Customer reviews: Holidays in Gudbrandsdalen

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Queen on 28/04/2016

*****
Very good hotel with friendly staff and guides, in a fantastic location.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Ms Robson on 27/04/2016

*****
The package provided by Headwater was excellent for the solo traveller as it included everything I needed to try xc skiing for the first time. The group approach made it a lovely week; small groups for skiing at different levels each day meant I always had people to ski with. The hotel is friendly and comfortable and ideally situated in the middle of miles of routes. Will definitely be going back!

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Ms Jessop on 18/04/2016

*****
Fantastic service from initial phone conversation with headwater to the holiday itself. the cross country skiing was fantastic, and there were groups to suit every ability. The ski guides were all friendly and encouraging and the hotel accommodation laid back and welcoming. Overall a great experience. Thanks for organising a wonderful holiday.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Dr Nesbitt on 05/04/2016

*****
Well organised trip,excellent food, rural location, plenty of opportunities for independent exploration as well as guided activities

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Clague on 30/03/2016

*****
Thoroughly enjoyable, met a great bunch of people and skied in a magnificent location.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Turnbull on 30/03/2016

*****
We had a great time. The skiing was excellent and we particularly enjoyed the guided ski tours which took us to different areas every day. We loved the walk on snowshoes to the waterfall too.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Price on 30/03/2016

*****
We loved our first experience of cross-country skiing. The ski guides were outstanding, and all staff at the hotel were most friendly and helpful. The food was superb, with a vast array of different dishes at every meal. The skiing area around Venabu is beautiful, with a huge variety of tracks to cater for beginners and intermediates - not being experts, we can't comment on suitability for them. We also loved the snow shoe expedition, and a couple of yoga sessions - both included in the holiday cost. In fact, everything that was needed was included in the price, and it would have been possible to have a good holiday wiothout spending any money locally. All in all, a great holiday.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Telford on 29/03/2016

*****
Wonderful experience. Excellent location , great tuition great guides

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mis Ross on 21/03/2016

*****
There is no better place to cross country ski than Venabu. Food, accommodation and quality of Guiding is excellent and Line, Robert, Wenche and the rest of the team maintain their standards year in year out. A unique place.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Goodfellow on 09/03/2016

*****
This holiday delivered exactly what it said on the box- fantastic, extensive, well maintained ski-ing area, a friendly sports hotel, likeminded guests, great hospitality, superb ski instructors and guides. Don't go if you want a modern, five start hotel, but do consider it if you love XC skiing or want to try it for the first time.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Dr MacMillan on 09/03/2016

*****
Excellent area for xc skiing, and hotel, equipment, staff also excellent

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mis Kerridge on 04/03/2016

*****
Amazing trip to get away from everyday life, relax and enjoy the mountains. Richard was a brilliant guide and teacher. Loved the snow shoeing and husky dogs too. Food was superb and never ending...fantastic. Can't wait to go again

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Ferdenzi on 04/03/2016

***#.
We would recommend a cross-country ski holiday at this friendly. laid-back resort. The area was lovely and it felt so peaceful because we had it all to ourselves!.The food was bountiful, imaginative and always of high quality. The staff were helpful and leaving the resort felt like leaving friends. The tuition was excellent, the ski tours good and varied. The wireless was reliable. The rooms, though small, were adequate for a week. It was useful to have a drying room for damp clothing and the saunas were good and well-used. The transfers to and from the (Oslo) airport were good and reliable.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Gillott on 25/02/2016

*....
The guides were fantastic, food amazing. Unfortunately xc skiing is not for us.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Tomkinson on 22/02/2016

*****
I decided to take a cross-country skiing holiday at the Venabu Fjellhotel after reading the recommendations left by previous visitors on the Headwater website which I fully endorse. The hotel was comfortable with welcoming, friendly staff. The food was wonderful & plentiful - 5 course lunches & dinners with many different dishes to choose from. The ski tour leaders were excellent.They gave advice on skiing techniques and also explained features of the landscape, plus details of the local flora & fauna which added to the enjoyment of the tours. I stayed in a single room in the East Wing which was adequate if a tad on the small side. Larger rooms are available in the West Wing for a supplement. Tea & coffee was not provided in the room, but is available in the public rooms at no extra charge. I met several guests in the hotel who had stayed there before & one person was on his fifteenth visit! I, also, hope to make a return trip to this hotel at some point as it is an excellent centre for cross-country skiing with many kilometres of waymarked loipen from the hotel. The only improvement I can think of is that it would nice if the hotel had a swimming pool!

