Feefo - Independent reviews
  Contact Us

Request a Brochure | Newsletter

Customer reviews: Spain guided walking holidays

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted to our website, so that people can make an informed decision based on past experiences before heading off on holiday. We don’t edit the reviews, the only thing we do is proofread them and alter any typos, where necessary, to ensure they are easy to read for everyone. All reviews will be published (except in certain extreme circumstances), and a member of the Headwater team will respond to any constructive criticisms/comments under the reviews, at their discretion. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Mrs Richter
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
20/02/2020

Excellent hotel and food provided there. Great walking experience, very different scenery every day. Easy walking but walking boots are essential.

Ms Wilson
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
17/02/2020

Hotel SAN Roque was small, friendly and relaxed. The food was superb and room was very comfortable complete with amenities. it was a lovely base from which to explore the area. Walking was slow and leisurely through beautiful scenery. One or two poles advantageous as the terrain was steep and uneven in places. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and provided simple delicious locally sourced picnic lunches. I would definitely consider a return visit.

Miss Reid
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
14/02/2020

This holiday enabled me to see a side of Tenerife that goes beyond the stereotype of beach resorts, the northern end of the island is a series of microclimates so every day was different flora and weather which kept the walking interesting. The San Roque hotel was a perfect base and due to their care and a good guide it was a delight to have dressing myself as my only responsibility outside managing the walks for a week, very therapeutic

A wonderful area of Spain to explore and the easy walking on offer was just right and gave access to wonderful views. Everything was organised well and the walking guide was excellent.

Mrs Whalley
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
28/10/2019

I could not fault this holiday. Although I have been on many Headwater holidays both cycling and walking I would recommend this particular trip to anyone considering taking their first walking holiday, both with friends and alone. It was recommended to me mainly because the hotel was so nice and I certainly appreciated that as soon as I arrived.

Headwater response:
Dear Mrs Whalley
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review and recommendation. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back on another Headwater holiday in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Customer Services

Mrs Gilmore
Walking on La Gomera
28/10/2019

A wonderful holiday to an unspoilt island with a guide who was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and passionate about his home, its history, geology, flora and fauna. The walks were varied, all in different parts of the island and at times adapted to take into account local weather conditions, quite strenuous at times but so rewarding with wide ranging views. The hotel was very special; spacious rooms and comfortable throughout and the gardens, full of sub-tropical plants, were beautiful - a delight to return to at the end of a full day. Thank you Headwater for an unforgettable holiday.

Superb welcoming English hosts and staff at outstanding accommodation. Nice mixture of eating at local restaurants and at accommodation. 12 walkers in group were an ideal number. All walkers were good timekeepers (including four Icelanders) making for a very affable happy group. Our guide had excellent knowledge of the area and its inhabitants.

Mr Greenhalgh
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
29/05/2019

This is the second time we have visited the Finca, this time with friends to whom we recommended the holiday. It was a first class experience from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Sue , Gordon and their team at the Finca were very welcoming knowledgeable and interested in all aspects of our days , they clearly loved the countryside and wanted us to maximise our experience. Our guide, Rafa was brilliant and added to the whole experience. The cuisine was also brilliant and in itself enough to draw us back!

Thanks to all involved....

A beautiful place...

Ms Lampard
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
24/05/2019

A great way to explore the hills of Andalusia, if you don't mind walking with the hotel dog bounding around.

Mrs Higgins
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
15/05/2019

Finca el Carrillo is a little paradise. Our walks took us round the white villages and up into the hills. We saw many butterflies, flowers and birds. We even heard a nightingale. We also enjoyed local cuisine. Our day in Malaga was an opportunity to see some wonderful art at the Carmen Thyssen Museum also the Picasso

Ms Freeman
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
08/05/2019

Beautiful walks. Guide was good in assessing group ability and provided challenging walks. The hotel was fabulous. I have never stayed in such a wonderful place with such good food and facilities.

Mrs Kitching
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
23/04/2019

This holiday exceeded my expectations. Excellent doesn’t do justice to this holiday.

Very enjoyable with good company, good accommodation, lovely walks. A little more attention to detail with joining instructions would have helped.

Mr Bastable
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
01/04/2019

We had a great time -The other members of the group were friendly and we had enjoyable walks and meals together. Gordon and Sue were so lovely . They were very knowledgeable and helpful both as guides and also as hotel owners.They have built such a great hotel ,both comfortable and efficient .I understood why so many of their guests return.

Mr Kirk
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
01/04/2019

Excellent walking - Juan Miguel juggled the schedule to make the most of the variable weather. Lots of volcanoes! Hotel San Roque is a gem - very peaceful, and the staff are the most helpful I've ever experienced. The swimming pool's a bit odd - bordered by dining tables (though it was too cold to make the most of it, so not a big issue). Only one problem - at the end of one walk, instead of the bus being there waiting for us, we were told it would be arriving in 15 minutes. An hour later it turned up. No idea who's error. Especially since it was the one afternoon it WOULD have been warm enough to go in the pool, but not by the time we got back.

Mrs Gunningham
Walking on La Gomera
25/03/2019

All 3 guides were fantastic and passionate about the island . Very knowledgeable and interesting. Good awareness of the environment and it's relevance to La Gomera.

Mrs Liebster
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
19/03/2019

Headwater are expert in planning walking holidays to suit all levels of fitness in a wide range of countries. We have travelled with them many times and never been disappointed.

Mr Lee
Walking on La Gomera
27/02/2019

Good walking in different areas of the island with knowledgeable guides. Attractive hotel with panoramic views.

Mr Lee
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
25/02/2019

Good walking in a range of landscapes with a very knowledgeable guide who also provided excellent shared picnics.

Wonderful food in a quiet hotel that was full of character.

Mr Mackenzie
Walking on La Gomera
11/02/2019

Lovely gentle walking with a great group in fantastic surroundings. Really helpful guide.

Mr Knight
Walking on La Gomera
06/02/2019

Very enjoyable walking, quite challenging at times, on a beautiful island. Our guide Javier was excellent - well organised, informative, helpful and in tune with the group’s needs. His picnic lunches were a thing of wonder.

Ms Gower
Walking on La Gomera
11/12/2018

La gomera is a surprisingly varied island for one so small. The hotel was fabulous with great view towards Mount teide. Enekoiz our guide was passionate and knowledgeable about the island. Walking was perfect.

Ms Mcadam
Walking on La Gomera
27/11/2018

La Gomera was a revelation. I had been put off by the mass-tourism reputation of the Canaries, but this relatively undeveloped island maintains its own strong identity, amid a backdrop of stunning volcanic scenery. The network of ancient footpaths traversing the terraced ravines provides a perfect way for today's hikers to explore. Some of the paths are steep, but the hard work is rewarded with magnificent views over to Mount Teide on Tenerife, Hierra and La Palma. The laurel forests at the top of the island are magical, not to be missed. Our guide, Enerkioz, was passionate about his island, telling excellent stories, sparking lots of interesting conversations, and looked after us all very well. The Parador provided relaxing, elegant comfort at the end of the day. We did not go hungry. I really would recommend this trip very highly indeed.

