Feefo - Independent reviews
1-800-567-6286

News | E‑news | Brochures | Blog | Contact us

Norwegian Fjords Walk

Norwegian Fjords Walk

      from 8 reviews

Norwegian Fjords Walk

  • Striking, untouched scenery and incredible natural wonders - from the idyllic Hjorundfjord to the jagged beauty of Molladalen
  • Walking along footpaths and tracks with breathtaking views - including high waterfalls running directly off Europe's largest glacier and the UNESCO listed Geiranger Fjord
  • The happiest country in the world 2017 - we can see why!
  • High-quality hand-picked hotels (mostly restored historic buildings) with excellent restaurants
  • Wonderful scenery as we transfer by mini-bus and ferry
  • Holiday typeGuided walking
  • Duration8 nights, hotel-to-hotel
  • Activity level
  • Excellent for
  • From $3785 per person, tour only
  • Holiday details
  • Departs Selected Thursdays from 21 Jun '18 to 4 Oct '18
  • All buffet breakfasts, lunches and evening meals
  • Managed by Headwater appointed agent
  • Luggage transfers between hotels
  • Walking transfers included
  • Ferry transfers included
  • Experienced local guide


We're here to help

If you've any questions about this holiday call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 , or email info@breakaway-adventures.com

Western Norway's Sunnmore region is internationally recognised for its astounding natural beauty and this eight-night walking holiday will take you to some of the true highlights. Surrounded by the Sunnmore Alps (with peaks rising 1,700m straight up from the fjords), this is a place where towering rock formations, thundering waterfalls, endless shimmering fjords and glacial valleys will show you a side of nature that can rarely be glimpsed elsewhere.

Setting out from the waterside town of Alesund (famous for its art-nouveau architecture), our walks take us to such bucket list-worthy places as the jaw-dropping Hjorundfjord, still relatively unknown to tourism, Jostedalsbreen, Europe's largest glacier, and the incredible UNESCO World Heritage listed Geirangerfjord.

Along the way we'll hike to shining mountain lakes beneath jagged mountain peaks and enjoy unrivalled views of the famous Nordfjord. We'll walk to one of the arms of the great Jostedalsbreen glacier, whose thick glacial ice appears blue in the sunlight, and travel along an historic mountain pass where snow melt is ever present in the form of crystal-clear lakes of ice water.

The relatively short walks can still be demanding in places but the breathtaking views make it well worth the effort. At the end of each day, relax at some of Western Norway's finest hotels - from the beautiful art-nouveau Hotel Brosundet to the historic Visnes Hotel, with views over Nordfjord. In Saebo, the newly renovated Sagafjord lets you relax in comfort just metres from one of Norway's most tranquil and untouched fjords. The holiday culminates with a stay in the Union Hotel in Oye, which has been welcoming European royalty for centuries - here, a fine meal and wine package is included to ensure a truly memorable last night in the fjords.

Read more about this holiday in The Travel Magazine, The Daily Express, The Mail on Sunday, Silver Travel Advisor and Trip Reporter.

Typical day-by-day itinerary



Walking information

The walks are relatively short but can be demanding in places, especially where routes lead straight up/down the mountainside along rocky footpaths. Walking is on footpaths and tracks and while a head for heights should not be necessary, walking boots and suitable mountain attire will be essential.


Day 1 Arrive in Norway

Transfer to the historic Hotel Brosundet in Alesund for the first night, with an evening briefing before a superb welcome dinner. (Staying at Hotel Brosundet, Half board)

Day 2 Melshornet 7km/4.5mi/4hr

Melshornet is a peak that dominates over the Orsta fjord and town. We walk up through birch forest for exceptional views over the fjord, islands and out towards the North Sea. (Staying at Sagafjord Hotel, Half Board)

Day 3 Molladalen 7km/4.5mi/4hr

Heading west this morning, our route leads us to 'Mighty' Molladalen. The hike there takes us up past sheer rocks and incredible tumbling waterfalls to the cool mountain lakes that nestle beneath the multiple jagged peaks of Molladalen. We picnic at the top, taking in the views, and then head back down to Sabo. (Staying at Sagafjord Hotel, Half Board)

Day 4 Holmoyane 7km/4.5mi/3.5hr

A gentle, steady climb to the summer farm at Utigard, which overlooks the deepest lake in Europe, then a descent back through the ancient forest to walk along the shores of the lake, stopping to enjoy lunch beside the cove of Holmoyane. (Staying at Gloppen Hotel, Half board)

