Customer reviews:

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our walking holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their walking holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their walking holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Lancaster on 14/11/2016

*****
This was our first holiday to Madeira and fortunately enjoyed perfect walking weather. We enjoyed the Levada experience very much but the Sao Lourenco Peninsula walk was definitely a highlight. Our last walk into Funchal was disappointing but appreciate it had been changed because of the summer fires. The hotels were delightfully varied. At the Quinta do Furao we enjoyed live music and an outdoor hotel buffet/ barbecue on our last night. At the Serra Golf we found our selves upgraded to a lovel suite! Staying at The Bela Vista is like stepping back in time to ' Colonial days '. Silver service is a fun experience. The waiters were a little surprised when my husband asked for beer rather than wine! But they soon got used to him. We cannot fault the food and service at this hotel. Although the hotel is out of Funchal we did find the local bus service and hotel minibus service worked well. Overall a wonderful holiday.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Mulder on 11/11/2016

*****
Fantastic experience walking Madeira. Even on a cloudy day it is an amazing place. Headwater arranged everything effortless. Amazing how the drivers were always there on the dot! Very reliable at all times. The levada walks were easy walks - except if you haven't got a head for heights...Good variety in walks and great that Headwater could provide more walks if you wanted to walk more. For example on your free days. Will book with Headwater again - a no brainer!

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mis Buttrick on 08/11/2016

*****
A wonderful walking holiday in Maderia. A great insight of the island. Headwater took all the work out of the travel and holiday arrangements and left us to enjoy ourselves!

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Kelly on 13/10/2016

*****
Once again, we had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday! Great walking, wonderful locations for our accommodation, excellent food and drink, and as a bonus the company of other like-minded walkers at various points during the week. Excellent route notes and planning - it is definitely what we have come to expect from our Headwater holidays (this was our 10th)

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Shelton on 04/10/2016

***#.
Quinta do Furao was lovely, very welcoming staff, a stunning location. The walk along the coast from the hotel was amazing. The local representative, Eduardo from MB Travel, met us to discuss the week's walks and was very helpful, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Serra Golf was a beautiful building, but the staff took two days to sort out our lack of hot water (we had a room in the old house) and had forgotten to provide a packed lunch on our morning of departure. The levada walks were splendid - breathtaking views around every corner. The guide notes were good, but we could have done with a few more arrows or signs on the path. On the last walking day we had an alternative walk due to the forest fires of previous weeks. This was not nearly as good as the previous walks - I am sure there are other walks available. Quinta da Bella Vista was a a lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds - a long way from the centre of Funchal and the hotel shuttle bus does not run on Saturday afternoon and Sunday. There are local buses into town. Five course dinners served every evening, but after a day's walking you just want a big bowl of something on the table. Many thanks to Headwater staff for their efforts to arrange our holiday around our preferred dates.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mis Rodgers on 19/07/2016

*****
Maderia was a beautiful location. Weather in June was pleasant. Hotels and food good. Walks varied and interesting. Overall a good experience.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Hewitt on 02/07/2016

***#.
This holiday was good and the temperature for walking was very comfortable, but it would have been lovely to see the sun more, and the spectacular views, which were sometimes covered by mist and low cloud. I was not very fit at the beginning and felt exhausted and sore after two days, so chose to miss the walk on day 3 and go with the bags to the next hotel and have a day resting, and reading by the pool. (The Porto Bay Serra Golf has a spa with treatments, and it is possible to book a leg and foot massage!). The walks were dominated by levada routes, so less varied than our previous walking holidays with Headwater, so it was really worth going on the San Lourentco peninsula walk which was wonderful

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Loch on 07/06/2016

***#.
Madeira is an excellent year-round easy walking destination. The custard tarts are to die for

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs MacLeod on 06/06/2016

***#.
Very well organised trip. Varied walking; enjoyed walking along the levadas but views often restricted by trees. Misty on some days so some high level walks would have been good.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Hansen on 06/06/2016

*****
Fantastic walking, great variety. Very enjoyable holiday. One of our best headwater holidays

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Grant on 18/05/2016

*****
The holiday was excellent and the walks sufficiently challenging without being too onerous although some of the climbs are pretty severe and you need a head for heights on some short stretches of the levada walls. If you want superb views this holiday is great but if you suffer any degree of vertigo this is not the holiday for you.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Stevens on 03/05/2016

*****
Very enjoyable, well organised and good general standard of accomodation.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Curwen on 26/04/2016

*****
A superb holiday. The walks are out of this world - such a beautiful place, quite magical. The hotels had excellent facilities which is just what you need after a day's walking. Well done Headwater!