Mr Lazare
Walking on La Gomera
26/11/2018

La Gomera is a small island, but offers a wide variety of terrain. A great hotel and an excellent local guide made this a thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

A lovely week walking in the hills of Andalucia, based in a great little Finca. Wonderful food and friendly, helpful staff making for a very relaxing stay. Nice to have a day off in Malaga which has lots to see. A fabulous walking guide in Judith who although Dutch lives locally so knows the area very well. Would definitely recommend the week for gentle walks, great food and hopefully good weather!

The highlight of the holiday was most definitely the hotel. We were made to feel like old friends, even by fellow guests who weren’t part of our group. We’ve never stayed in a more relaxing hotel. The guide was excellent and the walks, particularly the last one into the mountains, where delightful. The accommodation was excellent as was the food.

Ms Kircher
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
22/11/2018

Finca el Cerrillo was a beautiful property, with everything you could hope for. There was only 14 rooms but the outside space, with so many tucked away seating areas, was incredibly spacious. Dinner each evening was delicious. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming, and the staff always smiling and helpful. Judith, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and very easy to get on with. She helped to make our walks a real experience.

Mrs Baron
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
20/11/2018

An excellent holiday discovering the secrets of Tenerife.Superb guide, excellent accommodation and great regional food.We were well looked after from start to finish.Our opinion of Tenerife has changed dramatically. It is an excellent destination for winter walking .

Mrs Brookes
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
29/10/2018

Brilliant! Fantastic guide (Nick), food, The Finca and hosts. Great company in our walking group.

5* location, 5* beautiful Finca with endless hidden terraces, where you could relax in peace if you wanted to. Lovely swimming pool. Food was exceptional throughout the week, including lunch tapas stops out and evening restaurant meals,. Best of all were the Finca meals. Wine was flowing and , if you wanted, you could purchase further drinks before meals from the Honesty bar. I found the walks accurately marked at 1+ and, at 67 and only recently having become a walker, I thought they were perfectly doable unless you had mobility issues, in which case, choose a trip which doesn't include rugged mountain tracks. The guide, Nick, gave us background geography and history, while walking, and many thought that was a welcome addition to some other trips they had been on. There were only 9 of us and I think, again, that that is what made the trip so enjoyable. We could chat to different people on the walk and evening meals were all the more pleasant because of the smaller group. Sue and Gordon, who run the Finca with help, provided an exceptional experience. They put themselves out and were charming but unobtrusive. I think I was very lucky to have chosen this trip as my first walking experience away on my own. It was a brilliant week and well worth every penny.

Ms Stradling
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
12/10/2018

EXCELLENT WEEK AWAY, GOOD COMBINATION OF WALKING, SIGHTSEEING & RELAXATION IN PRETTY SURROUNDINGS

Finca el Cerrillo is exceptional. The care and tought that have gone into the walking programmes is impressive.

Mrs Meadows
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
05/09/2018

Everything about the holiday was good, the hotel, the company, the food and the guides had an excellent knowledge of the environment. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable week.

Mrs Lavelle
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
05/09/2018

5 star holiday experience . Excellent hotel , location and walking experience.

Friendly, helpful, engaging and committed to ensuring a successful holiday experience.

Friendly, welcoming hosts in a beautiful location. Wonderful walking with Gordon and Sue.

A thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing time in beautiful surroundings. Congratulations to Sue and Gordon, and their team, they are wonderful hosts.

Gentle walking in beautiful scenery. Nick was an excellent guide, and the Finca is a lovely, homely place to relax and enjoy some peace and quiet.

Mr Dennett
Walking on La Gomera
04/07/2018

The guide spoke good English and was very knowledgeable and passionate about the island. The walks were challenging and between a 2 and 3 boot in our and the guide's opinion but with only 3 grades to use, difficult to differentiate. Disappointed no tea/coffee facilities available in room. Overall enjoyed the holiday.

Mrs Merry
Walking on La Gomera
04/07/2018

Our guide Audrey was superb. Her knowledge of the area was excellent and she was flexible in her approach if weather conditions meant a change of plan. The group were really good company and the Parador was wonderful. La Gomera is a beautiful island, so varied and the walking although challenging at times reflected this.

We appreciated being able to take a later ferry back to Tenerife & to have Audrey meet us and escort us & luggage to the airport was helpful.

Amazing Spanish venue giving a true insight and feeling to old Spain (well away from fish and chips!). The Finca has been beautifully renovated to offer individually laidout room with plenty of quirky outdoor spaces (including a tree house with bar). The hosts are very welcoming with great enthusiasm and knowledge. The walks were well thought out with plenty to see.

Following receipt of the excellent documents describing the holiday in full we were extremely excited. If anything we were a little worried that we had too high an expectation but this certainly wasn't the case. The holiday was every bit as good as we expected. Even the weather was perfect. Everything was arranged so well and the people looking after us from the owners to the staff were excellent.

Mr Cumming
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
20/03/2018

As with previous Headwater holidays the planning was excellent . Every detail of the week went well. Our guide was knowledgeable, friendly and caring. The hotel was wonderful. We recommend it all.

Miss Muth
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
20/03/2018

Fantastic volcanic scenery albeit sharp rocks, high paths, very narrow edges, long drops and 'interesting' high-level roads! We enjoyed every moment of it. Everything about the holiday was excellent and more than met our expectations. The local guide (Javier) was outstanding. Friendly, informative, professional and an all-round pleasure to be with. He paced our walks very well and provided yummy picnics. The hotel was brilliant with staff who couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and professional. This holiday may have spoiled us for other guided or self-guided holidays since our expectations are now exceedingly high. Thank you to all

Miss Witham
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
16/03/2018

This was an all round excellent holiday with wonderful hotel (lovely food, excellent service, ideal location), well organised walks through a wide variety of terrain, excellent local guide with an extensive knowledge of the area and ideal weather for walking.

Miss Jones
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
16/03/2018

The local guide is a real enthusiast for the island and it's environment. His insight made a good holiday excellent.

Mrs Medley
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
20/02/2018

Excellent walking, very knowledgable guide, lovely hotel. Not so good weather!

Mr Knight
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
20/02/2018

Despite somewhat mixed weather it was an excellent holiday. The walks, carefully chosen and led by Javier were varied and interesting, and revealed the beauty of Tenerife which I suspect the vast majority of visitors are unaware of. Javier was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and well organised. The hotel was absolutely first class, especially the food!

