Customer reviews: Holidays in Valencia

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Hall on 16/06/2016

*****
Great holiday, wonderful guides, beautiful weather,gorgeous flowers ,perfect walks and fabulous views.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Friend on 16/06/2016

*****
Sue and Dave are the most welcoming, well organised, hardworking , capable and fun hosts I have yet to come across on a walking holiday. From the moment we met at the airport I felt confident that I was going to have a great holiday. They have perfected the art of gauging the ability of the group and pitching the pace of walks accordingly. By always having one leader at the front and one at the back everyone can walk at a pace that suits. The food was of a consistently high quality. Freshly squeezed orange juice, cafetière coffee, fresh fruit cut and beautifully presented, yoghurt , toast and jams and something cooked too, breakfast was wonderful. Baguettes etc ready to collect before walks, lovely home cooked evening meals. Dave and Sue excelled themselves and we were all very happy and well fed throughout. Daves jokes. Well, what can I say? There is no conversational topic that doesn't lead to a joke from his vast repertoire. And they all made me laugh! Sue and Dave signposted what we could expect each day and created a relaxed and happy ambience though out. This enable the group to gel well. Our job was just to enjoy ourselves as they did everything else. Dave took our requests for music for our last night paella party on the terrace, downloaded all our requests, even though we came up with way more than he asked for and we had a lot of fun dancing to them. Dave even sent us a you tube link to a slideshow he made of the photos from our walks. Thanks so much Sue and Dave, your efforts were much appreciated and way beyond the call of duty!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Charlett on 06/06/2016

*****
Vistas of Valencia was an excellent holiday. The hosts/guides were exceptional. The accommodation was comfortable and characterful. The food was excellent. The walks were sometimes quite challenging but accomplished without difficulty for people who are reasonably fit and walk regularly. The scenery was stunning.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Homer on 03/06/2016

***#.
I find the website a bit 'clunky' to navigate but Ok once you get used to it. The holiday was accurately described and I enjoyed it. The casa Carrascal operation is very well run and gives a very good service to clients.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Schafer on 18/04/2016

*****
Summary: Beautiful Hikes, Great Meals. Wonderful Hosts The Hosts: Hardworking couple David and Sue will do their best to make sure the holiday meets all your expectations. The Hikes: With an exhaustive knowledge of the surrounding area David and Sue ensure that best hikes in the area are chosen each day. During our trip, low clouds enshrouded the peaks on one of the days and they substituted two shorter but equally beautiful hikes at a lower elevation. We are avid photographers and they customized one of the hikes, dividing the group so that those of us who wanted to take advantage of enjoying the beautiful wildflowers could do so, while the other were able to accomplish the longer hike. The two boot difficulty level properly described the hikes. Several hikes had some short but steep ascents and loose stones so a hiking pole(s) may be helpful. Lodging and Meals: Casa Carrascal is quirky updated townhouse in the middle of the small village of Parcent, Our room, the Segovia suite was furnished with a double bed and and antique couch and chairs. The ensuite bathroom was nice but required that you duck under a beam to reach the area with the toilet/shower. The weather was cool and overcast during our stay and we were unable to take advantage of the outdoor terrace and the indoor common space outside the dining areas is very limited. Although WIFI is available in the bar just up the street, it would have been nice to have it available in the house. The meals were excellent!!! Breakfast consisted of a choice of yogurts, fruits, cereals, and a hot items that changed daily. Pack lunches were a choice of baquettes along with fruit, a sweet snack and a large bottle of water. Dinners were absolutely fabulous! Wonderful appetizers, a choice of delicious entrees, and a nice dessert, all complemented with a choice of white or red wine.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Spencer on 22/03/2016

***#.
Casa Carascal was dark, oppressive and the time we were there, cold. Heaters and extra blankets were happily supplied, the fire was lit 1 hr before dinner. Not enough seating for number of guests indoors. Outside area totally enclosed by walls. Neither conducive to socialising before or after meals. Could do with updating re paint in rooms and new bed covers but they were I guess, in tradition with the building. I acknowledge that mountains demand respect and health and safety rules demand acknowledgement but felt Sue was a little over enthusiastic! In her approach. Prefer to make my own judgement re use of poles and my walking style over rough scrambles. She was however helpful to those who had difficulty. At dinner, it would have been good to have been offered tea or coffee at the end of the meal, it doesn't take long to arrange. It was grudgingly granted when asked for on the last night! Wifi would have been appreciated. Excellent food! Good portion sizes. Good wine.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Brown on 24/02/2016

