Customer reviews: Cycling in Switzerland

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our cycling holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their cycling holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their cycling holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Lambert on 08/08/2016

***#.
No contact on arrival. Phoned after half hour when he then appeared. Luggage collection from 9am, but not guaranteed delivery befor 6pm. Can be a problem with small rack packs on bikes, particularly when conditions wet.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr O'Sullivan on 27/08/2015

*****
Loved the Three Lake District (Swiss); charming towns/villages; beautiful scenery; easy to find good restaurants for lunch breaks; and Konditorei for delicious 'Kaffee und Kuchen'; very friendly people. We cycled on every suggested cycle for the rest days and also managed the optional 'testing hills'. Great advice from Rudi (in SwissTrails) about taking a train to Fleurier on rest day and cycling down the very scenic Areuse river gorge; and visiting the Vully wine region; good cycle paths and signposts in the area. August was perfect timing to see the market garden area near Murten. Last year we had to bring our own helmets on the Emilia Romagna cycle but SwissTrails can rpovide helmets. It would have saved luggage space if we had known that. We are already planning our next trip - maybe April in Catalonia.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Betts on 21/08/2015

***#.
Our Swiss Lakes cycling holiday was a great experience and we enjoyed visiting the different towns around the lakes. We found the languages fascinating - one minute French , the next German! We didn't have the best of the weather unfortunately though - hot and humid at the start of the week and then dark clouds and rain at the end of the week, We took refuge on the train one day to avoid the bad weather.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Jones on 17/08/2015

***#.
Web site is good with lots of relevant information. Holiday was very enjoyable, hotels were good and well located within the applicable resorts or towns. Swiss Trails were very good, on time at airport, information provided very comprehensive and staff friendly and well informed. Bikes fine, no problems encountered. All in all a very enjoyable cycling holiday with some interesting places to visit en route or as day trips by train, boat or cycle.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Herron on 11/08/2015

***#.
Overall enjoyable and interesting. We were unfortunate in that our last two days fell on Swiss National day and a Sunday so our planned trip to Bern while we were in Murten had to be abandoned. The food offered in the hotels was of a slightly disappointing standard compared to previous Headwater holidays we have been on and the extra charges in Hotel Beaulac for leaving bikes in their garage and the nightly tax came as surprise. Also the 'blue books' were either not heard of (Beaulac again) or hard to locate despite them being a very useful part of these holidays.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Bradley on 09/07/2015

**#..
Check out the hotels more thoroughly ,menus, upgrades if any.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Dr Hammond on 07/07/2015

*****
Excellent cycling holiday.Accurate cycle notes,friendly people.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Harris on 17/10/2014

***#.
Apart from the stress of the late arrival of the transport in Zurich, everything else was as described. We enjoyed the cycling and we were fortunate with the weather. We particularly liked the Neuchatel hotel as we had a harbour view. Of the included evening meals, Aarberg was the best as they offered choice, but there was no choice at Murten, and the menu was not particularly to our taste, surprising given the general standard of the restaurant.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Holman on 26/09/2014

*****
This tour is far from flat but fortunately I had an e-bike which I can highly recommend but, my husband, who is a seasoned cyclist, found the two hills on day 5 taxing. The routes are all clearly marked and can be followed without the need to read copious notes and, more importantly, by and large, the tracks are dedicated cycle paths. Bliss! All the hotels are of a high standard, with the Krone at Murten being exceptional: the location, the views from the restaurant, the food and the staff were all excellent. We will certainly cycle again with Headwater and, most definitely with e-bikes.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Harper on 18/09/2014

*****
The mix of one day cycling, one day off was a very good idea as it allowed us to not only give our bodies a rest but also explore the region and sight- see more than we would otherwise. Distances were just right and routes well thought out. Hotel locations and types were also well considered and varied. Itineries were carefully detailed and helpful. The bikes were immaculate and in excellent condition. My e-bike (first time user) was easy to use and wonderful, especially on hills, when flagging or if trying to keep up with sportier group members. We had a lot of fun, good food and fresh air.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Giffin on 16/09/2014

***#.
Very enjoyable - well organised and very helpful people everywhere. we seldom rate things excellent!

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Whiteley on 01/09/2014

*****
Ebikes a lot of fun - still felt we got some exercise! Route maps and wriiten directions very comprehensive and accurate. Lovely choice and variety of hotels. Particularly liked the boutique-style Hotel du Theatre in Yverdon. Swiss Trails welcome talk very useful. Fantastic holiday enjoyed by all. Beautiful part of Switzerland - and it only rained once!

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Davis on 28/08/2014

***#.
Cycling was excellent, but we took a bike computer which helped as some of the details were misleading and would have been a bit lost without it. First and last hotels were very dated, although clean the beds were not very inviting. Hotel Beaulac was pleasant. Hotel du Theatre was nice but location was not very nice and hardly any restaurants to choose from. Every wher was very smokey! Would make me think twice about booking with headwater again because of the varying standards of hotel.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Hepworth on 13/08/2014

*****
We had a fantastic time. Really good for 11 and 9yr olds. True family activity. Rest day in between ideal. No one got bored.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Wheeler on 25/07/2014

*****
Our holiday was wonderful. No complaints.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Asbrey on 24/06/2014

*****
This was at least the third cycling holiday we have had with Headwater. At last we found a flat route. Switzerland is such a pretty place and cycling around the lakes and meeting people from Switzerland with French and German backgrounds was a delight.The route was just challenging enough for us old people! The accommodation was always welcoming and of a very good standard.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Munn on 22/09/2013

***#.
This was our 12th cycling holiday in 12 years with Headwater. It was well up to the standard that we have come to expect. We were a little unlucky with the weather but were well prepared with waterproofs, probably essential for this holiday in September. The cycling was easy, with very few climbs. Route marking was very clear and the roads and tracks were good. All of the hotels were very good - in Neuchatel we found ourselves in a mini suite with spectacular views over the lake and the Alps! The bikes provided by Swisstrails were very well maintained and we were pleased that we were provided with spare innertubes although fortunately they were not needed.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Hulme on 27/08/2013

*****
Switzerland has excellent cycling routes. Hotels were all good and varied in style. Fantastic scenery without having to cycle up too many hills.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Sidders on 14/07/2013

***#.
A pleasant holiday, very good bikes and safe, interesting cycle routes.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Ridger on 06/10/2012

*****
We greatly enjoyed our Swiss cycling holiday. The variety of hotels was excellent - it was good to experience swiss hotels and modern hotels. The bikes were of good quality, and excellent to ride. The instructions and maps were very useful and we did not get lost once. The only disadvantages of this holiday was the 4 included meals are a set menu - so you have no choice what so ever - however my boyfriend does not eat fish and in one hotel they were extremely happy to make him something else. However if you are a fussy eater you should let the hotels know what you can/can't eat. And lastly Switzerland is extremely expensive to eat out - however if you are prepared for this is it fine. Overall the cycling, hotels, scenary was excellent. We had a fab holiday and would recommend it to friends and family.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Greenbank on 29/09/2012

*****
Excellent hotels and lovely easy cycling. This is a part of Switzerland well worth a visit.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Hails on 24/09/2012

*****
A well organised with first class accommodation