Customer reviews: Walking in Portugal

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our walking holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their walking holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their walking holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Kent on 29/11/2016

*****
The coastline in South West Portugal is stunning and the national park unspoiled .Most days we only saw other walkers and surfers The walks were well planned and came with easy to follow instructions.The way-mark signs were also good. Ludmilla and Tony, the Headwater representatives were excellent.and we felt as though they were there just for us ,even though we knew that they had other guests to look after. .The food and accommodation was ,on the whole ,of a high standard. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this holiday to other walkers. They wont be disappointed. It far exceeded our expectations!

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Dr Johnson on 29/11/2016

*****
The local guides were extremely helpful and well informed. Their walking routes and descriptions were excellent and full of interest. The whole area was very scenic and with a good variety of wildlife.

Walking the Algarve's South-West

By Mrs Barnes on 29/11/2016

*****
This is a most enjoyable walking holiday. You see some spectacular scenery and stay in some lovely places. In September the weather was hotter than we had expected which made the walks quite demanding, but the excellent notes provided by the guides meant that we never got lost. Most of the hotels were excellent, but while the breakfasts at Costa d'Oiro were good, the dinners were not. There was little choice and the main courses were of poor quality.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Lancaster on 14/11/2016

*****
This was our first holiday to Madeira and fortunately enjoyed perfect walking weather. We enjoyed the Levada experience very much but the Sao Lourenco Peninsula walk was definitely a highlight. Our last walk into Funchal was disappointing but appreciate it had been changed because of the summer fires. The hotels were delightfully varied. At the Quinta do Furao we enjoyed live music and an outdoor hotel buffet/ barbecue on our last night. At the Serra Golf we found our selves upgraded to a lovel suite! Staying at The Bela Vista is like stepping back in time to ' Colonial days '. Silver service is a fun experience. The waiters were a little surprised when my husband asked for beer rather than wine! But they soon got used to him. We cannot fault the food and service at this hotel. Although the hotel is out of Funchal we did find the local bus service and hotel minibus service worked well. Overall a wonderful holiday.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Mulder on 11/11/2016

*****
Fantastic experience walking Madeira. Even on a cloudy day it is an amazing place. Headwater arranged everything effortless. Amazing how the drivers were always there on the dot! Very reliable at all times. The levada walks were easy walks - except if you haven't got a head for heights...Good variety in walks and great that Headwater could provide more walks if you wanted to walk more. For example on your free days. Will book with Headwater again - a no brainer!

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Toms on 09/11/2016

*****
Easy walking over gentle countryside with spectacular coast

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mis Buttrick on 08/11/2016

*****
A wonderful walking holiday in Maderia. A great insight of the island. Headwater took all the work out of the travel and holiday arrangements and left us to enjoy ourselves!

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Dr Adams on 31/10/2016

*****
This was a lovely part of Portugal which luckily for us is not spoilt by too many tourists. Well thought out and planned. Very remote locations so do not expect to pop into town for anything.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Ms Van bentum on 31/10/2016

*****
Lovely views, lovely walks (accurate maps and grading), lovely hotels and a lovely rep (Ludmilla). It was a great holiday with the two nights in Pedralva and the walk to the lighthouse on the last day as the absolute highlights.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mrs Cerny on 31/10/2016

*****
We had our first holiday with Headwater this October in Portugal. We had never been on an organised walking holiday before, but any concerns we might have had , e.g. getting lost,were soon abated. The route maps were excellent and easy to follow. The timing of each walk was accurate, so we were able to pace ourselves accordingly. We often walked the whole day without meeting a soul except at the beach, where we could watch surfers in crashing waves. The range of accommodation was excellent. We enjoyed our stay in Pedralva and were lucky to have a a cottage with a large patio.The hotels were in great locations and all very comfortable. Ludmilla and Tony were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We had not been to Portugal on holiday before. We will be back!

Walking Portugal's Land's End

By Mr Bird on 31/10/2016

*****
A good, enjoyable and trouble-free holiday. The walks themselves were easy, but unremarkable and at times dull.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Kelly on 13/10/2016

*****
Once again, we had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday! Great walking, wonderful locations for our accommodation, excellent food and drink, and as a bonus the company of other like-minded walkers at various points during the week. Excellent route notes and planning - it is definitely what we have come to expect from our Headwater holidays (this was our 10th)

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Shelton on 04/10/2016

***#.
Quinta do Furao was lovely, very welcoming staff, a stunning location. The walk along the coast from the hotel was amazing. The local representative, Eduardo from MB Travel, met us to discuss the week's walks and was very helpful, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Serra Golf was a beautiful building, but the staff took two days to sort out our lack of hot water (we had a room in the old house) and had forgotten to provide a packed lunch on our morning of departure. The levada walks were splendid - breathtaking views around every corner. The guide notes were good, but we could have done with a few more arrows or signs on the path. On the last walking day we had an alternative walk due to the forest fires of previous weeks. This was not nearly as good as the previous walks - I am sure there are other walks available. Quinta da Bella Vista was a a lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds - a long way from the centre of Funchal and the hotel shuttle bus does not run on Saturday afternoon and Sunday. There are local buses into town. Five course dinners served every evening, but after a day's walking you just want a big bowl of something on the table. Many thanks to Headwater staff for their efforts to arrange our holiday around our preferred dates.

Exploring the Azores Triangle

By Mr Plimmer on 14/09/2016

*****
The Azores are just wonderful; superb sights and experiences. The accommodation was very good and the travelling well planned (though two flights were delayed). In my opinion though too many islands are visited in just one week and the inter-island travelling is significant. There is enough to do and see on Faial and Sao Miguel for a month let alone a week.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mis Rodgers on 19/07/2016

*****
Maderia was a beautiful location. Weather in June was pleasant. Hotels and food good. Walks varied and interesting. Overall a good experience.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Hewitt on 02/07/2016

***#.
This holiday was good and the temperature for walking was very comfortable, but it would have been lovely to see the sun more, and the spectacular views, which were sometimes covered by mist and low cloud. I was not very fit at the beginning and felt exhausted and sore after two days, so chose to miss the walk on day 3 and go with the bags to the next hotel and have a day resting, and reading by the pool. (The Porto Bay Serra Golf has a spa with treatments, and it is possible to book a leg and foot massage!). The walks were dominated by levada routes, so less varied than our previous walking holidays with Headwater, so it was really worth going on the San Lourentco peninsula walk which was wonderful

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Sedgwick on 14/06/2016

*****
A good variety of walks with a good local guide through enchanting country side with magnificent wild flowers ( May is a good month for this holiday

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs O'Brian on 13/06/2016

*****
Overall the holiday was thoroughly enjoyable. The walks were varied and a good length and covered some beautiful scenery. I think the 1+ rating was quite accurate - the walks were usually around 4 hours with some up and downhill sections but nothing particularly difficult. The accommodation was good as were most of the meals. Our guide, Tiago, was brilliant! He was knowledgeable, organised, flexible and just a really nice guy to hang out with. My only advice for future travellers would be to make sure to take insect repellent or a zapper for Tavira. The mozzies were like helicopters there.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Loch on 07/06/2016

***#.
Madeira is an excellent year-round easy walking destination. The custard tarts are to die for

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs MacLeod on 06/06/2016

***#.
Very well organised trip. Varied walking; enjoyed walking along the levadas but views often restricted by trees. Misty on some days so some high level walks would have been good.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Hansen on 06/06/2016

*****
Fantastic walking, great variety. Very enjoyable holiday. One of our best headwater holidays

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Dr Smith on 03/06/2016

**#..
Very poor because of the Herdade do Touril experience.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs Pattinson on 26/05/2016

*****
Tiago and Hugo were excellent guides using very well planned routes. They were very friendly and flexible in their approach. Everyone in the walking group was very friendly and sociable. Tiago was a fount of knowledge of birds and plants and was keen to pass on this knowledge.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Grant on 18/05/2016

