Customer reviews: Cycling in Austria

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our cycling holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their cycling holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their cycling holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Evans on 29/11/2016

***#.
Fairly trouble-free

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Steele on 29/11/2016

*****
The cycling from Passau to Vienna was a wonderful experience. We were sorry when we had to hand back the bikes as we enjoyed the cycling so much. The holiday was well planned with two day stops so that we had time to explore the beautiful towns en route. Everything was well organised and supported.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Davies on 31/10/2016

*****
Have been on a few of your holidays and they have always been very very good.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Burch on 13/10/2016

*****
Good pre-booked accommodation, excellent notes and seamless baggage transfer between locations meant that we could focus on enjoying our cycle ride along the Danube. We would have no hesitation in recommending this holiday to potential future travellers.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Cadwallader on 04/10/2016

*****
Headwater select comfortable and well located hotels and have always helped me with reserving rooms of choice.You can book thru Headwater with confidence.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Jenkinson on 29/09/2016

***#.
This holiday is set in beautiful and typical Austrian countryside. Salzburg, St Gilgin, Hallstatt, St Wolfgang and other places are busy and not for everyone.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Roberts on 05/09/2016

*****
We were initially nervous about a holiday which was managed locally by an agency other than Headwater. Our previous experience had not been great. However we need not have worried. Donau Touristik were hugely well organised and the bikes were excellent. The cycling was just about the flattest we had ever experienced and, partly because of the excellent weather, partly because of the excellent food and accommodation, this was as enjoyable a holiday as we have ever had. A couple of small blemishes. At Bregenz on the first night we were served only a three course meal instead of the advertised four. (We only realised subsequently about this when we returned on the final night). Hotel Buchornerhof was not in the same league as the other accommodation. We were served the wrong food on one evening and the air/conditioning leaked. The staff's hearts did not seem to be in their work as it was in the other hotels. One warning - wine in the hotel restaurants (especially the Swiss ones) is very expensive indeed. These are small gripes. It was a great holiday and I'd do it all again anytime.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Hopkins on 19/08/2016

*****
Austrian lakes are a fabulous location for a cycling holiday. Stunning views , with well marked cycle routes and excellent accommodation and food.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mrs Entrican on 04/08/2016

*****
Yet another excellent holiday from Headwater. Quality accommodation, wonderful scenery and friendly and helpful reps. What more could you ask?

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Acheson on 25/07/2016

*****
Overall we found the holiday a great break for us. The route, notes, hotel locations, things to do etc all added to the enjoyment. Everything was well explained and set out for us.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Christer on 25/07/2016

*****
In our opinion cycling the Headwater way is the most relaxing and best way to really get to know and enjoy an area. The Austrian lakes scenery was spectacular. The photos in your brochure do not fully do the area justice.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Ms Taylor on 21/07/2016

*****
I was lucky enough to win this cycling in Austria holiday and it was just amazing. Not something I would have thought of doing but may even do a similar thing again one day. Flights and transfers were great. The Reps were so helpful and couldn't do enough for us. They took luggage always at next hotel quickly too. The electric bike I had was such a boon as there were a few more hilly bits than expected and the instructions of the routes were amazing and very detailed - well my partner did brilliantly following them so we never got lost. He had an ordinary bike which was a bit ropey but he is a cyclist so sorted it. The scenery was amazing and cycle paths brilliant. As for the hotels they were a delight, each one had something special. Two had wonderful views from our rooms. The whole experience has been magic. Thank you so much Headwater and Silver Travel.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Beveridge on 15/07/2016

*****
*This was a great tour. The hotels were all comfortable etc. We used electric bikes and though the routes are quite doable on an ordinary bike it enabled us to do a lot more on our 'stay put' days.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mrs French on 28/06/2016

*****
We have nothing but praise for this headwater holiday around the Austrian Lakes and we received warm welcomes at the hotels. The free days offer excellent sight seeing opportunities, like the Gustav Klimpt museum and the cog railway for spectacular views. Breakfasts were second to none in the hotels and rooms comfortable.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Baker on 27/06/2016

***#.
The landscape was stunning, the bikes very comfortable and easy to handle with plenty of gears! The hotels were very comfortable and in the main, well located. The food was good and varied from traditional Austrian fare to more adventurous haute cuisine. The routes were at times rather challenging hill-wise but then, this is Austria.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Dr Lynch on 16/06/2016

*****
We had a great 10 days. Weather mixed but still enjoyed the amazing scenery. Would happily do it all again tomorrow. Thank you!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Dr Leiper on 14/06/2016

*****
Great cycle holiday on easy cycle paths with quality bikes and excellent hotels.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Stillwell on 06/06/2016

*****
Adventure before dementure!

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Morris on 03/06/2016

*****
This was our first organised cycling holiday and it exceeded our expectations, the quality of hotels were fabulous and we really liked that we had 2 nights in each hotel which gave us time to explore each area. On reflection we would prefer to have had dinner in the hotel halm included as finding somewhere to eat was a real hit or miss and compared to the meals we had in the hotels we didn't find anything better. From our first enquiry with headwater the whole holiday couldn't have gone smoother, Michelle (I think) tailored the holiday to fit our needs perfectly adding in 4 extra days and organising the hotel for two of them. I certainly can't recommend headwater highly enough and have already looking at where to go next. Thank you to the whole team as this has to be one of our best holidays and we have had many! A special thanks to the couple at the bike hire, they were extremely friendly and very helpful.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Martini on 03/06/2016

