Customer reviews: Activity holidays in Morocco

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mr Kirby on 27/11/2015

*****
The Es Saadi hotel was excellent but suffered from road noise if the room was at the front, the food was good but with poor portion sizes, the Karam Palace hotel was good, slightly noisy, the buffet dinner lacked variety, the Palais Asmaa hotel is in need of some renovation, the food OK but nothing special. The walks were as described except for the 7 1/2 mile from Amizmiz which started with a long up hill drag and finished with a steep down hill over very rough ground, not good with tired legs.

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mr Smith on 27/11/2015

*****
It was a very enjoyable holiday with a good mix of walking, culture, fantastic scenery and relaxation time.

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mrs Henderson on 03/11/2014

*****
A brilliantly planned holiday made even better by our exceptional guide, Rachid, who spoke excellent English, gave us just the right amount of information, answered all our questions and was genuinely friendly, kind, caring and had a very good sense of humour. We felt it was especially important in a country like Morocco to have the way smoothed by the guide in places such as markets, cafes and hotels. Abdul, our driver, was also excellent - very careful, cheerful and reassuring throughout. We were very lucky to have such a good group. By chance seven out of the eleven of us were involved in the visual arts!

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mr Grant on 25/03/2014

*****
The hotels suffered from grade inflation - they were 4* (in Marrakech) and 3* for the others. At the El Saadi we had no cooling in our room even though the outside temperature was 32 degees C on arrival. At the Karam Palace one night we had no hot water and the loo leaked. All hotels had cool swimming pools only usable by the hardy. Breakfast was poor at the Karam Palace and at the Palais Asmaa (but there are probable no better alternative hotels to use in Ouarzazate or Zagora). Otherwise, our main guide Rasid was very helpful, but our half day guide to Marrakech was more interested in taking us to carpet or spice shops who would give him a pay off than in showing us the sites of Marrakech.

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mr Davidson on 21/03/2014

***#.
Over all very good. Hotel Es Saadi was disappointing re AC in the rooms;there was only heating!. We were told that it was still winter by the desk,then another story was that the management decided not to put the AC cooling on. The rooms at the front were very noisy from traffic and because of the heat we had to decide between noise and heat. Result was little sleep for the nights we were there. We therefore would hesitate before recommending the holiday for this reason.This is a shame because it was excellent apart from this. The licensed guide for Marrakesh was very poor. There should be another walk on the final day rather than a free day ,or the option at least..

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mr Cousins on 28/02/2014

*****
I enjoyed seeing the authentic Morocco not just the main tourist sights, there was too much travelling in the minibus between destinations.

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mrs Buckham on 22/11/2013

***#.
An amazing trip which took in so much but be prepared to spend a lot of time travelling.

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mr Johnson on 22/11/2013

*****
We thought the holiday was excellent: very interesting, well put together; good hotels, walking and sightseeing as described. We have already recommended it to friends. We have put a 'No' to future holidays with you only because we now know that we have discovered you too late. We are too old (75 & 73), or at least insufficiently fit and active, to properly take part in the walking tours without holding others back. A great pity, but that is where we are. Thanks for an excellent holiday. May I suggest you save advertising costs by deleting us from your mail shoots. Best Regards, Chris Johnson

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mr Causey on 11/08/2013

***#.
Good variety of different places and activities with an opportunity to meet local people in their varied environments. Our guide and driver were excellent, and this helped to make the trip an extremely positive experience.

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mrs Lewis on 09/03/2013

*****
This was an excellent holiday. Well scheduled - guide was friendly,helpful and well organised. Driver was helpful and very safe. The guide that took us round Marrakesh was not so good - he was late and not as informative as he could have been. The hotels particularly the one in Marrakesh were excellent. One of the walks was a bit more than a one booter we thought, although it was a spectacular day and we loved it. We didn't seem to have any real notes for the holiday other than that in the brochure. We would have liked a more detailed itinerary - if nothing else to remind us of the names of places etc when looking at our photographs!

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Ms Taylor on 02/03/2013

*****
It was a good experience, seeing a lot of the country that other tours would miss. Walks were varied and suited to our abilities. The only problem I had was with one hotel room that had previously been used by a heavy smoker. I spoke to the domestic staff about it and they made an effort to improve things.

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mrs Wheeler on 30/10/2012

***#.
Please read the comments below with the knowledge that the holiday was an adventure and made enjoyable by my travelling companions. This holiday would have been better if we had had a rest day at the beginning of the holiday before leaving Marrakech, and one less rest day at the end. There is a great deal of mini-bus travel, and on poor roads, in this holiday. I feel that this should be spelt out in detail in the literature to give the potential traveller all the information before they book. Our driver, Lahsen, was a brilliant driver, taking great care of us in town and on country and mountainous roads. The whole group, all 7 of us one after the other, went down with some sort of bug which included fatigue, nausea and upset tummy. I would suggest that the holiday literature tells travellers to be extremely careful about hand hygiene and not eating salads - delicious though they were! In my experience of travelling in hot climates, activities are completed before about 12noon and resumed after about 3 -4pm. We oftern walked in the hottest part of the day.

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mrs Mitchell on 30/10/2012

**#..
The reason for the low enjoyment mark was the entire group went down one by one with 'La tourista' or a tummy bug. Not nearly enough is made of this risk in your brochure. It cost most of us 3-4 days of our holiday and no doubt you will be hearing from others about this. It was generally agreed that we will have caught it at one of our lunch stops on the way to and from Zagora. Even Rachid suffered and he reckoned it was likely to be the salads. Between Ouarzazate and Marrakech we stopped twice. A dirty village and we entered through a butcher's shop - flies everywhere and filthy. Every meal started with a finely chopped salad, delicious and we were all hungry. Just too tempting and we disobeyed all the rules.Follow that with a greasy tagine and it's a recipe for disaster!

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mr Stead on 05/04/2012

*****
A superb holiday. only 2 problems were 1: that the guide seemed remote at times,and was very reluctant to impart information which made us ask lots of questions which he didn't seem to want to give more than a very basic answer.However, the driver more than made up for the introverted guide 2. I obviously hadn't read the brochure properly as I hadn't realised that it was expected of us to add on £100.00's worth of tips:ie £50 each for driver and guide at the end of the holiday.I would have preferred that this was included in the package price upfront instead ofit being put into brown envelopes at the end of the holiday. the amount suggested came from the guide as an accepted amount for the driver. it was brought up by a member of our group rather than by the guide himself. I would certainlt tell any future would be travellers with this holiday that this was an uncomfotable stealth tax.

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mr Fussey on 31/03/2012

***#.
Good introduction to Morocco

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mr Huddart on 26/03/2012

*****
Well balanced taste of different aspects of Sothern Morocco.

The Sahara and High Atlas

By Mr Whittaker on 18/02/2012

*****
Excellent holiday.