Customer reviews: Walking in Latin America and the Caribbean

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our walking holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their walking holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their walking holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Sir Brooke on 28/11/2016

*****
Bermuda is a delightful place and absolutely ideal in November: lovely climate, beautiful beaches, historic interest, luxuriant vegetation, helpful people, more British and Britain. There is even a Marks & Spencer. and an excellent hotel.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Brown on 18/11/2016

*****
Bermuda is slightly off the beaten track, the air temperature is good for walking but also swimming etc. Bermudans are exremely friendly and not once did we feel threatened or have to stop people trying to sell us goods.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Ms Kay on 13/06/2016

*****
Bermuda is a first class holiday destination. Walking round much of the island is a great way to experience the culture of the island first hand. Headwater enabled us to do that.

Walking in the French Caribbean

By Mr McPoland on 18/05/2016

*****
This holiday was promoted as a walking holiday, but in reality, the climate made walking difficult - temperature 32 Celcius, heavy rain most days and very humid. For people of average fitness, it proved tiring, so that we did more sightseeing, and particularly beach days (the beaches are excellent and uncrowded). It was also necessary to drive everywhere, which detracted somewhat from the experience. A gorgeous location, but not really suitable for the typical Headwater holiday maker.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Everett on 04/05/2016

*****
The holiday was a variety of sight-seeing and walking and I felt that the mix was just right for exploring aspects of Cuban life. I found the history of the island very interesting, and we were able to find out much about how Cubans live today in our travels and by talking to local guides. The walking was varied through forests, farms, botanical gardens and along the beach, but in all cases it was easy. Our guide was excellent and helped us make the most of our time in Cuba. He answered all our questions and arranged extra activities for us such as a driving tour of Havana in an old American car! This holiday is one of the most interesting and enjoyable holidays I've had for many years.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Barrowcliffe on 03/05/2016

*****
This is a fascinating insight into a country and culture that has a great deal to offer, with so much packed into 10 days. Idiosyncrasies abound, but this is not just another Caribbean island. It's also changing rapidly, so it should be sampled before some of its charm is lost as the rest of the world begins to make its mark. The arrival of the American tourist is already driving this transformation, especially in Havana, and the only weakness of our holiday, as compared with earlier versions, was not being able to stay in central Havana at the Saratoga. Being able to wander around the city independently is a pleasure and this is much easier to do if you are staying close to the old city.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Hill on 03/05/2016

***#.
A unique culture and experience

Walking in the French Caribbean

By Mr Brownscombe on 27/04/2016

*****
We had never been to the Caribbean before and found this a good introduction to find our way around. The days in Paris were enjoyable and got us in 'French mode'. We loved the vibrant colours, the warm weather and the lush vegetation of Guadaloupe and Martinique. The hotels on both the islands were good with friendly, helpful staff and really excellent meals. We especially appreciated the wonderful selection of fresh fruits and yoghurt at breakfast. We liked the fact that everything was French and almost all the other tourists were French which seemed to make it feel more exotic. The high points for us were walking in the rain forest, the visit to the ÃŽles des Saintes, the fantastic beaches, clear blue seas and great snorkelling. We did find there was a lot of driving and that the roads were sometimes very busy with traffic jams near the large towns. It might have been better to be based in two different places, especially on Guadaloupe.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Eynon on 26/04/2016

***#.
Very interesting and enjoyable. Wide-ranging

Walking in the French Caribbean

By Mrs Goldsmith on 25/04/2016

*****
Walking in the French Caribbean was a wonderful experience. You do need to be prepared for all weather conditions; mostly very hot and humid particularly when walking away from the coast, but also some huge downpours (a particularly wet, albeit very enjoyable, volcano walk!). The coastal sections were our favourites, with the warm Caribbean wind to cool us down a little. The catering (both dinners and breakfasts) was superb at both Jardin Malanga and Plein Soleil; the latter was rather leisurely in style. Claire at Jardin Malanga was a charming hostess. We had a room upgrade at Plein Soleil; it was well worth it to have the terrace and plunge pool. Both of our hire cars were small which was good for parking etc. but the hilly terrain could make them struggle rather! The access road to Plein Soleil was incredibly potholed and difficult to drive along.