*****
We had with quite a lot of rain which could have been problematic on cycling days but actually we found it didn't detract from our enjoyment of the holiday. Some hotels were definitely better than others but there was always something about each hotels which made the stay a nice experience. The reps were great and very keen to make sure we had everything we needed.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Watkinson on 04/03/2016

*****
Our cycling holiday was just the BEST! I am a non-cycling person, afraid in traffic, and not especially into sport and fitness. My husband is Mr Fit, and cycles quite a bit. This holiday was so much fun for both of us. Well within my capabilities, and although not very demanding, the cycling was enough to keep my husband happy. Can't wait to book another Headwater holiday.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Dr Sadler on 20/01/2016

*****
We enjoyed our visit to the area very much, and apart from the luggage problem, we had no real difficulties. However, we did have one concern that troubled us. On previous headwater holidays, we always felt that we had the reassurance of a Headwater rep to contact in the event of any difficulty, e.g. in the event of an accident, buckled wheel etc.When we asked the Donnau lady what would happen in the event of such a situation arising, (expecting her to say we'd come out to you), we were most disconcerted to hear her say that 'you have a list of Donnau stations around the lake. If you have a problem you must go to them - they will not come to you'. We had not realised the implication of the arrangement Headwater had with Donnau, that resulted in raising our anxiety levels if anything had gone wrong. We would certainly check with Headwater if booking a future holiday that we had a local rep at hand. If there wasn't , we would not book that particular holiday.. One last point. In places, the fine detail in the instructions was inaccurate and misleading. this delayed us on occasions.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Turner on 12/10/2015

***#.
A good way of combining cycle touring with time to explore the the surrounding areas

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs McBroom on 01/10/2015

*****
Excellent accommodation. Confidence with the equipment and support. Good maps and route details very comprehensive. Cycling down the Danube is great as the Danube cycleway is either a dedicated path or where it runs along side a road it is separate and safe. An added advantage is that it is flat and well surfaced.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Pritchard on 30/09/2015

*****
Very easy and enjoyable cycling through lovely scenery with excellent accommodation and many places of interest to visit.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Dr Miller on 30/09/2015

*****
This was my fifth cycle holiday with Headwater, and it was the most enjoyable. The cycling is very easy, and the route is very clearly marked, so there is absolutely no navigation skill required. Unlike some of the tours in rural Italy or Spain, there were numerous, widely-varied eating establishments with long opening hours right along the cycle path. The cycling path is flat, but it passes through some varied and hilly terrain. There are opportunities to make short (and possibly hilly) detours to see some pretty villages and interesting sights along the way. One very moving side trip is to do the short day trip (about 50 km round trip from the hotel at Linz) to the memorial at the former Mauthausen concentration camp. The high point of the tour is when it passes through the Wachau Valley, which is one of the loveliest wine growing regions I have cycled through. I did the entire ride, even covering the short stretch from Linz to Grein, which the normal tour bypasses by shuttle van due to its being thought too industrial. Also, the tour guide recommends taking a train into the heart of Vienna in order to by-pass a slightly grimy and graffiti-covered stretch of the outskirts of the city. I did not find this stretch particularly objectionable, and there is a certain satisfaction to completing the entire cycle path from Passau to the heart of Vienna. This would be a perfect ride for someone who is uncertain about committing to a bicycle tour. There are river boats and trains that allow one to skip cycling portions when the weather is bad or one is too fatigued. The cycling could not be any easier, and the maps and signs along the way make it all quite fool-proof. Note that Headwater will supply participants with a spiral bound book that contains high resolution maps for the entire route. This book is easily ignored as the usual Headwater instructions are so well done, but the book does contain some historical tidbits and also suggestions for interesting detours, so it is worth a read. A note in closing; the Passau-Vienna path is said to be very busy in the summer. I did my tour in late September and the path was wide open. Only the Wachau Valley section had any significant bicycle traffic.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Wakeford on 22/09/2015

***#.
Beautiful scenery as previously experienced around the Austrian lakes.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Wilson on 21/09/2015

*****
It was a real fun adventure. The excellent support and hotels allowed for maximum enjoyment.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mrs Barr on 21/09/2015

*****
This was our 8th Headwater cycling holiday and we have thoroughly enjoyed all the others but it has to be said this was the best. Scenery was stunning and the hotels excellent. First day's cycling was very hilly as we had been told and on hindsight [being now the tender age of 67 and 68 respectively] myself in particular should have taken the option of an electric bike but only for the first cycling day if that had been possible. Pushing the bike uphill did allow for time to enjoy the views and the bonus was freewheeling downhill which was brilliant. Reps Colin and Jill gave excellent information for rest days. Unfortunately we were unable to take the option of extra days at Bad Ischl but would suggest this would be a good idea for those able to do so. Once again thank you to Headwater for another excellent holiday and fantastic memories.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Dr Leiper on 21/09/2015

*****
Reps were excellent Hotel Stephanie had poor response to a TV and wash hand basin issue - depite my request.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Taylor on 16/09/2015

*****
very successful and enjoyable in all respects

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Ms Nott on 15/09/2015

*****
Excellent holiday overall. It might have been better to have an extra day in Vienna at the end of the trip instead of a free day in Krems which was not as exciting as Vienna. The weather could have been better too!!

