Customer reviews: Walking in Slovenia

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our walking holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their walking holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their walking holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Dr Barclay on 28/09/2016

*****
The holiday provided an excellent mix of walking through spectacular scenery, nice hotels, excellent food and an insight into the complex history of the region.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Bryant on 17/08/2016

*****
Great holiday did not like the Hotel in Kobarid, we had a massive dining room no use to us, bed was really bad, toilet and shower of 2 star standard at best. You could not shower because there was no fixing for the shower head. The toilet had sealant around it like a two old kid had applied and the bath had been repaired such a bodge. bear pipes for radiator coming out of the floor chipped the tiles and a bath plug that did not fit the bath. Very very poor it was room 100. Breakfast was the worst of the hotels, evening meal was ok. This is probably the worst hotel for accommodation I stayed in Europe.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Woodhead on 04/08/2016

*****
Very well designed walking programme, with good notes and maps. All arrangements ran smoothly. Lovely country with friendly welcomes from all. Clean and well maintained paths. Beautiful flowers in the meadows even in late July. Very impressed that M Tours boss took the trouble to meet us and discuss our walking experiences. A memorable holiday, with an evening wedding in traditional costume at Bohinj, on our last night there,

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Osler on 25/07/2016

***#.
Slovenia, even in high summer season, was relatively peaceful with fewer tourists than in other parts of the Alps. There were wonderful views on all the walks. There was a bit too much road walking on some days.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Wallis on 14/06/2016

*****
Very pleased with holiday and organisation -excellent introduction to Slovenia

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Jenkins on 23/10/2015

***#.
Overall an enjoyable experience, but our least favourite headwater holiday (our 5th). Why? Flights from Heathrow involved a very tight connection at Vienna which was from a different terminal and meant going through security there. Made the connection with less than 10 minutes to go before departure- very stressful! Hotels were a real mixture. Loved the Miklik hotel (fantastic staff and super room despite a few issues with a shortage of hot water for our very large bath) and Kranjska Gora - we would have happily stayed there all week. Room at the Hotel Jezero by the lake had a fantastic outlook but the shower had a cracked shower tray and no plug for the sink. Hotel Hvala - wonderful welcome and the room was huge but needs serious modernisation and new beds! Hotel Mangart - the fridge wasn't working (fixed the next day) and breakfast on the first morning was poor with disinterested member of staff. Much improved the following morning and got offered eggs and bacon (possibly by the manager). The transfers by M Tours were punctual and efficient- beware there was a strong smell of smoke in some, although none of the drivers smoked whilst we were travelling. We nearly missed the train connection as we were not told that we were travelling on a car transporter which was in the station some 25 minutes before departure time. We even asked the station master whilst the train was there... Luckily one of the men sitting in his car on the train shouted at us to get onboard realising we were with M tours This meant running about 80 metres with suitcases down the gravel track alongside the train to the one carriage where the conductor had to haul us up nearly 5 feet to get us and our luggage onboard as there was no platform! Slovenia is lovely and the walking was of good 2 boots standard. Autumn was further advanced than in the UK and the weather was changeable so would advise going early September not at the end like we did. Considering Slovenia was very cheap, we thought the holiday was overpriced but presumably the number of transfers had a bearing on this.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Allan on 06/10/2015

*****
We had an excellent holiday in Slovenia. We loved the countryside and enjoyed all the walks; the WW1 sites added a further interest. We particularly enjoyed our stays at the Miklic and Jezero hotels. We extended our holiday by 2 nights at Lake Bohinj, which is beautiful and had several walks to add, and a further 2 in Ljubljana and could recommend that as an option.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Ms Kyle on 23/09/2015

*****
Well organised with brilliant walking notes we were really pleased with all aspects of our trip and would definitely consider booking another holiday with you again. Thanks

