Customer reviews: Activity holidays in Switzerland

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Clegg on 30/08/2016

*****
Good summer walking in a lovely valley. Not as spectacular as the Jungfrau region, but impressive. Great to have passes for most (but not all ) of the walks. Good cooking at Alfa Soleil, though watch out - heavy handed in cooking with cream. Even in bad weather there are walks one can do.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Kelleher on 30/08/2016

*****
We had a fantastic time on the Classic Swiss Alps walking holiday. Everything was organised for us - from the flight to the journey to the hotel and details on the walks. The hotel staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. The food was the surprise of the trip, it was delicious! The walks and the scenery was spectacular, and the suggested routes were all brilliant. There was also enough flexibility in the suggested guide to vary the hiking to your level of ability. Overall, we had a brilliant time!

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Ms Cutts on 23/08/2016

*****
Kandersteg is the most perfect setting - the beauty of the mountains, lakes and meadows is breathtaking! The walking options are fabulous - but remember to take your poles for those steep downhill sections! The staff at the hotel were welcoming and so helpful - a real plus. A wonderful holiday!

Walking in Davos

By Mr Beresford on 17/08/2016

***#.
We went in early June and many places in Davos and Klosters are closed - it is not a 'bustling city' at this time of year. A number of cable cars and bus services are not running at this time, so some walks are not possible, or a long climb up is required. The hotel was running on minimum staff levels for the first few days, although the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the accommodation was excellent. The half board dinners were generally disappointing and the restaurant did not meet 'the excellent reputation for its cuisine'. We had the 'a la carte' menu one night and this was far superior. Overall the walks and scenery were excellent which made up for a few disappointments in other areas.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Ms Schoenfeld on 16/08/2016

*****
Our trip we booked through Headwaters for a stay in Kandersteg, Switzerland at the Alfa Soleil was the highlight of a few weeks spent in Europe. The hotel was wonderful, and the hiking suggestions from Headwaters were great and provided us with all the information we needed to do some great hiking on our own. They scheduled our train trips and everything worked just as planned. It was great to have a home-base from which to do a lot of different hikes in the area. We were very pleased with our whole experience!

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Lambert on 08/08/2016

***#.
No contact on arrival. Phoned after half hour when he then appeared. Luggage collection from 9am, but not guaranteed delivery befor 6pm. Can be a problem with small rack packs on bikes, particularly when conditions wet.

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mrs Hutchinson on 25/07/2016

***#.
The route notes from Kleine Scheidegg to Grindelwald need to be improved. Several instances where unclear, eg says continue downhill but there is a 3 road junction with all 3 roads going downhill, unclear what is road and what is drive, doesn't tell you which way to go to get to hotel relative to the gondola station when you turn off the main road in Grindelwald - road splits and no info as to whether L or R. On arrival at Wilderswil by train, book says cross over the tracks to taxi, but arrived on the taxi side of the station so didn't have to cross tracks - a bit confusing. A note in the booklet about having to fill out name/passport number/date on the rail tickets would be useful. The pack lunch from Hotel Baeren was very poor.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Ms Moore on 06/07/2016

*****
Wonderful holiday - excellent hotel in an amazing varied area for walking with stunning views round every corner. The buses and lifts - free with the complementary pass - make the high level walks (and/ or restaurants) so accessible. One of our best holidays ever and we will be back!

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mrs Hayward on 06/07/2016

*****
The Classic Swiss Alps walking holiday was a wonderful blend of a comfortable and welcoming hotel and varied walking. As a single centre holiday it was good to be able to access amazing scenery very easily and close to the hotel. The walks could all be tailored to suit ability, weather and level of energy by extending or shortening the suggested itineraries. The map was a great help in addition to the written descriptions. We were there at the end of June just before the hay cut in the village fields so saw the myriad meadow flowers before they were harvested, a process that was also very interesting to watch. The higher alpine meadows were the best we have ever seen anywhere and the waterfalls were impressive, fed by the melting snow. Kandersteg, where the holiday is based, is well served by trains and this was our method of transport all the way from England.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Wilks on 30/06/2016

*****
We had a wonderful time - excellent hotel, interesting food and superb walking. If you like wild flowers, it was a stunning to see the variety and colour on display. It is a reminder of what we have lost with our 'improved' grassland and factory farming. What was nice was that we could tailor each day's walk with the help of the hotel staff according to how strenuous a walk we felt like and what the weather was like in various parts of the area.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Doublet on 16/06/2016

*****
Great location and excellent Hotel with some fantastic walks for all abilities.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Jones on 15/06/2016

***#.
This was our third trip with you and all have been most enjoyable - the right length of walks and the grading worked out fine.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Craig on 08/06/2016

***#.
A very good experience with lovely location, accommodation and scenery.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mr Shore on 25/02/2016