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs McCormick on 14/09/2015

***#.
A thoroughly restful holiday through stunning countryside. Excellent cycle paths which take you away from the busy roads and where you can set your own pace. The option to shorten journeys using trains or ferries was useful. Our ninth headwater holiday and one we would take again in a few years time. Switzerland is an expensive place to visit but the half board basis of this holiday offsets some of that cost. Our group of eight ranged in age from 48 to 72 and everyone found it a comfortable and enjoyable cycle. Lots to see and do on the rest days which meant that we packed a lot into each day. The fabulous chocolate, kaffee und kuchen could be offset quite easily which was a bonus!

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mis Nicholson on 14/09/2015

*****
Small hotels with very friendly service and good food. Some of the cycling was perhaps a bit above one bike level although with my fantastic e bike it was a breeze apart from down and up the steps at the underpass as the bike iwas quite heavy. Excellent reps, really knew their stuff and very helpful. We went wrong occasionally with the route notes but not drastically. The off road cycling was superb but there was quite a bit on roads - not too bad as Austrian drivers were generally very careful with bicycles. As Headwater is based in the northwest, perhaps they could offer more direct flights from regional airports: we found a really good time match with a Manchester flight to Salzburg rather than having to travel down to London. Otherwise another really first class holiday with the company.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Norman on 10/09/2015

*****
especially excellent reps and route notes and well chosen hotels with hotel bergrose having especially good food. all the hotels were family owned which made the welcome very friendly..

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Buckley on 10/09/2015

***#.
After the first day, which is quite hilly, this is a very easy cycle route through beautiful countryside. The Austrians that we met were particularly friendly, and eager to try out their English. Headwater's equipment, instructions and luggage transfers were all very good. The only negative comments we have are that 1) the half board arrangements resulted in a fairly monotonous diet across the week, with limited choice and 2) two of the hotels were a few miles out of the villages they were attached to and a long way from the lakes. The Bergrose hotel provided outstanding food, so we could forgive the distance from the lake!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs O'Gorman on 17/08/2015

*****
A fantastic holiday for a family with teenagers. Easy but very enjoyable cycling in stunning countryside.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mis Ward on 11/08/2015

**#..
We didn't think this holiday was representative of Headwater cycling holidays in general. This was our fourth Headwater holiday, and compared to the others (Italy, Spain and France), it was disappointing. The cycling routes were not as pretty as on other holidays, and there weren't so many nice places to stop for lunch or to admire the scenery. This was partly to do with the different culture, of course, but it also had a lot to do with the cycling routes themselves and the hotels. We didn't feel that the usual Headwater support was there, and this was partly reflected in the route notes. Although they were OK, we thought they could have been more helpful and they were at times inaccurate. The cycling was more difficult than we expected it to be, so we were glad to have the option of cutting some days short by using the ferries or trains. Although there were a lot of cycle paths, they were often alongside (or on) quite busy roads.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Hornby on 31/07/2015

*****
This is just a wonderful part of the world for cyclists who like to immerse themselves in a beautiful, safe and friendly place. As you'd expect in Austria, Switzerland and Germany, everything works so well to give you a hassle-free holiday. Everyone was so welcoming, locals as well as people providing service and quite happy to use their excellent English in place of my stumbling schoolboy German.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr McMorrin on 29/07/2015

*****
The travel arrangements/organisation and detail excellent. Two of the hotels were not nearly as good as the rest . In fact the last hotel was way below standard but the food at that hotel was excellent. The rooms were far too small there was no air conditioning and it resembled the most basic accommodation. The middle two hotels were outstanding as was Bregenz but Seegarten again had no air conditioning is not well positioned. Overall this is an excellent holiday well put together and if the two hotels were improved upon it would be almost the perfect break

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Swan on 28/07/2015

*****
An amazing experience. We truly loved the carefree feeling it gave us. The Reps briefing was informative and gave us invaluable tips and suggestions on what to do in each location.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Murray on 24/07/2015

***#.
People we met told us that the Lakes region of Austria is a 'wet' area. Perhaps not ideal for cycling holidays?

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Kimber on 22/07/2015

*****
The arrangements were very good and instructions easy to follow. However, we found the bikes to be very heavy, and the crossbar on the ladies' bike was far too high, to the extent that my husband had to help me on and off the bike as I could not tilt it far enough towards me to get my leg over the crossbar without it falling on me (as it did on one occasion, resulting on me banging my head (thank goodness for my cycle helmet) and skinning my elbow!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Emms on 07/07/2015

*****
Delightful easy cycling (totally flat with excellent largely traffic free trails) in scenic countryside. Lots of opportunities to stop for coffe, cake, drinks etc

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Brown on 30/06/2015

*****
Every day was different. The bikes were excellent as was the luggage transfer. The mix of cycling and non cycling days was a bonus and allowed one to explore the local towns. Following a river downstream provided continuity and progression as it made its way down stream.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Gittins on 29/06/2015

***#.
Cycling easy even for us oldies,nice hotels,beautiful scenery and relaxed pace.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr McIlraith on 24/06/2015

*****
This was an easy ride for us and I would say ideal for less experienced cyclists. Everyone we met in hotels and restaurants was friendly and helpful.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Owen on 17/06/2015

*****
An exceptionally well designed tour, which includes valuable 2 night stops at the en-route hotels in Linz, Melk and Krems, the first two of which are really interesting to explore. The daily distances were will within the capabilities of these two 68-71 year old occasional cyclists. The Danube routes were well signed and easy to follow.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Devine on 17/06/2015

***#.
Lovely flat (mostly) easy cycling. Very clean hotel rooms, most with a nice view. Good food.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Harkness on 11/06/2015

