Feefo - Independent reviews
1-800-567-6286

News | E‑news | Brochures | Blog | Contact us

Customer reviews: Guided walking in Portugal

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our walking holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their walking holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their walking holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Gibson on 02/05/2017

***#.
Spring time provided marvellous walking weather and a wonderful spread of colour across the countryside. Tavira is a delightful town (try Tavira Lounge - left by bridge; lovely small balcony overlooking river); and the Pousada provides cool style and quality. The walks vary in intensity (not quite as flat as expected) and scenery. Found the Monchique walks somewhat dull; the hotel dreary and rundown (the attached tapas bar across the road appeared to close at 6pm), indifferent food but some redemption in an excellent pool and sundeck - just right after a day's walk. Our two hard working guides Ricardo and Gabriel ensured our walks went smoothly (especially at the family run Medronho distillery with an excellent lunch and a souvenir bottle that proved marvellous joint lubrication! A holiday that allows the traveller to gain some experience and insight into Algarve scenery and life; go for it.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Newberry on 10/04/2017

*****
An excellent overview of the whole of the Algarve, helped immensely by a superb guide.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Sedgwick on 14/06/2016

*****
A good variety of walks with a good local guide through enchanting country side with magnificent wild flowers ( May is a good month for this holiday

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs O'Brian on 13/06/2016

*****
Overall the holiday was thoroughly enjoyable. The walks were varied and a good length and covered some beautiful scenery. I think the 1+ rating was quite accurate - the walks were usually around 4 hours with some up and downhill sections but nothing particularly difficult. The accommodation was good as were most of the meals. Our guide, Tiago, was brilliant! He was knowledgeable, organised, flexible and just a really nice guy to hang out with. My only advice for future travellers would be to make sure to take insect repellent or a zapper for Tavira. The mozzies were like helicopters there.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs Pattinson on 26/05/2016

*****
Tiago and Hugo were excellent guides using very well planned routes. They were very friendly and flexible in their approach. Everyone in the walking group was very friendly and sociable. Tiago was a fount of knowledge of birds and plants and was keen to pass on this knowledge.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs Corris on 04/05/2016

***#.
The walking was varied and enjoyable although the weather could have been better.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs King on 27/04/2016

*****
An excellent holiday with exceptionally helpful guides.a good variety of accommodation

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Holmes on 25/04/2016

*****
An excellent holiday with an interesting and varied range of walks and activities. Well structured to give a decent impression of the Algarve region as a whole. The website and brochure provide a pretty accurate description of the holiday. The local guides were informative, helpful, friendly and very considerate of capabilities of different group members. My first experience of such a holiday, would happily do something similar again!

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mis Whittaker on 25/04/2016

***#.
I have been on many Headwater holidays, mostly guided when traveling on my own or with one friend but some self guided when with a group of friends. When travelling on my own Headwater provide accurate information about what to expect and provide a safe environment for me. I know enough about how they operate to anticipate accurately what the holiday will be like. Of course the other members of the group are a main factor but I have always found that they work well together. This is often helped by the guide understanding group dynamics.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs Smale on 18/04/2016

*****
Enjoyable relaxed holiday with an excellent guide, Tiago, who introduced us to the lovely and varied countryside which was enhanced by the magnificent show of wild flowers. The walking was considerably harder than on other 1boot holidays, and deserved to be labelled as 1+ boot.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Dr Loken on 30/03/2016

*****
As usual with Headwater Holidays, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves on this holiday. The locations were varied and interesting, the local guides did an excellent job, and the walking was very enjoyable.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs Lamb on 29/03/2016

*****
This was our first guided walk, after many years of self guided holidays. We enjoyed the relaxation which came from not having to worry about anything at any time.Our guide Tiago was expert at assessing the capabilities and personalities of the group. We were able to go at our own pace, taking as much time as anyone needed to appreciate the wild flowers, birds and scenery. His passion for his country was inspirational and educational.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Sinanoglou on 14/03/2016

***#.
Though the rating (one boot+) is accurate, I would have preferred longer walks on most days. The use of three locations in three very different settings is an attractive feature as is the superb seafood. The village of Pedralva is an unusual and well-chosen base from which to explore Portugal's west coast. The use of a Portuguese partner organization (A to Z Adventures) and local guides works extremely well. This is an ideal holiday for those who enjoy half-day walks in a variety of landscapes covering a region that stretches from the river border with Spain in the east to the Atlantic beaches and sea cliffs in the west. The guides are well-informed and very attentive.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Harris on 14/03/2016

*****
A good strenuous holiday for an elderly single traveller. The guides and the other travellers were good organisers and excellent companions. No complaints.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mis Haill on 27/11/2015