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Taylor on 18/04/2016

*****
Madeira is a beautiful, friendly and welcoming island, ideal for gentle exercise and relaxation.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Ball on 04/04/2016

***#.
Enjoyable notwithstanding some poor weather.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Wildsmith on 03/03/2016

*****
Excellent varied walking on the coast and on the Levada system. Good variety of hotel.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Worsley on 25/02/2016

*****
Met our expectations exactly- no hitches throughout.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Huddlestone on 17/02/2016

***#.
An enjoyable winter break in milder weather with an interesting variety of walking, without being too challenging! The hotels provided excellent facilities for rest and recuperation with good dining and comfortable surroundings and some stunning views in places.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Ms Lang on 27/11/2015

***#.
It was a good holiday. Just too much rain.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Green on 09/11/2015

*****
Good combination of interesting but not too taxing walks, four or five hours a day, and pleasant pampering by staying at good hotels with pools and saunas,(very important to soothe any aching muscles !) Local people that we encountered seemed uniformly friendly and helpful and the landscape, whether we were being driven or walking through it, was never less than fascinating and often simply amazing, a combination of peruvian highlands and alpine villages !

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Stather on 08/10/2015

*****
1. We felt that the Quinta do Furao hotel was ahead of the others because the staff were genuinely helpful / friendly, the restaurant served excellent locally grown food and typically Madeiran cuisine. 2. One flaw in the route notes was on Day 6 - the 2nd line on the 2nd Paragraph on page 22 - starts with 'At the T-junction of paths, turn right.....' We think it should say 'turn left!' Another (more minor) point is on Page 16 (last but one paragraph) mentioning the Tofa Mini Mercato - which we didn't find but suspect that the name has changed (they were in the process of re-vamping the shop with another name and coloured purple. 3. I would especially like to express my thanks to Donna Webber for her close attention to detail and patience when exploring the flight / accommodation options that made our holiday enjoyable during the period we had available. And also for Emma Glasgow for making exceptional steps in a very tight timescale to ensure that we received the route notes / maps etc through the post that were essential to our holiday. Thank you both

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Heard on 06/10/2015

*****
Wonderful,all walks easy instructions to follow with small useful details personally put in buy Lucy the Rep who was full of good and helpful advice. Locations all good. All hotel staff spoke good English which really helped as we do not speak a word of Portuguese. Food good. All transfers spot on nice friendly drivers who gave local history as we traveled. Although a walking holiday found it very relaxing as we walked at our own pase and all the walks different so plenty of scenery to stop and take in. This was our 1st walking holiday and regard it as a total success exstreamly happy with Headwater and would book with them again.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Hurst on 06/10/2015

*****
The walking exactly as described in the itinerary. For the intrepid, on the Caldeirão Verde Levada walk it is worth exploring beyond Caldeirão Verde towards Caldeirão do Inferno. The first 1.3k is easy, then their is an ambiguous option of continuing along levada or climbing steeply on well maintained steps signposted 'Caldeirão do Inferno 0.8km'. We chose the latter. The step take you up to a much higher level levada and a maze of tunnels and bits of old railway track. There is a yellow and red way marker here that seems to indicate this is the official route. Unfortunately we didn't have time to explore further. On day 5 we would highly recommend the São Lourenço walk - but do go early before it gets busy. On days where transfers are provided, it is worth verifying that the driver knows where he should be taking you. On the Caldeirão Verde Levada day we were half way to Funchal before we realised the driver had mistaken our destination. Quinta da Bella Vista is not a 5 star hotel. It has an air of faded luxury, but they need to focus on the basics like cleanliness and service to earn their 5 stars. The bedroom wing needs a freshen-up - e.g. the faded / stained carpets replaced. The 5 course meal and service in the half-board restaurant was ok, but didn't really live up to expectations. The 'production line' catering was obvious and service perfunctory. Having said that, there are some interesting public areas - the pool / bar, old house and gardens. Having after-dinner drinks and coffee by the pool with views over Funchal was memorable. The Quinta do Furao and Serra Golf were fine hotels in their different ways.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Hurrell on 17/07/2015