*****
The cycle route along the Danube from Paschau to Vienna was excellent - easy cycling, well signposted and extremely beautiful. We passed pretty wild flower meadows, dense forested slopes and wide terraced vineyards. The route took in many delightful towns and villages, with their pretty squares, narrow cobbled streets, castles, cathedrals and monasteries. Vienna is amazing and definitely worth staying on for a few extra days! The hotels were in great locations and the meals were very good. Headwater and their local representatives arranged a great trip for us - their customer service and attention to detail was excellent. Thank you!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Hood on 14/10/2014

*****
Well organised.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Martin on 08/10/2014

***#.
The holiday satisfaction, accommodation and value would all have ranked 'excellent' had it not been for the experience on nights 4 & 5. We did not aloow that to impinge on our overall enjoyment, but it was annoying and frustrating at the time.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Beeby on 26/09/2014

*****
A very easy, relaxing and stimulating holiday. At times we would have liked to ride slightly longer distances, but accept that the intermediate hotels were all, in their different ways good.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Wilson on 25/09/2014

*****
Hugely enjoyable, a great adventure on an achievable scale.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Rance on 19/09/2014

*****
Interesting and enjoyable. Pleasantly surprised by high standard of hotels and food!

Lake Constance Cycling

By Ms Coffin on 19/09/2014

***#.
Lake Konstanz is a lovely location. The cycling is mostly very easy and having two-day stops provide an opportunity to explore around each town.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Turnbull on 19/09/2014

*****
Another great cycling holiday. Thoroughly enjoyed our trip along the Danube. Cycling just at the right level of effort. Food grew, people great. Best organised cycling holiday so far.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Crawley on 16/09/2014

***#.
The first couple of days was through fairly uninteresting landscape. Thereafter it was fine but not outstanding. The headwater format is generally constant, but on this occasion we had no representative. It didn't really matter, but first timers could find this difficult.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs McKay on 07/09/2014

*****
Overall great holiday. Cycling excellent. Lovely scenery and great condition of cycle paths. Some of hotels were disappointing in certain aspects - no tea/coffee; old, tired bathrooms with no bath; small room however usually made up with friendly service and excellent food. Friedrichschafen is not a very attractive town - Lindhau might be a better option. Hotel Weisses Kreuz the favourite hotel - great sized room, comfortable bed and pillows and great bathroom.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Gambrill on 28/08/2014

**#..
We felt disappointed as there was no personal service, the Donnau company just gave us bikes without help and tried to palm of bald tyres and broken lights, luckily we insisted they change the bikes to our satisfaction but if this had been a couple who had never taken a Headwater bike holiday I would feel very sorry for them. We were very disappointed that we saw no one representing Headwater no welcome meeting as described in the literature. We enjoyed the holiday but certainly rated it as the least enjoyable out of the previous 3 trips. Cycling good, the free days poor, no suggestions of bike excursions no information found in english. No one to talk to about trips. St Gallons not that special the hand written medieval books in German advised in broshure not that exciting. The food described as 4 courses were very limited with minimal choice and 2 of the hotels were really poor.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs McIlhinney on 28/08/2014

***#.
We enjoyed the holiday, and the hotels and their service were generally very good or excellent, apart from at the Hotel Donauschlinge, where the staff were not as friendly and we felt they hurried our evening meal, bringing the second course before we had finished the first! In our view, the Hotel Zur Post in Melk was by far the most efficient, with the most helpful staff. The Steigenberger in Krems, although a very nice hotel, had less character (much more a standard 'chain' hotel) and our table in the dining room was tucked away in a rather gloomy corner, rather than the main restaurant – unfortunately the weather was not good enough for us to have a table on the terrace. We were impressed by Greenways Travel, who were very efficient and prompt about delivering our bikes, transporting us from Linz to Grein and then collecting the bikes at the end. They also provided a mobile phone for us to contact them if we needed to. We were unprepared for quite how flat the ride would be, and with hindsight should perhaps have opted for something a little more challenging. I think we expected it to be more like the Moselle ride, which we did with Headwater a few years ago and which rolled up and down a little – our 'best bit' on this holiday was therefore the ride from Melk to Krems through the Wachau, which was not totally flat.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Lloyd on 27/08/2014

*****
Outstanding experience in terms of cycling, locations chosen, landscapes and scenery, cultural activities and overall enjoyment.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Chestnutt on 27/08/2014

*****
A lovely relaxing holiday, amist beautiful scenery and staying in very comfortable accomodation.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Williams on 11/08/2014

*****
Good family fun

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Davis on 30/07/2014

*****
Cycling this route was very easy. The paths were almost all off-road, or well separated from the traffic, on good quality cycle paths, even in the towns and cities we visited. Hardly any inclines on the whole route, with only one where we had to get off and push. The bikes were in excellent condition and ideally suited to the task. The hotels were all of a very good standard and well located. Lake Constance is very scenic and has a relaxed holiday feel to it, no matter where you are around its periphery, with countless places to stop and eat/drink/admire the view. Overall, a very enjoyable holiday and one of the best we have done with Headwater.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Higgins on 29/07/2014

***#.
The route notes were clearly wrong in places (I made this point two yearsago!) and gave the impression of being written by someone who had not cycled the whole route.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Owens on 25/07/2014

