Feefo - Independent reviews
1-800-567-6286

Newsletters  |  Brochures  |  Blog  |  Contact us

Contrasts of Catalunya Cycling

Contrasts of Catalunya Cycling

Contrasts of Catalunya Cycling

  • Quiet country roads - perfect for first-timers or nervous cyclists
  • Wide sandy beaches, beautiful bays, traditional fishing ports, sun-drenched villages off the tourist trail
  • Excellent hotels, all with pools, including C14 luxury castle
  • Lovely sea breeze, perfect cycling conditions - never too hot, even in high season
  • Pretty mediaeval villages to explore en route and on your rest days
  • Holiday typeSelf-guided cycling
  • Duration6 nights, hotel-to-hotel
  • Activity level
  • Excellent for
  • From $1595
  • Holiday details
  • Departs Every two days from 9 Apr '17 to 16 Oct '17
  • All continental breakfasts and 4 evening meals included
  • Managed locally by Headwater employed representative
  • Sustainability rating: 80%
  • Route notes and maps provided
  • High quality bikes provided
  • Luggage transfers between hotels


We're here to help

If you've any questions about this holiday call to our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 , or email sales@headwater.com

Catalunya is a semi-autonomous area of Spain; steeped in culture, its traditions and festivals date back over thousands of years. Rich in mediaeval villages, highlights include prosperous Peratallada, peach-coloured Pals and fashionable Begur. The rocky coastline is dotted with pretty fishing villages, crystal clear waters and beautiful beaches which are perfect to explore.

This holiday is full of contrasts and variety and explores one of the most beautiful corners of Catalunya. It's gentle cycling too, occasionally off-road, through olive groves, peach orchards and pine forests, and along pretty coastal paths. The landscape is gently rolling for the most part, making this an easy cycle and a relaxing holiday. The changing seasons bring white blossom in spring, sunflower yellow in summer and warm gold at harvest time. Fabulous coastal views, beautiful beaches and aquamarine waters make this an inspirational area.

You stay in a variety of hotels, all with pools, which have been hand-picked for their charm and character. The family-run Hotel Garbi in the traditional fishing village of Calella de Palafrugell, is set on the hillside overlooking the sea. The stylish Hotel Sa Punta in Platja de Pals is set in attractive gardens and is within walking distance of the beach or you can cycle to nearby Begur. Two nights of the holiday are spent at the Castell d'Emporda, a magnificently restored C14 castle perched proudly on its outcrop, just outside La Bisbal. The breathtaking views over the plain from its sun terrace are not to be missed.

Day-by-day itinerary

Day 1 - Arrive in Calella de Palafrugell

You arrive at your hotel where all Headwater guests are accommodated in rooms with a private balcony and sea view. It's less than 5 minutes' walk to the centre of town where you have so many restaurants to choose from, we've left evening meals up to you.

Day 2 - Calella de Palafrugell to Platja de Pals 24km/15mi or 33km/21mi

Your route today passes through the pine forests behind Calella before heading off to peach-coloured Pals, a lovely mediaeval town with Romanesque church affording stunning views. After lunch, head on through the pretty hamlets of Palau-Sator (where there has been a settlement since Roman times) and Fontanilles, before looping back towards the coast and a gentle downhill ride to Platja de Pals.

Day 3 - At Platja de Pals

We strongly recommend a visit to mediaeval Begur, a fashionable hilltop town with C11 castle and outstanding views over the coast. Alternatively, relax on the beach, follow the superb coastal walking path or simply chill out by the hotel's semi-Olympic pool.

Day 4 - Platja de Pals to La Bisbal 34km/21.5mi

You'll begin today cycling past rice fields before following the River Ter to Torroella de Montgri with wonderful views of the Illes Medes. Visit this lovely mediaeval town with its Roman defensive wall before heading inland along wonderfully quiet roads through the village of Gualta (picturesque C16 bridge) and pretty hamlets of Fonolleres, Matajudaica and Casavells to La Bisbal. Here you'll stay in a uniquely converted C14 Gothic castle - once reputed to have been on Dali's shopping list but now owned by Dutchman Albert Diks.

Day 5 - At La Bisbal

Laze by the pool (there's a fabulous sun terrace and bar area) or follow our suggested cycling circuit linking the pretty mediaeval villages of Corca, Monells (pretty square and lovely choices for lunch) and La Bisbal, a lively market town famous for antiques and pottery. Take time to explore the old quarter including the Carrer del Call, formerly a Jewish ghetto, whose intricate arches are still intact today.

