Customer reviews: Guided walking in Spain

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our walking holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their walking holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their walking holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Ballantyne on 07/12/2016

*****
Sue and Dave ,our hosts and guides looked after us extremely well ,both with their cooking and with the guided walks.I would thoroughly recommend Casa Carrascal .The walking was quite strenuous but the views were superb.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Ms Butterworth on 07/12/2016

*****
An excellent location, with good views, well appointed rooms and excellent food. The guide Nick was very knowledgeable. We would repeat in a different season to see the wildlife.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Dr Goddard on 23/11/2016

*****
Excellent hotel, great walks with an excellent local guide, and super company. There were gentle walks in the early days building up to a lovely long last day hike in the mountains. Good local food and opportunities to sample local bars and restaurants. A couple of excursions to Nerja caves and Malaga old town added variety to an excellent week.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Brooks on 22/11/2016

*****
Ten self selected people on a group holiday.All of whom gelled together well.5 walks guided by experienced knowledgeable local guide.The walks were adapted to suit our group,which the guide described as faster than average.Excellent scenery.Transfers appeared on time.Picnics ,provided by guide,taken mid walk at any suitable site.One visit for lunch to a 'local'mountain café. Experienced rustic food cooked by family. Rest day my wife and I spent exploring by public bus. Doing a coast line walk at low level. The hotel San Roque was described as 'boutique'.Service and food were excellent,although evening meal portion sizes were sometimes on the small side with a general lack of vegetables.Breakfast was a buffet with freshly cooked eggs to go with cold meats and tomatoes. There being plenty of rolls,jam and cheese. I am Coeliac needing gluten free bread and food.I had notified Headwater and the hotel in advance.I was looked after extremely well.At breakfast I had gluten free ham,rolls and maize cakes provided.At evening meal my food was adapted to gluten free . The guide did not know that I was gluten free until I informed him.However he acquired gluten free rolls for picnics and advised on gluten free options at the rustic café. I had booked a duplex room at the hotel.This was quirky.The jacuzzi bath was 'in the living area'.I could have bathed, watched TV and entertained guests at the same time The bed was on a mezzanine but no external window.The wardrobes and other clothes storage areas were downstairs in the lounge area.All the floors were red coloured Canarian pine.This made the transition from floor to stairs difficult in poor light.Especially as the bathroom was up 3 stairs and there was no hand rail. Although not needed the room did not have any area specifically to put wet coats or muddy boots. The guide was excellent.His English improved through out the week .He was very knowledgeable about local flora,fauna and geology.He organised the transfers at the start and end of the day efficiently.He often altered our walk length and route to suit the conditions.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Newell on 22/11/2016

*****
A combination of great walks in a beautiful place coupled with an outstanding hotel made it a week to remember.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Buddery on 18/11/2016

*****
The holiday was well organised with great guides, knowledgeable on the area and walks. The accommodation was clean and David and Sue were very willing to help. I felt safe and confident and would recommend this holiday for singles as well as couples. A very good holiday and would love to go back and try the 3 boot holiday

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Sutherland on 18/11/2016

*****
Very good leaders for walking and giving info. about the area. Accommodation and food of a high standard.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Patel on 15/11/2016

*****
A great holiday with technical walks offering spectacular views. The quality and effort put into each evening meal was a great bonus. I would definitely recommend this holiday and would say David & Sue are superb hosts.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Searle on 14/11/2016

**#..
It was good Walking harder than expected La gomera was not as pretty as I had expected. Too barren I think that though we are fit we are too old for that group and perhaps should have been warned Hotel was marvellous. We had a deluxe room and it was worth every penny

Walking on La Palma

By Mrs Marchant on 11/11/2016

*****
Great holiday, great walks, great island. Javier was fantastic and a wonderful guide.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Ms Myron on 11/11/2016

*****
Everything about this holiday was top class. From the accommodation, the food, the walking, the guide, the transfers to the hotel staff. Most of all the company of the other walkers. Compliments to all concerned.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Roberts on 31/10/2016

*****
Casa Carrascal offers the perfect walking holiday in a friendly group atmosphere. The walks were challenging and varied providing superb views. Sue and David were the perfect hosts, providing expert guiding, comfortable accommodation and last but not least fabulous food.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Turnbull on 31/10/2016

*****
A fascinating island and a guide who was passionate about it. The hotel was beautifully designed, food was excellent and staff were lovely.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Ms Smith on 31/10/2016

*****
High standards.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Gatward on 31/10/2016

*****
This was my second visit to the finca - my first was in November when the weather was poor, and I wanted to see what it was like in sunshine. I was not disappointed - I would recommend this holiday to everyone who enjoys walking, eating good food and drinking wine!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Smith on 13/10/2016

*****
Great holiday and well worth doing. fantastic Views which are well worth the climbing to get to the top..

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Melling on 13/10/2016

*****
Lovely holiday with great food. Elaine was an excellent guide and very informative.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Gill on 13/10/2016

*****
The Finca was excellent, as were all meals. Our guide Elaine was fantastic,the walks not too long, the week was fun.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Jones on 28/09/2016

*****
We had promised ourselves a return to the Finca since our first brilliant experience a few years ago. We were not disappointed. Fabulous food, walks, & company in a glorious spot....we will return.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Hall on 16/06/2016

*****
Great holiday, wonderful guides, beautiful weather,gorgeous flowers ,perfect walks and fabulous views.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Friend on 16/06/2016

*****
Sue and Dave are the most welcoming, well organised, hardworking , capable and fun hosts I have yet to come across on a walking holiday. From the moment we met at the airport I felt confident that I was going to have a great holiday. They have perfected the art of gauging the ability of the group and pitching the pace of walks accordingly. By always having one leader at the front and one at the back everyone can walk at a pace that suits. The food was of a consistently high quality. Freshly squeezed orange juice, cafetière coffee, fresh fruit cut and beautifully presented, yoghurt , toast and jams and something cooked too, breakfast was wonderful. Baguettes etc ready to collect before walks, lovely home cooked evening meals. Dave and Sue excelled themselves and we were all very happy and well fed throughout. Daves jokes. Well, what can I say? There is no conversational topic that doesn't lead to a joke from his vast repertoire. And they all made me laugh! Sue and Dave signposted what we could expect each day and created a relaxed and happy ambience though out. This enable the group to gel well. Our job was just to enjoy ourselves as they did everything else. Dave took our requests for music for our last night paella party on the terrace, downloaded all our requests, even though we came up with way more than he asked for and we had a lot of fun dancing to them. Dave even sent us a you tube link to a slideshow he made of the photos from our walks. Thanks so much Sue and Dave, your efforts were much appreciated and way beyond the call of duty!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Charlett on 06/06/2016

*****
Vistas of Valencia was an excellent holiday. The hosts/guides were exceptional. The accommodation was comfortable and characterful. The food was excellent. The walks were sometimes quite challenging but accomplished without difficulty for people who are reasonably fit and walk regularly. The scenery was stunning.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Homer on 03/06/2016

***#.
I find the website a bit 'clunky' to navigate but Ok once you get used to it. The holiday was accurately described and I enjoyed it. The casa Carrascal operation is very well run and gives a very good service to clients.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Monzani on 03/06/2016

***#.
This was an excellent hotel and Sue and Gordon really looked after us. The food was great and the facilities were super. The walks were mostly good for us although quite testing for me in places. They were relatively short but in my opinion were greater than a 1 boot+ probably more like a 2 boot. My particular problem is that I suffer from severe vertigo and this resort is nearly 600 meters above sea level with very steep winding roads and many of the higher ones had no barriers. The local taxi drivers were really good but nobody should talk to them when driving because they use their hands to answer. Our guide Elaine was excellent and very understanding. However I backed off the last walk because it used 4x4 trucks to go high up, across winding narrow tracks and the walk was a bit hairy too. Don't get me wrong overall it was a great holiday.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Dryburgh on 26/05/2016

*****
Had a great holiday. Eleven off us in the party and we all got on well together. No cliques. Wine tasting on the Sunday got us all going.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Broome on 16/05/2016

*****
FANTASTIC!!!

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Aiken on 11/05/2016

*****
Our only criticism is that of alternative departure airport does make a huge difference to the cost. The airline we were booked with is a low cost budget alternative, but we would have done far better to book independently. Any perceived benefit by having a 'package' booking was lost when flights were changed and no explanation or option was offered by Headwater. This is our 6th or 7th walking holiday with Headwater so we obviously happy overall, but the personal touch has been lost over the last few years. It is now much more of a 'package' and we would point that out to friends considering a walking/activity holiday. We have organised our own holidays of a very similar nature and that results in at least a 25% reduction in cost along with the benefit of being an independent booking at the destination - i.e. a higher value individual to the hotel.

