Feefo - Independent reviews
  Contact Us

Request a Brochure | Newsletter

Customer reviews: France walking holidays

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted to our website, so that people can make an informed decision based on past experiences before heading off on holiday. We don’t edit the reviews, the only thing we do is proofread them and alter any typos, where necessary, to ensure they are easy to read for everyone. All reviews will be published (except in certain extreme circumstances), and a member of the Headwater team will respond to any constructive criticisms/comments under the reviews, at their discretion. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Mrs Grief
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
15/10/2019

This was our 7th headwater holiday but the first we had done on foot. Every holiday has been special in one way or another but this one certainly ranked among the best. The walks were excellent, carefully routed to avoid any distances on busy roads and include a lovely range of scenery. We enjoyed the sense of being right out in the countryside and away from the main tourist centres although there were several times when a café or bar along the way would have been welcome (We had to carry drink and snacks with us on each walk although we did find a bar open in Gargas on the first walk.) Coming from a particularly flat part of the UK we were worried about steep climbs but the inclines were generally quite gentle and we managed fine. The weather helped. At the start of October, it was warm and dry but with a cooling breeze. In the summer heat we could have found it more challenging! The route notes were very good, as long as we read the details carefully. We only lost our way once, adding a few extra kilometres to the walk into La Fontaine de Vaucluse.

The hotels were all of a high standard, Each had an individual character, all were very comfortable and the breakfasts were wonderful. We especially enjoyed the Hotel de Poete in Fontaine and the Hermitage at Pernes les Fontaines.

The Headwater rep, Joey, couldn't have been more welcoming or more helpful. He went out of his way to make sure we had the best holiday possible. He was always cheerful and fun to be with.





Mr Chancellor
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
03/10/2019

Our walking holiday in the Luberon was an excellent way to experience the area and

Ms Field
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
24/09/2019

Really Happy with the overall experience - & would recommend Headwater to others

Mrs Guthrie
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
23/09/2019

A fine, challenging activity holiday with excellent back-up support re luggage forwarding, through-out the week. Idylic Provencal hotels and villages interspersed among vineyards and Olive groves galore. A region dominated by both limestone and sandstone cliffs clothed with dense forests and providing stunning views of the surrounding countryside.

Mr Sykes
Dordogne River Walk
22/08/2019

This was our third walking holiday with Headwater and lived up to expectations. The walking was lovely, although the second one was quite challenging! All the hotels were comfortable and the last two were luxurious, but all had wonderful food. France is not an easy place to be if you are gluten free, as one of our party is, but the last two hotels were particularly good. Taxis too, are scarce and very expensive, if you wish to go out on your rest days. However, the reps (Janet and Andrew) were very helpful and we all had a lovely holiday, and would certainly use Headwater again.

Mr Henderson
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
26/07/2019

Beautiful part of Provence to walk in despite it being atypically hot. In view of the high temps, not many hotels offered an early breakfast (07:30) to allow us an early start. If I was to do again then out of main season would be sensible.

Also some popular village restaurants get booked up quickly so having some contact details at the hotels could help smooth these difficulties

Mr Allen
Dordogne River Walk
19/07/2019

Very enjoyable walks with excellent notes. We are experienced walkers but even we struggled with very high temperatures on Day 4. We were offered the opportunity to swap one day’s walk to canoeing; this is an example of Janet and Andrew ( the reps) going out of their way to tailor our holiday to suit both us and the weather conditions. We thoroughly enjoyed the canoeing and it added a new dimension to our holiday! The hotels were very high quality as we have come to expect with Headwater ( our ninth holiday with you). The only exception was La Terrace in Meyronne where the menu was limited and was the same on both evenings. It gave the impression that we were less important guests and didn’t add to the ambience.

Headwater response:
Thank you for leaving a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the canoeing a great alternative to walking in the extreme heat that you were experiencing. Janet and Andrew will be really pleased to read what you have written. I am sorry that the menu in La Terrace was limited and would like to assure you that your comments have been fed back to them.
Kind regards
Customer Services

Mr Buckland
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
21/06/2019

This was one of the best holiday we've ever had, Provence is amazing, really beautiful and stunning. The hotels were wonderful, as were the walks, really enjoyed them. We would recommend everyone to visit this fantastic region of France and travel with a fantastic holiday company Headwater, as they really have it all so well organised and take good care of you. Thank you to all at Headwater, we shall be planning next summer's walking holiday soon.