Day 6 - La Bisbal to Calella de Palafrugell 32km/20mi or 34km/21.5mi

Today offers lovely gentle cycling, stopping first at the walled village of Ullastret. The vast archaeological site here contains the remains of one of the oldest Iberian villages in Spain. Continue your journey through beautifully preserved Peratallada to the bustling market town of Palafrugell. Then back to Calella de Palafrugell for a final swim in the pool.

Day 7 - Leave Calella de Palafrugell

Please note that cycling helmets are a legal requirement in Spain. As we cannot provide these, we strongly recommend you bring your own.

Please see our Planning your holiday page for full details.

Where you stay

During your holiday you stay at the following hotels. If you'd like to extend your time at any of these or, if you'd like to enhance your stay with an upgraded room, just let us know at the time of booking. You can call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 to discuss accommodation options.

If you'd like to keep your bikes with you for any extra nights we can arrange this for you for just £25 per adult per day and £18 per child per day. Please contact us on 1-800-567-6286 for further details.

Hotel Garbi, Calella de Palafrugell (3 Star)

Swimming Pool Icon Hair dryer icon

The Hotel Garbi is located on the hillside overlooking the fishing village of Calella de Palafrugell with its own extensive gardens, shaded by pines.

The Hotel is family-run and has a warm welcoming atmosphere where its friendly staff will do their utmost to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible.

The hotel also has a car park-for anyone who would like to drive to this hotel.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Dates Duplex room
09/04/2017 - 31/10/2017 £12

All prices shown above are valid from 27/03/2017. . Supplement prices are per person per night based on two sharing. Duplex rooms offer the same facilities as a standard room with the addition of a mezzanine level with sofa

Dates Double Room Single Room
01/04/2017 - 10/06/2017 £58 £78
11/06/2017 - 11/09/2017 £86 £110
12/09/2017 - 31/10/2017 £58 £78

All prices shown above are valid from 27/03/2017. Prices are per person per night including breakfast. Bike hire is not included in the above prices.

Hotel Sa Punta, Platja de Pals (4 Star)

Swimming Pool Icon Hair dryer icon NEARBY:

The Hotel Sa Punta, just a five minute walk to the beach is set in beautiful grounds with a lovely terrace area for afternoon drinks. There is also a semi-olympic size swimming pool with spa pool.

Rooms are spacious and modern with balcony or terrace.

Evening meals are taken either in the hotel restaurant or on the terrace.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Dates Superior room with pool view Suite
09/04/2017 - 30/09/2017 £16 £50

All prices shown above are valid from 01/12/2016. Supplement prices are per person per night based on two sharing. Superior rooms are larger in size and have a pool view. Suites are larger still with a sitting area and large terraces and sea views.

Please contact us for extra night prices.

Castell d’Emporda, La Bisbal (4 Star)

Swimming Pool Icon NEARBY:

The Castell d'Emporda could not be in a better location, perched on a rocky outcrop with breath taking views from its sun terrace. The building is a superbly restored 700-year-old castle, that is now owned by Albert and Margo, who are both very friendly and speak excellent English.

Each of the hotel rooms has been individually decorated by furniture collected by the owners while they were on their travels around China, India and Morocco.

All of the rooms have spectacular hill-top views, featuring Air conditioning and heating, Fully equipped bathroom, Flat-screen TV, In-room CD/DVD player, Telephone and Mini bar.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Dates Castle Room Garden Suite Suite Pere Margarit
01/04/2017 - 30/04/2017 £18 £36 £70
01/05/2017 - 30/06/2017 £18 £44 £76
01/07/2017 - 31/08/2017 £30 £56 £104
01/09/2017 - 30/09/2017 £18 £44 £76
01/10/2017 - 31/10/2017 £18 £36 £70

All prices shown above are valid from 27/03/2017. Supplement prices are per person per night and are based on 2 people sharing the room. {BOLD}Castle rooms{UNBOLD} are housed in the original castle building making for a romantic stay. {BOLD}Garden suites {UNBOLD}are larger than the standard garden rooms (53 sq. metres) and have a separate sitting area. Both the bedroom and the bathroom have balconies! The {BOLD}Suite Pere Margarit{UNBOLD} (80 sq. metres) was originally the master bedchamber of the mediaeval castle.

