Customer reviews: Holidays in Puglia

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Kings on 07/12/2016

***#.
Great holiday. The cycling was easy with the odd tougher bits but they were short lived. Varied scenery with coast and countryside. The notes/directions were at times diddicult to follow and really need updating because signs have fallen down or gone altogether and new roads have been built with new layouts so the notes are out of date. Monopoli is really lovely Palazzo Indelli is well situated right in the pretty main square. The rooms vary so if you are booking a standard room ask for the larger ones at the back of the hotel because the one we were given at the end of our trip was tiny and noisy being on the side at the front. Corte Altavilla is nice too but the staff on reception were unhelpful and grumpy. I am a coeliac and despite telling them in advance it was the only hotel that did not provide anything for me at breakfast other than fruit. The restaurant in the hotel for the evening was very good. Alberobella unfortunately has rather sold its soul and is very over commercialised. The Trulli are nice but we would have preferred some outside space as they are rather dark. Masseria Salamina is fabulous we had a huge room and you really feel like you are staying in a castle. The swimming pool was lovely and we really enjoyed our stay here. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable trip and we are now looking for another one!

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Dr May on 07/12/2016

***#.
We did have a good holiday but experience could have been much better for reasons stated above and below.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Runciman on 29/11/2016

*****
The holiday certainly lived up to its name: Contrasts of Puglia. We enjoyed beautiful places both in town and in country. Weather conditions ranged from bright sunshine and blue skies to thunder-storm deluges --- but with the offer of alternative transport on the wettest days. Italian food was wonderful. Overall, it was a memorable week, and we are looking forward to a next time.

Heel of Italy Cycling

By Dr MacFarlane on 29/11/2016

***#.
The key is the bikes : they were a little 'tired' and end of season. The support from Mimmo was though excellent

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Mr Davies on 29/11/2016

*****
A splendid holiday well organised with a great group of people, lots of laughter,good weather,good walking,good food & drink. We recomend it.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Pocknell on 25/10/2016

*****
We have had a wonderful holiday with Headwater. Everything was well organised and thought out. We have cycled through gorgeous countryside, with great scenery and the majority on quiet country roads. Perfect as always somewhere nice to stop and have lunch on route and cheaply, eaten miles too much but then have cycled it off 🙂

Heel of Italy Cycling

By Mr Brown on 13/10/2016

*****
a great way to see a region ,on the back of a well organised itinerary and high quality accomodation

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Mrs Loyd on 13/10/2016

*****
A week of discovery! Beautiful towns and landscapes, interesting walking , a great local guide who was tireless in helping us to understand so many different aspects of Puglia - it's history, food, contemporary issues - as well as making it fun. A great group too all added up to a brilliant holiday, thank you.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Napier on 04/10/2016

***#.
Mostly excellent, but disappointed there were more main roads than on previous cycling trips with Headwater. In our opinion Alberobello should be dropped - too much of a tourist trap and not a 'Headwater' type destination.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Freedman on 28/09/2016

***#.
A healthy way to explore a new part of the world, if you want it to be! Very easy to reward oneself after a cycle with fine wine and food, but after all it is a holiday! Travelling self guided allows one to be completely flexible, but others might prefer to have a leader to avoid unnecessary cycling, should one take the wrong route. Would certainly recommend this type of holiday for a group of friends.

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Mrs Titley on 15/07/2016

*****
The guided Puglia walking holiday was fabulous. We had heard about Matera before out travels and we had time to explore the town and surroundings.It was an amazing place.Luigina, our leader on this holiday, was very knowledgeable and helpful. The 3 centres and scenery on the walk were quite varied. The free day was a good idea as it gave us the opportunity to visit Lecce.The holiday was a fascinating mix of history, geoography, culture and of course, food!

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Whitton on 06/07/2016

**#..
Generally an excellent service but based on past experience will only go for future holidays with you where a Headwater rep is involved rather than an agent

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Brooks on 06/07/2016

***#.
Bikes excellent. Lunches en route excellent. Accommodation a bit mixed.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Rodgers on 13/06/2016

***#.
No comment - the unseasonal weather curtailed cycling on one day (thunderstorms) so this did affect the overall holiday experience with another day that was also wet.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Jaffe on 03/06/2016

***#.
Thoroughly enjoyable holiday in a beautiful unspoilt part of Southern Italy. The people here are incredibly friendly, not just in the hotels but everywhere. The cycling wasn't too strenuous and the 7km descent into Capitolo was exhilarating ! All the hotels were of a very good standard. Enjoyed staying in the Trulli house even though Alberobello can become very busy with day trippers but our favourite place was the Masseria Salamina, (keep some space in the luggage to stock up on their excellent home produced extra virgin olive oil) ! The food in this region is wonderful with a good choice of restaurants at all the locations except Prezze di Greco where the evening meal is included. This was our 12th Headwater cycling holiday and it lived up to expectations.