Mr Newman
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
12/06/2019

We were lucky with the weather and the time of year (early June): the flowers were wonderful. The landscape is impressive and continuously interesting. The hotel situation - right beside the river - could not be better; staff and food were excellent. We enjoyed all the walks, and saw lots of wildlife - vultures, eagles, peregrines and many smaller birds as well as an otter (seen from the hotel!). We would go back tomorrow....

Mr Stott
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
28/05/2019

Excellent organisation, accommodation, enjoyable walks and fantastic local rep. Would not hesitate to use Headwater again.

Mrs Kiernan
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
24/05/2019

Holiday itself was excellent, hotel especially so, the problem was the car rental (see next box).

Mr Hewson
Dordogne River Walk
26/11/2018

Wonderful walking in picturesque varied countryside with many historical features. Ample shade. Hotels luxurious and/or extremely comfortable with delicious food.

Mrs Choi
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
06/11/2018

If you just want to hike / trek without driving, this is definitely a good choice. However, it would be nice for Headwater to pick a hotel close to the village such that guests can easily stroll around on the rest day rather than book a taxi in order to go some places.

Mr Joyce
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
06/11/2018

Our first Headwater holiday: beautiful, fascinating countryside, and comfortable, friendly hotels with superb pools to relax in at the end of a day's walking.

Mrs Greenbank
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
10/10/2018

Wonderful area, ideal for walking with hotels of character and many places to visit.

Mr Good
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
12/09/2018

Great location on the river for hill walking and kayaking. Hotel fab and food top class.

Mr Smith
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
12/09/2018

A picturesque part of France, with vineyards and Lavender fields, Ochre coloured soil, and Rose wines to complement flavourful food. Heaven.

Mrs Hansen
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
11/09/2018

The holiday exceeded all our expectations! Headwater had organised everything perfectly and there were no problems at all. The hotels were all extremely comfortable, most had large grounds for you to spend time in. The swimming pools were a welcome treat after a day of walking. Breakfasts were all delicious, with a large variety of food to choose from. The instructions for the walks were well explained and my daughter and I had no problems following them. We walked through magnificent scenery, and visited beautiful old towns. I would highly recommend this walk and Headwater. I will definitely be travelling with Headwater again in the future.

Mrs Loaring
Dordogne River Walk
07/09/2018

Very well planned and organised by knowledgable and helpful staff. Route notes generally accurate and helpful, although the wording can at times be confusing and imprecise as can some of the distances between way marks. The degree of difficulty on some days is under estimated and had we not been as fit as we are,we may have struggled with some of the climbs.. The local reps were superb, always charming, helpful, patient and totally reliable. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. All of the hotels were excellent and two in particular were superb, both in terms of the cuisine and the rooms that we were accommodated in. However, in two hotels the menu did not change from day to day, and therefore, as non meat eaters we were limited to having the same meals on consecutive evenings; particularly as there were no vegetarian options and only one type of fish (which my wife does not like) available. The walk routes were glorious, beautiful scenery, varied terrain, and wonderful spring flowers (particularly many and varied orchids).

Mrs Hartley
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
07/09/2018

Enjoyable walking with impeccable backup. The icing on the cake for us was exploring fascinating villages on the non-walking days.

Mrs Broadhead
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
07/09/2018

Excellent - well organised - good hotels

Mr Ekers
Dordogne River Walk
06/09/2018

Wonderful trip! Everything was so well set up for- transfers, trip notes etc. The walks themselves were stunning, and it was amazing to jump into the pool at the end of the day. A great way to see the Dordogne and experience a different part of France.

Mrs Toward
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
13/08/2018

Area and scenery stunning. Walking some of the best and hardest we’ve done recently. Description of walks word perfect and gave us confidence to try harder walks as we could trust the notes were accurate. Hotel and setting stunning. Staff helpful and spoke good English. Food good - i’m Vegetarian and they cooked something every night. This can sometimes be difficult in France but not here. We were nearly put off by some of the lukewarm reviews about the hotel and food. Don’t be - we would recommend. As one of the other reviews said - we had looked at this holiday for a long time and been out off by mixed reviews. In fact this was our best headwater holiday so far. Thank you.

Mrs Wilde
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
31/07/2018

Firstly, I cannot comment on value for money re the hotel - I do not have a cost split for the accommodation. The drinks seemed quite expensive.