*****
The holiday was excellent and the walks sufficiently challenging without being too onerous although some of the climbs are pretty severe and you need a head for heights on some short stretches of the levada walls. If you want superb views this holiday is great but if you suffer any degree of vertigo this is not the holiday for you.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Cottam on 16/05/2016

*****
A great way to see different areas of a country and meet new people.

Birding in the Alentejo

By Ms Pitt on 06/05/2016

*****
This was a wonderful week in a magical place - very remote in the beautiful hills of the Alentejo. Frank and Daniela made us so welcome and comfortable. They really put themselves out to make our stay a success. It was like staying with old friends. This is the perfect holiday for those who like to get away from it all and learn more about birds, with good company, good food and a truly beautiful spot. The early starts [eg 5am] were tough but well worth it, as dawn is the best time to see the greatest number of birds. I definitely plan to return. Many of our fellow guests have been back several times.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs Corris on 04/05/2016

***#.
The walking was varied and enjoyable although the weather could have been better.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Stevens on 03/05/2016

*****
Very enjoyable, well organised and good general standard of accomodation.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Story on 03/05/2016

*****
The standard of the holiday was as good as expected - what really made this holiday so enjoyable was Tony and Ludmilla - their warm welcome, personal touch, and their knowledge of the area was second to none.

Walking Portugal's Land's End

By Mrs Webster on 03/05/2016

*****
We felt we were in very good hands with Tony and Ludmilla who could not have done more to make our overall experience so good. They really are so good at the job and it makes such a difference to have friendly and approachable people to enhance the experience. They helped us with train and bus times when we left Sagres at the end of the Headwater holiday - they have been the best agents we have come across!

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs King on 27/04/2016

*****
An excellent holiday with exceptionally helpful guides.a good variety of accommodation

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Curwen on 26/04/2016

*****
A superb holiday. The walks are out of this world - such a beautiful place, quite magical. The hotels had excellent facilities which is just what you need after a day's walking. Well done Headwater!

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Holmes on 25/04/2016

*****
An excellent holiday with an interesting and varied range of walks and activities. Well structured to give a decent impression of the Algarve region as a whole. The website and brochure provide a pretty accurate description of the holiday. The local guides were informative, helpful, friendly and very considerate of capabilities of different group members. My first experience of such a holiday, would happily do something similar again!

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mis Whittaker on 25/04/2016

***#.
I have been on many Headwater holidays, mostly guided when traveling on my own or with one friend but some self guided when with a group of friends. When travelling on my own Headwater provide accurate information about what to expect and provide a safe environment for me. I know enough about how they operate to anticipate accurately what the holiday will be like. Of course the other members of the group are a main factor but I have always found that they work well together. This is often helped by the guide understanding group dynamics.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Ms Elliott on 25/04/2016

*****
The walks were excellent and very accurately described and graded. Excellent options presented for the rest days. Ludmilla, our rep, was really helpful and had very good personal knowledge of the area and all the walks. Views were spectacular, especially on the coastal sections of the walks, and the wildflowers and bird-life were both wonderful. The slow-food restaurant at Vila do Bispo (A Eira do Mel) provided the outstanding meal of our trip. Hotel meals were generally pretty good, though the breakfast at Vila do Bispo was rather limited both in variety and quality. The weather was pleasantly cool for walking but, if you want to swim in the sea, you should probably go late April or May!

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs Smale on 18/04/2016

*****
Enjoyable relaxed holiday with an excellent guide, Tiago, who introduced us to the lovely and varied countryside which was enhanced by the magnificent show of wild flowers. The walking was considerably harder than on other 1boot holidays, and deserved to be labelled as 1+ boot.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Taylor on 18/04/2016

*****
Madeira is a beautiful, friendly and welcoming island, ideal for gentle exercise and relaxation.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Ms King-smith on 18/04/2016

*****
A delightful few days' walking in lovely, remote, unspoilt countryside. I enjoyed the birdlife and spring flowers particularly. The Portuguese we encountered were personable and friendly and spoke excellent English. My friend and I loved the food and wine - our reward after a day of walking! We got a lot out of what was, objectively, quite a short holiday.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Faulkner on 18/04/2016

***#.
Hiring a car gave more flexibility and allowed us both to walk following some of the route, especially the Fisherman's Trail and so to see the coastline, as well as having more time to explore other parts of the region. Ludmilla was outstanding in giving helpful, discrete and unintrusive advice

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Pro Beevers on 06/04/2016

*****
Great.......good walking , excellent notes and maps , good weather and good support. Requests for extra historical information promptly supplied by Ludmilla. Wonderful flowers, butterflies and birds, ! Food was excellent both in hotels and in the towns and Ludmilla advised us about local perceves speciality...and how to eat them. A good variety of places to eat. Only suggestion is handrail or handrope in Pedralva cottage ( long flight of thirteen stone steps down to loo.....) Wonder if L and T might keep a reference book of Flowers and Birds of Portugal in the van they could lend out... or we could consult?

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Beal on 06/04/2016

*****
Our third holiday with Headwater came up to usual high standards. Our representative Ludmilla was excellent and efficient. Although we had no problems we were confident that, had there been, she would have dealt with them promptly. We particularly enjoyed the delightful village at Pedralva - something out of the ordinary.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Ball on 04/04/2016

***#.
Enjoyable notwithstanding some poor weather.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Dr Loken on 30/03/2016

*****
As usual with Headwater Holidays, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves on this holiday. The locations were varied and interesting, the local guides did an excellent job, and the walking was very enjoyable.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Ms Hood on 30/03/2016

*****
Friendly, well-organised and exactly as described.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs Lamb on 29/03/2016

*****
This was our first guided walk, after many years of self guided holidays. We enjoyed the relaxation which came from not having to worry about anything at any time.Our guide Tiago was expert at assessing the capabilities and personalities of the group. We were able to go at our own pace, taking as much time as anyone needed to appreciate the wild flowers, birds and scenery. His passion for his country was inspirational and educational.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Kershaw on 29/03/2016

*****
Excellent first holiday with Headwater. Nothing was too much trouble. They even arranged for me to see England win the Grand Slam on TV in Pedralva! Walks were beautiful and the guides were easy to follow.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Sinanoglou on 14/03/2016

***#.
Though the rating (one boot+) is accurate, I would have preferred longer walks on most days. The use of three locations in three very different settings is an attractive feature as is the superb seafood. The village of Pedralva is an unusual and well-chosen base from which to explore Portugal's west coast. The use of a Portuguese partner organization (A to Z Adventures) and local guides works extremely well. This is an ideal holiday for those who enjoy half-day walks in a variety of landscapes covering a region that stretches from the river border with Spain in the east to the Atlantic beaches and sea cliffs in the west. The guides are well-informed and very attentive.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Harris on 14/03/2016

*****
A good strenuous holiday for an elderly single traveller. The guides and the other travellers were good organisers and excellent companions. No complaints.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Dr Harris on 04/03/2016

***#.
A holiday in which you get away from the crowds and experience the country intimately, complemented by good food & accomodation

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Wildsmith on 03/03/2016

*****
Excellent varied walking on the coast and on the Levada system. Good variety of hotel.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Worsley on 25/02/2016

*****
Met our expectations exactly- no hitches throughout.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Pomfrett on 25/02/2016

*****
Probably the best walking holiday we have had in Europe. A decent walk each day but you could do other things if you wanted. 3 of the five walks were really beautiful and the other two were good. Accommodation was fine and the reps were helpful. The notes were clear and easy to follow.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Huddlestone on 17/02/2016

***#.
An enjoyable winter break in milder weather with an interesting variety of walking, without being too challenging! The hotels provided excellent facilities for rest and recuperation with good dining and comfortable surroundings and some stunning views in places.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Ms Swiecicka on 17/02/2016

***#.
Can't really comment on standard of accommodation normally offered by Headwater as we upgraded wherever possible. At Costa D'Oiro (where we paid for superior room) we were put in room 3016 (I think) which, we later realised, has to have been the worst of all the superior rooms in that building (ground floor, in the back left-hand corner of the building) - the bathroom facilities were modern but the room itself was very dark and cramped (had a 3rd bed in it so nowhere inside to sit or even to put our cases). The patio was dark & dingy and only got the sun for about an hour or so around breakfast time (which wasn't much use to us as the room was not 'ready' for us to go into until after 1pm). The superior rooms on the other side of the building (i.e. facing the small road) were much brighter and bigger but we were not given the option of changing. We wouldn't have minded a room at the back of the building had it been on the 1st floor level as this would have been much lighter but we very much got the impression that we were put in that room to make it easier for cleaning - i.e. all the rooms to be cleaned were together on the ground floor. The restaurant was closed in the evening so comment re food relates to breakfast only, which was good. I would not stay in this hotel again.