Dates Garden Rooms - Double Garden Rooms - Single
01/04/2017 - 30/04/2017 £146 £232
01/05/2017 - 30/06/2017 £152 £242
01/07/2017 - 31/08/2017 £160 £260
01/09/2017 - 30/09/2017 £152 £242
01/10/2017 - 31/10/2017 £146 £232

All prices shown above are valid from 27/03/2017. Prices are per person per night including evening meal.
Bike hire is not included in the above prices.

Travel

Transfers included from Flaca train station at 15:47, and back to Flaca train station at 13:15

Please call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 or email info@breakaway-adventures.com to arrange connecting flights.

Reviews

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.


Ms Grybaite
20/11/2016

Nothing compares to an active holiday, exploring local culture at your own pace!


Mrs Aries
30/10/2016

I felt safe travelling totally alone and venturing out on my bicycle by myself, secure in the knowledge that assistance would be readily available if required. Happily this was not needed but it made a huge difference to my piece of mind. I hope that Headwater can extend its leisurely options to include other trips. The travel notes routinely described inclines as 'gentle'. Some of these gentle inclines were about as much as I could manage. I now wouldn't attempt any cycling trips in the catalogue beyond 'leisurely'. The hotels were delightful, El Castell d'Emporda being top of my list.


Mrs Rees
11/10/2016

This was our first holiday with Headwater which did not disappoint. The scenery was beautiful, with the contrasting coastal and inland areas. We particularly enjoyed visiting all the medieval villages along the routes, especially Pals and Peratallada, although finding places to stop for refreshments in the smaller villages was sometimes rather hit and miss. The weather was lovely and warm, ideal for cycling, and the route notes were good for the most part. However, some of the forest tracks were... read more a bit harder to cycle along. As regards accommodation, Hotel Sa Punta deserves special mention for its excellent service, superb facilities and the most delicious food of the holiday. Our reps Olivia and Brian gave us great service too. We have been on cycling holidays with other companies before and they provide a small front pannier on the bikes, so perhaps Headwater could consider doing this also.


Mr Hockin
19/09/2016

Was exactly what it said on the can! - it fulfilled our expectations.


Mr Taylor
25/07/2016

We had a fantastic week cycling in Catalunya, food, wine and people were great.


Mrs Leonard
21/07/2016

We have two teenage sons and this was the perfect family holiday for everyone. Combining the activity of cycling and rest days at beautiful hotels and locations, taking in the wonderful medieval villages of Catalunya, farm lands, bays and beeches. It was the perfect way to explore more of the region.


Mrs Burke
05/07/2016

Great fun , challenging, well organised , thoroughly enjoyable


Mrs Warnock
30/05/2016

Our first cycling holiday and it will definitely not be our last!! Cycling through Catalunya was a real treat, beautiful peaceful countryside, wildflowers were so colourful, medieval villages to explore,lots of restaurants choice for coffee or lunch and then to end the day great hotels and delicious food. What's not to like?Highly recommended.


Mrs Kyle
30/05/2016

Excellent holiday, cycling is the perfect way to explore. We enjoyed it all - some freedom, some things sorted out


Mr Langrish
25/05/2016

Accurate description of contrasting scenery and cycling. Very quiet roads and plenty of flowers and birds to see.


Mr Straughan
24/05/2016

A beautiful area with quiet lanes and roads. Lovely villages, small towns and views. Super coastal locations, fantastic varied scenery and marvellous bird life and wild flowers. A fantastic holiday!


Mrs Fernley
20/05/2016

Cycling, location, accommodation and especially food were of a very high standard. Local reps were very attentive, and the postcard we received from them before the holiday with their phone number was a nice touch. We travelled from a 'non-standard' airport, and arranging this and transfers through Headwater was more difficult than we expected.


Mr Geh
27/10/2015

We had an excellent time. Lovely scenery and weather and excellent food. I would definitely recommend doing this either early or late in the season as it was much cooler and less busy. Very few cars on the road and no traffic.

Felt a great sense of achievement after each cycle day. Our 2 boys- age 11 and 13 enjoyed themselves and there was not a single moan of ''are we there yet?!'