Walking in the French Caribbean

By Mr Dane on 25/04/2016

***#.
We had a great holiday, because of the varied landscape, brilliant beaches, cultural mix and food. Also the welcome and service at Jardin Malanga made the stay in Guadeloupe really special. We loved the Caribbean but we are not sure a walking holiday at the time of year we went was the best thing for us. The temperature in Martinque ranged from 28-31degrees. We were always up by 7:30 having breakfast and out before 9o'clock....but by the time we drove to our allotted destination and embarked on a 9km walk, we ended up walking in the blazing midday sun, often up a steep incline which was just not enjoyable. Guadeloupe had torrential rain as well as heat, and although you can't control the weather,we were ill prepared for the rain, especially stuck on the side of a volcano 300m from its rim. We spent most of our Guadeloupe stay driving north or east to get out of the mountain range with its rain!

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Harrison on 18/04/2016

*****
Great holiday, which gave us an excellent insight and understanding of Cuba.

Cuba Uncovered

By Ms Brackx on 18/04/2016

***#.
Classifying this as a walking holiday gives the wrong idea to sporty people (there was far more being driving around and taking in the sights than walking). But once I had come to terms with the fact that this was more of a sightseeing tour, I enjoyed it very much. The wonderful Cuban landscape, culture and atmosphere plus our lovely guide Jorje contributed enormously to us all have a great time. Thank you.

Costa Rica Wildlife Walk

By Mr Cameron on 06/04/2016

*****
Varied and interesting trip with excellent driver and enthusiastic and knowledgable guide

Costa Rica Wildlife Walk

By Mr Moore on 29/03/2016

***#.
Excellent for seeing wildlife. Local guide Erika and driver Rono greatly enhanced this holiday with their expertise and knowledge- a lucky combination as Rono was a wildlife enthusiast himself. Some of the walks were not '2 boots' however heat especially during the latter part of the holiday dictated length of walks. Most of the hotels were very good/excellent and those which were not of the same standard compensated by location. Excellent boat trip and night walk which were highlights.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Wallace on 29/03/2016

***#.
Really enjoyed holiday in Bermuda. Beautiful island. Excellent walks. It is an EXPENSIVE destination, and therefore (for us) Special, But we don't regard Coco Reef as meeting 'special'. Fabulous location, but it's a bit tired, could do with freshening up, and no apparent sign of management involvement- maybe that's the Bermudian way? Furthermore its close to a Bermuda College, and during our stay a group of students were also resident, who although decent kids, kept different hours to us, and on 2 occasions kept us awake into the early hours. I don't think hotel management is doing itself any favours by mixing them with holidaying guests. Restaurant food excellent, but menu needs regular update, a bit 'samey'after a week.

Costa Rica Wildlife Walk

By Mrs Rome on 21/03/2016

*****
Overall very good, only minor improvements needed on mid day meals- not needed when travelling for prolonged time-could be more snack based when having a three course evening meal.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Heyes on 09/03/2016

***#.
Rather a long time in coaches travelling, perhaps unavoidable. Las Terrrazas had two free afternoons to walk round, one is enough! Some suggestions for the last day in Havana would have been helpful. A great group that we went with. 10 seemed to be just right.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Holland-webb on 22/02/2016

***#.
Cuba is a fascinating, colourful and vibrant country. A place to relax, enjoy the music and the rum and definitely, forget it is the 21st century.

Costa Rica Wildlife Walk

By Ms Freeman on 04/02/2016

*****
Although flights were arduous with 4-hour stopover in US, on the whole flights were good. Costa Rica is a fantastic place and our guide Pedro was so enthusiastic about the country and wildlife and very interesting on political and historical details which greatly enhanced our experience. We travelled in a small (4) group which although initially I was doubtful about, in fact worked out well. The driver of the bus was very good and we got to places in comfort and in promptly. The walking was fantastic. Some walks were quite arduous but not impossibly so and always very interesting. Highlights for me were the night walk in the forest near Cebadilla and the boat trip through the Cano Negro Wildlife Refuge. The final hotel at the beach at Playa Hermosa was a wonderful end to the holiday.

Costa Rica Wildlife Walk

By Mr Kerry on 04/02/2016

*****
The guide was very good at getting us to places when there was no one else around which made things more exclusive. In addition it was our idea before we went to have the boat trip at Cano Negro in the afternoon which was a great success. We had the river to ourselves, saw 23 different types of bird and even the guide saw things she had never seen before, like howler monkeys on the ground.