Headwater response

Dear Ms Swiecicka, Thank you for taking the time to complete your post-holiday feedback, we were pleased to see you had an enjoyable holiday overall, however were sorry to read of your dissatisfaction with your room at Hotel Costa d ‘Oiro. We have discussed your comments with the Hotelier; he was also disappointed to receive your feedback and is sorry this issue was not resolved during your stay. This hotel is not one we normally use for our walking holiday, however we do use it on our cycling holiday and the overall feedback received is good. However, we do appreciate we cannot afford to let our standards slip, so will continue to monitor all feedback received and will work closely with our hotelier to ensure they are delivering the standard of accommodation our customers have come to expect. In closing, we would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future. Yours sincerely, Headwater customer service team

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mis Heath on 03/12/2015

*****
Memmo Baleeira was lovely to stay at and it would have been good to have stayed there longer. Mira Sagres was alright and Pedralva was very basic (food in evening was adequate but you had to be careful what you chose). Walking along coast and in wooded valleys was lovely but could be tedious inland (flat and featureless scrubland at times). Ludmilla was great and very helpful - we like her a lot!

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mis Haill on 27/11/2015

*****
Truly memorable holiday with excellent guides leading us. We saw a huge amount of the Algarve and the walks were varied and interesting, though perhaps a little bit harder than I was prepared for. My first visit to Portugal and I hope not my last.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Ms Lang on 27/11/2015

***#.
It was a good holiday. Just too much rain.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mrs Chaplin on 18/11/2015

*****
Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, Tony and Ludmilla were very helpful, the route notes accurate and the walks were lovely especially the walk from Vila do Bispo to Sagres-the coastal views were fantastic! All the hotels were very welcoming, but we especially liked Pedralva it is a real gem and the food was great too! There was plenty of choice of restaurants on the days when we had bed and breakfast at the hotels and we found all to be very good value for money.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Green on 09/11/2015

*****
Good combination of interesting but not too taxing walks, four or five hours a day, and pleasant pampering by staying at good hotels with pools and saunas,(very important to soothe any aching muscles !) Local people that we encountered seemed uniformly friendly and helpful and the landscape, whether we were being driven or walking through it, was never less than fascinating and often simply amazing, a combination of peruvian highlands and alpine villages !

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Dr Hodgson on 31/10/2015

***#.
A holiday in two parts ...the rural hills with lake, birds, flowers and superb hosts followed by clifftop walks, beaches,birds, Going in October we did have a bit of rain but this only stopped one day's walking and we were still able to fully enjoy this unspoilt part of Portugal.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mis Jameson on 26/10/2015

***#.
This was a new holiday and the Guides were excellent. The walks were varied and interesting. A mix of capabilities were catered for by using two vehicles but only because our group size allowed it. The hotels were varied as were the areas. I knew of the Poussada at Tavira and have stayed in the area before, We were particularly pleased to be able to return to a favorite restaurant in Santa Luzia. Although the weather wasn't at it's finest for our holiday we completed all the walks. The complex at Petralva was very interesting and had the best showers and hot water. However, the room was damp, others requested to be moved, this should be sorted out because the overall resort,concept and area was lovely. Our last morning's breakfast appeared to have them short handed but was fine. The bartender was knowledgeable and made our stay very enjoyable. The Hotel at Monchique was made up of a number of buildings some older than others. Our room although old was spacious but the hot water and decor was struggling a bit. Food for the first two evenings was a set menu and not very good nor was the service. This was the first time I have had difficulty with language in the Algarve. The bartender was particularly out of his depth. The last night the food was offered at A La Carte and was much improved as was the young lady taking orders and serving ( the kitchen too was much improved). The visit to the local distillery was fantastic and although the food in the hotel could have been better we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. We did not receive walking notes or a detailed walk itinerary ( I assume because it was guided) but this left us never really sure of plans and routes for the next day. We were given the holiday briefing but ten days in one go was too much to take in. This was our fifth Headwater Holiday and perhaps quality did not quite match up to others but I think with some assistance from the hotels it could easily achieve the expected level. There were nine of us on the tour and think we all enjoyed the experience.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs Stevens on 26/10/2015

***#.
This had the potential to be an outstanding holiday with excellent guides but they were let down by two of the hotels. It would have been helpful to have details of the spa treatments in advance and to book in advance as the Spa was often fully booked. It was also pretty shabby although the treatments good. More information about the area and history of the are would be a good idea too.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Jones on 26/10/2015

***#.
Good holiday and very good walking, well organised and good fun.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Stather on 08/10/2015

*****
1. We felt that the Quinta do Furao hotel was ahead of the others because the staff were genuinely helpful / friendly, the restaurant served excellent locally grown food and typically Madeiran cuisine. 2. One flaw in the route notes was on Day 6 - the 2nd line on the 2nd Paragraph on page 22 - starts with 'At the T-junction of paths, turn right.....' We think it should say 'turn left!' Another (more minor) point is on Page 16 (last but one paragraph) mentioning the Tofa Mini Mercato - which we didn't find but suspect that the name has changed (they were in the process of re-vamping the shop with another name and coloured purple. 3. I would especially like to express my thanks to Donna Webber for her close attention to detail and patience when exploring the flight / accommodation options that made our holiday enjoyable during the period we had available. And also for Emma Glasgow for making exceptional steps in a very tight timescale to ensure that we received the route notes / maps etc through the post that were essential to our holiday. Thank you both

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Heard on 06/10/2015

*****
Wonderful,all walks easy instructions to follow with small useful details personally put in buy Lucy the Rep who was full of good and helpful advice. Locations all good. All hotel staff spoke good English which really helped as we do not speak a word of Portuguese. Food good. All transfers spot on nice friendly drivers who gave local history as we traveled. Although a walking holiday found it very relaxing as we walked at our own pase and all the walks different so plenty of scenery to stop and take in. This was our 1st walking holiday and regard it as a total success exstreamly happy with Headwater and would book with them again.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Hurst on 06/10/2015

*****
The walking exactly as described in the itinerary. For the intrepid, on the Caldeirão Verde Levada walk it is worth exploring beyond Caldeirão Verde towards Caldeirão do Inferno. The first 1.3k is easy, then their is an ambiguous option of continuing along levada or climbing steeply on well maintained steps signposted 'Caldeirão do Inferno 0.8km'. We chose the latter. The step take you up to a much higher level levada and a maze of tunnels and bits of old railway track. There is a yellow and red way marker here that seems to indicate this is the official route. Unfortunately we didn't have time to explore further. On day 5 we would highly recommend the São Lourenço walk - but do go early before it gets busy. On days where transfers are provided, it is worth verifying that the driver knows where he should be taking you. On the Caldeirão Verde Levada day we were half way to Funchal before we realised the driver had mistaken our destination. Quinta da Bella Vista is not a 5 star hotel. It has an air of faded luxury, but they need to focus on the basics like cleanliness and service to earn their 5 stars. The bedroom wing needs a freshen-up - e.g. the faded / stained carpets replaced. The 5 course meal and service in the half-board restaurant was ok, but didn't really live up to expectations. The 'production line' catering was obvious and service perfunctory. Having said that, there are some interesting public areas - the pool / bar, old house and gardens. Having after-dinner drinks and coffee by the pool with views over Funchal was memorable. The Quinta do Furao and Serra Golf were fine hotels in their different ways.