***#.
to start on a negative we did not like the evening meal voucher facillity, the food offered on this fixed 4 course meal option wasn,t to our liking, we would have preferred an allowance for our evening meal to choose of the al a carte menu, the quality of the fixed four course meal was rather bland and most salad and main courses were heavily caked in sauces, we felt like second class guests when other guests not on a cycling holiday had the choice of other menus and were choosing more appetising dishes, although we read in your small print that we could have requested this option it was never offered at any of the hotels, the welcome at the first hotel was poor, the girl who handed out the documents could speak very little english so communications were a problem leading to a mix up of when the bikes could be collected. also the manager on duty that day was very surly so our first day didn.t get off to the best of starts, thank fully though there were plenty of plus points!! the team who sorted the bikes and transfer of luggage were exellent, Lydia and Sylvester were superb and a credit to the company. the route notes were ok but we found on the first day that we were having to stop too many times so from day two we found it much easier to just follow the bycycle signs which kept you more or less on the right route and allowed for more enjoyable touring without the stops. We really enjoyed our holiday and would certainly book with you again. It would be more enjoyable though if you could give some thought to the meal situation as we were not the only ones to raise the above point. Overall though we would give the holiday 10/10 thank you paul and pam owens

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mrs Helps on 21/07/2014

*****
You delivered everything you said. There are other companies but they sometimes break down the costs and options so much that it becomes tedious to work out the cost.It might look cheaper initially but by the time you have added on bike rental costs plus other options, it isn't. Headwater is simpler and clearer.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Robertson on 09/07/2014

*****
Absolutely perfect in every way. The office staff at Headwater recommended this holiday to us when we couldn't get the accommodation for our chosen holiday (Austrian Lakes). We are so grateful for her recommendation as it was a wonderful holiday. The bikes were superb and all the routes were incredibly safe and bike friendly with most of the cycling being on dedicated cycle tracks. Bliss!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr English on 07/07/2014

*****
The rep, Erhard, was the best we have ever had and produced lots of good information and even mobile phones for emergency use (not needed). The Schlogen hotel has the most dramatic location on a bend in the river that you can imagine, and it is worth the tough climb up the hill behind to view it from the top. Vienna is a big city in every sense with lots of grand buildings to see, and the trams make them very accessible, which we discovered thanks to the superb staff on the hotel recepion who know their town well. The route down the Danube is beautiful and ever changing and full of interest.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Wragge on 04/07/2014

*****
Thoroughly enjoyable adventure for all ages and the over 65s! Excellent organisation and help from travel arrangements tailored to our needs to hotel accommodation. Excellent holiday - we look forward to coming again. Would like to see longer holidays offered - 14 days plus. Enjoyed Blue Book comments but we were the first to make a comment this year. (Hotel Halm had never heard of the Blue Book!)

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mrs McCormick on 28/06/2014

*****
A fantastic opportunity to take your foot off the sometimes manic pedal of life and pedal at a much more relaxing pace. The scenery was stunning and the people very helpful. There are not as many places to stop and explore as perhaps on some of the French or Italian tours but still a wonderful holiday and we would go back to Austria again.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Hawkins on 16/06/2014

*****
We travelled to Passau via Munich Airport followed by an over 3-hour journey by bus to Freising station, train to Passau and taxi to the hotel. We purchased on-line a Bayern-Ticket for 27 Euros for 2 people which included both the bus and train journeys. We are both in our late sixties and found the cycling easy, although adjustments had to be made for the weather. It rained on the first day but after that the weather was hot and sunny necessitating early starts. The cycle paths were clearly signed so it was easy to follow the route and German and Austrian drivers are courteous to cyclists so cycling in towns was not a problem. The hotels were varied and well chosen and near the main attractions, the only exception being the one in Krems which was up a steep hill, but the hotel's facilities make the climb worthwhile. The instructions suggested going by train from Ottensheim to Linz but the cycle path was well separated from the busy road so cycling to Linz was not a problem. Similarly, the instructions suggest travelling by train in to Vienna but the cycle route was easy and the graffiti no worse than you find on the outskirts of most cities and it cheered up the drab concrete walls even though most of it was not up to the standard of Banksy. The food provided by the hotels was generally good and the hotels were near to restaurants when evening meals were not provided.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Poultney on 16/06/2014

*****
Easy cycling - with options to reduce length every day (only used once when one person unwell) - hotels in interesting or beautiful locations with plenty to see - good white wine area with everywhere having choice of wines by the glass (125ml) at reasonable prices.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Alcock on 22/10/2013

*****
I have completed your feedback form but you have got one of the hotels listed incorrect. We did not stay at Hotel Rheinfels as they did not have any available rooms. We stayed at Hotel Hoeri am Bodensee and my comments are obviously about that hotel. Apparently every year on that weekend there is a conference in Stein am Rhein which takes over all hotel rooms so this should be noted for future reference. My bike was stolen from outside Hotel Halm. The lock up arrangements for the bikes at that hotel were not adequate and these need to be improved. However the staff who helped me were brilliant and it was all sorted out very quickly.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Fleming on 26/09/2013

***#.
We had so much rain EVERY day of our cycling tour the bikes would have benefited from having a sail fitted! That said, we did enjoy the holiday in spite of the weather. Without exception the hotels offered by Headwater were of a very high standard and you are to be commended for that. The food on offer was of such a high standard that all in our group were pleasantly surprised and grateful. This first time with Headwater will not be our last.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mrs Thompson on 26/09/2013

*****
Damp! Mostly easy cycling through wonderful countryside. Great opportunities for walks and train/tram excursions. Mostly wonderful food and great ice-creams. Apfel strudel usually disappointing! Made really welcome everywhere. The other people on the same holiday were great company and we chose to eat together in the evenings.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Khurana on 24/09/2013

*****
We had a lovely, lovely holiday. The bikes were so good we wanted to run away with them, the food was universally very good and the hotels were pretty good at providing for our vegetarian diets. The breakfast buffets were wonderful - I'm converted to Bircher muesli now. It was easy cycling with excellent route description in a very beautiful part of the world. Who would believe you can have a cycling holiday in Switzerland, Austria, Germany with no hills!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Barr on 20/09/2013

*****
This was the best Headwater Holiday so far . Almost the entire route was on flat dedicated cycle paths or through quiet country lanes with little or no other traffic. Each day's cycling was easy and on average only about 25 miles. ( my wife and I are OAPs and we managed each day with no problem). The real bonus with this holiday is reaching Vienna at the end of the journey. I would recommend an extra night in Vienna before returning home..

