Customer reviews: Holidays in Lake Constance

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Roberts on 05/09/2016

*****
We were initially nervous about a holiday which was managed locally by an agency other than Headwater. Our previous experience had not been great. However we need not have worried. Donau Touristik were hugely well organised and the bikes were excellent. The cycling was just about the flattest we had ever experienced and, partly because of the excellent weather, partly because of the excellent food and accommodation, this was as enjoyable a holiday as we have ever had. A couple of small blemishes. At Bregenz on the first night we were served only a three course meal instead of the advertised four. (We only realised subsequently about this when we returned on the final night). Hotel Buchornerhof was not in the same league as the other accommodation. We were served the wrong food on one evening and the air/conditioning leaked. The staff's hearts did not seem to be in their work as it was in the other hotels. One warning - wine in the hotel restaurants (especially the Swiss ones) is very expensive indeed. These are small gripes. It was a great holiday and I'd do it all again anytime.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Morris on 03/06/2016

*****
This was our first organised cycling holiday and it exceeded our expectations, the quality of hotels were fabulous and we really liked that we had 2 nights in each hotel which gave us time to explore each area. On reflection we would prefer to have had dinner in the hotel halm included as finding somewhere to eat was a real hit or miss and compared to the meals we had in the hotels we didn't find anything better. From our first enquiry with headwater the whole holiday couldn't have gone smoother, Michelle (I think) tailored the holiday to fit our needs perfectly adding in 4 extra days and organising the hotel for two of them. I certainly can't recommend headwater highly enough and have already looking at where to go next. Thank you to the whole team as this has to be one of our best holidays and we have had many! A special thanks to the couple at the bike hire, they were extremely friendly and very helpful.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Dr Sadler on 20/01/2016

*****
We enjoyed our visit to the area very much, and apart from the luggage problem, we had no real difficulties. However, we did have one concern that troubled us. On previous headwater holidays, we always felt that we had the reassurance of a Headwater rep to contact in the event of any difficulty, e.g. in the event of an accident, buckled wheel etc.When we asked the Donnau lady what would happen in the event of such a situation arising, (expecting her to say we'd come out to you), we were most disconcerted to hear her say that 'you have a list of Donnau stations around the lake. If you have a problem you must go to them - they will not come to you'. We had not realised the implication of the arrangement Headwater had with Donnau, that resulted in raising our anxiety levels if anything had gone wrong. We would certainly check with Headwater if booking a future holiday that we had a local rep at hand. If there wasn't , we would not book that particular holiday.. One last point. In places, the fine detail in the instructions was inaccurate and misleading. this delayed us on occasions.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Wilson on 21/09/2015

*****
It was a real fun adventure. The excellent support and hotels allowed for maximum enjoyment.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs McCormick on 14/09/2015

***#.
A thoroughly restful holiday through stunning countryside. Excellent cycle paths which take you away from the busy roads and where you can set your own pace. The option to shorten journeys using trains or ferries was useful. Our ninth headwater holiday and one we would take again in a few years time. Switzerland is an expensive place to visit but the half board basis of this holiday offsets some of that cost. Our group of eight ranged in age from 48 to 72 and everyone found it a comfortable and enjoyable cycle. Lots to see and do on the rest days which meant that we packed a lot into each day. The fabulous chocolate, kaffee und kuchen could be offset quite easily which was a bonus!

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mis Ward on 11/08/2015

**#..
We didn't think this holiday was representative of Headwater cycling holidays in general. This was our fourth Headwater holiday, and compared to the others (Italy, Spain and France), it was disappointing. The cycling routes were not as pretty as on other holidays, and there weren't so many nice places to stop for lunch or to admire the scenery. This was partly to do with the different culture, of course, but it also had a lot to do with the cycling routes themselves and the hotels. We didn't feel that the usual Headwater support was there, and this was partly reflected in the route notes. Although they were OK, we thought they could have been more helpful and they were at times inaccurate. The cycling was more difficult than we expected it to be, so we were glad to have the option of cutting some days short by using the ferries or trains. Although there were a lot of cycle paths, they were often alongside (or on) quite busy roads.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Hornby on 31/07/2015