***#.
The weather throughout the Alps this season has been too warm, so as a result the snow in the cross-country areas is fairly poor. At Kandersteg some of the more interesting valley skiing was closed. However Kandersteg has the advantage that - in addition to the valley skiing - there is some high (2000 m) cross-country skiing at Sunnbuel which is accessed by cable car. When we skied at Sunnbuel it was very quiet and we felt like polar explorers! The valley skiing is less extensive than at Leutasch or Dobbiaco, but this also means it attracts fewer people, meaning the trails are quiet. The hotel Alfa Soleil is old-fashioned, in keeping with the whole village which is sleepy and - like the trails - quiet. Although it is on the 'main' road, there is hardly any traffic and it is very quiet at night. The food at Alfa Soleil was good, including the vegetarian options. The restaurant has a good selection of local wines. The service was excellent - in the restaurant, at reception and also the housekeeping. In fact the housekeepers were more thorough than I can remember at any other hotel - even tidying disorganised pairs of shoes for us! The owner, Peter, provided a warm welcome and was available throughout the week for help and advice. We paid a supplement for a junior suite and I'm glad we did - the basic rooms are small.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mrs Best on 22/02/2016

***#.
Kandersteg is a picturesque spot. Unfortunately the snow was not as good as in previous years in Austria and Italy. It meant that I didn't feel that I had done as much skiing as in the past, however I still had a lovely holiday. The ski instructor --Stephan-- was excellent. Good spacious twin room at this hotel for single occupancy. That is good when they feel the need to charge a single supplement.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mr Munro on 22/02/2016

*****
Kandersteg and its mountain setting made for a glorious winter holiday offering ua a mix of cross country skiing and winter walking in the high Alps. All in the knowledge you are returning to a very comfortable hotel with delicious meals and a lovely welcome always

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mr Summers on 17/02/2016

***#.
The resort was small with limited skiing available (we accept the weather was a factor but the skiing was limited even with good snow). The hotel staff were exemplary but our bedroom was small and tired. The resort lacked atmosphere and energy. Without the cake shop/cafe it would have been a disaster. Fortunately we were with friends we had met on an earlier Headwater holiday! Having to pay for the sauna and for tap water at table was an irritation!

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mr Asteriades on 29/09/2015

*****
We have been on a large number of self-guided Headwater walking holidays. This was in many ways the best in terms of scenery and walking. For those who suffer from vertigo it does have a few 'moments' but you can invariably negotiate around these.

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mr Tucker on 29/09/2015

*****
Overall holiday was very enjoyable and notes were excellent. Quality of food at Hotel Alpenruh was fantastic. On slightly negative side - we found out that Hotel Baeren had fully booked for a conference and we were put in a room which was off the first floor function room. This was not of the same quality as first room and was noisy with staff clearing later away later following function downstairs. Seemed like we were the easy option to relocate? Food at Hotel Alte Post was very basic and not of the same quality as other hotels.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Patten on 24/09/2015

*****
Good value and well thought out

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Ms Savage on 01/09/2015

*****
Excellent hotel, food and location.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr O'Sullivan on 27/08/2015

*****
Loved the Three Lake District (Swiss); charming towns/villages; beautiful scenery; easy to find good restaurants for lunch breaks; and Konditorei for delicious 'Kaffee und Kuchen'; very friendly people. We cycled on every suggested cycle for the rest days and also managed the optional 'testing hills'. Great advice from Rudi (in SwissTrails) about taking a train to Fleurier on rest day and cycling down the very scenic Areuse river gorge; and visiting the Vully wine region; good cycle paths and signposts in the area. August was perfect timing to see the market garden area near Murten. Last year we had to bring our own helmets on the Emilia Romagna cycle but SwissTrails can rpovide helmets. It would have saved luggage space if we had known that. We are already planning our next trip - maybe April in Catalonia.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Betts on 21/08/2015

***#.
Our Swiss Lakes cycling holiday was a great experience and we enjoyed visiting the different towns around the lakes. We found the languages fascinating - one minute French , the next German! We didn't have the best of the weather unfortunately though - hot and humid at the start of the week and then dark clouds and rain at the end of the week, We took refuge on the train one day to avoid the bad weather.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Jones on 17/08/2015

***#.
Web site is good with lots of relevant information. Holiday was very enjoyable, hotels were good and well located within the applicable resorts or towns. Swiss Trails were very good, on time at airport, information provided very comprehensive and staff friendly and well informed. Bikes fine, no problems encountered. All in all a very enjoyable cycling holiday with some interesting places to visit en route or as day trips by train, boat or cycle.

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mr Hardaker on 13/08/2015

*****
An excellent circuit of the Bernese Alps staying at good standard hotels run by friendly and helpful people. The walking notes were well written and accurate, allowing the map to stay in the bag.

Walking in Davos

By Mis Ng on 13/08/2015

*****
The service staff at the hotel provided in the package for the Davos walk was excellent at Hotel Meierhof. They were very attentive, and the hotel had really great facilities when it was raining (pool, sauna). Please note that the directions on the notes for the walks (which is the primary aspect of the holiday) are often wrong! I found myself halfway through a 10 km hike completely lost in the middle of the mountains, and I was fortunate I had my smart phone on me with googlemaps on it. The notes they provided me with needed a lot of updating. This was particularly dangerous as I was hiking through some rather difficult terrain and received wrong directions halfway through a very difficult walk. If you decide to go hiking, it's highly recommended you take either your smart phone with a maps app on it, *and* strongly recommended that you have some kind of map skills as well as a physical map when you go hiking. The scenery is beautiful, however the level of difficulty of the walks is much harder than you might anticipate as the pathways were often quite challenging, the 'descent' that they describe in the directions often means a very, very steep slope that could be very dangerous if raining. This is for people who are relatively fit and are mindful of trekking through some mountain terrain with a walking stick even if you are relatively young. The rest of the holiday was absolutely wonderful, but the hiking aspect is very challenging and you can't rely on the directions of the notes they give you as a general guide.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mrs Weaver on 12/08/2015