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Haines on 20/09/2013

*****
An excellent holiday cycling 285 KM from Passau to Vienna along flat safe routes. The Tulln hotel was a bit basic and the train journey to Stein was a pain but probably necessary. We followed the reps advice and went into Vienna using the island route which avoided the train route suggested. Overall the holiday ticked all the boxes as is usually the case with Headwater. Thanks, we will be back next September with our friends for another adventure!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Lachowski on 16/09/2013

*****
This was an excellent, well designed, well organised holiday with very good back-up from Greenways Travel.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Nichols on 12/09/2013

*****
After having many successful holidays without problem with Headwater Booking we were surprised to have difficulties getting: the rail return details confirmed; the invoice correct; the correct Reginal booklet sent through (3 tries); and the return transfer was still incorrectly notified to the local representative. Having said that your agents, Greenways' organisation was excellent leading to a successful holiday.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mrs Gleeson on 02/09/2013

*****
We had a fabulous experience cycling around the Salzkammergut. Would highly recommend it for families. Nervous start on first day but great views and overall the experience could not have been better. James was very helpful. The Grunberg stood out for us due to its location, conviviality and welcome to our son who is 7. But interestingly he loved all the hotels and loved the Bergrose for the swimming pool and table tennis. We enjoyed all the hotels. The food was excellent throughout - much more varied than I had expected- and the Bergrose stands out for freshness and excellence. Wonderful cycling although a few nervous moments. We cannot wait to do more.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Noble on 29/08/2013

*****
Really good fun and quite an adventure. Worked very well for my two children of 9 and 11 who loved the cycling and swimming.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Ms Berry on 29/08/2013

*****
Great cycling, excellent maps, good routes. Hotels were possibly a bit quiet and could have been in better locations. Why St Goergen, when there were good lakeside hotels nearby? In the town hotels the noise from the traffic was really loud, so windows had to be closed leading to stifling heat. . (Bad Ishcl and St Georgen). Maybe a hotel in Strobl would have given more things to do in the evenings, or what about St Wolfgang? Smoking laws not great in Austria......would prefer non smoking hotels.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mrs Hellewell on 28/08/2013

*****
Relaxed cycling largely on cycle tracks. Suitable for younger cyclists. Beautiful scenery. Lovely hotels.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Keeling on 25/08/2013

*****
The cycling was very enjoyable with excellent cycle paths and easy to follow directions mostly. There were a couple of unclear directions towards end day at Konstanz and Steim um Rhein. Weather was very good and amenities for tennis and swimming great. No major problems with the bikes although back up was not that good according to other members of the party who had punctures etc.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Davis on 16/08/2013

*****
A virtually hill-free ride through pleasant countryside neighbouring the River Danube, punctuated by stays in excellent hotels in historic towns and cities. No shortage of shops, castles, palaces, museums, and last but not least - coffee and cake shops. The challenge is to not gain weight!

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Hindley on 13/08/2013

*****
Excellent family holiday with good hotels, great food, wonderful scenery and plenty to see and do.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Day on 05/08/2013

*****
Fabulously organised and a really different experience for us. We loved the independence, the superb scenery and the wonderful sense of adventure. Freewheeling down hills for 10 days was something neither of us had done since our teens. A brilliant holiday! Thank you so much!

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mrs Thomas on 05/08/2013

*****
Our first cycling holiday. Cycling, lakes, beautiful country side, villages, towns, mountains, and city (Salzburg) provided a great variety of sights and activities, thoroughly enjoyed by the whole family.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Hill on 03/08/2013

*****
We had wonderful weather during our holiday which added greatly to the overall enjoyment of the magnificent scenery and beauty of the area and we truly enjoyed every moment of the cycling and 'stay-put' days, with plenty of different things to see and do at every location. This was complimented by the excellent accommodation and food at the hotels and organisation and equipment provided by Headwater. We are not sure another similar cycling holiday could be better than the one we have just experienced.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr McBrien on 03/08/2013

*****
The cycling holiday is a fantastic way to explore the area and be able to stop in different towns and hotels. The cycling on the headwater routes on the Austrian Lakes was very straightforward and undemanding. Those clients who wish to push themselves further on the bikes need to make an effort to use the local excellent cycling maps, either to extend the routes between hotels, or to use the 'rest' days to go for further rides.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Bond on 29/07/2013

*****
Wonderful scenery, cycling and wholly relaxing. We really enjoyed the whole experience.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr McGinn on 27/07/2013

***#.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable trip along the Danube.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Cockrill on 25/07/2013

***#.
Our first cycling holiday and generally it was a really good experience with an interesting variety of hotels. Beware of eating half board as in some hotels we felt we were treated like 2nd class citizens.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Laing on 08/07/2013