Mr Jenkinson
11/10/2015

An interesting coastal and inland holiday on quite roads and tracks. Visiting in October the coastal locations and hilltop towns and villages are quiet, but the weather was good and ideal for cycling. having enjoyed many Headwater cycling holidays in Spain, Portugal, France and Italy, we may well be interested in following-up an e-bike option in the future.


Mrs Read
05/10/2015

Peaceful cycling along quiet country road, interesting villages and lovely scenery.



This holiday certainly shows the contrasts that Catalonia has to offer.


Mrs Kill
23/09/2015

A wonderful, unspoilt region. We had no idea that the Costa Brava was so wooded and had so many places of historical interest. Going just out of season, the beaches were quiet and devoid of sunbeds! The number of cycle tracks - albeit somewhat roughly surfaced in places - puts the UK to shame.


Mr Peckham
22/09/2015

We had a wonderful holiday enjoying the contrasts of Catalunya, from the sea at the Costa Brava to the rice fields and woodlands inland. The reps Jim and Katie gave us a terrific service, from the introductory postcard sent to us prior to leaving, and the provision of satnav files to make navigation so easy. The hotels Hotel Sa Punta and the magnificent El Castell d'Emporda both exceeded our expectations, and to stay in the tower of an ancient castle was the highlight of our holiday. We have had three Headwater holidays now and will definitely be back for more.


Mrs Cox
19/08/2015

Overall we had a great time. A few hiccups - BA losing a suitcase! not Headwaters fault (found it eventually) and on the return journey arriving at Barcelona airport to be told they only had two seats - we are a family of four! Eventually found us two more seats but made for a very stressful journey. We did not check in late and online checkin was not an option for us. It was VERY hot 35 degrees. A bit too hot to be honest and we probably would not do this holiday again in August! Go when it is ... read morea bit cooler. The area is fabulous and we would go back. The hotels are generally very good. We did have an issue at Garbi. Our first night the aircon was not working properly in our room but we got on with it. On our last night the aircon in the boys' room was not working at all and it was 29 degrees! The suggested remedies as the hotel was full was to a) live with it then b) sleep with the window open and they would provide insect repellent! We rejected both these options and in the end moved the two boys in with us for the night. The staff provided camp beds. We managed but not overly happy having paid for two double rooms. We did mention it to the reps in the morning but as it was our last night there was nothing to be done.


Ms Turner
10/08/2015

Contrasts of Catalunya is a great route which takes in coast and countryside. We were two non-cyclists and found the routes achievable and well-planned, with thought given to where you could stop and explore different villages. Cycling was partly on quiet roads and partly on tracks - the routes through the rice fields and alongside apple orchards were particularly enjoyable, while some of the sandy tracks through pine forests were a bit harder going. The bikes were well-maintained and comfortabl... read moree. Highlights on the route were medieval Pals and Begur, while the Sa Punta Hotel stood out for its fantastic service, excellent swimming pool and the best food we had all week. Service from the reps was also great, and they provided helpful map files and instructions on how to use these on a smartphone as well as practical tips. Highly recommendable!


Mrs Thompson
04/08/2015

Our reps were superb. Jim took particular care to ensure the bikes were fitted to each individual and this meant each of our party was comfortable throughout the holiday. He had specially removed the bottle holder from the ladies bikes so they would not catch their legs when getting on and off. This attention to detail was much appreciated. He had gone to great lengths to produce a gps version of all the trails and this was invaluable and worked without any problems. I had brought a smart p... read morehone holder and battery charger so had a days full battery life. While this would have been sufficient without the notes, the two worked in tandem well and should become a standard on all your cycling holidays.





The bikes would benefit from a small front pannier particularly for the ladies to keep a small water bottle in and a handbag.



Our reps kept in email contact to check our progress and made very helpful recommendations on places to eat and visit on the trip. They put their knowledge to good use so we had an excellent holiday.


Mrs Mayor
22/06/2015

Excellent equipment, good hotels and lovely route


Mr Dilnot Smith
27/10/2014

Excellent apart from Hotel Meson Castilla is in the middle of the University area and can be very noisy until early hours of the morning


Mrs Ramsell
29/09/2014

A lovely blend of activity and relaxation, plenty to see and do in the Catalonian region, congenial fellow travellers and good back up system for emergencies.


Mr Lipscomb
17/08/2014

Brilliant family adventure: Cycling through beautiful scenery from beaches, through paddy fields, rolling countryside and little medieval villages and complemented by a range of hotels-2 with gastronomic cuisine and the third giving the opportunity to enjoy eating out in the small seaside town of Calella.