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Dr Barton on 17/02/2016

*****
A really good experience - excellent organisation, beautifully located hotel with comfortable accommodation and lots of really good food, great skiing tuition tailored to our needs, huge choice of ski routes and other options such as snow shoe trekking - and other guests in the hotel were really friendly and good company. Hard to beat!

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs McKown on 17/02/2016

*****
This beginners week in Venabu was in my opinion the perfect introduction to the delights of cross country skiing . The all inclusive package insulates you from the normal expense of a holiday in Norway in this snow assured area . The hotel was charming all the staff friendly and we wanted for nothing during our stay . The room was warm and comfortable , the food plentiful with all tastes catered for and truly excellent . Our ski instructors,Richard and Siobhan were great . There wasn't a direct flight from Manchester to Oslo but that is the only downside to this holiday ! I rarely return to the same location for holidays but I can see why people do for this holiday and I think it will be very difficult to match this experience and overall value , so I might well be back again !

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Mitchell on 11/02/2016

*****
Overall very good , although due to exchange rates Prices are high compared to hotel prices

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mis Ross on 11/02/2016

*****
Venabu is the best place for cross country ski-ing. No matter what your level of experience is, you will be well looked after and have a great week.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Kennedy on 04/02/2016

*****
Although the accommodation is dated at this hotel, it is more than adequate, clean and comfortable. The family welcome, ambiance and excellent wholesome food, makes this a holiday worth repeating. The teaching instruction we had was excellent and we were extremely well looked after. The guides went out of their way to ensure we had a rewarding and enjoyable introduction to XC skiing even though we were reluctant to go up or down hills!!

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Ruberry on 27/01/2016

*****
This was coming up to our 20th visit to Venabu. For us it is more like 'going home' to see friends and family than a basic holiday. Venabu is a unique destination.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Freedman on 25/01/2016

*****
The hotel is really welcoming, and the ski guides and the food both excellent. This was my fifth visit.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Hughes on 19/01/2016

***#.
Great introduction to XC skiing. Wonderul scenery, lots of snow. Amazing food!

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Hannah on 19/01/2016

*****
Venabu is the perfect winter 'get-away-from-it-all' destination, and great for immersing yourself in learning how to cross-country ski. It was lovely staying in a hotel that is still owned & managed by the original family. The instructors were superb, and really made the holiday for me. We had an American, Richard , and his lovely wife Siobhan with our beginners group. They were so experienced, yet incredibly patient, enthusiastic and encouraging and displayed such a passion in passing on their expertise. It made for a brilliant holiday!

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Bruce on 18/01/2016

*****
Family friendly hotel with relaxed atmosphere with excellent food and facilities for Crosscountry skiing

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Ms Turner on 18/01/2016

*****
Wonderful holiday in the most amazing,quiet location. Stunning views from the hotel which was run by lovely staff. Will probably go again next year! Cross country skiing guides were great and patient with us novice skiers! Went out on some great trips.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Ms Sholer on 07/01/2016

***#.
A great experience trying something new in a fairly remote location in Norway. Ideal for getting away from city life, we really enjoyed the cross-country skiing and found it reasonably easy to pick up (some downhill ski experience does help). The food at the hotel was excellent, including for vegetarians which I wasn't expecting.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Ms Sinclair on 02/07/2015

*****
It was the first time I had travelled alone but I had no problem making friends. There were 11 others in the group and they were really fun to be with. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful especially the tour guides. The skiing was brilliant helped by amazing scenery and blue skies most days. The food on offer for breakfast, lunch and dinner had to be seen to be believed! I especially enjoyed the Norwegian buffet. There were lots of little touches which made the holiday more enjoyable, such as having your flask filled with hot chocolate each morning and relaxing in the sauna after a long day's skiing! Altogether one of the best holidays I have had