Birdwatching in Extremadura

By Mrs Heal on 05/05/2016

*****
We had a great week with a wonderful guide and we saw some fantastic birds. However, it was very relaxed and not at all 'twitchy'. Extramadura is a beautiful, unspoilt region and well worth a visit.

Birdwatching in Extremadura

By Mrs De fonblanque on 03/05/2016

*****
A delightful and fascinating holiday with a charming and knowledgeable guide, lovely company, splendid accommodation and beautiful scenery.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Gates on 27/04/2016

*****
For a carefree holiday with attention to detail and comfort this ticked all the boxes.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Thornton on 26/04/2016

*****
Relaxing, interesting and enjoyable blend of easy walking and sightseeing.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Ms Yih on 26/04/2016

*****
Returning! Many thanks

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Schafer on 18/04/2016

*****
Summary: Beautiful Hikes, Great Meals. Wonderful Hosts The Hosts: Hardworking couple David and Sue will do their best to make sure the holiday meets all your expectations. The Hikes: With an exhaustive knowledge of the surrounding area David and Sue ensure that best hikes in the area are chosen each day. During our trip, low clouds enshrouded the peaks on one of the days and they substituted two shorter but equally beautiful hikes at a lower elevation. We are avid photographers and they customized one of the hikes, dividing the group so that those of us who wanted to take advantage of enjoying the beautiful wildflowers could do so, while the other were able to accomplish the longer hike. The two boot difficulty level properly described the hikes. Several hikes had some short but steep ascents and loose stones so a hiking pole(s) may be helpful. Lodging and Meals: Casa Carrascal is quirky updated townhouse in the middle of the small village of Parcent, Our room, the Segovia suite was furnished with a double bed and and antique couch and chairs. The ensuite bathroom was nice but required that you duck under a beam to reach the area with the toilet/shower. The weather was cool and overcast during our stay and we were unable to take advantage of the outdoor terrace and the indoor common space outside the dining areas is very limited. Although WIFI is available in the bar just up the street, it would have been nice to have it available in the house. The meals were excellent!!! Breakfast consisted of a choice of yogurts, fruits, cereals, and a hot items that changed daily. Pack lunches were a choice of baquettes along with fruit, a sweet snack and a large bottle of water. Dinners were absolutely fabulous! Wonderful appetizers, a choice of delicious entrees, and a nice dessert, all complemented with a choice of white or red wine.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Payne on 18/04/2016

***#.
I have been on Headwater walking holidays before (not for at least 8 years ). I now have a partner and I needed to convince him that the holiday would be enjoyable. My partner is in good health and fit but he is 82 years and he was nervous that the walking would be difficult. I persuaded him that a 1 boot would be fine but it was harder that I thought it would be. When I first telephone Headwater to enquire about the holiday the telephone rep was most helpful so I suggested that my partner telephoned so that he could ask for the information he needed - this time there was a different rep and she was not so reassuring. However we enjoyed the holiday and will attempt another with Headwater..

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Townsend on 18/04/2016

*****
Accommodation at Hotel Finca was super and everyone on holiday there were very friendly, especially the five Singapore ladies who we were walking and dining with. They were great company.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Randall on 18/04/2016

*****
This was a brilliant, relaxing holiday and a fantastic introduction to Spain which we had never visited before. Wonderful countryside, a gem of a hotel, lovely food and really helpful staff and walks guide. It couldn't have been better.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Kenward on 06/04/2016

***#.
Excellent group holiday with good accommodation and very well organised. Wine included was good. Varied program & walking harder than expected for one boot but lovely. Walking guide lovely & encouraging!

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Ms Chandler on 30/03/2016

*****
A unique holiday experience that fully met our expectations. Would highly recommend

Walking on La Palma

By Mr Pattison on 23/03/2016

*****
Another great guided walking holiday, despite unseasonable weather, Very varied and interesting walks, good hotels, and good food and wine. Javier dealt very well with the challenges presented by an unwell fellow traveller, and the changes forced on us by the weather. He judged our capabilities well in arranging a substitute walk which we felt was the best of the holiday.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Ms Ringer on 23/03/2016

*****
This was a very well planned, smoothly run holiday. All our connections/transfers/taxis operated like clockwork. We were very well catered for and the Finca had everything we needed for an extremely rewarding and relaxing holiday. Our guide, Nick, was very attentive and inclusive and happy to impart his knowledge of the area. We loved the challenge of walking in the morning and then plenty of time in the afternoon to chill around the beautiful grounds of the Finca - lovingly developed over the years by our hosts Sue and Gordon. All the staff were very accommodating and friendly. We couldn't have asked for more. Thank you everyone involved.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Spencer on 22/03/2016

***#.
Casa Carascal was dark, oppressive and the time we were there, cold. Heaters and extra blankets were happily supplied, the fire was lit 1 hr before dinner. Not enough seating for number of guests indoors. Outside area totally enclosed by walls. Neither conducive to socialising before or after meals. Could do with updating re paint in rooms and new bed covers but they were I guess, in tradition with the building. I acknowledge that mountains demand respect and health and safety rules demand acknowledgement but felt Sue was a little over enthusiastic! In her approach. Prefer to make my own judgement re use of poles and my walking style over rough scrambles. She was however helpful to those who had difficulty. At dinner, it would have been good to have been offered tea or coffee at the end of the meal, it doesn't take long to arrange. It was grudgingly granted when asked for on the last night! Wifi would have been appreciated. Excellent food! Good portion sizes. Good wine.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Simms on 21/03/2016

*****
The Finca el Cerrillo is a wonderful place to stay in a beautiful location. We were extremely well looked after and the organisation was seamless. The walks were, as stated in the brochure, very gentle and leisurely. We would definitely consider returning especially If some more challenging walks were on offer.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Bertels on 15/03/2016

***#.
Excellent holiday, well described in the brochure. However I thought the walks were a bit short so there was quite a lot of free time at the Finca. While the Finca is a really lovely place it was a little remote so if you wanted to go into the village/town there was a very steep walk down the ravine and back up the other side. I am sure later in the season the Finca is a lovely place to stay with swimming pool and lots of outside sitting areas but in early March it was a bit chilly. I wasn't too keen on the wine tasting in the morning before a walk. We seemed to spend a lot of time eating. We only had picnic lunches on 2 days which meant a lot of food was provided both at lunchtime and in the evening. I would have been happy to have longer walks and more picnic lunches.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs Auger on 04/03/2016

*****
The walks were varied and well within our ability, although we appreciated having a day off on the fourth day. The guides (Andreas and Javier) were very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna, geology and history of the island, which added enormously to our enjoyment. We couldn't fault the hotel (San Roque), and especially liked having a Jacuzzi bath to revive our muscles each evening, before dinner. The chef produced delicious and varied meals both on the set menu and the vegetarian alternative.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs Merry on 04/03/2016

*****
This was our first Headwater holiday & we were impressed. The hotel is a real gem with impeccable service & wonderful food. Dietary requirements were known about by both hotel staff & our guides. Both guides were helpful & knowledgeable about the locality, flora, fauna etc. They also provided great picnic lunches. The idea to go to a local market one day to choose picnic items was a good one. We had not visited Tenerife previously & being situated in the quiet town of Garachico was lovely. There was plenty to occupy us there on the free day. All in all this was a splendid holiday, the walks varied & interesting. We were only a small group, 2 couples only but we seemed to gel which is always a bonus. We really have no criticism to make. Wonderful & we'll book with Headwater again.