*****
This is just a wonderful part of the world for cyclists who like to immerse themselves in a beautiful, safe and friendly place. As you'd expect in Austria, Switzerland and Germany, everything works so well to give you a hassle-free holiday. Everyone was so welcoming, locals as well as people providing service and quite happy to use their excellent English in place of my stumbling schoolboy German.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr McMorrin on 29/07/2015

*****
The travel arrangements/organisation and detail excellent. Two of the hotels were not nearly as good as the rest . In fact the last hotel was way below standard but the food at that hotel was excellent. The rooms were far too small there was no air conditioning and it resembled the most basic accommodation. The middle two hotels were outstanding as was Bregenz but Seegarten again had no air conditioning is not well positioned. Overall this is an excellent holiday well put together and if the two hotels were improved upon it would be almost the perfect break

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Martin on 08/10/2014

***#.
The holiday satisfaction, accommodation and value would all have ranked 'excellent' had it not been for the experience on nights 4 & 5. We did not aloow that to impinge on our overall enjoyment, but it was annoying and frustrating at the time.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Rance on 19/09/2014

*****
Interesting and enjoyable. Pleasantly surprised by high standard of hotels and food!

Lake Constance Cycling

By Ms Coffin on 19/09/2014

***#.
Lake Konstanz is a lovely location. The cycling is mostly very easy and having two-day stops provide an opportunity to explore around each town.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Crawley on 16/09/2014

***#.
The first couple of days was through fairly uninteresting landscape. Thereafter it was fine but not outstanding. The headwater format is generally constant, but on this occasion we had no representative. It didn't really matter, but first timers could find this difficult.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs McKay on 07/09/2014

*****
Overall great holiday. Cycling excellent. Lovely scenery and great condition of cycle paths. Some of hotels were disappointing in certain aspects - no tea/coffee; old, tired bathrooms with no bath; small room however usually made up with friendly service and excellent food. Friedrichschafen is not a very attractive town - Lindhau might be a better option. Hotel Weisses Kreuz the favourite hotel - great sized room, comfortable bed and pillows and great bathroom.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Gambrill on 28/08/2014

**#..
We felt disappointed as there was no personal service, the Donnau company just gave us bikes without help and tried to palm of bald tyres and broken lights, luckily we insisted they change the bikes to our satisfaction but if this had been a couple who had never taken a Headwater bike holiday I would feel very sorry for them. We were very disappointed that we saw no one representing Headwater no welcome meeting as described in the literature. We enjoyed the holiday but certainly rated it as the least enjoyable out of the previous 3 trips. Cycling good, the free days poor, no suggestions of bike excursions no information found in english. No one to talk to about trips. St Gallons not that special the hand written medieval books in German advised in broshure not that exciting. The food described as 4 courses were very limited with minimal choice and 2 of the hotels were really poor.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Williams on 11/08/2014

*****
Good family fun

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Davis on 30/07/2014

*****
Cycling this route was very easy. The paths were almost all off-road, or well separated from the traffic, on good quality cycle paths, even in the towns and cities we visited. Hardly any inclines on the whole route, with only one where we had to get off and push. The bikes were in excellent condition and ideally suited to the task. The hotels were all of a very good standard and well located. Lake Constance is very scenic and has a relaxed holiday feel to it, no matter where you are around its periphery, with countless places to stop and eat/drink/admire the view. Overall, a very enjoyable holiday and one of the best we have done with Headwater.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Higgins on 29/07/2014

***#.
The route notes were clearly wrong in places (I made this point two yearsago!) and gave the impression of being written by someone who had not cycled the whole route.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Owens on 25/07/2014