Mr Brown
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
20/02/2018

Javier was an excellent guide who coped well with all eventualities. He was extremely well informed on the island areas where we walked.

Mrs Hardy
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
20/02/2018

The weather was far from perfect with strong winds and rain. Our guide adapted the itinerary and substituted walks in drier areas. Other than the weather a great holiday.

Mrs Gallego Perez
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
02/01/2018

I would have done away with the day to visit Malaga, instead put in another walk. The return flight was a mess because of B.A., nothing to do with you but it put a damper on future plans.

It was a five star Holiday.

Our third visit to the Finca. As always great - although the mixture of guide/companions made this possibly the most enjoyable visit yet. As always the Finca is a superb centre for the holiday; and Elaine is an outstanding guide in all respects.

This is the fourth time my sister and I have been to Finca El Cerillo. Its setting, garden and swimming pool are outstanding and the buildings have been adapted imaginatively to make comfortable en suite rooms. Staying there feels like staying in an idiosyncratic country house where nothing is too much trouble. Food is delicious, the welcome is exceptional, and suggestions for improvement are genuinely welcomed. The walking is great too, and very well guided. We like the practice of sitting with fellow guests at supper and on each occasion have found them congenial. Very few exceptions!

Mr Cosford
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
29/12/2017

An excellent introduction to the area with a wonderful guide.

This was a door to door excellent holiday and experience.

Mrs Perkins
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
29/12/2017

Always delightful company in spite of a small group

Exceeded expectations in accommodation and general arrangements & attention to,detail. Walks were good. However needs,to be made clear these are not gentle strolls and a degree,of difficulty is involved

Mr Greenhalgh
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
12/12/2017

A well chosen rural, village based location for an experience of the real Spain. The Finca el Cerillo takes some beating,and we would recommend every aspect of the holiday, the experience was only positively added to by the whole location team. Thanks to all.

In a word, EXCELLENT. The Finca el Cerrillo provided comfortable accommodation in a wonderful location. Surrounded by beautiful gardens with excellent views across to the nearby (white) village, this was a great place to relax. Breakfasts, packed lunches and evening meals (two at local restaurants) were all delicious. The hotel owners, Sue and Gordon Kind, were welcoming and attentive hosts, keen to make sure that every guest felt looked after. Our walking guide, Elaine, was first class, leading us at the right pace for the group, and informing us about the local area, history and wildlife. The walks were typically 4-5 miles in length, and correctly described as 1+. Nothing too challenging, but with enough ascent and descent to keep us active for a few hours each day. I greatly enjoyed the trip to the caves at Nerja, the visit to Theo's bar, and the journey by 4x4 up into the mountains to start the walk on the final day. All flights and transfers went well, including Headwater offering alternative flights very quickly and efficiently following the collapse of Monarch. As a single traveller this was a great opportunity to meet with some interesting and sociable fellow travellers who all got on well together. Overall, I would highly recommend this holiday.

Ms Holst-Larkin
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
21/11/2017

One of my best holidays. Good company (others on same holiday). Nick the guide was excellent too.

Mr Pearson
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
16/11/2017

This holiday has a delightful base at the pretty finca run by Gordon and sue and their friendly and efficient team .Their commitment to making your holiday as enjoyable as possible includes excellent guiding, delicious food within a relaxed , comfortable atmosphere. Walks seem to be adjusted to match the weather and overall ability of the group. The inclusion of meals out in the local restaurants etc meant we really felt that we were experiencing the Spanish cuisine. Great fun in a lively group. Thank you!

Mr Sherrard
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
03/05/2017

The Finca was excellent with varied & tasty food & comfortable rooms. The splendid location & walks were accurately graded & Nick the guide was very knowledgeable. He adjusted his pace to accommodate the slower walkers on the steep terrain. The programme was varied, but the days in Malaga & Nerja were not 'rest' days (this is not a criticism, but an observation)

Excellent accommodation & location, good guide & good variety of walks.

Mrs Jarvis
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
29/03/2017

The finca el cerillo was in a spectacularly beautiful place. On top of this the owners and staff were delightful and highly efficient. The food at the finca was quite superb and the arrangements at local restaurants were very good too. Elaine, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable, kind and thoughtful. The whole week was filled with interesting walks, history and culture, and was wonderfully managed. It was like staying as a house guest with very kind friends. We will definitely look at Headwater holidays again.

Mr Hall
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
17/03/2017

Well organized with full-day outings and enjoyable on my own. Excellent and interesting hotel. A bit pricey but worth the extra because I could choose a local airport.

Ms Edwards
Walking on La Gomera
09/03/2017

Excellent holiday with great guide and excellent hotel. The walks were quite hard, mainly due to the nature of the terrain.

Mr Hunt
Walking on La Gomera
09/03/2017

Varied 2 boot walking with excellent well informed local guide who went the extra mile. The Parador accommodation and location were a delightful experience.

Mr Wilks
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
09/03/2017

Pleasant way of exploring the country which otherwise could have been quite difficult to access. Walks led by a charming and well-informed guide who did his best to give us interesting local insights and who was very thoughtful and considerate. He was also very patient in trying to resolve people's difficulties.

Ms Butterworth
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
07/12/2016

An excellent location, with good views, well appointed rooms and excellent food. The guide Nick was very knowledgeable. We would repeat in a different season to see the wildlife.

Dr Goddard
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
23/11/2016

Excellent hotel, great walks with an excellent local guide, and super company. There were gentle walks in the early days building up to a lovely long last day hike in the mountains. Good local food and opportunities to sample local bars and restaurants. A couple of excursions to Nerja caves and Malaga old town added variety to an excellent week.

A combination of great walks in a beautiful place coupled with an outstanding hotel made it a week to remember.

Mr Brooks
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
22/11/2016

Ten self selected people on a group holiday.All of whom gelled together well.5 walks guided by experienced knowledgeable local guide.The walks were adapted to suit our group,which the guide described as faster than average.Excellent scenery.Transfers appeared on time.Picnics ,provided by guide,taken mid walk at any suitable site.One visit for lunch to a 'local'mountain café. Experienced rustic food cooked by family.

Rest day my wife and I spent exploring by public bus. Doing a coast line walk at low level.

The hotel San Roque was described as 'boutique'.Service and food were excellent,although evening meal portion sizes were sometimes on the small side with a general lack of vegetables.Breakfast was a buffet with freshly cooked eggs to go with cold meats and tomatoes. There being plenty of rolls,jam and cheese.

I am Coeliac needing gluten free bread and food.I had notified Headwater and the hotel in advance.I was looked after extremely well.At breakfast I had gluten free ham,rolls and maize cakes provided.At evening meal my food was adapted to gluten free .