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Mr Watson on 03/06/2016

***#.
A good holiday with excellent walks, but bear in mind this is run by Exodus, so hotels not up to the usual Headwater standard.

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Mr Exell on 18/05/2016

*****
A wonderful guide lead us through a fascinating part of Italy and along the way we enjoyed superb local cuisine and wines.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Roundtree on 16/05/2016

*****
Puglia is a fantastic part of Italy to visit - a real hidden gem - and a perfect location for cycling. We were lucky with the weather and got a good week but the weather in April can be variable (i.e. cooler and wetter than we had). Beautiful countryside and lovely coastline with proper beaches. Excellent food and friendly people, We would go back again.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Brewster on 18/04/2016

***#.
April was a beautiful time of year to travel to Puglia; lovely weather for cycling and the fields were full of wildflowers, cherry blossom, flowering mimosas etc. Although the cycling was all on roads, they were mainly very quiet, country lanes and we found the Italian drivers surprisingly patient and respectful of cyclists. The route deserved its 1 1/2 bike rating; it certainly seemed a bit more strenuous than the previous '1 bike' holiday we had done and we were very glad not to be tackling it in the heat of summer. This was our second Headwater holiday as a family and we think the formula works well for both us and the children (aged 11 and 13). They particularly embraced the Italian love of gelati!

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Mr Simpson on 17/11/2015

*****
An excellent holiday with a like minded group of people. Our guide Nino went out of his way to ensure everyone got what they wanted out of the holiday. He changed arrangements to suit the weather and ensured that everyone was happy with what was happening each day. Pleasant walking( despite slightly inclement weather at times) through lovely countryside and interesting historic sites. Unfortunately it was too cold for our swim in the Adriatic . Alberobello is a very pretty town with its large concentration of Trulli. Matera is a fascinating city with its ancient settlements and interesting history.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr May on 02/11/2015

*****
A beautiful part of the world made even more special by great hotels, great food and great cycling

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Mis Harper on 27/10/2015

*****
A brilliant holiday, our guide Antonino was excellent, he looked after us very well and went out of his way to make sure we were always well looked after and very well fed. Transfers during the walk went like clockwork. An incredibly interesting part of Italy; as it was cold and wet we all agreed to visit local caves instead of the beach and they were magnificent. One boot was the right classification, there was some 'scrambling' over rocks and through vegetation, the rest mainly rocky/stony tracks with minor ascents and descents.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Procter on 16/10/2015

*****
We were well looked after in all aspects of the holiday, from the comprehensive introductory talk, which was both entertaining and full of useful bits of information, through the well-planned and comprehensive route notes, to the excellent accommodation and surroundings of the rides.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Harbottle on 12/10/2015

***#.
Pleasant cycling through mix of peaceful rural landscapes and historic coastal and plateau towns. Although experienced cycle tourists we found the cycling more tiring than expected due to the heat, even in early October, so were glad that the distances were relatively short. Puglian food lived up to its reputation and the local wines recommended by the rep were enjoyable. All the hotels had spacious and well equipped rooms - though we did benefit from an upgrade for the base hotel as the normal one was full. Detailed route notes a great relief after getting minimal and inaccurate ones last year with another company. Unplanned highlight was doing the 7km downhill run while road closed to cars as a proper cycle race came up.! Although not mentioned in the brochure, Monopoli is well connected to the rest of Italy by train, and the station is within walking distance (20 min) of hotel. So we negotiated a reduction in package cost as not needing a transfer to Bari, and made the cycling week the centre of an Italian / French train tour.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Johnston on 09/10/2015

*****
Good accommodation, clear instructions and good cycling. Met interesting people. Guides were very friendly and helpful.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Payne on 06/10/2015

***#.
Very good holiday overall, in a very interesting area. Route notes were at times inaccurate and ambiguous, which made the ride more like a treasure hunt! All the hotels and accommodation were of a high standard and staff very friendly and helpful. Bikes were ok but not as good as the Headwater branded ones that we had in Burgundy last year. We would strongly recommend a Headwater holiday.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Dr Cullen on 25/09/2015