Day 5 Haugsvarden 12km/7.5mi/6hr

Today we climb up to Haugsvarden summit (starting around half-way up) from where we will admire the 360°ree; panorama of high, rugged peaks to the south-east and the blue waters of the Nordfjord and Gloppenfjord to the north-west. Quite simply incredible. (Staying at Gloppen Hotel, Half board)

Day 6 Segestad 5km/3mi/3hr

From the lakeside town of Hjelle we follow a beautiful trail up to the pretty C17 Segestad Farm, with great views of Hjelledalen and Erdalen, then circle around to finish in Satra. (Staying at Visnes Hotel, Half board)

Day 7 Hamsevik 7km/4.5mi/2.5hr and Billingen 4km/2.5mi/2hr

Today's walks showcase the rolling terrain of the interior highlands of Norway. Hamsevik leads off across wide sweeping valleys and the Billingen waterfalls impress with their dramatic drops, volume and engineered bridges. (Staying at Visnes Hotel, Half board)

Day 8 Geiranger 6km/4mi/2.5hr

We visit the viewpoint at Dalsnibba (1,476m), high above the UNESCO-listed Geiranger Fjord, before a lovely trail above the fjord to the little lake of Mollsvatnet from Korsmyra. Then a scenic ferry across the fjord and a drive along the Norangs valley, with plenty of photo stops. (Staying at Union Hotel, Half board)

Day 9 Leave Norway

A morning ferry takes us back across the Hjorundfjord to Alesund. It's a transfer to the airport for those who are departing or a drop-off at the Hotel Brosundet for those having extra nights in the cosy waterside town of Alesund, famous for its unique concentration of Art Nouveau architecture.

Where you stay

During your holiday you stay at the following hotels. If you'd like to extend your time at any of these or, if you'd like to enhance your stay with an upgraded room, just let us know at the time of booking. You can call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 to discuss accommodation options.

Hotel Brosundet, Alesund

Hair dryer icon NEARBY:

Situated in one of Alesund's ten listed Art Nouveau buildings, the stylish Brosundet was once a warehouse but is today a beautifully renovated hotel sitting directly over the waters of the Alesund Strait. The hotel was designed by the same architects who were responsible for such buildings as The Norwegian Opera and Ballet in Oslo, and the Ground Zero Pavillion in New York, and each room has been given its own individual charm. Many rooms feature original wooden beams with slanted rooves, and upgraded rooms offer views of fishing vessels passing by on their way to unload the catch of the day. The hotel, naturally, has an outstanding seafood restaurant.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Dates Sea View Junior Suite Sea View Junior Suite
21/06/2018 - 04/10/2018 £11 £57 £69

All prices shown above are valid from 21/11/2017. All prices are per person per night based on 2 people sharing.

Please contact us for extra night prices.

Sagafjord Hotel, Saebo

Hair dryer icon NEARBY:

A genuine treasure, the Sagafjord Hotel in the fjord-side village of Saebo offers some of the best views to be found from a hotel. Dramatically located on the shore of the stunning (but still relatively unknown) Hjorundfjord, the hotel sits beneath the Sunnmore Alps and stares directly across the water to the rugged Mt Slogen. Only recently renovated, the bedrooms are modern in design and have been decorated to reflect the surrounding nature, with calm tones and wood furnishings. The restaurant here is also highly impressive and serves both traditional and modern cuisine as part of a regularly changing menu.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Room upgrades are not available at this hotel.

Please contact us for extra night prices.

Gloppen Hotell, Sandane

Hair dryer icon NEARBY:

Dating to the mid C19, the wonderful family run Gloppen Hotell is located in Sandane, virtually on the shore of Gloppen Fjord. The traditional buildings have been updated and extended to offer the same historic atmosphere but with modern convenience and warm hospitality, so you can be sure of a comfortable stay. The Moen family puts a strong emphasis on locally sourced produce so you can also expect high quality cuisine from the hotel's celebrated restaurant, which features dishes both modern and traditional, local and international.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Dates Nordic Room
21/06/2018 - 10/10/2018 £23

All prices shown above are valid from 21/11/2017. All prices are per person per night based on 2 sharing.

Please contact us for extra night prices.