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Allen on 18/09/2015

*****
A selection of lovely, varied walks amid beautiful mountain scenery in an unspoilt area. Slovenia also has a fascinating if somewhat turbulent history and the route notes (and rest day booklet suggestions) included historical references which added to our enjoyment of the walks and area. If you enjoy turquoise rivers, watching rafting/kayaking/canoeing/fishing on them; are not worried by suspension bridges; like birdsong, butterflies and wildflowers (even in August) we think you would enjoy this holiday. High quality regional 'slow food' ( i.e.not processed) was delicious. The Slovenian people we met were welcoming, friendly and helpful. This was our eighth holiday with Headwater and we felt that the walking level was consistent with other two boot holidays we have taken with you.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Hunter on 18/09/2015

***#.
Disappointed with the hiking trails in that there wasn't sufficient variety of environment and experience ( too much forest trail and tarmac) Routes of reasonable length, would have preferred higher altitude experience . One route had an indistinct and hazardous section leading up to the road into Kobarid. This path needs repair and clearance ( potential for serious accident). M tours staff excellent.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Dr Lewis on 11/08/2015

***#.
Slovenia is an amazing unspoilt gem. The people are really friendly, and everyone speaks English (and Slovenian, German and Italian!)

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Walker on 16/07/2015

***#.
We had a very good room in hotel Jezero with 2 baloney's. However on the Saturday evening 13 June the hotel had a private function that consisted of very loud music right under our room which meant that we could not go to sleep until it was over. The music went on until 2.30 which is too late,.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Boyce on 15/07/2015

*****
Country and scenery superb - a real eye-opener! Walking on the challenging side of '2 boot'. The longest walk was actually easier than some of the shorter ones due to the terrain. There are places to stop on the way, you should take advantage.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Brown on 13/07/2015

*****
Overall rate Slovenia Alps Adventure very highly. The Route notes need updating e.g Take the path to the right where the road changes from concrete to gravel. - In fact the path is where the road changes from concrete to tarmac - the tarmac has been there several years. One of many examples where the route notes were out of date. The route notes for Bovec to Kobarid directed us onto the road due to a land slip, the local guide told us the path was passable with care, we did not try this as we had both had bad backs prior to the trip and did not want any scrambling. However the other couple took the path and said the path was completely clear. The local guide should have known this. We walked 4 miles on a busy road because we were not told the path was clear.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Kelly on 18/06/2015

*****
This was our ninth holiday with you! The walking was fantastic, if a little arduous at times! A beautiful country, lovely people. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time, as ever! Many thanks!

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Gilliard on 15/06/2015

*****
Varied walking in beautiful locations. Lived up to descriptions in the brochure. Lovely holiday.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Campion on 24/11/2014

***#.
Slovenia is a lovely country. The walking could be a bit more challenging in the hills rather than predominantly in the valleys, but to an extent that is a result of the risk management around the holiday. The walks were a good length generally and the notes were good enough if you use the map and ask locals where there is any doubt - for example the 'suspension bridge' noted to cross to avoid the landslide between Bovec and Kobarid was actually a concrete road bridge, and in fact we used the 'closed' route from Bovec to Kobarid anyway after talking to some of the local residents. Hotel Mangart and Jezero were great, clean, modern hotels. Hotel Hvala had good food but is in serious need of room updates and would not get more than 2 stars in the UK. All the staff at all the hotels were very good. We would recommend staying on in Bohinj for a few days at the end and making use of the discount visitor card for the transport systems, and some great high level walking at the top of the Vogel cable car lift

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Keen on 14/10/2014

*****
The scenery is wonderful and the walking excellent if a little challenging on occasions.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mis Ausden on 11/08/2014

***#.
A great way to see Slovenia which is very beautiful, unspoilt and has a fascinating history, with many influences from its neighbours, Italy, Hungary, Austria and Croatia. The rivers are an indescribable blue, the mountains sweep up dramatically from basins of flat land. stunning. The food was lovely and cooked from scratch. how refreshing to be come somewhere where processed food is virtually forgotten and the land is bursting with need allotments growing fresh fruit and veg. beautifully kept towns and villages. they do love their trailing geraniums!