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Harbach on 09/04/2015

*****
The entire Headwater team was extremely professional and accommodating. They were most helpful (especially Donna Webber) in sorting out a more 'tailor made' holiday to suit our particular requirements and we couldn't have been more delighted with the end result. The Venabu Fjellhotell was quite simply one of the best hotels we have stayed in in terms of friendliness, warmth of welcome, quality of food and skiing tuition. We will definitely be going again - thank you to everyone for helping to give us such a wonderful holiday.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Shotton on 09/04/2015

***#.
Excellent location for cross country skiing, very good twin room, friendly staff, amazing food,

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Caldwell on 26/03/2015

*****
Everything it promised and more. The guides, instructors and staff were outstanding. The food and extra activities like yoga mean that this could be a great wellness break in its self, add in the great skiing and beautiful landscape and it has everything you could want.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Mortley on 26/03/2015

*****
The Venabu hotel has things just right. The rooms and public areas are comfortable and homely, the food is good and staff are welcoming and helpful. This was our first cross country skiing trip. The equipment and tuition were good and the instructors knowledgeable and friendly doing all they could to ensure everyone has the best experience. A great holiday.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Williams on 06/03/2015

*****
Venabu offers excellent skiing, knowledgeable guiding and fabulous food.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Ms Edwards on 06/03/2015

*****
An excellent week with everything just as described on the website. Great service from the whole team at Venabu and a superb choice of food at every meal. Snow-shoeing in fresh snow down to a frozen waterfall was the highlight of my week.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Simpson on 02/03/2015

*****
Very relaxing. Everything organised for my daughter and I. Hassle free. Excellent holiday.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Eidahl on 26/02/2015

*****
Wonderful! Great variety of skiing routes. Great guides - great people. A very unique family run hotel that is very international. Everyone feels at home.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Ms Kirk on 12/02/2015

***#.
Wonderful hotel with very relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and beautiful location on edge of Rondane national park. Ski trails for all abilities. Food and catering outstanding as were hospitality and helpfulness of hotel reception and dining room staff. Excellent sauna and free yoga classes available. Massage also available at additional charge. The provided holiday is inclusive of a full week's guided tours and also 3 very substantial meals a day. If this is more than what some travellers are looking for, the hotel itself provides a range of other flexible options. Journey time from Oslo airport is ca 3 hours by arranged coach but the hotel will also organise collection from the nearest train station for those travelling independently.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Manvell on 15/01/2015

*****
Good skiing opportunities in a very scenic location; good equipment with knowledgeable and helpful guides. Family hotel, excellent food, good facilities - sauna, massage, yoga, fitness room, games rooms, horse drawn sleighs, dog sledding, board games, music / dancing. Excellent selection of wines to match some very good food - lots of choice at the buffets. Special Norwegian buffet was very impressive at New Year. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. We met lots of returning clients. Free WifI was a bonus. Good location to offer snow shoeing weeks as well as skiing. Ski instruction was first class, good boots, good skiis, great guides and well equipped ski room. Local supermarket well stocked for any emergencies or forgotten items.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Ms Kitchen on 28/03/2014

*****
Remember to bring a pair of walking boots in order to best enjoy the excellent snowshoeing trip, usually run on Wednesdays! Everything else is catered for on this excellent week for either complete beginners or improvers in cross-country skiing. The Tvete family at the Fjellhotel are not only friendly and welcoming, but also extremely well organised and hard working. The scenery is so stunning that the odd grey day doesn't matter.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Heywood on 26/03/2014

*****
First holiday on my own, and despite my worries, I was made to feel welcome by the members of my group...experienced warm and friendly company from fellow holiday members, hotel staff and guides.....a busy and active holiday, wonderful scenery, great for me as an important part of the holiday for me is to paint the landscape.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Cartwright on 18/03/2014

*****
Venabu is an ideal resort for cross country skiing. The guides at the hotel are brilliant and make the holiday a memorable experience.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Payne on 17/03/2014

*****
We have been to 6 different XC Sking venues with Headwater and Venabu is consistantly the best. Excellent variety and length of ski tracks from easy starts near the hotel to Challenging hills within 5km. Food is always of good choice, well prepared and generous in quantity for hungry skiers. The guides are knowledgable, helpful and good instructors for beginners and more experienced skiers - particularly Robert Molnar, who is a good allround athlete as well as good skier and an excellent instructor. For the above reasons we have now been to Venabu 11 times and we meet friends who also return each year from UK, Netherlands, Sweden, Germany and Canada.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Williams on 26/02/2014

