Feefo - Independent reviews
1-800-567-6286

News | E‑news | Brochures | Blog | Contact us

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

      from 31 reviews

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

  • Truly beautiful mountain trails through the Triglav National Park; discover the secrets of Slovenia
  • Masses of wildflowers: gentians, zois' bellflower, Triglav rose
  • Dramatic alpine vistas, jagged limestone peaks, azure Soca River and miles of unspoiled countryside
  • Traditional cuisine; influences from Italy, Austria, Croatia and Hungary
  • Holiday typeSelf-guided walking
  • Duration8 nights, hotel-to-hotel
  • Activity level
  • Excellent for
  • From $1780 per person, tour only
  • Holiday details
  • Departs Saturdays from 5 Aug '17 to 23 Sep '17
  • All continental breakfasts and 6 evening meals.
  • Managed by Headwater appointed agent
  • Sustainability rating: 88%
  • Route notes and maps provided
  • Luggage transfers between hotels
  • Walking transfers
  • Train tickets to Bohinjska Bistrica


We're here to help

If you've any questions about this holiday call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 , or email info@breakaway-adventures.com

This self-guided, hotel-to-hotel holiday introduces you to Slovenia; with Italy to the east, Austria to the south, Croatia to the north and Hungary to the west, it really is at the very centre of European culture. You'll explore the Julian Alps including the Triglav National Park encompassing Slovenia's highest peak, Mount Triglav (2864m), which all Slovenians see as their patriotic duty to climb during their lifetime. Following well-marked alpine paths you'll discover jagged limestone peaks, flower-filled meadows, thundering waterfalls and half-timbered mountain villages.

Starting in the charming alpine village of Kranjska Gora, from where you'll enjoy sweeping vistas over the Austrian and Italian Alps, your route crosses the mighty Vrsic Pass into the hidden Trenta Valley, a part of Slovenia few travellers ever see. You continue along the course of the beautiful Soca River, one of the cleanest in Europe, where marbled trout swim in the crystalline turquoise waters. In Bovec, on the Italian border, the area is littered with reminders from Napoleonic and WW1 battles, including the dramatic Kluze Fortress. Moving south to Kobarid, the landscape has a more Mediterranean feel. The final section of your walk takes you to picturesque Lake Bohinj, in the shadow of Mount Triglav - one of Slovenia's largest lakes and a great place to relax at the end of your week.

You stay in a charming selection of hotels, with friendly hoteliers on hand to give you an insight into their wonderful country. Six of your dinners are included and are a celebration of local alpine cuisine; expect to be offered fresh trout from the rivers or risotto with black truffle.

Read more about this holiday in Stumpy's Blog.

Day-by-day itinerary



Walking information

You follow mountain paths and forest trails, sometimes at altitude. Walkers should be confident and used to uneven terrain. Due to the frequent suspension bridges, this holiday is unsuitable if you have a fear of heights. Walking boots are essential.


Day 1 - Arrive in Kranjska Gora

Arrive at your hotel in Kranjska Gora in time for dinner.(Staying at Hotel Lipa, Half Board)

Day 2 - Kranjska Gora Circular Walk 12km/7.5mi/3hr or 18km/11.5mi/5.5hr

Gently ascending through dense chestnut forests you arrive at a high plateau with views extending right across the Italian and Austrian Alps - truly breathtaking. After lunch in the Martuljek Gorge, it's a lovely stroll through meadows dotted with orchids, narcissi and blue gentian as you head back down to Kranjska Gora at the entrance to the Triglav National Park.(Staying at Hotel Lipa,Half Board)

Day 3 - Kranjska Gora to Bovec 12km/7.5mi/4hr

Today starts with a breathtaking drive up the Vrsic Pass (1611m) from where your path follows the turquoise Soca River as it cascades through limestone gorges; look out for Trenta brown butterflies. After lunch the Trenta mountain range, comprising the towering peaks of Javorscek, Svinjak and Romsom, frames the horizon as you head across to the Jelincic Refuge for a refreshing drink.(Staying at Hotel Dobra Vila, Half Board)

