swimming and the potential for great photographs from high places. Some days are longer and / or more arduous than the 1 boot. Note that if travelling through Frankfurt airport, you may be subject to security and / or passport checks despite only being 'in transit'. Also, be aware that the gates between connections can be some distance apart, so the 1hr 20mins between flights that we had was just sufficient to catch the onward flight. Very good holiday although temperatures were higher than expected.

Loved this holiday although the walking was quite tough. Because the weather on the first day of walking to another hotel wasn't good, the slippery, narrow path deserved a rating of more than 1+Boot. Maybe an alternative walk at a lower level for such conditions could be offered. We diverted off the path onto a logging track for safety reasons but this made the walk longer so still tougher than expected. For us most of the walks definitely needed the + as part of the rating.