Walking on La Palma

By Mrs Mendoza on 04/03/2016

*****
This was the second Headwater holiday I have been on which was guided by Javier. He is a fantastic guide and so knowledgeable. As well as walking he showed us lots of flora and fauna and lots of other interesting things. All the walks were very interesting and the views were great It was good that we stayed at two hotels, both very interesting.

Walking on La Palma

By Mrs Gatward on 04/03/2016

*****
The hotels, our guide Javier and the fellow-travellers were all excellent - unfortunately the weather wasn't as good as I'd hoped but nothing can be done about that. I think Javier realised when he had to re-arrange our final walk (due to snow) that the alternative was a bit difficult for me - but I got there! I have to say everyone else thought it was wonderful!

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Mattingly on 25/02/2016

***#.
Excellent hotel & guides. One or two walks do require a head for heights (this was pointed out in brochure).

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Woodruff on 25/02/2016

*****
Well organised holiday with an excellent local guide.

Walking on La Palma

By Mr Rayner on 25/02/2016

*****
An excellent holiday with an exceptional guide (Javier) who was passionate about the geology, geography, and natural history of the island of La Palma. The walks were well chosen and we saw different aspects of the island. He was adaptable - when the temperature dropped to 5C with a wind speed of 34kph he decided to forego the high altitude ridge walk for one further down the mountain. He took us to an interesting selection of restaurants so that we could experience local cuisine. And he was a good and careful driver and had a fine sense of humour.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs Harper on 24/02/2016

*****
A great experience with a young enthusiastic guide. The only disappointment was the weather.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Brown on 24/02/2016

*****
Perfect combination of varied and scenic walking, great hospitality, delicious food and comfortable accommodation.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Cross on 22/02/2016

*****
I thoroughly enjoyed this Headwater holiday, of which I have had many. Luckily our small group all got on well with each other - important for a guided holiday. You can rely on the excellent guide (Javier) and the excellent hotel San Roque, and Garachico is a pretty little coastal town. What you cannot rely on - in mid-February in Tenerife - is good weather for walking every day. Cloud and/or rain, plus high winds, are a real risk. Javier was intelligent and flexible, taking us back to the 'always dry' Teide National Park more than once, after we got a soaking on one lower altitude walk.Would go walking again - probably to another of the Canary Islands - but in April/May, not February.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs Underwood on 22/02/2016

*****
Fabulous weeks walking holiday our guide Javier was brilliant each day was a fun filled day, great walking routes and with an extremely pleasant knowledgeable young guide. Would recommend 100%

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Bowen on 05/02/2016

*****
An excellently run holiday in a beautiful area. Our guide was always prepared to go the extra mile to make our holiday a success. Walks were excellently prepared and led with extra visits such as to a banana plantation thrown in. He even took us to the market on the first walk day to show him what we all liked in our picnics which were amazing! He also avoided a long wait at the airport on our leaving day by taking us to a nearby beach unencumbered by our luggage and returning for us later. We recommend him very highly.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Cockram on 05/02/2016

*****
An excellent holiday all round. Everything was looked after for us both by Headwater and the local guide whose knowledge was exceptional on every subject and for whom nothing was too much trouble. Accommodation superb and just what was needed at the end of a day's walking.

Walking on La Palma

By Mrs Morris on 05/02/2016

*****
Superb leader - sociable, knowledgeable, charming, considerate. Excellent hotels, especially the Hacienda, where the staff were charming and the quality of the accommodation and surroundings excellent.

Walking on La Gomera

By Dr Simpson on 04/02/2016

*****
Wonderful trip and made even better by out guides detailed knowledge of the area and his ability to swap walking days to suit the conditions - stayed in the woods when cloud cover was low. Everything was wonderful except that we had no hot water in our room at 7 am (it got going by 7.40) and again at 6 pm. This was because our room was a long way from the centre of the hotel and / or the system couldn't cope with lots of people all wanting hot water at the same time. I raised the issue with reception twice and was assured that the hot water boiler came on at 7 am, but this certainly wasn't sufficiently early to supply us. Compeletly wonderful hotel in all other ways, so this was a pity. I would certainly recommend this holiday to anyone, but it's ceratinly 2 boot!

Walking on La Palma

By Mr Ridley on 04/02/2016

*****
Another excellent holiday with Headwater

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Hirst on 25/01/2016

*****
Northern Tenerife is dramatic and beautiful. The walks were very varied, with stunning views and much of interest along the way with excellent, knowledgable local guides. Our hotel was charming and after a day of walking it was lovely to relax each evening round the pool and enjoy a delicious dinner.

Walking on La Palma

By Mis Nair on 09/12/2015

***#.
A good holiday in a beautiful island, with good weather and a helpful and obliging guide. NB ; Picnic lunches during the walks were a little excessive . It might be better for each person /couple to choose what they want for lunch before purchasing it to avoid leftovers / carrying excess loads.

Walking on La Palma

By Mr Shore on 07/12/2015

*****
Hacienda de Abajo is a fabulous hotel - best staff ever, wonderful food, beautiful accommodation and stunning tropical gardens. Hotel San Telmo is charming, tucked away in the side streets and perfectly located for walking in Santa Cruz. Our guide - Javier - was an outstanding source of knowledge on the history, geology, flora and fauna of the islands. I recommend this holiday.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Baron on 04/12/2015

*****
A very enjoyable holiday with excellent guiding and accomodation

Walking on La Gomera

By Ms Findlay on 01/12/2015

*****
La Gomera is a largely unspoilt island with wonderful plants and stunning views. Great to learn so much about its history and natural history, enjoy lovely walking and sample local food. An excellent guide and good company from our fellow travellers. Would thoroughly recommend this trip!

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Scott on 01/12/2015

***#.
An excellent holiday , helped by the weather!

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Ms Wellsted on 01/12/2015

*****
Stress free excellence! I loved every minute of this holiday principally because all arrangements went super smoothly, the hotel staff, accommodation and location were way above my expectations. The week flew and the walking was thoroughly enjoyable. Would I go with Headwater holidays again? Absolutely.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Kettle on 28/10/2015

*****
Exceeded all expectations. Very relaxing. Party of 10 ideal size to get to know each other. Excellent introduction to Andalucia

Birdwatching in Extremadura

By Mrs Probett on 27/10/2015

***#.
Walking &birding good in both centres. Esther, our guide, was very friendly and tried to do her best for us.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Moore on 23/10/2015

*****
David and Sue are excellent hosts and guides. They have a real knowledge and enthusiasm for the area which is reflected in the walks. We had one day of rain and they quickly adapted the programme to suit the conditions. Walks were varied and excellent giving a real flavour of the area.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms McGrath on 20/10/2015

*****
This was an excellent holiday that was really made by the superb service from the hosts, Sue and David. Nothing was too much trouble, they worked incredibly hard to ensure the whole group had the most enjoyment out of their holiday. Their knowledge of the walks was incredible and their good humour and patience second to none. The food was fantastic and I thoroughly enjoyed the week. I walked and climbed to a level I had not reached for a number of years and felt a tremendous sense of achievement . I have already passed on details of the holiday to work colleagues.

