Feefo - Independent reviews
  Contact Us

Request a Brochure | Newsletter

Customer reviews: Switzerland walking holidays

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted to our website, so that people can make an informed decision based on past experiences before heading off on holiday. We don’t edit the reviews, the only thing we do is proofread them and alter any typos, where necessary, to ensure they are easy to read for everyone. All reviews will be published (except in certain extreme circumstances), and a member of the Headwater team will respond to any constructive criticisms/comments under the reviews, at their discretion. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Mrs Jones
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
07/10/2019

First time with Headwater. We found the holiday to be as busy or as relaxed as you wanted. The walks provided were interesting with various levels of difficulty, meaning that you chose which route to follow. The hotel accommodation, staff and food were excellent. The food being some of the best food that we have ever been offered in a hotel. We will be looking at Headwater breaks in the future.

Mr Barlow
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
02/10/2019

Generally good, but confusion at the point of booking as hotel was confirmed, we booked our travel and later we were advised Alfa Soleil was unavailable, so an alternative found. The Hotel Ermitage was very good. However, we were promised pick up on arrival and drop off on departure between the railway station and hotel, but neither were available, so we had a 15 minutes walk with heavy luggage. We attended the briefing meeting at the original hotel (Alfa Soleil) and received everything we needed for the week, with good advice, but there was no further contact with the local rep and our hotel (Ermitage) were not really aware that we were Headwater clients and never asked about our plans. They did ask who was paying the overall bill for our stay on departure, which was embarrassing (we were settling the drinks bill). Overall the holiday was very good, walking excellent, local staff friendly, hotel very nice and Headwater staff at HQ helpful and prompt, but some aspects (as described) did not live up to expectations. We prefer self-guiding, independent holidays, so not a big issue for us, but others may not be so happy. It would not put us off travelling with Headwater again, as it was very enjoyable, but there are areas that should be looked at to prevent repetition.

Mrs Currie
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
27/09/2019

Perfect location ideal for walking. Stunning scenery. Kandersteg is picturesque and the hotel ideal with great staff.

Mr White
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
27/09/2019

The family run hotel was excellent in every aspect. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the food was first class and the service was prompt and efficient. We had a super room at the front of the hotel with a balcony looking out at the snow capped mountains. It was ideally situated for all the walks for which excellent information was provided. The walks were amongst beautiful scenery with typical Swiss mountain chalets, cows with ringing bells etc. We made good use of the included cable cars. We were lucky to have had excellent weather apart from one day of low mist & cloud. If we had had poor weather for the entire week it would have considerably lessened the enjoyment of the holiday as the point of being there was to experience the wonderful mountain scenery. Of course, you can't do much about the weather!

Mr Lutener
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
12/09/2019

The booking with our requested addition was handled quickly and perfectly. Travel was great with all connections working well. The hotel and staff were great with nothing too much trouble - we had a dietary request that was fully met without having to repeat it having notified Headwater. The routes were easy to follow and the Swiss know how to signpost. Weather was variable but normal for area and time of year but even so we did what we set out to do.

Mr Alexander
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
12/09/2019

Brilliant holiday. We had a fantastic time. Thank you.

Mr Smith
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
12/09/2019

Kandersteg offers a great deal of scope for a walking holiday and the Hotel Alfa Soleil is well situated for accessing walks in the surrounding area.

Mr Bruce
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
05/09/2019

This was a fantastic holiday in beautiful surroundings. The mountain paths were more challenging than those we had experienced in a Dolomites itinerary with Headwater but totally passable with care and a reasonable head for heights; you did need a good level of fitness for the steeper routes but it was never an issue. Although not included in the suggested walks, we climbed to the Doldenhorn Hut which gave spectacular views. The Gasterntal Valley is another essential.

Mr Boyce
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
02/09/2019

A charmingly rustic hotel, placed perfectly for all walks. Passes for buses and cable cars extremely useful - but beware train fares are on the high side!

Mrs Cerny
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
12/08/2019

Kandersteg is a truly lovely location. The hotel was very welcoming and our room very comfortable. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite and had a view of the mountains from our balcony. The food was excellent. Being able to prepare a packed lunch was a real bonus, as food and drink in Switzerland are both very expensive. Luckily,apart from the first day, the weather was ideal for walking. Most routes were clearly marked, although there were a couple of walks which would benefit from clearer instructions. The scenery is spectacular, particularly as the alpine flowers were still in full bloom. The grading is accurate. Some walks are relatively steep and if, like me, you are not keen on walking downhill on loose stones, can be a little daunting, but they are well worth the effort. We haven't stayed in one location on a walking holiday before, but had no regrets, as the walks were varied and never less than stunning. We would thoroughly recommend Kandersteg and the Alfa Soleil to anyone contemplating walking in Switzerland.

