Customer reviews: Holidays in Menorca

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mis Riley on 07/07/2016

***#.
Despite one of us not being able to walk very far we still had a lovely time. The hotel was in a lovely place and was a most relaxing place to stay.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs Winter on 16/06/2016

*****
We thoroughly enjoyed this holiday in Menorca. The weather was extremely hot all week so we often shortened the walks which is easy to do as many of them are linear walks. Although most of the walks are coastal there is plenty of variety. The hotel is absolutely lovely, in such a peaceful location with beautiful gardens. We had a very warm welcome on arrival and the service throughout the week was consistently good. All the staff were helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble. Our accommodation, the gardens and all public areas were kept spotlessly clean and the food was good and plentiful.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Emerson on 13/06/2016

*****
1/ Never give up the Morvedra Nou; one of the most relaxing and enjoyable hotels we have stayed at. We had a junoir suite with a patio overlooking the pool - the best in the house. 2/ I know this was only a grade 1, but any experienced walker could have done a lot more. We spent some spare time on the beach. Would not be so good at high season, would be too hot and crowded. 3/ 'Would you take another holiday with Headwater?' - I think we have done them all. at least at grades we can manage now. I am well in the 80-90 bracket - not in your age scale! - but I think we started with Heaswater in 1998. I have all the notes and paperwork in boxes in the attic. 4/ I was worried about French Air Traffic Control industrial action, but we were notaffected.

Headwater response

Dear Mr Emerson, Thank you for taking the time to complete your post-holiday questionnaire. Please be assured we value all of the feedback we receive and use this to help us continue to improve and develop our holidays for future customers. It is lovely to see you continue to enjoy your walking holidays with us; we value you as a loyal customer dearly and look forward to welcoming you on your next holiday in the future. Yours sincerely, Lisa

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs Fuller on 07/06/2016

***#.
Beautiful Island and walks. Morvedra Nou is a lovely small hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very good, continental style with plenty of choice. The evening meals were a bit hit and miss unfortunately. You are given the menu in the morning and there is a choice of two of each of the courses. Choose wisely!

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Eamer on 06/06/2016

*****
Peaceful location, excellent coastal and inland walking away from the crowds

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs Thornton on 03/06/2016

*****
The Morvedra Nou was the kind of friendly, family run, quality hotel that we always hope we'll find but all too rarely do. The rooms may be compact for some people but we were very comfortable, especially given the spacious private terrace. The food was good, fresh and well presented. We were very happy with the choice of two dishes each day, though would have liked the chance to try the cheese for which the island is famous - either as an alternative to dessert or as an extra small course. But we would thoroughly recommend the hotel and the programme of walks, which were all surprisingly different, considering this is a small island. It was our first trip to Menorca and we found the holiday perfect for those who like an active morning and lazy afternoon!

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Higginson on 03/06/2016

*****
The holiday notes for Coastal trails of Minorca were pretty accurate. Overall we found the island delightful and at this time of year absolutely stunning with all the wild flowers in full bloom. Very easy to get around and not too crowded. We also were blessed with the weather which was in the low 20 C range

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr McKerchar on 03/11/2015

*****
Hotel absolutely first rate - fantastic tranquil location; we were very well looked after; food was simple but good. Menorca delightfully quiet when we visited (October) but weather perfect for walking. Walks were straightforward if perhaps a trifle short. We skipped the town walks and added two other walks of our own that I would recommend 1. Santa Galdana to Saint Thomas via GR 223, returning along coastal path - just be aware that to leave Cala Trebaluger you need to use a cave passage. 2. Cala Tuqueta to Plagues de Son Saura (out & return via coastal path - we did not find the green route marked on the map but we did not spend much time looking).

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs Broad on 21/09/2015

***#.
Menorca is a lovely island, incredibly pretty and very easy to get around. The Morvedra Nou hotel is in a perfect setting if you want peace and quiet. The gardens and pool area are so relaxing, the bird song is the only thing you'll hear! Unfortunately, we were unable to upgrade at the time of booking, to one of the larger rooms, and although our room was spotlessly clean and had a sunny patio, we did find it on the small side. Not a big deal as we were out walking most days. The walks were excellent, sometimes really off the beaten track, great wildlife and fabulous scenery, quite a few 'wow' moments as we came round a headland or walked through the gorge to the caves. Our only gripe, was the food. Breakfast was fine, plenty of choice but dinner was very hit and miss. There was no comparison to the food photos on the hotel website, and the portion sizes and combinations were very strange. Sometimes the starters were far too big, and the main course would be just a large piece of meat/fish with one small potato if you were lucky (no veg). There was only one evening out of ten, that we both enjoyed the whole meal, which was so disappointing. Honestly, neither of us are fussy eaters, but we have never left so much food on our plates, and not once did anyone ask us about it.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Gingell on 17/06/2015

*****
A most enjoyable week spent on a delightful, unspoilt island with comfortable accommodation and varied and interesting walking opportunities. Driving on the smaller roads in Menorca can be challenging at times, particularly the fairly long stretch between Ciutadella and the hotel which is narrow, winding and lined with unforgiving limestone walls - make sure you insure your hire car excess! Ciutadella is a delightful town to explore and the Menorcan people are charming and very helpful to visitors.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Sutherland on 17/06/2015

***#.
Excellent accommodation and staff. Food variable from excellent (breakfast mainly) to indescribably bad for some meals/courses in the evening. English translations of menus were unhelpful. ('Meat Soup' turned out to be a bowl of pasta shells in a chicken stock. Marinated fish was a mystery). Wines excellent. Walks were great.