Day 4 - At Bovec

The mountain range of Bovec was fiercely fought over in WW1 and today's optional route follows part of the 'Walk of Peace' dating back to the 1920s. You climb through bluebells, primula and auricula past the dramatic Koritnica Gorge to Kluze Fortress, built into the mountain above a twisted ravine and a panoramic picnic spot. Return to your hotel and relax on the alpine terrace with amazing views before dinner.(Stayign at Hotel Dobra Vila, Half Board)

Day 5 - Bovec to Kobarid 20km/12.5mi/6hr

Crossing first a carpet of brightly coloured wildflowers underneath the Kanin mountain range, you reach the mighty 106m Boka Waterfall. You then walk alongside the Soca River to Trnovo, a stunning gorge with crystal-clear waters. A Napoleonic path leads into Kobarid where you spend the next two nights.(Staying at Masera Apartments, Half Board)

Day 6 - At Kobarid

It's hard to imagine this little town witnessed one of the largest battles in history and one which inspired Hemingway's 'A Farewell to Arms'. There's an optional historical walking trail past the old Austro-Hungarian defences and Italian war memorial, offering breathtaking valley views.(Staying at Masera Apartments, Half Board)

Day 7 - Kobarid to Bohinj 9km/6mi/2hr

Today starts with a railway journey to Bohinj, with views as far as the Gulf of Venice, to follow a circular path around the lake. (Staying at Hotel Jezero, Half Board)

Day 8 - At Bohinj

Today you could perhaps hire a rowing boat or swim in Lake Bohinj's clear azure waters, or for the more energetic, there's a great walk up the narrow Mostnica Gorge over Devil's Bridge (only the virtuous can pass, as the bridge can sense bad intentions) to the Mostnica Waterfall. there's time for a dip in the hotel's indoor pool before dinner.(Staying at Hotel Jezero, Half Board)

Day 9 - Leave Slovenia

Where you stay

During your holiday you stay at the following hotels. If you'd like to extend your time at any of these or, if you'd like to enhance your stay with an upgraded room, just let us know at the time of booking. You can call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 to discuss accommodation options.

Hotel Lipa, Kranjska Gora (****)

Hair dryer icon NEARBY:

The Hotel Lipa is an alpine hotel in the centre of Kranjska Gora. The hotel is small and comfy with just 11 rooms and has a sun terrace to relax on. Evening meals are taken in the hotel restaurant.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Room upgrades are not available at this hotel.

Please contact us for extra night prices.

Hotel Dobra Vila, Bovec (****)

NEARBY:

This delightful hotel is a real find and just a short walk from the heart of Bovec. There is a garden and terrace where on warm evenings you can take a pre-dinner drink or even dine with spectacular mountain views. To complement the restaurant there is also a well stocked wine cellar. The library has comfy chairs (a log fire will be lit on colder evenings, early and late season) and the roof top terrace and observatory are great for watching the stars! The bedrooms are all tastefully decorated and quirkily numbered: 386, the Slovenian international dialling code; 50 the number of turns on the Vrsic Pass to name just a couple!

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Room upgrades are not available at this hotel.

Please contact us for extra night prices.

Masera Apartments, Kobarid (3 Acorn)

Hair dryer icon NEARBY:

The Masera apartments are in the heart of Kobarid on a BIO tourist farm. All rooms have balcony and most also have a fridge.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Room upgrades are not available at this hotel.

Please contact us for extra night prices.

Hotel Jezero, Bohinj (****)

Swimming Pool Icon Hair dryer icon NEARBY:

This 4 star hotel is situated 50m from the waters edge of beautiful Lake Bohinj. the hotel has been extended and restored and now has 63 bedrooms and 3 suites.

All rooms have balconies with either Lake or Mountain views.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Room upgrades are not available at this hotel.