Ms Rumpus
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
19/07/2019

A brilliant holiday, everything worked like clockwork, the staff in the office were efficient, helpful and charming, the location and hotel were superb. Very happy customers.

Mrs Smith
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
19/07/2019

The walking is good and varied with stupendous views if the weather is kind, as it was for us. Plenty of flowers, butterflies, lizards in mid-July for added interest. The hotel staff were very friendly and the food was definitely a cut above usual hotel fare, both in content and presentation. Switzerland is an expensive country but Headwater's price includes most of the basics so that we paid for little else except wine, a couple of cups of coffee and the rail fare to the Sudrampe walk. We heartily recommend the latter as it is such a contrast to the other mountain walks, rather like going from Switzerland to Provence!

Mrs Scrimshaw
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
12/07/2019

Hotel Alfa Soleil is very traditional, comfortable and welcoming and it’s worth making sure you get a balcony room as the mountain views are outstanding. The small pool was never busy. The food all week was excellent and in particular the hotel catered for a special diet with great care.



Many of the walks use lifts, trains or buses and it was really helpful to have the lift pass and bus pass included, especially as the lift pass puts you ahead of the queue. We thought the Blue Lake was a bit over-

the walks were all fabulous and the walking notes accurate and interesting. All walks were open in July and the waterfalls in particular were spectacular because of melting snow from the very high peaks. The Sudrampe walk is different from the other walks, but the further we went, the more memorable and fantastic it was.



You need to change platforms at Bern railway station. There’s just enough time for the change of platform with luggage but it is a bit tight, particularly as one of our trains was running a few minutes late, so it’s worth knowing which platforms you need before you set off.

Mrs Malcolm
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
21/06/2019

Really enjoyable holiday. The hotel at first feels a bit old fashioned but we were very comfortable there and grew to love it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent especially the two themed nights. The view from the balconies was spectacular and ever-changing. The walks were well chosen....mostly up on a lift and walking down through wonderful flower meadows and rushing ice blue rivers. The walk at Ochinen See was the most challenging, especially as there was still snow and melt. Walking poles are essential. Switzerland was beautiful but very expensive....the picnics for lunch were very welcome. Overall we had a great holiday.

Mr Tiffin
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
13/06/2019

The mountain scenery viewed from the walks was superb, we were lucky to enjoy fine weather, and the hotel and the food were excellent.

Ms Hunter
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
03/06/2019

This is an amazing location with varied and fabulous walks. We went in May so there was alot of snow on the higher routes which meant we could not do all the walks planned. However the hotel advised us on alternatives and we had 6 stunning walks against a backdrop of beautiful snow-capped mountains and mostly had the trails to ourselves. A truly memorable holiday and I would love to return to do the additional routes. Thankyou to Headwater and the team at the Alfa Soleil.

Mr Dey
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
27/11/2018

This was not just a fantastic location for a walking holiday - buses/trains cable cars within easy reach, but an amazing hotel as well - both in therms of location and view.. Although only allocated 3* the food and service were simply exemplary - 4 course, exquisite meals each night using local produce and very imaginative menus. The ability to make your own lunch pack up each day was great and not something we have seen before. This is a hotel that goes the extra mile (well kilometre) and so deserves to be successful. A real gem!

Mrs Delderfield
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
26/11/2018

Wonderful holiday - one of our best. Great walks - varied and accurate. Organisation by Headwater was good. Would certainly consider going with them again.

Ms Harrison
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
22/11/2018

An enjoyable week in an area of outstanding beauty. The hotel and food were excellent, and the fact that the cable car and bus pass travel were also included made this very good value for money.

Mr Peters
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
12/09/2018

A well organised break with great walks and excellent accommodation. 5* food at a lovely 3* hotel.

Mr Sainsbury
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
11/09/2018

This was a great introduction to walking in Switzerland.

Mr Winskill
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
10/09/2018

We have done two walking holidays with Headwater and both have been excellent. The walking instructions and directions are clear and they often add useful additional information about the walk you are on.