Headwater response

Dear Mr & Mrs Sutherland, Thank you for taking the time to complete your post-holiday feedback. We were pleased to see that you had an enjoyable holiday overall. Although, we are sorry to see that you did not enjoy the meals at dinner. Ordinarily, this hotel receives good feedback in this area, however, we realise that we cannot allow our standards to slip, and therefore we will monitor the feedback we receive for the meals to ensure we are delivering the high standards our customers have come to expect. Thank you for highlighting this feedback to us. We would like to thank you for traveling with Headwater and look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future. Yours sincerely, Headwater customer service

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs Preshaw on 15/06/2015

*****
Another good Headwater holiday. We loved the island, the walking and swimming in the sea, but should have gone in May, June was a bit too hot for us and we were surprised how busy the beaches were. It was different getting a car at the airport and driving ourselves to the hotel and, once we had learned how to negotiate the narrow roads to and from the hotel, we loved having the opportunity to explore more of the island and plan our own sightseeing each day in addition to the walks. The hotel is a gem and being able to return to this tranquil country retreat each day and relax on your own terrace or swim in the pool before going for dinner made the holiday for us. The accommodation, food and service were all excellent. There was so much choice for breakfast including local cakes and pastries and in the evenings we enjoyed a good selection of Menorcan dishes served by friendly, attentive and helpful staff.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs Ramsell on 09/06/2015

*****
Interesting and active. Enjoyment of meals could be improved by more choices on the menu(at least three including salads). If necessary in a smallish establishment these could be pre-booked in the morning. HW selection of hotels is VERY GOOD and we always enjoy their slightly off beat locations and warm atmosphere. We know that other HW guests will be like -minded people we can engage in friendly conversation and exchange anecdotes about each walk with in the evenings.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Plumb on 29/05/2015

***#.
Although we had to look after ourselves the notes and guidance we were given were excellent. Sensible notes about our airport arrival, car hire, hotel, and walks told us everything we needed to know.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Mottram on 12/05/2015

*****
Very friendly and helpful staff at the Hotel who took an interest on what we did each day. Delightful scenery, good weather and interesting walks at thee right level of difficulty.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Ms Stewart on 01/10/2014

***#.
Wonderful hotel in a beautiful, tranquil setting, with friendly, helpful staff. Close to some of the best beaches on the island.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Ball on 20/06/2014

*****
A lovely hotel (small and family-run) in a beautiful landscape. All food locally sourced as much as possible. We chose to pay extra for a better room, more spacious and with private terrace and a beautiful view, that was well worthwhile. I don't think we would have been happy in standard accommodation.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Smith on 17/06/2014

***#.
A very good hotel on a lovely Island which provided an excellent base for a walking holiday on routes which were varied and not too 'testing'

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs White on 15/06/2014

***#.
We loved the island, the walks and the hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, just a little disappointed with the food at dinner: usually it was fine and occasionally good. Had our best meal on the way home at Meson Galicia in Es Mercadal near the car park with excellent views of mount Torro.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Ms Hurst on 29/05/2014

*****
Menorca is a really beautiful island and relatively unspoilt. May was ideal weather for walking and it was very quiet. The best walking by the sea that we have ever done. A week was not long enough so we will return1

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Turton on 25/05/2014

*****
The hotel is in an excellent rural location. Menorca in May is ideal for walking. It's not cheap but is good value if you can afford it.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs Langleben on 13/05/2014

*****
We are seasoned Headwater clients and have been more than happy with all the holidays we have taken with the company.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Dr Jones on 17/11/2013

***#.
A good holiday as usual. Hotel lovely, excellent breakfast but evening meals rather unusual and could be improved. Delightful staff, very nice rooms, good local wines. Walking directions good except for one when the map was not accurate and made for a very long walk back to our car along a very busy road. I can provide details on request.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Price on 10/10/2013

