Customer reviews: Cycling on Gozo

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our cycling holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their cycling holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their cycling holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Carr on 31/10/2016

*****
An ideal way to explore the country at a relaxed pace. You'll stay at a mix of hotels all with their own individual highlights and character. All very friendly.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Page on 18/05/2016

*****
Cycling tougher then expected because of strong winds on most days and volume of traffic. The write up suggested a Gozo that disappeared a while ago but a cycle way round the island is being developed. Hotels lovely and distances appropriate, terrain tough in places because of steep hills and strong winds

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Price on 04/05/2016

*****
Good organisation No hassle Everybody very helpful

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mrs Dick on 28/04/2016

***#.
Gozo was an unexpected delight but because of its small size the cycling is VERY limited. We added on a day in Valetta which was lovely.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Hawley on 15/03/2016

***#.
Gozo is a great place to cycle; the people are very friendly, the food and wine great and there is much to see. You might like to include a side trip when you are going through Munxar on your way to Sannat. Take the road to the Sanat Cliffs as you leave Munxar. The road is new and rises gently for about a Km. Wonderful views of the Sanat Cliffs and across to Xlendi Bay. Retrace your way back to Munxar and continue on to Sannat and the Hotel Te Cenc. It is possible to walk from the cliffs directly to Sannat on a track, but we did not try cycling the tract.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mrs Furlong on 01/12/2015

***#.
Overall a very well thought out holiday, allowing us to cover most of the island of Gozo. Generally good food and comfortable hotels.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mrs Hunter on 13/10/2015

*****
Gozo was lovely for cycling and walking - people were helpful and friendly. Hotel facilities were excellent otherwise and staff very helpful.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Ms Marshall on 24/06/2015

*****
Gozo is a little gem and the cycling there was a great experience, if a little bumpy, and windy, at times. The holiday would have been perfect if it had included a couple of nights in Valetta at the end, not added on, but included. It was strange, only doing 6 nights. Or, start in Valetta, sight-seeing, then relaxing on lovely Gozo. The hotels may have Maltese star ratings, not ours. Ta Cenc should be 4-star, the Cornucopia only 3, but the Kempinski 5, as you would expect. They were all so different though, and it was great to stay in them all.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mrs O'Hare on 13/04/2015

*****
An opportunity to get close to the spirit of Gozo, travelling slowly under your own steam. This is not a holiday for cyclists who want to cover great distances, since the hotels are close together and the island is tiny. Nor is it suitable for novices, despite the 1-bike rating - we felt this was perhaps not appropriate, since although distances are small the tracks and even roads are rough and gradients can be steep. But it is a hugely enjoyable way of seeing all kinds of things in depth, and the hotels are really well chosen. We would recommend extra time at the Ta' Cenc since one night on arrival and one night before departure don't really give you time to do justice to the surroundings or hotel facilities. We booked an additional five nights at the Hotel Phoenicia in Malta and while this was a very different and more conventional few days, we really enjoyed this too. There is so much to see, do and absorb in Malta and the Phoenicia is perfectly located by the City Gate and bus station in Valletta to make it easy to get around. We would like to give a particular mention to the friendliness of the Maltese and all the hotel staff.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Ms Smith on 13/03/2015

*****
Very well organised, most enjoyable holiday!

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mrs Newman on 29/10/2014

*****
We were a little worried that Gozo would be rather limited due to its size but the cycling was excellent and there were lots of uphills to stretch us. We added additional excursions into the suggested routes to make the cycling days a little longer. The hotels were superb and it was lovely to come back to a welcoming choice of pools at the end of each day. Only niggle would be the variable availability of the internet - except at the Kepinski which had excellent coverage.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Morgan on 17/06/2014

*****
Well organised with in-depth knowledge of the island

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mrs Reynard on 09/06/2014

*****
A good mix of exploration and relaxation, cycling is a brilliant way to explore Gozo.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mrs Gittins on 15/05/2014

***#.
A relaxing cycle holiday with short distances but rather hilly. Hotels superb with lovely pools and relaxation areas.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Drew on 16/04/2014

*****
We had a refreshing, relaxing time. It's great to be able to rely on the directions, and to arrive at two luxurious hotels at the end of a day of fresh air and sunshine.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mrs Tulloch on 16/04/2014

*****
Gozo definitely worth visiting.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Thompson on 28/10/2013

*****
Very well organised and accomodation excellent. Gentle trip - as described. Met expectations and had a very good time

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Eele on 24/04/2013

*****
Exceeded expectations. Great choice of Hotels and locations. Guides and maps need updating a bit and checking. There are new island cycle signs that were confusing as we were not on these routes all the time and they were only mention in the briefing not in the notes. You just had to concentrate a bit harder than expected on occassions.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mrs Urquhart on 13/04/2013

*****
Enjoyed the freedom of doing as we pleased. I would not recommend it for first time cyclists. Loved the friendliness of the Maltese people.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mis Warby on 30/03/2013

*****
Extremely well organised, went without a hitch. Travelling as a solo lady this was most welcomed & not once did I need to think of any plan B's!! I also felt totally relaxed with everybody I met & did not have to worry about my safety. I would not hesitate to recommend it other adventure minded ladies!