Mr Mcshane
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
07/09/2018

Excellent holiday in the Swiss Alps. Scenery stunning and enough accessible walking for those of average fitness for at least 5 days - easily more. Notes were helpful and clear. Accommodation excellent - get a balcony room at the front of the Alfa Soleil Hotel for stunning views every morning - worth the extra. Food is very good/excellent and far beyond what you would expect from a 3 star hotel. The picnic system works well as you will be spending 4 - 7 hours a day walking. Easy to add more distance to the walks and well signposted hiking trails mean you are not restricted to the walks provided. Kandersteg is slightly less touristy than Murren and similar resorts, but the mountains in this valley are, perhaps, slightly less dramatic.

Given that Switzerland is notoriously expensive - this holiday represents very good value for money.

Greening
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
03/09/2018

Epic walking holiday in Switzerland, a week of gentle hiking at our own pace with the most superb mountain and lakeside views

coupled with excellent accommodation, service and a la carte food at the Alfa Soleil Hotel in Kandersteg. It was was wonderful.

Mr Elmes
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
03/09/2018

Super location - was concerned that being in a single location might be limiting but there is a wide range of different walks on offer.

Mr Murdoch
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
22/08/2018

A superb introduction to walking in the Swiss Alps. Great use of cable cars/gondolas to allow access to higher level walking experience. Fabulous food and friendly service at Alfa Soleil

Mr Weight
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
13/08/2018

Stunning weather helped make this a memorable walking holiday in the beautiful Swiss Alps. The food and staff at the Hotel Alfa Soleil were excellent.

Mr Young
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
30/07/2018

We would very much recommend Classic Swiss Alps Walks to anyone who enjoys walking in superb mountain scenery. The hotel accommodation and food were excellent to complete a terrific holiday.

Mrs Coulson
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
30/07/2018

This is an excellent holiday in that you are located in a quiet valley with mountains all around and easy access to them via public transport and cable cars. There is a good range of walks of different grade ( not all of which are advertised by Headwater). the tourist information locally is excellent, the people are friendly and the Alfa Soleil hotel is a good base (with excellent food!). However, Switzerland is expensive! But the all-inclusive nature of the Headwater package overcomes this - it's good value!

Mrs Hunt
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
30/07/2018

Very enjoyable walking holiday. The only issue we had was the walk to Blausée which was not a good walk and a very long uphill Walk on the way back. We caught the bus but did no have the right bus pass with us. It would be worth putting in the notes that the

Card used for the lift pass is also valid for the buses.





Mr Eamer
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
09/07/2018

Expert arrangements that leave enough flexibility for individual nuance.

Mr Shortman
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
31/01/2018

We had a very enjoyable holiday, the hotel was good with an excellent restaurant, the quality of the food was first class. The walking was varied, the scenery was beautiful and we really appreciated that the holiday included a local bus and gondola pass.

Dr Bainbridge
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
15/01/2018

well placed in a busy valley with three cables card within a mile from hotel. So life and peace.

Mr Humphries
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
05/10/2017

This holiday on the surface appeared quite expensive when we booked it but proved to be exceptional value for money. Taking into account everything that was included in the price: flights, trains, accommodation, meals, local bus/cable car passes, and knowing the cost of things in Switzerland, the price for the week is excellent value for money. Food at the hotel is on another level, every night was at least 4 courses of some of the best tasting food I've ever had. Very friendly and helpful staff. The town is very picturesque and surprisingly quiet at nights. This was our first time hiking outside of the UK, and I think I'm going to struggle to find anywhere nicer for our next adventure outside of the UK, but would definitely recommend this holiday to anyone looking to venture into Europe for a hiking trip.

Ms Moore
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
14/08/2017

Excellent holiday. This is our second year as there are so many exceptional walking options from the hotel using the extensive free lift and bus pass.

Mrs Hill
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
14/08/2017

Excellent week in the Alps walking was outstanding and a great range of walks provided as we were quite ambitious and was able to adapt the walks to suit our needs to be more challenging equally loved our couple of days low level descriptions were accurate but the paths were marked so well that we never used our compass skills!

Mr Lulham
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
20/06/2017

Beautiful region, lovely hotel with great food and superb walking - aided by exceptional weather. Switzerland is quite expensive but we felt this holiday was great value for money.

Mr Harris
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
29/11/2016

Outstandingly beautiful area with plenty of fantastic walks. The location could not be better and the scenery is absolutely breathtaking. The hotel was great with very friendly and helpful staff. The food was excellent - varied, tasty and creatively presented. We had glorious weather for the entire week so we were lucky and could get out and about every day. The information provided by Peter and the other staff was very useful and helped us to get the most from our time. We liked the packed lunch buffet which really helped given the prices of things generally. Similarly the transport pass which gave us free travel on cable cars and buses. Getting there and back was easy and travel very smooth.