Visnes Hotel, Stryn

Hair dryer icon NEARBY:

Originally a farmhouse, this historic hotel, with its Swiss style facade, was managed from 1850 by six generations of the Visnes family, before being purchased by married couple Arvid and Marit Otterdal in 2014. With their passion for food and wine combined with a love for the local area and outdoor activities, they set about retaining the historic character of this 15-bedroom property (with a few mod-cons like complimentary Wi-Fi).

The public areas and each bedroom are decorated individually with nostalgic styles reminiscent of the times the hotel has seen over the years, with the added advantage of most of the rooms overlooking the fjord. There are no televisions in the rooms but there is a library on the first floor, with a TV, where guests can gather in the evenings. The hotel's dining room is another gathering point, for breakfast in the morning, tea and coffee throughout the day and, in the evenings, for dinner with the menu focussed on Norwegian dishes made from locally sourced ingredients including trout and deer.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Room upgrades are not available at this hotel.

Please contact us for extra night prices.

Union Hotel, Oye

Hair dryer icon

Situated in an elegant and traditional manor house at the foot of Mt Slogen, the historic Union Hotel is located at one end of the spectacular Norangdal glacial valley and has, for well over a century, been welcoming such personalities as Kaiser Wilhelm, Princess Victoria, Edvard Grieg and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

The interiors feature lavish period furnishings and each bedroom has been individually decorated with many featuring a four-poster bed. There is also a garden and a terrace where guests can relax surrounded by the incredible mountain scenery. The restaurant serves seasonal menus with specially selected wines and local produce, and after dinner guests can relax in one of the hotel's lounge areas, which include a cosy bar and a wood-panelled library.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Room upgrades are not available at this hotel.

Please contact us for extra night prices.

Extending your stay

If you'd like to extend your trip with extra nights at the start or end, or if you'd like to arrange a stop off point en-route, then we recommend the following hotels.

Hotel Brosundet, Alesund

Hair dryer icon NEARBY:

Situated in one of Alesund's ten listed Art Nouveau buildings, the stylish Brosundet was once a warehouse but is today a beautifully renovated hotel sitting directly over the waters of the Alesund Strait. The hotel was designed by the same architects who were responsible for such buildings as The Norwegian Opera and Ballet in Oslo, and the Ground Zero Pavillion in New York, and each room has been given its own individual charm. Many rooms feature original wooden beams with slanted rooves, and upgraded rooms offer views of fishing vessels passing by on their way to unload the catch of the day. The hotel, naturally, has an outstanding seafood restaurant.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Dates Sea View Junior Suite Sea View Junior Suite
21/06/2018 - 04/10/2018 £11 £57 £69

All prices shown above are valid from 21/11/2017. All prices are per person per night based on 2 people sharing.

Please contact us for extra night prices.

Hotel Cecil, Oslo

The Hotel Cecil is a modern 3 star hotel situated next to the parliament and is in an ideal location for exploring the city centre. All rooms are light and airy with full en-suite facilities. They also come equipped with direct dial telephone, cable television and air-conditioning. Breakfast is buffet style and there is a selection of restaurants within walking distance for your evening meal.

Find out more on the hotel website and read customer reviews on Tripadvisor.

Room upgrades are not available at this hotel.

Please contact us for extra night prices.

Travel

Transfers included from Alesund airport at 16:05, 17:20 Jul 5 departure and back to Alesund airport at 10:30.

Please call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 or email info@breakaway-adventures.com to arrange connecting flights.

Reviews

Everyone who goes on a Headwater holiday will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assessment of all aspects of their holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.


Mr Southgate
16/10/2017

Although the amount of travelling impacted on the time available for walking our guide made frequent stops to allow us to enjoy the views. We saw and walked in a great cross section of terrain allowing us to appreciate that Norway has great fjords but so much more. The food was very good and we particularly liked creating our own packed lunches at breakfast. It allowed everyone to take what they needed and avoided waste. Our guide Gordon entertained us on the guitar one evening which was an unexpected bonus.


Ms Roberts
02/10/2017

Most beautiful country- wonderful waterfalls, magnificent mountains glorious lakes and fjords. Excellent, knowledgeable guide. Holiday of a lifetime.


Mr Moore
07/09/2017

Excellent guide. Variety of walks showing off this beautiful area of Norway. Distances and logistics of travelling between hotels impacted on the walking experience and this may need some development in the future. Overall hotels were good.