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Hinson on 31/07/2014

***#.
An enjoyable walk through some dramatic and truly beautiful scenery. Great hotels and extremely helpful M Tours staff.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Gerald on 21/07/2014

*****
We did some wonderful walking through stunning scenery, along turquoise rivers and though fantastic meadows full of flowers and butterflies. We met very few other walkers and on some days none at all. Everywhere was friendly and welcoming and the organisation of transport etc. was excellent. We had a little more rain than we would have liked and it is good advice to start walking early in the morning as the thunder storms did tend to come in the afternoon. Not so impressed by the hotel Mangart, which lacked character. Even in July we were not able to walk over the pass as it was too icy. That was a disappointment as we looked forward to a tougher high walk. We went almost up to it on the last day from the other side.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Hickling on 19/06/2014

*****
Slovenia was a beautiful and welcoming country with a good variety of points of interest along the walk.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Sheppard on 11/06/2014

*****
very well organised; good selection of hotels; interesting walks and locations; good suggestions for free days with helpful notes about the history of the region and landscapes.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Little on 15/10/2013

***#.
Slovenia is a beautiful country. Coming from Colorado, we didn't know what to expect, but the scenery was fantastic. The mountains seem more majestic than the ones near where we live, even though the Julian Alps are not as high, they appear to be more rugged. The hotels were very good and the transport very efficient. The hiking notes were very detailed, nearly too detailed at times, but a bit inconsistent. For example, on a day in which there was a detour due to an avalanche, a bridge that we were to cross was noted as a suspension bridge. Earlier bridges labeled suspension bridges had been just that, cables and planks across the river. In this case the supposed 'suspension bridge' was a roadway bridge that had pilings in the river. We passed it up and walked several km out of the way before discovering the mistake. It is important to note that the language used in the notes is written for a UK audience. For example, the term pavement, which Americans would equate with concrete or tarmac, doesn't mean the same thing. On the same day mentioned above the term 'pavement' is used to denote 'sidewalk' along a road or highway. So, when the notes said 'when the pavement ends' we interpreted that to mean the roadway turned to dirt. It didn't. We figured it out, but it caused confusion. All that notwithstanding, we all enjoyed the trip and our appetite for trekking is not diminished. I have already been looking for similar treks in other locales. The

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Effingham on 11/09/2013

***#.
Enjoyed a fantastic week's walks discovering the secrets of Slovenia - a unique country that has it all - alpine peaks, bubbling rivers, glacial lakes, and miles of unspoiled countryside! would not hesitate to recommend this trip.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Hollas on 08/08/2013

*****
Excellent, well organised holiday. We were unfortunate to spend the last two night in Bohinj. Most of Slovenia seemed to decide to spend the weekend there. Having had a great tranquil walking holiday until Bohinj, we found the last day out of character with the rest of our stay.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Moss on 18/06/2013

*****
Slovenia is a beautiful county with stunning views whilst walking, good food and wine, good accommodation!

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs McKerchar on 13/06/2013

*****
Beautiful country with most hospitable folk. Walking gentle - the most challenging walking option was not possible because of heavy snow. Would love to do again in more seasonal weather. M-tours made a couple of mistakes (see next box) but were profusely apologetic and did us proud. Their taxi-drivers were most informative & fascinating.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Ms Stewart on 10/09/2012

*****
Slovenia is a really beautiful country and we were delighted by the care taken to keep it that way by the Slovenian authorities. We feel that we saw parts of the countryside we would never have found without Headwater's agents' assistance and local knowledge. The hotels were all of an excellent standard and it was a most enjoyable and interesting holiday.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Oram on 23/07/2012

*****
Very enjoyable walks through the Soca Valley & Bohinj is beautiful, good food in Slovenia (with Italian & Ausrian influence) & very helpful,friendly people.