The only slight downside was that our room was rather small, particularly the bathroom which was very cramped, and generally not as luxurious as other Headwater hotels we've stayed in. I realise that Switzerland is a very expensive country and this holiday is very good value so it's probably a compromise to keep the holiday affordable. It certainly didn't spoil our stay. We had a wonderful time - thank you Headwater and Alfa Soleil.

Mr Clegg
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
30/08/2016

Good summer walking in a lovely valley. Not as spectacular as the Jungfrau region, but impressive. Great to have passes for most (but not all ) of the walks. Good cooking at Alfa Soleil, though watch out - heavy handed in cooking with cream.

Even in bad weather there are walks one can do.

Mr Kelleher
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
30/08/2016

We had a fantastic time on the Classic Swiss Alps walking holiday. Everything was organised for us - from the flight to the journey to the hotel and details on the walks. The hotel staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. The food was the surprise of the trip, it was delicious!



The walks and the scenery was spectacular, and the suggested routes were all brilliant. There was also enough flexibility in the suggested guide to vary the hiking to your level of ability.



Overall, we had a brilliant time!

Ms Cutts
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
23/08/2016

Kandersteg is the most perfect setting - the beauty of the mountains, lakes and meadows is breathtaking! The walking options are fabulous - but remember to take your poles for those steep downhill sections! The staff at the hotel were welcoming and so helpful - a real plus. A wonderful holiday!

Ms Schoenfeld
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
16/08/2016

Our trip we booked through Headwaters for a stay in Kandersteg, Switzerland at the Alfa Soleil was the highlight of a few weeks spent in Europe. The hotel was wonderful, and the hiking suggestions from Headwaters were great and provided us with all the information we needed to do some great hiking on our own. They scheduled our train trips and everything worked just as planned. It was great to have a home-base from which to do a lot of different hikes in the area. We were very pleased with our whole experience!

Ms Moore
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
06/07/2016

Wonderful holiday - excellent hotel in an amazing varied area for walking with stunning views round every corner. The buses and lifts - free with the complementary pass - make the high level walks (and/ or restaurants) so accessible. One of our best holidays ever and we will be back!

Mrs Hayward
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
06/07/2016

The Classic Swiss Alps walking holiday was a wonderful blend of a comfortable and welcoming hotel and varied walking. As a single centre holiday it was good to be able to access amazing scenery very easily and close to the hotel. The walks could all be tailored to suit ability, weather and level of energy by extending or shortening the suggested itineraries. The map was a great help in addition to the written descriptions. We were there at the end of June just before the hay cut in the village fields so saw the myriad meadow flowers before they were harvested, a process that was also very interesting to watch. The higher alpine meadows were the best we have ever seen anywhere and the waterfalls were impressive, fed by the melting snow. Kandersteg, where the holiday is based, is well served by trains and this was our method of transport all the way from England.

Mr Wilks
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
30/06/2016

We had a wonderful time - excellent hotel, interesting food and superb walking. If you like wild flowers, it was a stunning to see the variety and colour on display. It is a reminder of what we have lost with our 'improved' grassland and factory farming. What was nice was that we could tailor each day's walk with the help of the hotel staff according to how strenuous a walk we felt like and what the weather was like in various parts of the area.

Mr Doublet
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
16/06/2016

Great location and excellent Hotel with some fantastic walks for all abilities.

Mr Jones
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
15/06/2016

This was our third trip with you and all have been most enjoyable - the right length of walks and the grading worked out fine.

Mr Craig
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
08/06/2016

A very good experience with lovely location, accommodation and scenery.

Mr Patten
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
24/09/2015

Good value and well thought out

Ms Savage
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
01/09/2015

Excellent hotel, food and location.

Mrs Weaver
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
12/08/2015

Our first walking holiday and first with Headwater. We had a great experience and will come back. A few errors in notes we will send details to you.

Mr Bryant
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
11/08/2015

Hotel is in great location, all walks are very close and varied. Hotel was comfortable, our room was old in terms of decor, but others have been recently refurbished. The evening meals were pretty good (mainly meat, very little fish), breakfast was rather bland (limited selection mainly bread). Packed lunch was welcome, but was a sandwich only, which was quite lacking compared to other Headwater packed lunches.