*****
Really enjoyable, few small comments, maps were hard to read, water bottles ideally insulated, stands of bikes needed, lovely holiday, expensive especially because of euro/sterling exchange

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr McGinn on 23/09/2015

*****
This is our 7th cycling holiday with Headwater and once again we have had a really enjoyable holiday.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Dr Ruscoe on 22/09/2015

***#.
Puglia is a great destination for a cycling holiday. Hotels were welcoming, helpful and of good standard.But you definitely need better arrangements for route checking/updating and translation of self-guiding instructions, which misrepresented a number of key instructions, resuling in errors and distress. You continue to give paper instructions which don't fit the holders. Other companies provide mileometers and satnavigation

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr MacMillan on 21/09/2015

*****
Lovely cycling trip, local agents, hotels and bikes were very good. The Trulli hotel was interesting, but dark and lacking in facilities.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Hancock on 17/09/2015

***#.
The Italians could be encouraged to look after their surroundings better .The amount of rubbish by the sides of the roads is awful .It's such a shame and detracts from the unspoilt countryside.The historic centres of the town's are really interesting and not crowded.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Brooks on 16/09/2015

*****
An Italian adventure. Excellent bikes, fabulous food. Sometimes the instructions were a challenge but generally ok. Accommodation was varied which added to the overall experience, The Masseria Salamina was exceptional. Our rep Dave was a joy .

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Mis Lloyd on 14/07/2015

*****
This is an excellent and very relaxing holiday. The walks were well planned and very well led - picnics were wonderful! Unsurprisingly, in early July, it was hot but setting off early made the most of the cooler hours and enabled us to explore the towns and villages at leisure. Our guide, Salvitore, was really excellent - attentive, charming, efficient and knowledgeable.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Mollett on 24/06/2015

***#.
The welcome briefing was far too long, we expected it to last for about 15 minutes and it went for over 2 hours. We could have read the notes ourselves, rather than having the rep read them to us. The route notes were excellent and easy to follow. Puglia is a varied part of Italy, some parts are stunningly beautiful, other bits less picturesque. Alberobello has been spoilt by the number of tourists and souvenir shops, we would have preferred to stay in Locorotondo, which is a far more beautiful town without the hoards of cruise ship tourists, although staying in a Trullo was a great experience. The people of Puglia that we came in contact with were incredibly friendly, helpful and kind, and the food and wine were amazing. All in all it was a good cycling holiday with lots to see and varied cycling.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Quinn on 22/06/2015

*****
It was our first cycling holiday - we both really enjoyed it. Just the right amount of cycling. The suggestions of what to do on the non cycling days were very helpful. Unfortunately we got lost in Potigano - maybe you should recheck the route notes for leaving the old town. One of the highlights of our holiday was a boat trip on the final day on the Yasemin Sultan.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Shann on 17/06/2015

***#.
The cycling was more challenging than expected from the description mainly because of the many climbs involved. One of our party struggled with this, the fitter members of the party found it hard at times but more manageable Puglia is a lovely uncommercial area of Italy and I would like to visit it again. The people are very friendly and helpful. The bikes are very good but would benefit from the water bottles more easily accessible instead of having to be stored in the panniers. This is not allowed because of some ridiculous health and safety rule. There is a worry that you will try and drink from your water bottle when cycling.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Greenwood on 17/06/2015

***#.
Accommodation and transfer/transport arrangements were good and enjoyed. We thought a Grading of 2 would be more appropriate ; the first two days were difficult. However the route directions were disappointing and in one place wrong. Although the directions were recently revised, I suggest they are reviewed, in particular: Page 9: the ERG petrol station has been replaced by a building site. On the same page, the 2 electric poles are on a right turn and the Via Marascelli sign is not there. The directions in and out of Noci were confusing and need clarity, probably by removing choice of routes around the town. Page 28. Conchia to monopoli at the junction with the give way sign , it should say turn left! At present no direction is given. There were other minor errors along the whole route but as you say, signs change !