*****
Our first walking holiday and first with Headwater. We had a great experience and will come back. A few errors in notes we will send details to you.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Bryant on 11/08/2015

*****
Hotel is in great location, all walks are very close and varied. Hotel was comfortable, our room was old in terms of decor, but others have been recently refurbished. The evening meals were pretty good (mainly meat, very little fish), breakfast was rather bland (limited selection mainly bread). Packed lunch was welcome, but was a sandwich only, which was quite lacking compared to other Headwater packed lunches.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Herron on 11/08/2015

***#.
Overall enjoyable and interesting. We were unfortunate in that our last two days fell on Swiss National day and a Sunday so our planned trip to Bern while we were in Murten had to be abandoned. The food offered in the hotels was of a slightly disappointing standard compared to previous Headwater holidays we have been on and the extra charges in Hotel Beaulac for leaving bikes in their garage and the nightly tax came as surprise. Also the 'blue books' were either not heard of (Beaulac again) or hard to locate despite them being a very useful part of these holidays.

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mrs Love-fordham on 24/07/2015

*****
Challenging hiking with amazing views and a good choice of things to do on non hiking days. First two hikes have very few other hikers which I like. Last two hikes were much more public and busy. On a whole, the area has been developed as a vacation spot and one encounters masses of tourists from Asia and India in the towns and any attractions - never on the trails. It is a bit overwhelming. There isn't much of an opportunity to encounter Swiss culture. We enjoyed the hikes, the views were wonderful, but we were a bit dismayed that there were so many tourists to contend with and that we rarely encountered Swiss people to chat with. There is no local rep so you depend on the hoteliers - all were very good except for Hotel Baren.

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Langleben on 24/07/2015

*****
The fact that we have been travelling with Headwater since 1996 speaks volumes. This should be recommendation enough

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mr Hunter on 20/07/2015

*****
An amazing time

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Keen on 13/07/2015

***#.
Wonderful walking in Switzerland as long as you have good weather. The packed lunches were the same every day better not to include in hol price.Also you forgot to inform us of the local taxes payable ar end of holiday,an extra 64 franks

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Bradley on 09/07/2015

**#..
Check out the hotels more thoroughly ,menus, upgrades if any.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mrs Jenkins on 07/07/2015

***#.
Contrasting walks in a beautiful area of Switzerland. The two walks to the Oeschinensee and the Doldenhornhutte are particularly challenging with many steep or tricky paths often very narrow and across waterfalls or shale slopes. Essential to have a head for heights and walking poles. These however were the best walks with terrific views. Do the extension to the Daubensee walk as the views at the final destination are well with it. The Alfa Soleil Hotel is a good 3 star hotel and our junior suite was excellent and worth the upgrade. Our one complaint of the room would be the shower and the sudden change of temperature when running going from very cold to scorching and dangerously hot; we had to be be swift to move out of the range of the spray when this happened. Breakfast is not as varied as other Swiss hotels we have stayed at and there was a huge additional charge if you fancied eggs and bacon. The food overall was inconsistent and not up to expectation following all the reviews and varied from poor ( tough poached chicken and lamb curry one night) to very good on the barbecue evening. However, great value holiday overall for Switzerland which is very expensive. PS the house wine is very good and at 22 Swiss francs per 50cl, a bit of a bargain.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Dr Hammond on 07/07/2015

*****
Excellent cycling holiday.Accurate cycle notes,friendly people.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Boyce on 02/07/2015

*****
Exceeded expectations, scenery gorgeous, hotel friendly and helpful staff

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mr Tattersall on 01/07/2015

*****
The holiday was stress free, everything was as explained or advertised . The walks were maybe tougher than we expected , but that is not a negative reflection on the holiday We would definitely do another similar holiday, this was our 6th Headwater Holiday, but not our last

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Dr Luton on 17/06/2015

*****
Great walking on good paths. Excellent scenery and wonderful alpine flowers. Consider Berne as a day off destination.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Ms Gane on 17/06/2015

***#.
It was a beautiful location and we had some lovely walks and saw amazing flowers. The hotel owner who was supposed to give us some guidance was not as helpful as he could have been. He raced through some information on the first evening and gave us various passes not all of which he explained.After that, he told us about one bus route being unavailable and arranged for us to travel on it when it became available. However when we asked questions subsequently, in particular if a route was Ok, he said it was up to us if we went on it. In fact it was challenging with some landslides on steep mountainside and frozen snow partially covering a fast-flowing stream through which we had to paddle. The breakfast and packed lunches were great. Dinner was positively gourmet. (Whisper it low, but we would have preferred something simpler with fewer courses so that there was time for a walk afterwards). Mark-ups on the wine in the restaurant were enormous. We were also rather startled to be charged for tap water every night.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mrs Triger on 11/06/2015

