Feefo - Independent reviews
1-800-567-6286

News | E‑news | Brochures | Blog | Contact us

Customer reviews: Holidays in Salzburg

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Austrian Lakes Walk

By Ms Townsend on 18/08/2017

***#.
Excellent walks and good route plans, simple but adequate hotels

Austrian Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Hebblethwaite on 14/08/2017

*****
We had a wonderful holiday; the route was varied and interesting with plenty of time for stops, picnics and swimming on most days. It is exactly as suggested a relaxed activity holiday with fabulous scenery. There are enough hills to make the route interesting but not so many to be off-putting; in general I'd say there were more fun down-hills than tiring up-hills with lots of flat in-between. We had standard bikes but were surprised by the number of cyclists in Austria using electric bikes, so if you take this option you will blend in well! We were amazed at the courtesy shown to bikes on the road; we were given space and other road users were really respectful; we could learn from that back home. As always in the mountains we had varied weather; some really hot days and some very soggy days ... just as you'd expect. We were lucky that we were at the Villa Seilern in Bad Ischl when the weather was really wet so were able to make use of the hotel's pool and spa which are great. The pool is stunning! The hotels were mostly very good (although the beginning and end at The Post were not the best) and were organised for Headwater guests. In the evenings, food was plentiful and hot, if not always varied but breakfasts were good with lots of choice to fortify for the day ahead. Rooms were lovely and clean. The bikes were well maintained and modern.... if the weather looks as if it might be wet, take your own lights as there are none provided! Bike storage was no problem; everywhere was expecting us and had good bike facilities. Security of bikes doesn't seem to be such an issue in Austria; many people left bikes unlocked outside shops etc ... we always locked them securely and they were safe. We had easy access to shops along the way for getting picnic lunches. Eating out in Mondsee was easy and varied. We used Ride with GPS which is new to Headwater but also had the printed route instructions and maps; if you have the option do both ... there were times when the printed instructions were invaluable (giving more reassuring details) but also times when the GPS was useful as it showed us where we were if we diverted off the route for a reason!) Embrace both and you're covered! Throughout the holiday we were thrilled with the kindliness and helpfulness of our reps Jill and Colin. The pre holiday postcard was a lovely touch, their were organised, welcoming and very genuine in their desire to help in any way they could. You are in very safe hands with them. This was our first trip with Headwater and we were very impressed with the organisation of the holiday. We met a couple who were on their 11th holiday with Headwater which we think speaks volumes. We would certainly book with Headwater again.

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mrs Cottis on 14/08/2017

*****
Excellent holiday, we were blessed with fantastic weather which made the scenery even more stunning! Good support from Colin & Jill. Walk instructions clear, hotels and their locations of a high standard. Summit of Schober (optional) not for the faint hearted - deserve a Gold star for completing it!! Highly recommend this holiday.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mrs Riseborough on 09/08/2017

*****
Austria is the perfect place for cycling as there are dedicated cycle paths everywhere. The scenery is spectacular. Plenty of opportunity to swim in the lake. Sightseeing opportunities were good and I highly recommend a visit to lovely Hallstadt. The electric bike provided by Headwater was a real boon and enhanced all the cycle rides. The weather was fantastic which added to our enjoyment of a perfect holiday.

Austrian Lakes Cycling

By Mrs Houseman on 09/08/2017

*****
The Austrian Lakes Cycling Holiday met our full expectations, the scenery and the hospitality was superb and the small hills very forgiving to inexperienced cyclists! The majority of the tracks were on very quiet cycle paths through beautiful meadows and villages. However we did find the first hour after leaving the Hotel Post in Weissenbach quite daunting , this may have been because it was a Saturday in high season. So pleased that Jill and Colin suggested that we visit Hallstatt when we were in Bad Ischl , the village and visit to the Salzwelten were most interesting and the scenery breath-taking.