Mrs Grant
21/07/2017

Have used Headwater on many numerous occasions, but was left disappointed with our experience this time, lack of information on internal travel, luggage left in vehicle all day.

Vehicle was dirty and in poor condition. Had to make our own packed lunch from breakfast buffet. No porterage at hotels.

Headwater response:
Dear Mrs Grant, Thank you for taking the time to complete your post-holiday questionnaire. We value all of the feedback we receive and use this to help us improve and develop our holidays for the future. We were sorry to read that on this occasion you were disappointed with your experience and found that some elements of your holiday did not meet with your previous experiences. Please be assured, we will continue to work with our local suppliers to ensure they are providing an enjoyable, memorable holiday. We do not provide our standard route notes, which you may have used on your previous self-guided holidays; this is because we employ an experienced guide to provide this service for you. However, we do realise that some customers may prefer to have a more detailed itinerary for the day ahead, therefore as an improver for future tours, we have included this information into our pre travel paperwork and have asked our guide to provide a daily brief. We were disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction with the condition and cleanliness of the vehicle. This is the 1st time we have received feedback of this kind, please be assured, our local guides take great pride in the service and standards they provide, we will continue to work with them to ensure they are maintaining the high standards our customers expect. We were also sorry to read of your concern with the luggage being left in the vehicle all day, please let me reassure you, the vehicles are locked and parked in a safe, secure area at all times. This is standard practice on our guided holidays where the guide is also responsible for the driving. We appreciate preparing lunch from the substantial breakfast being offered does not suit everyone, however as some of the routes taken are well off the beaten path, it would be difficult to stop off at a local restaurant or shop. We will however monitor the feedback we receive in this area. In closing, we would like to thank you choosing to travel with Headwater this summer and look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future. Kind regards, Lisa


Ms Hochheimer
18/07/2017

Overall it was a great experience. The landscape is amazing.


Mr Price
17/07/2017

Although this was an expensive holiday, we have done a costing of the hotel costs and the fees for the hiking company in Alesund and have decided that we had good value for money. It was all the better as all meals were included (Norway is so expensive!). Making up our sandwiches each morning was great fun. Unlike other countries where they post a notice saying don't take food from the breakfast buffet. It was good that all ferry costs were taken care of. In both the first two hotels, we onl... read morey had a two course dinner but our notes said it should have been a three course meal.

The Grotli hotel was poor. The food at breakfast was good but the first dinner not good. Had two courses from the cold buffet as better. The public rooms were really nice and comfortable. Our room was ok but very dated. The bathroom was terrible. In desperate need of a refurbishment. Cracked and mouldy tiles. Electric fire on wall at two metres with no safety covering. Water from the shower went everywhere. I was shocked by poor customer service at desk. On arrival, shown a tray with several room keys and told to refer to a list of the party which told us which room we were in! BAD! I was upset for the two vegetarians in our group. Nothing suitable for them as a main meal on night one but they persuaded the kitchen to make up a vegetable curry of dubious quality. The next morning, they asked reception to make sure that there was something for them that night. Woman on reception told them that there were boiled vegetables available and when they pointed out that this was not a proper meal, she told them that there was vegetable soup!!!! Not good enough. I suggest finding a better hotel near by.

The Union Hotel was brilliant and made our last day and night very memorable. It ought to have as was twice the cost of the other hotels. The lovely waitress was going to charge us for the wine with meal option until we pointed out it was included. She went to check on this and returned with lots of wine. SUPERB! We were sad to leave this lovely hotel.


Mrs Tudor
17/07/2017

I have already written about my dissatisfaction with SAS Airlines and Gloppen Hotel (3 nights!). My holiday was good despite this but no thanks to Headwater for their uninterest in dealing with my quite dreadful travel issues and Gloppen Hotel!


Mrs Mourant
05/07/2017

This was our first visit to Norway and we will definitely go again – a beautiful and friendly country with excellent and varied walking, although the walks did not exactly follow the schedule in your brochure and they were all ‘out and back’ along the same path, rather than circular or point-to-point which we would also have liked and enjoyed.



Our walking guide from Uteguiden, Thomas Riis, was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about Norway and the local area, always polit... read moree, and very helpful and considerate throughout the holiday.



