Customer reviews: Holidays in The French Alps

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Bramhall on 11/11/2016

*****
Great walks every day with spectacular scenery in the high Alps. You need to be pretty fit to do the climbs every morning but they are well worth it when you hit the summits. Accommodation was generally very good with superb evening meals at Hotel Reynard and L'Abbaye in particular. We would advise doing the holiday in July or August - everything, including bars, mountain top cafés, shops and chair lifts, is closed during the last couple of weeks in June - this would appear to be out of season. A couple of very cloudy days with rain and drizzle spoilt the opportunity to take on an optional 3hr summit extension at Mont du Grange but for the most part the weather was glorious.

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Barr on 30/08/2016

*****
We thought about doing a holiday like this before, but hadn't quite got round to it, so we jumped in at the deep end not really knowing what to expect. The country side is stunning and the views from the top we well worth the climb up. The organisation was perfect, the accommodation great, the food fantastic, and all the hotleliers were very friendly, just make sure you take a good pair of boots to avoid Hobbit foot. We will definitely do another of these trip through Headwater and would thoroughly recommend them to others.

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Humphries on 23/08/2016

*****
An excellent holiday. Well organised and great hotels. The walks were fantastic with clear instructions. We took the telecabine to gain some height where we could and I would recommend that particularly on days 2 and 6. The grading of the walks is accurate.

The High Alps Walk

By Dr Paget on 17/08/2016

***#.
High Alps walking tour is strenuous but rewarding. Certainly challenging in places. Well worth experiencing.

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Lewis on 16/08/2016

*****
For us in our seventies, this three boot walk presented a serious challenge, especially as the weather was unsettled and thundery. Hence the fact that we did indeed complete the basic circular walk without using local transport (except for a few ski-lifts), and without mishap, was a matter of great satisfaction to us. When the clouds cleared, the views were magnificent, and when they didn't clear, the views were still pretty good. The hotels and their locations were nearly all ideal places to recover between assaults on the sensational hills. This is definitely one for the serious walker who is in practice. However, should the body or spirit fail (and ours did not), there are more options for ducking out than we had been led to believe; plenty of local buses, for example.

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Hills on 25/07/2016

*****
Brilliant holiday, fantastic views and flower meadows. Luggage transfers etc went smoothly and our hosts were welcoming especially at Les Sapins and hotel Renard. The walk is definitely tough especially if doing extensions and rest day walks, I found walking poles essential my husband managed without! Route descriptions re ridges for those worried about heights were accurate. Mont de Grange was very steep but worth the effort we were fortunate in having great weather for this day but still needed a fleece at the summit due to snow field. The food was generally good, we opted to buy our own lunch at the local bakers and grocers shops which worked well - note the supermarket described in our notes in Chapelle d'Abondance closed in March we couldn't find another but bought an excellent quiche at the boulangerie, and fruit from grocers just past the tourist info office. The Chalets du Mouet on the walk from Chatel to Chapelle d'Abondance was charming they do a lovely salad. Also the mountain refuge at Ubine is ideally placed for a stop, the food looked great, we took shelter and advantage of a hot chocolate which was very welcome on a wet and chilly day. We would recommend this holiday if you're fit but be aware that the temperatures vary considerably, we started at 28c and had 3 days at 9c! Being non skiers it was great to witness the alpine scenery.

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Smith on 22/07/2016

***#.
The scenery in the Alps is stunning especially when the flowers are in bloom but the walking is quite strenuous so you need to be reasonably fit and well equipped.

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Parker on 15/07/2016

*****
Tough walk but very stimulating

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Knowles on 23/09/2015

*****
Very well planned and organised. We made a change to our itinerary which Headwater took in their stride. Very impressed with the hotels which were exactly to our taste, not too posh for walkers!

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Hine on 01/09/2015

*****
A good holiday. The weather was not kind to us, but the hotels were very helpful about this, offering drying room services. The notes were very helpful. Accuracy was a problem in only one area where substantial redevelopment work was being done on the tracks. The fact we had a good map (supplied by Headwater) with us, meant this was not a major issue. One of the hoteliers summed up the area as being good for cows and cheese! The walking is therefore mainly through pasture (often quite high), but which was very pretty, if a little muddy in the rain. Some of the views (when it was not raining) were magnificent. Overall, despite the rain, we had a relaxing break.

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Versteeg on 01/09/2015

***#.
We really enjoyed ourselves on the High Alps Walk. We were very pleased that we had built in additional days (taking the holiday to twelve) to provide variety and be 'tourists' We really enjoyed 'Belle Dimanche' - the annual Fair high above Chatel. (next year it's on weekend around 21st August) Cloisters at Abondance very interesting. In twelve days we had two dull and one very wet day(be prepared); rest of the time very good. Can be hot.

