Feefo - Independent reviews
  Contact Us

Request a Brochure | Newsletter

Customer reviews: United Kingdom walking holidays

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted to our website, so that people can make an informed decision based on past experiences before heading off on holiday. We don’t edit the reviews, the only thing we do is proofread them and alter any typos, where necessary, to ensure they are easy to read for everyone. All reviews will be published (except in certain extreme circumstances), and a member of the Headwater team will respond to any constructive criticisms/comments under the reviews, at their discretion. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Mrs Ozaki
Walking the Lizard Peninsula
04/10/2022

Breathtaking scenery, lovely friendly people every day of our walk. Maybe a bit more challenging for my husband, but he was determined & feels the sense of pride for accomplishing the walk. All the accommodations were great & the small towns were very friendly & helpful.

Mr Sellens
Oxford to Bath Walk
03/10/2022

I think the last day from castle combe to bath was too long for me. It is hard to see how this 17 mile route can be shortened. It may of been better to walk from Bath to Oxford when one has more energy at the start of a long walk.

A lovely walk, but a five star price for very ordinary accommodation.

Miss Thorneycroft
Walking the Northumberland Coast
27/09/2022

A beautiful coastline and we were lucky with the weather as perfect for walking and only had an hour of rain on the whole trip. Was surprised at how flat the whole coast was so made for easy walking compared to my local coastline in North Cornwall. Clear notes to follow and signage throughout very good so couldn't really go wrong. Welcomed along the way, hotels good and food excellent in most places and luggage left in good time.

This was a lovely trip. The notes for the walk were excellent - very helpful. This a walk so worth doing even though it was quite taxing in parts.

Miss Saunders
Walking the Northumberland Coast
20/09/2022

The Northumberland coast is just beautiful - even on the 2 very wet days at the beginning of our trip! Faboulous beaches, great walks, castles and views,and we were lucky enough to see seals and dolphins along the way. Accommodation - Alannah and The Old Rectory are both fab. The Sun, Manor House and Victoria are fine, with good breakfasts but some of the rooms are looking a bit tired, but all clean. The notes are comprehensive - you're given lots of options/ information but would have been clearer to just explain the main route. The visit to the Holy Island is a highlight - don't be put off by the ' worrying two pages of notes about getting onto the island/tides etc. Just check the safe crossing times and you'll be fine. If you don't eat in at Howick you'll need to get a cab to either Craster or Almouth for dinner. You need to book cabs in advance and they are not cheap. If you're in Warkworth on a Thursday night the Hermitage Inn does a great quiz night.

Mr Jones
Oxford to Bath Walk
20/09/2022

Attractive scenery and interesting towns, but some long stages required more than an average level of fitness (for a couple in their seventies).

A good holiday for those who prefer easier walking and time to visit places of interest en route e.g. St David's Cathedral. We had excellent accommodation (and breakfasts!) with knowledgeable and helpful hosts - having left a camera behind, one even offered to bring it out to me, a 10 mile round trip! Our briefing by Laura was thorough and she assured us she was available at all times. She remained friendly and informative throughout.

Excellent walking and grand countryside. Luggage transfer worked perfectly. Walking notes were spot-on. The choice of itinerary, start and end points were excellent for public transport. I took the advice of some of your reviewers and stayed an extra night at Twice Brewed to visit the museums (Vindolanda, Chesters, Housesteads) on a non-walking day (AD 122 bus) and was glad that I did. Vindolanda alone took over 2 hours and I could have stayed longer. I allowed time at the end to visit the Roman Town and museum at Corbridge - an excellent finale to the week. Some of the walking was challenging but the lengths of the stages were well managed and this 76-year-old enjoyed herself very much. Hotels were well chosen (the food at Greenhead and at Corbridge was excellent) but although The George at Chollerford is stunningly situated and I had a lovely modern room, management was woefully absent and food was awful. The weather was perfect. I had a great holiday. Thankyou Headwater!

The hadrians wall holiday is well thought out with extremely detailed route notes and with accommodation in all the right places . The scenery is stunning , and the food in all but one of the pubs was good . We stayed two nights at twice brewed in order to be able to take part in an excellent star gazing event and also to visit vindolanda. The baggage transfers worked really smoothly . The AD 122 bus ( every two hours along the route ) was really helpful for getting around . The only thing I can say is that the taxi to

The start of the first days walking was expensive … but there is no other way of getting there ! Also , the stay at the George hotel was decidedly substandard : grubby rooms, weedy garden, food not great , broken shower . I would want to stay somewhere else really .

Thanks headwater for a great holiday .