*****
Passau to Vienna cycling was an easy cycle ride ,staying at superb hotels amid beautiful towns and country-side .

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Dunbabin on 05/07/2013

***#.
1) Particularly as viewed from the steamers, and from the clusters of old houses on the edge of the lake & esp. at some of the steamer landing places, the Bodensee was very beautiful; there were also a number of delightful and very old towns. BUT there has been very extensive recent building development (particularly, but not exclusively, on the southern side of the lake. So quite a lot of the bicycling was rather dull and suburban - inferior, we thought, to the Veneto Headwater holiday we took some years ago. Probably the best bit was the Rhine delta marshes on day 2 (where we also had the good fortune to see two storks gently grazing) 2) The bicycling stages were rather long. But, as the brochure said, it was easy to reduce distances by putting the bicycles on trains or steamers. Also almost all the cycle paths were well surfaced, marked, etc. 3) The conveyance of luggage between the hotels was VERY efficient 4) My wife had some difficulties with the Donau Touristik bicycles. These went, and stopped, well. BUT their - to us, unfamiliar - concentration of weight around the back wheel meant that, when suddenly checked, they could easily tip over to the left, & she fell off twice. That said, the handing out & reception back of the bicycles in Bregenz was EXTREMELY well done. And Donau Touristik has an impressive network of hotels that would, if necessary, mend/exchange punctured or other bicycles - in Stein-am-Rhein they simply took off my punctured front wheel & substituted one from one of their own bicycles 5) a) The hotels were all of a high standard. But we personally felt the 4-course evening meals rather too much & too rich, & enjoyed the ability to secure our own simpler ones in Konstanz. (More generally, I think we preferred the 'agro-turismo' arrangements of our earlier Veneto Headwater cycling holiday.) The breakfasts were mostly very good. b) The hotel in Stein-am-Rhein was splendidly sited, looking straight out onto the river. That I have marked the 'welcome' only as 'fair' is solely due to the fact that we arrived on its Wednesday day off, when it remains closed until 4 pm. In the event we simply went and had an iced coffee in the town's lovely market place. They also arranged for us to have our evening meal that day outside another hotel so situated in the market place, which took good care of us 6) We were, broadly, very lucky with the weather - & relished the ability usually to have our evening meal out of doors (though there were a couple of memorable storms 7) I don't know that better times could have been arranged (slightly better train ones were possible, but only by changing trains rather than travelling straight through to/from Bregenz). But we definitely had too long at the surprisingly unprepossessing Zurich airport/station 8) My guess is that, given our ages, we shall not take another Headwater holiday. But this does not indicate dissatisfaction

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Farrow on 27/06/2013

*****
Thought the Lake Constance area was beautiful. The dedicated cycling paths made the cycling a pleasure and the mix of cycling and rest days really suited us.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mrs MacEachen on 20/06/2013

*****
excellent, this was our 2nd holiday with Headwater, when apon arriving in Passau we found our hotel was unreachable due to the worst flooding in years and our cycle down the danube was now impossible they found us another holiday close by which we throughly enjoyed. You find out how good a company is when there is a problem and how they react,which Headwater was nothing short of magnificent.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Jones on 19/06/2013

***#.
Very enjoyable holiday, very good cycle routes, lovely scenery and some very pretty villages. Plenty of opportunities to use the train or boats to shorten cycle distances if necessary or preferred.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Fussey on 17/06/2013

***#.
Cycling very easy! Level or downhill on tarmac. Hotel in Tulln is not 4 star! Although it was OK and had superb position, compared to the ratings of the other hotels on the trip it should be nearer to a 2 star.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Bellion on 06/06/2013

***#.
An excellent route - distances well judged for the terrain (easy) and, because the tracks are so well signed, the route notes are almost unnecessary. Very well presented and maintained bikes. Hotels are obviously selected for location and in some cases there is little choice. All were clean and reasonably comfortable and, where evening meals were included, they were excellent - and some were outstanding. The only thing that Headwater couldn't do anything about was the weather - we cycled just a couple of days before the dreadful flooding that swamped the entire route.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Whittaker on 04/06/2013

*****
Every thing went smoothly, pity about the weather!

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Sir Cummins on 10/11/2012

*****
I did not expect the holiday to be so good as it was. All went very well on my cycle. The second days were well worth their use for exploring the area, I particularly enjoyed my journey to Salzburg. M Cummins

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Hainsworth on 30/10/2012

*****
A wonderful experience and with time to explore different interesting places enroute

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Marshall on 29/09/2012

***#.
Overall a very enjoyable holiday. For us the cycling was a bit "samey" and there were sometimes too many other people on the paths, especially at weekends. The paths were certainly excellent and quite extraordinary for anyone who cycles in the UK, as was the ultra-obliging behaviour of other path users and motorists. We actually enjoyed our days off rather more when we went off piste, for example to Schaffhausen one day and Markdorf on another, when we enjoyed the greater variety of cycling and countryside.Maybe you could add some more local information and ideas for places to visit on stay put days-Friedrichshafen especially was short of information.The guides that came with the maps were in German and of limited help to us! The wine in hotels especially in Switzerland, Hotel Rheinfels in particular, was fiendishly expensive.In spite of adverse comments we had a really good time and are looking forward to our next holiday already!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Hollis on 24/09/2012

