Feefo - Independent reviews
  Contact Us

Request a Brochure | Newsletter

Customer reviews: Independent walking in Germany

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted to our website, so that people can make an informed decision based on past experiences before heading off on holiday. We donโ€™t edit the reviews, the only thing we do is proofread them and alter any typos, where necessary, to ensure they are easy to read for everyone. All reviews will be published (except in certain extreme circumstances), and a member of the Headwater team will respond to any constructive criticisms/comments under the reviews, at their discretion. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Mrs Whitehead
Bavarian Rivers Walk
07/08/2019

This was our first foreign walking holiday and we loved the self guided holiday we had and would look to do another. From booking through to returning home all was very straightforward. We are already looking at a cycling option next time!

Mr Sheldon
Walking in Southern Bavaria
17/07/2019

Value fir money ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

Mr Fulford
Walking in Southern Bavaria
09/07/2019

Very good walking, lovely wild flowers, accommodation not good enough

Mrs Walker
Bavarian Rivers Walk
21/06/2019

We enjoyed the walks and found the instructions easy to follow. As the weather was warm we started walking early. Stephen the rep was clearly familiar with the walks and area and gave us good advice . Regensburg was fascinating. From the tourist office we booked a walking tour in English which I would recommend. On our rest day at Kelheim we took the river trip to the monastery were we enjoyed lunch and a beer in the beer garden. At Bad Abbach we enjoyed a couple of hours at the spa. All round an enjoyable holiday with good scenery, interesting places to visit and very friendly people.

Mr Osborn
Walking in Southern Bavaria
17/06/2019

Hotel Jacuzzi great. Upgraded room great. Breakfast v. Good (healthy!), location v. Good. All the walks we went on were enjoyable for 1 boot. Bus to Schloss Neuschwanstein meant a (simple) change each way. A long day, but worth it.

This was a lovely holiday. The beautiful weather enabled us to really enjoy the autumn colours. The waymarking is excellent. Although there is a lot of walking in woods there are also wonderful views of the rivers and walking through rolling countryside. Two of the towns we stayed in were very quiet at this time of year but we did find things to do on our non-walking days

Mr Pitchford
Bavarian Rivers and Valleys Walk
07/09/2018

Pretty scenery, few other walkers , lovely weather, interesting towns, beatiful river views and plentiful Biergartens!

Mr Woodhead
Bavarian Rivers and Valleys Walk
07/09/2018

We had a really excellent holiday. The walking was good and there is no better way to get to know a region and to meet its people. Everyone made us most welcome. The support of the local Headwater rep, based in the area, was invaluable and gave us confidence.

Mr Maitland
Walking in Southern Bavaria
05/09/2018

An excellent location and a friendly family run hotel. The food was varied and interesting and the staff were helpful. The walking routes were well thought out and instructions were pretty good (we had one minor issue but were quickly back on the right track). The only thing to watch is that a number of days start with a rail , bus or chairlift journey so you need to have done your planning the day before to make sure you get to the right place at the right time. There were always different levels of walk on offer in the same location so would suit a group of mixed ability.

Ms Rees
Walking in Southern Bavaria
13/08/2018

The Hotel was lovely and clean, but as others have mentioned, on a main road with people walking past at night - not a problem unless the windows need to be open (no A/C). The food was really lovely traditional Bavarian food and the staff were friendly. One point worth noting - they may ask if you want your water with gas (not "ice" or "a glass" as I first thought). Turns out that means sparkling (obviously)! The route notes were almost completely flawless - just one bit of confusion in Saulgrub, but otherwise perfect. The walks were stunning and very well planned and the details of train times and costs were helpful too (although we managed to get some money off one train ticket by buying a "hopper" ticket instead of a return to Murnau). Overall a lovely experience, a good chance to practice my German (they seemed really pleased when I tried!) and a unique place to visit with lovely clear streams, cow bells echoing around valleys, mountains, waterfalls, quaint buildings and good food. Also, Herbert the taxi driver who picked us up from the airport was incredibly helpful and informative, and happened to have relatives in our home town of Malvern!

Mr Bagnall
Walking in Southern Bavaria
30/07/2018

Southern Bavaria end of June beginning of July was spectacular - beautiful scenery, forests, mountains, flower meadows with lots of bees, butterflies, lovely area of a bygone way of living in the UK so lovely to see its still out there, beautifully painted houses and good walking with the services of rail and bus.