***#.
Overall we really enjoyed it. However we were not quite prepared for the steepness of some of the walks. This is not down to Headwater but rather our own lack of research. The views were spectacular. We also felt that the times given for the length of each walk was rather optimistic even for us who enjoy walking in all terrains.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Whitehurst on 22/06/2015

*****
The key to my holiday was the flexibility in booking the travel arrangements via Birmingham. This allowed me access to an excellent holiday using a local airport

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Davis on 17/06/2015

***#.
A walking holiday visiting several locations in one area. All the planning, hotels, transport etc is done for you so you can concentrate on the walks and enjoying yourself. Hotels and food very good. The one problem we had was some glass on the floor in the bathroom at the Quinta de Belle Vist. Eventually this was cleared up thoroughly. Minibus driver (lady) at Quinta de Furao was particularly helpful and friendly.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Robinson on 17/06/2015

*****
We both found this trip very enjoyable. The walking is relatively easy but very rewarding, and remarkably varied. The accommodation was top rate with good quality meals and excellent service. The location of Quinta do Furao is really great. Taxi collections and drop offs were faultless. In fact the whole trip from leaving home to returning was just perfect. One of our favourite trips.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Corrie on 17/04/2015

*****
It was a great holiday as we were a group of 7,made up from friends for a 70th birthday celebration.The walking was the hardest I have ever done(I am 72 and fit) but it was great fun and a real sense of achievement at the end of each day.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Peniket on 13/04/2015

***#.
We felt the walks were well planned and the hotels well chosen. We thought Eduardo Dias should have been more informative. On day 6 directions were inaccurate. Second para on Day 6 Camacha to Funchal at a ' T-junction of paths' we should have turned left, not right as indicated in the notes. Also other inaccuracies. At Serra Golf we booked a double room and were given a twin.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Deacon on 07/11/2014

***#.
Overall we enjoyed the holiday, and especially liked the first hotel. But we did not think that Quinta da Bella Vista was five star. Some features are excellent but the room we were shown first was poor: no balcony, faded fittings and an unpleasant musty smell. In the event we had to pay an additional 30 Euros a night to get the sort of room we expected. This was negotiated for us by the MB Travel office, who were very helpful. Looking on Trip Advisor, the hotel seems to offer two standards depending on the building one is in, one excellent and the other adequate at best.

Headwater response

Dear Mr Deacon, Thank you for taking the time to complete your post-holiday questionnaire. We were delighted to see that you had an enjoyable holiday overall. Although, were sorry to hear of your disappointment with the Quinta da Bela Vista. Ordinarily, this hotel receives positive feedback from our customers. However, Please be assured that we realise we cannot afford to let our standards of accommodation slip, therefore. With this in mind, we have passed on your feedback to the hotelier and we will closely monitor the new feedback we receive for this hotel over the coming season. Thank you for your constructive comments; we look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future. Yours sincerely, Lisa

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Williams on 12/06/2014

*****
MB Travel were superb everything ran like clockwork, never late unless advised in advance and always friendly. We knew they were available on the end of the phone if we needed them for anything at all. Would certainly recommend this holiday. We are hoping to book an Italian walking trip next year. Thank you Headwater we wish we'd done it years ago.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Dr Daniell on 15/04/2014

***#.
Good walks, excellent hotels but the food was disappointing and was a bit of a downer. Not sure you know about the substitute walk on day 4 but it was a hazardous in places and in the UK the footpath would have been closed to the public. There were sheer drops below narrow footpaths on the levadas with no hand rails. Our overall score would be 6 out of ten for this one.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Valerio on 01/04/2014