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Phillips on 17/06/2015

*****
Everything ran smoothly, with no problems with the transportation of luggage or airport pickup and drop off. The initial briefing by Davide was very thorough and informative. We found the route notes straightforward on the whole but there were a few inaccuracies. Hotels were of a good standard, but we were glad to have taken the option to upgrade, particularly at the Palazzo Indelli where our junior suite had a large terrace overlooking the lively piazza. Having outdoor space at the Trullo was also beneficial. Alberobello is interesting but very touristy and on the leisure day there, we opted to take the train to nearby Martina Franca, via Locorotundo and would recommend this. Italian trains are cheap and easy to use - just don't forget to validate your ticket before boarding! The cycling generally was perfectly manageable, although there was the odd challenging climb. On the last day, we chose to go our own way and followed the coastal route back to Monopoli, rather than go inland. This gave us an enjoyable but shorter ride, allowing us to enjoy the rest of the day in Monopoli.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Watt on 17/06/2015

***#.
This was our 13th holiday out of 15 with Headwater and the best yet! You are ahead of your competitors that we have tried. The location of the trip was ideal.

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Mrs Iredale on 17/06/2015

***#.
I did enjoy the holiday as that particular area of Italy is very interesting also our guide Adrianne did his utmost to make it so. I felt it should be described more as a sightseeing holiday as the walking was not very challenging or exciting. I was disappointed that a lot of the walking was on minor roads rather than paths.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Price on 15/06/2015

*****
A well planned and run cycle tour through a beautiful part of Italy with good accommodation.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Day on 09/06/2015

*****
Well organised , enjoyable and healthy

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Lewis on 28/05/2015

*****
Very good accommodation in interesting buildings; friendly people; interesting towns; remarkable ancient olive trees; some days are very hilly.

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Ms Teevan on 26/05/2015

*****
Our guide, Angelo, really lived up to his name. He went more than the extra mile for us: organising picnic feasts which were inexpensive, and negotiating terrific and generous group meals at bargain prices with a huge range of antipasti. He is a wonderful standard setter for other guides. I particularly liked our stay in Matera which is fascinating. A swim in the Adriatic en route was a treat too and I found the archaeological site near Ostuni very interesting. Overall the walking on this holiday was just the right level for my expectations, as advertised, and the weather was good for walking, despite the forecasts.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Jones on 13/05/2015

*****
This experience allowed us to see the delights of Puglia at our leisure. The route took us through the most beautiful countryside and was made perfect with the excellent food, wine and accommodation

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Ms Gillespie on 13/05/2015

*****
Loved Puglia and everything about the region - scenery, cycle rides, food and especially the negro amaro wine we discovered. The accommodation was brilliant especially the Masseria although we did also really like the vibe of the main square in Monopoli. There were just 3 slight disappointments 1. The spa at the Corte Altavilla in Conversano was all style over substance and was over-priced 2. The food at the Corte Altavilla was also slightly disappointing after our experience in Monopoli 3. The town and local maps provided by the local agent were utterly useless. Google was much better! They also didn't sometimes tally with the Headwater accurate directions

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Dr Padfield on 12/05/2015

*****
Marvellous trip. Good that you arranged no rain and temperatures of 32 degrees

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Carson on 07/05/2015

***#.
Good with one serious caveat below

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Mr Jones on 05/05/2015

*****
Very good holiday, lots to see and well guided. Good value for money and very companiable group of people on walks.

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Mrs Cullum on 29/04/2015

***#.
Headwater were very poor on administration I had to request both confirmation invoices and twice request travel documents which had to be courried to us 9 days before we left which was poor considering we had to book our seats with Easyjet. The hotels were not as comfortable as they should have been as we were cold in them.

Walks in Puglia and Matera

By Mr Allan on 29/04/2015

*****
Puglia and Basilicata a truly inspiring choice. We were inspired by Andrew Graham-Dixon and Giorgio Locatelli in 'Italy Unpacked' and this holiday fully met our expectations...........though the food not always quite so great- needed more green vegetables! Our Guide was delightful and charming. We learned that living in a cave has draw backs - high humidity - but still worth staying in the Sassi ! We also loved walking around hill top towns.......delightful!

