Customer reviews: Activity holidays in Slovenia

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mr Mitchell on 20/09/2016

*****
Excellent. The best cycling holiday we have done. Fantastic scenery and excellent food.

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mrs Frank on 07/09/2016

***#.
A perfect holiday for cycling softies, we loved the fact that most of it was on beautiful scenic paths, (we certainly wouldn't have enjoyed cycling on Italy's busy roads). We loved the days in between visiting historic villages and sites and really enjoyed the changing landscape as we descended from the alps in Slovenia to the coast in north east Italy. The handbook provided by Headwater was very useful when looking for things to do and visit on the non cycling days.

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mr Twiss on 30/08/2016

*****
The ride down from Bled to Grado was a great trip. Except for the two short days at the end of the trip our days were full of wonderful scenery and beautiful towns. The majority of our hotels exceeded expectations being in great locations with good service and food. Stopover destinations were interesting and Udine, Palmanova and Grado were especial delights. Support from the Slovenian team was good and as usual the Headwater experience was one we will repeat.

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mrs Rawle on 23/08/2016

*****
Very good cycling with very few up-hill stretches, lots to see and do en route - we would gladly do the holiday again. Bikes were comfortable and easy to use. The routes are largely on cycle paths that kept us feeling safe from traffic. All the hotels made us feel very welcome. Everyone seemed to understand pidgin Italian or German, or English so communication was rarely a problem. M Tours reps were reliable and helpful.

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mrs Fleming on 17/08/2016

*****
Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. Quite sad when it finished. Could easily have kept going The routes were lovely, mostly on cycle tracks which was great and well planned mileages. Especially enjoyed Slovenia. Would like to go back. Hotels generally of a very good standard although next time we would make requests eg. for a quiet room or room with good outlook

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Bryant on 17/08/2016

*****
Great holiday did not like the Hotel in Kobarid, we had a massive dining room no use to us, bed was really bad, toilet and shower of 2 star standard at best. You could not shower because there was no fixing for the shower head. The toilet had sealant around it like a two old kid had applied and the bath had been repaired such a bodge. bear pipes for radiator coming out of the floor chipped the tiles and a bath plug that did not fit the bath. Very very poor it was room 100. Breakfast was the worst of the hotels, evening meal was ok. This is probably the worst hotel for accommodation I stayed in Europe.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Woodhead on 04/08/2016

*****
Very well designed walking programme, with good notes and maps. All arrangements ran smoothly. Lovely country with friendly welcomes from all. Clean and well maintained paths. Beautiful flowers in the meadows even in late July. Very impressed that M Tours boss took the trouble to meet us and discuss our walking experiences. A memorable holiday, with an evening wedding in traditional costume at Bohinj, on our last night there,

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Osler on 25/07/2016

***#.
Slovenia, even in high summer season, was relatively peaceful with fewer tourists than in other parts of the Alps. There were wonderful views on all the walks. There was a bit too much road walking on some days.

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mrs Lorimer on 16/06/2016

***#.
A break that takes you off the beaten track to meet the people who live in the region, rather than just other tourists. A holiday that slows you down to the speed you can cycle including the most amazing 60km down hill ride!

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Wallis on 14/06/2016

*****
Very pleased with holiday and organisation -excellent introduction to Slovenia

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Jenkins on 23/10/2015

***#.
Overall an enjoyable experience, but our least favourite headwater holiday (our 5th). Why? Flights from Heathrow involved a very tight connection at Vienna which was from a different terminal and meant going through security there. Made the connection with less than 10 minutes to go before departure- very stressful! Hotels were a real mixture. Loved the Miklik hotel (fantastic staff and super room despite a few issues with a shortage of hot water for our very large bath) and Kranjska Gora - we would have happily stayed there all week. Room at the Hotel Jezero by the lake had a fantastic outlook but the shower had a cracked shower tray and no plug for the sink. Hotel Hvala - wonderful welcome and the room was huge but needs serious modernisation and new beds! Hotel Mangart - the fridge wasn't working (fixed the next day) and breakfast on the first morning was poor with disinterested member of staff. Much improved the following morning and got offered eggs and bacon (possibly by the manager). The transfers by M Tours were punctual and efficient- beware there was a strong smell of smoke in some, although none of the drivers smoked whilst we were travelling. We nearly missed the train connection as we were not told that we were travelling on a car transporter which was in the station some 25 minutes before departure time. We even asked the station master whilst the train was there... Luckily one of the men sitting in his car on the train shouted at us to get onboard realising we were with M tours This meant running about 80 metres with suitcases down the gravel track alongside the train to the one carriage where the conductor had to haul us up nearly 5 feet to get us and our luggage onboard as there was no platform! Slovenia is lovely and the walking was of good 2 boots standard. Autumn was further advanced than in the UK and the weather was changeable so would advise going early September not at the end like we did. Considering Slovenia was very cheap, we thought the holiday was overpriced but presumably the number of transfers had a bearing on this.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Allan on 06/10/2015