I think the map book w got was quite good, but if there were a map from you that shows the route you offer we were missing. Especial the Circular trip in Padstow, was easy to get "lost", even though we heard "u can't go wrong". We did several times on tis track/path. Luckily we had excellent weather so no stress going wrong, and spend more time didn't bother. And we had very nice weather on all walks, as we didn't expect. Bonus. This is not on yours, but the path often missing signs and directions. Over all we're very happy for the walk we made, transportation and pick up was always on time.

Mrs White
Best of the Cotswolds Walk
08/08/2022

We loved this holiday. The walking notes were excellent, the Cotswolds is just stunning and the accommodation was to a high standard. We highly recommend this holiday.

Mr Jenkins
Walking the Northumberland Coast
01/08/2022

An excellent walking holiday along one of the best coasts of England. We managed to book an extra night in Bamburgh in order to visit the Farne Islands by taking a bus to Seahouses on the free day. However, on checking with our booked Farne boat trip on the day we walked through Seahouses to get to Bamburgh, we were advised that the weather on the following day would probably result in cancellation of our trip so we opted to swap to the one leaving in 30 minutes time. We then continued walking to Bamburgh after our excellent boat trip. The following day we managed to do the optional walk to Budle Bay from Bamburgh but the weather deteriorated on the way back. The following day we managed to visit Bamburgh castle before catching the bus to Beal in order to cross the causeway to Holy Island, our safe crossing time not being until 17.05. To get off the island next day,as advised, we caught the bus to causeway end and then walked to Berwick. Essential to make advanced preparations.

Miss Robbinshallam
Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk
25/07/2022

Good accommodation ( especially Mortons and The Limes , which were both excellent) and great walks, although the walk to Lulworth Cove we felt was more challenging than the 1.5 boot rating. We are experienced walkers so were fine, but there are some pretty steep ups and downs. However, another successful Headwater walking holiday for us.

Miss Mcclean
Pembroke to Amroth Walk
25/07/2022

The south Pembrokeshire coast is beautiful and we were lucky to have some good weather. The first day was perhaps less scenic as the oil refinery was viewed from every angle but it was interesting to see that aspect of Milford Haven. On the second day the taxi picked us up 30 minutes later than planned and we were slower on some of the steep descents and ascents so we were never going to make the pick up time. This therefore felt pressured. However after that pick ups worked well. The scenery from Angle onwards was fantastic and we loved the sandy beaches, watching the sea birds and even managed a couple of swims. We would advise people to book evening meals in advance and for Tenby perhaps book before you start your holiday as it was very busy and the phone signal is often poor or absent in the few days before Tenby. Overall we had a great holiday and would certainly love to explore more of the Pembrokeshire coast.

The itinerary notes were outstanding, truly impressed.

Mrs Kelsey
Walking the Northumberland Coast
17/07/2022

Excellent walking and beautiful beaches. Notes easy to follow but a couple of sections need an update. However, the coast path is very easy to follow. Hotels good, but The Sun and The Manor House (obviously the same group) are a bit dated . Their mattresses are not of good quality and could feel the springs! However, staff at The Sun were helpful and changed our room without quibble. I do sometimes wonder if rooms booked via a company…. Are given the ‘less good’ rooms. Often seem to look out on and have to listen to an extractor fan or fan from air con unit. However, in general, we were ok with the standard. The Old Rectory was exceptional, in all ways.

I would recommend the holiday. The views and walking are excellent. We had the bonus of good weather too! Organisation, customer service and information from Headwater also excellent

Mrs Harrison
Best of the Cotswolds Walk
12/07/2022

The Cotswold village circular walk holiday was a really enjoyable experience. The walking was well signposted with detailed walking instructions in a handbook provided by Headwater in conjunction with Hikes and Bikes. The villages were delightful with the beautiful cotswold yellow stone cottages. The countryside was amass with flowers. June/July is a wonderful time to visit. Our luggage transfer was very efficient and our suitcases were waiting when we arrived at our hotels/bed and breakfast en route.

Mr Styles
Oxford to Bath Walk
29/06/2022

A bit monotonous and occasional days too long

A varied, well balanced, interesting introduction for us to the less commercial side of the Lochs Ness, Oich and Tarff. A good selection of hotels of differing character, all of an excellent and high standard. Food delightful throughout. Mountain, canal and loch walks were supported by easy to follow walking notes and all afforded beautiful and varief scenery with some dramatic views. A great way to discover the Highlands of Scotland with comfort all the way. The local agents, Ticket to Ride, who transferred us and our luggage were helpful, very pleasant and clearly wanted us to enjoy our holiday. Absolutely loved the whole holiday.