Dates Single room Double room
01/05/2017 - 07/07/2017 £130 £110
08/07/2017 - 27/08/2017 £152 £122
28/08/2017 - 24/09/2017 £130 £110
25/09/2017 - 31/10/2017 £122 £102

All prices shown above are valid from 19/05/2017. Prices are per person per night including half board.

Extending your stay

If you'd like to extend your trip with extra nights at the start or end, or if you'd like to arrange a stop off point en-route, then we recommend the following hotels.

Grand Hotel Union, Ljubljana (****)

Swimming Pool Icon Hair dryer icon

The Grand Hotel Union is one of Ljubljana's most prestigious hotels. Built at the turn of the century it was considered one of the finest hotels in Europe at this time with its lift, central heating and telephones (a rarity in 1905). Its hall was used as the city's concert hall for many years and its clientele has traditionally been associated with the arts. The hotel has hosted many famous pianists and singers over the years.

The rooms are all furnished in a contemporary style with satellite television, telephone and air-conditioning. The hotel has a swimming pool on the top floor that has an appealing glass roof dome.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Room upgrades are not available at this hotel.

Dates Single room Double room Single deluxe room Double deluxe room
01/05/2017 - 30/06/2017 £152 £98 £168 £108
01/07/2017 - 31/08/2017 £128 £82 £144 £92
01/09/2017 - 31/10/2017 £152 £98 £168 £108

All prices shown above are valid from 19/05/2017. Prices are per person per night including breakfast.
Rooms are in the business area of the hotel.

Hotel Toplice, Bled (****)

Swimming Pool Icon Hair dryer icon

The hotel has a pleasing open aspect looking out over Lake Bled, there is a lakeside promenade accessed directly from the hotel.

All rooms have a balcony.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Room upgrades are not available at this hotel.

Dates Single room Double room Double Lake view room Suite lake view
01/05/2017 - 30/09/2017 £134 £104 £120 £168

All prices shown above are valid from 19/05/2017. Prices are per person per night including evening meal.
Lake view rooms offer a view of Lake Bled and Suites offer lake view and more space.

Trend Hotel Rathaus Park, Vienna (****)

Hair dryer icon

This impressive palace built in 1882, is a great hotel in a superb location for visiting Vienna. Close to the hotel is the Rathaus and the Hofburg Imperial Palace, and in walking distance of all the major sights of the Old Town.

The hotel has 24 hour reception and a concierge service, free wifi and all rooms are ensuite, come with wifi and flat screen televisions.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Room upgrades are not available at this hotel.

Dates Standard Austrian Double Comfort Austrian Double
09/05/2017 - 01/10/2017 £78 £86

All prices shown above are valid from 19/05/2017. Prices are per person per night and include breakfast.

Hotel Austria, Vienna (***)

The location of the Hotel Austria could not be more central in Vienna. The Fleischmarkt is within walking distance of all the city centre attractions, and the opportunities for dining out are plentiful in the evenings.

The hotel is squirreled away up a small alleyway so looks quite unassuming. It is an enormous traditional building with a grand spiral central staircase. The public rooms on the ground floor are all very high with an atmosphere of faded and comfortable rather than modern grandeur. Ancient maps of the city hang behind reception and reds and crimsons form much of the décor, with antique furnishings dotting the lounge from where you can access the internet.

Bedrooms upstairs are off long corridors, and have high windows and dark wooden furnishings and velvet chairs. All come with satellite TV, minibars and tea and coffee making facilities.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Dates Comfort Room
09/05/2017 - 30/09/2017 £24

All prices shown above are valid from 01/06/2017. Upgrade supplement prices are per person per night, based on two people sharing. Comfort double rooms are larger than the standard double rooms, with chairs or a sofa provided.

Dates Double Room Single Room Comfort Double Room
09/05/2017 - 30/09/2017 £82 £110 £90

All prices shown above are valid from 01/06/2017. Extra night prices are per person per night including breakfast.