Costa Rica Wildlife Walk

By Mr Whitley on 04/02/2016

***#.
Costa Rica is a fantastic country for wildlife and fauna, however doing a walking holiday there may not be the best option if you are going primarily for the flora and fauna. Getting there and back is painful going via the USA; if BA bring in a direct route from LHR then that will be much the best option. The people are lovely, and our guide (Erika) was always smiling and very helpful.

Cuba Uncovered

By Ms Tomkins on 19/12/2015

*****
The holiday gave a real opportunity to experience life in Cuban cities and the stunning countryside.

Costa Rica Wildlife Walk

By Mrs Longfoot on 07/12/2015

*****
A beautiful country, lots of wildlife and lush countryside.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Marsh on 27/11/2015

*****
Bermuda is friendly, beautiful and relaxing. We followed all walks but one and wished we had had longer to do more (the walks didn't leave enough time for visiting museums etc). Coco Reef was a lovely place to stay.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Mowat on 17/11/2015

***#.
The walking part lacked purpose. The walking is very limited and although the local guide in Trinidad was very informative and made it worthwhile, the first local guide we had for 2 days in La Moya did not explain very much about the plants, animals, birds and terrain. He marched on ahead with our guide and left us behind. His English was poor and in all the walks there should have been a local guide in front and our guide at the back to ensure safety. Our own guide was excellent and imparted knowledge of the history of Cuba which made it a very good holiday

Cuba Uncovered

By Mis Chappell on 13/11/2015

*****
An excellent holiday with a good insight into the Cuban life & culture. Our guide & driver were excellent, looking after the group well. Compared to other Headwater Holidays, I would describe this as a sightseeing holiday rather than a walking holiday as only a few short walks, however humidity made walking difficult sometimes. A highlight for me was the walk around the village of Vinales & enjoying mojitos at a homestead with a spectacular view! Swimming in the Caribbean at Trinidad was very special!

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Beck on 17/06/2015

*****
Thank you, Headwater: we would never have thought of visiting Bermuda if your brochure had not suggested it as a base for a walking holiday, and we would have missed a treat. A delightful destination, with friendly and helpful people, a comfortable hotel in an attractive beach-side setting, some lovely walks along the old railway trail and the stunning coastline, and a range of places to visit and learn about Bermuda's fascinating history, customs and society. The accessibility of all parts of the island and its excellent (and entertaining) bus and ferry service make it easy to 'pick and mix' elements of the recommended walking routes. We made full use of this flexibility so we could spend time in some of the museums and historic houses that help bring Bermuda's rich history and culture to life, as well as exploring the various nature reserves that feature in some of the walks. Highly recommended (and we found May a perfect time to go - warmth and stunning flora).

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Little on 17/06/2015

*****
Generally very good.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Bishop on 21/05/2015

***#.
Beautiful location, average breakfasts, excellent evening meals although limited menu.

Costa Rica Wildlife Walk

By Dr Garwood on 08/05/2015

*****
Overall a very interesting and excellent holiday. Beautiful country with varied scenery and an amazing variety of wildlife. Very well looked after by our excellent guide Jorge Arias and driver Suri Herrera. They both ensured that it was an excellent holiday and nothing was too much trouble for them. Although the Bosque del Mar was excellent we would have preferred another day walking or staying on a nature reserve rather than a day on the beach.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Greenhill on 29/04/2015

*****
Walking in Bermuda was described well in the brochure and ideal for those of us who don't want a sun/beach /pool holiday. The bus/ferry service was excellent for getting around either before walking or after, we sometimes split the walk over 2 days as we stayed an extra 3 days and decided that to go to the end point (often a sightseeing place) and walk back, rather than start by walking. Everyone was very friendly and willing to show us the way if we were unsure. The maps and the guide notes were good. We added in going on the glass bottom boat and swimmimg with the dolphins as extras but readily available.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Fort on 28/04/2015

***#.
Cuba is worth going to but you must be prepared to be hassled, expected to pay tips for everything, prices for most things over the top(especially hotels) Interesting 3rd world country wanting to overcharge for every ting it can get away with Cuba needs to send senior people who will listen to learn from other experienced travel countries

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Conaghan on 02/04/2015

***#.
We really enjoyed our holiday with you. We didn't meet our rep which was unfortunate ( he was unwell) . I had hoped that he may contact us later in the week. We followed all the walks which we enjoyed. We both thought that the Island was rather more suburban than rural. Really enjoyed the bus trips and Bermuda.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Loken on 13/03/2015