*****
Perfect combination of varied and scenic walking, great hospitality, delicious food and comfortable accommodation.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Moore on 23/10/2015

*****
David and Sue are excellent hosts and guides. They have a real knowledge and enthusiasm for the area which is reflected in the walks. We had one day of rain and they quickly adapted the programme to suit the conditions. Walks were varied and excellent giving a real flavour of the area.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms McGrath on 20/10/2015

*****
This was an excellent holiday that was really made by the superb service from the hosts, Sue and David. Nothing was too much trouble, they worked incredibly hard to ensure the whole group had the most enjoyment out of their holiday. Their knowledge of the walks was incredible and their good humour and patience second to none. The food was fantastic and I thoroughly enjoyed the week. I walked and climbed to a level I had not reached for a number of years and felt a tremendous sense of achievement . I have already passed on details of the holiday to work colleagues.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms O'Dell on 15/10/2015

*****
I was very pleased with the help and service I received from Headwater. The holiday was very enjoyable and I would certainly recommend the Valencia walking holiday.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Kilpatrick on 15/10/2015

*****
This was the best walking holiday I have had in recent years. Casa Carrascal is a lovingly restored house situated in a delightful Spanish village. Each bedroom in the hotel is different giving a lovely quirky feel to the place. While there is no Wifi (no bad thing in my opinion) this is available in the very welcoming hostelery just across the road. The walks, which are accurately described as two boot, are varied so that every day you are walking different terrain but always with spectacular views. I was slightly concerned that I might not be able to do all of them but David and Sue (who are excellent leaders) keep a close eye on everyone and present alternative walks if they think you might experience difficulties. Add to that tempting menus based on local produce cooked to perfection by David and you have the makings of a great holiday. All you have to do is enjoy it all!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Duncan on 06/10/2015

**#..
Disappointing.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Cross on 29/09/2015

*****
A super holiday - no faults found! Only comment is that 'two boots' did not quite fit our perception, compared with other Headwater 'two boots' holidays that we have taken. We would call this holiday 'two and a half boots'. Not because of distances but because of combination of gradients/ascents, narrow paths with steep drops, and much rough and rocky terrain which demands continuous concentration. Not a holiday for anyone suffering from vertigo.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Eidahl on 23/09/2015

*****
Sue and David have an excellent concept. Have never met anyone so devoted to their customers as themselves. We could have eaten out on the evening we were at Valencia to give them an evening off. They were our chauffeurs our cooks, our guides, and entertained us too. Marvelous cooks, but we would have been just as happy with a choice of fewer alternatives of each course. I would return again. The walking on the Vistas of Valencia was really, really stunning. What can beat that??

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Nicolson on 23/09/2015

*****
Having enjoyed many Headwater Holidays, this one surpassed expectations - which were high to begin with! David and Sue could not have been more helpful and sociable. Casa Carascal is a lovely base and the food exceptional. I learned more on this holiday than on any other - from local history, butterflies, birds and of course, David's jokes! Both David and Sue shared tips on walking properly on the different surfaces - their attention to health and safety for everyone was to be commended. The group gelled very well - that was a real bonus. New friends have been made. All in all, Headwater have a real winner with this holiday and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Jensen on 22/09/2015

*****
Vistas of Valencia is one of the best walking holidays we have done with Headwater. Sue and Dave, our wonderful hosts just make everything work and nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation, food and walks are all excellent. Just a brilliant holiday.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Robbins on 17/06/2015

*****
Walking level was good. Leaders excellent. Hotel / food very good.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Vandenberghe on 29/05/2015

*****
I thoroughly enjoyed this holiday - the walking was tough in places, but manageable for me. The food and hospitality were superb and could not be faulted. Would go again!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Perrin on 28/05/2015

