Feefo - Independent reviews
1-800-267-3347

Request a Brochure | Newsletter | Contact us

Customer reviews: Activity holidays in France

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted to our website, so that people can make an informed decision based on past experiences before heading off on holiday. We don’t edit the reviews, the only thing we do is proofread them and alter any typos, where necessary, to ensure they are easy to read for everyone. All reviews will be published (except in certain extreme circumstances), and a member of the Headwater team will respond to any constructive criticisms/comments under the reviews, at their discretion. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Mrs Boxall
Brittany Activities
11/09/2018

The highlight of our holiday was the wonderful care & attention from our guide/rep, Steve. He was full of good advice & suggestions & nothing too much trouble.

Dinan is a lovely town to visit. I recommend the St Louis restaurant & the outdoor swimming pool for anyone who enjoys that.

Mrs Burrows
Dordogne Activities
16/08/2018

A super family break with relaxed canoeing and more challenging cycling. The pool at every hotel was very welcome, the bag transfer service slick and efficient and nothing was too much trouble for the reps. Chateau de Monrecour was a particular highlight, as was trying the via ferrata above the Dordogne!

Mr Stephens
Brittany Activities
31/07/2018

My wife and I had an enjoyable holiday (mid-July 2018) staying in Dinan exploring the town, walking and cycling.

From our experience, future holidaymakers should note that:

1.The hotel, Hotel d’Avaugour (3 star), locks its doors at 9.00pm and sometimes up to an hour earlier. Access after this time is by code and keypad, and allows guests into the lobby and the rooms; the bar, lounge and garden (a prime feature of the hotel) are not accessible once the hotel is locked.

2.During weekdays, the owner seems to run the hotel on his own; he both staffs the reception desk and puts out the breakfast. As there is no cooked or hot food provided at breakfast, it only requires stored or freshly-delivered items to be laid out. At weekends (busier times), there seems to be two part-time staff members in addition to the owner.

3.As the owner carefully manages what he provides, three times during our 7-night stay he had to go, when requested,to a local bakery to supplement basic the breakfast items eg bread and croissants.

4.All the staff, when available, were friendly and very helpful.

5.The information provided notes for two cycle rides and four walks, two of which required a taxi ride and two were covered by the cycle routes. If you only want to walk or cycle, be prepared to find your own routes to supplement those covered by the notes.

Headwater response:
Thank you so much for your feedback and for sharing your holiday experience. We are very pleased to hear that you found the hotel staff helpful, and we've been assured by the hotelier that should guests wish to enjoy the bar area and gardens they will remain open for them.
Many thanks again and I do hope we can welcome you on a Headwater holiday again soon.

Mr Hayes
Dordogne Activities
30/07/2018

The holiday overall was very good, with some excellent and some distinctly average hotels. The holiday overall is about the activities and the surroundings that you are in and in this respect the holiday was excellent. The reps were excellent and no complaints there at all. The quality of the equipment was excellent and the introduction to the use of was also excellent. Two things to note, the walk from the river to the hotel in Souillac does take the a while and although flat, carrying all the equipment and if you have young ones is a task in hot temperatures. Secondly the position of the hotel in Sarlat is stunning for the views but is overall poor and is situated as stated out of town. After a hard day walking or cycling, to walk into town and and back (back is uphill and 2.8 k ) is not easy in heat, and the hotel said that it was almost impossible to get taxis to do the short distance (for them) to and from the hotel. These two things aside the holiday is a good one and we would reccomend to others and Headwater are a good company, we have had two holidays with them now and would use again. To clarify the earlier statement about some of the hotels being average, we have had several of this type of holiday with other companies as well as Headwater and they all seem to throw in one hotel that is a bit of a let down, we are now used to this and it becomes a bit of a game to guess which it will be. As with this type of holiday you are only in one place for a couple of nights before moving on you can put up with a poorish hotel as you are not spending that much time there, but if you like top notch all the time then research the hotels closely.

Mr Curry
Brittany Activities
20/07/2018

Lovely town. Excellent rep. Long climb back up to hotel/town from port.Hotel limited and closed doors with no reception (just code) or bar after 9pm. Increased number of suggested walks and rides would be helpful

Mr Stevens
Dordogne Activities
01/02/2018

Thoroughly enjoyable week of mixed canoeing and cycling. We had intended walking days too, but found there was so much we wanted to see cycling was the only way to encompass as much as we could. Canoeing down the Dordogne was truly serene and magical. Most accomodation and food really excellent.

Mr Erdal
Dordogne Activities
02/01/2018

Dordogne is utterly beautiful, medieval chateaux rising from open woodland dotted with ancient villages. We hit a heatwave, so cycled rather than walked. Excellent maps (but read their key!) allowed us to discover our own way sometimes. The two days canoeing — we chose an open two-person canoe — were a revelation: clean river, beds of long green weeds flowering at the surface, home to dragonflies; real bliss, with occasional bursts of not-really-threatening adrenalin as we avoided shallows and bridge pillars. (Hard-working) Tim and Jude created a lovely laid-back, friendly, helpful feel for the 8 days. Hotels and food were superb.