Mr Holroyde
Walking the Best of Hadrian's Wall
06/06/2022

Everything went well, service, help from Headwater, notes etc. The only thing as a group was why we were put in the Hadrian Hotel, rather than the George Hotel. Whilst the Hadrian hotel is good, its no longer geared to walkers, with their expensive evening taster menu and slightly further off the walk. We found it odd walking the extra 1.5 miles to this hotel, as we passed the George Hotel. The breakfast at the Hadrian's was excellent. We did talk to the staff who explained some of the history with Headwater, but going forward I would have thought we should have stayed at the George, particularly as we booked over a year ago.

Mrs Bartlett
Walking the Lizard Peninsula
03/06/2022

We had a brilliant holiday. However we found some of the grade 2 walks challenging as they were very steep

A great way to introduce yourself to a different type of holiday, especially if you are unsure of how to plan things and the best route.

Mr Cheek
Best of the Cotswolds Walk
03/06/2022

Headwater's attention to detail always makes for a good holiday.

Mrs Mendham
Walking the Northumberland Coast
24/05/2022

Northumbria is beautiful. The people are helpful and friendly. The walking was hard at times, mainly because of the distances. The hotels are not as comfortable as we expected. If you want to experience all Northumberland can offer you need to take time in some of the places to see the attractions such as the Farne Islands, Alnwick castle and gardens, Bamburgh castle, Dunstanburgh castle and Lindsifarne castle. It is a shame just to walk past them

Prof Kiyavash
North Pembrokeshire Coast Walk
28/04/2022

It was wonderful. We particularly loved our local agent Laura from VIP Wales. What a gem!

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, and found all the accommodation very comfortable. You definitely need walking boots on the route as there are some stretches of scrambling over rocks, and some very muddy parts. The generous breakfasts set us up for the day, so we found that we didn't need a packed lunch,but just took a cereal bar and some fruit each. However, we did on some days find a café en route or at the end of the walk for the odd cream tea etc! The only place where we found that there was no pub or restaurant for an evening meal within walking distance of the accommodation was Porthcurno. Overall a very inspiring holiday.

We've used Headwater many times in mainland Europe but this was our first experience in the UK - for obvious reasons this year! As always we found the experience second to none, really enjoyed the walking and the excellent choices of accommodation. The rep's briefing was really helpful and the maps, gradings and alternative walks all worked really well. Thank you!

Mr FENNELL
Walk the Welsh Highland Railway
28/10/2021

Holidays in Wales are always likely to be weather affected and mine was no exception to the extent that low cloud, rain and wind meant that any of the high ascents were pointless from an enjoyment point of view. However I was advised by local reps/accommodation providers of other quite challenging options that could be done despite the weather. Additionally the Welsh Highland Line was not operating its normal service because of Covid so taxis were laid on where necessary. This detracted to a degree from the overall enjoyment of the holiday.

Ms DOMINEY
Walking the Cotswold Ring
25/10/2021

Most enjoyable circular walk in beautiful countryside. Travelled and walked alone using the excellent maps and instructions provided. Accommodation very close to the walk routes, so no detours / taxis required. Found my own dinner options online and booking in advance to be recommended at present. Luggage transfer went very smoothly and mostly found my suitcase already in my room on arrival. Comfortable and very clean ensuite rooms, although one was a bit cramped, but in a very old coaching hotel. Would travel again with Headwater as I felt confident with all planning.

Overall I enjoyed this walking holiday. Offa's Dyke is well worth doing. It is challenging on some days at times so the 2+ rating it has been given is justified. Hotels and B&B 's are of varying standards. Incredibly the weather stayed dry and it was occasionally warm and sunny.

Had a lovely break and really enjoyed all the walks. My first time doing self-guided but no problems and easy to follow routes. Enjoyed house visits but logistics of booking them was quite challenging as had to pre-book specific time slots. Fortunately they were flexible and helpful when needed. Only real problem I had was that some places were closed on the day that I was due to visit which was disappointing. I found everyone very friendly and welcoming which was really nice when travelling alone. I was lucky to have very good weather which helped too!

Mr COLE
The Cotswold Way Walk
13/10/2021

I had a real adventure walking the Cotswold Way. Having my luggage sent ahead was best. The accommodation was mostly delightful and provided many pleasant surprises and some real characters to talk to.

Mrs LAWSON
Best of the Cotswolds Walk
08/10/2021

A lovely circular walk through the Cotswolds

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday but considered it an expensive holiday as our travel was not included - even travelling to and from accommodation that was not located at the route end, particularly when we had two nights at the Old Success Inn.

The level of difficulty was more extreme/dangerous than we had anticipated. We were very glad that our weather conditions were excellent! Some of the route instructions weren't very clear and Coastal Path way signs were lacking in some areas - almost non-existent on Day one.

We were delighted with all of our accommodation until we reached our last destination in Penzance where we had booked an additional night. The accommodation was clean but fell far short of our previous hostelries. How disappointed we were!

