Customer reviews: Holidays in The Tarn & Cevennes

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Wallis on 21/07/2016

*****
Hotel in a beautiful location, welcoming and friendly staff, superb food and an excellent area for walking.A week was much too short!

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Pearson on 30/06/2016

***#.
Challenging walks lead to magnificent and interesting views within this small area of France . We were rewarded with the most beautiful array of spring flowers including several varieties of orchid. The excellent hotel , where English is widely spoken meant a lovely homecoming each evening.Wonderful gourmet menu etc completed our day! Thank you!

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Dr Sterland on 27/06/2016

*****
Good location for walking and other things of interest. Hotel was a bit odd although comfortable. Being larger than some it was not so friendly as some of the smaller hotels, although the staff we individually friendly there were quite a number.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Buckham on 14/06/2016

***#.
Despite a week of rain we were able to enjoy walking and the hotel was really good, though couldn't really appreciate the outside facilities. Only thing that would have helped would have been access to a drying room for waterproofs and boots.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mrs Sodring on 26/05/2016

*****
This was the best holiday we have taken with Headwater! Despite imperfect weather, the walks were wonderful (even though the vultures did not fly when it was raining); we saw the Rivers Tarn and Jonte both as green and peaceful and in full spate after rain. For those interested in wild flowers, this is a perfect holiday in May - the deciduous woods and meadows are full of them - lilies, orchids, asphodels ... and there are many birds besides the vultures in the trees. Besides walking the main walks we also visited Montpellier le Vieux - do go and take the red route, the rock formations are stunning : Aven Armand - more commercialised but the stalactites are amazing: Vulture Museum (don't go on a wet day, there are no live vultures to see); finally, on our return journey to Toulouse, the Roquefort Society Caves - most interesting! The hotel, food, local wines, beer & picnics were excellent with wonderful service from the staff.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mrs Watson on 14/10/2015

*****
Great walking with an excellent meal to come back to

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Dentith on 06/10/2015

*****
THIS PARTICULAR HOLIDAY ,THANKS TO THE HOTEL AND THE WEATHER WAS ONE OF THE BEST HOLIDAYS WE HAVE HAD WITH HEADWATER. THE WALKING IN PARTICULAR WAS SUFFICIENTLY CHALLENGING AND ADAPTABLE . SPECTACULAR VIEWS . THE AREA ITSELF WAS VERY INTERESTING, FROM ALL PERSPECTIVES. GOOD NOTES AND GOOD MAPS.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mrs Everson-davis on 23/09/2015

*****
Challenging and varied walking in spectacular surroundings, with the additional bonus of a comfortable and friendly hotel base providing excellent cuisine.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Buss on 08/07/2015

*****
A superb location for walking and an excellent hotel - the staff were friendly and always very helpful. Travel arrangements - flights and car hire all went smoothly. Exactly what we had hoped for. We also extended the car hire for a further three weeks and delayed our return flight for the same period. Headwater arranged this for us when we booked and everything went according to plan.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mrs Reeves on 25/09/2014

*****
Fantastic hotel with amazing food in great location. Very friendly staff who were always smiling!

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Mason on 30/07/2014

*****
Stunning scenery and brilliant walks.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mrs Price on 14/07/2014

*****
Hotel de la Muse du Tarn is not only our 'best' Headwater hotel but probably one of the best hotels we have stayed in worldwide. We had one very wet day and the hotel was a comfortable and pleasant place to take refuge with books and crosswords. The walks were well described and accurately graded, we felt. Although one or two of the descents were longer than implied but maybe that was because I am very very slow!! The whole region is stunning with lots to do apart from walking. We didn't have great weather but it didn't dampen our walking spirits. And the views - wow!

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mrs Pritchett on 09/07/2014

*****
Beautiful part of France, stunning gorge scenery. Hotel in brilliant location right on riverside. Excellent food with choice from whole menu every day + chef's special of the day for each course. Highlight was lots of lovely butterflies!

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mis Elliott on 21/06/2014

***#.
brochure, doe's not do justice to the astonishing location and overal excellence of the hotel which is 4 star and not 3 star as printed.We have looked at this holiday for at least 10 years, and booked this time as we are running out of options in France.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Williams on 12/06/2014

*****
The Tarn area is an location for activity holidays and for seeing wildlife and flowers.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Smith on 28/08/2013

***#.
This hotel is really a 3 star hotel tying to live up to 4 star standards. the food selecting for dinner was quite limited and did not offer the range and quality that was expected. Cost of drinksat both the bar and the wine list prices where far too expensive andf put us off drinking. It would help walkers if the maps were actually marked up with the routes as this would only take minutes and would help to cross refer to the headwater maps. Even better would be down loads for walkers to use their own GPS devices whilst walking.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Ms Cutts on 02/08/2013

*****
Fabulous walking in amazing landscapes along the gorges, along with a very comfortable hotel with delicious food and excellent service, made this a great holiday!