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Dr Goldberg on 25/04/2015

*****
We have just had a wonderful week cycling in Puglia with Headwater. We would highly recommend going in late April/May as the countryside was covered in wild flowers and the weather was perfect for cycling at around 18C. The bikes were just right for the routes which are all on roads. Most roads are quiet but some were busier than I was expecting especially coming into the towns but the Italian drivers were surprisingly deferential and careful around cyclists. The hotels chosen by Headwater were all excellent. All the evening meals we had were delicious, both those provided and those we found ourselves. Not one disappointing lunch or dinner in the whole week! Some of the route instructions need clarification and personally I would have preferred them to be a bit shorter but overall an excellent weeks holiday. I'm sure we will be booking again with Headwater next year.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Trivedi on 17/04/2015

*****
We loved this holiday. Dave provided comprehensive information on the routes and accommodation at our initial briefing, and could not have been more helpful. He also gave us lots of background information to help us make the most out of our holiday. Puglia is a beautiful area ideal for cycling, and the hotels (which were all excellent) all had very different characters, which added extra interest to the holiday.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Dick on 22/10/2014

***#.
Well organised holiday. Lots of places to visit and experience as a result of thoughtful planning. Good, comfortable accommodation and food.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Joslin on 14/10/2014

*****
This was our first time with Headwater and the impressive, friendly and efficient service, together with very good hotels in a variety of beautuful locations, ensured our total enjoyment. The routes suggested were good and we had the option of extending our rides (in particular an extension to the coastal ride on Day 1). A slight criticism would be that the directions could be clearer and presented in specific instructional order rather than paragraph narratives; we were not sure that anyone had actually cycled these routes 'blind' and thus we made some mistakes. neverthelessall rides were completed successfully. Puglia is something of a gem and the programme ensure that we enjoyed a full flavour of its varied geography and history. We would have no hesitation in booking another of your holidays and thank you for such a pleasureable experience.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Smillie on 08/10/2014

*****
We are not regular cyclists and this was our group's (6 of us) first experience of a cycling holiday and of using Headwater. The organisation was very good and the suggestion of Puglia for this adventure was first class. We had excellent weather to enjoy lovely countryside and well chosen locations and accommodation.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Martin on 25/09/2014

***#.
Definately worth a try and nice varied holiday. It was good to experience a different part of Italy. Whilst for us it doesn't quite match up to the scenary of home and other parts of Italy such asTuscany and Umbria, it has its own charm. Our cycling route took in a good mix of the coast, the coastal planes and the plateau and some lovely little towns. The cycle down from Alberobello was lush. As we live in God's own countyclose to the Yorkshitre Dales all the miles of dry stone walling made us feel quite at home. Luckily we don't have anywhere near the problems the Italian's have with roadside litter and fly tipping. It's a real shame. However, it's not all like that by any means. It certainly isn't something in Headwater's control as isn't the weather, which was indifferent but we managed not to get wet whilst riding, which was good and we did see some sun - just thought it might have been a bit better in early September, but your in the lap of the gods . There's some fantastic old olive vines throwing up some weird and wonderful trunk shapes to feast your eyes on. We saw very few animals despite there been a plentiful array of meat on the evening meal menus. The people we met from Southern Visions your local agent were all very friendly and they provided an excellent service. Manopoli was a wonderful place to start and the Palazzo Indelli a nice little hotel right in the thick of the old historic quarter in a lovely little square, which came alive at night, and close to the waterfront with its fortifications and castle. Worth doing the extra short loop on the first day if you want a bit of fish for lunch. Corte Altavilla was a nice little hotel also and well located just off the square by the cathedral and near the castle in Conservano. I just thought the hotel restaurant on the top floor lacked a bit of atmosphere, but we were only there for one night, so no great shakes. This hotel looked to have a good spa, but it was fully booked, so if you want to partake best to book in advance. Staying in the Truli house was an experience, as were the bangs on the head I gave myself on the low doorways! However, previous reviews on your website weren't wrong that you had saved the best until last - the Masseria Salamina. I dont think I've ever felt so relaxed so quickly on arrival at a hotel and I've stayed at many. We were so pleased that after reading the other reviews we'd opted for another night. In fact if we went back and did this trip again I'd be looking to rejig things to stay in Arerobello and the Trulli House for just 1 night instead of 2 and have a further night at Masseria Salamina. What a lovely place. There's opportunities for those who want to mix cycling with a bit of train travel with the bikes, such as the round journey from Alberobello where we actually chose in the end to take the train back from Marta Franca. Be aware Italian drivers seem to like to honk their horns I guess to tell you they are coming even though you've already heard them. Overall a very pleasurable experience well worth a go.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Dr Dewar on 23/09/2014