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Whalan on 23/03/2013

*****
Admin prior to the holiday was poor but we got it sorted in the end. Hotels were very good, food excellent and Gozo is certainly worth a visit.The people are so welcoming. Roads are very very poor and sprung seat pins for the bikes would have made a big difference, If you have them take them! The gel saddles provided are not enough!

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Mullin on 23/03/2013

***#.
The holiday does seem a touch on the pricey side however the half board at the 5 star hotels and the lovely food makes up for it. I had a great time.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Harper on 09/03/2013

*****
I did not stay at the Cornucopia but i heard it was below standard. State of roads and tracks very poor. Not really cycling terrain. Thankfully most of the steep hills had a good surface. Lovely island which I think more suitable for walkers. Preferred Ta Cenc to Keblinski as a hotel but food at Ta Cenc not 5 star standard. Zlendi (especially) and Marsalforn nice lunch stops.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Williams on 02/03/2013

*****
Positive experience of an organised holiday. Cycling in Gozo is not challenging and gives plenty of time & opportunity to see the local sights.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mrs Sheriff on 30/10/2012

***#.
The hotel/accomodation was a pleasant experience. Gozo has some picturesque qualities. The brochure promised gentle cycling but there were many climbs, the roads are badly potholed and there is a lot of vehicle traffic. It is best described as a walking/cycling holiday unless you are young and fit (see below).

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Dr Lewin on 29/09/2012

*****
You should advertise more for honeymoons! We had a wonderful time and were treated really well at all the hotels - the suite at the kepinski was amazing!!! Only issue was getting from hotel in malta to ferry terminal - I think we should have had transport through headwater for this - I appreciate we choose to have the extra nights but still..... That said the return journey was very smooth from hotel in gozo across ferry to malta direct to airport. Bikes not bad but a few issues with clunking gears etc but overall fine.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mrs Preston on 24/09/2012

*****
Unfortuntely one of us was unable to cycle due to an accident post booking, however the holiday was not spoilt. One of us travelled with the baggage the other cycled. cycling on your own was easy and the locals very friendly, especially when a puncture needed mending (even though their help wasn't really req'd). George our rep was efficient deliering spare tubes when needed and everything went very smoothly. The Cornucopia hotel is definately a little faded and not up to the other hotels but this wasn't a problem and the food there was excellent. The cycling was a little hilly for novice riders and the roads a little worse for wear (hence the punctures)but it was a lovely relaxing holiday with excellent food, weather and people. Also the journey by ferry to Gozo was a particular delight.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Dixon on 23/06/2012

*****
We had a wonderful holiday on this tranquil and unspoilt mini island. Sadly we were unable to do the cycling element of the holiday due to illness but still enjoyed every moment.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Close on 11/06/2012

*****
Gozo is in a time warp. Please don't tell anyone about it. The cycling distances are not too great, which means there is plenty of time for detours, and Gozo is the place for detours.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mrs Pearson on 11/06/2012

*****
A very enjoyable experience as it was our third with you we had a good idea of what to expect.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Ward on 19/05/2012

*****
Gentle cycling was an wonderful way to view this delightful island.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Morgan on 19/05/2012

*****
First rate. Gozo was so different. People charming.

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Wragg on 31/03/2012

*****
Absolutely superb - even the weather was excellant!!!

Highlights of Gozo Cycling

By Mr Webb on 00/00/0000

*****
Highlights of Gozo Cycling was a great mix of undemanding yet adventurous cycling, covering much of the island, with excellent 4-5* hotels giving plenty of time and space to relax. The front-suspension bikes were well-equipped with panniers, the logistics of luggage transfer very straightforward, and the briefing and accompanying detailed notes on itineraries were very good. Don't expect smoothly tarmac'ed roads, and be sure to take cycling helmets, as these are not provided 'for safety reasons', confusingly! We are glad we booked a extra few nights at Ta' Cenc to begin with, as well as some time in Malta before flying back, as these were effective 'bookends' in terms of winding down by the pool(s). Gozitans are naturally warm and friendly people, island life is rural and unhurried, and the traffic certainly not as manic as Malta: overall, a very pleasurable enjoyable holiday!