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mrs Jones on 30/07/2013

*****
The scenery along the Tarn was sublime - like a cross between the Lake District and the Grand Canyon but with more trees. Would recommend bringing small binoculars to watch the vultures (walks 2,3, and 5), and a small torch for shining in the caves (walk 6). Start early to avoid heat of midday sun. Fantastic variety of beautiful butterflies especially at the start of walk 5 (in late July). Absolutely charming staff at the hotel.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mrs Barber on 23/07/2013

***#.
A lovely part of France to exlore and based in an excellent hotel

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mrs Davies on 21/07/2013

*****
Superb location with great walking.Notes provided were fair but only worked because there were not too many paths to choose from so you just stayed on one path for most of the walk (unlike England where far more detail would have been necessary to choose the correct path). I feel the grading of the walks we did was rather misleading as a lot of them involved narrow cliff edges and steep scrambles which I would say were at least 'moderate'. The scenery was magnificent and the hotel was excellent. I liked the bedroom (light, modern and airy with a large comfortable bed) and the food was very good indeed (especially the nights when we could choose from the a la carte menu). The main problems included a lack of a booking for our dog despite having paid extra for this facility. However, Headwater has recompensed us for the money spent so we now are satisfied overall.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Hardy on 03/07/2013

***#.
The walking experience was excellent and the area quite dramatic and well worth the visit. We have sent a letter (via email) to you concerning our dining experience which we hope you will take note of.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Branch on 26/06/2013

***#.
A very enjoyable walking holiday in some beautiful countryside. Hotel was good but we felt the wine prices were unreasonably high and we went out for pre- and post- dinner drinks. Your explanation of the mealplan was unclear and you did not respond to an email query on this subject. On 4 nights there was no choice at all on the mealplan The walks were outstanding and we did 4 of them (1,3,4,10). Fellow guests (especially Headwater) very compatible. Hotel staff outstanding (except for one apparently new and untrained barman.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Cooper on 24/06/2013

***#.
An excellent trip in a great location. However, having spent a day walking high in the heat we expected to relax by the swimming pool and cool off. We were very disappointed to find on arrival that the hotel did not intend to fill and clean the pool until the day we left (June 15th). An empty swimming pool is not attractive and very frustrating, and to a small degree took the edge of an otherwise great trip. Indeed it had been part of the promise in the Brochure and the hotel website. We would not have booked this week if we had been given this information by yourselves beforehand as we were flexible on dates. I have therefore answered no above as what was promised was not delivered and in future would need reassurance. Otherwise the scenery and floors/birds were stunning and the hotel good. Food excellent, wine expensive and some service erratic, but entertaining. Martin Cooper

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Owers on 20/06/2013

*****
Thoroughly enjoyable, inspiring walks, excellent food and accommodation .

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Nickson on 04/06/2013

**#..
We went in May: the weather was poor. We had two good days, two days of rain & sun and two days of steady rain. And it was cold (one day scraped up to a maximum of 8 deg C). The area is great for walking and the Headwater walking guides were excellent. The hotel was comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. The common areas of the hotel were well laid out and on one night the log fire was lit. But our first bedroom (room 14) was directly over the kitchen. The kitchen equipment was so noisy at night that we had to move after two nights. The next room (room 32) was disappointing: no shower curtain or screen; no balcony; a small window made the room dark; and no fridge. But it was quiet. The hotel was expensive: 9.50 euros for two cups of tea (two tea bags). There was no house wine and the lowest price for a bottle of wine was 23 Euros - and this is France! The food was disappointing. On four nights we were given a table d'Hote menu with no choice, even for the main course. Considering that this holiday is billed as a gastronomic experience, the Table d'Hote meal was very limited and underwhelming. We had to send a fish course back because it was under cooked and we had a duck course which was very tough. I have eaten at Auberges in France and the Table d'Hote meals have been much better. On three nights we had the A la Carte menu which was a distinct step up, but still nowhere nearly as good as I have had in French restaurants at considerable less cost. To sum up, the Tarn is an excellent area for walking, Headwater's arrangements were first rate, but the hotel and the food were disappointing.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mrs Owen-jones on 29/09/2012

*****
Delightful location. Excellent food and walking

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mrs Champion on 29/08/2012

*****
A wonderful hotel in the most beautiful setting you could hope for. Super staff, fantastic food, excellent walking and out door opportunities.

Gastronomic Walk in the Tarn

By Mr Ball on 23/07/2012

*****
Challenging, exhilarating, very enjoyable. Just such a shame that it is so far from home. Hotel staff were excellent - very friendly and with a good standard of English. Food was superb. As one previous contributor to the Headwater comment book put it, "if your idea of heaven is to be out all day burning off 2000 calories and then to put them back on again in the evening", then this is the holiday for you. We heartily agree.