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mrs Webster on 03/08/2017

*****
we absolutely had a brilliant time, the most beautiful clean organised holiday. Fabulous walking, fabulous views, lovely swimming places. Super reps to help us who went above and beyond. The hotels were fantastic and for me the food spot on. Kids found the half board fixed menu a little tough, so some more options may have been helpful

Austrian Lakes Walk

By Mr Anderson on 21/07/2017

*****
What made this holiday for me was the briefing provided by the reps on arrival at the first hotel. Information about routes, local buses (and bus stops), trains and ferries helped enormously to make me feel at home in the holiday region. The daily updates by text were extremely helpful too. Well done to Colin and Jill

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mrs Lees on 10/07/2017

***#.
once the holiday was sorted out properly, everything ran smoothly. All the hotels were well located and the reps very helpful with suggestions for local activities. We had lovely weather and the scenery was impressive.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mrs Edwards on 13/06/2017

*****
A perfect mix of activities based in the most welcoming family hotel within an exquisite setting of water, woodland, pastures and mountains. The evening meals are a gastronomic tour de force without being at all heavy; the chef and his son are true artists who can conjure colours and tastes in perfect harmony - quite exceptional. We had memorable walks, cycle rides, visits to historical sites and swims and were reluctant to leave.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr King on 07/12/2016

***#.
Great fun, lots of fresh air and lovely food.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mrs Meakin on 14/09/2016

*****
Excellent base, fantastic views

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr Maher on 30/08/2016

*****
Our party consisted of Grandma and Granddad (late 60's), Son (48) and Grandson (10). We were all more than catered for and thoroughly enjoyed our activity holiday. We had an informative break down of the area from our reps, Colin and Jill and the map we were given + bus timetables were very useful throughout the week. Our bicycles were easy to ride and comfortable. Our first outing was on the afternoon of arrival when we decided to visit the nearby village. There were very few days when we didn't use the bikes to visit nearby towns and villages and the routes were usually flat and safe for our 10 year old. Our grandson particularly enjoyed the toboggan run but warns other would be enthusiasts that it is possible to fall off!! He was, however, proud of his scraped leg! Got straight back on and finished the course. The grandparents tackled the cycle ride to lake Schwazen which included a steep climb. We walked some of the way as it was very hot - but we made it and were very proud of ourselves especially as there were many people overtaking us on electric bikes! (a good idea if you are not used to cycling). We particularly enjoyed our day at the Salt Mines, using the local bus and train + a ferry to get to Hallstatt (a stunning place). The salt mines were great fun and a unique experience. We also visited the Ice Caves (by local buses) - also fascinating. The boys hired an eco boat and also sampled tubing on the lake. Crazy golf and the train up the mountain was fab + the cable car up Katrin. The walk down the mountain was pretty tough, though out 10 year old completed the whole day without a murmur. Catching the bus back outside the Spar on the main road was a good idea as sustenance was required!! Last, but not least, the hotel was superb - so friendly and the food was spectacular! Thank you Headwater for a great holiday, though we did need a rest on our return.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr Reid on 19/08/2016

***#.
We really enjoyed our holiday. The arrangements were efficient, the hotel was comfortable if somewhat dated (it's years since I've seen one of those beige hairdriers attached to the bathroom wall in a hotel). The food was good on the whole, though with limited choice as is usual for this type of hotel in Austria not everything is going to suit everyone. The area is great for all levels of activity and the option of returning on the boat after a walk or cycle was great for us with our 7 year old. We have been to the area before so knew it would be suitable for us even if we didn't want to opt for some of the suggested things on the itinerary.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr Metcalf on 17/08/2016

*****
The family activity holiday was ideal for a family of mixed ability. The cycling to Bad Ischi , Saint Wolfgang and Saint Gilgen was suitable for everyone. All the places we visited had a wide selection of coffee shops, bars and restaurants. We also did a number of walks from the hotel. The most rewarding was the 20 minute ascent of the Thersienstein which gave excellent views of Wolfgangsee. A more adventurous walk was the Brustwand Aussichtsweg, although the highlight was probably a beer at the Kleefeld on the way back to the hotel with views up the Postalm valley. We used the hotels swimming pool everyday and on the hotter days you could walk out into the garden to a selection of sun beds. The hotels facilities were excellent. We had a bedroom with a mezzanine which gave 3 sleeping areas. The public areas were very spacious and clean. The food was a modern interpretation of Austrian cuisine that was very well cooked and presentated. However if you thought it a little adventurous they would give alternatives like Wiener schnitzel and chips . Overall the holiday is highly recommended.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr Wallace on 17/08/2016