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Mr Hodgetts on 15/09/2015

*****
Walking in the Alentejo (Costa Vicentina) provided the contrast between Fabulous Frank's creation of paradise in the interior - 4 miles off the nearest tarmac road - and the most stunning cliff top walking I have ever done. The latter is definitely not for the vertiginous but if you're OK with sheer drops on one side the views are fantastic. The walking on the coast, on the Rota Vicentina sometimes felt like a mini-Sahara as some parts are through deep soft sand but we came back fitter with thighs that can shell brazil nuts! The walking in the inland section was delightful through cork oak and eucalyptus forests - hardly saw a soul all day - and the lake swimming at the Quinta was heaven at the end of a hot days plodding.

Exploring the Azores Triangle

By Mrs Brennan on 21/07/2015

***#.
The Azores Triangle trip was full on, non stop, apart from the free day on the Tuesday. We joined the Exodus group, who were International with mixed activity abilities. Very challenging walking. The itinerary was changed according to the weather conditions, to accommodate us holiday walkers. It became a joke ' wonder what Bruno will change today ' It was a friendly group who gelled very well, looking out for each other. Could have done with extra days stay to recover. Loved the holiday, thank you.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Hurrell on 17/07/2015

***#.
Overall we really enjoyed it. However we were not quite prepared for the steepness of some of the walks. This is not down to Headwater but rather our own lack of research. The views were spectacular. We also felt that the times given for the length of each walk was rather optimistic even for us who enjoy walking in all terrains.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Whitehurst on 22/06/2015

*****
The key to my holiday was the flexibility in booking the travel arrangements via Birmingham. This allowed me access to an excellent holiday using a local airport

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Prior on 17/06/2015

*****
Good variety of walks, with our excellent guide (Tiago), enabling various enjoyable views/experiences of the Algarve. Tavira especially attractive (although we had the best weather there), with plenty of excellent restaurants and scenic/architectural attractions and sights. We particularly liked the coastal/cliff walking at this time of year (early April) with such a varied range of beautiful flowers. All-in-all a great mix of sights and experiences in the Algarve.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Davis on 17/06/2015

***#.
A walking holiday visiting several locations in one area. All the planning, hotels, transport etc is done for you so you can concentrate on the walks and enjoying yourself. Hotels and food very good. The one problem we had was some glass on the floor in the bathroom at the Quinta de Belle Vist. Eventually this was cleared up thoroughly. Minibus driver (lady) at Quinta de Furao was particularly helpful and friendly.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Robinson on 17/06/2015

*****
We both found this trip very enjoyable. The walking is relatively easy but very rewarding, and remarkably varied. The accommodation was top rate with good quality meals and excellent service. The location of Quinta do Furao is really great. Taxi collections and drop offs were faultless. In fact the whole trip from leaving home to returning was just perfect. One of our favourite trips.

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Mr Morrison on 11/06/2015

*****
From butterfly filled valleys to dramatic cliff tops with storks soaring overhead - this fabulous holiday certainly showed us the 'Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina.' Every step of the way was a delight. Would definitely recommend it. As for Frank's Barranco da Estrada ... what a magical discovery!

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Mr Allen on 21/05/2015

*****
It was a great holiday, in a friendly and relaxed country, thank you. Having gone from the tranquil hills & lakes to the sparkling cliffs & sea we understand the full significance of 'Contrasts..' in the title. Particular thanks to Nelson the taxi driver who looked after our transfers in a very helpful and reliable manner.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Ms Glass on 08/05/2015

*****
Our walking holiday in Portugal was a delight. Everything worked so well and the area is outstandingly beautiful particularly in April with so many spring flowers in bloom. I would highly recommend this region/ holiday.

Birding in the Alentejo

By Mrs Reynolds on 29/04/2015

*****
An extremely enjoyable and informative birding experience, enhanced by the warm hospitality of our hosts, Frank and Daniela . I would thoroughly recommend this holiday for 'old hands' and new birders alike!

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Ward on 28/04/2015

*****
Excellent mix of walks, scenery and wildflowers made this holiday wonderful. Certainly 10 days is needed to cover such a wide range. The food was generally excellent in the hotels, and in Tavira the restaurants O Castello (arrive early or book) and the Tavira Lounge (by the river) are well worth a visit and just a stroll from the hotel. We found the village hotel of Pedralva unique and very friendly and a super contrast to the first hotel. Monchique hotel is less special, but the restaurant was again excellent. A particular commendation to our guide Tiago for all his cheerful assistance and smooth driving: thanks for the birthday cakes.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs McTurk on 28/04/2015

*****
Fantastic way to see the real Algarve. Well organised walks with experienced local guide and comfortable hotels and good food at the end of the day!

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Corrie on 17/04/2015

*****
It was a great holiday as we were a group of 7,made up from friends for a 70th birthday celebration.The walking was the hardest I have ever done(I am 72 and fit) but it was great fun and a real sense of achievement at the end of each day.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mis Chappell on 13/04/2015

*****
From the moment we arrived our guide Tiago made us feel at home and made our holiday an enjoyable experience. Thoroughly enjoyed the varied walks and the wildflowers were spectacular, especially on the Fisherman's Trail. By the end of the holiday, we felt we had seen many aspects of the Algarve, from the Spanish border all the way to the west coast, and from the seaside at Tavira to the mountainous village of Monchique.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Peniket on 13/04/2015

***#.
We felt the walks were well planned and the hotels well chosen. We thought Eduardo Dias should have been more informative. On day 6 directions were inaccurate. Second para on Day 6 Camacha to Funchal at a ' T-junction of paths' we should have turned left, not right as indicated in the notes. Also other inaccuracies. At Serra Golf we booked a double room and were given a twin.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Stephens on 13/04/2015

*****
Ideal for walking in more natural and unspoilt areas with good standard of accommodation. Warm and mainly dry weather made the walking very enjoyable although be prepared for windy spells. The importance of tourism to the area came across in the warm welcome we received from most of the Portuguese. Our introduction to the area by the Headwater rep. Tony Lewis was invaluable and his walking notes made navigation easy. Both Tony and Ludmilla made the holiday appear seamless in its organisation and they were very friendly and supportive.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Menzies on 10/04/2015

*****
This is the third holiday we have had with Headwater and was the best yet. Tony could not have been more helpful and is clearly a man who loves his work. The walks were all superb with a huge variety of scenery. The notes were very clear and made it is easy to find our way. The accommodation was all to a high standard. Pedralva is a real gem and we were sorry to leave such an away from it all location. Choice of food for dinner at Memmo Baleeira was a bit limited unless you like pizza but they made up for this with the most superb breakfast choice. We also had the restaurant virtually to ourselves on the first night but on our return on Good Friday it was packed out with families. Quite a contrast.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mis Pearson on 30/03/2015

*****
We felt that the reps Tony and Ludmilla were excellent and helpful at all times. They are great ambassadors for Headwater. We were disappointed with the evening meal offered at the Hotel Memmo Baleeira. The service was slow, the food cold and over seasoned for our tastes. We found an excellent alternative restaurant in the town and went there on our last night. We would have preferred to have had an 'eat out' option in Sagres rather than having the evening meal included.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Pattison on 23/03/2015

*****
Another great Headwater holiday. Varied walking, good and interesting hotels, good guides. Some thought it merited 2 boot status, but it was fine for us.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Dr Jones on 16/03/2015

*****
Well organised, great places that we would not find on our own, excellent rep who gave us a 5 star experience . We felt completely relaxed and enjoyed every minute of our holiday .