*****
This was our second visit to the Alfa Soleil in Kandersteg. We were incredibly fortunate to receive a double upgrade to their new Loft apartment!! We had booked a new junior suite and we believe we were given this because there were a large party of elderly people staying and possibly some of them had booked the Loft, only to find there was no lift. This really made our week's stay as it was spacious and beautifully furnished giving us room to spread out and to also enjoy the enormous terrace with views all round of the mountains.The weather held up every single day and what with this, and the excellent food provided by Nico, we could not have had a more enjoyable stay.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mrs Welling on 27/03/2015

*****
The family who run Alfa Soleil couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. The food was of an amazing standard. Hotel is a little walk from town centre but quiet with lovely views.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mrs Lynn on 03/02/2015

*****
We really enjoyed our week in Kandersteg. Lucky to have blue skies for much of the week we could make the most of the winter walking and cross-country skiing trails and also the extra activities of the Belle Epoque week during our stay. The hotel was friendly and comfortable and has a sauna and swimming pool in the basement, ideal for soothing any aching muscles after a day of activity. There were few other UK guests there in that week but we found some of the other guests from Switzerland and Germany friendly and happy to practice their English in conversation with us.

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Bishop on 27/10/2014

***#.
We were a little concerned as to whether the three train connections we needed to make to get from the airport to the hotel would work but in the event everything dovetailed perfectly. The hotel was well located for access to/from the station and bus stops, and the walking was varied and interesting, making full use of the lift systems, and covering all different sides of the valley. The food in the hotel was good on some evenings but only average on others - the starter on the first night for instance consisted of tiny cubes of cheese and a few salad leaves and the main course looked as if it had been kept warm for a while, rather than being freshly served. Something to be aware of is that during August, when we visited, Davos is a popular destination for Hassidic Jewish families, with many hotels and apartment blocks being completely taken over so if you are expecting a traditional Swiss experience, you may be disappointed. Visitors should also compare Headwater prices (we paid around £1500 per person for half board) as against about £850pp charged by Inghams for the same week for full board.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Harris on 17/10/2014

***#.
Apart from the stress of the late arrival of the transport in Zurich, everything else was as described. We enjoyed the cycling and we were fortunate with the weather. We particularly liked the Neuchatel hotel as we had a harbour view. Of the included evening meals, Aarberg was the best as they offered choice, but there was no choice at Murten, and the menu was not particularly to our taste, surprising given the general standard of the restaurant.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Dr Banyard on 16/10/2014

*****
Everythiing worked just as it should. We were very happy indeed with our holiday. My wife's dietary restrictions were coped with very efficiently and without fuss by the hotel. Thank you very much!

Walking in Davos

By Mr Griffiths on 08/10/2014

*****
The holiday was what we had hoped it would be. The wonderful weather made the walking and views the best they could possibly have been (apart from one afternoon of rain). The hotel was comfortable and the staff were friendly, kind and helpful, The wine in the hotel was extremely expensive - when we requested house wine we were told that a delivery was expected and that there was none........ So we didn't have wine with our dinner. We are not big drinkers but would have enjoyed a glass of wine with our evening meal.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mrs Salisbury on 26/09/2014

*****
Wonderful walks, great advice from Peter at hotel. We walked every day, and enjoyed exploring the area. Food and the friendly staff at the hotel made this one of our best holidays.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Holman on 26/09/2014

*****
This tour is far from flat but fortunately I had an e-bike which I can highly recommend but, my husband, who is a seasoned cyclist, found the two hills on day 5 taxing. The routes are all clearly marked and can be followed without the need to read copious notes and, more importantly, by and large, the tracks are dedicated cycle paths. Bliss! All the hotels are of a high standard, with the Krone at Murten being exceptional: the location, the views from the restaurant, the food and the staff were all excellent. We will certainly cycle again with Headwater and, most definitely with e-bikes.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Baxter on 26/09/2014

*****
Holiday met expectations. The stay was perfectly enjoyable - getting around on buses and trains was very easy and straightforward and all the hotel staff were very helpful. Walkinng notes were helpful and accurate. Travelling from Zurich Airport via rail was a pleasurable experience apart from getting our luggage on and off the trains!!

Walking in Davos

By Ms Nicolson on 19/09/2014

*****
I was really taken with Switzerland, finding the people so friendly and helpful. Scenery and transport were fantastic and I will definitely consider a trip to Switzerland again

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Harper on 18/09/2014

*****
The mix of one day cycling, one day off was a very good idea as it allowed us to not only give our bodies a rest but also explore the region and sight- see more than we would otherwise. Distances were just right and routes well thought out. Hotel locations and types were also well considered and varied. Itineries were carefully detailed and helpful. The bikes were immaculate and in excellent condition. My e-bike (first time user) was easy to use and wonderful, especially on hills, when flagging or if trying to keep up with sportier group members. We had a lot of fun, good food and fresh air.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Giffin on 16/09/2014