***#.
Excellent holiday though somewhat marred by some wet weather. At 79 years I did find some of the very steep long gradients tough on the knees and without trekking poles would have found one 500m descent on wet clay almost impossible. MB Travel were first class and promptly found us an alternative walk when the original route was washed out. The staff at the Porto Bay Serra Golf Hotel were very quick to find a lost mobile phone and immediately delivered it by car to the next hotel that we had moved to - great service.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By mr Shadwell on 13/03/2014

*****
We thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and thought it was very good value for the money. For us it was only marred by our experience on our second night at the Porto Bay Serra Golf Hotel. The hotel dining room was full on this night, but there were only two staff to serve about 40 people. Consequently the service was very slow. After our main course we requested a menu to choose a dessert, but after waiting for 20 minutes for the menu we gave up and went back to our room. Also, we should have been given a packed lunch the following day, but this did not happen. We should have reminded them the night before, but because they were so short staffed, we could not find anyone to mention it to. Otherwise this was a lovely hotel, perhaps we just caught them on an off day. The packed lunch we received from the Quintar do Furao, was excellent. The overall experience was very enjoyable and exceeded our expectations.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Dr Mather on 14/10/2013

***#.
We enjoyed this holiday as we went with friends but the area itself is of only moderate interest although the vegetation is of great interest. The walking was quite easy and did not fill the whole day and is of limited interest as the views are limited. Some more demanding and high level walking would have been good and the last day's walk was very dull and urban and a different day should be subsituted Also the first day would have been boring if we had just returned the same way that we came. Instead we just went one way and took a taxi to port Moniz to swim. Overall I don't think the walks were very well planned to provide variety and interest On the plus side the directions were impeccable and when we had views they were wonderful and some of the walks were very peaceful

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Collier on 06/10/2013

***#.
The holiday was up to the good standard that we have come to expect from headwater holidays and would recommend it. A comment for improvement would relate to the third hotel Quinta Da Bella Vista where although the food, facilities and service were up to a 5star rating we thought the room of the hotel in which we stayed was a bit tired and needed upgrading to warrant 5stars.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr More on 30/09/2013

*****
We were slightly nervous that a very successful and enjoyable independent holiday - Catalan Coastal Walk last year could be matched by this one in Madeira. We thoroughly enjoyed it. It was very different in topography, but also pretty demanding for our ages (65 and 72), which we like. We think 2-boot is good for us. There is a big contrast between the levada walks and the demanding up and downs, but the mix is good. The hotels were all good, but we prefer hotels 'in places' so you can walk with interest around where you are. Like all of the four except one on the Catalan walk. None of the Madeira hotels were in this category. Not a major complaint. Just personal choice.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Morrison on 24/09/2013

*****
Something different every day. From coast to mountains - enjoyable, and occasionally challenging, walks that gave us a glimpse of all the fabulous views Madeira has to offer. And at the end of the day - hotels with a warm welcome and touch of luxury.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Bird on 23/09/2013

*****
A really good holiday. Some of the walks were slightly more dangerous than we imagined and the Porto Bay Serra Golf would benefit from a lift as we had to carry our cases up a narrow winding staircase with no help. As we had upgraded the room you should perhaps warn clients this may happen.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Gualtieri on 12/07/2013

***#.
The Headwater attention to detail was brilliant but would want them to change the second hotel. We did meet a family who had previously enjoyed a headwater canoeing holiday so we all sang your praises together and may look at that another year. Thank you for giving us a holiday that made us feel special.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Poole on 08/07/2013

*****
A beautiful, breathtaking experience.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Ms Kennedy on 14/05/2013

*****
A few minor details aside, everything worked like clockwork and we had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday in a beautiful location which offers an unusual walking experience through the unique levada system. We were pleasantly surprised by the second hotel (Serra Golf), which was much better than previous comments had led us to expect. It has joined a hotel group and had a refurb last year, so it has a smart boutique feel. All the facilities were clean and fresh, including a new swimming pool and lawned sunbathing area. The dining room was lovely, the breakfasts excellent, and the dinners very tasty. The picnic was substandard though, someone needs to follow up on that! Also, the reception desk is not manned the whole time and the welcome you get can be a bit brusque, depending who comes when you ring the bell.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Townsend on 24/04/2013