Birdwatching in Extremadura

By Mrs Tilley on 16/10/2015

***#.
Good overall. The time of year for the particular holiday needs to be better considered as it is billed as a birdwatching holiday and it is the wrong time of year for that. Quite a lot of the birds had left. The weather was also very hot so the countryside was very dry and the few birds that were around were hiding from the heat. I would suggest looking again at the best times to make sure you catch the migrating birds that you suggest people might see on your list. The accommodation at the Palacio Viejo is a pure delight - as is the owner, Carmen.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms O'Dell on 15/10/2015

*****
I was very pleased with the help and service I received from Headwater. The holiday was very enjoyable and I would certainly recommend the Valencia walking holiday.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Kilpatrick on 15/10/2015

*****
This was the best walking holiday I have had in recent years. Casa Carrascal is a lovingly restored house situated in a delightful Spanish village. Each bedroom in the hotel is different giving a lovely quirky feel to the place. While there is no Wifi (no bad thing in my opinion) this is available in the very welcoming hostelery just across the road. The walks, which are accurately described as two boot, are varied so that every day you are walking different terrain but always with spectacular views. I was slightly concerned that I might not be able to do all of them but David and Sue (who are excellent leaders) keep a close eye on everyone and present alternative walks if they think you might experience difficulties. Add to that tempting menus based on local produce cooked to perfection by David and you have the makings of a great holiday. All you have to do is enjoy it all!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Duncan on 06/10/2015

**#..
Disappointing.

Birdwatching in Extremadura

By Mrs Spencer on 30/09/2015

*****
Excellent guide who was very knowledgeable with birds and nature, and without his expertise it wouldn't haven't been so enjoyable.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Cross on 29/09/2015

*****
A super holiday - no faults found! Only comment is that 'two boots' did not quite fit our perception, compared with other Headwater 'two boots' holidays that we have taken. We would call this holiday 'two and a half boots'. Not because of distances but because of combination of gradients/ascents, narrow paths with steep drops, and much rough and rocky terrain which demands continuous concentration. Not a holiday for anyone suffering from vertigo.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Eidahl on 23/09/2015

*****
Sue and David have an excellent concept. Have never met anyone so devoted to their customers as themselves. We could have eaten out on the evening we were at Valencia to give them an evening off. They were our chauffeurs our cooks, our guides, and entertained us too. Marvelous cooks, but we would have been just as happy with a choice of fewer alternatives of each course. I would return again. The walking on the Vistas of Valencia was really, really stunning. What can beat that??

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Nicolson on 23/09/2015

*****
Having enjoyed many Headwater Holidays, this one surpassed expectations - which were high to begin with! David and Sue could not have been more helpful and sociable. Casa Carascal is a lovely base and the food exceptional. I learned more on this holiday than on any other - from local history, butterflies, birds and of course, David's jokes! Both David and Sue shared tips on walking properly on the different surfaces - their attention to health and safety for everyone was to be commended. The group gelled very well - that was a real bonus. New friends have been made. All in all, Headwater have a real winner with this holiday and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Hill on 23/09/2015

*****
Booking straightforward. Transfer to and from Malaga airport efficient. Great welcome at the Finca. Excellent food including local dishes. Food and wine from local source. The Finca is located in spectacular countryside enabling walks to be varied. Our guide Nick supplied us with information of the area-the history and customs of the local people, the fruit production on the hillsides-avocados, olives, grapes etc.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Wilkinson on 23/09/2015

*****
An excellent holiday. Why [in no particular order] wonderful scenery and excellent walking routes superb group of walkers - we all got on well together, all of us at a similar standard. great accommodation with 2 very welcoming hosts and their staff excellent meals at all times - at the Finca and in the villages a very knowledgeable guide well organised transport throughout the holiday

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Jensen on 22/09/2015

*****
Vistas of Valencia is one of the best walking holidays we have done with Headwater. Sue and Dave, our wonderful hosts just make everything work and nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation, food and walks are all excellent. Just a brilliant holiday.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Gray on 22/09/2015

*****
A wonderful holiday from start to finish, the accommodation surpassed our expectations and the food was some of the best we have had, especially in the Finca. The air of calm around the place made us relax from the first day, thanks to Sue, Gorden and the rest of their lovely staff. The walks were well led by Nick who was very knowledgeable and made the point of talking to everyone in the group and making sure all were OK as some days it was very hot. Would recommend Headwater to friends without any hesitation, thank you.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Robbins on 17/06/2015

*****
Walking level was good. Leaders excellent. Hotel / food very good.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Schafer on 10/06/2015

*****
As others have said in reviews, excellent hotel, hosts and food, The walks were relatively easy with very nice scenery,

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Vandenberghe on 29/05/2015

*****
I thoroughly enjoyed this holiday - the walking was tough in places, but manageable for me. The food and hospitality were superb and could not be faulted. Would go again!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Perrin on 28/05/2015

*****
Great week, excellent walks and perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them and David's cooking is fabulous.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Prior on 14/05/2015

*****
We did this holiday two years ago and loved it - hence the decision to return. We think the new programme makes it even better, especially in hot weather, which we had! The mix of walking, visits and sightseeing exactly hit the spot for us. Gordon & Sue are, as ever, wonderful hosts; Jenny was a first-rate guide; and the local drivers were also first-class. Well done to all at the Finca - we cannot fault your excellent service, food and attention to detail!

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Lipscomb on 12/05/2015

*****
Sue and Gordon offer a wonderful warm welcome and the friendly informal atmosphere at the Finca is very relaxing

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mis Ross on 07/05/2015

*****
David and Sue worked very hard to give us an excellent week. The walks were super and the food and accommodation were excellent. They get everything just right.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Cant on 29/04/2015

*****
The really good thing about Headwater holidays are the people who go on them. It is good to be in a small group so you get a chance to get to know everyone. On this holiday there variety of mountain flowers was amazing but I was surprised by the relatively few birds. David Eaton was really helpful to all those who had cameras making sure that the pictures were really good and providing advice on apps for sharing and editing.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Cooper on 25/04/2015

*****
David and sue were really wonderful leaders for our walking in the mountains, and very friendly and helpful throughout. They cooked really good food, and we felt as though we were very well looked after all the time. Sue and david are such good cooks, I really liked everything. My wife, who is vegetarian, felt that some of the dishes provided could have been a little better, but this is said not as a criticism, more as a way of adding a further challenge for david.....we think he would welcome this.....huge thanks for fabulous holiday. Phil and Ana cooper

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Clothier on 22/04/2015

*****
Excellent, well organised holidays with good company, first class accommodation and guides - and above all, personal service that cares!

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Thomas on 22/04/2015

***#.
There had been comments that the walking on this holiday was too challenging, but I would have preferred longer walks.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Robson on 17/04/2015

*****
An excellent location, good walks with knowledgeable guides who paid close attention to our safety, charming hosts at hotel and comfortable rooms with excellent food in the hotel and in nearby bars/restaurants - arranged by hotel

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs Walter on 26/03/2015

*****
The best Headwater holiday yet. Fantastic Guide, leading at just the right pace and giving lots of local information about his wonderful country.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Pryor on 26/03/2015

*****
Lovely new experience. I enjoyed the variety. Nice not to have to start walks before 10.00 a.m. The group were great and we all got on very well. Lovely having a leader, who told you about things. Wish you had more guided holidays. They all said they preferred Headwater, because of the standards of accomodation, so lots of good quality hotels will be great for other holidays. We all agreed that we are less keen on the three stars! It was nice eating in sometimes and out at other times, and so you never knew what interesting thing was going to be provided next. They were great walks and I loved everything about the holiday. We all liked the length of the holiday aswell. ie a week.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs White on 23/03/2015

*****
A very enjoyable week at an excellent hotel with delicious food and friendly staff. The local guide was charming, knowledgeable and helpful. The walking was interesting and very varied.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs Mendoza on 23/03/2015

*****
Wonderful week spent in Tenerife. Javier was a great guide, He was so knowledgeable about the volcanoes,trees,wild flowers and he bought a wide variety of food for the picnics! The Hotel San Roque was a jewel of a hotel. All the staff were so cheerful and helpful.The food was delicious every day. The hotel was so calm and peaceful.