Russ couldn't have been more helpful particularly when our initial flight from Edinburgh was delayed.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our challenging holiday and would certainly like to return to see more of Cornwall.

A beautiful walk over 5 days on the coastal footpath. A little more challenging than we had expected. The terrain is quite difficult in places and we are experienced walkers. The last day from Porthcurno to Mousehole was especially hard. The accommodation overall was great, a mixed bag but no complaints.. The St Austell Brewery pubs at Sennen Cove and Mousehole are lovely, very comfortable rooms with wonderful sea views.

We would do it again.

We needed more cash than we had anticipated so would recommend people take at least around £50 per person. There is a cash point in Lands End which the walk passes but it was out of order.

Mrs BARTLETT
Walking the Northumberland Coast
04/10/2021

Excellent holiday, wonderful walking, beautiful castles, pretty villages

A very enjoyable holiday, but quite challenging walking at times, both because of the boulders on some of the paths and the length of walks. We were very lucky with the weather, and the scenery was stunning. We really felt we got to know Cornwall in depth by walking along this beautiful coast.

Mrs RILEY
North East Wales Heritage Trail
30/09/2021

Some of the walks without the GPS would have been extremely difficult as they were not well used and paths not well marked. We had to find stiles in overgrown hedges and ditches. We found some of the walks challenging even though we have years of experience of walking.with Headwater.

Mr DUGGLEBY
Best of the Cotswolds Walk
28/09/2021

An excellent route with excellent route notes. All accommodation was also of high standard apart from the White Hart at Winchcombe which should be dropped immediately.

Headwater's choice of start and end points for the Hadrian's Wall walk were absolutely spot on. This, combined with the West-to-East direction of travel definitely gave this an advantage over others. The hotels were very welcoming and of a high standard. We couldn't fault any of the arrangements. The guide notes and maps were easy to follow and very comprehensive - especially when pointing out Roman remains that might otherwise have been missed. Our friends had to postpone this trip and we are extremely happy to be re-booked to do it all again with them. We are also looking to see which other walking trips we can book with Headwater as we have been so impressed with everything.

Mrs MORGAN
Walking the Lizard Peninsula
27/09/2021

Wonderful hospitality and stunning scenery. As with most coastal areas, the walking is sometimes tough but very rewarding. Our breakfasts were superb with generous quantities of fresh fruit, cereals and cooked items. In spite of all the walking, we seldom needed any food at lunch breaks. We met some wonderful B&B owners and sometimes felt we talked as much as we walked. Next time we will look at being more flexible with longer stays in some places. There was little time to get to know the villages/towns.

Accommodation was well spaced to allow moderate day walks. Path was slightly more difficult than we had anticipated, so we found we were at the slow end of the timings suggested. The South West coast path is poorly signposted in places - it is important not to be side-tracked by public footpaths. Bag collection and delivery was excellent.

All in all a fabulous holiday, my only criticism is that some of the notes were not very clear at times. Having said that I would definitely travel with you again.

Wonderful location and great walking, helped by excellent weather. The accommodation was fair, but well located, although understaffing due the current situation seemed to be a recurring problem.

A wonderful opportunity to see the real lake district away from the roads and crowds. The walks and views were sublime and came with a glorious sense of isolation with the traditional countryside and sheep as a reminder of traditional farming through the centuries. Every walk gave way to such fabulous photo opportunities and we were blessed with warm september sunshine so we could see for miles.

Mr LEWANDOWSKI
Walking the Northumberland Coast
23/09/2021

We have been on a number of guided walks abroad, this was our first self guided trip. What an excellent choice Northumberland lovely coastline, nice people and excellent weather as a bonus. Followed the route as directed and didn't get lost Another bonus

Headwater response:
A superb review of our Northumberland holiday, thank you for sharing. We look forward to welcoming you on many more self-guided holidays in the future.
Headwater Customer Service Team

Mr FAIRWEATHER
Walking the Cotswold Ring
20/09/2021

An excellent holiday, with detailed route notes that were generally easy to follow. Because several different long distance routes were combined, the walking was varied and always interesting. The accommodation en route was more than satisfactory and ideally located. One regret was that, with only one night in each village, by the time that the day's walk was completed, there wasn't time to explore fully some of the interesting places on the way.

Miss ROBBINSHALLAM
St.Dogmaels to St.Davids Walk
20/09/2021

A fantastic week - the walks are challenging, both long distances and ups and downs along the coastal path but we loved it. Saw lots of seals and their pups on the many bays along the way. All the accommodation was excellent and the local agents - ensured all the logistics, pick ups, transfers etc went according to plan and were very helpful and knowledgable with info on the walks, area and places to eat. Would recommend.