*****
We had an excellent holiday in Slovenia. We loved the countryside and enjoyed all the walks; the WW1 sites added a further interest. We particularly enjoyed our stays at the Miklic and Jezero hotels. We extended our holiday by 2 nights at Lake Bohinj, which is beautiful and had several walks to add, and a further 2 in Ljubljana and could recommend that as an option.

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mrs Collins on 25/09/2015

*****
We have been on 3 previous Headwater holidays, but this one was the most enjoyable of them all. The cycling was wonderful, though it wouldnt suit those who dislike cycling mainly on flat terrain. The cycle paths much of the way to Grado were amazing and Italy in particular is very much geared towards the cyclist. The hotels ranged from quite posh to comfortable, located centrally and excellent. Four of the dinners were included in our holiday and were very good and not having to go and find somewhere to eat in those two hotels was a fortuitous because of the inclement weather. However we enjoyed having the freedom to find our own restaurants subsequently. The tour operator was very reliable with excellent English. The route notes were challenging and there were times when we were directed right instead of left. My husband has offered to 're-write' them since they could be modified to make it much less likely to have to retrace your pedaling. On our second day, our tour guide asked us if we wanted to cycle because it was raining quite heavily with the forecast of no let up all day. I asked him if there was a choice and he offered to transport us to our next destination in the car. We had no idea that this was an option, but foolishly or not, we declined and arrived at our next hotel, very wet and bedraggled. However we were allocated the most wonderful room, with loads of space to dry off all our dripping clothing and bags. What a silver lining that was. Sadly we didnt see much of that day's route since the rain was relentless. I would definitely like to do this trip again.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Ms Kyle on 23/09/2015

*****
Well organised with brilliant walking notes we were really pleased with all aspects of our trip and would definitely consider booking another holiday with you again. Thanks

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mr Hadfield on 18/09/2015

***#.
Enjoyable; well managed; good variety of scenery and places; lots of fresh air and opportunities to enjoy tasty regional cooking.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Hunter on 18/09/2015

***#.
Disappointed with the hiking trails in that there wasn't sufficient variety of environment and experience ( too much forest trail and tarmac) Routes of reasonable length, would have preferred higher altitude experience . One route had an indistinct and hazardous section leading up to the road into Kobarid. This path needs repair and clearance ( potential for serious accident). M tours staff excellent.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Allen on 18/09/2015

*****
A selection of lovely, varied walks amid beautiful mountain scenery in an unspoilt area. Slovenia also has a fascinating if somewhat turbulent history and the route notes (and rest day booklet suggestions) included historical references which added to our enjoyment of the walks and area. If you enjoy turquoise rivers, watching rafting/kayaking/canoeing/fishing on them; are not worried by suspension bridges; like birdsong, butterflies and wildflowers (even in August) we think you would enjoy this holiday. High quality regional 'slow food' ( i.e.not processed) was delicious. The Slovenian people we met were welcoming, friendly and helpful. This was our eighth holiday with Headwater and we felt that the walking level was consistent with other two boot holidays we have taken with you.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Dr Lewis on 11/08/2015

***#.
Slovenia is an amazing unspoilt gem. The people are really friendly, and everyone speaks English (and Slovenian, German and Italian!)

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mr Fisher on 24/07/2015

*****
Despite having to opt out of cycling, thanks to the help given by M Tours we had a most enjoyable holiday. (We had flu just before departure)

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Walker on 16/07/2015

***#.
We had a very good room in hotel Jezero with 2 baloney's. However on the Saturday evening 13 June the hotel had a private function that consisted of very loud music right under our room which meant that we could not go to sleep until it was over. The music went on until 2.30 which is too late,.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Boyce on 15/07/2015

*****
Country and scenery superb - a real eye-opener! Walking on the challenging side of '2 boot'. The longest walk was actually easier than some of the shorter ones due to the terrain. There are places to stop on the way, you should take advantage.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Brown on 13/07/2015

*****
Overall rate Slovenia Alps Adventure very highly. The Route notes need updating e.g Take the path to the right where the road changes from concrete to gravel. - In fact the path is where the road changes from concrete to tarmac - the tarmac has been there several years. One of many examples where the route notes were out of date. The route notes for Bovec to Kobarid directed us onto the road due to a land slip, the local guide told us the path was passable with care, we did not try this as we had both had bad backs prior to the trip and did not want any scrambling. However the other couple took the path and said the path was completely clear. The local guide should have known this. We walked 4 miles on a busy road because we were not told the path was clear.