Mr Lucas
Walking in Southern Bavaria
16/07/2018

Excellent location for walking and visiting the famous castles of Southern Bavaria.

This was a lovely holiday in beautiful Bavaria in spite of mixed weather. The ascents through the forests led to speculation views. The morning of the second day walking was the star event, walking through a magical forest and looking across the the Altmuhl to Schloss Prunn on the other side. Once we descended to cross the bridge and climb again to the castle we were rewarded with delicious plum tart at the restaurant there. This 2 boot walk was challenging in terms of climbs and distance but manageable. We would recommend going earlier in the season for a chance of better weather. The forests afford plenty of shade from sunshine. We found the local people friendly and spontaneously helpful.

Mrs Piercey
Bavarian Rivers and Valleys Walk
01/02/2018

Very enjoyable holiday with extremely well marked tracks. Regensburg is a beautiful city and there is a good mixture of things to do on this trip.

Duckworth
Walking in Southern Bavaria
31/01/2018

The area is really beautiful and we were blessed with hot and sunny weather for the whole week. The hotel room was superb - one of the best we've had with Headwater - very spacious and well-appointed with a balcony and views of the surrounding mountains. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the food was tasty with lots of choice at the breakfast buffet and a choice of main meal in the evening. It's helpful if you can speak a bit of German but not necessary. One of the hotel staff came to translate the evening menu for us each day and she was delightful! The walking was ideal for us and not too demanding. We stuck to the one-boot walks as I had a leg injury. There was plenty of variety within the walks and the transport options were efficient and well-timed. We loved the cable car and especially the chair lift ride! There was a lot of choice given in the walks options which we really liked. The area is lively with lots to do from a lovely big swimming pool complex in Oberammergau itself to visits to Schloss Linderhof and beyond. We could have stayed longer as we didn't manage to do everything we wanted. Oberammergau is quite a busy place with a relatively busy road through it (and past the hotel) so would not really suit those wanting a very quiet, get-away-from-it-all kind of holiday but it suited us perfectly. We did the lake walk on a Bavarian holiday (Assumption Day) which was an error on our part as it was absolutely teeming with people especially as the day was a really hot one - in parts it was overwhelming. I'm sure on a normal day this walk would be much quieter. Overall we had a totally stress-free holiday where we had everything we needed for a completely relaxing week. I can't think of anything that would have improved it for us. We didn't want to come home!

Mr Lowe
Walking in Southern Bavaria
02/01/2018

A relaxing holiday walking in beautiful Alpine valleys and meadows, with several of 'Mad' Ludwig's palaces and castles within easy reach.

Mrs Garwood
Bavarian Rivers and Valleys Walk
05/12/2017

Enjoyed exploring an area of Germany which we have not been to before but would have preferred a bit more variety to the walking (slightly less walking through woodland as didn't get enough opportunities to admire the views; we enjoyed the boat trip from Kelheim up the Danube gorge). Apart from Regensburg we didn't find the towns as pretty as expected. The food was good and the variety of beers from local breweries was excellent.

Mrs Hodgson
Walking in Southern Bavaria
20/06/2017

Bavaria is a wonderful destination, the walking is excellent. Oberammergau and the nearby villages are a delight, in June the meadows are a joy to behold. My limited German was a help as in some restaurants and bars, there was limited English, and even then the local accent was tricky, (but Apfel strudel is good in any language).

Dr Cobner
Walking in Southern Bavaria
29/11/2016

Excellent walking in lovely surroundings. Good accommodation.

Mr Carr
Walking in Southern Bavaria
29/11/2016

The hotel is lovely, with great staff. The service was brilliant.

Mr Andrews
Walking in Southern Bavaria
28/09/2016

We found the Bavarian countryside quite fascinating. Everything was good, the scenery, the walks, the accommodation and food. We also met interesting people who were also on the holiday as we usually do. Earlier this month we had a twenty year re-union with four friends we met on one of your holidays in Corsica.

Mrs Hart
Walking in Southern Bavaria
19/08/2016

Landhaus Feldmeier exceeded expectations- an excellent room with plenty of seating and a balcony. Veggie food better than expected. Excellent and varied walking with options increased by good local public transport (rail and bus). A longish and not especially pleasant taxi ride to/ from Munich (no criticism of drivers).