Walking on La Gomera

By Ms Tennant on 18/03/2015

*****
La Gomera is a beautiful island - greener than some of the other Canary Islands. The parador is a magnificent hotel with a lovely garden. I was lucky to have enjoyed a holiday with a really good group of people. The walks were tough owing to the precipitous nature of the terrain but I feel very fit and healthy now!

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Farebrother on 16/03/2015

*****
The combination of a small group (only four of us) and a really enthusiastic young guide in Javi made this a lovely holiday. The weather was disappointingly cool for Tenerife and it is not the cheapest of your holidays but the standard of hotel and cuisine for a walking holiday was much higher than we are used to....

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Barker on 16/03/2015

*****
With headwater you most certainly get what you pay for. Great organisation, accommodation, walks and fantastic guide. We had fun, ate well and felt fitter at the end of the week, brilliant. Thank you.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Johnson on 13/03/2015

*****
Good points: Loved La Gomera, stunning scenery, good choice of routes. Our guide was excellent - friendly, helpful, knowledgeable etc.. Transfers, minibuses and all arrangements were looked after. Hotel was characterful and had lovely gardens. Food was good. Rooms were spacious. Not so good: We were not impressed with the catering arrangements on the Thomson flight. On the outbound flight food was offered at about 10.30 - we had only recently had breakfast and our next meal was at 9pm. Inbound the food available was mostly junk - healthier options were not available. Toasties tasted of cardboard. We did not think the hotel merited its fourth star. The rooms were a bit tired - poorly lit; shutter would not close; french window jammed; shower leaked onto floor; etc.. Service in the restaurant was slow (on the last night when we wanted an early night dinner took 2 1/2 hours!

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Hampshire on 02/03/2015

*****
Unfortunately the weather wasn't good. There was a blanket of low lying mist, rain or cloud every time we left the coast for the mountains which meant we didn't have the views. Fortunately the group and Lilly, the guide, were excellent.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Shahbazian on 26/02/2015

*****
I would like to make known to yourselves what an excellent team Sue and David in Valencia were, they really were amazing

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Naylor on 20/02/2015

*****
Our holiday in Tenerife was beyond our expectations. Javier, the guide, could not be more helpful. For example he gave up an evening ( and half a night) to take us to the Carnival and provided us with suitable costumes! The walks were a superb balance, each different and of consistent high quality. The hotel was first class. The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was memorably good. There was only one other couple on the holiday and we got on with them very well indeed. All in all a memorable holiday. We will be back.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mis Logue on 03/02/2015

*****
Holiday was a great break in January from depressing UK grey skies. It was also warmer than UK at about 15-16C. Tenerife presented several different landscapes, all of which were fascinating. It did help if you liked the colour black - I had never seen such huge lava flows. Hotel San Roque was really good, v good breakfasts and dinners and the picnic lunches produced by Juan Miguel, our guide, were lovely, comprising local, fresh ingredients.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Harris on 03/02/2015

***#.
This holiday matched excellent, varied walking, beautiful scenery and wonderful food in the beautiful parador. Lunches at typical restaurants on two days were a superb idea and the unique experience was much appreciated.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Langley on 03/02/2015

*****
Excellently organised and guided. Fascinating island to visit.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Scott on 08/12/2014

***#.
On the whole a very good holiday but the two lunches were unnecessary and pretty awful! We would have preferred to have had just picnics which were delicious

Headwater response

Dear Mrs Scott, Thank you for taking the time to complete your post-holiday questionnaire. It was lovely to see that you had an enjoyable holiday in La Gomera. I have passed on your feedback regarding the lunches to the programme manager; she will discuss your recommendations with the local guide to ensure the meals provided are of the standard our customers expect, thank you for your constructive comments. We look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future. Yours sincerely, Lisa

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Martin on 21/11/2014

*****
An invigorating holiday in an excellent and very enjoyable location.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Ms Roberts on 05/11/2014

*****
We had a lovely week in the mountains. We loved coming 'home' to the Finca after our days walking. Christine's cooking was an inspiration and we enjoyed our evening meals enormously. Jenny's guiding was safe and interesting and she gauged the pace of the walks perfectly. Sue, Gordon and Alison organised everything perfectly and all arrangements went like clockwork. We did not need to think about anything-wonderful! Thank you to Mari our taxi driver who negotiated the bends and hills expertly without making me feel sick.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Gibson on 29/10/2014

***#.
NOTE : Did not stay at Pousada Delmonte completed in error ! Finca and hosts ( Sue and Roger ) was excellent . Difficult to appreciate the countryside as most walks were steep climbs and descents .consequently most time was spent looking at footing ! Would have preferred more walking on flat ....but I guess that's Spain !

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Lavender on 21/10/2014

*****
We had a challenging and enjoyable week. The views from the mountains were spectacular and we were very lucky to see a family of wild boar. Sue & David were very informative during all aspects of our walks. The food was all prepared daily and was very good. We would recommend this walk.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Dicks on 21/10/2014

*****
Very good - except for single room supplements which seem very high

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Nanda on 08/10/2014

*****
a superb holiday wonderful hotel and amazing hospitality

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Gajraj on 31/05/2014

*****
Breathtaking scenery for our walks with a friendly, knowledgeable guide. Then, back to the Finca- a real gem of a hotel, nestling in the hills amongst typical white villages- for a swim before an excellent evening meal. On three nights we were taken to local restaurants where the food, though very good, still couldn't compete with the Finca. Sue, Gordon and Sybil (the dog) are wonderful hosts - no wonder they have so many visitors who return year after year !

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Brown on 29/05/2014

*****
Main concern was the grading of the walking routes, I run 10 miles each week, fitness is a priority , but found the gradients challenging as did many group members, ascents and descents.Thursdays walk was gentle and everyone enjoyed it more as we were able to take in the views , flowers ,without having our eyes glued to the terrain in case of fall, stumble, several of the group fell on previous walks, not what you want from a holiday. The group dynamics were excellent and much laughter was shared, the idea of inhouse and restaurant meals, tapis lunches was the perfect mix. We did enjoy our holiday very much.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Magee on 22/05/2014

*****
Very welcoming owners in hotel in a beautiful area of Spain

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Cundy on 06/05/2014

*****
An excellent holiday. We were very well looked after by Sue and David , enjoyed exploring a new region of Spain and were encouraged to push ourselves to new heights - literally!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mis Millington on 30/04/2014

*****
A true holiday experience from start to finish. Superb hosts, food, walking, scenery and experiences. Everything in just the right balance.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Johnson on 30/04/2014

*****
We were fantastically fortunate with the weather, the organisation was excellent and the Finca was a superb base for the walks. It is easy to see why visitors return several times - walkers and non-walkers alike. Our travel arrangements were good and Jenny, our guide, fun and informative. Food at the finca was exceptional and the atmosphere was a great balance of friendliness and conversation and peaceful relaxation. This was a beautiful time to visit with all the Spring flowers. Having tickets for the Alhambra and having transport arranged was a real plus - especially during Holy week.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Lambert on 26/04/2014

*****
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at the Finca el Cerillo and our hosts Sue and Gordon could not have been more helpful and considerate. The location, high on a ridge, gave wonderful views of the steep, rugged valleys with white villages clinging to the crests and in the distance the Mediterranean. Our bedroom was large, the bed equally so and very comfortable and the tiled bathroom had underfloor heating-great! The food at the Finca and the local restaurants was very good and the wines at the Finca first class. The walking was tough, lots of steep ascents on rocky paths. After the first morning we took the gentler option accompanied by Rose a super local guide. We hope to visit the Finca el Cerillo again.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Potts on 25/04/2014

*****
The Finca is a terrific destination for people who wish to enjoy rural Spain but the experience is heightened by the quality of the hospitality provided by Sue, Gordon, David and Christine. Their welcoming and informative approach, and the eye for detail, guarantees a good experience and, combined with the quality of the guides (principally Jenny), ensures a great holiday.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Carter on 14/04/2014