Travel

Transfers included from Ljubljana airport at 12:00, and back to Ljubljana airport at 14:15.

Please call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 or email info@breakaway-adventures.com to arrange connecting flights.

Reviews

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.


Ms Wright
21/09/2016

An enjoyable holiday. Good walking in a friendly and interesting country.


Dr Barclay
21/09/2016

The holiday provided an excellent mix of walking through spectacular scenery, nice hotels, excellent food and an insight into the complex history of the region.


Mrs Woodhead
03/08/2016

Very well designed walking programme, with good notes and maps. All arrangements ran smoothly. Lovely country with friendly welcomes from all. Clean and well maintained paths. Beautiful flowers in the meadows even in late July. Very impressed that M Tours boss took the trouble to meet us and discuss our walking experiences. A memorable holiday, with an evening wedding in traditional costume at Bohinj, on our last night there,


Mrs Osler
20/07/2016

Slovenia, even in high summer season, was relatively peaceful with fewer tourists than in other parts of the Alps. There were wonderful views on all the walks. There was a bit too much road walking on some days.


Mr Bryant
22/06/2016

Great holiday did not like the Hotel in Kobarid, we had a massive dining room no use to us, bed was really bad, toilet and shower of 2 star standard at best. You could not shower because there was no fixing for the shower head. The toilet had sealant around it like a two old kid had applied and the bath had been repaired such a bodge. bear pipes for radiator coming out of the floor chipped the tiles and a bath plug that did not fit the bath. Very very poor it was room 100. Breakfast was the wors... read moret of the hotels, evening meal was ok. This is probably the worst hotel for accommodation I stayed in Europe.

Headwater response:
Dear Mr Bryant, Thank you for taking the time to complete your post-holiday feedback. It sounds like you had a great holiday in Slovenia. We were however sorry to read of your disappointment with Hotel Hvala in Kobarid. With this in mind, we have reviewed the feedback received over the course of the summer and from this have made the decision to replace this hotel for the 2017 season. We hope you agree this improvement will continue to enhance this holiday for future customers. In closing, we would like to thank you for your constructive comments and look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future. Kind regards, Headwater Customer Service Team


Mrs Wallis
08/06/2016

Very pleased with holiday and organisation -excellent introduction to Slovenia


Mr Allan
04/10/2015

We had an excellent holiday in Slovenia. We loved the countryside and enjoyed all the walks; the WW1 sites added a further interest. We particularly enjoyed our stays at the Miklic and Jezero hotels. We extended our holiday by 2 nights at Lake Bohinj, which is beautiful and had several walks to add, and a further 2 in Ljubljana and could recommend that as an option.


Mrs Jenkins
02/10/2015

Overall an enjoyable experience, but our least favourite headwater holiday (our 5th). Why? Flights from Heathrow involved a very tight connection at Vienna which was from a different terminal and meant going through security there. Made the connection with less than 10 minutes to go before departure- very stressful! Hotels were a real mixture. Loved the Miklik hotel (fantastic staff and super room despite a few issues with a shortage of hot water for our very large bath) and Kranjska Gora - we w... read moreould have happily stayed there all week. Room at the Hotel Jezero by the lake had a fantastic outlook but the shower had a cracked shower tray and no plug for the sink. Hotel Hvala - wonderful welcome and the room was huge but needs serious modernisation and new beds! Hotel Mangart - the fridge wasn't working (fixed the next day) and breakfast on the first morning was poor with disinterested member of staff. Much improved the following morning and got offered eggs and bacon (possibly by the manager). The transfers by M Tours were punctual and efficient- beware there was a strong smell of smoke in some, although none of the drivers smoked whilst we were travelling. We nearly missed the train connection as we were not told that we were travelling on a car transporter which was in the station some 25 minutes before departure time. We even asked the station master whilst the train was there... Luckily one of the men sitting in his car on the train shouted at us to get onboard realising we were with M tours This meant running about 80 metres with suitcases down the gravel track alongside the train to the one carriage where the conductor had to haul us up nearly 5 feet to get us and our luggage onboard as there was no platform!