***#.
Very enjoyable - well organised and very helpful people everywhere. we seldom rate things excellent!

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Ms Foulds on 15/09/2014

*****
Kandersteg is a good base for the series of walks suggested by HW but also for constructing your own routes if you are a confident walker. The hotel is comfortable and friendly and the food was mostly excellent. A small buffet was provided every day from which to make sandwiches for a picnic lunch, although more choice of fruit would have been welcome. Kandersteg village is very quiet (at least in summer) and we were a little disappointed at the lack of anywhere to go in the evening apart from having a drink in another hotel. Prices for cable cars, soft drinks, coffees and cakes were higher than envisaged but quality was very good. The scenery in the valley is stunning but the typical mountain weather meant that the peaks were not always visible. On cloudy days, it was good to have the choice of taking a quick train ride into the Rhone Valley area where the weather was usually better. Several of the walks in the HW itinerary can be shortened or lengthened to suit individual abilities and taken as a whole they give a very good overview of the area.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Stewart on 12/09/2014

***#.
A good short break in spectacular surroundings, with enough guidance to enable us to enjoy the area to the best as and when we wished without forcing us into any particular programme.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Whiteley on 01/09/2014

*****
Ebikes a lot of fun - still felt we got some exercise! Route maps and wriiten directions very comprehensive and accurate. Lovely choice and variety of hotels. Particularly liked the boutique-style Hotel du Theatre in Yverdon. Swiss Trails welcome talk very useful. Fantastic holiday enjoyed by all. Beautiful part of Switzerland - and it only rained once!

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Davis on 28/08/2014

***#.
Cycling was excellent, but we took a bike computer which helped as some of the details were misleading and would have been a bit lost without it. First and last hotels were very dated, although clean the beds were not very inviting. Hotel Beaulac was pleasant. Hotel du Theatre was nice but location was not very nice and hardly any restaurants to choose from. Every wher was very smokey! Would make me think twice about booking with headwater again because of the varying standards of hotel.

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mrs Frechette on 27/08/2014

***#.
We had a great time despite the weather!! Please note the food at Alte Post restaurant was dreadful and needs addressing

Headwater response

Dear Mrs Frechette, Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to see that you had a great holiday in the Bernese Oberland region of Switzerland. Although, it was disappointing to read of your dissatisfaction with the food at the Alte post. Whilst the previous feedback we have received for this holiday has scored good to excellent we realise that we cannot afford to let our standards slip and will continue to monitor the feedback over the course of the season. Yours sincerely, Headwater Customer Service team

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Hepworth on 13/08/2014

*****
We had a fantastic time. Really good for 11 and 9yr olds. True family activity. Rest day in between ideal. No one got bored.

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mr Fowler on 06/08/2014

*****
An excellently organised walking holiday

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Weyman on 29/07/2014

*****
Davos was an excellent base for quick access via the various cable cars and funiculars to many stunning high level walks in the beautiful alpine scenery. The Hotel Meierhof suited us perfectly - it is ideally located for transport links between Davos dorf and Davos platz. The close proximity of Davos lake and its many and varied activities was a hit with us - we had an afternoon of windsurfing with an instructor who spoke perfect English. Next time we must have a go at the paragliding which we watched taking place from our spot above Klosters! We visited the Hallenbad and its wellness centre in Davos on two occasions - another bonus after a hard day's walking. We were very fortunate with the weather which made our holiday all the more enjoyable.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Wheeler on 25/07/2014

*****
Our holiday was wonderful. No complaints.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Dr Paterson on 15/07/2014

*****
The Alfa Soleil is a wonderful hotel with a really excellent restaurant. We're vegetarians and the chef provided an amazing series of creations over the week for us. The hotel proprietor is a lovely host who really takes care of all his guests and the hotel team are superb. The walks are amazing and very varied with plenty of other options - one day we took a day trip to Bern which is a fascinating city, and also spent a day on the lake taking a steamer from Spiez. We travelled by Eurostar and TGV - dinner in Paris on the way out and lunch in Basel on the way back - really comfortable - do book ahead and get cheap first class tickets for the TGV though.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Williams on 08/07/2014

***#.
Overall an enjoyable holiday, the walks are definitely in the 2 boot category but using the cable cars means much of the walking is flat or downhill. The scenery is majestic providing you can see it for the clouds! Go prepared for mixed weather, we were in Kandersteg in early July and had everything from glorious sunshine to sleet (above Oeschinensee) by way of rain and thunderstorms. We were lucky enough to see an ibex, marmots and an eagle (at the top of Gemmi Pass). The paths were all well maintained and the signage is very good making the navigation easy. The hotel is welcoming and the rooms comfortable if somewhat dated in decor and furniture. The food is good but be aware that it's a 4 course set menu with just a choice of 2 main courses (or an unspecified vegetarian option). The 'lunch buffet' where you can make up your own packed lunch at breakfast time is a good idea. The travel arrangements all worked well and the Swiss trains were on time as expected. Being a Saturday the train from Zurich Airport to Bern (and return) can be busy and does not cater particularly well for luggage, we had to leave our bags in the area by the doors along with a number of others. The reserved seats that Headwater provided were necessary but these were upstairs away from our bags. Also note that the train from Bern to Kandersteg splits at Speiz with only the front portion going to Kandersteg and Brig, we didn't find this entirely obvious when boarding the train. It's not a big problem as the ticket inspector checks that you're in the right part of the train but it's easier if you don't have to move yourself and your bags at one of the stops.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Beresford on 07/07/2014