Mrs Brewster
30/10/2013

We had a great holiday. The children thoroughly enjoyed the cycling, the scenery was beautiful, plenty of medieval villages to stop end explore and the hotels en route were great. We were extremely lucky with the weather - hot and sunny every day, so that we could enjoy the hotel pools at the end of each day. A brilliant family holiday.


Mr Adamson
08/10/2013

Well planned cycling routes with excellent instructions. 2 out of the 3 hotels were excellent. Alan & Linda were extremely helpful throughout the holiday & largely responsible for it running so smoothly.


Dr Young
30/09/2013

The local rep provided the MOST EXCELLENT route notes we have ever experienced. The routes allowed us a great taste of both inland and coastal scenery. There are some built up areas on this holiday and we had no difficulty getting through. He also led us most interesting routes through the little towns so we felt we had seen a great deal. He had obviously ridden the rides himself recently as there was no confusion at all over road work issues etc which we have found before.The routes for the 're... read morest 'days were fantastic although more challenging than the other days! But well worth the effort. He also provided us with the best maintained bikes we have ever experienced - so thank you enormously for that. 2 of the 3 hotels were just wonderful- quite a treat-and of a luxurious nature.


Ms Jassey
07/08/2013

Probably more challenging that you might expect, but in a very positive way, and well worth the effort. The views and experiences are unbeatable. Not sure if we could do a car-reliant holiday again!


Mr Moorhead
18/07/2013

The holiday was enjoyable, the Castell d'Emporda was fantastic, and had the holiday been 30% cheaper we would have thought it good value for money. I've been on many cycling holidays (this was the first with my wife and son) and it's the first where there has not been support throughout the day. I know the reps were available by phone, but it would clearly have taken an hour or more to get help from them if a problem had arisen and at this price, that's not good enough. Next time I would simply... read more book the hotels for myself, hire bikes and then organise a taxi to take the bags from place to place - you did not provide sufficient additional value to justify the cost. Cycling routes are also easy to find - with so many GPS users uploading data to the web I would have little problem in organising routes for myself. This was a premium price but what we got was a bike (in good condition to be fair), and a map, and then left alone for a week. My wife had a bad insect bike which became very inflamed and sore and required anti-biotics (it has still not fully subsided a week later) - we had to sort this out for ourselves in Barcelona - our guides expressed polite interest but offered no real suggestions about local medical help. This compares poorly with my experience on cycling holidays in France and the US where anyone with even a slight medical issue was promptly driven to the nearest clinic or pharmacy, helped with the language and sorted out very quickly.

Headwater response:
Thank you for your feedback Mr Moorhead, we were pleased to read that your holiday was enjoyable. However, we are sorry to see that some aspects did not appear to meet with your expectations. The type of holiday that you had booked is classed as a self-guided cycling holiday. Therefore, we do not provide support vehicles. This type of holiday is geared towards the more independent customers who like to travel at their own pace, starting and finishing at various times throughout the day. Therefore, it would not be practical to have a support vehicle on the route. We do however provide a 24/7 rep service which is available if needed in case of emergency or should you have any questions or queries along the way as well as a brief at the start and de brief at the end of the holiday. We were sorry to read that Mrs Moorhead was bitten and required medical treatment, as you comment our reps was aware of the bite, but not necessarily the severity. Had they been made aware of this they would have offered assistance as required. Despite these issues I am glad that you had an enjoyable holiday. Thank you once again for your feedback. Yours sincerely, Lisa


Mrs Ball
16/07/2013

I am a Headwater Holidays fan! This is about the 16th cycling holiday I have been on with your company and it is my second trip to Catalunya. Last time, about 5 years age, I took the cycling hol in Catalunya and the guide was Robin! say no more he was useless. Alan is a real gem. Look after him. As I am getting older now and so are my two cycling friends we look for the flat cycling routes and each time you bring out a new one we seem to book it. So do keep adding new routes. I am sorry tha... read moret you no longer go to Majorca. Many years ago we did the cycling around the centre of the island and was going to book the one centre hotel this year but you have removed it. I guess it was not popular. I think its so important to keep the standard of the hotels and food at a high level. Its such a big part of the holiday for us. After a day cycling the destination is always exciting and good accommodation is a must. I am a single person and mostly travel with my married friends so always have to pay a single supplement which does increase the cost rather.( This trip I went with my daughter and we shared a room so no supplement, a real bonus) If I get a double room for the cost this is fine but on occasions I am in the attic in a single room; not so good. Keep up the good standard and as long as I am able to cycle I will be booking!