*****
The variety of places and activities were excellent! The 4 walking days were varied and interesting, and the city visits very informative. Our guide (and local guides) gave us a lot of historical information about the revolutions and Cuban history, which gave us a better understanding of the people and the places we visited. Although Cuban food is generally bland and uninteresting, our guide used his initiative to find several varied and more interesting restaurants. Altogether, a wonderful holiday.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Steinbock on 11/03/2015

***#.
Lovely island with great walks. Eating and drinking out can be expensive

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Walker on 03/03/2015

***#.
Bermuda was excellent Costa Rica was a rushed experience rather than a holiday; there was too much road walking! We were disappointed with the Flora content

Costa Rica Wildlife Walk

By Mrs Spencer on 26/02/2015

*****
Recommend how wet and cold it can be in Costa Rica in the 'rain forest in February!! Didn't expect the level of cold and damp and should have taken warmer clothes.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Hills on 13/02/2015

***#.
The walking aspect of the holiday was great but the Coco Reef was a disappointment. The hotel needs to be refurbished and better maintained and the main hotel receptionist who was on duty during our stay was disinterested to the point of rudeness. Bermuda in the winter is an ideal walking holiday destination, but visitors need to be ready for a virtually empty hotel with a skeleton staff.

Headwater response

Dear Mrs Hills, Thank you for taking the time to provide your post-holiday feedback, it was great to see that you enjoyed the walking aspect of your holiday. Although, we were surprised to read of your disappointment with the Coco Reef. Ordinarily this hotel receives positive feedback. However, we realise that we cannot afford to let our high standards of accommodation and service slip, and have discussed your feedback with the hotel manager. He would like to offer an apology for the poor service you felt you received from the reception staff, and assures us this will be addressed immediately. There are also plans in the pipeline to replace the soft furnishings in the rooms and public areas. Whilst we realise this does not impact on your holiday, we hope that it goes some way to show we take the feedback we receive seriously. We would like to thank you for travelling with Headwater this summer and look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future. Yours sincerely, Headwater customer service team

Costa Rica Wildlife Walk

By Mr Schafer on 09/02/2015

*****
Overview: Wonderful trip with excellent opportunities for wildlife sightings on hikes across several different ecosystems Guide/Driver Our guide Perdro was excellent! He had an uncanny ability to spot and identify wildlife that we would have otherwise never seen. Pedro has an in depth knowledge of the varied species that inhabit the different ecosystems we were able to visit, He allowed us time to observe the habits of the wide variety wildlife we encountered. On multiple mornings he offered pre breakfast bird watching walks around the hotel grounds. He educated us about the history of Costa Rica in an informative and engaging manner. Our driver Walter provided us with safe, reassuring transportation while working with Pedro to help spot wildlife along the routes. Walter also prepared several wonderful picnic lunches/snack breaks. He had a good working knowledge of English and was eager to learn and practice. The HIkes The hiking was varied and interesting traversing forest trails, dirt tracks and paved roads. The two boot rating seemed accurate as there was some elevation change incurred several of the hikes. The use of local guides on the Monte de Barva, Arenal Night hike, and Cano Negro boat tour enhanced the overall experience and the extra set of eyes allowed for additional wildlife sightings. As described in the program literature, several of the hikes involve long transfers, but they were scenic drives through the countryside/small towns. The Wildlife We were able to photograph over 100 different animals including 80+ species of birds. Make sure you bring your binoculars! The Hotels and Meals With the exception of the Canon de la Vieja lodge the hotels and meals were wonderful. Lodging at Canon de la Vieja was more basic and the meals there were uninspired buffets. The other hotels were well appointed with a breakfast buffet and excellent dinners ordered from a menu. Beers averaged about $3. Wifi was available but slow/spotty in the rooms. All the hotels had wonderfully landscaped ground with a fair amount of wildlife. A torch/flashlight is advisable for returning to your room after dinner

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Attwood on 03/02/2015

*****
Fascinating country at an interesting time. Excellent knowledgable guide.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Howell on 03/02/2015