*****
A great holiday based in an excellent friendly hotel with good local food. The walks,starting from the hotel or via a short train, bus or cable car ride,were interesting and varied. The walks are deserving of the 2 boot status, taking most of the day to complete with the suggested extensions, allowing time for photographs, eating the excellent hotel picnics and admiring the views and the magnificent alpine flowers in June.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Asbrey on 24/06/2014

*****
This was at least the third cycling holiday we have had with Headwater. At last we found a flat route. Switzerland is such a pretty place and cycling around the lakes and meeting people from Switzerland with French and German backgrounds was a delight.The route was just challenging enough for us old people! The accommodation was always welcoming and of a very good standard.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Rodger on 13/06/2014

*****
Unfortunately I am getting too old for even 1 boot holidays ! Apart from that I have enjoyed all my Headwater holidays.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Ms Wilson on 24/02/2014

*****
As this was my first activity holiday alone, and in a country that I have not previously visited, the security of knowing all the arrangements had been made for me was a great pleasure. The hotel and village were particularly quiet during the week I chose but this meant very personal attention during the cross-country skiing lessons!

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mrs Hallier on 23/09/2013

*****
We had an excellent holiday and would highly recommend it. The notes were invaluable for the hiking and we could not have managed without them. The transport of our luggage from hotel to hotel happened without a hitch. We were very impressed with the friendliness and efficiency of the Swiss. It is a beautiful area in Switzerland - not to be missed in your travels. Hope to go back there.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Munn on 22/09/2013

***#.
This was our 12th cycling holiday in 12 years with Headwater. It was well up to the standard that we have come to expect. We were a little unlucky with the weather but were well prepared with waterproofs, probably essential for this holiday in September. The cycling was easy, with very few climbs. Route marking was very clear and the roads and tracks were good. All of the hotels were very good - in Neuchatel we found ourselves in a mini suite with spectacular views over the lake and the Alps! The bikes provided by Swisstrails were very well maintained and we were pleased that we were provided with spare innertubes although fortunately they were not needed.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Mais on 21/09/2013

*****
First class holiday in every respect.

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mr Sykes on 20/09/2013

***#.
Enjoyed our holiday - despite mixed weather Thought all the hotels v good - better quality than Inntravel which suited us. Good walking notes Had a satmap (never used it despite mist) Carried the map but rarely used it need it.. You have probably been told this before but there was one major mistake I the notes. All in all an excellent holiday thanksOn day 8, the first leg of the valley walk back from Grindelwald takes 80 minutes - not 3 hours

Walking in Davos

By Mr Parr on 20/09/2013

***#.
An excellent hotel with very good food, accommodation and facilities. The pool, sauna and steam room are first-class. The staff are friendly and helpful. The walks are also excellent, though the stated distances and times seemed to be under-estimated. The transport in and around Davos, usually free with the hotel's card, is superb, making it easy to access and plan the walks. Everything runs on time, to the second. The weather was awful all week - very cold and lots of rain - but all the walks were still accessible. We missed out on a lot of the scenery, though - too much low cloud to see very far!

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Finn on 18/09/2013

*****
We thought that this was an excellent walking holiday. The variety of the walks meant that we could always choose one which suited us plus could travel to the next valley for better weather. The hotel was extremely comfortable and Peter and Agnes were great hosts with lots of good advice.The big surprise was the quality of the food which was definitely 5 star with good flavours and presentation

Walking in Davos

By Dr Iosson on 29/08/2013

*****
Davos is a superb centre for walking, with hundreds of kilometres of signed walking trails. The provision of the Davos inclusive card meant that most buses, trains and cable cars in the Landwasser valley were free of charge. In addition, the card allowed free entry to the Alpinum garden at the top of the Schatzalp cable railway [not 5 CHF as shown in the Headwater notes] - although there seemed to be no-one on duty at the entrance when we went. Use of the cable cars, and the provision of 'soft' and 'leisurely' walks meant we could 'mix and match' the walks we did, and take our time to look at the scenery, the flowers and the birds. The weather was a good temperature for walking, with only one wet afternoon - most of the rain we had came at night, although when we left, there was fresh snow up on the tops of the hills. This was about our 14th holiday with Headwater [I have lost count! - and the first we have done with only the two of us] - but it certainly won't be the last.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Hulme on 27/08/2013

*****
Switzerland has excellent cycling routes. Hotels were all good and varied in style. Fantastic scenery without having to cycle up too many hills.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Williams on 14/08/2013

***#.
Reassured by a member of Headwater staff who had just been there that the Alpen Soleil in Kandersteg was 'a quiet hotel', we were very disappointed to discover that the hotel is right on a main road at the front and that at the back is a railway line carrying cargo freight through the night. In the hot weather, with windows open, it was hard to sleep for the noise of traffic and trains, all the more intrusive because occasional.

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Edmondson on 08/08/2013

*****
This was our first Headwater holiday, we chose the Meierhof in davos Dorf, Switzerland which was a very good location . The staff were very helpful and food was excellent (unlike what we had read from the reviews on the web) after a long day walking. The use of the travel pass for the local bus, train and cable car was an extra bonus. Thankyou Headwater we had a wonderful holiday and will certainly use Headwater holidays again and recommend to our friends.