The room did not have air conditioning. Temperatures in June / July (34C one day and in the very high 20'sC the rest) would make this very welcome. Several nights were extremely hot.

We were very unhappy with the taxi booked for us by the hotel which charged us 20 Euros for approximately 10kms. (From the hotel to Les Vignes). Whilst not the hotel's fault, they had made the booking and also claimed no knowledge of how much such a journey should cost when asked before the booking was made. I found this hard to believe. It just leaves a poor taste.

No account had been made for the requirement not to be offered food with nuts in. The bread had nuts in every night. Alternative desserts were offered if asked for. We only found this out part way through the week. The menu was very limited. Clearly we were on a package deal for the food.

The area is absolutely lovely and the hotel is decent. Not quite 4 star though. We had a good week.

Headwater response:
We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your post-holiday feedback. Although, we were sorry to read of your disappointment with the standard of food at the hotel. Headwater customers are served a set menu, however should they prefer an alternative, the hotelier can provide this. We were also sorry to read that your requirement for no nuts wasn't understood by the restaurant team, we will of course work with them, to ensure that when our customers have dietary requirements, they are met.
Many thanks for sharing your holiday experience, we look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future.
Kind regards,
Headwater customer service team

Mrs Attwood
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
09/07/2018

Our first trip to Provence. Lovely walking, hotels and food. It was hot!

Mrs Marsh
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
19/06/2018

From the start to the end this was a very relaxing holiday, every day somewhere new to visit, great hotels and swimming pools, and lovely food.

Mr Mepham
Dordogne River Walk
02/02/2018

The holiday is an excellent combination of interesting, good length walks, fine hotels and great food. The lack of restaurant facilities at the Renoir was more than made up for by the quality of the food at the nearby Bistro L'Octroi. The finest food was undoubtedly at the Hotel Les Glycines but all were very satisfactory. There was plenty to do on all the rest days and we would particularly recommend visiting to Marqueyssac Gardens in Beynac, the museums dedicated to the amazing pre-historic finds around Les Eyzies, and lounging by the pool at the Laborderie.

Mr Kennedy
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
01/02/2018

Overall holiday was superb, great walking and super location.

Mrs Preece
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
15/01/2018

Wonderful,would highly recommend.

Mrs Macleod
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
15/01/2018

Easy walking in an attractive area. First class hotels, all with pools.Standard of food in the local restaurants was high. Good to be able to visit Avignon and Marseille as add ons to the holiday. Very hot, even in June this year.

Mr Wallis
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
09/01/2018

Beautiful hotel in idyllic location, accommodation, food and wine all excellent. Staff welcoming, friendly and always helpful with any queries.

Mr Curry
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
02/01/2018

Best walks we've done - amazing views. Guidance detail excellent. Hotel would have been a lot more comfortable with air conditioning. Some choice on the menu would have been nice although if there was something we didn't want they gave an alternative. Staff at Hotel excellent. Beware Toulouse ring road - very snarled up on our return. We canoed one day and although we hadn't done it before we can recommend it as a break from walking. We started in La Malene (hotel arranged it for us)

Mr Duggleby
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
02/01/2018

This was our fifth holiday with Headwater - four of them walking holidays. All have been absolutely excellent but this Provence holiday was probably the best of all. The area was spectacularly beautiful and the walks testing enough but not too testing in view of the hot weather we experienced. As ever, the arrangements were superb and the choice of hotels excellent. All of a very high standard with lovely staff, good breakfasts and great swimming pools. Evening restaurants were a mix of Headwater selected and our own choices. We ate and drank well throughout the week. The reps James and Beckie were delightful and helped us whenever necessary. My wife and I were sad to be coming home and will be with Headwater again next year. No better compliment.

Mrs Riley
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
29/12/2017

The Tarn Gorges was an extremely interesting area geographically and biologically. I have never seen such a wide variety of orchids and some quite rare varieties growing in abundance. The walks however are not easy especially if you don't like looking down shear drops and we did wonder whether some of the paths will actually be there in few years time as the rain was washing them away.

Mr Kershaw
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
29/12/2017

Excellent holiday overall. Well organised with great staff. Many thanks.

We have now done 8 walking holidays with Headwater and we have never been disappointed. This was no exception. There were some niggles more to do with the French footpath designations and markers than walking notes, but the region is awesome, the village of Fontaine de Vaucluse stunning. We would return to this region but would come by car as there is so much to see. Having a car means on stay put or rainy days exploration is possible.