***#.
to start on a negative we did not like the evening meal voucher facillity, the food offered on this fixed 4 course meal option wasn,t to our liking, we would have preferred an allowance for our evening meal to choose of the al a carte menu, the quality of the fixed four course meal was rather bland and most salad and main courses were heavily caked in sauces, we felt like second class guests when other guests not on a cycling holiday had the choice of other menus and were choosing more appetising dishes, although we read in your small print that we could have requested this option it was never offered at any of the hotels, the welcome at the first hotel was poor, the girl who handed out the documents could speak very little english so communications were a problem leading to a mix up of when the bikes could be collected. also the manager on duty that day was very surly so our first day didn.t get off to the best of starts, thank fully though there were plenty of plus points!! the team who sorted the bikes and transfer of luggage were exellent, Lydia and Sylvester were superb and a credit to the company. the route notes were ok but we found on the first day that we were having to stop too many times so from day two we found it much easier to just follow the bycycle signs which kept you more or less on the right route and allowed for more enjoyable touring without the stops. We really enjoyed our holiday and would certainly book with you again. It would be more enjoyable though if you could give some thought to the meal situation as we were not the only ones to raise the above point. Overall though we would give the holiday 10/10 thank you paul and pam owens

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Robertson on 09/07/2014

*****
Absolutely perfect in every way. The office staff at Headwater recommended this holiday to us when we couldn't get the accommodation for our chosen holiday (Austrian Lakes). We are so grateful for her recommendation as it was a wonderful holiday. The bikes were superb and all the routes were incredibly safe and bike friendly with most of the cycling being on dedicated cycle tracks. Bliss!

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Wragge on 04/07/2014

*****
Thoroughly enjoyable adventure for all ages and the over 65s! Excellent organisation and help from travel arrangements tailored to our needs to hotel accommodation. Excellent holiday - we look forward to coming again. Would like to see longer holidays offered - 14 days plus. Enjoyed Blue Book comments but we were the first to make a comment this year. (Hotel Halm had never heard of the Blue Book!)

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Alcock on 22/10/2013

*****
I have completed your feedback form but you have got one of the hotels listed incorrect. We did not stay at Hotel Rheinfels as they did not have any available rooms. We stayed at Hotel Hoeri am Bodensee and my comments are obviously about that hotel. Apparently every year on that weekend there is a conference in Stein am Rhein which takes over all hotel rooms so this should be noted for future reference. My bike was stolen from outside Hotel Halm. The lock up arrangements for the bikes at that hotel were not adequate and these need to be improved. However the staff who helped me were brilliant and it was all sorted out very quickly.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Khurana on 24/09/2013

*****
We had a lovely, lovely holiday. The bikes were so good we wanted to run away with them, the food was universally very good and the hotels were pretty good at providing for our vegetarian diets. The breakfast buffets were wonderful - I'm converted to Bircher muesli now. It was easy cycling with excellent route description in a very beautiful part of the world. Who would believe you can have a cycling holiday in Switzerland, Austria, Germany with no hills!

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Noble on 29/08/2013

*****
Really good fun and quite an adventure. Worked very well for my two children of 9 and 11 who loved the cycling and swimming.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Keeling on 25/08/2013

*****
The cycling was very enjoyable with excellent cycle paths and easy to follow directions mostly. There were a couple of unclear directions towards end day at Konstanz and Steim um Rhein. Weather was very good and amenities for tennis and swimming great. No major problems with the bikes although back up was not that good according to other members of the party who had punctures etc.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Day on 05/08/2013

*****
Fabulously organised and a really different experience for us. We loved the independence, the superb scenery and the wonderful sense of adventure. Freewheeling down hills for 10 days was something neither of us had done since our teens. A brilliant holiday! Thank you so much!