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Granger on 27/07/2013

*****
We had a brilliant holiday luckily we didn't need any help because we didnt hear or see anybody from headwater the whole holiday! but the hotel were very helpful with local information. We did not know there were other headwater guests on the trip until we met them in the minibus going home and it would have been nice to chat with them, apart from that we had a great time and I am looking forward to my next holiday with you.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Bradley on 25/07/2013

*****
Wellorganised, comfortable hotel, easily followed walking notes, beautiful area, challenging treks

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr McDavitt on 25/07/2013

***#.
We enjoyed our holiday. However, we were a little disappointed by the lack of entertainment in the evening at both the hotel and location.in general. In terms of value for money we felt the holiday content was expensive when compared to other holidays we have been on. And I do appreciate that we were in Switzerland!

Walking in Davos

By Mr Tuffill on 25/07/2013

*****
I sent you a separate letter - we had a problem regarding a rail upgrade to First Class. When I say good value for money, we lived in Switzerland nearly 40 years ago. The Swiss are remarkable at still providing good holidays when the exchange rate from SFR:£ has changed by a factor of seven. Would that we were as efficient!

Walking in Davos

By Mr Crowe on 25/07/2013

*****
A wonderful walking holiday in the most beautiful pristine mountains.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Williams on 23/07/2013

*****
Fantastic holiday in beautiful scenery.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Dennis on 21/07/2013

***#.
Kandersteg was an exellent place for a walking holiday with a good variety of walks but age was against us (we are 80plus) in some instances, we made full use of the cable cars however.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mrs Longfoot on 17/07/2013

*****
Switzerland is breathtakingly beautiful and we loved it, but everything was ver expensive, so we were glad of half board and the picnics provided which helped to keep the cost down.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Sidders on 14/07/2013

***#.
A pleasant holiday, very good bikes and safe, interesting cycle routes.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Bracken on 11/07/2013

***#.
Good holiday with friends, but walking was poorly rated by you and not either soft or leisurely. Walking at over 6,000 ft in very high temperatures over rough uneven undulating tracks is neither. Many public transport services were closed during our visits, trains, Parsenn cable cars etc. Davos was very disappointing not that attractive really The holiday was good due to the company, but holiday poor really , only 5 out of 10 and well down on other Headwater holidays we have had

Walking in Davos

By Mr Wilding on 10/07/2013

***#.
If you like walking in a mountain environment then Davos is a fine location. The town itself is not particularly attractive - functional rather than picturesque. The use of the local trains, buses and cable cars with a free Davos Pass was a great add on.

Walking in Davos

By Mis Newall on 10/07/2013

***#.
Would not return to Davos, too big and ugly, would not return to hotel - too much noise from main road outside had to use ear plugs to sleep and found live music in hotel, which I could hear in my room annoying. However, convenience of buses, trains, skilifts to access beautiful valleys and lovely walks was appreciated. excellent swimming pool, good to have single rooms available without a surcharge. Found the walk descriptions very helpful.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Hill on 09/07/2013

*****
Awesome scenery, excellent hotel, wonderful wild flowers and butterflies.Mixed weather.

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Dr Horn on 07/07/2013

*****
A challenging walk but more than amply rewarded by fantastic views. We needed the rest days for rest!

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mr Brisley on 26/06/2013

*****
disappointed that grindelwald to wilderswil path not open and not advised until received route notes 10 days before holiday that this may be the case

Headwater response

We were very sorry to read that you were unaware that, during early and late season, the path from Grindelwald to Wilderswil may be closed for safety reasons due to heavy snow over the winter. We advise of this in our brochure and also on our website, prior to guests booking with us. We do provide full details of two alternative walks for day 8, so that should this unfortunately be the case, you are still able to enjoy the holiday, which we hope you were able to do.

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mrs Bailey on 26/06/2013

***#.
This was a well organised, really enjoyable holiday. The walk notes were mostly accurate (only a few unimportant details were different) and the times suggested were about right for a reasonably fit couple in their 50s. There was plenty to do on the non-walking days although we found the local knowledge of the hotel owners and their brochures of more use than the notebooks Headwater sent to us. Every hotel was great - good people, lovely food and useful information about our own walks and others. We would certainly book again with Headwater.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mrs Triger on 15/06/2013

*****
An excellently organised walking holiday with a selection of very interesting walks. First rate hotel with superb food - makes a huge difference to be 'family owned' and upon arrival we were given an upgraded room as the hotel was not full. A very nice way to start! Kandersteg is quite beautiful and the people courteous and friendly. It helped that we had superb weather for 5 out of 7 days and the mountains and meadows were looking their best. All in all a most successful holiday. Thank you Headwater.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Swanborough on 15/06/2013

*****
The Staff at Headwater carefully prepares their holidays, and have good knowledge of the locations. When we had need of a Dentist, the hotel reception staff quickly set up an appointment nearby.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mrs Satchell on 12/06/2013

**#..
Don't go to Alfa Soleil, beautiful scenery, rubbish food

Headwater response

We are so sorry that the food at the Alfa Soleil did not meet your expectations. It genuinely took us by surprise - it is normally one of the highlights! Please let me assure you that our Swiss Progamme Manager will be discussing this with the hoteliers and monitoring the situation closely. We have worked with Peter and Agnes at the Hotel Alfa Soleil for many, many years and they are always extremely keen to act on our feedback, we are confident that any issues will be resolved effectively.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mrs Bullock on 14/03/2013

*****
At the last minute we had to change our holiday plans because a shoulder injury prevented me from cross country skiing. Both yourselves and the hotel owner were very helpful in suggesting walks and activities we could do from this location.We had a fantastic time and would recommend Kandersteg as a lovely location for all the family. The food at the hotel was exceptional and the scenery stunning.

