Feefo - Independent reviews
  Contact Us

Request a Brochure | Newsletter

Customer reviews: Spain activity holidays

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted to our website, so that people can make an informed decision based on past experiences before heading off on holiday. We don’t edit the reviews, the only thing we do is proofread them and alter any typos, where necessary, to ensure they are easy to read for everyone. All reviews will be published (except in certain extreme circumstances), and a member of the Headwater team will respond to any constructive criticisms/comments under the reviews, at their discretion. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Mr Pritchard
Catalunya Activities
31/10/2019

Visited in mid October resort very quiet hotel rather lacking atmosphere (it was due to close end of October) a very attractive region of Spain. Quite a steep climb up to hotel from village excellent helpful efficient local rep (Greg)

Mrs Hall
Catalunya Activities
09/10/2019

This was a one week activity holiday and it was well planned and varied. Freedom to choose when to do each activity or to vary it was ideal. The hotel would have been fine for a couple of nights, but not quite comfortable enough for longer due to quality of meals and constant background music. The actual town was lovely and we were pleased to extend our stay beyond a week. Visitors do need to be aware that the hotel has great views because it is up a hill. Lots of steps! Greg and Seonna were excellent reps with great advice and support.

Mr Isles
Catalunya Activities
07/10/2019

Another very enjoyable Headwater holiday. Different from our previous cycling holidays in that we were based in one place and had walking as well as cycling options. We enjoyed the flexibility of choosing our daily programme. Calella de Palafrugell was an excellent base with good restaurants.

Dr Harrison
Catalunya Activities
14/08/2019

Fabulous family holiday, we were a mixed group of cycling abilities and found something for everyone combining walking, cycling and beach days. Hotel was quirky and comfortable and Saturday barbecue night is not to be missed! Headwater rep was really helpful and always available for advice.

Mr Hayward
Catalunya Activities
12/06/2019

Calella de Palefrugell is beautifully situated on a lovely stretch of rocky coat with small, sandy bays. The walking and cycling can be as strenuous or gentle as you wish with interesting viewpoints and places to stop. A must is the beautiful Cap Roig Botanic Gardens, which is a short walk or cycle ride from the hotel. The hotel itself is well situated in a quiet area a short walk from the busy and interesting seafront. Greg's recommendation of a visit to the local Tapas restaurant was much appreciated. Also, it was good to be able to fly to and from out local airport. Many thanks.

Ms Hurst
Catalunya Activities
08/05/2019

Lovely location and hotel. A beautiful area that I would visit again possibly with a car. Eating out is cheap and convenient. Walks and rides quite challenging due to the hills and flights of steps. The routes do overlap somewhat.

Mr Phelps
Catalunya Activities
18/10/2018

We had great service booking the holiday and that was more than matched by the service from Greg at Calella de Palafrugell. A good selection of walks and cycle routes were available and good local knowledge to tailor trips. We had a great time exploring an area we knew very little about.

Mr Slater
Catalunya Activities
12/09/2018

The holiday exceeded expectations. The walking and cycle instructions were generally spot on. The GPS for the bike was wonderful and easy to use and follow. The bikes were new or nearly new and in exceptional condition. The proposed day activities which we followed were excellent. The scenery was gorgeous. Four of the six days were quite exerting so a reasonable fitness was required. It was a level one holiday but that didn’t mean flat and level! The hotel Garbí was excellent although having such great views did mean it was a very steep walk to the hotel. The rep, Greg was extremely helpful too and we felt we could rely on him should an emergency or accident arise (it didn’t!) All in all well worth the money and as a result we’re looking at booking another holiday with Headwater. Well done.

Mr Maddock
Catalunya Activities
05/09/2018

Lovely hotel in great location for cycling. Tracks were quiet and we rarely had to use roads. Hotel staff were very friendly and breakfasts were a good varied selection of stuff. Greg was very helpful, punctual and good humored. The bikes were set up well and the panniers complete with tools were brilliant. The saddles were suited to soft cyclists too rather than racing style saddles that cripple you after a few hours. We managed 2 days cycling 30km rides and were surprised to find we could still walk normally afterwards. The GPS ride app worked pretty well, but we noticed 3 or 4 directions were slightly out of date or took us down one way streets the wrong way. Overall we had a great cycling holiday and would recommend it for anyone who enjoys cycling along country lanes in the sunshine.