There needs to be some more communication with hotels as to willingness to make picnics. It is fine for the notes to say ask them to provide a picnic but if they they don,t and you have not been able to buy food because village has no shop ie Les Imberts then you have a 8 to 9 mile walk with no food!!

Though it is occasionally nice to visit other restaurants we felt having to pay for 4 evening meals with what we have paid for the holiday seems a bit steep certainly compared to some of our previous experiences

Overall we still love the Headwater experience

Mr Catterall
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
03/08/2017

See the inside of the country without the hassle bussel of roads and busy towns plenty of fresh air and excellent hotels and refreshlng swim when you arrive

Mr Fraser
Landscapes of the Luberon Walk
03/08/2017

An excellent experience in a lovely part of France.

Mr Redgrave
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
20/06/2017

Excellent holiday in very scenic area

Mrs Hewson
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
29/11/2016

We had another great holiday with Headwater. The walks and the scenery in the Tarn Gorge are stunning. I would class some of the walks as strenuous and adventurous , sometimes verging on being '3 boot'. The Hotel de la Muse enjoys a marvellous location overlooking the Tarn river and on occasion you can watch the vultures and herons fly whilst having dinner on the terrace. The hotel is excellent with spacious, clean, light rooms and large airy communal lounges/ spaces, great food and friendly staff.



Local village of Rozier is quaint. On Monday night the hotel arranges for guests to eat in a local restaurant in Rozier where we enjoyed gourmet food and very friendly staff. THe sandwich shop on the corner of the village also good.



We came by train from the UK to Avignon which is a very interesting city, well worth a visit. It is about a 4 to 5 hour drive from there to Rozier.



All in all another memorable holiday.



Dr Sterland
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
09/11/2016

Good location for walking and other things of interest. Hotel was a bit odd although comfortable. Being larger than some it was not so friendly as some of the smaller hotels, although the staff we individually friendly there were quite a number.

Mr Normand
Dordogne River Walk
09/11/2016

Good varied walking, with clear directions. But we were pleased the weather was not hot because, aged about 70, we found the walking days quite full. Timing was as predicted though torrential rain had turned some of the tracks into an obstacle course.

Hotels were excellent, all very special in different ways. Chateau de Monrecours is magnificent, feels very expensive, with a talented chef and friendly helpful Maitre d'.

Monrecours and Les Glycines provided special menus for Headwater, Meysett and Laborderie scored by saying 'here are all our menus, have what you like'!

Nearly all staff spoke very good English.

Mr Lockley
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
13/10/2016

Another excellent Headwater holiday with a good variation of walks and the opportunity to view birdlife not seen in an English garden.

Mrs Bryan
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
13/10/2016

Wonderful dramatic scenery and fabulous walks. Take care with your choice of walks if you don't have a good head for heights. Some paths are narrow and very near the edges of huge vertical drops.

Mrs Clark
Dordogne River Walk
16/08/2016

The booking process was simple and supportive. The holiday exceeded expectation; not something I have said before. The accommodation was superb, food wonderful, welcome huge and help available when required.

Mr Wallis
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
21/07/2016

Hotel in a beautiful location, welcoming and friendly staff, superb food and an excellent area for walking.A week was much too short!

Mrs Triger
Dordogne River Walk
15/07/2016

We had two varied weeks in France, interspersed with the 8 day walking holiday. I think we have come to the conclusion that staying based in one hotel (i.e. Kandersteg) is probably better for us than walking from hotel to hotel. We missed having a car on our 'rest' days in order to explore the surroundings. We also found 23kms rather too much for us! We got lost a couple of times following the instructions - better signposting in Switzerland! However, the food, wine and the beautiful countryside was much appreciated. Not often one walks only hearing birdsong and nothing else!



Thanks Headwater for all your arrangements.

Mr Pearson
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
30/06/2016

Challenging walks lead to magnificent and interesting views within this small area of France . We were rewarded with the most beautiful array of spring flowers including several varieties of orchid. The excellent hotel , where English is widely spoken meant a lovely homecoming each evening.Wonderful gourmet menu etc completed our day! Thank you!

Mr Buckham
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
14/06/2016

Despite a week of rain we were able to enjoy walking and the hotel was really good, though couldn't really appreciate the outside facilities. Only thing that would have helped would have been access to a drying room for waterproofs and boots.

