Customer reviews: Holidays in The Pyrenees

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Mr Armstrong on 23/09/2016

*****
See the box above.

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Ms Roy on 30/06/2016

*****
An enjoyable, varied and flexible holiday. It was possible to have long days or short days as you wished in a quiet and relaxed mountain area. Much less busy than the Alps but with beautiful scenery. We were given a very warm welcome wherever we went.

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Mrs Rayden on 17/06/2016

*****
We thoroughly enjoyed the walks, which were interestingly varied, with marvellous views and clearly defined paths. The route notes were accurate and helpful, and the hotels welcoming, clean and comfortable. The Headwater team helped sort out problems with travel resulting from the French rail strikes, which was very reassuring.

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Mr Bedford on 02/07/2015

*****
Excellent. Location stunning. Views wonderful. Food, apart from one meal, great. Hotels good 3 stars. Local representative very helpful. Overall a most enjoyable, although tiring, holiday.

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Mr Maitland on 07/01/2015

*****
Varied walking, generally on quiet routes. Good views on all the walks. Gavarnie and Lac D'Ourrec were especially good - take the offer of the lift on the Lac D'Ourrec day if you can as it gives you more chance to explore the high meadows etc. Excellent welcome in each hotel, food generally very tasty, local and varied. Especially enjoyed the local trout at Ramonjuan and everything at Les Pois Sont Rouges in Argeles! Transport options worked well. For Gavarnie - we managed to get up and back to the waterfall with a very quick detour up to the Cabine des Soldats in a total of 6.5 hours but that was really pushing it (for us). So we managed to use the bus that arrived at 10am (on a Sunday) and left at around 5.30. If you missed out the Cabine (which was ok for views but great for Marmots) then it would have been a comfortable walk. Definitely recommend going there on the best day of weather as it is spectacular! Thanks Headwater - another great holiday!

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Mrs Boorman on 25/09/2014

**#..
Read the brochure carefully and check the photos of the holiday are not misleading However the first 2 hotels were great

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Mr Duesund on 28/08/2014

***#.
Have told rep about weather and path conditions on Day 3. He was right about poor waymarking. The hotell had few good options and the vegetarian member of our group had problems at the last hotel AS they didn't follow up. When meals are included Headwater should have a higher level than a 20€ meal. Best place was Argeles Gazost. But not so exciting food offered at alternative restaurant 14th July. In general a OK holiday but a bit too many Wales in the Woody on poor paths. Definitely best Wales on first day with extension. Hopeless quality with dinner at the Ramonjuan. Where did they manage to Get such comments? Make sure Headwater clients get the upstairs bedrooms as there are two rooms without windows on the first floor. Try to Get more Walks like the first Day and the Gavarnie.

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Mr Fraser on 03/09/2013

*****
Our second Headwater holiday. Once again faultless arrangements for accomodation and transfers taking the pressure off sorting it out yourself. Friendly and enjoyable hotels with really good meals.

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Dr Paget on 18/08/2013

*****
Headwater are a reliable and efficient firm to book your walking holiday with. The travel arrangements went like clockwork and we had an excellent time walking through the Heart of the Pyrenees.

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Mrs Paterson on 07/08/2013

*****
This is a lovely holiday It was very well organised and all the hotels were most welcoming. The challenging walks were only challenging in terms of length not in terms of terrain and they took in some delightful countryside.

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Mrs Campbell on 03/08/2013

*****
We totally enjoyed this holiday. Excellent food and comfortable hotels set in magnificent scenery. The walks are graded correctly and provided the opportunity to see parts of France we would not have explored alone.

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Mr Drinkwater on 07/08/2012

*****
Wonderful walking, but no choice of food at two out of three hotels.

Heart of the Pyrenees Walk

By Dr Mooney on 11/07/2012

*****
The Pyrenees region is really spectacular with rich opportunities for hiking. The group (10 of us) has a fabulous time. The weather was a bit on the (very) hot side for some of us, but no rain. The hotels varied. The hiking was quite challenging with quite steep (and sometimes) rocky trails. Overall a very memorable week.