The guide did not know that I was gluten free until I informed him.However he acquired gluten free rolls for picnics and advised on gluten free options at the rustic café.

I had booked a duplex room at the hotel.This was quirky.The jacuzzi bath was 'in the living area'.I could have bathed, watched TV and entertained guests at the same time

The bed was on a mezzanine but no external window.The wardrobes and other clothes storage areas were downstairs in the lounge area.All the floors were red coloured Canarian pine.This made the transition from floor to stairs difficult in poor light.Especially as the bathroom was up 3 stairs and there was no hand rail.

Although not needed the room did not have any area specifically to put wet coats or muddy boots.

The guide was excellent.His English improved through out the week .He was very knowledgeable about local flora,fauna and geology.He organised the transfers at the start and end of the day efficiently.He often altered our walk length and route to suit the conditions.

Mrs Searle
Walking on La Gomera
14/11/2016

It was good

Walking harder than expected

La gomera was not as pretty as I had expected. Too barren

I think that though we are fit we are too old for that group and perhaps should have been warned

Hotel was marvellous. We had a deluxe room and it was worth every penny

Everything about this holiday was top class. From the accommodation, the food, the walking, the guide, the transfers to the hotel staff. Most of all the company of the other walkers. Compliments to all concerned.

High standards.

Mrs Gatward
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
31/10/2016

This was my second visit to the finca - my first was in November when the weather was poor, and I wanted to see what it was like in sunshine. I was not disappointed - I would recommend this holiday to everyone who enjoys walking, eating good food and drinking wine!

Mr Turnbull
Walking on La Gomera
31/10/2016

A fascinating island and a guide who was passionate about it. The hotel was beautifully designed, food was excellent and staff were lovely.

Mrs Melling
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
13/10/2016

Lovely holiday with great food. Elaine was an excellent guide and very informative.

The Finca was excellent, as were all meals. Our guide Elaine was fantastic,the walks not too long, the week was fun.

We had promised ourselves a return to the Finca since our first brilliant experience a few years ago. We were not disappointed. Fabulous food, walks, & company in a glorious spot....we will return.

Mr Monzani
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
03/06/2016

This was an excellent hotel and Sue and Gordon really looked after us. The food was great and the facilities were super. The walks were mostly good for us although quite testing for me in places. They were relatively short but in my opinion were greater than a 1 boot+ probably more like a 2 boot. My particular problem is that I suffer from severe vertigo and this resort is nearly 600 meters above sea level with very steep winding roads and many of the higher ones had no barriers. The local taxi drivers were really good but nobody should talk to them when driving because they use their hands to answer. Our guide Elaine was excellent and very understanding. However I backed off the last walk because it used 4x4 trucks to go high up, across winding narrow tracks and the walk was a bit hairy too. Don't get me wrong overall it was a great holiday.

Mr Dryburgh
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
26/05/2016

Had a great holiday. Eleven off us in the party and we all got on well together. No cliques. Wine tasting on the Sunday got us all going.

Mrs Broome
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
16/05/2016

FANTASTIC!!!

Our only criticism is that of alternative departure airport does make a huge difference to the cost. The airline we were booked with is a low cost budget alternative, but we would have done far better to book independently. Any perceived benefit by having a 'package' booking was lost when flights were changed and no explanation or option was offered by Headwater. This is our 6th or 7th walking holiday with Headwater so we obviously happy overall, but the personal touch has been lost over the last few years. It is now much more of a 'package' and we would point that out to friends considering a walking/activity holiday. We have organised our own holidays of a very similar nature and that results in at least a 25% reduction in cost along with the benefit of being an independent booking at the destination - i.e. a higher value individual to the hotel.

For a carefree holiday with attention to detail and comfort this ticked all the boxes.

Mr Thornton
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
26/04/2016

Relaxing, interesting and enjoyable blend of easy walking and sightseeing.

Returning!

Many thanks

I have been on Headwater walking holidays before (not for at least 8 years ). I now have a partner and I needed to convince him that the holiday would be enjoyable. My partner is in good health and fit but he is 82 years and he was nervous that the walking would be difficult. I persuaded him that a 1 boot would be fine but it was harder that I thought it would be.

When I first telephone Headwater to enquire about the holiday the telephone rep was most helpful so I suggested that my partner telephoned so that he could ask for the information he needed - this time there was a different rep and she was not so reassuring.

However we enjoyed the holiday and will attempt another with Headwater..

Mr Townsend
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
18/04/2016

Accommodation at Hotel Finca was super and everyone on holiday there were very friendly, especially the five Singapore ladies who we were walking and dining with. They were great company.

Mrs Randall
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
18/04/2016

This was a brilliant, relaxing holiday and a fantastic introduction to Spain which we had never visited before. Wonderful countryside, a gem of a hotel, lovely food and really helpful staff and walks guide. It couldn't have been better.

Mrs Kenward
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
06/04/2016

Excellent group holiday with good accommodation and very well organised. Wine included was good.

Varied program & walking harder than expected for one boot but lovely. Walking guide lovely & encouraging!

Ms Chandler
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
30/03/2016

A unique holiday experience that fully met our expectations. Would highly recommend

This was a very well planned, smoothly run holiday. All our connections/transfers/taxis operated like clockwork. We were very well catered for and the Finca

had everything we needed for an extremely rewarding and relaxing holiday. Our guide, Nick, was very attentive and inclusive and happy to impart his

knowledge of the area. We loved the challenge of walking in the morning and then plenty of time in the afternoon to chill around the beautiful grounds of the Finca - lovingly developed over the years by our hosts Sue and Gordon. All the staff were very accommodating and friendly. We couldn't have asked for more.

Thank you everyone involved.

The Finca el Cerrillo is a wonderful place to stay in a beautiful location. We were extremely well looked after and the organisation was seamless. The walks were, as stated in the brochure, very gentle and leisurely. We would definitely consider returning especially If some more challenging walks were on offer.





Mrs Bertels
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
15/03/2016

Excellent holiday, well described in the brochure. However I thought the walks were a bit short so there was quite a lot of free time at the Finca. While the Finca is a really lovely place it was a little remote so if you wanted to go into the village/town there was a very steep walk down the ravine and back up the other side. I am sure later in the season the Finca is a lovely place to stay with swimming pool and lots of outside sitting areas but in early March it was a bit chilly. I wasn't too keen on the wine tasting in the morning before a walk. We seemed to spend a lot of time eating. We only had picnic lunches on 2 days which meant a lot of food was provided both at lunchtime and in the evening. I would have been happy to have longer walks and more picnic lunches.

Mrs Auger
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
04/03/2016

The walks were varied and well within our ability, although we appreciated having a day off on the fourth day. The guides (Andreas and Javier) were very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna, geology and history of the island, which added enormously to our enjoyment. We couldn't fault the hotel (San Roque), and especially liked having a Jacuzzi bath to revive our muscles each evening, before dinner. The chef produced delicious and varied meals both on the set menu and the vegetarian alternative.