The hotels generally were excellent apart from the Gloppen Hotel in Sundane where the staff were not particularly welcoming, the food was indifferent, and the room that we were given overlooked the rubbish bins and was cramped with minimal cupboard space for our clothing – unacceptable over a three night stay. There was no safe in the room – promised in the Headwater documentation. The hotel manager reluctantly gave us another room which was much more comfortable with adequate storage space for our belongings.



We were surprised and pleased to be able to make up our own picnic lunches from the breakfast buffet in all the hotels.



We were given only two courses at dinner at the first two hotels of the holiday.



Finally, travelling. During the holiday we spent rather more time driving from place to place than we had anticipated and it would have been helpful to have been provided with more detail in your brochure and holiday information. We also had significant and stressful problems and delays when travelling both outbound and inbound from London to Alesund which would probably not have happened had you allowed longer stopover times between flights, 1h 30 outbound and 1h 20 inbound. In my experience 1½ hours at busy international airports is often not long enough for a comfortable stopover between flights.

Dates and prices

You can be confident that our pricing includes all the standard requirements of your holiday and many additional extras. Always ensure that you are comparing like for like when booking your holiday. Find out about The Headwater Price Promise to ensure you're getting the very best value for money.

For further details, or to check availability, speak to our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 or complete our holiday enquiry form (we'll contact you at a time that's most convenient for you).

To enquire about this holiday, or for further information, call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 or complete our holiday enquiry form.

  • Jun
  • Jul
  • Aug
  • Sep
  • Oct
Jun 2018 Tour only Availability
21st Jun US$3785 Check availability
Jul 2018 Tour only Availability
5th Jul US$3785 Check availability
Aug 2018 Tour only Availability
23rd Aug US$3785 Check availability
Sep 2018 Tour only Availability
6th Sep US$3785 Check availability
20th Sep US$3785 Check availability
Oct 2018 Tour only Availability
4th Oct US$3785 Check availability

The prices quoted for each individual departure supercede those published in our current brochures. Air prices are subject to change and we advise early booking to obtain the best prices. Please see our Planning your holiday and What's included in the price? pages for additional information.

Holiday details

Minimum group sizes
A minimum of 6 people (in total) are required for each departure.

Children
This holiday is unsuitable for children.

Holiday type
Guided walking Managed locally by Headwater appointed agent.

Departures
Selected Thursdays from 21st Jun 2018 to 4th Oct 2018, for 8 nights.

Meals
All buffet breakfasts, lunches and evening meals

Tailor-made travel

Tour only
Transfers included from Alesund airport at 16:05, 17:20 Jul 5 departure and back to Alesund airport at 10:30.

If you choose to book your own flights please check with us first that your chosen departure date is definitely operating as our guided holidays are subject to minimum group sizes.

How to book

For further details, or to check availability, speak to our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 or complete our holiday enquiry form (we'll contact you at a time that's most convenient for you).

To enquire about this holiday, or for further information, call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 or complete our holiday enquiry form.

We are ATOL registered We are an ABTA member
Independent customer reviews and ratings

Due to the tailor-made nature of our holidays, we need a little more information in order for us to check availability for Norwegian Fjords Walk. Simply complete the form below and a member of our sales team will contact you (when it's most convenient for you) to provide availability information, travel options and an accurate price. Of course there's no obligation, but if you do wish to proceed with a booking they will be on-hand to assist you throughout the process.

Alternatively, you can call our sales team on 1-800-567-6286 to discuss your requirements in more detail.



We'd like to keep you informed of our latest news and special offers. Please tick here if you'd rather not receive our free e-newsletter.

We can often obtain preferential rates with our travel partners.

We can call you when it's most convenient for you, or contact you by email if you'd prefer. During busy periods we cannot always guarantee a specific call time but we promise to try our very best.

Let us know any queries you might have about departure dates, similar holidays or other questions. If you’d like to travel by an alternative method, i.e. Ferry / Eurotunnel etc. please give details here so we can advise you on appropriate options.

Headwater may use the information you provide for marketing and promotional purposes. By clicking the 'Enquire now' button, you confirm that you have read and understood our Privacy Policy and consent to our use of your information.


We've been creating high-quality relaxed activity holidays since 1985 and our wealth of experience means we're able to build the perfect tailor-made tour for you. Our 'Gold Trusted' rating on Feefo, the independent review site, underlines our exceptional levels of customer service, and our ATOL bonding and ABTA membership guarantees your holiday is safe with us.


You may also like