Feefo - Independent reviews
  Contact Us

Request a Brochure | Newsletter

Customer reviews: Costa Rica walking holidays

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted to our website, so that people can make an informed decision based on past experiences before heading off on holiday. We don’t edit the reviews, the only thing we do is proofread them and alter any typos, where necessary, to ensure they are easy to read for everyone. All reviews will be published (except in certain extreme circumstances), and a member of the Headwater team will respond to any constructive criticisms/comments under the reviews, at their discretion. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Ms Gale
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
04/07/2018

Very well organised holiday, brilliant guide, nice small group and lovely hotels. Next time would prefer to be offered a direct flight rather than battle through Newark!

Mr Wall
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
16/04/2018

Walking in Costa Rica was a great destination. Excellent Guide and lovely people.Fabulous variety of contrasts throughout the country.

Mr Creamer
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
20/03/2018

The country, people and welcome were superb. We could not have been looked after better.

Mr Christy
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
20/02/2018

A well-organised trip to a very beautiful country with stunning wild life; clean and comfortable facilities at all times; walks very enjoyable and led by an expert and experienced guide.

Dr Loken
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
20/02/2018

This was a really exceptional holiday for us. Our guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about all the wildlife we encountered, and the history of the country, that we learned so much from him. In addition, the quality of the hotels, the variety of the walks, and the extra touches (like fresh fruit waiting for us at intervals) made it very special.

Mrs Edwards
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
11/12/2017

An excellent way to get a taste of what Costa Rica has to offer. We explored cloud forest, dry forest, wet, hot, dry and dusty climates and finished on a beautiful beach for the last couple of days. Birds, mammals, insects, amphibians, orchids and other plantlife: something new every day. Our excellent guide, Pedro, flexed the distances and type of walk depending on the conditions, the group's interest/ability, and the things we stopped to see along the way. Our bus driver, Miguel, was never far away. A great holiday!

Mr Wood
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
11/12/2017

This is a good holiday for those looking for a wildlife experience with varied walks through interesting landscapes. Both the guide and driver were very knowledgable about the varied regions, culture and wildlife. Group enthusiasm and participation in finding and spotting the wildlife make the holiday much more rewarding. There are other fun activities available when not walking that are recommended.

Miss Black
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
24/04/2017

Costa Rica is a fascinating country with great scenery and amazing wildlife. The weather involves some rain, even in the dry season and some walks were hot and humid, making them harder work than might be expected from the distance covered. On some of the longer walks there were shorter options available. The first days walk was the least interesting and maybe some of the local guides could suggest something better. The 2 boot grading seems right. Some transfers are long but are through interesting countryside and in any case, are unavoidable. Alain was a great driver and Guierlmo a good guide and fund of information. Between the 2 of them they made sure we saw lots of wildlife we wouldn't have spotted ourselves.

If you enjoy birds and wildlife as well as the walking, we would highly recommend this holiday.

Mrs Shaw
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
09/03/2017

Great way to see Costa Rica despite long days in minibus.Excellent variety of birds, flora and fauna with knowledgeable guides.

Mr Cameron
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
06/04/2016

Varied and interesting trip with excellent driver and enthusiastic and knowledgable guide

Mr Moore
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
29/03/2016

Excellent for seeing wildlife. Local guide Erika and driver Rono greatly enhanced this holiday with their expertise and knowledge- a lucky combination as Rono was a wildlife enthusiast himself. Some of the walks were not '2 boots' however heat especially during the latter part of the holiday dictated length of walks. Most of the hotels were very good/excellent and those which were not of the same standard compensated by location. Excellent boat trip and night walk which were highlights.

Mrs Rome
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
21/03/2016

Overall very good, only minor improvements needed on mid day meals- not needed when travelling for prolonged time-could be more snack based when having a three course evening meal.

Ms Freeman
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
04/02/2016

Although flights were arduous with 4-hour stopover in US, on the whole flights were good. Costa Rica is a fantastic place and our guide Pedro was so enthusiastic about the country and wildlife and very interesting on political and historical details which greatly enhanced our experience. We travelled in a small (4) group which although initially I was doubtful about, in fact worked out well. The driver of the bus was very good and we got to places in comfort and in promptly. The walking was fantastic. Some walks were quite arduous but not impossibly so and always very interesting. Highlights for me were the night walk in the forest near Cebadilla and the boat trip through the Cano Negro Wildlife Refuge. The final hotel at the beach at Playa Hermosa was a wonderful end to the holiday.

Mr Kerry
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
04/02/2016

The guide was very good at getting us to places when there was no one else around which made things more exclusive. In addition it was our idea before we went to have the boat trip at Cano Negro in the afternoon which was a great success. We had the river to ourselves, saw 23 different types of bird and even the guide saw things she had never seen before, like howler monkeys on the ground.

Mr Whitley
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
04/02/2016

Costa Rica is a fantastic country for wildlife and fauna, however doing a walking holiday there may not be the best option if you are going primarily for the flora and fauna. Getting there and back is painful going via the USA; if BA bring in a direct route from LHR then that will be much the best option.

The people are lovely, and our guide (Erika) was always smiling and very helpful.

Mrs Longfoot
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
07/12/2015

A beautiful country, lots of wildlife and lush countryside.

Dr Garwood
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
08/05/2015

Overall a very interesting and excellent holiday. Beautiful country with varied scenery and an amazing variety of wildlife. Very well looked after by our excellent guide Jorge Arias and driver Suri Herrera. They both ensured that it was an excellent holiday and nothing was too much trouble for them. Although the Bosque del Mar was excellent we would have preferred another day walking or staying on a nature reserve rather than a day on the beach.

Mrs Spencer
Costa Rica Wildlife Walk
26/02/2015

Recommend how wet and cold it can be in Costa Rica in the 'rain forest in February!! Didn't expect the level of cold and damp and should have taken warmer clothes.