Mrs Merry
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
04/03/2016

This was our first Headwater holiday & we were impressed. The hotel is a real gem with impeccable service & wonderful food. Dietary requirements were known about by both hotel staff & our guides. Both guides were helpful & knowledgeable about the locality, flora, fauna etc. They also provided great picnic lunches. The idea to go to a local market one day to choose picnic items was a good one.

We had not visited Tenerife previously & being situated in the quiet town of Garachico was lovely. There was plenty to occupy us there on the free day. All in all this was a splendid holiday, the walks varied & interesting. We were only a small group, 2 couples only but we seemed to gel which is always a bonus. We really have no criticism to make. Wonderful & we'll book with Headwater again.

Mrs Woodruff
Walking on La Gomera
25/02/2016

Well organised holiday with an excellent local guide.

Mr Mattingly
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
25/02/2016

Excellent hotel & guides. One or two walks do require a head for heights (this was pointed out in brochure).

Mrs Harper
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
24/02/2016

A great experience with a young enthusiastic guide. The only disappointment was the weather.

Mrs Underwood
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
22/02/2016

Fabulous weeks walking holiday our guide Javier was brilliant each day was a fun filled day, great walking routes and with an extremely pleasant knowledgeable young guide.

Would recommend 100%

Mr Cross
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
22/02/2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this Headwater holiday, of which I have had many. Luckily our small group all got on well with each other - important for a guided holiday. You can rely on the excellent guide (Javier) and the excellent hotel San Roque, and Garachico is a pretty little coastal town. What you cannot rely on - in mid-February in Tenerife - is good weather for walking every day. Cloud and/or rain, plus high winds, are a real risk. Javier was intelligent and flexible, taking us back to the 'always dry' Teide National Park more than once, after we got a soaking on one lower altitude walk.Would go walking again - probably to another of the Canary Islands - but in April/May, not February.

Mrs Bowen
Walking on La Gomera
05/02/2016

An excellently run holiday in a beautiful area. Our guide was always prepared to go the extra mile to make our holiday a success. Walks were excellently prepared and led with extra visits such as to a banana plantation thrown in. He even took us to the market on the first walk day to show him what we all liked in our picnics which were amazing! He also avoided a long wait at the airport on our leaving day by taking us to a nearby beach unencumbered by our luggage and returning for us later. We recommend him very highly.

Mrs Cockram
Walking on La Gomera
05/02/2016

An excellent holiday all round. Everything was looked after for us both by Headwater and the local guide whose knowledge was exceptional on every subject and for whom nothing was too much trouble. Accommodation superb and just what was needed at the end of a day's walking.

Dr Simpson
Walking on La Gomera
04/02/2016

Wonderful trip and made even better by out guides detailed knowledge of the area and his ability to swap walking days to suit the conditions - stayed in the woods when cloud cover was low. Everything was wonderful except that we had no hot water in our room at 7 am (it got going by 7.40) and again at 6 pm. This was because our room was a long way from the centre of the hotel and / or the system couldn't cope with lots of people all wanting hot water at the same time. I raised the issue with reception twice and was assured that the hot water boiler came on at 7 am, but this certainly wasn't sufficiently early to supply us. Compeletly wonderful hotel in all other ways, so this was a pity. I would certainly recommend this holiday to anyone, but it's ceratinly 2 boot!

Mr Hirst
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
25/01/2016

Northern Tenerife is dramatic and beautiful. The walks were very varied, with stunning views and much of interest along the way with excellent, knowledgable local guides. Our hotel was charming and after a day of walking it was lovely to relax each evening round the pool and enjoy a delicious dinner.

Mrs Baron
Walking on La Gomera
04/12/2015

A very enjoyable holiday with excellent guiding and accomodation

An excellent holiday , helped by the weather!

Ms Wellsted
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
01/12/2015

Stress free excellence! I loved every minute of this holiday principally because all arrangements went super smoothly, the hotel staff, accommodation and location were way above my expectations. The week flew and the walking was thoroughly enjoyable. Would I go with Headwater holidays again? Absolutely.

Ms Findlay
Walking on La Gomera
01/12/2015

La Gomera is a largely unspoilt island with wonderful plants and stunning views. Great to learn so much about its history and natural history, enjoy lovely walking and sample local food. An excellent guide and good company from our fellow travellers. Would thoroughly recommend this trip!

Exceeded all expectations. Very relaxing. Party of 10 ideal size to get to know each other. Excellent introduction to Andalucia

Booking straightforward. Transfer to and from Malaga airport efficient. Great welcome at the Finca. Excellent food including local dishes. Food and wine from local source. The Finca is located in spectacular countryside enabling walks to be varied. Our guide Nick supplied us with information of the area-the history and customs of the local people, the fruit production on the hillsides-avocados, olives, grapes etc.

Mr Wilkinson
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
23/09/2015

An excellent holiday.



Why [in no particular order]

wonderful scenery and excellent walking routes

superb group of walkers - we all got on well together, all of us at a similar standard.

great accommodation with 2 very welcoming hosts and their staff

excellent meals at all times - at the Finca and in the villages

a very knowledgeable guide

well organised transport throughout the holiday

A wonderful holiday from start to finish, the accommodation surpassed our expectations and the food was some of the best we have had, especially in the Finca. The air of calm around the place made us relax from the first day, thanks to Sue, Gorden and the rest of their lovely staff. The walks were well led by Nick who was very knowledgeable and made the point of talking to everyone in the group and making sure all were OK as some days it was very hot. Would recommend Headwater to friends without any hesitation, thank you.

Mr Schafer
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
10/06/2015

As others have said in reviews, excellent hotel, hosts and food, The walks were relatively easy with very nice scenery,

We did this holiday two years ago and loved it - hence the decision to return. We think the new programme makes it even better, especially in hot weather, which we had! The mix of walking, visits and sightseeing exactly hit the spot for us. Gordon & Sue are, as ever, wonderful hosts; Jenny was a first-rate guide; and the local drivers were also first-class. Well done to all at the Finca - we cannot fault your excellent service, food and attention to detail!

Mrs Lipscomb
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
12/05/2015

Sue and Gordon offer a wonderful warm welcome and the friendly informal atmosphere at the Finca is very relaxing

Mrs Thomas
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
22/04/2015

There had been comments that the walking on this holiday was too challenging, but I would have preferred longer walks.

Mr Clothier
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
22/04/2015

Excellent, well organised holidays with good company, first class accommodation and guides - and above all, personal service that cares!