*****
Truly memorable holiday with excellent guides leading us. We saw a huge amount of the Algarve and the walks were varied and interesting, though perhaps a little bit harder than I was prepared for. My first visit to Portugal and I hope not my last.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mis Jameson on 26/10/2015

***#.
This was a new holiday and the Guides were excellent. The walks were varied and interesting. A mix of capabilities were catered for by using two vehicles but only because our group size allowed it. The hotels were varied as were the areas. I knew of the Poussada at Tavira and have stayed in the area before, We were particularly pleased to be able to return to a favorite restaurant in Santa Luzia. Although the weather wasn't at it's finest for our holiday we completed all the walks. The complex at Petralva was very interesting and had the best showers and hot water. However, the room was damp, others requested to be moved, this should be sorted out because the overall resort,concept and area was lovely. Our last morning's breakfast appeared to have them short handed but was fine. The bartender was knowledgeable and made our stay very enjoyable. The Hotel at Monchique was made up of a number of buildings some older than others. Our room although old was spacious but the hot water and decor was struggling a bit. Food for the first two evenings was a set menu and not very good nor was the service. This was the first time I have had difficulty with language in the Algarve. The bartender was particularly out of his depth. The last night the food was offered at A La Carte and was much improved as was the young lady taking orders and serving ( the kitchen too was much improved). The visit to the local distillery was fantastic and although the food in the hotel could have been better we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. We did not receive walking notes or a detailed walk itinerary ( I assume because it was guided) but this left us never really sure of plans and routes for the next day. We were given the holiday briefing but ten days in one go was too much to take in. This was our fifth Headwater Holiday and perhaps quality did not quite match up to others but I think with some assistance from the hotels it could easily achieve the expected level. There were nine of us on the tour and think we all enjoyed the experience.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs Stevens on 26/10/2015

***#.
This had the potential to be an outstanding holiday with excellent guides but they were let down by two of the hotels. It would have been helpful to have details of the spa treatments in advance and to book in advance as the Spa was often fully booked. It was also pretty shabby although the treatments good. More information about the area and history of the are would be a good idea too.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Jones on 26/10/2015

***#.
Good holiday and very good walking, well organised and good fun.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Prior on 17/06/2015

*****
Good variety of walks, with our excellent guide (Tiago), enabling various enjoyable views/experiences of the Algarve. Tavira especially attractive (although we had the best weather there), with plenty of excellent restaurants and scenic/architectural attractions and sights. We particularly liked the coastal/cliff walking at this time of year (early April) with such a varied range of beautiful flowers. All-in-all a great mix of sights and experiences in the Algarve.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Ward on 28/04/2015

*****
Excellent mix of walks, scenery and wildflowers made this holiday wonderful. Certainly 10 days is needed to cover such a wide range. The food was generally excellent in the hotels, and in Tavira the restaurants O Castello (arrive early or book) and the Tavira Lounge (by the river) are well worth a visit and just a stroll from the hotel. We found the village hotel of Pedralva unique and very friendly and a super contrast to the first hotel. Monchique hotel is less special, but the restaurant was again excellent. A particular commendation to our guide Tiago for all his cheerful assistance and smooth driving: thanks for the birthday cakes.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs McTurk on 28/04/2015

*****
Fantastic way to see the real Algarve. Well organised walks with experienced local guide and comfortable hotels and good food at the end of the day!

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mis Chappell on 13/04/2015

*****
From the moment we arrived our guide Tiago made us feel at home and made our holiday an enjoyable experience. Thoroughly enjoyed the varied walks and the wildflowers were spectacular, especially on the Fisherman's Trail. By the end of the holiday, we felt we had seen many aspects of the Algarve, from the Spanish border all the way to the west coast, and from the seaside at Tavira to the mountainous village of Monchique.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Pattison on 23/03/2015

*****
Another great Headwater holiday. Varied walking, good and interesting hotels, good guides. Some thought it merited 2 boot status, but it was fine for us.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Dr Jones on 16/03/2015

*****
Well organised, great places that we would not find on our own, excellent rep who gave us a 5 star experience . We felt completely relaxed and enjoyed every minute of our holiday .

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs Corns on 24/11/2014

*****
Good variety of walks, some site seeing. Our guide was knowledgeable and was keen to show us as much of his country as poosible.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Schafer on 21/11/2014

*****
The Walking the Algarve trip offers participants a wonderful variety of of walks, accommodations and food. With walks that include the beautifully rugged coast and the mountain region of Monchique, one has an opportunity to experience much of what the Algarve has to offer. Our guide Tiago was excellent. The hikes were interesting and varied with the coastal portions being our favorite. The regional cuisine served at the hotels was very good with our favorites being the picnic at the Distillery and the dinners at Pedralva. All in all a wonderful Holiday!