*****
Really excellent trip. Cycling was great and not too strenuous although cycling every day a reasonable distance. Beautiful scenery passing through coastal areas with shimmering sea and quiet coves, on to endless olive groves with not a person in sight. The Puglia towns are delightful in character. Hotels are undoubtedly excellent especially Masseria Salamina (a gem - what a location, luxurious pool area, fabulous dinners) and Trulli stay was also a delight, with very friendly but not intrusive staff. The cycling is all on surfaced roads which means that the provided bikes were more sporty and made cycling easier (lighter frame, thinner tyres, gearing better, no mudguards or bell). Southern visions, your local partners, were really helpful - we were travelling on to Dubrovnik by ferry and the transfer driver spent quite some time locating the left luggage for us, which would have been impossible for us without good Italian. Thus was really appreciated as we were able to relax in Bari for the day. Finally the Spa in a Corte Altavilla was a great bonus - each of us had a well-earned massage from Andreas after steam room and soaking in the hot tub. Weather was excellent (iPhone weather suggests cloudy and thunder storms but neither was accurate - sunshine daily in mid to late September.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Elmer on 16/09/2014

***#.
Puglia as a region is over-hyped. You will mainly be cycling along dusty roads through olive trees. The southern Italian towns have very messy litter strewn outskirts with disused factories and omnipresent graffiti but once you get to the centres you will find lovely old walled towns with stone pavements - completely closed as you are most likely to arrive in the middle of the afternoon siesta! you did ask!!

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Watts on 16/09/2014

*****
We celebrated our wedding anniversary with this holiday. Overall we had a wonderful experience despite the unseasonably wet weather in Apuglia this September. We flew independently and organised ourselves 2 days in Lecce which we would recommend. We arrived in Monopoli by train and walked to the hotel - from there on we were welcomed and looked after by Southern Vision rep Davide who was extremely informative. We were a bit concerned that we would end up on a group tour but the other headwater guests were lovely and everyone had their own plans and did their own thing. The cycling was just the right level for us, the hotels great! The inclusive food was very good standard and elsewhere we did not have one course of food that was not delicious! Highlights were the pretty town squares, the Esspressini, the Vongole, the Negramero wine, the sea food at Savelletri, the afternoons lazily cycling through olive groves, the quiet routes and the friendly people of Southern Italy. When we arrived at Bari airport with the wrong passports with 50 minutes before the gate closed, Southern Vision contacted Salamina, and then the young Boss Phillipo (apologies for spelling) broke the land speed record, and every level of service and commitment to get our passports to us! while the Southern Vision team worked on a backup plan the accommodate us and rearrange flights - All in under 45 minutes! We made our flight, sweating, tired, but very happy that we had chosen Headwater for a great fun way to celebrate.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Alexander on 13/08/2014

*****
our third Headwater holiday. Set dinners in the hotels often poor and we are really fed up with this. It is not a cheap holiday but we seem to get the dregs of the food. Our best meals were out in independent restaurants. On the first night when Pallatzo Indelli couldn't feed us they sent us out for a wonderful simple fresh supper at a restaurant. Dinner with them the second night was DISGUSTING. We felt like the poor relations.

Headwater response

Dear Mrs Alexander, Thank you for your constructive feedback, We were sorry to see that you were disappointed with the standard of meals served at some of the restaurants on this holiday . We have discussed your comments with our local suppliers and from this some new menus have been put into place with more choices available. Whilst the overall feedback for this holiday is positive, we realise we cannot afford to let our standard slip and thank you for bringing these points to our attention. We hope that by making these small changes our customers will continue to enjoy this lovely area of Italy. Yours sincerely, Headwater Customer Service team

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Valdes on 24/06/2014

*****
The holiday was very enjoyable and the suggested places to visit/eat and short town guides were very helpful. The food in this part of Italy was amazing and there was a lovely mix of Coast and hills.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Griffiths on 03/06/2014

*****
Good fun helped by good weather, hotels, food and wine. Our stay in Monopoli was wonderful and the hotel was ideal - got a little lost on our way back on the first cycle ride as we mis-counted some of the 'Y' turns. Enjoyed the cycle rides along the side roads - pretty wild flowers in May.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Previte on 14/05/2014

*****
Because of our ages (I am 80, my wife is 78) we decided not to do the Puglia trip on bikes but by car. This worked very well. The only problem was the very narrow streets and difficulty in finding the way in Monopoli. Doing it by car meant we had more time to explore the places where we stayed and time to drive to Lecce. We thought that Masseria Salamina would be a very good base for anyone wishing to explore Puglia by car. It is a lovely hotel, easy to find and in a good location for visiting other interesting places in that area. The sea food restaurants on the coast are excellent, especially one at La Forcatella. The remains of the Roman town and port at Egnazia and the museum are very intersting.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Woolstone on 23/04/2014