*****
Mile upon mile of dedicated cycle trails, through glorious scenery and picturesque villages, all running genetly downstream - surely this is the leisure cyclist's dream?. With no inclines to test us, our biggest challenge was resisting the cream-laden cakes, the delicious ice-cream and the dangerously sweet "sturm": the half-fermented wine produced from the vineyards through which we were cycling!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Wilkinson on 24/09/2012

***#.
Well organised and professional company who clearly know the region well. The quality of the equipment was excellent and the hotels generally of a high standard. The directions were well described with almost all routes on safe cycle paths. The distances were managable even for the over 50's! The transfer of luggage between hotels worked well and on all occasions arrived in our room before we did. Would recommend.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Ms Howell on 24/09/2012

*****
Headwter cycling holdays are always well organised. The bikes are very good as is the accomodation. However the half board menus sometimes offer too lttle choice.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mrs Hayden on 24/09/2012

*****
The Austrian Lakes cycling was wonderful and the holiday was well arranged. Our rep James was very helpful. Hotel Amadeus in Salzburg was a bit noisy but very central. The best hotel on the trip was at Gmunden (Hotel Grunberg)where the setting, food, and room were excellent and the owner very attentive. The food at Hotel Hubertoshof, Bad Ischl, was rather rushed and not to our liking although the location was convenient for the rail station and shops.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Thompson on 03/09/2012

*****
A great trip though not quite as scenic as the Mosel and the bit into Linz in particular is, as advised best avoided. However, the route into Wien along the island, as shown on the map is an absolute delight and for that section the advice to go by train should be ignored.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mis Turrell on 29/08/2012

*****
First timers with this type of holiday and it couldn't have been more enjoyable. Every thing we could possibly needed was thought of and taken care of. Well done Headwater and thank you for a fantastic holiday.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Mr Davis on 18/08/2012

*****
Superb cycling through delightful countryside. Headwater rep and organisation were first class. Well chosen comfortable hotels wih excellent food. Despite the cycling activity we managed to gain weight!

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Ms Cockshott on 13/08/2012

*****
Another excellent Headwater holiday, generally easy cycling through stunning scenary with a warm welcome at the end. Varied hotels with good facilities & food. Plenty to do on the rest days. We were lucky with the weather, lots of sunny days with only 2 storms (in the evenings)but can be rainy in the summer. Would definately recomme (at no extra cost)nd.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs McEnery on 07/08/2012

*****
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, beautiful days cycling through and stopping( We were made very welcome at 2 lively Wine Festivals en route,picturesquely positioned at the side of the lake, good food and wine and great silver bands!) at beautiful places. We are getting on a bit now but we managed brilliantly, it was the right amount of cycling for us.We treasured our bike free days and did lots of different things, using a whole variety of easily accessible modes of transport,including lovely walks. Rheinfels waterfall was just amazing and we also loved our ferry journey up the Rheine and to the colourful garden island of Mainau. Only twice did we shorten out days a little and that was due to the heat,one time we jumped on a train for a short distance and the other was a short refreshing hop onto a ferry. It was as simple as pie with our bikes and everyone one was so helpful and friendly. Lake Constance was a great success, thankyou Headwater.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Lambert on 07/08/2012

*****
There was no intro welcome. Vouchers handed to us by hotel reception. Bikes by Donau. No advice on route notes where building work affected notes (ie in Konstanz). But then, everything worked!! Advice on where to eat in Konstanz would have helped. Very wet when we arrived and street plan showing restaurants would have helped.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Daly on 30/06/2012

***#.
Bikes, organisation, directions, beauty of countryside and routes are all excellent. Accommodation was generally good/fair. We found the hotel in Linz noisyand the room stuffy and hot and interior rather shabby. The location of the hotel in Melk was unsuitable being up a very steep hill and far from centre. Hotel de la Poste in Melk was good and Tulln hotel was picturesque and well located. Hotel Austria in Vienna ws very friendly and well located but again we found the room stuffy and rather small.

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Ms Egbe on 30/06/2012

*****
very good. more 'hills' than would be expected on a one cycle holiday.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Venables on 23/06/2012

*****
most enjoyable. My wife, not an experienced cyclist really enjoyed the cycling. L Constance is in a beautiful part of europe

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Haigh on 23/06/2012

*****
Thoroughly enjoyed it. May consider room upgrade another time.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Ms Stowe on 16/06/2012

*****
we had a fantastic experience - the cycling is very good and safe

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Akers on 16/06/2012

*****
Exactly as described in your booklet - wonderful easy cycling, lovely comfortable hotels and pretty scenery.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Oakley on 16/06/2012

*****
A Happy holiday which means more to us than fabulous or great - 5 stars

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Horner on 11/06/2012

*****
Great - holland next!

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs McLynn on 00/00/0000

*****
Easy cycling, lovely scenery, excellent hotels. Cycles well maintained and maps and route notes easy to follow!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Oldham on 00/00/0000

*****
Very easy and relaxed cycling with virtually no need for the notes as the Donauweg is so well sign-posted. Lots to do on the stay put days.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Bampfylde on 00/00/0000

*....
Avoid the hotel at Tulln until they have finished rebuilding it! On the Krems to Tulln day there was no cafe in the village specified in the notes but an excellent cafe was found later on right next to a power station. We thought the cycle into Vienna along Danube island was brilliant and should be encouraged. The local rep persuaded us to ignore the advice to take the train from Ottenshein into Linz so we cycled it and it was awful!

The Sound of Music Cycling

By Ms Sangha on 00/00/0000

*****
The cycling routes and itinerary were fantastic and very manageable with a toddler. The local reps were very helpful and responsive.