Mrs Sodring
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
26/05/2016

This was the best holiday we have taken with Headwater! Despite imperfect weather, the walks were wonderful (even though the vultures did not fly when it was raining); we saw the Rivers Tarn and Jonte both as green and peaceful and in full spate after rain. For those interested in wild flowers, this is a perfect holiday in May - the deciduous woods and meadows are full of them - lilies, orchids, asphodels ... and there are many birds besides the vultures in the trees.

Besides walking the main walks we also visited Montpellier le Vieux - do go and take the red route, the rock formations are stunning : Aven Armand - more commercialised but the stalactites are amazing: Vulture Museum (don't go on a wet day, there are no live vultures to see); finally, on our return journey to Toulouse, the Roquefort Society Caves - most interesting! The hotel, food, local wines, beer & picnics were excellent with wonderful service from the staff.

Mr Hamilton-Viall
Dordogne River Walk
26/05/2016

We enjoyed it and had a lot of fun, but it could have been even better with a few tweaks. Some of the walking notes certainly need reviewing as we wanted to enjoy the walking, not stand scratching our heads wondering if we had the right path. An explanation of the GR markers would have been really useful as we had to find out what they meant by trial and error. Also there were markets or events on some days that it would have been nice to know and arrange our days off to coincide with.

As regards hotels the Monrecour was superb, the labourderie very good and the Meysset OK. Les Glycinees we found varied. The location was great, the room ok. The food at the hotel varied from some of the best ever eaten to some of the worst. Our picnic sandwich was inedible. Generally it did not have the same feel as the other hotels. Also tea or coffee making in all hotels would be appreciated.

Mrs Watson
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
14/10/2015

Great walking with an excellent meal to come back to

Mr Dentith
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
06/10/2015

THIS PARTICULAR HOLIDAY ,THANKS TO THE HOTEL AND THE WEATHER WAS ONE OF THE BEST HOLIDAYS WE HAVE HAD WITH HEADWATER.

THE WALKING IN PARTICULAR WAS SUFFICIENTLY CHALLENGING AND ADAPTABLE . SPECTACULAR VIEWS .

THE AREA ITSELF WAS VERY INTERESTING, FROM ALL PERSPECTIVES.

GOOD NOTES AND GOOD MAPS.

Mrs Everson-Davis
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
23/09/2015

Challenging and varied walking in spectacular surroundings, with the additional bonus of a comfortable and friendly hotel base providing excellent cuisine.

Mr Blunt
Dordogne River Walk
14/09/2015

Lovely locations. There is so much choice of what to do on your spare days.

Although the walks are not too strenuous you do need to have enough food and water with you as there are few places on route where you can stock-up.

Do take your time following route instructions as markers are not always immediately obvious and can become difficult to see or disappear entirely.



Mrs Carrington-Bro
Dordogne River Walk
14/09/2015

This was our second holiday with Headwater and again we had an excellent holiday. It was very well organised and the walking notes were easy to follow. The holiday certainly lived up to its name of being a gastronomic walking tour - the food was delicious throughout and all four hotels were very friendly.

The walking was pleasant but suffered a little in comparison to our first hoiday with Headwater (Umbria) as the Dordogne is a busier area than Umbria.

Our top tip would be to visit Le font de Gaume when staying in Les Eyzies - there are a limited number of tickets issued each day and 52 of these go on sale each morning at 9.30am. The receptionist at the hotel suggested we shoud be there by 7.30am, as September isn't peak season and as she predicted we weren't the first, we joined the very orderly queque as nos 11 and 12; it was a magical experience seeing original paintings that are 14,000 years old.

We came home feeling very relaxed and ready to book another Headwater holiday.

Mr Powell
Dordogne River Walk
27/07/2015

Well organised and did what it said on the can!

Mr Buss
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
08/07/2015

A superb location for walking and an excellent hotel - the staff were friendly and always very helpful. Travel arrangements - flights and car hire all went smoothly. Exactly what we had hoped for.

We also extended the car hire for a further three weeks and delayed our return flight for the same period. Headwater arranged this for us when we booked and everything went according to plan.

Mr Strong
Dordogne River Walk
02/07/2015

Beautiful region of France. Didn't see a soul whilst walking and the hotels were quiet which suited us! Representative was very friendly and helpful.

Mrs Reeves
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
25/09/2014

Fantastic hotel with amazing food in great location. Very friendly staff who were always smiling!