An excellent location, good walks with knowledgeable guides who paid close attention to our safety, charming hosts at hotel and comfortable rooms with excellent food in the hotel and in nearby bars/restaurants - arranged by hotel

Lovely new experience. I enjoyed the variety. Nice not to have to start walks before 10.00 a.m.

The group were great and we all got on very well. Lovely having a leader, who told you about things. Wish you had more guided holidays.

They all said they preferred Headwater, because of the standards of accomodation, so lots of good quality hotels will be great for other holidays.

We all agreed that we are less keen on the three stars!

It was nice eating in sometimes and out at other times, and so you never knew what interesting thing was going to be provided next.

They were great walks and I loved everything about the holiday. We all liked the length of the holiday aswell. ie a week.

Mrs Walter
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
26/03/2015

The best Headwater holiday yet. Fantastic Guide, leading at just the right pace and giving lots of local information about his wonderful country.

Mrs White
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
23/03/2015

A very enjoyable week at an excellent hotel with delicious food and friendly staff. The local guide was charming, knowledgeable and helpful. The walking was interesting and very varied.

Mrs Mendoza
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
23/03/2015

Wonderful week spent in Tenerife. Javier was a great guide, He was so knowledgeable about the volcanoes,trees,wild flowers and he bought a wide variety of

food for the picnics!

The Hotel San Roque was a jewel of a hotel. All the staff were so cheerful and helpful.The food was delicious every day. The hotel was so calm and peaceful.

Ms Tennant
Walking on La Gomera
18/03/2015

La Gomera is a beautiful island - greener than some of the other Canary Islands. The parador is a magnificent hotel with a lovely garden. I was lucky to have enjoyed a holiday with a really good group of people. The walks were tough owing to the precipitous nature of the terrain but I feel very fit and healthy now!

Mrs Barker
Walking on La Gomera
16/03/2015

With headwater you most certainly get what you pay for. Great organisation, accommodation, walks and fantastic guide. We had fun, ate well and felt fitter at the end of the week, brilliant. Thank you.

Mr Farebrother
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
16/03/2015

The combination of a small group (only four of us) and a really enthusiastic young guide in Javi made this a lovely holiday. The weather was disappointingly cool for Tenerife and it is not the cheapest of your holidays but the standard of hotel and cuisine for a walking holiday was much higher than we are used to....

Mr Johnson
Walking on La Gomera
13/03/2015

Good points: Loved La Gomera, stunning scenery, good choice of routes. Our guide was excellent - friendly, helpful, knowledgeable etc.. Transfers, minibuses and all arrangements were looked after. Hotel was characterful and had lovely gardens. Food was good. Rooms were spacious.



Not so good: We were not impressed with the catering arrangements on the Thomson flight. On the outbound flight food was offered at about 10.30 - we had only recently had breakfast and our next meal was at 9pm. Inbound the food available was mostly junk - healthier options were not available. Toasties tasted of cardboard. We did not think the hotel merited its fourth star. The rooms were a bit tired - poorly lit; shutter would not close; french window jammed; shower leaked onto floor; etc.. Service in the restaurant was slow (on the last night when we wanted an early night dinner took 2 1/2 hours!

Mrs Hampshire
Walking on La Gomera
02/03/2015

Unfortunately the weather wasn't good. There was a blanket of low lying mist, rain or cloud every time we left the coast for the mountains which meant we didn't have the views. Fortunately the group and Lilly, the guide, were excellent.

Mr Naylor
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
20/02/2015

Our holiday in Tenerife was beyond our expectations. Javier, the guide, could not be more helpful. For example he gave up an evening ( and half a night) to take us to the Carnival and provided us with suitable costumes! The walks were a superb balance, each different and of consistent high quality. The hotel was first class. The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was memorably good. There was only one other couple on the holiday and we got on with them very well indeed. All in all a memorable holiday. We will be back.

Mrs Harris
Walking on La Gomera
03/02/2015

This holiday matched excellent, varied walking, beautiful scenery and wonderful food in the beautiful parador. Lunches at typical restaurants on two days were a superb idea and the unique experience was much appreciated.

Mr Langley
Walking on La Gomera
03/02/2015

Excellently organised and guided. Fascinating island to visit.

Mis Logue
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
03/02/2015

Holiday was a great break in January from depressing UK grey skies. It was also warmer than UK at about 15-16C. Tenerife presented several different landscapes, all of which were fascinating. It did help if you liked the colour black - I had never seen such huge lava flows. Hotel San Roque was really good, v good breakfasts and dinners and the picnic lunches produced by Juan Miguel, our guide, were lovely, comprising local, fresh ingredients.

Mrs Scott
Walking on La Gomera
08/12/2014

On the whole a very good holiday but the two lunches were unnecessary and pretty awful! We would have preferred to have had just picnics which were delicious

Headwater response:

Dear Mrs Scott, Thank you for taking the time to complete your post-holiday questionnaire. It was lovely to see that you had an enjoyable holiday in La Gomera. I have passed on your feedback regarding the lunches to the programme manager; she will discuss your recommendations with the local guide to ensure the meals provided are of the standard our customers expect, thank you for your constructive comments. We look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Lisa

An invigorating holiday in an excellent and very enjoyable location.

Ms Roberts
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
05/11/2014

We had a lovely week in the mountains. We loved coming 'home' to the Finca after our days walking. Christine's cooking was an inspiration and we enjoyed our evening meals enormously. Jenny's guiding was safe and interesting and she gauged the pace of the walks perfectly. Sue, Gordon and Alison organised everything perfectly and all arrangements went like clockwork. We did not need to think about anything-wonderful! Thank you to Mari our taxi driver who negotiated the bends and hills expertly without making me feel sick.

NOTE : Did not stay at Pousada Delmonte completed in error !



Finca and hosts ( Sue and Roger ) was excellent . Difficult to appreciate the countryside as most walks were steep climbs and descents .consequently most time was spent looking at footing ! Would have preferred more walking on flat ....but I guess that's Spain !

Mrs Gajraj
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
31/05/2014

Breathtaking scenery for our walks with a friendly, knowledgeable guide. Then, back to the Finca- a real gem of a hotel, nestling in the hills amongst typical white villages- for a swim before an excellent evening meal. On three nights we were taken to local restaurants where the food, though very good, still couldn't compete with the Finca. Sue, Gordon and Sybil (the dog) are wonderful hosts - no wonder they have so many visitors who return year after year !

Main concern was the grading of the walking routes, I run 10 miles each week, fitness is a priority , but found the gradients challenging as did many group members, ascents and descents.Thursdays walk was gentle and everyone enjoyed it more as we were able to take in the views , flowers ,without having our eyes glued to the terrain in case of fall, stumble, several of the group fell on previous walks, not what you want from a holiday.

The group dynamics were excellent and much laughter was shared, the idea of inhouse and restaurant meals, tapis lunches was the perfect mix. We did enjoy our holiday very much.