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Sledge on 13/03/2015

***#.
Good news !

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Dr Foley on 03/03/2015

*****
Walking the Algarve's Wild West is a lovely break in the dull winter months of Northern Europe. Wild flowers, blue skies, dramatic coastal walks, great food and wine make this an ideal, well-planned short holiday.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Jones on 03/02/2015

*****
Although weather in Portugal is unpredictable in January, it is warmer than UK and has more daylight hours. However the wild atlantic was wonderful to see in strong winds. The trails were wonderfully peaceful, and the coastal scenery stunning, fishermans trail was probably the most spectacular coastal walk we have ever seen. The 6 day walk was very well put together, with a variety of countryside terraines, ridge walks, cliffs and beaches. Pedralva was a fascinating place to stay, and as there were so few people there we were entertained and educated in local cuisine by their very amusing 'French' waiter. As an add on we had a 2/3 day stay in Lisbon, lovely city, and it is a must to sample the patische do nata, available in most cafes.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mrs Corns on 24/11/2014

*****
Good variety of walks, some site seeing. Our guide was knowledgeable and was keen to show us as much of his country as poosible.

A Walk Through the Algarve

By Mr Schafer on 21/11/2014

*****
The Walking the Algarve trip offers participants a wonderful variety of of walks, accommodations and food. With walks that include the beautifully rugged coast and the mountain region of Monchique, one has an opportunity to experience much of what the Algarve has to offer. Our guide Tiago was excellent. The hikes were interesting and varied with the coastal portions being our favorite. The regional cuisine served at the hotels was very good with our favorites being the picnic at the Distillery and the dinners at Pedralva. All in all a wonderful Holiday!

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Deacon on 07/11/2014

***#.
Overall we enjoyed the holiday, and especially liked the first hotel. But we did not think that Quinta da Bella Vista was five star. Some features are excellent but the room we were shown first was poor: no balcony, faded fittings and an unpleasant musty smell. In the event we had to pay an additional 30 Euros a night to get the sort of room we expected. This was negotiated for us by the MB Travel office, who were very helpful. Looking on Trip Advisor, the hotel seems to offer two standards depending on the building one is in, one excellent and the other adequate at best.

Headwater response

Dear Mr Deacon, Thank you for taking the time to complete your post-holiday questionnaire. We were delighted to see that you had an enjoyable holiday overall. Although, were sorry to hear of your disappointment with the Quinta da Bela Vista. Ordinarily, this hotel receives positive feedback from our customers. However, Please be assured that we realise we cannot afford to let our standards of accommodation slip, therefore. With this in mind, we have passed on your feedback to the hotelier and we will closely monitor the new feedback we receive for this hotel over the coming season. Thank you for your constructive comments; we look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future. Yours sincerely, Lisa

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Mrs Bowen on 27/10/2014

**#..
I have put fair for value this time, our 9th Headwater holiday, as the standard of the notes was poor and this is what we are going on the holiday for. I have written a separate email to explain. Also the Cerca do Sol was situated too far away from the coastal route and the 4km walk back on the 2 days was long and boring. The room was disappointing after the other 2 places as small and no terrace to sit out or put boots etc. Lovely helpful people though and ate there on the second night which was excellent. One other point at the Herdade the first night we were expected to eat octopus for our main course so I declined and was offered a dry and tasteless pasta dish cooked for the children which was inedible so I went hungry. The second night however the meal was delicious and enjoyed by all.

Birding in the Alentejo

By Mr Williams on 23/10/2014

*****
This holiday is suitable only for keen birdwatchers or, maybe in the spring ,for those interested in flowers. There are kayaks and a sailing dinghy available. Local walking is limited. There is no opportunity to leave the hotel to visit local towns. No television or DVD service. Bring a book or use extensive library. The bird watch trips involve leaving very early , 5.30am , and driving on very rough ( and deserted) dirt roads. It is not comfortable and nervous passengers will not be relaxed. That said , the quality of the guiding and information received about the bird life is superlative. The hotel itself has character and the ambiance is one of a house party. Meals are communal around a large table although individual tables will be available if preferred. My wife and I loved it.

Birding in the Alentejo

By Mrs Jackson on 23/10/2014

***#.
The prime activity of the holiday (birdwatching) was very good and Frank actually included additional opportunities (e.g. close to Faro Airport after he picked us up). However, the subsidiary activities were somewhat uninspiring. The walks offered were not very interesting and the water activities were minimal. We would have been prepared to pay for a visit to an historic site, if this were possible (realising that the location made this difficult). However, we did enjoy the holiday overall and we were well looked after by Frank, Daniela and the staff.

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Mrs Thompson on 11/10/2014

***#.
We enjoyed this holiday andwere pleased with our choice as we had excellent weather (contrasting with rain every day in the Austrian Lakes last year!) - but we do have a major reservation about the coastal walking (the days 2 & 3 'inland' walks were fine). On day 4, the coastal walk takes you away from the coast over the last section (south of Cavaleiro). This is a wide flat, rather boring gravel/sand track with little of interest - partiularly at this time of year when crops have either been harvested or burned off by th sheat of the sun. You are too far from the cliff top to be able to see the beautiful coast. We were then invited to re-walk this route (with only minor variations and in the opp. direction) on Day 5 as part of the Touril Loop. We thought this was a bit silly and walked up the coast path to the lighthouse, and back the same way. We could of course have stuck to the coastal path on Day 5 and we would suggest you specify this in future, omitting the (unnecessary) 'Touril Loop'. You could then perhaps introduce a further day's walking south of Cerca do Sul or - if that proves impracticable, just make the holiday one day shorter. We thought that Day 7 contained by far the best of the coastal walks because you were able to see so much more of the beautiful coast from the trail. On days 5 and 6, quite a bit of the walking seemed to be just that little bit away from the cliff top and the path a bit flat and tedious at times. (When you do get the view though it is certainly spectacular!). The Cercada do Sul is a bit of a dull treck away from the coast path - again on a flat, rather boring path and, again, repeated on Day 7. We accept there's probably not much you can do about this if there's no other suitable accommodation. And, finally, we would suggest you build meals at the Cercado do Sul into the holiday. There didn't seem to be much to offer in Brejao....and it's a bit of treck down a dull flat paved road to get to the village from the Cercado. (We did have a look but didn't fancy the walk back in the dark so ate both nights at the Cercado). Wouldn't want you to think we didn't enjoy our hol. It was fine and the orgabisation / admin was faultless as ever. No problems at all with travel arrangements. Just a bit disappointed with some of the walking (lots of it was good!).

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Mr Smith on 07/10/2014

***#.
We have used several walking holiday companies and you are thus being compared with your peers. The booking process was poor, uncertain and had to be regularly prompted by me. It took ages to get any proper confirmation. You continually tried to send out documents by email and not by post - good for you, rotten for me - I am not going to print them - you should do so. Your walking notes were a disappointment. We often felt that they had been written by someone whose first language was not English. They were lacking in detail, imprecise and sometimes confusing and wrong.They are flabby in size with small print. On walk number 5, where we had been deceived and delayed by your directions, this section had to be repeated the following day. Fellow walkers at the hotel had given us their notes for the same section from Inntravel, so on that second day we had both sets of notes with us. We would never have made the mistakes that occurred if we had been using the detailed, better formatted and more user-friendly notes of Inntravel. The last point that I want to make concerns your suggestion in the main brochure that after the walk on Day 5 we should 'have a paddle at Praia do Tonel.' The 'beach' there is about 75 feet vertically below you at the foot of steep cliffs. The only access is by a narrow, loosely surfaced and almost vertical gulley created by rain erosion. Ropes have been fitted at a couple of points meaning that one would have to abseil down and haul oneself up again. It would be dangerous on a mountaineering holiday but simply lethal for many people. I am an experienced walker but would only attempt this if suicidally inclined. There is a notice there warning to stay clear because of possible rockfall. There is only one explanation: the person who wrote the notes has never seen the beach!

