Feefo - Independent reviews
  Contact Us

Request a Brochure | Newsletter

Customer reviews: United Kingdom cycling holidays

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted to our website, so that people can make an informed decision based on past experiences before heading off on holiday. We don’t edit the reviews, the only thing we do is proofread them and alter any typos, where necessary, to ensure they are easy to read for everyone. All reviews will be published (except in certain extreme circumstances), and a member of the Headwater team will respond to any constructive criticisms/comments under the reviews, at their discretion. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Mr BAKER
Best of the Cotswolds Cycling
23/09/2021

It was okay but not as good as Headwater's holidays on the Continent. Not so well organised. That said, the routes took us through some lovely villages.







Dr MONTE
Contrasts of Norfolk Cycling
17/09/2021

This was one of the best holidays we have ever had. Being able to cycle for long distances on quiet country roads in the UK has been a dream come true. The car drivers in Norfolk were certainly used to cyclists and both car drivers and farm workers were very considerate and we felt very safe. The Norfolk scenery was beautiful and the hotels well selected. The 09:30 baggage pickups for transportation to the next hotels was a very welcome and civilised time and we didn’t have to rush our breakfast before setting off for the day. Although everyone kept saying to us that Norfolk is flat, it would be prudent to be cognisant of the fact that there are rolling hills and the 1.5 rating is appropriately reflective of that.

An enjoyable holiday in a part of the country we have never previously visited.

Mr BETTS
Highlights of Norfolk Cycling
04/08/2021

Great experience from booking to departure! Pity about the weather - we got drenched on the first day!

Mr FRANCIES
Contrasts of Norfolk Cycling
02/08/2021

Expensive but reliable

Ms HIRST
Contrasts of Norfolk Cycling
29/07/2021

It was a wonderful tour with a true taste of the contrasts of Norfolk and we will definitely return. There's almost too much to see this is why we will happily return. All the accommodation and onsite restaurants were great and so were the bikes. I am used to a high standard from Headwater so now I expect lovely hotels and great food! Why choose another company when you know you'll get quality with Headwater?!

Everything was great. The only comment I would make was that I felt the bikes could have had thicker tyres for the forest road section of the route on the first day.

Excellent cycling through beautiful countryside with spectacular views. Some superb places to stay an route

We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of this trip, which took us through a variety of landscapes. Day 2 is all off road and fairly gentle, and gave us the chance to get to know our bikes. Day 3 is more challenging, but on quiet roads and with spectacular views; we were thrilled to see an osprey. Day 4 had a different feel, on secluded lanes in pretty countryside and was the most challenging cycling, with some uphill sections (there were two short stretches of 50m or so where I admit I pushed my bike!); we stopped at Cawdor Castle along the way - lovely garden and tea room - well worth visiting.

All the accommodation was ideal. We especially enjoyed sitting in the leather armchairs with a wee dram in front of a roaring fire at the Lovat, and the lovely welcome and home-made food at Pottery House.

The local agents were delightful and very helpful.

We are in our late 50s, pretty fit but not regular cyclists, and this trip, using standard bikes, was just the right level for us.

Mrs MICHAEL
Contrasts of Norfolk Cycling
07/07/2021

It was interesting to explore a part of the country we did not know. The countryside was very attractive, as were the villages we passed through, and fortunately there was only one day of rain and a few showers on our last day. This was the first time we had cycled from place to place and it was a good way to see more places than if we had stayed in one place. The hotels were mostly excellent , though in one of them we had to store the bikes outside overnight so they were rather damp in the morning. The local food was delicious and much appreciated and staff were all friendly and helpful.

Mr ABRAMS
Highlights of Norfolk Cycling
02/07/2021

A wonderful way to see the beautiful Norfolk countryside.

It was our first Headwater holiday and we had a super time. Ticket to Ride in Inverness were great with regard to the bike fit and daily transfers.

Mr STRUTHERS
Loch Ness and the Highlands Cycling
30/06/2021

Wonderful holiday. Highly recommended. Easy cycling through beautiful and varying scenery . The third day of cycling is a bit too busy and expanding holiday by one extra day would make this holiday perfect

However if thinking of expanding holiday, don"t opt for extra night in Dores. Instead find hotel for an extra night in Nairn . First day in Nairn, cycle to Fort George and Cawdor castle and back to Nairn. In extra day, cycle back to Inverness from Nairn via Culloden battlefield. This would improve this holiday even more enjoyable

Mrs WARDLE
Contrasts of Norfolk Cycling
14/06/2021

Great cycling holiday. Very comfortable welcoming hotels in great locations. Lovely undulating routes on mainly quiet roads with varied views and lanscapes. Plenty of places to stop for coffee or something to eat. Possible to cycle less or extend as individuals wish. We loved it.

Headwater response:
Thank you for your review of our Norfolk cycling holiday, it was a pleasure to read that you had a great time with us. We look forward to welcoming you on many more trips with us in the future.
Headwater Customer Service Team

Ms PENN
Oxford to Bath Cycle
09/06/2021

Beautiful countryside to ride through. Lovely accommodation and great food.

Great holiday. The routes were varied in cycling surface, scenery, difficulty and amenities. The routes passed through spectacular scenery. If you would like to visit Culloden and Cawdor on the last day, you will need to leave yourselves a lot of time. We visited Culloden separately and would have been hard pushed to do it justice if we had visited whilst cycling. We did visit Cawdor Castle where only the gardens were open. If the castle itself had been open we would have been pushed to explore it properly.

Mr Lypka
Classic Cotswolds Cycling
23/09/2020

Probably the best way to enjoy the scenery and do so at your own pace is on a bike