*****
We had a superb week away with Headwater. There was a great balance of challenging walking with luxury at the end of the day. We will certainly be booking through you again.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Dr Mason on 13/04/2013

*****
Madiera is an interesting and picturesque island. The walking is pleasant, but you need a head for heights. The walks are mainly along 'levadas' (narrow water channels) which often cling to the sides of steep gorges. On our holiday there was a mixture of sunshine and downpours of rain. Waterproofs are a must, and also walking poles, since the paths can often become slippy when wet. The food is excellent with an abundance of fruit and vegetables. the hotels we stayed in were very comfortable and luxurious. Funchal is a large town, with interesting architecture, but currently the whole of the seafront is being re-built, a major construction operation which is likely to take a long time. We had a very enjoyable holiday in a place we had never previously visited.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Barbour on 13/04/2013

***#.
We've travelled with ATG on similar holidays and and the materials, guides etc yIu receive are far more robust - hard back bound ring folders - and far more detailed with good maps and topography profiles. The maps from head water were pretty poor, small scale and not very useable. The instructions come on stapled A4pieces of paper printed double side. By the end of a wet walk, they were in tatters even though we had them in aplastic map carrier. The whole package in fact was cheap compared with competitors packages. In terms of the accommodation, that was better than our recent ATG experience, higher quality however without a car you were somewhat isolated in the villages/towns two out of the three were located in and there was little to do the half board was very variable the first was a set menu poor quality and the traditional element never changed for any of the three nights, also you couldn't eat off the a la carte., the second was excellent and you could eat of the a la carte but it was complicated at billing to understand the adjustments and the third you only got a 5 course a la carte which was excellent and if you ate a la carte had to tell the hotel by 3 pm and them only got a 30% discount, meaning for the same value you would have had to send c €120. It didn't make sense. The hotels weren't all geared for walkers either. Quinta Bela Vista in Funchal knew we were walkers and presented our picnic in a wicker basket. Just don't think Headwater briefed the hotels well. Finally the walks were ok, but the better walks weren't in the schedule, the classic High Peak walk was spectacular, not a hRd walk although at c 1800m but not even mentioned until we asked the local guide. Two to the four walks actually returned by the same route. Haing looked at the website,a guest had mentioned a number of years ago that the Levada Nova was a poor walk, mostly on a road and just walked back the same way as you go. Clearly nobody had listened and it was a waste of a day when there were far better walks in the area.

Headwater response

Thank you for your comments. We're sorry our maps and walking instructions did not meet your expectations. We do everything we can to keep our literature as upto-date, informative and user-friendly as possible. We do now print all route notes double-sided - responsible tourism is a strong part of our Headwater ethos and where we can save paper, we do. We choose not to provide ring-binders and such, again, in line with our environmental policies (they can also be a bit bulky to carry in luggage/rucksacks). We do however monitor all feedback, and if we feel changes are necessary, we will certainly take action. The last thing we want is for people to struggle with maps and notes during their holiday. We are also sorry there appears to have been some confusion at the hotels with regard to your menu choices. We have been working with these hotels for a number of years and upgrading your menu should be no trouble at all. We will take this up with our local agent and ensure that the meal arrangements are clarified at each hotel. Thank you again for contacting us.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Lay on 13/04/2013

***#.
Quinta do Furao was a great hotel and the staff were particularly helpful when my husband's tooth broke on the first night (just before they supplied him with a surprise birthday cake). They went out of their way to find a local English-speaking dentist so we didn't have to pay for a taxi to Funchal. The dentist was efficient and cheap, so we were extremely happy with the service. Do take poles for the walks and good clothing, especially if it is a rainy month like March. Also remember that in 2 of the hotels you may have to go outside to access the restaurant. Our main disappointment was that the levada walks seemed to be mainly among trees, so you didn't often get a view despite being hundreds of feet up.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Lascelles on 13/04/2013

***#.
Although not thrown together with the other walker,s one of the pleasures of the holiday was meeting other people. Some of those walks were rather long and to be able to chat to somebody new helped to pass the time. We enjoyed getting to know Madeira, was impressed and certainly would like to visit again whent he weather was more settled. out of our 4 walking days 2 were a wash out because of torrential weather, which we have to admit we were not totally prepared for.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Dr Rayner on 23/03/2013