***#.
Cuba is interesting and because of the state of tourism (30% of GDP) they are trying hard. Basically it is a developing country and should be judged as such. Our tour guide (Giovanni) had a mantra which he mentioned to us ' Remember T I C' meaning 'this is Cuba'. In other words make allowances for a country that has for the last 55 years been shunned by its neighbour the USA , and development has been delayed. We found it intriguing and hope that if the Americans do start to come that they will not swamp the place like happened 55 years ago during the american puppet regime that then existed. Let's hope that any change will be gradual-but they do need investment. Sermon over! A most enjoyable trip- walking was not in our opinion at all arduous, the food on the whole leaves a lot to be desired but we were warned so no real complaint on that score. In the hotels the Buffet Breakfast was very good especially in Havana and Trinidad.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Neininger on 31/12/2014

*****
I can put in one word GO It`s worth it

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Davoll on 24/11/2014

*****
A superb holiday to a beautiful country with a fascinating history. We saw how local people live, and meeting them and visits to their homes were highlights.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Pittam on 27/10/2014

*****
Bermuda was an excellent choice for a walking holiday & Coco Reef a great hotel. The food was better than our expectation. Walking was very easy just unfortunate that the storms had blocked the Railway Trail & paths. Just very unfortunate to have 2 storms hit within one week but cannot fault the care , help & advice given to us by Headwater - esp Lisa - & Tim who arranged taxi to airport etc

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Haslam on 03/07/2014

*****
We really enjoyed our holiday in Cuba, it gave us a good insight into the country's diverse history; social history; natural history; and we were delighted to see areas that were not on the usual tourist routes. One of our best Headwater holidays yet.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Stather on 04/06/2014

*****
May is a good time to go for wildlife - and weather not too hot

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Dr Harrison on 01/06/2014

*****
Walks were slightly different to those in brochure, not a problem, but needs up dating. Very relaxing and enjoyable holiday. Bermudan people are extremely friendly and helpful, why can't we all be like that? Buses and ferries very reliable. Hotel looked a bit dated and the food was poor on Tues and Thurs - Island and Buffet night, so we went out as had read the headwater previous visitors book comments. Other nights the food was fantastic. Beach is rather small could be busy at peak times. Ran out of towels on 2 occasions. Can be very busy when the cruise ships are in. Overall, the walks were longer than advertised but very enjoyable. We had a great time. Lovely way to see Bermuda and some bits that others may not get too - Coopers Island.

Cuba Uncovered

By Ms Rogers on 01/05/2014

*****
I really enjoyed the experience of discovering Cuba. Fascinating country and we saw and learnt so much. Trinidad is specially lovely, another couple of days there would be fantastic! We had 3 extra days in Havana at the end of the holiday and this was well worth it to have more time there otherwise we wouldn't have really seen it much. Our guide was great and hugely helpful and thoughtful specially surprising me with a cake and bubbles for my birthday! Our driver was excellent and worked very hard to give an extra special service, including taking us to the beach!

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Turner on 01/04/2014

*****
It did what it said on the tin - and more. Fabulous holiday where I learnt about all aspects of Cuba in good company. Good combination of activity and sightseeing.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Wright on 19/03/2014

*****
Walking pretty much as described, care needs to be taken on switching from rail track to road and vice versa… Avoid multiple bus changes at weekends as they run less frequently. The hotel has large parties of sporty types out of season, try to find out if any are there while you plan to stay, if there are, don't book. They are loud, boorish and their behaviour is totally unacceptable. Don’t expect the shop to be open out of season. Do take the ferries, though only one runs out of season. Do explore apart from your route notes, there are many other nature reserves to visit and also ramble around headlands, Simson's island particularly rewarding. The friendliness of the local people and the great hotel staff contribute to making this a really special destination and the stunning scenery everywhere is overwhelming.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Robertsonsmith on 14/03/2014

***#.
All was as good or better than I expected, knowing that Cuba is still a Third World Country

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Raimondo on 12/03/2014

*****
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Cuba and would recommend it as a holiday destination. Every day was different, partly because our guide was very enthusiastic and this added to the overall experience. We had a good mix of people in our group and we all got on extremely well. The food was not always to our satisfaction but we were expecting this when we booked our holiday.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Wilson on 11/03/2014

*****
Found having to travel to Paris and change planes to Cuba was a chore - involving further irksome security checks. Despite this flights to and from Cuba were good. The walking with the local guides and the visits to the botanical gardens were excellent. The mixture of walking and sight seeing was first class, especially the transport in an old Russian Army truck was out of this world and will long be remembered. We would recommend Cuba as destination for anyone wanting a complete change from Western style countries.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Tuffill on 21/02/2014