Mr Mason
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
30/07/2014

Stunning scenery and brilliant walks.

Mrs Price
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
14/07/2014

Hotel de la Muse du Tarn is not only our 'best' Headwater hotel but probably one of the best hotels we have stayed in worldwide.

We had one very wet day and the hotel was a comfortable and pleasant place to take refuge with books and crosswords.

The walks were well described and accurately graded, we felt. Although one or two of the descents were longer than implied but maybe that was because I am very very slow!!

The whole region is stunning with lots to do apart from walking. We didn't have great weather but it didn't dampen our walking spirits. And the views - wow!

Mrs May
Dordogne River Walk
11/07/2014

On this itinerary the length and gradient of the walks are not so suitable for the over 65s - we experienced them as three-boots rather than 2 on account of our age.

Your notes are very well written, congratulations. We never went wrong and rarely used the maps.

The menus on this gastronomic holiday were surprisingly limited - should have guessed they would be though. There was one evening when we could not face the foie gras and duck again so crept out for a cheap Italian despite having paid for the gastronomic bore. We cannot blame Headwater for this, please note.

Throughout the service was very good. The landscape and local attractions were outstanding. The routes were creatively chosen. Thanks!

Mrs Pritchett
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
09/07/2014

Beautiful part of France, stunning gorge scenery. Hotel in brilliant location right on riverside. Excellent food with choice from whole menu every day + chef's special of the day for each course. Highlight was lots of lovely butterflies!

Mis Elliott
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
21/06/2014

brochure, doe's not do justice to the astonishing location and overal excellence of the hotel which is 4 star and not 3 star as printed.We have looked at this holiday for at least 10 years, and booked this time as we are running out of options in France.

Mr Williams
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
12/06/2014

The Tarn area is an location for activity holidays and for seeing wildlife and flowers.

Mr Hall
Dordogne River Walk
27/05/2014

Wonderful countryside for walking and great walks - with a spectacular meal at the end of every day.

Mrs Cornelissen
Dordogne River Walk
08/10/2013

There should be more information on the routes available early in the process. We had a 23 km walk, which was fine for us but it was not clear that there were any walks of this length and it could cause problems for some guests.

Mr Ingram
Dordogne River Walk
28/09/2013

The Dordogne is a very good area for a holiday, with plenty to see and do in all weathers. The Headwater walking holiday is a very good introduction to the many varied facets of the region - geography, towns and villages, food and places of interest. We enjoyed experiencing different styles of hotel - they all have their own individuality - and all looked after us extremely well. The walking notes were faultless and the maps some of the best I've encountered on the nine Headwater holidays I've taken. The rep was very informative and helpful and although we required only the routine service we were confident that if exceptional circumstances arose they would be dealt with professionally.

Mr Stebbing
Dordogne River Walk
27/09/2013

The Dordogne is a great area for walking with fantastic views and places to visit such as Chateau and cave/rock attractions. Mostly small hamlets along the route and limited facilities for refreshments so a picnic was essential. The walks were very strenuous in places with steep climbs and descents along stony paths. It was the toughest series of walks that we had undertaken (we live in Norfolk but have walked up Snowdon and other hills!) but we did it. Food at hotels in Beynac and Tamnies in particular was substantial and excellent but the walking helped burn off the calories. We flew from Norwich to Toulouse via Amsterdam and it was nice to be home within 40 mins of touching down in Norwich. Headwater helped us find a route to the Dordogne which didn't involve a long trip to and from London and didn't break the bank either.

Mr Smith
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
28/08/2013

This hotel is really a 3 star hotel tying to live up to 4 star standards. the food selecting for dinner was quite limited and did not offer the range and quality that was expected. Cost of drinksat both the bar and the wine list prices where far too expensive andf put us off drinking.

It would help walkers if the maps were actually marked up with the routes as this would only take minutes and would help to cross refer to the headwater maps.

Even better would be down loads for walkers to use their own GPS devices whilst walking.



Mr Petch
Dordogne River Walk
24/08/2013

The accommodation was excellent, it was great having meals already arranged so no need to go in search after a long walk. Walking was as described in the brochure and route notes very good with a couple of minor hiccups. Our rep Claire was 1st class and made some helpful suggestions which added to the enjoyment of the holiday. All in all we had a great holiday and would definitely recommend it.

Ms Barton
Dordogne River Walk
23/08/2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our walking holiday in the Dordogne. Accommodation and food were for the most part excellent. Walking notes were detailed and accurate. Our rep. was helpful and very informative.