***#.
The highlight of the holday was the excellent local guide Ricardo and the Parador hotel on La Gomera. However our experience of the flight booking and travel between La Gomera and Tenerfife was very poor. We arrived at Gatwick airport check-in to find that we had been booked in for the wrong year - 2015 instead of 2014. We had also been told the wrong travel information in Tenerife and so had not taken a direct flight from Edinburgh to Tenerife south which made the journey much longer than necessary. When we arrived at Tenerfie South Airport we were told that we had 5 hours to wait until the next ferryto La Gomera and so spent hours waiting around in the airport. The connections on the return journey were also poor with a lot of unnecessary waiting around.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mis Smith on 14/04/2014

*****
If you're looking for a completely stress-free holiday then book with Headwater. I didn't have to think about any arrangements for the week as they were all taken care of. The finca is the ultimate retreat and Sue, Gordon and Jenny were all outstanding in their welcome and guidance. I can't wait to go back and will use Headwater again for another trip.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Newbery on 13/04/2014

*****
I think that the Hotel Finca el Cerillo is a delightful location, with a wonderfully warm welcome by the owners Sue and Gordon. The rooms are all individually presented, and the mals provided in house were excellent and on other nights the local restaurants used were very good. The walking is guided by Jenny who maintains a steady pace that anyone with modest levels of fitness should be able to maintain while spotting out all sorts of flora and fauna. I would not hesitate to recommmend this hotel to other travellers. My one caution is that the some of the walking is at the upper end of a 2 boot grading.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Walshe on 10/04/2014

*****
This was a most enjoyable holiday. The walks were carefully selected by the guides with reference to weather and ability. Scenery is beautiful and there was an abundance of flowers and wildlife. Casa Carrascal is a delightful place to stay and David and Sue Eaton, the owners and guides, are very friendly, very knowledgeable and very efficient. The food, cooked by David, was superb and every evening was something to really look forward to. If you like walking in a fascinating area with top-class guides and a traditional hotel this is one of the best.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Ettridge on 02/04/2014

*****
Hugely enjoyable with a great bunch of like minded people

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Harding on 29/03/2014

***#.
La Gomera is a very mountainous island and is a 'two and a half boot' experience and not for the unfit walker. Because of the terrain and complexity of the walks a guide with local knowledge is essential, as is walking gear for all eventualities. A very rewarding experience and one not to be missed.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Cloake on 26/03/2014

*****
One of the most enjoyable walking holidays we have taken(and we have a fair number under our belts).We loved the house party atmosphere at the Casa Carrascal with Sue and David not only welcoming and professional hosts but also experienced and knowledgeable local guides.The walks mostly in superb mountain terrain were interesting,enjoyable and with just the right degree of challenge.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Harris on 26/03/2014

*****
The hosts made this a unique holiday experience. Their generosity in time and effort to ensure everyone enjoyed themselves thoroughly was matchless. The walking was varied and challenging amid beautiful scenery. The food was excellent. My sincere thanks to Sue and David and to Headwater.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Longshaw on 26/03/2014

*****
The Finca, the base for the 'Secrets of Andalucia' holiday is worth more than five stars! The welcome, friendliness of the owners an staff, and the 'house party atmosphere contribute to making this one of the best Headwater Holidays we have taken. Of course we went for the walking (and to get away from the cold weather) and this turned out to be pretty good as well. Jenny was the main guide, who was helped out by Rose when he walk was split into two levels. Both were excellent in their knowledge of the local flora, fauna and routes. The meals provided at the Finca were superb, and he packed lunches extremely filling. As part of the package two lunches and three diners were taken at local restaurants and this enabled us to sample local cooking aswell. Overall a superb holiday that ticked all the boxes for us!

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Ritchie on 26/03/2014

*****
Setting,food and walking were superb. Gordon and Sue were exceptional hosts and Christine's food deserved a rosette!

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Quincey on 26/03/2014

*****
Excellent hotel and fantastic food, very friendly staff, taxis arranged to local restaurants, super walking with a great guide, lovely views in the hills and very quiet location. Only drawback really is that the hotel is a good walk from the nearest villages and towns, so you can't pop out after a walk to have a look around or do a bit of shopping unless you use a taxi, or get the boots out again. The map provided for the holiday wasn't any use for walking - good job we had a guide!

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Batty on 25/03/2014

*****
Good walking, very helpful guide and excellent company. Unseasonable rain meant that our guide did not take us on one of the listed walks, but he was good at chasing the sun!

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Lewis on 22/03/2014

*****
Great accommodation and food, excellent walking, wonderful company. The guide, though not local, had acquainted himself thoroughly with the walks and looked after us superbly.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Stewart on 01/03/2014

***#.
Good island venue for interesting walking in warm weather, with good accomodation and guide.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms White on 24/02/2014

*****
Lovely walks, excellent guides/hosts who continually went out of their way to make sure everyone was happy, food delicious, accommodation reasonable although not luxurious - altogether it was a most enjoyable week and a lot of fun was had by all. The photography was an added bonus and Sue Bishop a helpful, tactful and fun addition to the group.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Walter on 19/02/2014

*****
A Brilliant totally enjoyable holiday. Sue and David were excellent hosts, hardworking and taking care of us all as they shepherded us around the various walks. The standard of food was also outstanding Sue Bishop was extremely helpful encouraging us to be more adventurous with our efforts and imparted her expertise with a very pleasant manner (must look out for her in the future) Our fellow guests were interesting and humorous and great comrades for the week All in all a thoroughly memorable experience

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Mendoza on 15/02/2014

***#.
Great walks, dramatic scenery, and a wonderful, tranquil parador.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs Spencer on 10/02/2014

*****
An Excellent winter break despite the unseasonably cool / wet weather in an excellent hotel.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Whyler on 07/02/2014

**#..
The walks did not do justice to the beauty of the island. The fire damage from 2012 still sadly evident. Timings of flights and ferries far from ideal.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Cross on 01/02/2014

**#..
In late January 2014 we had exceptionally poor weather and this, plus long minibus rides to start points of walks, reduced our enjoyment of the spectacular scenery of La Gomera. Our guide/rep. Roger, did a good job in the circumstances. The Parador was excellent. The long gaps in the transfers are a negative but again Roger did his best to keep us entertained.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Gair on 25/01/2014

***#.
Beautiful location, great holel, excellent walks in a varied and magnificent setting.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Rowlinson on 18/01/2014

*****
Good fun, though walking was harder than we expected having not been on a walking holiday before

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs Williams on 31/12/2013

***#.
Very good. Guide coped admirably with adverse weather conditions.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Hensman on 03/11/2013

*****
We had a wonderful week at the Finca. It's a beautiful location and the hotel owners Sue and Gordon and their staff are great as is the food with a balance of eating in and out at local restaurants every other day. The grading as leisurely is a little surprising as although the pace is not relentless the terrain is a little challenging at times and the week is packed with activity. That said it is of course not obligatory to undertake every walk or activity. The finca is a wonderful place just to relax. On our week we had the benefit of Sue Bishop, a professional photographer. All took advantage of her great knowledge and skills which were freely and generously given. We intend to revisit the Finca in the future.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Clews on 30/10/2013

***#.
I couldn't fault the location, the ambience, seclusion and comfort of the hotel, and how well we were looked after by the hosts, Sue and Gordon. They treated us like friends and bade us farewell as such. My only complaint is that the walking was tougher than advertised. I don't do vertigo-inducing walks and the last day gave me 2 hours of fear and feeling very uncomfortable and I had to be patiently guided by a very understanding guide. Being classed as a leisurely walking holiday, is the reason I chose this holiday, so I feel let down and misled by this description. I questioned the guide about the classification and she understood it to be classed as moderate. It doesn't say this on your website! I will no doubt take another holiday with you, but if I feel misled the next time, it will be the last time I choose Headwater.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Woodward on 30/10/2013

*****
Welcoming hotel and great walking guide. Exactly as described. Level of walking was rather more than leisurely though. The group decided that it was more of a Moderate grade.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Baker on 30/10/2013

*****
A wonderful holiday, but be aware that although the pace of walking may be leisurely the terrain is very hilly, making the walks moderate rather than easy.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Riley on 26/09/2013

*****
The holiday was good fun in a beautiful and interesting location with two wonderful guides who put themselves out to make the holiday one to remember fondly.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Lucas on 25/09/2013

*****
One of the best Headwater holidays we have had. An ideal combination of great walks, excellent food and brilliant hosts/guides.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Wardrop on 25/09/2013

*****
Lovely accomodation with hosts who went out of their way to make you feel like family friends. One of the best guides (Jenny) we have ever had on walking holidays.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Oborne on 25/09/2013

*****
This was one of the best holidays we have had - hotel, walks, guide etc were more than excellent. Food at the Finca was worthy of accolades! A beautiful part of Spain to explore. Overall a holiday of a lifetime!