Mr Worthing
19/06/2013

The route guidence was too detailed and involved too many off road tracks. It would have been better if the route had stuck to metaled roads even at the expence of more traffic and greater mileage. Having to stop every few yards to read the notes was tedious and spoilt pleasure of the ride.


Mrs Bolton
18/06/2013

A very enjoyable holiday staying in excellent hotels.


Mr Cameron
23/05/2013

We had a wonderful holiday. We last traveled with Headwater in 1994 and 1997, and there is no doubt that the standards of the hotels, route notes, and bikes have improved immensely. Alan was a hugely experienced rep who provided route notes of a superb standard. 2 out of the 3 hotels were truly excellent, and while the other was one of the weirder I've ever stayed in, it was perfectly serviceable, and the fact that it was B&B only was a good decision.


Ms Smith
17/10/2012

We had never been on a cycling holiday before but would certainly repeat the experience using Headwater based on the quality of the beauty and variety of the cycle routes and the quality of the accommodation.


Mrs Warburton
10/10/2012

A very well organised holiday with an excptional and knowledgable rep.


Dr Mair
10/10/2012

We had a really excellent holiday with Headwater. The reps were knowledgable and available and we had enough autonomy to allow us to enjoy it, but enough support that we felt safe at all times. The hotel Sa Punta deserves special mention for the outstanding service and food.


Mr Gillies
06/10/2012

Very good experience all round. Well organised by people who know what they are doing. A couple of the routes stretched us a bit more than we expected for first timers. Unusual/excellent, well-chosen hotels helped make the trip better value for money. The weather could make a major difference to your enjoyment of these trips however.


Mr Makin
01/10/2012

Probably the best cycling holiday we have had.

The weather was good and the accommodation was generally very good - although the hotel in Palamos was trying too hard to be something it wasn't.


Mr Flynn
24/09/2012

A fantastic hoilday that we would really recommend! Our guides, Alan and Linda were exceptionally helpful, and we hope to do another headwater hoilday in the very near future.


Mrs Cox
13/08/2012

Overall I think this holiday would be best done at a slightly cooler time of the year. Whilst the distances do not seem particularly long they are when done in the high twenties/thirties and especially when you have children. Some of the towns we passed through were beautiful and it would have been nice to spend longer exploring them. As it was we were not getting to the hotel until 6/7 pm on moving on days. We would love to go back the area again perhaps not on bikes so that we could see more o... read moref the medieval villages. The two hotels Castell D'Emporda and Sa Punta were excellent and the food lovely. The children loved them too particularly the pool at Sa Punta. Worth the effort up the hills to get to them. Callela is a charming seaside town. Not at all what we expected on the Costa Brava. Alan was very helpful with tips on where to eat. The Barcelona extension was well worth it but longer needed as there is so much to do. Another great holiday!


Mrs Evans
28/07/2012

This is a beautiful part of Spain, with lots of interesting little villages to visit. All in all a very enjoyable holiday.


Mrs Sidders
11/07/2012

A good enjoyable holiday in a beautiful and varied area of Spain.


Ms Radford
16/06/2012

Had a wonderful holiday with my husband!


Dr Williams
05/05/2012

We have thought carefully about the responses and have no hesitation of the designation of "excellent" in nearly all cases. This was an excellent holiday, great routes and hotels, with strong back-up and local support by Alan.


Mr Christer
28/04/2012

An excellent holiday which surpassed our already high expectations. Two excellent hotels in the Sa Punta and Castell D'empordia and a lovely area to cycle in.

Dates and prices

The prices quoted below for each individual departure supercede those published in our current brochures. Air prices are subject to change and are shown for guide purposes only. Please see our Planning your holiday and What's included in the price? pages for additional information.

Alternatively, you can call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 to discuss your requirements in more detail.