Ms Cutts
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
02/08/2013

Fabulous walking in amazing landscapes along the gorges, along with a very comfortable hotel with delicious food and excellent service, made this a great holiday!

Mrs Jones
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
30/07/2013

The scenery along the Tarn was sublime - like a cross between the Lake District and the Grand Canyon but with more trees. Would recommend bringing small binoculars to watch the vultures (walks 2,3, and 5), and a small torch for shining in the caves (walk 6). Start early to avoid heat of midday sun. Fantastic variety of beautiful butterflies especially at the start of walk 5 (in late July). Absolutely charming staff at the hotel.

Mrs Barber
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
23/07/2013

A lovely part of France to exlore and based in an excellent hotel

Mrs Davies
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
21/07/2013

Superb location with great walking.Notes provided were fair but only worked because there were not too many paths to choose from so you just stayed on one path for most of the walk (unlike England where far more detail would have been necessary to choose the correct path). I feel the grading of the walks we did was rather misleading as a lot of them involved narrow cliff edges and steep scrambles which I would say were at least 'moderate'. The scenery was magnificent and the hotel was excellent. I liked the bedroom (light, modern and airy with a large comfortable bed) and the food was very good indeed (especially the nights when we could choose from the a la carte menu). The main problems included a lack of a booking for our dog despite having paid extra for this facility. However, Headwater has recompensed us for the money spent so we now are satisfied overall.

Mr Hardy
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
03/07/2013

The walking experience was excellent and the area quite dramatic and well worth the visit.

We have sent a letter (via email) to you concerning our dining experience which we hope you will take note of.

Mr Branch
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
26/06/2013

A very enjoyable walking holiday in some beautiful countryside. Hotel was good but we felt the wine prices were unreasonably high and we went out for pre- and post- dinner drinks. Your explanation of the mealplan was unclear and you did not respond to an email query on this subject. On 4 nights there was no choice at all on the mealplan The walks were outstanding and we did 4 of them (1,3,4,10). Fellow guests (especially Headwater) very compatible. Hotel staff outstanding (except for one apparently new and untrained barman.

Mr Cooper
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
24/06/2013

An excellent trip in a great location. However, having spent a day walking high in the heat we expected to relax by the swimming pool and cool off. We were very disappointed to find on arrival that the hotel did not intend to fill and clean the pool until the day we left (June 15th). An empty swimming pool is not attractive and very frustrating, and to a small degree took the edge of an otherwise great trip. Indeed it had been part of the promise in the Brochure and the hotel website. We would not have booked this week if we had been given this information by yourselves beforehand as we were flexible on dates.



I have therefore answered no above as what was promised was not delivered and in future would need reassurance.



Otherwise the scenery and floors/birds were stunning and the hotel good. Food excellent, wine expensive and some service erratic, but entertaining.



Martin Cooper

Mr Owers
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
20/06/2013

Thoroughly enjoyable, inspiring walks, excellent food and accommodation .



Mr Nickson
Dramatic Vistas of the Tarn
04/06/2013

We went in May: the weather was poor. We had two good days, two days of rain & sun and two days of steady rain. And it was cold (one day scraped up to a maximum of 8 deg C).



The area is great for walking and the Headwater walking guides were excellent.



The hotel was comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. The common areas of the hotel were well laid out and on one night the log fire was lit. But our first bedroom (room 14) was directly over the kitchen. The kitchen equipment was so noisy at night that we had to move after two nights. The next room (room 32) was disappointing: no shower curtain or screen; no balcony; a small window made the room dark; and no fridge. But it was quiet.



The hotel was expensive: 9.50 euros for two cups of tea (two tea bags). There was no house wine and the lowest price for a bottle of wine was 23 Euros - and this is France!



The food was disappointing. On four nights we were given a table d'Hote menu with no choice, even for the main course. Considering that this holiday is billed as a gastronomic experience, the Table d'Hote meal was very limited and underwhelming. We had to send a fish course back because it was under cooked and we had a duck course which was very tough. I have eaten at Auberges in France and the Table d'Hote meals have been much better. On three nights we had the A la Carte menu which was a distinct step up, but still nowhere nearly as good as I have had in French restaurants at considerable less cost.



To sum up, the Tarn is an excellent area for walking, Headwater's arrangements were first rate, but the hotel and the food were disappointing.