Very welcoming owners in hotel in a beautiful area of Spain

Mrs Johnson
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
30/04/2014

We were fantastically fortunate with the weather, the organisation was excellent and the Finca was a superb base for the walks. It is easy to see why visitors return several times - walkers and non-walkers alike. Our travel arrangements were good and Jenny, our guide, fun and informative. Food at the finca was exceptional and the atmosphere was a great balance of friendliness and conversation and peaceful relaxation. This was a beautiful time to visit with all the Spring flowers. Having tickets for the Alhambra and having transport arranged was a real plus - especially during Holy week.

Mr Lambert
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
26/04/2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at the Finca el Cerillo and our hosts Sue and Gordon could not have been more helpful and considerate. The location, high on a ridge, gave wonderful views of the steep, rugged valleys with white villages clinging to the crests and in the distance the Mediterranean. Our bedroom was large, the bed equally so and very comfortable and the tiled bathroom had underfloor heating-great! The food at the Finca and the local restaurants was very good and the wines at the Finca first class. The walking was tough, lots of steep ascents on rocky paths. After the first morning we took the gentler option accompanied by Rose a super local guide. We hope to visit the Finca el Cerillo again.

The Finca is a terrific destination for people who wish to enjoy rural Spain but the experience is heightened by the quality of the hospitality provided by Sue, Gordon, David and Christine. Their welcoming and informative approach, and the eye for detail, guarantees a good experience and, combined with the quality of the guides (principally Jenny), ensures a great holiday.

If you're looking for a completely stress-free holiday then book with Headwater. I didn't have to think about any arrangements for the week as they were all taken care of. The finca is the ultimate retreat and Sue, Gordon and Jenny were all outstanding in their welcome and guidance. I can't wait to go back and will use Headwater again for another trip.

Mrs Carter
Walking on La Gomera
14/04/2014

The highlight of the holday was the excellent local guide Ricardo and the Parador hotel on La Gomera. However our experience of the flight booking and travel between La Gomera and Tenerfife was very poor. We arrived at Gatwick airport check-in to find that we had been booked in for the wrong year - 2015 instead of 2014. We had also been told the wrong travel information in Tenerife and so had not taken a direct flight from Edinburgh to Tenerife south which made the journey much longer than necessary. When we arrived at Tenerfie South Airport we were told that we had 5 hours to wait until the next ferryto La Gomera and so spent hours waiting around in the airport. The connections on the return journey were also poor with a lot of unnecessary waiting around.

Mr Newbery
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
13/04/2014

I think that the Hotel Finca el Cerillo is a delightful location, with a wonderfully warm welcome by the owners Sue and Gordon. The rooms are all individually presented, and the mals provided in house were excellent and on other nights the local restaurants used were very good. The walking is guided by Jenny who maintains a steady pace that anyone with modest levels of fitness should be able to maintain while spotting out all sorts of flora and fauna.

I would not hesitate to recommmend this hotel to other travellers.

My one caution is that the some of the walking is at the upper end of a 2 boot grading.

Mr Harding
Walking on La Gomera
29/03/2014

La Gomera is a very mountainous island and is a 'two and a half boot' experience and not for the unfit walker. Because of the terrain and complexity of the walks a guide with local knowledge is essential, as is walking gear for all eventualities. A very rewarding experience and one not to be missed.

Mrs Ritchie
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
26/03/2014

Setting,food and walking were superb. Gordon and Sue were exceptional hosts and Christine's food deserved a rosette!

Mrs Quincey
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
26/03/2014

Excellent hotel and fantastic food, very friendly staff, taxis arranged to local restaurants, super walking with a great guide, lovely views in the hills and very quiet location. Only drawback really is that the hotel is a good walk from the nearest villages and towns, so you can't pop out after a walk to have a look around or do a bit of shopping unless you use a taxi, or get the boots out again. The map provided for the holiday wasn't any use for walking - good job we had a guide!

Mr Longshaw
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
26/03/2014

The Finca, the base for the 'Secrets of Andalucia' holiday is worth more than five stars! The welcome, friendliness of the owners an staff, and the 'house party atmosphere contribute to making this one of the best Headwater Holidays we have taken. Of course we went for the walking (and to get away from the cold weather) and this turned out to be pretty good as well. Jenny was the main guide, who was helped out by Rose when he walk was split into two levels. Both were excellent in their knowledge of the local flora, fauna and routes. The meals provided at the Finca were superb, and he packed lunches extremely filling. As part of the package two lunches and three diners were taken at local restaurants and this enabled us to sample local cooking aswell.

Overall a superb holiday that ticked all the boxes for us!

Mr Batty
Walking on La Gomera
25/03/2014

Good walking, very helpful guide and excellent company. Unseasonable rain meant that our guide did not take us on one of the listed walks, but he was good at chasing the sun!

Mr Lewis
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
22/03/2014

Great accommodation and food, excellent walking, wonderful company. The guide, though not local, had acquainted himself thoroughly with the walks and looked after us superbly.

Mrs Stewart
Walking on La Gomera
01/03/2014

Good island venue for interesting walking in warm weather, with good accomodation and guide.

Mrs Mendoza
Walking on La Gomera
15/02/2014

Great walks, dramatic scenery, and a wonderful, tranquil parador.

Mrs Spencer
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
10/02/2014

An Excellent winter break despite the unseasonably cool / wet weather in an excellent hotel.

Mr Whyler
Walking on La Gomera
07/02/2014

The walks did not do justice to the beauty of the island. The fire damage from 2012 still sadly evident. Timings of flights and ferries far from ideal.

Mr Cross
Walking on La Gomera
01/02/2014

In late January 2014 we had exceptionally poor weather and this, plus long minibus rides to start points of walks, reduced our enjoyment of the spectacular scenery of La Gomera. Our guide/rep. Roger, did a good job in the circumstances. The Parador was excellent. The long gaps in the transfers are a negative but again Roger did his best to keep us entertained.

Mr Gair
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
25/01/2014

Beautiful location, great holel, excellent walks in a varied and magnificent setting.

Mr Rowlinson
Walking on La Gomera
18/01/2014

Good fun, though walking was harder than we expected having not been on a walking holiday before

Mrs Williams
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
31/12/2013

Very good. Guide coped admirably with adverse weather conditions.

Mr Hensman
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
03/11/2013

We had a wonderful week at the Finca. It's a beautiful location and the hotel owners Sue and Gordon and their staff are great as is the food with a balance of eating in and out at local restaurants every other day.



The grading as leisurely is a little surprising as although the pace is not relentless the terrain is a little challenging at times and the week is packed with activity. That said it is of course not obligatory to undertake every walk or activity. The finca is a wonderful place just to relax.