*****
A wonderfully authentic Puglian expeience -great locations, countryside, food, wine & cycling

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Dear on 18/04/2014

*****
We decided to book our own direct flights with BA instead of using the advertised Alitalia via Milan flights. The timings don't differ significantly and Headwater were happy to arrange non standard transfers at no extra cost. The standard of accommodation throughout the trip was of a high standard. We really enjoyed the stay in the Trulli house and were pleasantly surprised to be given a Trulli suite with a small patio garden! The highlight however was our stay in the Masseria Salamina. On booking we upgraded to a garden suite but on arrival we were delighted to be allocated the luxury suite complete with private balcony and sea views. We were made to feel really welcome by the family and the food was excellent. Simple, fresh and plentiful with much of it coming from their own farm. The map of the area is only good for an overview but the route notes and briefing were excellent and at no point did we stray off route. Some of the roads (as has been mentioned before) are in a poor condition but this did not detract from the enjoyment of the cycling. Another enjoyable, well organised and well supported holiday from Headwater. The next one is already booked!

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Whittaker on 03/11/2013

*****
This area of Italy proved to be lovely for cycling. Most of the routes were along very quiet lanes lined with dry stone walls, along side olive groves and vineyards. Staying in a Trulli in Alberrobello was a delightful experience, so much so that we wish we had been able to book an extra night: we didn't cycle on the middle day as we wanted to look round the town.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Marshall on 14/10/2013

*****
Your local agent organised a great tour through Puglia, linking key sights of interest via lovely quiet back roads where we observed rural life.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Morgan on 09/10/2013

*****
Great combination of exercise, exploration and recreation.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Emms on 02/10/2013

***#.
nice hotels, gentle cycling and wonderful surroundings....all makes for an enjoyable and relaxing break

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Collins on 01/10/2013

*****
On the whole all the hotels exceeded our expectations as did the bikes, which were very good, though I would recommend extra padded cycling shorts. If you arent going to have lunch at a restaurant en route, buy your provisions early, because everything closes for lunch, we never did work out the closing times, as we always seemed to be on the road. Many of the roads are awful, so those padded shorts will serve you doubly! The dinners are plentiful and wonderful food. The routes are delightful, mainly on small roads with little traffic. There was only one day which proved to be rather taxing with a lot of ups and downs from Alberobello to Martina Franca. Luggage transportation went without any hiccups and all in all it was a really enjoyable destination to catch the last of the summer warmth.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Brown on 25/09/2013

*****
have spoken to joanne prior to your e mail but conform we thought the holiday was excellent in every respect. bikes were brilliant hotels and food better than expected. the area was fascinating and very unspoilt and great cycling routes.We were dismayed to hear of Ali accident just after our our meeting and hope she recovers quickly and fully because she was really great and helpful and knowledgeable and sensible. One set of directions per cyclist would have been better and advance warning of city taxes in two of the hotels might be wise. Otherwise a really great holiday.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Lane-ryan on 17/09/2013

*****
Negatives first: Somewhat expensive for the type of holiday which will cause us to carefully evaluate 'rival' companies for next year. The countryside was too similar and the beaches poor unlike the Alsace tour we went on previously which was pleasantly varied with overall better hotels. The trulli experience was not to be recommended, no working air conditioning, light bulbs missing etc... On pointing this out told the air conditioning had been switched off as weather getting cooler ! In fact it could be switched on but did not work. Our friend next door discovered the air conditioning in his house had no plug. The plumber was to be told about the problem and we had a fan so clearly problem was longer standing. Positives: the hotels were all good and staff helpful in most, the organisation of the tour by Southern Visions was excellent and the Salamina was to be particularly recommended. Weather perfect. Overall we were happy with holiday but will be more careful over selecting the area we go to next year to ensure variety/interest. That is not the fault of Headwater!

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Mowll on 14/09/2013

*****
Headwater were friendly, efficient and the holiday was well organised throughout with comprehensive directions. Rest days offered the opportunity to put the bikes on the train for part of the tours, or just cycle part of the routes and the hotels were well placed for this and other sightseeing. All in all, a very good holiday was had by all!

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Hinds on 16/06/2013

*****
SShhsh! Don't tell anyone about Puglia ! After many years of travel in Italy , We have a new favorite region ! Wonderful food and wine,peaceful rural and coastal lanes, and each town is more beautiful than the last ! A real treat of a holiday - and few tourists ! Let's keep it like that !!!