Hotel Opera was rather odd. Service was excellent - there seemed to be almost as many staff as guests. However, the room was rather weird and a bit shabby/ dirty (e.g. stained bright mustard carpet and grubby bed trim) and I found the hotel a bit pretentious. The location was excellent though with easy access to the city centre and the English Gardens.

Mr Clugston
Walking in Southern Bavaria
15/07/2016

We (3, 60 something adults) had a good walking holiday in the Oberammagau area. The walks were varied, well graded and easy to modify as one cared to, and dependent on weather. Also plenty of other places to visit and experience. For eg, we chose one day to go to Zugspitz using the local bus, cog train and cable car and then walk around the Eibsee, about 7km, with spectacular views. An excellent add on. Accommodation at Landhaus Feldmeier was ok. We had upgraded to a deluxe room out the back which was great. Food generally good, certainly plenty of it, but we would have liked side vegetables/salad with the main courses. Some confusion in arrangements: no car to pick us up from Munich airport, and no record at hotel of our upgrading to comfort room: both issues sorted very promptly by Headwater / manager. Gift bottle of good red appreciated. Highest level of excitement was on our way to Oberammagau: 160km/hr in our replacement taxi, a Toyota Prius, with driver fiddling with his phone Sat Nav.

Mrs Cross
Walking in Southern Bavaria
06/07/2016

Helpful Headwater staff who made planning and booking our holiday easy. Oberammergau is a wonderful location, Hotel Feldmeier was excellent with friendly, helpful staff. As well as the fantastic scenery and walks there is plenty to see and do in the town. Free bus pass made it easy to get to nearby towns. Also good rail connections from the local station.

Mis Lee
Walking in Southern Bavaria
01/07/2016

An excellent holiday. Lovely sunshine and masses of flowers in the meadows made it especially beautiful. The walks were very varied and there were some interesting places to visit en route and on any non walking day(s). A very good centre.

Mr Curwen
Walking in Southern Bavaria
14/06/2016

A lovely relaxing holiday in a great location and fantastic walking opportunities.

Dr Hodgson
Walking in Southern Bavaria
09/09/2015

A really lovely holiday: excellent walking, and a chance to enjoy the special culture of the area.

Ms Hancock
Walking in Southern Bavaria
03/09/2015

A great holiday with fantastic walk suggestions that we used in conjunction with the map to explore the area.

Mr Valk
Walking in Southern Bavaria
28/07/2015

Very enjoyable walking in spectacular countryside, along well signed and maintained paths, guided by excellent route notes.

Mrs Stocks
Walking in Southern Bavaria
20/07/2015

A great holiday with varied walking options available, Village had great atmosphere and opportunities for shopping and sightseeing away from just walking. We extended our trip with 3 nights in Munich at the hotel recommended by Headwater which was a super place and gave us chance for a bit of culture and city life after the scenery!

Mr Tribe
Walking in Southern Bavaria
15/07/2015

Very good worth doing, may do it again, great food and beer, watch out for the mountains they are not the same as the hills in Kent.

Mrs Magnier
Walking in Southern Bavaria
07/07/2015

We were very happy with the holiday from the headwater point of view. Accomodation i would not be happy with.Compared to other places we visited in the area the level of english spoken in this hotel was very poor,even when we asked what something was on the menu ,the waitress didnt understand us .Thank you for the bottle of wine which we appreciated very much.the walking was superb and the guides provided for the walking were very good. Beautiful country and people were very friendly and most helpful.

Mrs Wright
Walking in Southern Bavaria
01/07/2015

Walking in Bavaria in June was just amazing. The wild flowers were beautiful to see in the meadows. Oberammergau is ideally situated with easy rail and bus access to the wider area.

Mrs Cockburn
Walking in Southern Bavaria
16/06/2015

Fabulous holiday in great location. Walking was delightful. Accommodation was brilliant - only downside was the food where there was little if any choice and it was not to our taste.

Mr Tucker
Walking in Southern Bavaria
22/10/2014

Good. But the food was uninspired, with too much use of factory-made sauces. The deserts were dull - ice-cream almost every evening. No fruit available at breakfast and the yoghurt was definitely 'off' on one day. Staff nice but their English very limited - it is incorrect to say that the family speak the language.

Pro Winlow
Walking in Southern Bavaria
26/09/2014

Bavaria is very nice and very green because it rains a lot! Apart from that we had a good time, but Oberammergau is a bit isolated and it's best to take your car if you can, although local transport is very good.