Mrs Jenkins
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
07/07/2015

Contrasting walks in a beautiful area of Switzerland. The two walks to the Oeschinensee and the Doldenhornhutte are particularly challenging with many steep or tricky paths often very narrow and across waterfalls or shale slopes. Essential to have a head for heights and walking poles. These however were the best walks with terrific views. Do the extension to the Daubensee walk as the views at the final destination are well with it. The Alfa Soleil Hotel is a good 3 star hotel and our junior suite was excellent and worth the upgrade. Our one complaint of the room would be the shower and the sudden change of temperature when running going from very cold to scorching and dangerously hot; we had to be be swift to move out of the range of the spray when this happened. Breakfast is not as varied as other Swiss hotels we have stayed at and there was a huge additional charge if you fancied eggs and bacon. The food overall was inconsistent and not up to expectation following all the reviews and varied from poor ( tough poached chicken and lamb curry one night) to very good on the barbecue evening. However, great value holiday overall for Switzerland which is very expensive. PS the house wine is very good and at 22 Swiss francs per 50cl, a bit of a bargain.

Mr Boyce
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
02/07/2015

Exceeded expectations, scenery gorgeous, hotel friendly and helpful staff

Dr Luton
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
17/06/2015

Great walking on good paths. Excellent scenery and wonderful alpine flowers.

Consider Berne as a day off destination.

Ms Gane
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
17/06/2015

It was a beautiful location and we had some lovely walks and saw amazing flowers. The hotel owner who was supposed to give us some guidance was not as helpful as he could have been. He raced through some information on the first evening and gave us various passes not all of which he explained.After that, he told us about one bus route being unavailable and arranged for us to travel on it when it became available. However when we asked questions subsequently, in particular if a route was Ok, he said it was up to us if we went on it. In fact it was challenging with some landslides on steep mountainside and frozen snow partially covering a fast-flowing stream through which we had to paddle.

The breakfast and packed lunches were great. Dinner was positively gourmet. (Whisper it low, but we would have preferred something simpler with fewer courses so that there was time for a walk afterwards). Mark-ups on the wine in the restaurant were enormous. We were also rather startled to be charged for tap water every night.

Mrs Triger
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
11/06/2015

This was our second visit to the Alfa Soleil in Kandersteg. We were incredibly fortunate to receive a double upgrade to their new Loft apartment!! We had booked a new junior suite and we believe we were given this because there were a large party of elderly people staying and possibly some of them had booked the Loft, only to find there was no lift. This really made our week's stay as it was spacious and beautifully furnished giving us room to spread out and to also enjoy the enormous terrace with views all round of the mountains.The weather held up every single day and what with this, and the excellent food provided by Nico, we could not have had a more enjoyable stay.

Dr Banyard
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
16/10/2014

Everything worked just as it should. We were very happy indeed with our holiday. My wife's dietary restrictions were coped with very efficiently and without fuss by the hotel. Thank you very much!

Mrs Salisbury
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
26/09/2014

Wonderful walks, great advice from Peter at hotel. We walked every day, and enjoyed exploring the area. Food and the friendly staff at the hotel made this one of our best holidays.

Ms Foulds
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
15/09/2014

Kandersteg is a good base for the series of walks suggested by HW but also for constructing your own routes if you are a confident walker. The hotel is comfortable and friendly and the food was mostly excellent. A small buffet was provided every day from which to make sandwiches for a picnic lunch, although more choice of fruit would have been welcome. Kandersteg village is very quiet (at least in summer) and we were a little disappointed at the lack of anywhere to go in the evening apart from having a drink in another hotel. Prices for cable cars, soft drinks, coffees and cakes were higher than envisaged but quality was very good. The scenery in the valley is stunning but the typical mountain weather meant that the peaks were not always visible. On cloudy days, it was good to have the choice of taking a quick train ride into the Rhone Valley area where the weather was usually better. Several of the walks in the HW itinerary can be shortened or lengthened to suit individual abilities and taken as a whole they give a very good overview of the area.

Mr Stewart
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
12/09/2014

A good short break in spectacular surroundings, with enough guidance to enable us to enjoy the area to the best as and when we wished without forcing us into any particular programme.

Dr Paterson
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
15/07/2014

The Alfa Soleil is a wonderful hotel with a really excellent restaurant.



We're vegetarians and the chef provided an amazing series of creations over the week for us.



The hotel proprietor is a lovely host who really takes care of all his guests and the hotel team are superb.



The walks are amazing and very varied with plenty of other options - one day we took a day trip to Bern which is a fascinating city, and also spent a day on the lake taking a steamer from Spiez.



We travelled by Eurostar and TGV - dinner in Paris on the way out and lunch in Basel on the way back - really comfortable - do book ahead and get cheap first class tickets for the TGV though.