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Ms Fraser on 08/07/2015

*****
This cycle trip from the Julian Alps to the Adriatic was really excellent - beautiful and varied countryside, interesting towns and cities on route, well-chosen hotels (and some excellent food) and a very good route using well established cycle track most of the way. The highlight for us was a couple of days cycling on the route of a former railway through the mountains of Slovenia and northern Italy. Miroslav and the team looked after us beautifully throughout. Thank you for a great holiday!

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mrs Laing on 02/07/2015

***#.
Biking from Slovenia to the Adriatic provided us with diverse scenery and conditions ,which we enjoyed.However it was by no means easy and two 50 km bike rides back to back was fairly challenging .

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mr Cross on 30/06/2015

*****
After several good walking holidays with Headwater, this was our first cycling holiday, suggested by experienced cycling friends who accompanied us. The route is mainly downhill, but there are some longish steady uphill climbs, and we calculated an average of 50km/day (exc. Rest days) and did 64km on one day. Some beautiful Slovenian/Italian mountain scenery (albeit rarely out of sight or sound of roads) is succeeded by some very interesting Italian town stopovers (Venzone, Udine, Palmanova) and stopping at Aquilieia's basilica is highly recommended.

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mrs Cartwright on 30/06/2015

*****
Highly recommend tis holiday. Slovenia was new to us. Especially enjoyed all the cultural highlights of Udine, Palmanova and Aquiliea.

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Dr Daniell on 18/06/2015

*****
A really great and varied cycling itinerary, including fantastic scenery, sites of historic interest and interesting museums. Mostly traffic free or along cycle paths, starting in the mountains and cycling through plains to the coast. Would recommend adding a couple of days at Lake Bled and exploring the area by bike and foot. The hotel there is lovely with friendly staff and excellent food and Slovenian wines (an education!). Varied accommodation, but all clean & comfortable and in the right locations for a well paced cycle ride. We really enjoyed ourselves and were fully relaxed at the end.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Kelly on 18/06/2015

*****
This was our ninth holiday with you! The walking was fantastic, if a little arduous at times! A beautiful country, lovely people. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time, as ever! Many thanks!

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Dr MacMillan on 17/06/2015

*****
We were the first people on the Julian Alps holiday. We really enjoyed it. The concept is excellent, and achieved. We did find it quite hard, though we both cycle (mountain bike) regularly. Some days were long, and hot. I think it was the hardest holiday we've done with you, though my husband thinks some days on the 'Discovering Secret Provence' holiday were harder, because there was more climbing. Don't think it would be for people who don't normally cycle ( though we are getting on a bit). There was one day which couldn't be done as anticipated, because the cablecar didn't start running on the advertised date, so an alternative had been suggested, and arranged for us. I think this might not affect anyone else though; I think the cablecar starts this week. Miroslav and Matej were really keen to help, and on the whole experience. Miroslav was a bit concerned that Locanda al Fogolar might not come up to our expectations as it isn't a hotel; but we loved it, and couldn't have been made more welcome, despite Fulvio having very little English, and us having very little Italian We found that if you don't speak Italian, German is more useful than English in this part of Italy. English is fine in Slovenia. Later in the year, it could get very hot; take plenty to drink.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Gilliard on 15/06/2015

*****
Varied walking in beautiful locations. Lived up to descriptions in the brochure. Lovely holiday.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Campion on 24/11/2014

***#.
Slovenia is a lovely country. The walking could be a bit more challenging in the hills rather than predominantly in the valleys, but to an extent that is a result of the risk management around the holiday. The walks were a good length generally and the notes were good enough if you use the map and ask locals where there is any doubt - for example the 'suspension bridge' noted to cross to avoid the landslide between Bovec and Kobarid was actually a concrete road bridge, and in fact we used the 'closed' route from Bovec to Kobarid anyway after talking to some of the local residents. Hotel Mangart and Jezero were great, clean, modern hotels. Hotel Hvala had good food but is in serious need of room updates and would not get more than 2 stars in the UK. All the staff at all the hotels were very good. We would recommend staying on in Bohinj for a few days at the end and making use of the discount visitor card for the transport systems, and some great high level walking at the top of the Vogel cable car lift

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Keen on 14/10/2014

*****
The scenery is wonderful and the walking excellent if a little challenging on occasions.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mis Ausden on 11/08/2014

***#.
A great way to see Slovenia which is very beautiful, unspoilt and has a fascinating history, with many influences from its neighbours, Italy, Hungary, Austria and Croatia. The rivers are an indescribable blue, the mountains sweep up dramatically from basins of flat land. stunning. The food was lovely and cooked from scratch. how refreshing to be come somewhere where processed food is virtually forgotten and the land is bursting with need allotments growing fresh fruit and veg. beautifully kept towns and villages. they do love their trailing geraniums!