*****
I had a fantastic week on the Austrian Lakes Adventure. Colin and Jill were very welcoming and happy to help at any stage of the holiday. The family run Hotel was also brilliant! Rather than a standard room which I was expecting, I had my very own suite including window seating and table, sofa, en-suite, balcony and ample storage. Their buffet breakfast and 5 course evening menus were always first class too. I really could not complain! As for the hiking and cycling, there were numerous notes provided which gave flexibility and choice dependent on the level of ability I was looking for. This was a great way to visit the local area and integrate with local culture. I also incorporated a day trip to Salzburg by bus. Unlike the UK, this was very easy to organise, and stress free! This was a beautiful area to visit and will highly recommend to my friends and family. Thank you all.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr Ball on 16/08/2016

*****
Very good experience despite the travel arrangement errors.

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr Bridge on 15/07/2016

*****
Austria is a lovely country and the people are friendly. We had a great time and enjoyed the walks. My advice to you and my only difficulty was because we choose Stansted it meant getting up at 3.am. This was ok but the problem was that when we got to our first hotel we were too tired to take in all the information that Colin and Jill gave us. Its not a complaint of them but if we could of had that information on day two after a good nights sleep it would of been better.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Dr Curry on 28/06/2016

*****
well organised and helpful

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr Soutar on 06/06/2016

*****
Such a beautiful area and we enjoyed the walks - even in mixed weather conditions! All the hotels were excellent - the staff friendly and welcoming and all meals and wines were delicious. There was plently to keep us occupied on our rest days. Altogether, a perfect holiday!

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr Parr on 03/06/2016

*****
The weather was dreadful for the entire week we spent in Austria. It was cold and rained every day. Several of the recommended restaurants and cafes remained closed because of the bad weather although it was the start of the summer season. We put on wet weather gear and did the walks anyway. It was great - we had the whole area to ourselves! The wild flowers were fantastic. It was a pleasure to come back to the Hotel Bergrose each day because we knew we could swim and sauna before dinner. The food in the hotel was excellent and we were very comfortable there. What could have been a dreary week turned out to be entirely pleasurable.

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr Schafer on 17/11/2015

*****
We took our trip in late August. The trip was very well constructed and we thoroughly enjoyed the mix of hiking and exploring days as it gave us a chance to enjoy the beauty and culture of the areas we were visiting. This was our first self-guided Headwater trip (4th Headwater trip overall). The local reps Colin and Jill were very helpful, providing updated route notes and suggestions for things to see and do during our hiking and off days. The route notes were accurate and easy to follow. The hotels were all very nice and with the exception of the Hotel Bergrose, were all centrally located. ( The Bergrose was in a beautiful, quiet setting 20 mins out side of town.) It was very warm during our trip (~32 degrees) so we had to sleep with the windows open. The central location of the hotels made for rather noisy nights and we ended up sleeping with earplugs. The hotels and food were otherwise excellent across the board. This is a wonderful holiday.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mrs Elliott on 23/09/2015

*****
We have had a superb holiday, Colin and Jill were very knowledgeable about the area and made useful suggestions with the accompanying literature about places to visit. The hotel was five star and the food deserves Michelin stars. The family treated us really well and we have promised ourselves that if circumstances allow we will return in 2 years, we will book through Headwater again

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr Severn on 24/08/2015

*****
Excellent - we had a fab holiday!

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr Stephens on 24/08/2015

*****
It is a varied holiday of mountains and lakes with plenty of opportunities for wild swimming and the potential for great photographs from high places. Some days are longer and / or more arduous than the 1 boot. Note that if travelling through Frankfurt airport, you may be subject to security and / or passport checks despite only being 'in transit'. Also, be aware that the gates between connections can be some distance apart, so the 1hr 20mins between flights that we had was just sufficient to catch the onward flight. Very good holiday although temperatures were higher than expected.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mrs Osmond on 14/08/2015

*****
A great week in an outstandingly beautiful area - as the notes say (and I paraphrase) any slog uphill is richly rewarded with ever more stunning views, and prices at the mountain-top cafes are the same as at the bottom, which is unusual. The weather was hot so we chose to do more cycling than walking to make our own breeze! Plenty of choice of walking and cycling routes and the teenagers were exercised adequately each day! The bicycles were good quality and very well maintained. We took the cog-railway up to Schafberg, walked up (and down) Katrin from Nussensee (which was a hard day's walk) and cycled to Bad Ischl, St Wolfgang, St Gilgen and Schwarzensee - that last one was hard too and we wished we'd taken our swimming stuff to cool off in the glorious lake! We added our own 4-night stay in Munich (including organising our own travel from Strobl and afterwards to Munich airport) and Headwater were happy to arrange our flight around this. We felt that everything had been carefully thought out and researched which meant we could just relax and enjoy ourselves.