Mr Williams
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
08/07/2014

Overall an enjoyable holiday, the walks are definitely in the 2 boot category but using the cable cars means much of the walking is flat or downhill. The scenery is majestic providing you can see it for the clouds! Go prepared for mixed weather, we were in Kandersteg in early July and had everything from glorious sunshine to sleet (above Oeschinensee) by way of rain and thunderstorms. We were lucky enough to see an ibex, marmots and an eagle (at the top of Gemmi Pass). The paths were all well maintained and the signage is very good making the navigation easy.



The hotel is welcoming and the rooms comfortable if somewhat dated in decor and furniture. The food is good but be aware that it's a 4 course set menu with just a choice of 2 main courses (or an unspecified vegetarian option). The 'lunch buffet' where you can make up your own packed lunch at breakfast time is a good idea.



The travel arrangements all worked well and the Swiss trains were on time as expected. Being a Saturday the train from Zurich Airport to Bern (and return) can be busy and does not cater particularly well for luggage, we had to leave our bags in the area by the doors along with a number of others. The reserved seats that Headwater provided were necessary but these were upstairs away from our bags. Also note that the train from Bern to Kandersteg splits at Speiz with only the front portion going to Kandersteg and Brig, we didn't find this entirely obvious when boarding the train. It's not a big problem as the ticket inspector checks that you're in the right part of the train but it's easier if you don't have to move yourself and your bags at one of the stops.

Mr Beresford
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
07/07/2014

A great holiday based in an excellent friendly hotel with good local food. The walks,starting from the hotel or via a short train, bus or cable car ride,were interesting and varied. The walks are deserving of the 2 boot status, taking most of the day to complete with the suggested extensions, allowing time for photographs, eating the excellent hotel picnics and admiring the views and the magnificent alpine flowers in June.

Mr Finn
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
18/09/2013

We thought that this was an excellent walking holiday. The variety of the walks meant that we could always choose one which suited us plus could travel to the next valley for better weather. The hotel was extremely comfortable and Peter and Agnes were great hosts with lots of good advice.The big surprise was the quality of the food which was definitely 5 star with good flavours and presentation

Mr Williams
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
14/08/2013

Reassured by a member of Headwater staff who had just been there that the Alpen Soleil in Kandersteg was 'a quiet hotel', we were very disappointed to discover that the hotel is right on a main road at the front and that at the back is a railway line carrying cargo freight through the night. In the hot weather, with windows open, it was hard to sleep for the noise of traffic and trains, all the more intrusive because occasional.

Mr Bradley
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
25/07/2013

Wellorganised, comfortable hotel, easily followed walking notes, beautiful area, challenging treks

Mr McDavitt
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
25/07/2013

We enjoyed our holiday. However, we were a little disappointed by the lack of entertainment in the evening at both the hotel and location.in general.

In terms of value for money we felt the holiday content was expensive when compared to other holidays we have been on. And I do appreciate that we were in Switzerland!

Mr Dennis
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
21/07/2013

Kandersteg was an exellent place for a walking holiday with a good variety of walks but age was against us (we are 80plus) in some instances, we made full use of the cable cars however.

Mrs Longfoot
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
17/07/2013

Switzerland is breathtakingly beautiful and we loved it, but everything was very expensive, so we were glad of half board and the picnics provided which helped to keep the cost down.

Mr Hill
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
09/07/2013

Awesome scenery, excellent hotel, wonderful wild flowers and butterflies.Mixed weather.

Mrs Triger
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
15/06/2013

An excellently organised walking holiday with a selection of very interesting walks. First rate hotel with superb food - makes a huge difference to be 'family owned' and upon arrival we were given an upgraded room as the hotel was not full. A very nice way to start! Kandersteg is quite beautiful and the people courteous and friendly. It helped that we had superb weather for 5 out of 7 days and the mountains and meadows were looking their best. All in all a most successful holiday. Thank you Headwater.

Mrs Satchell
Classic Swiss Alps Walk
12/06/2013

Don't go to Alfa Soleil, beautiful scenery, rubbish food

Headwater response:
We are so sorry that the food at the Alfa Soleil did not meet your expectations. It genuinely took us by surprise - it is normally one of the highlights! Please let me assure you that our Swiss Progamme Manager will be discussing this with the hoteliers and monitoring the situation closely. We have worked with Peter and Agnes at the Hotel Alfa Soleil for many, many years and they are always extremely keen to act on our feedback, we are confident that any issues will be resolved effectively.