Mr BECKER
Walk the Welsh Highland Railway
17/09/2021

This holiday has been lovely, with very well selected walking tours that kept me challenged and entertained. The GPS has worked well and has avoided me taking the wrong turn here and there., including on the misty mountain side. If I would have tried to organise this all on my own it would have taken ages, so I feel it is worthwhile using Headwater's service. In total I only interacted with 2 people, the person booking the trip and a local person knowing the intricacies of the walks, hotels etc. Both were always very helpful.

Headwater response:
Thank you Mr Becker for your holiday summary, it is lovely to read that you had a great time away with us.
Headwater Customer Service Team

Headwater did a great job of organising the logistics, coordination and accomodation selection, leaving us to enjoy yet holiday worry free.

Mrs HOSKINS
Walking the Best of Hadrian's Wall
09/09/2021

This holiday exceeded our expectations

Mrs DUFFIELD
Walking the Best of Hadrian's Wall
02/09/2021

A great week. We have to mention the Star Gazing at Twice Brewed which was great. Walk notes were very accurate and easy to follow. A well needed holiday enjoyed by everyone.

A walking holiday packed with historical sites. Advisable to pre-book taxis and evening meals.

Ms VAN VELSEN
Literary Walking in the Lake District
02/09/2021

Excellent holiday - shame about the torrential rain for part of it!

All pick ups and transfers were smooth.

the accommodation was good/excellent.

The trip was described as leisurely but there were very rocky ascents and descents at times - I wish I had brought a stick.

We would have appreciated some notes as to the walk from Hawkshead to Hill Top Farm.

Mr DAFFARN
Walking Offa's Dyke Path (North)
02/09/2021

Although this trip is advertised as self guided it isn't really as the Headwater App was so good that is was impossible to get even a foot off the proper route! So no chance of getting lost! Our first experience of using a walking GPS app and we found it very reassuring and made the whole experience very comfortable. Accommodation throughout the walk was excellent. With the current situation in the UK, people need to be advised to pre book evening meals as many restaurants may be fully booked on certain days.

Very enjoyable, but the walking was challenging

Mr BROWNSCOMBE
Walking Offa's Dyke Path (North)
05/08/2021

This is a challenging walk, some days are extremely demanding with long days 6-7+ hours walking. Since our trip happened to coincide exactly with an unprecedented heatwave in July we did find it necessary to shorten the routes on some days. Claire, the local representative, was helpful with arrangements to do this. She also had to deal with changing our first hotel at very short notice because of a sudden Covid related closure. Aspects of the Covid restrictions did affect the whole trip but it was good to be away.

We climbed many hills, saw wonderful views and there were few other people about.

The accommodation is of varying standard but the Mulberry Inn and Moors Farm were highlights.

The directions provided were good and the Headwater App kept us on track but it does use a lot of power and a battery pack back-up was essential. The trail itself is generally well-signed but it is often necessary leave it to reach the accommodation and we would have liked to have OS maps provided

Mr GOLDINGAY
Walking the Best of Hadrian's Wall
03/08/2021

Extremely enjoyable walking, with lovely pubs to stay in at the end of each day. Food in the hotels at the end of each day was good, with the Hadrian Hotel in particular standing out as excellent.

If you are looking for history, Wordsworth, Ruskin, Cunliffe as well as beautiful scenic lakes and fells this is for you. Staying in the beautiful Grasmere, Coniston with its lake and the world famous Bluebird cafe and finally to the quintessential village of Hawkshead. Taking a Gondola ride on Coniston, the peace and quiet of Grizedale forest and spectacular views towards Hawkshead. From start to finish this holiday offers all you need for a perfect weeks walking.

An amazing privilege to travel this ancient route and see the remains and ruins of the Vindolanda, Housesteads and Chesters forts, as well as the impressive roman town at Corbridge. (It's worth joining English Heritage, as this repays itself by the time you have also visited these sites as well as the medieval Lanercost Priory and Aydon Castle.)

Mrs WILLIAMS
Walking the Lizard Peninsula
27/07/2021

We had a brilliant time on the Lizard Peninsula. A fabulous welcome everywhere we stayed and some truly memorable walks along this glorious coastline. Special credit to the local rep who really went out of his way to make sure we got the most out of our trip. The route was quiet, despite the staycation trend this summer, so we were able to get away from the crowds, enjoy the views, the wildlife and the exercise! There are some reasonably challenging descents and ascents on this section of the coastal path, but also long sections of flat cliff-top walking through wildflower meadows. Would recommend booking evening meals in advance, as options can be limited in some places and restaurants are busy.