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Hinson on 31/07/2014

***#.
An enjoyable walk through some dramatic and truly beautiful scenery. Great hotels and extremely helpful M Tours staff.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Gerald on 21/07/2014

*****
We did some wonderful walking through stunning scenery, along turquoise rivers and though fantastic meadows full of flowers and butterflies. We met very few other walkers and on some days none at all. Everywhere was friendly and welcoming and the organisation of transport etc. was excellent. We had a little more rain than we would have liked and it is good advice to start walking early in the morning as the thunder storms did tend to come in the afternoon. Not so impressed by the hotel Mangart, which lacked character. Even in July we were not able to walk over the pass as it was too icy. That was a disappointment as we looked forward to a tougher high walk. We went almost up to it on the last day from the other side.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Hickling on 19/06/2014

*****
Slovenia was a beautiful and welcoming country with a good variety of points of interest along the walk.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Sheppard on 11/06/2014

*****
very well organised; good selection of hotels; interesting walks and locations; good suggestions for free days with helpful notes about the history of the region and landscapes.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Little on 15/10/2013

***#.
Slovenia is a beautiful country. Coming from Colorado, we didn't know what to expect, but the scenery was fantastic. The mountains seem more majestic than the ones near where we live, even though the Julian Alps are not as high, they appear to be more rugged. The hotels were very good and the transport very efficient. The hiking notes were very detailed, nearly too detailed at times, but a bit inconsistent. For example, on a day in which there was a detour due to an avalanche, a bridge that we were to cross was noted as a suspension bridge. Earlier bridges labeled suspension bridges had been just that, cables and planks across the river. In this case the supposed 'suspension bridge' was a roadway bridge that had pilings in the river. We passed it up and walked several km out of the way before discovering the mistake. It is important to note that the language used in the notes is written for a UK audience. For example, the term pavement, which Americans would equate with concrete or tarmac, doesn't mean the same thing. On the same day mentioned above the term 'pavement' is used to denote 'sidewalk' along a road or highway. So, when the notes said 'when the pavement ends' we interpreted that to mean the roadway turned to dirt. It didn't. We figured it out, but it caused confusion. All that notwithstanding, we all enjoyed the trip and our appetite for trekking is not diminished. I have already been looking for similar treks in other locales. The

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Effingham on 11/09/2013

***#.
Enjoyed a fantastic week's walks discovering the secrets of Slovenia - a unique country that has it all - alpine peaks, bubbling rivers, glacial lakes, and miles of unspoiled countryside! would not hesitate to recommend this trip.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mr Hollas on 08/08/2013

*****
Excellent, well organised holiday. We were unfortunate to spend the last two night in Bohinj. Most of Slovenia seemed to decide to spend the weekend there. Having had a great tranquil walking holiday until Bohinj, we found the last day out of character with the rest of our stay.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Moss on 18/06/2013

*****
Slovenia is a beautiful county with stunning views whilst walking, good food and wine, good accommodation!

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs McKerchar on 13/06/2013

*****
Beautiful country with most hospitable folk. Walking gentle - the most challenging walking option was not possible because of heavy snow. Would love to do again in more seasonal weather. M-tours made a couple of mistakes (see next box) but were profusely apologetic and did us proud. Their taxi-drivers were most informative & fascinating.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Ms Stewart on 10/09/2012

*****
Slovenia is a really beautiful country and we were delighted by the care taken to keep it that way by the Slovenian authorities. We feel that we saw parts of the countryside we would never have found without Headwater's agents' assistance and local knowledge. The hotels were all of an excellent standard and it was a most enjoyable and interesting holiday.

Slovenian Alps Walking Adventure

By Mrs Oram on 23/07/2012

*****
Very enjoyable walks through the Soca Valley & Bohinj is beautiful, good food in Slovenia (with Italian & Ausrian influence) & very helpful,friendly people.

Julian Alps to the Adriatic Cycling

By Mrs Pollard on 00/00/0000

**#..
If you are a beginner cyclist the route is great but the bikes make it feel hard as they are too heavy and too highly geared. Otherwise the route is fantastic and well signed. The scenery is great all of the way.