*****
Venabu is the perfect place for all generations to enjoy cross country skiing.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mis Smith on 19/02/2014

***#.
An invigorating break in a beautiful location with great food and wonderful guides

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mis Ross on 10/02/2014

*****
There is no where better to cross country ski than Venabu.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Ms Charlton on 09/02/2014

*****
Fantastic scenery, excellent ski tuition, warm & welcoming hotel. Just what I needed to start the new year. Message for hotel- Hotel was comfy but needs to update accommodation. Message for ski instructors - good instruction but need to keep us moving in such cold temperatures so our muscles dont freeze up. Wenche paced things well and kept us moving.

Headwater response

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Dr Winslow on 05/02/2014

*****
Very good. Vegetarian food a bit variable

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Williams on 29/01/2014

*****
An excellant t

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Manning on 01/01/2014

***#.
Excellent hotel for friendliness and Norwegian culture, especially at Christmas. The food was outstanding. We were complete novices so the cross country skiing was challenging, but the ski guides were helpful, patient and encouraging. A sauna on site was most welcome.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Ms Davies on 13/04/2013

*****
The hotel at venabu was excellent. Top notch in all aspects. I was however extremely disappointed that we had to leave at 9am, and duly spend 3 to 4 hours sitting in the airport waiting for the flight home. Considering we travelled through ringebu, then past Lillehammer, within the context of a high cost holiday, not permitting us an hour or so to spend in these places seems very mean spirited. For this reason I would hesitate to recommend headwater. I cannot fault the hotel, so would recommend people to make there own way there .

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Payne on 30/03/2013

*****
Venabu is an excellent XC ski centre with reliable snow. It has a much better quantity and range of tracks than any of the mid/southern european resorts. With gentle undulating tracks close to the hotel and hills 5 - 7 km away for the more adveturous amongst us. The guides, Robert and Wenche are vey good teachers and guides. The hotel accomodation is comfortable and the food is very good. This is an excellent XC skiing holiday for beginners and experinced skiiers.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Mitchell on 19/02/2013

*****
I have been to Venabu numerous times and , first time visitors are given an equally warm welcome as returning guests. This relates to all the hotel staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Best place in the world to switch off from the hustle & bustle of London

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Ms Griffith on 24/01/2013

*****
Venabu was an excellent location, and the facilities and staff there were amazing.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Churchett on 24/01/2013

*****
Very nice hotel in an wonderful location. The two ski guides (Robert and Wenche) were excellent and helped to make this a wonderful holiday. I will be going back to Venabu!

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs Freedman on 05/04/2012

*****
Really good.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mrs McCormick on 31/03/2012

*****
Fabulous, wonderful Norwegian hospitality.Hotel was just perfect - amazing friendly staff and owners. Noregian food was incredible.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Payne on 17/03/2012

*****
A very good skiing holiday with good food and accomodation. Robert is a brilliant guide, ably assisted by Wenke.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Dr Alcock on 18/02/2012

*****
Another most enjoyable X-C skiing holiday. thank you

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Nicholson on 18/02/2012

*****
Very nice, really nice ambiance in the hotel, and an excellent cross-country skiing venue

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mis Ross on 18/02/2012

*****
Excellent - the usual standard of Venabu service.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Dr Winslow on 10/02/2012

*****
apart from broken planes from Wideroe it was fab

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Dr Roberts on 27/01/2012

*****
Very enjoyable.

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Ms Garburg on 21/01/2012

*****
very relaxing time

Cross-country skiing at Venabu

By Mr Green on 00/00/0000

*****
Other than booking I wasn't aware it was a Headwater holiday. Hence I wouldn't recommend you as I don't know what you're like if you were actually delivering the holiday. On the phone the staff weren't that good. I'd decided to go so they had nothing to do, but they weren't that helpful I thought the documents sent out were not so good My comments are based on comparison to Skedaddle who I go with frequently I will go to Venabu again. The hotel staff and guides were excellent