Mrs Suddes
Dordogne Activities
20/10/2017

professionally organised, good hotels in the main with excellent food. Local tour staff were first class, Jude and Tim were thoughtful, considerate and extremely helpful in every way. They provided excellent service and delivered a slick, personal service. The cycle routes were well mapped and very sensible quiet roads providing superb countryside views and charming tiny villages. The river canoe trips down the Dordogne were a highlight, so peaceful and the most relaxed activity we have ever done.

Mr Browning
Dordogne Activities
29/09/2017

It was a great opportunity to take part in activities I might not otherwise have tried. You can only get the magnificent views of the Dordogne river that we had from a canoe.

Mr Warrell
Dordogne Activities
08/09/2017

We liked the multi activity holiday, walking, cycling and canoeing.

It would be good if you offer more of these type of holidays.



On the last day we did the cycling. It is quite a long day and at the end the hotel is up a very steep and long hill. We felt it was a bit too steep to be enjoyable.

Once there the hotel is a little bit disappointing, especially after the Château for the two nights before.

Everything else was good.

Miss Hillier
Dordogne Activities
30/08/2017

A relaxing holiday with positive together time as a family - nothing gets everyone working together as well as arguing more - than getting lost in the Dordogne countryside an hour before lunch !

Mrs Romanus
Dordogne Activities
08/08/2017

We last took on a headwater holiday15 years. Now we have an 8 year old daughter and 11 year old son. The dordogne was lush, warm and beautiful. The reps were helpful and knowledgable. The hotels were very french with great food. The activities were well balanced with relaxation at the pool. Super holiday i hope we dont wait another 15 years.





Mr Stocks
Dordogne Activities
07/09/2016

Headwater provide gently active (this interpretation depends on one's level of fitness and expectation!) holidays in comfortable, interesting hotels and places. The restaurants vary, some are better than others, but in general they reach a very satisfactory standard. I think they are a great way to spend time exploring an area but with always the fall back of a pleasant hotel.

Mrs Saxby
Dordogne Activities
23/08/2016

As a family of six, headwater is a great holiday choice for us. We enjoy spending the time together and the activities give us a shared focus and shared sense of achievement. The children age between 16 and eight, and they all enjoyed the holiday. It challenged their palates as well as their legs, as most of the hotels don't offer kids menus, but this worked out fine and they all discovered things they didn't know they might like. Canoeing was harder work than expected, but such a beautiful way to see the river. I really love headwater holidays, this is our third time and it definitely won't be our last. Now that all the children are confidently able to cycle we will try some more ambitious ones next time.

Dr Monte
Dordogne Activities
19/08/2016

We had a wonderful mixed activity holiday cycling and canoeing down the Dordogne knowing we had excellent food and drink to look forward to after a hard days work. Pure bliss !!

Mrs Moss
Dordogne Activities
17/08/2016

We have just returned from an excellent 10 days in France, having never been to this area before, we now are keen to return! The walking and cycling was definitely 2 boot, but worth the climbs. And we really enjoyed the relaxed canoeing down The Dordogne. All hotels were excellent with fabulous food. Sarlet is very pretty and well worth the extra night, although it is a long climb up back to the hotel from the town.

Excellent holiday.

Mr Dransfield
Dordogne Activities
06/10/2015

Excellent, good location, helpful reps, fantastic hotels, good food, well maintained equipment with all necessary ancillaries. It all makes to an active but stress free holiday.

Mr Dale
Dordogne Activities
11/09/2015

Fantastic. The whole experience was wonderful. Travel was smooth - the 'local reps (Keith and Claire) were lovely, informed, committed and really, really nice couple. The itinerary was easy to follow and worked very well. Food superb and hotels great. thank you

Mr Crockford
Dordogne Activities
17/08/2015

A brilliant and well thought out holiday, with super routes and excellent hotels - well worth adding extra days to.

Mrs Middleton
Dordogne Activities
11/08/2015

The holiday offered varied activities which were not too strenuous, although you needed some degree of fitness to enjoy them. The support offered by the local reps was excellent as was the food at the various hotels.

Mr Wilson
Dordogne Activities
11/08/2015

An excellent family activity holiday with a lovely range of hotels and universally excellent food. Chateau de Monrecour was a particular highlight. Look at the cycling routes carefully and plan the day especially with regard to food stops and water refills.

Mr Robertson
Dordogne Activities
04/08/2015

Excellent Holiday with easy walking and kayaking

Dr McGeorge
Dordogne Activities
31/07/2015

A wonderfully relaxing holiday featuring the opportunity to mix a range of outdoor activities in a beautiful part of France with the chance to explore its towns, villages, sights and cuisine.



{