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Dr Clements on 24/06/2013

*****
we had a wonderful week's walking holiday in Andalucia. Our hotel finca el cerrillo was a small friendly hotel with each of the rooms with individual character and charm. The gardens were beautiful with many little seating areas both in sun and shade. Lovely pool to soothe the aching muscles after day hikes.Wonderful dinners at the hotel and local restaurants.Walks set off not too early in the morning and our very experienced guide Jenny new the walks inside out and told us local history, the names of flora and fauna and never faded in her enthusiasm.She looked after us individually in the group and tailored the walk and stops for info chats to suite everyone. The weeks holiday lived up to out expectations and more! Richard and Yvonne Clements

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Prior on 20/05/2013

*****
As other reviewers have noticed, the Finca el Cerillo is a gem. Gordon and Sue are great hosts; the location is stunning; and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts or the staff. The hotel is superb and the mix of local restaurants and eating in gave us an excellent mix of really enjoyable food. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the views from the various patios are exceptional. The walking guides (Jenny & Rose) were also very good with a relaxed manner and a store of local knowledge. They responded well to the varying walking levels and needs of the group. This was unquestionably one of the best Headwater holidays that we have had.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Ward on 18/05/2013

*****
Owners, staff and guides at Hotel Finca el Cerrillo go the extra mile in all ways to ensure guests have a wonderful experience. The hotel is remote, but taxis are used to get Headwater guests to restaurants & to/from walks. Personally we recommend the 1-Boot option weeks, as this is hilly country and weather can be warm. Even the hotel is built on a hillside with many little oases of calm corners. Wonderful scenery & views; fantastic meals; great guides; and such great hosts.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Naylor on 24/04/2013

*****
This was a really good package! All inclusive meals, wine and pack lunch, great menu choice and great walking containing probably the best walk I have ever been on (The Bernia Ridge Walk). The hosts and guiders, David and Sue Eaton, are probably the most conscientious people in this business or certainly that I have come across. They were great hosts, very attentive to people's needs and capabilities and very knowledgable about the flora and fauna of this region and as if that's not enough, David is a pretty damn good chef too! We did have an accident whilst out walking. My wife slipped on some loose soil/gravel and suffered what at the time we thought was an ankle sprain. Sue administered some first aid on the scene, went ahead and got the car and took us home. The following morning, still concerned because of the swelling, Sue took my wife to hospital, made sure we got treatment and then crutches before then taking us back to Casa Carrascal - bottom line is that Sue and Dave also know how to respond to these situations - thanks guys!

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Grundy on 24/04/2013

***#.
This was an excellent holiday, the accomodation and hosts/guides were superb.BUT The grading was classed as soft/leisurely which it definately was not.This is misleading. We did the 'Vistas of Valencia' last year which was classed as moderate. This was the same level of walking.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Langleben on 24/04/2013

*****
Without doubt, Finca el Cerrillo, has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in with Headwater. Nothing was too much trouble for Sue and Gordon. They are the perfect hosts and it was more like being part of a house party than being a paying customer. Our guide, Jenny, was good fun as well as being excelletn at her job.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Ms Stewart on 13/04/2013

*****
We had a wonderful trip. One or two of the walks were at the top end of our comfort zone however and we'd probably not do another two boot with Headwater. Also, given the small amount of involvement Headwater staff had once we got to our destination, I think the cut they take is quite high (ie. our accommodation provides their own packages for a significantly lower price even taking flights into account).

Headwater response

Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Andalucia, although we are sorry you feel the pricing of the holiday could be improved. On this particular holiday, the tour we offer is not the same as what the hotel offer direct to the public, therefore the prices do differ. We include tickets and transport to/from the Alhambra and we include wine with meals for example. That said, we want to keep our prices as competitive as possible as will certainly bear your comments in mind when looking at the costings for next year. Many thanks again for taking the time to contact us with your feedback.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Richards on 13/04/2013

*****
The Finca was exceptional, the walking fantastic and the guide (Jenny) was professional, well informed and great fun.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Johns on 23/03/2013

*****
We had a wonderful holiday thanks to David and Sue who worked really hard to ensure that all their guests enjoyed the week to its maximum. The walks were varied and appropriate to our standard and where, on occasion, a guest was lacking confidence in a particular route,an alternative was always found without fuss or bother. David provided a range of meals that took into consideration all of our dietary needs and Dinner was a relaxed sociable event each evening. We could never have explored and enjoyed this wonderful walking area without the knowledge and expertise of David and Sue. We were also impressed with their level of organisation and professionalism. They are great ambasadors for Headwater.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mis Phillips on 14/03/2013

*****
I loved the holiday, the hotel was exceptionally good in the warm welcome, helpfulness of hosts and all staff, good food, arrangements for transport and meals out, and the character of the hotel and beautiful location. Visit to Alhambra and Granada also brilliant. Inspite of rain excellent holiday, one to remember

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs Stewart on 09/03/2013

***#.
Good holiday in good location

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Clarke on 26/02/2013

***#.
A most enjoyable holiday with a lovely group of people walking through impressive landscapes. Roger, the guide, was excellent and took us to visit beautiful places after the walks. This was a bonus. He also adapted the itinerary according to the weather. Roger’s partner made very nice salad pack lunches and made sure mine were gluten free. The hotel and food were excellent.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Maher on 26/02/2013

*****
As always we thoroughly enjoyed our experience with Headwater. The group gelled from the start and our walks were enhanced by Roger, our guide. He chose wisely and well, taking into account weather conditions and the capabilities of the group. This area of Tenerife was a revelation.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs Loken on 26/02/2013

***#.
Although the overall holiday was very enjoyable, the frequent bad weather (which seems to be normal in the North of Tenerife) meant that some of the walks were not possible. The alternatives of visiting lava caves was interesting, but gave us less walking time. The excellent hotel, however, was located in Garachica on the North coast, which necessitated long drives on precipitous winding roads at the beginning and end of each day. Some people found this problematical, even though our guide was a very safe and careful driver. The hotel food was of a generally high standard, and elegantly presented, but vegetables of any kind were absolutely minimal. The wine offered was very good.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Pro Pruetzelthomas on 26/02/2013

*****
A wonderful, expertly guided walking holiday in the varied and dramatic landscapes of Tenerife

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Shepherd on 26/02/2013

*****
David and Sue were excellent hosts. They could not do enough to assist us and they were a pleasure to walk with.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Gingell on 02/02/2013

***#.
Be cautious as regards the grading assessment of walks and be aware that walking profiles in the brochure can be misleading (the Baracan ridge walk in particular omitted a very severe climb at the beginning of the walk). Also be aware that the current guide does not speak good Spanish so may struggle in an emergency. Being an old manor house built around 2 courtyards means that hotel rooms are gloomy and can be stuffy, whilst public areas can be very chilly early in the year. Food is very good (though lacking in vegetables!), but there is limited indoor dining space and eating round the swimming pool requires warm clothing.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs McDougal on 24/01/2013