*****
We needed to find somewhere to go in early March, which was a challenge! The weather was fine, apart from the last day, when it rained heavily. The flowers were out in some areas, but not yet at their best. We enjoyed particularly the walk from Queimadas to the waterfall, and the parts in laurel forests. Some of the other walks in eucalyptus forests were rather dry and boring. We saw a few birds, but not many. Could not find a suitable bird book. We took a taxi from Funchal up to the peaks on the Wednesday, which cost about 60 euros and stayed 2 hours while we walked along the summit footpath. This is definitely worth recommending if the weather is fine.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Givens on 10/10/2012

***#.
Well organised and excellent accomodation. Weather on our third day was torrential rain and the walk to Caldeirao Verde had to be cut short. We returned to Queimadas as everyone recommended this for safety, our taxi driver had given us his number to call for being picked up so were not stranded. We were soaked through and drying facilities at the hotel for wet clothes was sorely missed. All in all we did however enjoy our weeks walking.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Dr Cooper on 07/08/2012

*****
Madeira was a great destination for a walking holiday, the levadas are just amazing. The Madeirans are also incredibly friendly and helpful.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Meads on 28/07/2012

*****
Walking Levadas excellent - just don't look down!!! July tooo hot - would recommend Apr/May - Jul=Forest/village fires - some diversions needed but makes it more interesting avoiding smoke! -Hotels Excellent especially in Santana with walks along the coast. Would definately go back in Springtime (next time :-))

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Newell on 23/07/2012

***#.
Very enjoyable, probably the best Headwater Holiday to date.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Lay on 23/06/2012

*****
Hotel itinery was altered from the standard which led to some initial delays with transfers and welcome meeting with MB travel. After first day everthing went smoothly and holiday went as planned. Quality of hotels was good with the Quinta Bella Vista making a excellent and luxurious end to the holiday.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Hill on 16/06/2012

*****
Very enjoyable. We had a beautiful and relaxing break.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Smith on 11/06/2012

***#.
Very good although local rep was not great.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Waterfall on 25/05/2012

***#.
Very enjoyable, but it was let down by food at serra golf, but at least it was only 2 nights,

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Harvey on 25/05/2012

*****
A very rewarding all round excellent holiday.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs McDyre on 25/05/2012

*****
A well organised holiday with excellent hotels.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Howells on 09/05/2012

*****
Great experience - we liked the variety of locations and activities, from remote villages to Funchal. Hotels were good - but we must remember that five star in other countries isn't the same as five star in the UK! Had a superb afternoon tea at Reid's (glad we pre-booked). We were lucky with the weather - not too hot, too cold or too wet.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mis Ashworth on 09/05/2012

***#.
GOOD.A QUIET ISLAND BUT LITTLE CULTURAL OR RURAL CHARM.THOUGHT THE FLORA WOULD BE MORE COLOURFUL AND VARIED.STILL HAD A GOOD TIME.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Dorey on 28/04/2012

***#.
Visiting Madeira at this time of year is too early to experience the floral spectacle that is expected. I am not sure that we saw the best the island has to offer.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Woolstone on 17/04/2012

*****
Excellent in every way. We haven't used Headwater before, but would certainly consider doing so in the future.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Douglas on 26/03/2012

*****
Quite a testing experience as some of the ascents and descents were a bit precarious but we managed ok and had plenty of time to complete the walks.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Payne on 17/03/2012

*****
Best headwatere holiday we have had, hotel golf not included.

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mr Ballinger on 17/03/2012

*****
A great introduction to the island - our first visit. Walks were varied and most enjoyable. Lovely hotels

Marvels of Madeira Walk

By Mrs Rose on 00/00/0000

*****
Had a great weeks walking in Madeira, the walks were very clear and the transport well organised. The first walk of the week was the hardest a lot of up and steeply down but fantastic scenery and glad we did it. The lavada walks were lovely and really enjoyed the tunnels. The hotel in Funchel not a five star, the allocated rooms have no balcony which you need to access Wifi or like us you have to stand by window, not ideal after a long walk. The first two hotels were great very friendly with great service. Overall an enjoyable holiday