Slovenia is lovely and the walking was of good 2 boots standard. Autumn was further advanced than in the UK and the weather was changeable so would advise going early September not at the end like we did. Considering Slovenia was very cheap, we thought the holiday was overpriced but presumably the number of transfers had a bearing on this.


Ms Kyle
23/09/2015

Well organised with brilliant walking notes we were really pleased with all aspects of our trip and would definitely consider booking another holiday with you again. Thanks


Mrs Allen
01/09/2015

A selection of lovely, varied walks amid beautiful mountain scenery in an unspoilt area. Slovenia also has a fascinating if somewhat turbulent history and the route notes (and rest day booklet suggestions) included historical references which added to our enjoyment of the walks and area. If you enjoy turquoise rivers, watching rafting/kayaking/canoeing/fishing on them; are not worried by suspension bridges; like birdsong, butterflies and wildflowers (even in August) we think you would enjoy this... read more holiday. High quality regional 'slow food' ( i.e.not processed) was delicious. The Slovenian people we met were welcoming, friendly and helpful. This was our eighth holiday with Headwater and we felt that the walking level was consistent with other two boot holidays we have taken with you.


Dr Lewis
05/08/2015

Slovenia is an amazing unspoilt gem. The people are really friendly, and everyone speaks English (and Slovenian, German and Italian!)


Mr Boyce
15/07/2015

Country and scenery superb - a real eye-opener! Walking on the challenging side of '2 boot'. The longest walk was actually easier than some of the shorter ones due to the terrain. There are places to stop on the way, you should take advantage.


Mrs Brown
13/07/2015

Overall rate Slovenia Alps Adventure very highly. The Route notes need updating e.g Take the path to the right where the road changes from concrete to gravel. - In fact the path is where the road changes from concrete to tarmac - the tarmac has been there several years. One of many examples where the route notes were out of date. The route notes for Bovec to Kobarid directed us onto the road due to a land slip, the local guide told us the path was passable with care, we did not try this as we ha... read mored both had bad backs prior to the trip and did not want any scrambling. However the other couple took the path and said the path was completely clear. The local guide should have known this. We walked 4 miles on a busy road because we were not told the path was clear.


Mrs Kelly
17/06/2015

This was our ninth holiday with you! The walking was fantastic, if a little arduous at times! A beautiful country, lovely people. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time, as ever! Many thanks!


Mrs Walker
17/06/2015

We had a very good room in hotel Jezero with 2 baloney's. However on the Saturday evening 13 June the hotel had a private function that consisted of very loud music right under our room which meant that we could not go to sleep until it was over. The music went on until 2.30 which is too late,.


Mrs Gilliard
13/06/2015

Varied walking in beautiful locations. Lived up to descriptions in the brochure. Lovely holiday.


Mr Hunter
03/06/2015

Disappointed with the hiking trails in that there wasn't sufficient variety of environment and experience ( too much forest trail and tarmac)



Routes of reasonable length, would have preferred higher altitude experience . One route had an indistinct and hazardous section leading up to the road into Kobarid. This path needs repair and clearance ( potential for serious accident).



M tours staff excellent.


Mrs Keen
28/09/2014

The scenery is wonderful and the walking excellent if a little challenging on occasions.


Mrs Campion
27/09/2014

Slovenia is a lovely country. The walking could be a bit more challenging in the hills rather than predominantly in the valleys, but to an extent that is a result of the risk management around the holiday. The walks were a good length generally and the notes were good enough if you use the map and ask locals where there is any doubt - for example the 'suspension bridge' noted to cross to avoid the landslide between Bovec and Kobarid was actually a concrete road bridge, and in fact we used the ... read more'closed' route from Bovec to Kobarid anyway after talking to some of the local residents. Hotel Mangart and Jezero were great, clean, modern hotels. Hotel Hvala had good food but is in serious need of room updates and would not get more than 2 stars in the UK. All the staff at all the hotels were very good.