***#.
The walking is pretty good but it especially suited us because there are good places to visit including the Aquarium, the Underwater Exploration Institute, the Museum at the Dockyard and the town of St George. The food at the hotel was very good quality and value as was the combined bus/ferry ticket which takes you everywhere on the islands. You can minimise the waiting times for the transport with some careful pre-planning. And you can walk straight from the hotel onto the sandy beach and swim in the warm ocean, even in February.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Carlile on 06/12/2013

***#.
We had a very good holiday. You need to be prepared for problems and a relatively poor infrastructure to support solutions. However we saw a fascinating country, enjoyed the countryside and the walking ( which was very easy)

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Kirby on 09/11/2013

*****
We found the route notes were a times lacking in information, distances from one point to the next for example, and at others over complicated when there was a perfectly good way mark to guide us. The hotel was excellent, very friendly, the food was very good, I did not repeat a dinner main course selection in the 11 days we were there!

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Howells on 07/11/2013

***#.
Walking is a great way to see a country, and Headwater provides a good service for doing so.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Hall on 24/04/2013

*****
Really enjoyed the holiday. As a group we 'gelled' and all got on together. I felt the holiday really did 'Uncover Cuba' and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave us insight into the lives of ordinary Cubans and how Cuban Society operated. The locals were all friendly and I felt safe at all times and enjoyed the variety of activities and locations as well as the music and the architecture.The local guides we had on walks were also very knowledgeable about the terrain,local customs ,plants and birds . Well Done!!

Cuba Uncovered

By Dr Hodgson on 30/03/2013

*****
We went to Cuba with an unknown expectation and we were constantly surprised.We enjoyed the range of activities that we were offered. Walking, sight seeing, art and culture, politics, social aspects of rural and urban living, history...our guide Ernesto was informative and helpful in all areas. It was a fascinating, rewarding and thought- provoking holiday. Our one big disappointment was in La Moka where we had no hot water for three days and the hotel was dismissive and then very tardy in trying to rectify the problem. Hot water is an essential - and should be part of a 4star hotel's standard!!!!!

Headwater response

We have been in contact with the management of the Hotel Moka. The manager Haydee Diaz Cala has apologised unreservedly for the failure of the hot water system and for the time it took them to source the parts to repair it. Everything is now working normally again and we have been assured it will never happen again. The customer service in relation to this problem was also below standard and we have made the hotel management aware that we expect higher standards in the future.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Davies on 30/03/2013

*****
This was an excellent overview of Cuba, taking us to Havana and Trinidad, and covering good walks in the mountains, and visiting places of interest such as Santa Clara. Our guide, Ernesto, was excellent, and his observations and briefings definitely added to our appreciation and enjoyment of the holiday and his country. We travelled out to Havana two days earlier than the standard Headwater holiday, and we are gald that we did, as it gave us a chance to really 'do' Havana. I think we would have felt that it had been a missed opportunity, if we had not done so The hotels in Havana and Trinidad were both excellent. The Moka Hotel was poor, as we were without hot water for most of the stay, and the hotel seemed unconcerned. We appreciate that the location is excellent, but this was most unsatisfactory on a walking holiday My expecation on the food front was low, so I was pleasantly surprised by the quality - as long as you don't expect it to meet European standards. All in all, this was an excellent holiday, which will be long remembered. One could argue that there was not enough walking - but that would have meant seeing fewer of the places of interest

Headwater response

We have been in contact with the management of the Hotel Moka. The manager Haydee Diaz Cala has apologised unreservedly for the failure of the hot water system and for the time it took them to source the parts to repair it. Everything is now working normally again and we have been assured it will never happen again. The customer service in relation to this problem was also below standard and we have made the hotel management aware that we expect higher standards in the future.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Brown on 30/03/2013

**#..
Started badly Paris airport shut due to snow flight cancelled. Long wait at Air France desk only option fly to Amsterdam, stay overnight,then fly to Panama! On to Cuba making it an epic journey. Finally arrived at hotel midnight about 30 hours late. So we missed out on 1 nights stay and 2 included dinners and did not get to enjoy this hotel at all. Missed city tour of Havana, although we did get this on our last day, we then did not have our free day for further exploration. Hotel Moka not great no hot water for 2 days had to insist on moving room, musty smell in rooms damp wall in 2nd room food nothing special. Food out in restaurants better. Still an ejoyable experience despite above, good walks excellent guide facinating country well worth a visit.