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Dentith on 27/07/2015

*****
This is a true three booter there isn't a lot of level walking , have good comfortable boots and poles ,I think, are essential. Do use the lifts if they are working ,it's no fun walking up those gradients with a working chair lift over your heads. The views from the tops are dramatic on clear days. The walk timings are pretty accurate.

The High Alps Walk

By Ms Rose on 17/07/2015

*****
We had a fabulous time, beautiful weather, gorgeous alpine flowers and a hard enough walk to feel we had earned our delicious evening meals.

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Glover on 15/07/2015

*****
Well organised trip that met all our expectations. New walking guides provided during trip as a result of changes to routes.

The High Alps Walk

By Ms Steenman-clark on 14/07/2015

***#.
The Chablais region is certainly very beautiful but with the excellent hotels in the valleys a lot of the walking was up and down farm/ski/access tracks or roads to the higher level, flower strewn, paths with the fantastic views. These tracks, especially in the heat we experienced, were quite brutal and did detract somewhat from the overall pleasure of the walks.

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Pogson on 19/09/2014

*****
This was a fantastic holiday - all the walks are interesting & varied with spectacular views. We were very lucky to have good weather everyday. The accommodation was excellent throughout - can't fault a thing.

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Henry on 02/09/2014

*****
This holiday was one of the best holidays I have ever had, the scenery was absolutely wonderful once you were up the top of the mountains, and so peaceful, you need to be very fit to do this holiday, but the views and tranquillity was worth all the hard work.

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Graham on 23/07/2014

***#.
Sensible daily itineraries; good, comfortable hotels; efficient transfers, accurate guide notes; good value for money.

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Asteriades on 24/09/2013

*****
The toughest Headwater walking holiday we have been on - particularly the first few days. Great walking routes, stunning views, good hotels. We particularly liked Le Renard with enormous portions of great food.

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Hill on 17/07/2013

*****
Excellent holiday that delivered exactly what was described - we had a wonderful time . Faultless organization with consistently high standards. Well worth the money

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Frechette on 12/07/2013

*****
We all had a great holiday. Having the extra day at each hotel gave us a chance to settle in and get a feel for the local area as well as relaxing if we wanted to.

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Love-fordham on 24/09/2012

*****
The holiday was amazing! The countryside is pristine and absolutely beautiful! The walks were well planned to great destinations. We went at the end of the season which was good in that we rarely saw other hikers and no mountain bikers. BUT there were no ski lifts in operation and most restaurants and stores were closed. The closed businesses were not of concern to us since we don't shop for trinkets. BUT the closed ski lifts, in our opinion, makes this a much more difficult holiday than 3 boots because you start several mornings by climbing to the top of a ski lift for several hours. The Headwater notes suggest taking the ski lift cutting off hours of climbing - but this was not an option off season. It is doable (barely and you are exhausted by mid day). If the ski lifts had been operating, it would still have been a 3 boot holiday. Do not expect any flat walking paths. You are either ascending or descending. It is steep and often slippery. A great and fun challenge for those prepared. We would do it all again in an instant!!! Thank you Headwaters!!!

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Phillips on 13/09/2012

***#.
Excellent walking holiday with good accomodation in simple hotels.

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Baker on 05/09/2012

*****
Definitely a "3 booter"!! Hard work but so rewarding with fabulous views, beautiful surroundings and lovely food. We're in our late fifties and only of average fitness so were glad of the options to use chair lifts and have relaxing days off - we would recommend others not to be put off by the ranking though day 1 threw us into the deep end!

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Neville on 07/08/2012

*****
The overall organisation of the holiday was extremely good from the moment we arrived in Geneva where Marc met us and took us to Les Gets. On the whole we were very impressed with the hotels and it was amazing how our luggage was moved on so efficiently from one hotel to the next. The intinerary was excellent with only a few minor few errors due to local signs etc. changing and there was no problem route finding. We were very impressed by the amount of research and time that must have gone in to produce such excellent route notes.

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Jamieson on 23/07/2012

***#.
Challenging, but quite satisfying. We felt that the 10 days could have been shrunk into 8. Some places we did not want to stay that long in.

The High Alps Walk

By Mrs Bedford on 30/06/2012

*****
This is the best (of 4 Headwater holidays) holiday we have had

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Tucker on 00/00/0000

*****
The walks were challenging but very enjoyable and views / scenery were amazing.

The High Alps Walk

By Ms Briscoe on 00/00/0000

*****
An excellent experience, with breath taking views. The welcome by hoteliers was second to none and the food excellent. the region was very peaceful and not overly busy, but beware of mountain bikes!!!! Walking was demanding, but suitable for experience walkers, despite being a lot of up and even more down - remember your walking poles. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

The High Alps Walk

By Mr Shoesmith on 00/00/0000

*****
Loved the holiday. Challenging walking but great views . Good variety of hotels, all with own charm.