We would recommend staying on in Bohinj for a few days at the end and making use of the discount visitor card for the transport systems, and some great high level walking at the top of the Vogel cable car lift


Mis Ausden
08/08/2014

A great way to see Slovenia which is very beautiful, unspoilt and has a fascinating history, with many influences from its neighbours, Italy, Hungary, Austria and Croatia. The rivers are an indescribable blue, the mountains sweep up dramatically from basins of flat land. stunning. The food was lovely and cooked from scratch. how refreshing to be come somewhere where processed food is virtually forgotten and the land is bursting with need allotments growing fresh fruit and veg. beautifully kept towns and villages. they do love their trailing geraniums!


Mr Hinson
31/07/2014

An enjoyable walk through some dramatic and truly beautiful scenery. Great hotels and extremely helpful M Tours staff.


Mrs Gerald
21/07/2014

We did some wonderful walking through stunning scenery, along turquoise rivers and though fantastic meadows full of flowers and butterflies. We met very few other walkers and on some days none at all. Everywhere was friendly and welcoming and the organisation of transport etc. was excellent. We had a little more rain than we would have liked and it is good advice to start walking early in the morning as the thunder storms did tend to come in the afternoon. Not so impressed by the hotel Mangart, ... read morewhich lacked character. Even in July we were not able to walk over the pass as it was too icy. That was a disappointment as we looked forward to a tougher high walk. We went almost up to it on the last day from the other side.


Mrs Hickling
19/06/2014

Slovenia was a beautiful and welcoming country with a good variety of points of interest along the walk.


Mr Sheppard
11/06/2014

very well organised; good selection of hotels; interesting walks and locations; good suggestions for free days with helpful notes about the history of the region and landscapes.


Mr Little
15/10/2013

Slovenia is a beautiful country. Coming from Colorado, we didn't know what to expect, but the scenery was fantastic. The mountains seem more majestic than the ones near where we live, even though the Julian Alps are not as high, they appear to be more rugged. The hotels were very good and the transport very efficient.



The hiking notes were very detailed, nearly too detailed at times, but a bit inconsistent. For example, on a day in which there was a detour due to an avalanch... read moree, a bridge that we were to cross was noted as a suspension bridge. Earlier bridges labeled suspension bridges had been just that, cables and planks across the river. In this case the supposed 'suspension bridge' was a roadway bridge that had pilings in the river. We passed it up and walked several km out of the way before discovering the mistake. It is important to note that the language used in the notes is written for a UK audience. For example, the term pavement, which Americans would equate with concrete or tarmac, doesn't mean the same thing. On the same day mentioned above the term 'pavement' is used to denote 'sidewalk' along a road or highway. So, when the notes said 'when the pavement ends' we interpreted that to mean the roadway turned to dirt. It didn't. We figured it out, but it caused confusion.



All that notwithstanding, we all enjoyed the trip and our appetite for trekking is not diminished. I have already been looking for similar treks in other locales.



The


Mr Effingham
11/09/2013

Enjoyed a fantastic week's walks discovering the secrets of Slovenia - a unique country that has it all - alpine peaks, bubbling rivers, glacial lakes, and miles of unspoiled countryside! would not hesitate to recommend this trip.


Mr Hollas
08/08/2013

Excellent, well organised holiday. We were unfortunate to spend the last two night in Bohinj. Most of Slovenia seemed to decide to spend the weekend there. Having had a great tranquil walking holiday until Bohinj, we found the last day out of character with the rest of our stay.


Mrs Moss
18/06/2013

Slovenia is a beautiful county with stunning views whilst walking, good food and wine, good accommodation!


Mrs McKerchar
13/06/2013

Beautiful country with most hospitable folk.