*****
Great week, excellent walks and perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them and David's cooking is fabulous.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mis Ross on 07/05/2015

*****
David and Sue worked very hard to give us an excellent week. The walks were super and the food and accommodation were excellent. They get everything just right.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Cant on 29/04/2015

*****
The really good thing about Headwater holidays are the people who go on them. It is good to be in a small group so you get a chance to get to know everyone. On this holiday there variety of mountain flowers was amazing but I was surprised by the relatively few birds. David Eaton was really helpful to all those who had cameras making sure that the pictures were really good and providing advice on apps for sharing and editing.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Cooper on 25/04/2015

*****
David and sue were really wonderful leaders for our walking in the mountains, and very friendly and helpful throughout. They cooked really good food, and we felt as though we were very well looked after all the time. Sue and david are such good cooks, I really liked everything. My wife, who is vegetarian, felt that some of the dishes provided could have been a little better, but this is said not as a criticism, more as a way of adding a further challenge for david.....we think he would welcome this.....huge thanks for fabulous holiday. Phil and Ana cooper

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Shahbazian on 26/02/2015

*****
I would like to make known to yourselves what an excellent team Sue and David in Valencia were, they really were amazing

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Lavender on 21/10/2014

*****
We had a challenging and enjoyable week. The views from the mountains were spectacular and we were very lucky to see a family of wild boar. Sue & David were very informative during all aspects of our walks. The food was all prepared daily and was very good. We would recommend this walk.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Dicks on 21/10/2014

*****
Very good - except for single room supplements which seem very high

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Nanda on 08/10/2014

*****
a superb holiday wonderful hotel and amazing hospitality

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Cundy on 06/05/2014

*****
An excellent holiday. We were very well looked after by Sue and David , enjoyed exploring a new region of Spain and were encouraged to push ourselves to new heights - literally!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mis Millington on 30/04/2014

*****
A true holiday experience from start to finish. Superb hosts, food, walking, scenery and experiences. Everything in just the right balance.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Walshe on 10/04/2014

*****
This was a most enjoyable holiday. The walks were carefully selected by the guides with reference to weather and ability. Scenery is beautiful and there was an abundance of flowers and wildlife. Casa Carrascal is a delightful place to stay and David and Sue Eaton, the owners and guides, are very friendly, very knowledgeable and very efficient. The food, cooked by David, was superb and every evening was something to really look forward to. If you like walking in a fascinating area with top-class guides and a traditional hotel this is one of the best.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms Ettridge on 02/04/2014

*****
Hugely enjoyable with a great bunch of like minded people

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Cloake on 26/03/2014

*****
One of the most enjoyable walking holidays we have taken(and we have a fair number under our belts).We loved the house party atmosphere at the Casa Carrascal with Sue and David not only welcoming and professional hosts but also experienced and knowledgeable local guides.The walks mostly in superb mountain terrain were interesting,enjoyable and with just the right degree of challenge.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Harris on 26/03/2014

*****
The hosts made this a unique holiday experience. Their generosity in time and effort to ensure everyone enjoyed themselves thoroughly was matchless. The walking was varied and challenging amid beautiful scenery. The food was excellent. My sincere thanks to Sue and David and to Headwater.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Ms White on 24/02/2014

*****
Lovely walks, excellent guides/hosts who continually went out of their way to make sure everyone was happy, food delicious, accommodation reasonable although not luxurious - altogether it was a most enjoyable week and a lot of fun was had by all. The photography was an added bonus and Sue Bishop a helpful, tactful and fun addition to the group.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Walter on 19/02/2014

*****
A Brilliant totally enjoyable holiday. Sue and David were excellent hosts, hardworking and taking care of us all as they shepherded us around the various walks. The standard of food was also outstanding Sue Bishop was extremely helpful encouraging us to be more adventurous with our efforts and imparted her expertise with a very pleasant manner (must look out for her in the future) Our fellow guests were interesting and humorous and great comrades for the week All in all a thoroughly memorable experience