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Mr Lipscombe on 01/10/2014

***#.
The hotels were stayed in were all quite different and we enjoyed the variety of style and locations. The walking, particularly along the coastal sections, was excellent.

Exploring the Azores Triangle

By Mrs McMahon on 27/08/2014

*****
The Azores are beautiful and unspoilt islands and walking is one of the best way of seeing them.

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Mrs Donaldson on 17/06/2014

*****
Our 3rd Headwater holiday, some wonderful places and characteful hotels. Everything good except: 1. Brochure implies more opportunities to get down to sea level for paddle or swim. In fact there wee only a couple of places an the notes did not make it clear that if you went on there wold be no other place to get to the sea. 2. Some of the terrain (cliff pathways that were rather a 'scramble') were a challenge fo a 2 boot walk. 3. One days route took us away from the coast and along a boring road for miles when we could have been following the spectacular coastal footpath. This was presumably so we could do that coastal section on a loop walk the next day. This was misguided though because we would much prefer the coast route in two directions than 5 miles along tarmac road inland with little of interest either side! 4. Lack of communication with last hotel over one of us being vegetarian (though fish eating). Hotel wasn't aware and with no local shops it was difficult to put new meal together.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Williams on 12/06/2014

*****
MB Travel were superb everything ran like clockwork, never late unless advised in advance and always friendly. We knew they were available on the end of the phone if we needed them for anything at all. Would certainly recommend this holiday. We are hoping to book an Italian walking trip next year. Thank you Headwater we wish we'd done it years ago.

Exploring the Azores Triangle

By Mr Child on 03/06/2014

***#.
Unfortunately it was the tour leader's first tour in the Azores as a leader and the handover from the last guide did not appear to have been carried out in a polished and full way. Although Kristaps grew in confidence through the week the practical arrngements for the Monday for the holiday were not terribly customer friendly - I will be writing a short note about this to you for you to share with Exodus. Otherwise both hotels were very good and the islands are a delight as are the Azorean people.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Ms Weber on 17/05/2014

*****
Beautiful walks and great hotels - particularly liked Pedralva.

Birding in the Alentejo

By Mr Joseph on 08/05/2014

*****
This is a unique holiday. You are welcomed to the Quinta like a family guest. It is a place of tranquillity and peace, where you can relax in their beautifully landscaped garden and enjoy the views and the lakes, or take local walks. Meals show the benefits of locally sourced produce and Daniella's home cooking. I went for the bird watching. Here you get the benefit of Frank's 25+ years of study of the wildlife of the Alentejo. Not only does he have amazing knowledge he has an infectious enthusiasm that he so much wants to share with you. He doesn't rest until you have had not just a view, but the best possible, of the huge variety of species that are in this little-known, and quite unspoilt, region. The care he took over planning each excursion was outstanding. I returned refreshed in body and spirit and recommend this holiday as strongly as possible to all bird lovers

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Mrs Dewar on 06/05/2014

*****
A really good holiday, much enjoyed.

Birding in the Alentejo

By Mrs Lugg on 24/04/2014

*****
Perfect location for birding with knowledgable guides who tailor trips according to individuals needs. Excellent accommodation and meals.

Contrasts of the Costa Vicentina Walk

By Mr O'Hara on 22/04/2014

*****
Beautiful scenery, some challenging aspects to the walking, helpful staff and interesting locations.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Brady on 21/04/2014

*****
We understand that Portuguese Railways will not accept corporate bookings so you need to make it absolutely clear at the outset that travellers need to arrange their own rail travel from Lisbon to Tunes and give them clear guidance on how to do that. Their web site is not too easy to follow. You should also make it clear that it is possible to fly to Faro and take the local train from there. If your guests are arriving in Vila do Bispo on a Saturday, they need to know that the shops noted in your guide book are closed from 1300 and all day on Sunday. However, all is not lost because there is a Lidl supermarket that is 'open all hours' providing freshly baked bread and pastries and a range of other picnic items. Finally, the lighthouse at Cape St Vincent is not open on Mondays.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Dr Daniell on 15/04/2014

***#.
Good walks, excellent hotels but the food was disappointing and was a bit of a downer. Not sure you know about the substitute walk on day 4 but it was a hazardous in places and in the UK the footpath would have been closed to the public. There were sheer drops below narrow footpaths on the levadas with no hand rails. Our overall score would be 6 out of ten for this one.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Ms Murton on 14/04/2014

***#.
Ludmilla and Tony were both efficient and enthusiastic. April is an ideal time to go to Portugal - longer days and not too hot for walking. It's worth pre-arranging a day to cater to your special interests - we chose birdwatching and wild orchid hunting. We also pre-booked our train from Lisbon to Tunes and got a good discount for seniors.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mrs Payne on 06/04/2014

*****
A good holiday, fun accommodation in village houses and one very good hotel at each end, though sadly the weather was really poor for walking on this occasion. The tour reps were absolutely excellent, knowledgeable,helpful and thoughtful. We would certainly want to go again, though perhaps a one boot+ was too much for me.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Valerio on 01/04/2014

***#.
Excellent holiday though somewhat marred by some wet weather. At 79 years I did find some of the very steep long gradients tough on the knees and without trekking poles would have found one 500m descent on wet clay almost impossible. MB Travel were first class and promptly found us an alternative walk when the original route was washed out. The staff at the Porto Bay Serra Golf Hotel were very quick to find a lost mobile phone and immediately delivered it by car to the next hotel that we had moved to - great service.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mrs King on 19/03/2014

*****
I would thoroughly recommend the holiday but perhaps making own travel arrangements.The connection times between Lisbon airport and rain station were over generous. I can only think tis is a failsafe because the trains are not very frequent.One couple had made own arrangements of flight to Faro The train journey to Tunes was much shorter., and connections much more satisfactory

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By mr Shadwell on 13/03/2014

*****
We thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and thought it was very good value for the money. For us it was only marred by our experience on our second night at the Porto Bay Serra Golf Hotel. The hotel dining room was full on this night, but there were only two staff to serve about 40 people. Consequently the service was very slow. After our main course we requested a menu to choose a dessert, but after waiting for 20 minutes for the menu we gave up and went back to our room. Also, we should have been given a packed lunch the following day, but this did not happen. We should have reminded them the night before, but because they were so short staffed, we could not find anyone to mention it to. Otherwise this was a lovely hotel, perhaps we just caught them on an off day. The packed lunch we received from the Quintar do Furao, was excellent. The overall experience was very enjoyable and exceeded our expectations.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Dr Griffiths on 23/01/2014

*****
Excellent, especially as we experienced very stormy weather on one day but Tony and Ludmilla kept in touch with us and advised us not to walk; instead they collected us in the van and took us to one of the major sites we would otherwise not have seen. They were outstanding reps, and ambassadors for Headwater.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Riddaway on 23/01/2014

*****
Tony and Ludmilla were the best reps we have ever had in our extensive experience of Headwater holidays. They went to a great deal of trouble to make the walks more interesting and had produced laminated maps with the walks highlighted. These were far more useful than those originally supplied. Their initial briefing (and the associated written material) and walking notes were really well researched with lots of useful information on the likelihood of shops etc being open. Very useful in mid- January! The hotels were really excellent .Very good breakfasts in all except one. The free hotel in Lisbon [Plaza Lisboa] at the end of the holiday even supplied us with a complimentary bottle of Portugese fizzy wine on Bob's birthday.