Walking gentle - the most challenging walking option was not possible because of heavy snow.



Would love to do again in more seasonal weather.



M-tours made a couple of mistakes (see next box) but were profusely apologetic and did us proud. Their taxi-drivers were most informative & fascinating.


Ms Stewart
10/09/2012

Slovenia is a really beautiful country and we were delighted by the care taken to keep it that way by the Slovenian authorities. We feel that we saw parts of the countryside we would never have found without Headwater's agents' assistance and local knowledge. The hotels were all of an excellent standard and it was a most enjoyable and interesting holiday.


Mrs Oram
23/07/2012

Very enjoyable walks through the Soca Valley & Bohinj is beautiful, good food in Slovenia (with Italian & Ausrian influence) & very helpful,friendly people.

Dates and prices

You can be confident that our pricing includes all the standard requirements of your holiday and many additional extras. Always ensure that you are comparing like for like when booking your holiday. Find out about The Headwater Price Promise to ensure you're getting the very best value for money.

For further details, or to check availability, speak to our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 or complete our holiday enquiry form (we'll contact you at a time that's most convenient for you).

To enquire about this holiday, or for further information, call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 or complete our holiday enquiry form.

  • Aug
  • Sep
Aug 2017 Tour only Availability
26th Aug US$1920 Check availability
Sep 2017 Tour only Availability
2nd Sep US$1920 Check availability
9th Sep US$1890 Check availability
16th Sep US$1780 Check availability
23rd Sep US$1780 Check availability

The prices quoted for each individual departure supercede those published in our current brochures. Air prices are subject to change and we advise early booking to obtain the best prices. Please see our Planning your holiday and What's included in the price? pages for additional information.

Holiday details

Minimum group sizes
No minimum group size, however transfers are subject to at least 2 people (in total) booked on each departure.

Children
This holiday is unsuitable for children.

Holiday type
Self-guided walking Managed locally by Headwater appointed agent.

Departures
Saturdays from 26th Aug 2017 to 23rd Sep 2017, for 8 nights.

Meals
All continental breakfasts and 6 evening meals.

Tailor-made travel

Tour only
Transfers included from Ljubljana airport at 12:00, and back to Ljubljana airport at 14:15.

How to book

For further details, or to check availability, speak to our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 or complete our holiday enquiry form (we'll contact you at a time that's most convenient for you).

To enquire about this holiday, or for further information, call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 or complete our holiday enquiry form.

We are ATOL registered We are an ABTA member
Independent customer reviews and ratings

Due to the tailor-made nature of our holidays, we need a little more information in order for us to check availability for Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure. Simply complete the form below and a member of our sales team will contact you (when it's most convenient for you) to provide availability information, travel options and an accurate price. Of course there's no obligation, but if you do wish to proceed with a booking they will be on-hand to assist you throughout the process.

Alternatively, you can call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 to discuss your requirements in more detail.



We'd like to keep you informed of our latest news and special offers. Please tick here if you'd rather not receive our free e-newsletter.

We can often obtain preferential rates with our travel partners.

We can call you when it's most convenient for you, or contact you by email if you'd prefer. During busy periods we cannot always guarantee a specific call time but we promise to try our very best.

Let us know any queries you might have about departure dates, similar holidays or other questions. If you’d like to travel by an alternative method, i.e. Ferry / Eurotunnel etc. please give details here so we can advise you on appropriate options.

Headwater may use the information you provide for marketing and promotional purposes. By clicking the 'Enquire now' button, you confirm that you have read and understood our Privacy Policy and consent to our use of your information.


We've been creating high-quality relaxed activity holidays since 1985 and our wealth of experience means we're able to build the perfect tailor-made tour for you. Our 'Gold Trusted' rating on Feefo, the independent review site, underlines our exceptional levels of customer service, and our ATOL bonding and ABTA membership guarantees your holiday is safe with us.


You may also like