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Riley on 26/09/2013

*****
The holiday was good fun in a beautiful and interesting location with two wonderful guides who put themselves out to make the holiday one to remember fondly.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Lucas on 25/09/2013

*****
One of the best Headwater holidays we have had. An ideal combination of great walks, excellent food and brilliant hosts/guides.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Naylor on 24/04/2013

*****
This was a really good package! All inclusive meals, wine and pack lunch, great menu choice and great walking containing probably the best walk I have ever been on (The Bernia Ridge Walk). The hosts and guiders, David and Sue Eaton, are probably the most conscientious people in this business or certainly that I have come across. They were great hosts, very attentive to people's needs and capabilities and very knowledgable about the flora and fauna of this region and as if that's not enough, David is a pretty damn good chef too! We did have an accident whilst out walking. My wife slipped on some loose soil/gravel and suffered what at the time we thought was an ankle sprain. Sue administered some first aid on the scene, went ahead and got the car and took us home. The following morning, still concerned because of the swelling, Sue took my wife to hospital, made sure we got treatment and then crutches before then taking us back to Casa Carrascal - bottom line is that Sue and Dave also know how to respond to these situations - thanks guys!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Johns on 23/03/2013

*****
We had a wonderful holiday thanks to David and Sue who worked really hard to ensure that all their guests enjoyed the week to its maximum. The walks were varied and appropriate to our standard and where, on occasion, a guest was lacking confidence in a particular route,an alternative was always found without fuss or bother. David provided a range of meals that took into consideration all of our dietary needs and Dinner was a relaxed sociable event each evening. We could never have explored and enjoyed this wonderful walking area without the knowledge and expertise of David and Sue. We were also impressed with their level of organisation and professionalism. They are great ambasadors for Headwater.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Shepherd on 26/02/2013

*****
David and Sue were excellent hosts. They could not do enough to assist us and they were a pleasure to walk with.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs McDougal on 24/01/2013

*****
Just what we expected from a Headwater holiday, well organised, excellent walking with good accommodation and food and excellent guides/hosts.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Acland on 07/01/2013

*****
Super holiday. Our hosts Sue and David were brilliant, always helpful and informative. Dinners were always excellent and Christmas dinner, truly a feast, was superb. How David and Sue managed to guide us all during the day and still be able to present us with such a meal every evening was amazing. Susan in Felixstowe Christmas 2012

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Summers on 07/01/2013

*****
This was the third time I have been to this holiday and I would go again

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Pritchard on 13/12/2012

*****
David and Sue Eaton are very attentive hosts and guides and made us feel at home.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Summers on 03/11/2012

*****
Very good holiday. This was my second visit and I will be back in the spring next time to see the wild flowers!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Gatward on 06/10/2012

*****
I did enjoy Carrascal enormously - as usual my fellow-travellers were a great and interesting bunch, and Sue and David were so hospitable - they seem to do everything (organise the walks, run the hotel,do the cooking, walk the dogs, etc!)and are ready to adapt the walks if the weather intervenes. Local knowledge is vital and adds so much enjoyment when you're only there for a week.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Taylor on 06/10/2012

*****
the walks were varied and good. Our hosts at Casa carascal were excellant. I had only one negative comment and this couldn't be helped in that there was no garden or outsiude space in which to relax and no swimming pool but as the whole trip was good it really didn;t matter in the end.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mrs Grundy on 17/04/2012

*****
The walking experience was excellent. Our hosts/guides were superb.

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Douglas on 17/04/2012

***#.
Very enjoyable, for a large part because the company of Dave & Sue Eaton plus our fellow guests was excellent

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Thomas on 25/02/2012

*****
Very enjoyable

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Dr Worthy on 25/02/2012

*****
David & Sue were fantastic hosts- made us all very welcome. The walks were stunning. The food was great. It is a very beautiful area and was lovely to explore it. Sue & David guided the walks really well and encouraged those who struggled a bit. They really made the holiday special. We loved it!

Vistas of Valencia Walk

By Mr Barlow on 25/02/2012

**#..
Disappointing that many of the walks were too challenging for my wife. We had completed a 2 Boot holiday in tehh summer, so we believed we would be OK for this one.