*****
Just what we expected from a Headwater holiday, well organised, excellent walking with good accommodation and food and excellent guides/hosts.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Acland on 07/01/2013

*****
Super holiday. Our hosts Sue and David were brilliant, always helpful and informative. Dinners were always excellent and Christmas dinner, truly a feast, was superb. How David and Sue managed to guide us all during the day and still be able to present us with such a meal every evening was amazing. Susan in Felixstowe Christmas 2012

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Summers on 07/01/2013

*****
This was the third time I have been to this holiday and I would go again

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Pritchard on 13/12/2012

*****
David and Sue Eaton are very attentive hosts and guides and made us feel at home.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Hoghton on 24/11/2012

**#..
We were disappointed that the atmosphere in the Finca seemed to be a bit "us and them", ie between the 7 Headwater clients and the 20 or so non-Headwater guests. When we queried this we were told it was because we were having "free" wine with meals and it was too complicated to sort out billing should the two groups mingle. This unfortunately resulted in our smaller group feeling a bit ostracised from the main party, for example we were expected to sit on our own in the smaller sitting area which did not have the open fire, a feature which had sounded so attractive when we booked the Finca. The other group were clearly paying less for their holiday and adopted a rather superior attitude due to this.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Summers on 03/11/2012

*****
Very good holiday. This was my second visit and I will be back in the spring next time to see the wild flowers!

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Effingham on 30/10/2012

*****
Everything that was promised as part of the walking holiday exceeded our expectations, especially the food and warm welcome that we received at El Cerrillo!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Gatward on 06/10/2012

*****
I did enjoy Carrascal enormously - as usual my fellow-travellers were a great and interesting bunch, and Sue and David were so hospitable - they seem to do everything (organise the walks, run the hotel,do the cooking, walk the dogs, etc!)and are ready to adapt the walks if the weather intervenes. Local knowledge is vital and adds so much enjoyment when you're only there for a week.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Taylor on 06/10/2012

*****
the walks were varied and good. Our hosts at Casa carascal were excellant. I had only one negative comment and this couldn't be helped in that there was no garden or outsiude space in which to relax and no swimming pool but as the whole trip was good it really didn;t matter in the end.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Hart on 12/05/2012

*****
We were blessed with a great crowd of fellow walkers who got on very well. A great holiday with lots of great walks and much laughter.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Plummer on 12/05/2012

*****
We are experienced and regular travellers both in Europe and beyond.Although this was a short break it ranks with some of the very best holidays we have taken anywhere.The group we met were exceptional,we all hit the ground running and determined to get the most from the experience which in part was because of the arrangements made on our behalf and by the welcome we received as soon as we arrived at the finca.It was truly a marvelous experience. Thankyou all very much.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Baker on 09/05/2012

*****
Really great holiday.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mrs Turner on 05/05/2012

*****
Really outstanding - the finca, the food, the care, the walks. Sue and Gordon take the utmost care to ensure that their guests have a perfect holiday. We cannot think of anything that could be improved upon.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Goodare on 21/04/2012

*****
A very relaxing time spent in lovely accommodation with great staff. The hospitality was superb; Sue and Gordon the perfect hosts.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Grundy on 17/04/2012

*****
The walking experience was excellent. Our hosts/guides were superb.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Douglas on 17/04/2012

***#.
Very enjoyable, for a large part because the company of Dave & Sue Eaton plus our fellow guests was excellent

Walking on La Gomera

By Ms Weber on 17/04/2012

*****
Absolutely wonderful, loved it. Great variety of walks, and the hotel was just lovely. Also Neil is a fantastic guide and his picnic lunches are legendary :-)

Walking on La Gomera

By Ms Cattersonsmith on 17/04/2012

*****
Our group of 7 bonded immediately - haven't laughed so much for ages! Neil was a great guide and not too full on - just right in fact. A brilliant holiday.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Constantine on 17/04/2012

*****
we were sad to come home,this is the best holiday we have had,the hotel/food,the company,and neil,we have booked Portugal in july but i doubt it will live up to la Gomera

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Collins on 17/04/2012

*****
I can't rate this highly enough: everything about this holiday once we had landed in Tenerife was wonderful and surpassed my expectations. The only small niggle was that the food that Thomson offer on their flights is horrible.

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Pickard on 17/04/2012

*****
no problems,well organised with excellent local guide

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs Barker on 05/04/2012

*****
We had a lovely time, thank you. The food was the only slight disappointment as the portions were meagre and no choice was offered. Otherwise the hotel was excellent.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Odell on 05/04/2012

*****
Great holiday .. good hotel .. excellent guide .. good selection of walks

Walking on La Gomera

By Dr McLean on 31/03/2012

*****
Extremely well organised with additional extras that were not anticipated

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Partridge on 26/03/2012

*****
Wonderful holiday. Excellent walking. Superb guide

Walking on La Gomera

By Ms Thomson on 17/03/2012

*****
A very enjoyable walking holiday.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Wilkinson on 10/03/2012

*****
excellent.long journey due to ferry times late arrival at hotel

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Tunbridge on 10/03/2012

*****
Very enjoyable and suited us both

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Boyd on 10/03/2012

*****
Very good. Neil is a knowledgeable guide and skilful at pacing the walks to the different abilities of his clients, to everyones benefit.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Thorne on 08/03/2012

*****
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and Neil looked after us very well!

Walking on La Gomera

By Mis Smith on 08/03/2012

***#.
The walks were well chosen, the secenery lovely, the food truly excellent. Neil was, as ever a great guide, paying attention to the walking capabilities and preferences of all the group members, being prepared to accomodate requests and doing his best to mitigate the long gaps between the flight and ferry connections. He is also knowledgeable and good company. The holiday was slightly marred by the fact that I was woken up regularly during the night by other guests in the room above and the hotel staff seemed unwilling to put any effort into trying to change the room until the last night.I would suggest Headwater might consider booking upstairs non-smoking rooms away from the stairwell in the Parador San Sebastian as this would have been much pleasanter and quieter. Also (as below) the Thomson charter flight was really unpleasant and I would not travel by this means again. These two small things slightly marred an otherwise excellent holiday.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Searles on 25/02/2012

*****
Very enjoyable - a welcome break from the English winter with stunning views

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Thomas on 25/02/2012

*****
Very enjoyable

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Dr Worthy on 25/02/2012

*****
David & Sue were fantastic hosts- made us all very welcome. The walks were stunning. The food was great. It is a very beautiful area and was lovely to explore it. Sue & David guided the walks really well and encouraged those who struggled a bit. They really made the holiday special. We loved it!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Barlow on 25/02/2012

**#..
Disappointing that many of the walks were too challenging for my wife. We had completed a 2 Boot holiday in tehh summer, so we believed we would be OK for this one.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mrs Kennett on 18/02/2012

*****
Excellent guide. A little cold at night so warmer clothes need to be recommended

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Stevens on 11/02/2012

*****
Extremely pleasant and well organised winter walking break.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Dr Jones on 10/02/2012

*****
Local guide really knowledgeable and provided superb picnics. Resort (Garachico) was also a very attractive and it was good to have a free day to explore the town

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Shaw on 10/02/2012

*****
Very enjoyable. Well thought out programme of walks with excellent input from Neil Flynn.

Walking on La Gomera

By Mr Anderson on 10/02/2012

*****
Neil was a fantastic guide -- well informed, interested in people and generally helpful.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mr Hindmarch on 21/01/2012

*****
Superb, our guide, Neale, paced the walks very well. Was encouraging to member who found last walk demanding. hotel superb.

Secrets of Tenerife Walk

By Mrs Ault on 21/01/2012

*****
Just what we needed!

White Villages of Andalucia Walk

By Mr Orlik on 00/00/0000

*****
This was our first visit toSpain. It as well organised by Headwater, the arrangments worked perfectly and we would like to go again.