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mr Setchim on 07/01/2014

*****
Particularly good waymarking made this an undemanding experience. Luggage transport was by the same team each time which was helpful

Walk the Algarve's Wild West

By Mrs Kelly on 29/11/2013

*****
This was our 8th Holiday with you and as ever we really enjoyed our break. We especially enjoyed our stay in Pedralva (took our 2 free nights there). Beautiful area, great walking. All staff at hotels were friendly and helpful. Your reps - Tony and Ludmilla were welcoming and really helpful. Tony's route notes were the best we have come across. Lovely food, quality wines. Good mix of accommodation. Only downside were the number of barking dogs - thankfully mostly on leashes but a bit scary at times (farm dogs and dogs on the properties kind of out of the way) Probably not a lot more that you can do about that though!

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Dr Mather on 14/10/2013

***#.
We enjoyed this holiday as we went with friends but the area itself is of only moderate interest although the vegetation is of great interest. The walking was quite easy and did not fill the whole day and is of limited interest as the views are limited. Some more demanding and high level walking would have been good and the last day's walk was very dull and urban and a different day should be subsituted Also the first day would have been boring if we had just returned the same way that we came. Instead we just went one way and took a taxi to port Moniz to swim. Overall I don't think the walks were very well planned to provide variety and interest On the plus side the directions were impeccable and when we had views they were wonderful and some of the walks were very peaceful

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Collier on 06/10/2013

***#.
The holiday was up to the good standard that we have come to expect from headwater holidays and would recommend it. A comment for improvement would relate to the third hotel Quinta Da Bella Vista where although the food, facilities and service were up to a 5star rating we thought the room of the hotel in which we stayed was a bit tired and needed upgrading to warrant 5stars.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr More on 30/09/2013

*****
We were slightly nervous that a very successful and enjoyable independent holiday - Catalan Coastal Walk last year could be matched by this one in Madeira. We thoroughly enjoyed it. It was very different in topography, but also pretty demanding for our ages (65 and 72), which we like. We think 2-boot is good for us. There is a big contrast between the levada walks and the demanding up and downs, but the mix is good. The hotels were all good, but we prefer hotels 'in places' so you can walk with interest around where you are. Like all of the four except one on the Catalan walk. None of the Madeira hotels were in this category. Not a major complaint. Just personal choice.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Morrison on 24/09/2013

*****
Something different every day. From coast to mountains - enjoyable, and occasionally challenging, walks that gave us a glimpse of all the fabulous views Madeira has to offer. And at the end of the day - hotels with a warm welcome and touch of luxury.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Bird on 23/09/2013

*****
A really good holiday. Some of the walks were slightly more dangerous than we imagined and the Porto Bay Serra Golf would benefit from a lift as we had to carry our cases up a narrow winding staircase with no help. As we had upgraded the room you should perhaps warn clients this may happen.

Exploring the Azores Triangle

By Mrs Piggott on 18/09/2013

***#.
The grading of the holiday made it sound easier than it actually was. The actual package was delivered by Exodus and there was not enough information about the level of difficulty presented by the terrain. Also there was very little information about what was actually involved in some of the optional activities. The last day's activity included a substantial lunch and a farewell dinner which most people felt was too much. It would have been better to have this programme the previous day so that the farewell dinner could be properly enjoyed on the last evening!

Exploring the Azores Triangle

By Mr Smith on 04/09/2013

***#.
An enjoyable introduction to the Azores

Exploring the Azores Triangle

By Mrs Eginton on 24/07/2013

*****
After a two year wait to visit the Azores I was not disappointed. The islands are stunning, everyone is friendly and help to make the most of your stay there. The walks were of interest and not too long or arduous and the vistits to local attractions added an extra insight to the life there. For anyone wanting to go somewhere a little bit different, away from the crowds, the Azores are the perfect place.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Gualtieri on 12/07/2013

***#.
The Headwater attention to detail was brilliant but would want them to change the second hotel. We did meet a family who had previously enjoyed a headwater canoeing holiday so we all sang your praises together and may look at that another year. Thank you for giving us a holiday that made us feel special.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Poole on 08/07/2013

*****
A beautiful, breathtaking experience.

Birding in the Alentejo

By Mrs Naylor on 20/06/2013

*****
fantastic! it really was paradise in Portugal! And Frank was a wonderful guide and took us to places we would never have visited on our own. All staff were so friendly and welcoming, including the dogs!

Birding in the Alentejo

By Ms Horner on 17/06/2013

*****
I have had many Headwater holidays and never been disappointed.

Birding in the Alentejo

By Mrs Probett on 13/06/2013

*****
Frank was brilliant, extremely knowledgeable and able to help us improve our bird id skills. We really felt part of the family in a beautiful setting.

Birding in the Alentejo

By Ms Owsley on 07/06/2013

*****
The location was fantastic for a place out of the way and quiet. Superb for bird watching and the owners professional knowledge in that area.

Birding in the Alentejo

By Mrs Riley on 06/06/2013

*****
The holiday was excellent but a bit of a shock for novice bird watchers when some morning starts are 4.30am!! Frank was an excellent guide and very knowledgeable. We were made very welcome by everyone at the Quinta and nothing was too much trouble.

Exploring the Azores Triangle

By Mis Smith on 05/06/2013

***#.
Enjoyable way to explore the Azores, however if I had known it was an Exodus trip I would have booked direct to gain more certainty on booking details.

Exploring the Azores Triangle

By Mr Joseph on 05/06/2013

***#.
This was the first time that the trip had run. In general it was another excellent Headwater holiday; the link up with Exodus worked much better than I had anticipated. There was no cutting back on Headwater's standards. The Azores present a challenge; 4 islands in a week means many complex transfers. Inevitably there are some aspects of the programme that could, and perhaps should, be changed for the future. This includes the basic question of whether to try and reach 4 islands in a week and the detail of some of the days. I'm sure your agents are already discussing this.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Ms Kennedy on 14/05/2013

*****
A few minor details aside, everything worked like clockwork and we had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday in a beautiful location which offers an unusual walking experience through the unique levada system. We were pleasantly surprised by the second hotel (Serra Golf), which was much better than previous comments had led us to expect. It has joined a hotel group and had a refurb last year, so it has a smart boutique feel. All the facilities were clean and fresh, including a new swimming pool and lawned sunbathing area. The dining room was lovely, the breakfasts excellent, and the dinners very tasty. The picnic was substandard though, someone needs to follow up on that! Also, the reception desk is not manned the whole time and the welcome you get can be a bit brusque, depending who comes when you ring the bell.

Birding in the Alentejo

By Mr Pittam on 30/04/2013

*****
The Quinta is an excellent base for anyone wanting to get away from it all! Peace quiet beautiful surroundings friendly people relaxing etc walking great & spring v good time for flowers & birds.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Townsend on 24/04/2013

*****
We had a superb week away with Headwater. There was a great balance of challenging walking with luxury at the end of the day. We will certainly be booking through you again.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Dr Mason on 13/04/2013

*****
Madiera is an interesting and picturesque island. The walking is pleasant, but you need a head for heights. The walks are mainly along 'levadas' (narrow water channels) which often cling to the sides of steep gorges. On our holiday there was a mixture of sunshine and downpours of rain. Waterproofs are a must, and also walking poles, since the paths can often become slippy when wet. The food is excellent with an abundance of fruit and vegetables. the hotels we stayed in were very comfortable and luxurious. Funchal is a large town, with interesting architecture, but currently the whole of the seafront is being re-built, a major construction operation which is likely to take a long time. We had a very enjoyable holiday in a place we had never previously visited.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Barbour on 13/04/2013

***#.
We've travelled with ATG on similar holidays and and the materials, guides etc yIu receive are far more robust - hard back bound ring folders - and far more detailed with good maps and topography profiles. The maps from head water were pretty poor, small scale and not very useable. The instructions come on stapled A4pieces of paper printed double side. By the end of a wet walk, they were in tatters even though we had them in aplastic map carrier. The whole package in fact was cheap compared with competitors packages. In terms of the accommodation, that was better than our recent ATG experience, higher quality however without a car you were somewhat isolated in the villages/towns two out of the three were located in and there was little to do the half board was very variable the first was a set menu poor quality and the traditional element never changed for any of the three nights, also you couldn't eat off the a la carte., the second was excellent and you could eat of the a la carte but it was complicated at billing to understand the adjustments and the third you only got a 5 course a la carte which was excellent and if you ate a la carte had to tell the hotel by 3 pm and them only got a 30% discount, meaning for the same value you would have had to send c €120. It didn't make sense. The hotels weren't all geared for walkers either. Quinta Bela Vista in Funchal knew we were walkers and presented our picnic in a wicker basket. Just don't think Headwater briefed the hotels well. Finally the walks were ok, but the better walks weren't in the schedule, the classic High Peak walk was spectacular, not a hRd walk although at c 1800m but not even mentioned until we asked the local guide. Two to the four walks actually returned by the same route. Haing looked at the website,a guest had mentioned a number of years ago that the Levada Nova was a poor walk, mostly on a road and just walked back the same way as you go. Clearly nobody had listened and it was a waste of a day when there were far better walks in the area.