Headwater response

We have been in contact with the management of the Hotel Moka. The manager Haydee Diaz Cala has apologised unreservedly for the failure of the hot water system and for the time it took them to source the parts to repair it. Everything is now working normally again and we have been assured it will never happen again. The customer service in relation to this problem was also below standard and we have made the hotel management aware that we expect higher standards in the future.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Penn on 02/03/2013

*****
Excellent way in which to discover Cuba without the beach resorts. Osmin was a very knowledgeable, competent, friendly guide. Very comfortable hotels. Well-designed, very interesting itinerary (including the day in Havana). Good walking and birdwatching. Comfortable minibus and very experienced, safe driver (Santiago). The restaurant in Cienfuegos was rather disappointing: wonderful building, but very ordinary lunch and service. The local guide at the Topes de Collantes was excellent in every way.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Hayes on 02/03/2013

*****
An excellent introduction into life in Cuba. Good variety in the itinerary. Could have done with an additional day in both Havana and Trinidad to relax a little. In both cities we were pretty rushed.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Collman on 26/02/2013

*****
This is not a 'leisurely' holiday, but it does 'uncover' Cuba. Local guides for walks in the forests and at Vinales were very knowledgable. Cuba ticks all the boxes for a perfect hoiday; exercise for the body and stimulation for the brain.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Fisher on 24/11/2012

*****
The hotel has lovely beach front location and excellent food. Enjoyable, safe and mainly level walking with lots to see and do. Easy access to buses and ferries. Bermuda is a delight!

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Costain on 16/06/2012

***#.
Overall good, but at times when we diverged from the itinerary it was not always clear what was happening.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Goodfellow on 09/05/2012

*****
Very enjoyable, but hidden costs much more than Headwater suggests, ie.£200-300 cash to be converted for extras in Cuba.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs James on 05/05/2012

*****
A lovely island with friendly people. The bus passes worked well but it was a shame that quite a lot of the walking was on road.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Thompson on 17/04/2012

***#.
Enjoyed Cuba., the atmosphere, people and humour. found it politically and culturally very interesting.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Newall on 17/04/2012

***#.
Generally very positive and better than I had anticipated.

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Manser on 05/04/2012

*****
Whole of the Cuban experience was excellent but the flights caused a good deal of stress at times especially on the return flight & I think Headwater needs to think seriously about changing this - a direct flight i.e. with Virgin would be much better than including a connecting flight. Time between landing at CDG Paris & taking off to Cuba was too short thus worries if there were any delays at Heathrow we might miss the flight. On the flight back,the checking clerk was unable to issue us with boarding passes for Paris as computer had frozen. Planned time at Paris between flights should have been enough but flight from Cuba was delayed by about 1.5 hours, thus worried during all of flights as had to get boarding cards & change terminals. Also although at airport about 3 hours before planned take off at Havanna unable to get seat with partner & seat provided meant too far away to read subtitles on film provided.. not a happy flight! Luckily didn't have to change terminals at Paris (changed) but queue at desk to get boarding pass was long & didn't move & staff very unhelpful (when we said our flight was due to take off in less than half hour were told just to wait in queue - didn't point out we could use self check in kiosk!) By this time we were both very stressed - not helped by having no sleep during the flight! Finally in despair tried self check in, which worked & had passes. Now only 15 mins to take off & had to get through security - long queues again. Had to run all the way to the gate for Heathrow flight (in a panic.) Thankfully for our well being the flight was delayed for an hour or more (brake problems.) Not a good ending to our holiday! Very mixed feelings about Air France - cabin staff very pleasant but too much unhelpfulness from ground staff & disorganisation at airports. Don't think we would consider a Headwater holiday with connecting flights using Air France again!

Cuba Uncovered

By Mr Read on 08/03/2012

*****
An excellent overview of many aspects of life in Cuba

Cuba Uncovered

By Mrs Thompson on 08/03/2012

*****
Had a wonderful time. Fabulous country, so much to experience.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Kingston on 08/03/2012

*****
Most enjoyable way to discover this island

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Owen-jones on 10/02/2012

***#.
Good restful break. Rather quiet as off season -we were alone in the restaurant at times