*****
Great holiday,due to very good accommodation and beautiful island

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Higdon on 02/10/2013

***#.
Overall a good holiday, Menorca is unspoilt and spotlessly clean. The walks a very well marked, just follow the Cami De Cavalls marker posts which are everywhere. In hindsight, we probably should have gone at a different time of year (we went end Sept) as the temperature got to 30 deg on most days, and as the walking was mainly costal there was not much shade. We also felt a bit overdressed walking across “nudist” beaches in our walking boots, back packs and sun hats! The hotel is very nice, with friendly and helpful staff. The only drawback is that there is not a communal bar where you can meet fellow guests for a pre dinner drink so there is not much of a social atmosphere. You just sit down, eat and go! A shame as the hotel has so much to offer. Our recommendation would be to go out of season, when the temperature is lower, the beaches empty and the scenery greener.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs Fox on 01/10/2013

***#.
Menorca is a beautiful island and the Hotel Movedra Nou is a delightful rural hotel and sanctuary away from the commercialisation of many of the coastal villages and small towns. The food was excellent and true Menorcan country cooking involving many different types of fish and numerous vegetables. This Headwater holiday was different to our previous ones as we were provided with a car at Mahon airport for our use during the week. This had the impact of helping us to see more of the island and walk in more distant places although the negative point was that walks either involved a 'there and back' walk, or we needed to catch an expensive taxi to get back to our starting point. The maps provided were poor although by day 4 we were bequeathed an excellent map by a fellow Headwater traveller which improved things considerably. [Map now passed on yet again] This map 'Menorca Tour and Trail - Super Durable by David and Ros Brawn' is available on Amazon today at £8.99. I would recommend that Headwater send their customers this map as it gives a much better mapping of the coastal path that the walks are covering. The walking was a little tricky as the 'coastal trail' was often bumpy and rocky making it difficult to get any rhythm into our walking. Some of the walks need reviewing as they are out of date to current local developments. Several of the walks ended in very commercial areas which was disappointing after walking beautiful coastal routes. The Menorcan trail was popular and busy - we often shared it with other walkers, joggers mountain bikers and horse riders. Several walks involved some beach walking which involved picking your way through sunbathers! Summary, great hotel and food - considerable daily driving miles - walking limited on rocky paths - maps need improvement.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Ms Smith on 29/09/2013

***#.
Would you please update this website to remove the spelling errors - it's very annoying! (Note use of too instead of to and during is incorrectly spelled)

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Davey on 24/06/2013

*****
Menorca is ideal for walking with a diverse landscape and the whole island being relatively low- lying. The landscape is interesting, the coastal paths are really lovely and you are never more than 3 hours from a watering-hole! People are friendly. Driving on the island is very easy. Headwaters walking itinery was well-planned and descriptions excellent, even going so far as the tell you which cafe's will order a taxi for you. Coastal walking is particularly lovely as you have a light breeze coming in from the sea and plenty of opportunities for a cooling dip or paddle. Inland, there are castles and ancient monuments to explore. Hotel Morvedra Nou is a perfect base, being quiet and luxurious, an ideal spot to relax after a day (or a morning) walking

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs Dawe on 19/06/2013

*****
Not your fault but one of the landowners appears to have gated off one of the walks. When I get a spare moment, I'll write to you about it. Overall a superb holiday.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs Molyneux-carte on 11/06/2013

***#.
Dinner at the hotel Morvedra Nou was generally not good. Fish was the best option. However the staff were delightful and made up for the cooking somewhat. Breakfast was good but if we should go again we would probably prefer to go B&B and take our chances with the A La Carte menu. We did not try A La Carte this time as we felt the standard of the half board dinner was poor and didn't bode well for the A La Carte. However some other guests tried it and said it was reasonable. It would be a bit of a trek to go elsewhere for dinner so some improvement is needed. In spite of this we would happily go again.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Bryant on 21/05/2013

***#.
Holiday was exactly as described, accommodation, food, service all very good. Headwater staff were excellent when required.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs White on 14/05/2013

*****
Menora is a beatiful island and as it had rained the week before our arrival (beginning May) the wild flowers were fantastic. If you're a birdwatcher there is also a lot to see (and hear) - spent a great half hour one evening after dinner watching a Barn Owl coming and going between the trees and the hotel grounds. Morvedra Nou Hotel is a delightful, converted farmhouse, very peaceful location. Victoria and all her team made us feel really welcome and couldn't have been more helpful. The daily dinner menu was a great way to sample Menorcan cuisine.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs Reeves on 24/09/2012

*****
Lovely hotel in rural part of Minorca away from busy resorts on coast. Walking not particularly strenuous except in the heat!

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Mason on 19/05/2012

*****
Excellent holiday. Some improvement required for walking route notes and driving instructions. A little vague at times. Walking distance a little inaccurate.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mr Sadler on 19/05/2012

*****
Great walks with time left over to explore the lovely island. Enjoyed the hotel and its location.

Walking the Coastal Trails of Menorca

By Mrs Ross on 00/00/0000

***#.
Beautiful location of hotel - truly rural. Lovely swimming pool area. The lounge and bar area were comfy and inviting. Our room (junior suite) was very good.The walks were varied and all enjoyable. Wildlife was abundant. October was a great time to go as the crowds had gone and we had excellent weather.