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr North on 10/08/2015

*****
Loved this holiday although the walking was quite tough. Because the weather on the first day of walking to another hotel wasn't good, the slippery, narrow path deserved a rating of more than 1+Boot. Maybe an alternative walk at a lower level for such conditions could be offered. We diverted off the path onto a logging track for safety reasons but this made the walk longer so still tougher than expected. For us most of the walks definitely needed the + as part of the rating.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mrs Duncan on 24/07/2015

*****
7 of us shared this holiday. We ranged in age from 10 to 73 and we all had a great time. The wonderful weather helped in this very good location. We were very impressed with the efficient Austrian people,in the delightful Bergrose hotel and all the little farms, ,houses and neat, tidy floral gardens. It was a joy to cycle around. the scenery was spectacular. We particularly enjoyed the lake at Stroble as well as the bike rides to StWolfgang, St Gilgen and Bad Ischl and the ferry to Hallstatt.. The children were always busy and after dinner had a very competitive table tennis match. A very good family holiday!

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr Dennis on 09/06/2015

*****
Having done this holiday 5 years ago it was lovely to return & find everything was as good as last time. The family run Hotel Bergrose is a credit to the Zopf family & Francesca & the rest of the staff are a credit to the business. They also speak excellent English (as well as countless other languages) The area is lovely & the bike rides & walking a real joy. With spas in Bad Ischal, Salt mines to explore, & cable cars plus the schafgerg railway you are never stuck for things to do.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr Martin on 29/09/2014

***#.
Be careful which time of the year you choose to go to the Austrian lakes - it rained most of the time we were there!

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mrs Hendrickse on 19/09/2014

***#.
Welcoming hotel in pretty area of austria with choice of things to do from walking cycling or sightseeing

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Dr Elcombe on 28/08/2014

*****
A very good weeks holiday cycling around a beautiful lake which was also wonderful to swim in. The hotel was comfortable and quiet with delicious food and a lovely garden. It was also in an excellent location for exploring the area by bike.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mrs Griffiths on 27/08/2013

*****
Another superb Headwater holiday - everything perfect as always. We added three nights at the Weisses Kreuz Hotel in Bregenz which was also excellent.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr Fry on 22/08/2013

*****
Suitable for the lethargic or energetic, this holiday has it all

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr Ward jones on 04/07/2013

*****
A very good holiday, despite rather variable weather. Fortunately the excellent bus connections from near the hotel made getting to Salzburg and Bad Ischl very easy on the really wet days. The general cool temperatures were probably not a bad thing when it came to cycling and walking. The hotel proved a splendidly welcoming environment each evening.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mis Furber on 24/09/2012

*****
The holiday was perfect. We had the right balance of being able to walk, cycle, sightsee or relax by the pool. The hotel had everything that we needed and by the end of the week we were well and truly relaxed. It was great to have the support of the Headwater Rep but not feel railroaded into doing anything.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr Casey on 18/08/2012

*****
This was our first holiday with Headwater. We found the arrangements, local guide, accommodation & hotel staff to be of the highest quality. We will certainly look at the holidays offered next year. The only downside was that the only airport available was a good distance from us here in the midlands.

Austrian Lakes Activities

By Mr McCracken on 00/00/0000

*****
Absolutely fantastic! Hotel and food excellent. Family run and very very good. Colin and Jill the Reps could not have done more to make our holiday more enjoyable. Always on hand to help and so kind and caring. My daughter fell off her bike and we had to get a lift back to hotel and leave her bike . They went and collected it immediately and serviced it and even texted every day to see if she was ok. A truly lovely couple and an absolute credit to Headwater

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr Ross on 00/00/0000

*****
Excellent hotels and locations,varied walking and many opportunities for sightseeing and other activities,even when the weather was wet. We particularly appreciated the locations of the hotels which allowed us to walk into the town?village in the evening. Logging tracks had obliterated some of the signs or trails in some forested sections. We mentioned this to our tour managers who were going to check. Generally the walking notes were excellent, without the need of the map. Such was the excellence of tour managers Jill and Colin, they just happened to drive by and pick us up as we abandoned a walk due to rain and were waiting for a bus!