Mr RUGG
Walking the Cotswold Ring
26/07/2021

Really wonderful walking - the Cotswold Ring was quite exceptional. The walks were about the right distance for us but we broke up the final walk between Stowe and Cheltenham with a stop-over a the Guitling Guest House in Guiting Power. We can highly recommend this walk.

A well planned itinerary with good guidance and clear indication of walking difficulty. Highly recommended.

Mrs CHAMBERS
Walking the Lizard Peninsula
22/07/2021

Excellent walking with beautiful coastal scenery. enhanced by glorious weather. A bit tougher than expected as it was so hot.

Well organised, good comms and very good service with no hiccups. All the accommodation was very comfortable and close to our walking route. We were very happy with it all.

Although we had walked in the Lake District before, this holiday gave the opportunity to experience routes new to us and it certainly covered a wide variety of scenery. The standard of accommodation in each centre was excellent and we would like to make special mention of the staff at the Wordsworth Hotel and the Queen's Head who could not do enough for us despite having the extra work of coping with Covid procedures. Lakeland House being a B & B staffed only part-time was a different experience but we had been advised of this in advance and as a small building it did the best it could to be Covid secure and was certainly adequate for our needs. Thanks also to the staff at Headwater for helping us to have an enjoyable holiday after the disappointment of our Catalunya Activities week being cancelled last year.

A great, but often under rated walk. Distances worth getting up for, but not too strenuous. Beautiful scenery which often varied from wide open beaches with dunes to cliff tops with rocky shore. Some parts similar to the lovely, but over used Dorset coast. Accommodation often above what we expected. Well worth doing, even on the rainy day.

Mrs SEVILLE
Walking the Lizard Peninsula
12/07/2021

A fabulous 5 days of walking in spectacular scenery with beautiful wild flowers but knowing there was a warm welcome , hot showers and comfortable bed at the end of each day. In the last two hotels I could lie on the bed , look out to sea and contemplate with a real sense of achievement my days walk . The Lizard peninsula seemed to have its own microclimate, hence an abundance of wild flowers and is a wonderful peaceful to escape from the bust tourist traps.

Wonderful walking in a less well known area of North Wales. Quiet valleys, great views and interesting routes. Headwater route finding app exceeded expectations and although we ad maps as a back up, we didn’t need to use them.

A wonderful walk that takes in the best of Hadrians Wall with plenty of time to see various sites along the route. The walking is very varied each day so no chance of getting bored of the scenery. The Hotel(s) service and food was a genuine pleasure to experience at the end of the day. A most enjoyable holiday.

Mr TINGEY
North East Wales Heritage Trail
08/07/2021

A thoroughly researched suite of walks through some unspoilt and beautiful countryside in NE Wales

Mr DENBY
Walking the Cotswold Ring
06/07/2021

Great holiday. Bags transported as promised and were always waiting for us either in reception or in our rooms at the destination accommodation. Accommodation is...varied -some good, some poor



Headwater response:
Thanks Mr Denby for your holiday feedback, good to see you had a great time. Please be assured your feedback with regards to accommodation will be monitored in order that improvements can be made.
Headwater Customer Service Team

Fantastic week away - we were blessed with perfect blue skies. The landscape is stunning. We are regular walkers and found the walks were strenuos in parts (particularly St Ives to Zennor and Portcurno to Mousehole) However that certainly didn't spoil the holiday. Accommodation was good. The local representative Russ couldn't have been more helpful. We definitely would recommend this holiday! Only criticism was the route notes were not very detailed and didn't really add much value.

Beautiful walking, wish we had been able to complete the south coast elements, but zennor to sennen was on a par with Dolomites and Swiss walking for challenge and views

Looking forward to doing something similar in the uk again

Mr SLINN
Best of the Cotswolds Walk
02/07/2021

Excellent organisation from the operators, including very detailed maps and directions. However bear in mind that you will be “living out of a suitcase” and pack carefully, don’t take too much stuff, beware you have to walk come rain or shine.

Mr CAMERON
Oxford to Bath Walk
02/07/2021

lovely scenery but not enough time to do the walks and visit the gardens or explore the towns as well

Mrs TILSON
Walking the Lizard Peninsula
30/06/2021

Lovely walking hotel with great accommodation and food, but be prepared for all Cornish weather in one week!

We loved our time away - everything was arranged smoothly and all necessary information was received in good time. The walking instructions were superb and very thorough - we did not get lost once. The accommodation was very suitable for our needs.

Mrs HARRISON
Walking the Cotswold Ring
30/06/2021

Pretty villages , beautiful flower filled meadows and gentle rolling hills. The last day of 17.5 miles back to Cheltenham is long but very pleasant and a stop off of fruit cake and tea was really welcome at the village post office in Guiting Power on the way. Insect repellent is a good idea as horse flies were rather hungry in some locations.