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Dunbabin on 05/07/2013

***#.
1) Particularly as viewed from the steamers, and from the clusters of old houses on the edge of the lake & esp. at some of the steamer landing places, the Bodensee was very beautiful; there were also a number of delightful and very old towns. BUT there has been very extensive recent building development (particularly, but not exclusively, on the southern side of the lake. So quite a lot of the bicycling was rather dull and suburban - inferior, we thought, to the Veneto Headwater holiday we took some years ago. Probably the best bit was the Rhine delta marshes on day 2 (where we also had the good fortune to see two storks gently grazing) 2) The bicycling stages were rather long. But, as the brochure said, it was easy to reduce distances by putting the bicycles on trains or steamers. Also almost all the cycle paths were well surfaced, marked, etc. 3) The conveyance of luggage between the hotels was VERY efficient 4) My wife had some difficulties with the Donau Touristik bicycles. These went, and stopped, well. BUT their - to us, unfamiliar - concentration of weight around the back wheel meant that, when suddenly checked, they could easily tip over to the left, & she fell off twice. That said, the handing out & reception back of the bicycles in Bregenz was EXTREMELY well done. And Donau Touristik has an impressive network of hotels that would, if necessary, mend/exchange punctured or other bicycles - in Stein-am-Rhein they simply took off my punctured front wheel & substituted one from one of their own bicycles 5) a) The hotels were all of a high standard. But we personally felt the 4-course evening meals rather too much & too rich, & enjoyed the ability to secure our own simpler ones in Konstanz. (More generally, I think we preferred the 'agro-turismo' arrangements of our earlier Veneto Headwater cycling holiday.) The breakfasts were mostly very good. b) The hotel in Stein-am-Rhein was splendidly sited, looking straight out onto the river. That I have marked the 'welcome' only as 'fair' is solely due to the fact that we arrived on its Wednesday day off, when it remains closed until 4 pm. In the event we simply went and had an iced coffee in the town's lovely market place. They also arranged for us to have our evening meal that day outside another hotel so situated in the market place, which took good care of us 6) We were, broadly, very lucky with the weather - & relished the ability usually to have our evening meal out of doors (though there were a couple of memorable storms 7) I don't know that better times could have been arranged (slightly better train ones were possible, but only by changing trains rather than travelling straight through to/from Bregenz). But we definitely had too long at the surprisingly unprepossessing Zurich airport/station 8) My guess is that, given our ages, we shall not take another Headwater holiday. But this does not indicate dissatisfaction

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Farrow on 27/06/2013

*****
Thought the Lake Constance area was beautiful. The dedicated cycling paths made the cycling a pleasure and the mix of cycling and rest days really suited us.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Jones on 19/06/2013

***#.
Very enjoyable holiday, very good cycle routes, lovely scenery and some very pretty villages. Plenty of opportunities to use the train or boats to shorten cycle distances if necessary or preferred.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs Marshall on 29/09/2012

***#.
Overall a very enjoyable holiday. For us the cycling was a bit "samey" and there were sometimes too many other people on the paths, especially at weekends. The paths were certainly excellent and quite extraordinary for anyone who cycles in the UK, as was the ultra-obliging behaviour of other path users and motorists. We actually enjoyed our days off rather more when we went off piste, for example to Schaffhausen one day and Markdorf on another, when we enjoyed the greater variety of cycling and countryside.Maybe you could add some more local information and ideas for places to visit on stay put days-Friedrichshafen especially was short of information.The guides that came with the maps were in German and of limited help to us! The wine in hotels especially in Switzerland, Hotel Rheinfels in particular, was fiendishly expensive.In spite of adverse comments we had a really good time and are looking forward to our next holiday already!

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs McEnery on 07/08/2012

*****
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, beautiful days cycling through and stopping( We were made very welcome at 2 lively Wine Festivals en route,picturesquely positioned at the side of the lake, good food and wine and great silver bands!) at beautiful places. We are getting on a bit now but we managed brilliantly, it was the right amount of cycling for us.We treasured our bike free days and did lots of different things, using a whole variety of easily accessible modes of transport,including lovely walks. Rheinfels waterfall was just amazing and we also loved our ferry journey up the Rheine and to the colourful garden island of Mainau. Only twice did we shorten out days a little and that was due to the heat,one time we jumped on a train for a short distance and the other was a short refreshing hop onto a ferry. It was as simple as pie with our bikes and everyone one was so helpful and friendly. Lake Constance was a great success, thankyou Headwater.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Lambert on 07/08/2012

*****
There was no intro welcome. Vouchers handed to us by hotel reception. Bikes by Donau. No advice on route notes where building work affected notes (ie in Konstanz). But then, everything worked!! Advice on where to eat in Konstanz would have helped. Very wet when we arrived and street plan showing restaurants would have helped.

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mr Venables on 23/06/2012

*****
most enjoyable. My wife, not an experienced cyclist really enjoyed the cycling. L Constance is in a beautiful part of europe

Lake Constance Cycling

By Mrs McLynn on 00/00/0000

*****
Easy cycling, lovely scenery, excellent hotels. Cycles well maintained and maps and route notes easy to follow!