Headwater response

Thank you for your comments. We're sorry our maps and walking instructions did not meet your expectations. We do everything we can to keep our literature as upto-date, informative and user-friendly as possible. We do now print all route notes double-sided - responsible tourism is a strong part of our Headwater ethos and where we can save paper, we do. We choose not to provide ring-binders and such, again, in line with our environmental policies (they can also be a bit bulky to carry in luggage/rucksacks). We do however monitor all feedback, and if we feel changes are necessary, we will certainly take action. The last thing we want is for people to struggle with maps and notes during their holiday. We are also sorry there appears to have been some confusion at the hotels with regard to your menu choices. We have been working with these hotels for a number of years and upgrading your menu should be no trouble at all. We will take this up with our local agent and ensure that the meal arrangements are clarified at each hotel. Thank you again for contacting us.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Lay on 13/04/2013

***#.
Quinta do Furao was a great hotel and the staff were particularly helpful when my husband's tooth broke on the first night (just before they supplied him with a surprise birthday cake). They went out of their way to find a local English-speaking dentist so we didn't have to pay for a taxi to Funchal. The dentist was efficient and cheap, so we were extremely happy with the service. Do take poles for the walks and good clothing, especially if it is a rainy month like March. Also remember that in 2 of the hotels you may have to go outside to access the restaurant. Our main disappointment was that the levada walks seemed to be mainly among trees, so you didn't often get a view despite being hundreds of feet up.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Lascelles on 13/04/2013

***#.
Although not thrown together with the other walker,s one of the pleasures of the holiday was meeting other people. Some of those walks were rather long and to be able to chat to somebody new helped to pass the time. We enjoyed getting to know Madeira, was impressed and certainly would like to visit again whent he weather was more settled. out of our 4 walking days 2 were a wash out because of torrential weather, which we have to admit we were not totally prepared for.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Dr Rayner on 23/03/2013

*****
We needed to find somewhere to go in early March, which was a challenge! The weather was fine, apart from the last day, when it rained heavily. The flowers were out in some areas, but not yet at their best. We enjoyed particularly the walk from Queimadas to the waterfall, and the parts in laurel forests. Some of the other walks in eucalyptus forests were rather dry and boring. We saw a few birds, but not many. Could not find a suitable bird book. We took a taxi from Funchal up to the peaks on the Wednesday, which cost about 60 euros and stayed 2 hours while we walked along the summit footpath. This is definitely worth recommending if the weather is fine.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Givens on 10/10/2012

***#.
Well organised and excellent accomodation. Weather on our third day was torrential rain and the walk to Caldeirao Verde had to be cut short. We returned to Queimadas as everyone recommended this for safety, our taxi driver had given us his number to call for being picked up so were not stranded. We were soaked through and drying facilities at the hotel for wet clothes was sorely missed. All in all we did however enjoy our weeks walking.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Dr Cooper on 07/08/2012

*****
Madeira was a great destination for a walking holiday, the levadas are just amazing. The Madeirans are also incredibly friendly and helpful.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Meads on 28/07/2012

*****
Walking Levadas excellent - just don't look down!!! July tooo hot - would recommend Apr/May - Jul=Forest/village fires - some diversions needed but makes it more interesting avoiding smoke! -Hotels Excellent especially in Santana with walks along the coast. Would definately go back in Springtime (next time :-))

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Newell on 23/07/2012

***#.
Very enjoyable, probably the best Headwater Holiday to date.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Lay on 23/06/2012

*****
Hotel itinery was altered from the standard which led to some initial delays with transfers and welcome meeting with MB travel. After first day everthing went smoothly and holiday went as planned. Quality of hotels was good with the Quinta Bella Vista making a excellent and luxurious end to the holiday.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Hill on 16/06/2012

*****
Very enjoyable. We had a beautiful and relaxing break.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Smith on 11/06/2012

***#.
Very good although local rep was not great.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Waterfall on 25/05/2012

***#.
Very enjoyable, but it was let down by food at serra golf, but at least it was only 2 nights,

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Harvey on 25/05/2012

*****
A very rewarding all round excellent holiday.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs McDyre on 25/05/2012

*****
A well organised holiday with excellent hotels.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Howells on 09/05/2012

*****
Great experience - we liked the variety of locations and activities, from remote villages to Funchal. Hotels were good - but we must remember that five star in other countries isn't the same as five star in the UK! Had a superb afternoon tea at Reid's (glad we pre-booked). We were lucky with the weather - not too hot, too cold or too wet.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mis Ashworth on 09/05/2012

***#.
GOOD.A QUIET ISLAND BUT LITTLE CULTURAL OR RURAL CHARM.THOUGHT THE FLORA WOULD BE MORE COLOURFUL AND VARIED.STILL HAD A GOOD TIME.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Dorey on 28/04/2012

***#.
Visiting Madeira at this time of year is too early to experience the floral spectacle that is expected. I am not sure that we saw the best the island has to offer.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Woolstone on 17/04/2012

*****
Excellent in every way. We haven't used Headwater before, but would certainly consider doing so in the future.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Douglas on 26/03/2012

*****
Quite a testing experience as some of the ascents and descents were a bit precarious but we managed ok and had plenty of time to complete the walks.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Payne on 17/03/2012

*****
Best headwatere holiday we have had, hotel golf not included.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Ballinger on 17/03/2012

*****
A great introduction to the island - our first visit. Walks were varied and most enjoyable. Lovely hotels

Exploring the Azores Triangle

By Mrs Hardie-hammond on 00/00/0000

*****
Beautiful landscapes especially in early July when every lane and road, every hillside and field margin is decked in hydrangeas. The local guide went over and above the call of duty and introduced us to the best of Azorean hospitality and local fresh food in little cafes and restaurants or family homes that we would never have found ourselves. The two boot grading suggests tougher walking than it really is. The walking was quite easy but the travelling between islands by plane and boat was exhausting and in the first half of the week most of us were shattered and couldn't even remember what island we were on! Exodus who run this holiday, rate it at 3/10 for walking difficulty which is a more accurate reflection of difficulty levels.

Exploring the Azores Triangle

By Mrs Harper on 00/00/0000

*****
A varied and memorable experience of some of the spectacular Azores, aided by an enthusiastic and well informed guide, Walking with good company was very enjoyable, and just the right level of exertion for us. My only slight reservation was the amount of time spent to do with air travel, given that this was only 7 days in total

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Rose on 00/00/0000

*****
Had a great weeks walking in Madeira, the walks were very clear and the transport well organised. The first walk of the week was the hardest a lot of up and steeply down but fantastic scenery and glad we did it. The lavada walks were lovely and really enjoyed the tunnels. The hotel in Funchel not a five star, the allocated rooms have no balcony which you need to access Wifi or like us you have to stand by window, not ideal after a long walk. The first two hotels were great very friendly with great service. Overall an enjoyable holiday