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Isles on 27/05/2013

*****
This was our eighth Headwater holiday over 20 years and they have all been very enjoyable. Yet again, Headwater and their agents were very efficient throughout. We were particularly impressed by the Masseria Salamina which exceeded our expectations and was a perfect place to finish our holiday.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Hollander on 07/05/2013

***#.
Puglia tourist people very welcoming and can be very helpful but be careful of gross overcharging. Look at your bills and dispute perceived unfairness on the spot.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Sym on 30/10/2012

**#..
We enjoyed the holiday but not as much as we thought we would! We all enjoy good food sadly on this holiday we were let down we had 3 good meals out of 7

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Townsend on 30/10/2012

***#.
The Puglia cycling tour was well organised, and well supported by local staff. We had excellent weather in mid October wth temp 22-25 deg C. The only significant criticism (not within your control) was the appalling state of the litter at the side of many many roads especially on the coastal plains. It is not at all relaxing to be cycling through lovely countryside and regularly come face to face with the WHOLE range of domestic litter strewn along the edges of fields. For that reason alone, I would not recommend this particular trip to anyone else. This is not a reflection on Headwater.

Headwater response

Unfortunately, there have been a couple of occasions where we have been informed of some littering on this particular tour. It is such a shame and very frustrating, as Puglia really is a beautiful region. It does not however, seem to be a continual problem and we do our utmost to avoid these areas on the routes we take. Our local agent continues to raise the matter with the local authorities, in an effort to eradicate this problem for the future. Thank you for sharing your experience with us so we can continue to monitor the situation.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Bayly on 30/10/2012

*****
Wonderful. One of our best ever holidays. Challenging and relaxing in equal measure - a fabulous break.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Thomas on 17/10/2012

*****
Poor bikes. Heavy frames and too highly geared. Skinny tyres no good on broken tarmac surfaces. Broken spoke. Puncture. Why not mountain bikes?!

Headwater response

We are sorry that you found the bikes to be such an issue, this is genuinely not something we have come across before in this area. We will be speaking with our local agent about your experience and can assure you that we will be monitoring future feedback closely. If we do feel that a different style bike would be beneficial, we will certainly consider making this change.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Ms Heard on 24/09/2012

***#.
Puglia is very different to Tuscany more rugged than beautiful but a lovely coast line with super sandy beaches. A good mixture of easy and hilly cycling which we felt was accurately graded. All the hotels had their own character but we especially enjoyed the Masseria Salamina and wish we had had an upgrade. Alberobello is very touristic and commercialised with lots of cheap souveniers but staying in a trulli was a novelty! We especially enjoyed the company of the other Headwater cyclists. Another successful Headwater Cycling Holiday.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Webb on 24/09/2012

*****
It was great. Warm weather, great company with the people we met up with in the evenings (and chose to go cycling with on the final day, and lovely places to stay. Where the notes could have been better, we have already given feedback to the people on the ground and we recognise that signs change! Our one recomendation for change that we would give to future visitors is to take the train from Conservano to Arborobello - this would avoid cycling through the industrial wasteland of the first town visited (big lorries, lots of dust) and the rubbish in the countyside between there and Noce. It would also give time for a morning in the old town of Conservano and a 1.30 pm train onwards; a cheap and easy option. We took the following day off cycling (needed a rest and a long lunch) but have been told (via the blue book) that it was one of the best days cycling - we visited the town of Locotorando by train and it was indeed beautiful. Other than that, we had a great time and are planning our next holiday already.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs McIlhinney on 23/07/2012

***#.
We had a brilliant holiday in a part of Italy we had never visited before – with so many olive trees!

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mr Parmenter on 16/06/2012

*****
Puglia is a wonderful area in which to cycle and we enjoyed every day of our holiday.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Hornsby on 25/05/2012

*****
Very enjoyable despite the appalling weather.

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Mrs Baylies on 09/05/2012

*****
Thoroughly enjoyable!

Contrasts of Puglia Cycling

By Ms Beesley on 09/05/2012

**#..
Please refer to email to follow

Heel of Italy Cycling

By Mr Padfield on 00/00/0000

*....
Very disappointing. The poor route notes - sufficiently bad that we abandoned them and found our own way using our own map and Mobile Phone mapping services for 3 days of cycling. A shock since on 4 previous holidays with Headwater there was no such problem.