Mrs WOODHOUSE
Best of the Cotswolds Walk
30/06/2021

Enjoyable, plenty of time to enjoy countryside.

A very good holiday and excellent walk. The directions and route were easy to follow. Some of the hotels could be more comfortable. Breakfast were all excellent or very good, but evening meals available were of an average standard. Covid restrictions were still in place.

Mrs SANDISON
Walking the Cotswold Ring
29/06/2021

An easy way to arrange a walking holiday with clear routes and excellent luggage transport/delivery service from one night to the next

Ms MATTOCK
North Pembrokeshire Coast Walk
11/06/2021

A lovely walk all along the coast, and we were advised appropriately when the weather was so bad, and given options for alternative walks. Great breakfasts in the guest houses.

Though pretty gruelling (for two old men at any rate), it was a wonderful experience. The Headwater organisation from start to finish was superb and all the arrangements with hotels etc went very smoothly.

Mr Fennell
Walking the Cotswold Ring
19/10/2020

The itinerary provided excellent walking through lovely countryside and with pretty Cotswold villages along the way. The walks vary in length from 6 miles to 17 miles on the final day, although there are worthwhile alternatives if the latter is too daunting. Accommodation was first class and no problems were encountered getting an evening meal despite Covid restrictions. Recommended.

A very enjoyable time walking the Great Glen ay. I think Headwater should have been more pro-active in advising us about places to eat when on the trip. I had to research this, including information about when hotels did and did not serve evening meals. Some information was sent to me, but just before we left and I had already made bookings. Also, I thought we had paid for a Delux Double room at the Lovat, but we were given room 12, which looked like a standard room at the back of the hotel. Could you please check this and get back to us about it.

Headwater response:
Dear Mr Tabor, thank you for taking the time to let us know you had a very enjoyable holiday with Headwater, and thank you for your feedback. With regards to Headwater providing information about places to dine along our walking route or during the evenings, we tend not to provide detailed information on this topic, the main reason being it ensures customers have the freedom to choose a place that meets their personal requirements. Regarding the room type at the Lovat I believe a member of our team has contacted you directly to confirm room 12 was a Deluxe room.
Thank you for choosing to travel with Headwater and we very much look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
Customer Service Team

A self guided walking holiday was a brand new venture for me

since I had always been on group guided walking holidays before. This new venture turned out to be a very enjoyable experience. The trip notes and maps that I was provided with to download onto my phone were very accurate. In fact I didn't have to refer to the OS maps that I was sent as well. The Lake District is a fantastic area to visit to start with on a first self guided walking trip, very pleasing. Hotels along the way were very good. I enjoyed the walking routes ,Grasmere to Coniston was my favourite. Overall I had a very enjoyable time and I would definitely do this self guiding experience again in the UK.

Mr Damesick
Walking the Northumberland Coast
02/10/2020

Northumberland coast path makes for excellent scenic walking. Route instructions were clear and reliable. Luggage transfers efficient and reliable. Accommodation was adequately comfortable - a couple of hotels could benefit from a sprucing up : Sun and Manor House Hotel.

Mrs Bartlett
Walking the Best of Hadrian's Wall
01/10/2020

We had very enjoyable holiday despite the restrictions

This was a wonderful walking holiday through stunning and varied countryside, with very good accommodation and some wonderful eating to boot. The Headwater app worked very well to guide the walk, we loved it's little oh-oh when we went off track, as much as its hurrah when we found our way back. Encountered few other walkers en route, im the main, which made it all the more special.

Mr Grainger
Best of the Cotswolds Walk
21/09/2020

An excellent holiday and we feel that a lot of credit should also be given to the local organiser, Hikes & Bikes, with whom you are in partnership. The walks were easy to follow & well explained with photographs where needed. The transfer of luggage was very efficient

Beautiful locations and wonderful walking with an eclectic mix of accommodation

A lovely taste of different low level walks available in the area which makes us want to go back and do more on our own. Walking notes were excellent and easy to follow despite being discouraged from doing so and lack of confidence in them provided at the briefing. Given how often it rains and n the Lakes some walks are a little unsuitable after seriously heavy prolonged rain and alternatives would be useful. But all in all a great trip with delightful views and interesting history.

Mrs Hayashida
Literary Walking in the Lake District
21/08/2019

We generally enjoyed good walking without any major issues. Our initial transfer to the hotel was not booked but we had a very good follow up from your local representative and staff. Also, one of the hotels was trying to charge room cost directly to us, but eventually they understood.