  • Apr
  • May
  • Jun
  • Jul
  • Aug
  • Sep
  • Oct
Apr 2017 Tour only Availability
9th Apr US$1595 Check
11th Apr US$1595 Check
13th Apr US$1595 Check
15th Apr US$1595 Check
17th Apr US$1595 Check
19th Apr US$1595 Check
21st Apr US$1595 Check
23rd Apr US$1595 Check
25th Apr US$1595 Check
27th Apr US$1595 Check
29th Apr US$1595 Check
May 2017 Tour only Availability
1st May US$1720 Check
3rd May US$1720 Check
5th May US$1720 Check
7th May US$1720 Check
9th May US$1720 Check
11th May US$1720 Check
13th May US$1720 Check
15th May US$1720 Check
17th May US$1720 Check
19th May US$1720 Check
21st May US$1720 Check
23rd May US$1720 Check
25th May US$1720 Check
27th May US$1720 Check
29th May US$1720 Check
31st May US$1720 Check
Jun 2017 Tour only Availability
2nd Jun US$1965 Check
4th Jun US$1965 Check
6th Jun US$1965 Check
8th Jun US$1965 Check
10th Jun US$1965 Check
12th Jun US$1965 Check
14th Jun US$1965 Check
16th Jun US$1965 Check
18th Jun US$1965 Check
20th Jun US$1965 Check
22nd Jun US$1965 Check
24th Jun US$1965 Check
26th Jun US$1965 Check
28th Jun US$1965 Check
30th Jun US$1965 Check
Jul 2017 Tour only Availability
2nd Jul US$2000 Check
4th Jul US$2000 Check
6th Jul US$2000 Check
8th Jul US$2000 Check
10th Jul US$2000 Check
12th Jul US$2000 Check
14th Jul US$2000 Check
16th Jul US$2000 Check
18th Jul US$2000 Check
20th Jul US$2000 Check
22nd Jul US$2000 Check
24th Jul US$2000 Check
26th Jul US$2000 Check
28th Jul US$2000 Check
30th Jul US$2000 Check
Aug 2017 Tour only Availability
1st Aug US$2000 Check
3rd Aug US$2000 Check
25th Aug US$2000 Check
27th Aug US$2000 Check
29th Aug US$2000 Check
31st Aug US$2000 Check
Sep 2017 Tour only Availability
2nd Sep US$2000 Check
4th Sep US$2000 Check
6th Sep US$2000 Check
8th Sep US$2000 Check
10th Sep US$2000 Check
12th Sep US$1965 Check
14th Sep US$1965 Check
16th Sep US$1965 Check
18th Sep US$1965 Check
20th Sep US$1965 Check
22nd Sep US$1720 Check
24th Sep US$1720 Check
26th Sep US$1720 Check
28th Sep US$1720 Check
30th Sep US$1720 Check
Oct 2017 Tour only Availability
2nd Oct US$1595 Check
4th Oct US$1595 Check
6th Oct US$1595 Check
8th Oct US$1595 Check
10th Oct US$1595 Check
12th Oct US$1595 Check
14th Oct US$1595 Check
16th Oct US$1595 Check

Holiday details

Children
Please contact us for child prices.

Holiday type
Self-guided cycling Managed locally by Headwater appointed rep.

Departures
Every two days from 9th Apr 2017 to 16th Oct 2017, for 6 nights.

Meals
All continental breakfasts and 4 evening meals included

Other details
No departures between August 5 and August 23 inclusive. This holiday can also be reduced to a 4 night version just deduct £235 per adult.

Tailor-made travel

Tour only
Transfers included from Flaca train station at 15:47, and back to Flaca train station at 13:15

Enquiries

Due to the tailor-made nature of our holidays, we need a little more information in order for us to check availability for Contrasts of Catalunya Cycling. Simply complete the form below and a member of our sales team will contact you (when it's most convenient for you) to provide availability information, travel options and an accurate price. Of course there's no obligation, but if you do wish to proceed with a booking they will be on-hand to assist you throughout the process.

Alternatively, you can call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 to discuss your requirements in more detail.



We'd like to keep you informed of our latest news and special offers. Please tick here if you'd rather not receive our free e-newsletter.

We can often obtain preferential rates with our travel partners.

We can call you when it's most convenient for you, or contact you by email if you'd prefer. During busy periods we cannot always guarantee a specific call time but we promise to try our very best.

Let us know any queries you might have about departure dates, similar holidays or other questions. If you’d like to travel by an alternative method, i.e. Ferry / Eurotunnel etc. please give details here so we can advise you on appropriate options.

You may also like