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Bent on 30/10/2012

*****
We had not been on a walking holiday before and I would recommend Headwater Holidays without reservation. The hotel was excellent and the service they provided was superb. The walks were well planned and the free bus, train and cable pass made it so easy to get around. It was wonderful to view the Swiss countryside form altitude. We would certainly now have the confidence to go on a walking holiday again and maybe consider a multi location holiday with Hesdwater. I would also recommend the Meiroff Hotel in Davos, it is an ideal location and the staff were excellent.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Ridger on 06/10/2012

*****
We greatly enjoyed our Swiss cycling holiday. The variety of hotels was excellent - it was good to experience swiss hotels and modern hotels. The bikes were of good quality, and excellent to ride. The instructions and maps were very useful and we did not get lost once. The only disadvantages of this holiday was the 4 included meals are a set menu - so you have no choice what so ever - however my boyfriend does not eat fish and in one hotel they were extremely happy to make him something else. However if you are a fussy eater you should let the hotels know what you can/can't eat. And lastly Switzerland is extremely expensive to eat out - however if you are prepared for this is it fine. Overall the cycling, hotels, scenary was excellent. We had a fab holiday and would recommend it to friends and family.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Greenbank on 29/09/2012

*****
Excellent hotels and lovely easy cycling. This is a part of Switzerland well worth a visit.

Walking in Davos

By Mr Fennell on 29/09/2012

*****
The holiday was all we expected it to be with a good variety of well thought-out walks and a comfortable hotel with good facilities. Our only disappointment was that the gala dinner was offered at a CHF60 supplement and seemed to be a rather overblown affair mainly aimed at the local gentry, consisting as it did of a champagne reception, an 8 course meal and accompanying tenor. We did not go because it did not fit in with the sort of holiday we were on; although we did hear the tenor from the adjacent restaurant. He was quite good from that distance.

The Swiss Lakes Cycling

By Mr Hails on 24/09/2012

*****
A well organised with first class accommodation

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Williams on 13/09/2012

*****
An excellent relaxing holiday. None of the walks are particularly strenuous (for a reasonably fit 60+ year old) and do not take up a full day so if you want extreme exertion it might be better to look elsewhere.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Clare on 23/07/2012

*****
Kandersteg in June is a winner!

Jungfrau Peaks & Glaciers Walk

By Mr Phelps on 23/07/2012

*****
This is a brilliant holiday with staggering views and some very good hotels. The walking is challenging but rewarding though, as on all mountain holidays, one must expect some bad weather and lack of views as a result. We found the notes excellent and the timings pretty accurate even a couple in mid/late 60s.

Walking in Davos

By Dr Emerson on 23/07/2012

*****
We had a wonderful time, even though the weather was not perfect. There are so many walking options, and the maps so good, that one could spend much longer at the Hotel Meierhof in Davos. Local travel on the ski-lifts, buses and trains with the guest pass was easy and efficient. The hotel itself was perfect for us. We have been on many excellent Headwater holidays, but this is amongst the best, if not the actual best. Value for money? Kuoni stay at the same hotel and are a lot cheaper. The local maps would enable similar walks. Kuoni also have a resident agent.

Walking in Davos

By Mrs Dayani on 23/07/2012

*****
This was a wonderful holiday. Relaxing and invigorating at the same time, Davos is clean, well situated and surrounded by fantastic walking. The Davos card gives local travel opportunities and discounts at a multitude of local outlets.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mis Stainer on 11/07/2012

*****
Our holiday was excellent. Never done an activity holiday before but will do again. Already recommended Headwater to many people.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mrs Robertson on 07/07/2012

*****
Tremendous experience which resulted in me challenging myself in some situations and overcoming fears to enjoy the scenery and the local flowers at their best.

Classic Swiss Alps Walk

By Mr Moore on 07/07/2012

*****
Well organised and good value for money

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Dr Hamilton on 17/04/2012

***#.
Good holiday, unusually warm weather made skiing a little difficult

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Dr Ferguson on 18/02/2012

*****
Excellent holiday - slightly abrupt hotellier but wonderful staff and excellent food made up for it- room a little old fashioned needed updating especially the sound proofing or take the batteries out of your hearing aids

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mrs Bence on 18/02/2012

*****
Relaxing and enjoyable ski-ing; lovely location but slightly outdated hotel although the owners/staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.

Cross-country skiing at Kandersteg

By Mrs Burchfield on 10/02/2012

*****
Very good holiday, which we enjoyed enormously.