Good value for money

Overall the holiday was good however it is a pity that you cannot leave your hotel for the next days walk without getting a lift to the starting point. Inverness and Fort Augustus were great and the Hotel Lovat was first class in all respects. Ticket to Ride were brilliant and supplied us with further maps and info and were always ready to pick us up at the agreed time. Have spent many better holidays with Headwater, at least 7 I would think, but having said that visiting Inverness for the first time was a treat and Fort Augustus with its 4 Lochs always provided much interest. Good to have a very informative boat trip on the Ness from Fort Augustus. The walk from Loch Tarff was the Highlands as we expected to see.

As a Literary Tour it was thoughtfully planned, apart from Day 6 when your Highlights suggests alternatives, but the walk sheet offers only a rather unneccesary trip to Wray Castle. Surely the walk to Beatrix Potter's High Top (returning via Moss Eccles Tarn) should have been the first choice. The National Trust is establishing an off-road path from Hawkeshead, which we took to Near Sawrey. And the extension to Day 7/Bowness was a downer. Being thrust into such a touristy place took us away from the empty countryside world of our walk.

Ms Willoughby
Literary Walking in the Lake District
10/06/2019

Morgan did a wonderful job looking after us! And headwater was so well organised-we really loved our holiday Thankyou; will definitely travel again with you!

Superb locations, superb hotels and even better food. We will certainly return.

An excellent walking holiday in very fine scenery staying in top-of-the-range accommodation.

An interesting programme with generally good accommodation. Service at hotels mostly good except for overcharging at Grasmere.

The Craigdarroch Inn is sadly in need of an upgrade and getting a meal is a chore. Unfortunately on a walking holiday you are a captive audience as there is nothing else in the vicinity. Give consideration to missing this hotel if possible until it improves.

headwater is a very professional company, everything worked out well regarding accommodation and the transporting of our luggage. We did not have any worries at all as the transport was on time and in most cases earlier than the stated pick up time.

An all-around enjoyable experience. Rep, Karen, was really welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable which was a great start. The Wordsworth Hotel was comfortable and spacious,with great facilities, food and service - a great start to our holiday. The Queens Head Inn was a great choice of accommodation and the room was perfect - a fabulous place to end our holiday as the upgrade was great. However The Lakeland was a disappointment as the room was supposed to be an upgrade but fell very short. No space or facilities. It was incredibly impersonal with poor service. The staff were more interested in their shop customers. We are still waiting on the toast!

The walks were well graded, with excellently detailed guidance notes. There was room for subjectivity at times but back up maps sorted that.

Transfers and parking was straightforward too.

Booking staff were very helpful, pleasant and patient. I would recommend Headwater Holidays as everything went so smoothly, the walks were most enjoyable with beautiful, not too remote routes that were also not too inhabited.

Great holiday , very relaxing , walks well written and organised , made our first trip to the Lake district memorable and we will be back.

We spent a really good week in the Lake District walking from village to village. Having our luggage transported from place to place was a real luxury. We were a bit unsure about how our children would cope with the walking. But this proved to be no problem at all, and they were ahead of us most of the time. The one day that we hadn't done our studying of maps and walking instructions properly, we managed to get lost. So, do your homework before leaving the house! We all really loved the last stop on our trip: The Queen's Head Inn, Hawkshead. Great team running the place and the food was amazing! Would travel with Headwater again if we have the chance to do so.

Headwater have always provided very, very detailed walking guides and we can always rely on those notes - never a tree, a gate, or a stone out of place!

My friend and I booked our Literary Walking in the Lake District Holiday as a celebration of our 50th birthdays. From the moment I began inquiring via email to the moment we left on the train out of Windermere, we felt valued and respected. Our booking experience was great - Joanne answered all my questions clearly and patiently. Transfers from the train station went smoothly and our taxi drivers were great. Every accommodation was clean, comfortable and unique and all the food was wonderful. Our printed directions were amazingly detailed and accurate - we had no issues finding our way around and the maps were very helpful too. Karen Wigglesworth was very friendly and genuine. She gave us plenty of information and suggestions to make our holiday the best it could be. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would do it again in a heartbeat! If only we could book every year! We were also extraordinarily lucky with the weather - a heat wave the Lake District hadn't experienced in years! Beautiful scenery, uncrowded trails, varied terrain - it was all wonderful! Thank you for helping make our birthday celebration unforgettable!

The countryside and views were like out of a fairytale. Sheep grazing on the hills, beautiful cottages along the way and fragrant woods to walk through. This holiday is for anyone who needs to slow down and forget modern life. The quality of the food and beer offered at various pubs along the way made it even better!

Walking enabled us to see parts of the Lake District we would never have seen in a car and the literary connections gave much added interest.

A lovely way to see Loch Ness and parts of the Caledonian canal.

Ideal location for walking. Beautiful scenery and excellent accommodation

we loved it. you make the right choices. you care for detail. you are committed and reliable. you do all the hard work. we just turned up and paid. great!