Mrs Newsome
Walking in Southern Bavaria
26/09/2014

Perfect walking area, perfect location of very good hotel - excellent local transport and very varied mix and combination of sightseeing and walking possible. Even had perfect weather - brilliant!

Mr Upton
Walking in Southern Bavaria
24/09/2014

Oberammergau is an excellent place to visit for walking and historical sites, the whole area is beautiful (think the sound of music) we really enjoyed the whole time we were there.

Mr Propert
Walking in Southern Bavaria
19/09/2014

The 'superior' accommodation really was very good indeed. The local tax a bit of a surprise at the end of the week - if it is mentioned, then you should emphasise it more. The walks and interest are excellent, and the notes worked well, because the paths, signposts and surfaces are so good. We have usually gone to Italy or France with you - and German food is a bit of a shock, in its solidity and calorie count.

Ms Morrison
Walking in Southern Bavaria
06/08/2014

This was our first holiday with Headwater as we normally organise our holidays ourselves. We will definitely consider another Headwater holiday in the future, as the local knowledge was invaluable, the walks just great (and appropriate for our level), and the hotel was excellent (the request for vegetarian food didn't seem to have reached the hotel but it wasn't a problem, and the chef made up delicious veggie dishes specially each day). We found that the premium that Headwater provides over self-organised holidays is well worth the extra cost: it saved us substantial planning time and made logistics easy, so that we could focus on the more important business of enjoying a great walking holiday. Thank you!

Mrs Jones
Walking in Southern Bavaria
23/07/2014

Excellent holiday. Covered everything, good walking at your own level and pace, good food in the area, and a good few places of interest on your doorstep to mix with your walking or do on their own.

Easy to use local transport, train, bus and ski lift - even if your German is very limited.

Mrs Hutchison
Walking in Southern Bavaria
11/07/2014

A reasonably energetic yet wonderfully relaxed walking holiday.

Mrs Ross
Walking in Southern Bavaria
01/07/2014

Very quiet comfortable and clean family run hotel in good location. Convenient for public transport and ice creams after a day's walking. A very good selection of walks, suitable for all abilties. We just needed longer to complete them all!

Mrs Ife
Walking in Southern Bavaria
29/06/2014

Friendly and welcoming hotel, with good food and enjoyable and varied walks.

Mrs Wood
Walking in Southern Bavaria
24/06/2014

Everything went smoothly with travel arrangements on outward and inward journeys.. Standard of food was exceptional for *** hotel. Would have appreciated a kettle in bedroom to make tea/coffee and fill hot water bottle. Very enjoyable holiday. Maps and information all very helpful and accurate.

Mr Burch
Walking in Southern Bavaria
08/06/2014

Our holiday was well organised and the hotel was comfortable and friendly. The walks were well chosen and the self-guiding notes were informative and easy to follow. The only slightly disappointing aspect as the weather; it rained on most days, so I would advise potential travellers to be prepared for wet weather - especially early in the season.

Mr Robinson
Walking in Southern Bavaria
02/10/2013

Oberammergau is a lovely location from which to base a walking holiday. We were fortunate to have sunshine nearly all week (21-28 Sept), and made the most it by doing many of the walks provided in the Headwater literature. The most exhilarating being Sonnenberg Ridge linked to The Kofel - quite possible in a single day, although the advice in the walking notes regarding narrow ledges and cables need to be carefully considered. The local buses, trains and chair lift are all easily accessed and efficient. The hotel owner gave us a discount card for use with the buses and lifts. The food was cooked to perfection, but not very inspirational.

Mr Powell
Walking in Southern Bavaria
18/09/2013

The holiday was everything that we hoped it would be.

Mrs Grosschmidt
Walking in Southern Bavaria
21/07/2013

Fantastic week 5th-12th July 2013 enjoyed all the walks best ones were the difficult route on the sonnenberg ridge, chair lift closed also path to start of walk closed due

to cycle race so had to walk to start of walk well worth it.High over the Hornle was also a good walk with fantastic views. Good food all week for the humble vegetarian.

Staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly.



Mrs Larcombe
Walking in Southern Bavaria
19/07/2013

Oberammergau was an ideal location for our walking holiday, every day we walked somewhere different which made it interesting.

The public transport was easy to use, particularly the train and the walk from the hotel to the train station was a reasonable difference.

The 4 course evening meal at the hotel was very good value and extremely tasty.