On our week we had the benefit of Sue Bishop, a professional photographer. All took advantage of her great knowledge and skills which were freely and generously given.



We intend to revisit the Finca in the future.

I couldn't fault the location, the ambience, seclusion and comfort of the hotel, and how well we were looked after by the hosts, Sue and Gordon. They treated us like friends and bade us farewell as such. My only complaint is that the walking was tougher than advertised. I don't do vertigo-inducing walks and the last day gave me 2 hours of fear and feeling very uncomfortable and I had to be patiently guided by a very understanding guide. Being classed as a leisurely walking holiday, is the reason I chose this holiday, so I feel let down and misled by this description. I questioned the guide about the classification and she understood it to be classed as moderate. It doesn't say this on your website!

I will no doubt take another holiday with you, but if I feel misled the next time, it will be the last time I choose Headwater.

Mrs Woodward
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
30/10/2013

Welcoming hotel and great walking guide. Exactly as described. Level of walking was rather more than leisurely though. The group decided that it was more of a Moderate grade.

A wonderful holiday, but be aware that although the pace of walking may be leisurely the terrain is very hilly, making the walks moderate rather than easy.

Mr Wardrop
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
25/09/2013

Lovely accomodation with hosts who went out of their way to make you feel like family friends. One of the best guides (Jenny) we have ever had on walking holidays.

This was one of the best holidays we have had - hotel, walks, guide etc were more than excellent. Food at the Finca was worthy of accolades! A beautiful part of Spain to explore. Overall a holiday of a lifetime!

Dr Clements
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
24/06/2013

we had a wonderful week's walking holiday in Andalucia. Our hotel finca el cerrillo was a small friendly hotel with each of the rooms with individual character and charm. The gardens were beautiful with many little seating areas both in sun and shade. Lovely pool to soothe the aching muscles after day hikes.Wonderful dinners at the hotel and local restaurants.Walks set off not too early in the morning and our very experienced guide Jenny new the walks inside out and told us local history, the names of flora and fauna and never faded in her enthusiasm.She looked after us individually in the group and tailored the walk and stops for info chats to suite everyone. The weeks holiday lived up to out expectations and more! Richard and Yvonne Clements

As other reviewers have noticed, the Finca el Cerillo is a gem. Gordon and Sue are great hosts; the location is stunning; and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts or the staff. The hotel is superb and the mix of local restaurants and eating in gave us an excellent mix of really enjoyable food. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the views from the various patios are exceptional. The walking guides (Jenny & Rose) were also very good with a relaxed manner and a store of local knowledge. They responded well to the varying walking levels and needs of the group. This was unquestionably one of the best Headwater holidays that we have had.

Owners, staff and guides at Hotel Finca el Cerrillo go the extra mile in all ways to ensure guests have a wonderful experience. The hotel is remote, but taxis are used to get Headwater guests to restaurants & to/from walks. Personally we recommend the 1-Boot option weeks, as this is hilly country and weather can be warm. Even the hotel is built on a hillside with many little oases of calm corners. Wonderful scenery & views; fantastic meals; great guides; and such great hosts.

This was an excellent holiday, the accomodation and hosts/guides were superb.BUT

The grading was classed as soft/leisurely which it definately was not.This is misleading.

We did the 'Vistas of Valencia' last year which was classed as moderate. This was the same level of walking.

Mrs Langleben
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
24/04/2013

Without doubt, Finca el Cerrillo, has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in with Headwater. Nothing was too much trouble for Sue and Gordon. They are the perfect hosts and it was more like being part of a house party than being a paying customer.

Our guide, Jenny, was good fun as well as being excelletn at her job.

Ms Stewart
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
13/04/2013

We had a wonderful trip. One or two of the walks were at the top end of our comfort zone however and we'd probably not do another two boot with Headwater. Also, given the small amount of involvement Headwater staff had once we got to our destination, I think the cut they take is quite high (ie. our accommodation provides their own packages for a significantly lower price even taking flights into account).

Headwater response:
Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Andalucia, although we are sorry you feel the pricing of the holiday could be improved. On this particular holiday, the tour we offer is not the same as what the hotel offer direct to the public, therefore the prices do differ. We include tickets and transport to/from the Alhambra and we include wine with meals for example. That said, we want to keep our prices as competitive as possible as will certainly bear your comments in mind when looking at the costings for next year.

Many thanks again for taking the time to contact us with your feedback.

Mr Richards
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
13/04/2013

The Finca was exceptional, the walking fantastic and the guide (Jenny) was professional, well informed and great fun.

Mis Phillips
White Villages of Andalucia Walk
14/03/2013

I loved the holiday, the hotel was exceptionally good in the warm welcome, helpfulness of hosts and all staff, good food, arrangements for transport and meals out, and the character of the hotel and beautiful location. Visit to Alhambra and Granada also brilliant. Inspite of rain excellent holiday, one to remember

Mrs Stewart
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
09/03/2013

Good holiday in good location

Mr Maher
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
26/02/2013

As always we thoroughly enjoyed our experience with Headwater. The group gelled from the start and our walks were enhanced by Roger, our guide. He chose wisely and well, taking into account weather conditions and the capabilities of the group. This area of Tenerife was a revelation.

Mrs Loken
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
26/02/2013

Although the overall holiday was very enjoyable, the frequent bad weather (which seems to be normal in the North of Tenerife) meant that some of the walks were not possible. The alternatives of visiting lava caves was interesting, but gave us less walking time. The excellent hotel, however, was located in Garachica on the North coast, which necessitated long drives on precipitous winding roads at the beginning and end of each day. Some people found this problematical, even though our guide was a very safe and careful driver.

The hotel food was of a generally high standard, and elegantly presented, but vegetables of any kind were absolutely minimal. The wine offered was very good.

Mr Clarke
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
26/02/2013

A most enjoyable holiday with a lovely group of people walking through impressive landscapes.



Roger, the guide, was excellent and took us to visit beautiful places after the walks. This was a bonus. He also adapted the itinerary according to the weather.



Rogers partner made very nice salad pack lunches and made sure mine were gluten free.



The hotel and food were excellent.

Pro PruetzelThomas
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
26/02/2013

A wonderful, expertly guided walking holiday in the varied and dramatic landscapes of Tenerife

Mr Gingell
Secrets of Tenerife Walk
02/02/2013

Be cautious as regards the grading assessment of walks and be aware that walking profiles in the brochure can be misleading (the Baracan ridge walk in particular omitted a very severe climb at the beginning of the walk).



Also be aware that the current guide does not speak good Spanish so may struggle in an emergency.



Being an old manor house built around 2 courtyards means that hotel rooms are gloomy and can be stuffy, whilst public areas can be very chilly early in the year. Food is very good (though lacking in vegetables!), but there is limited indoor dining space and eating round the swimming pool requires warm clothing.