Customer reviews:

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mrs Rarick on 29/11/2016

*****
These trips are like a treasure hunt. Each day you wake up and embark on a new adventure following detailed notes/maps not knowing what you will see or encounter around the next bend. The scenery on our Jurassic coast walk was just spectacular.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mr Rice on 11/11/2016

***#.
We were warmly welcomed by the local agent who advised us and made sure collections of us and our luggage happened on time. This generally worked well, with only one slight mishap. Whilst a couple of the hotels on our walking holiday wouldn't necessarily have been our personal choice, all of them were clean and comfortable. Locally sourced food was available in most of them. The daily walking routes were very well written and only occasionally did we refer to the thoughtfully provided OS map. Going off piste was minimal. The Jurassic coastal path walking was magnificent. In summary, considering the late time of year, travel to and from the West Country was not included and the fact that the accommodation was only half board, on reflection we felt the holiday was quite expensive. However it was good to have somebody else resolve the logistics so we could focus on enjoying the walking. Thank you to the Headwater team.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mrs Currie on 11/11/2016

***#.
Good walking with fantastic scenery.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mr Schafer on 27/09/2016

*****
Overview Wonderful trip with nice lodging and wonderful varied hikes. Detailed Review Arrival and Transfers: This was our 6th Headwater trip and we were joined by another couple on their first trip with Headwater. We flew into Heathrow a day prior to the start of the trip and proceeded to make our way to Weymouth. We had considered using a coach/rail transfer but ultimately decided on a private transfer as it was less expensive for a party of four. We used Thompson Airport Cars (£145.00 for a private minibus). The driver met us at the terminal, was very professional, gave us some ideas for our time in Weymouth and drove us to the front of the Weymouth B+B. This was a very relaxing, efficient, and stress-free way to get from Heathrow to Weymouth for the start of the walk. While in Weymouth we purchased our return train tickets from Poole to Waterloo Station, taking advantage of a £16 off peak, advance purchase rate on Southwest Trains. We had arranged to meet with the local agent (Roy) shortly after our arrival and he went over the particulars of each day and gave us a great overview of the hiking, lodging, logistics and some restaurant and activity recommendations. He was very friendly and has a great sense of humor. Lodging: Weymouth B+B: Excellent central location across from the waterfront and bus stops. Very plain but comfortable rooms. Our room faced a courtyard and was quiet. Our travel companions room faced the side street and, maybe because of the bank holiday, they encountered a lot of street noise late into the night. The breakfast consisted of a small buffet and cooked to order eggs, sausage, mushrooms etc. Alford House (Corfe Castle): Very Nice B&B on the main street about a five minute walk from the center of Corfe Castle. Our host, Suzie offered us refreshments upon our arrival, dinner recommendations and a cooked to order breakfast. The room was large, nicely furnished, quiet and very comfortable. Purbeck House (Swanage): A beautiful hotel about a 5 minute walk uphill from the center of town. Our room was a nice size room up several flights of stairs facing a courtyard. The room was fairly quiet, but as it faced south west tended to be a little warm. Breakfast was a combination of a buffet/cooked to order. Harbor Heights (Poole): A modern, comfortable, air conditioned hotel that was about a 25-30 min walk from the ferry dock. Great views of the harbor. Two strong recommendations if you stay in this hotel. Ask the local rep/headwater about taking the local bus from the ferry to the hotel. After the wonderful hike from Swanage to the Poole Chain ferry, the walk to the hotel was along a road and not particularly scenic. Also, the hotel is not very close to other restaurants and while the on-site restaurant was good, the available dining times were somewhat limited the night of our stay. It might be worthwhile to ask the rep (or call ahead) to secure a reservation at the time you want The Hikes: The hikes were accurately described in the program and the the directions were clear and easy to follow. The 1+ boot description was accurate. Three of the hikes had wonderful coastal views , while the the hike from Corfe Castle to Swanage provided expansive views across the countryside. As I mentioned, we arrived a day early in Weymouth and took the local bus to the cliffs at West Bay and explored Abbotsbury. On our short day in Swanage, we finished up our hike by 2:30 and were able to take a tour boat along the coast from Swanage to Poole (and Return). This was a great, relaxing way to see the next day's coastal hike from the sea. I would highly recommend it.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mrs Bryan on 14/09/2016

*****
Lovely route, fantastic scenery, quite challenging in some places and paths a little higher than expected for a person with vertigo.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mis Nair on 14/09/2016

***#.
A good holiday with manageable walks , nice weather and stunning coastal and countryside views . Best was Corfe Castle , a lovely little village overlooked by the impressive castle ruins. Accommodation fine except for the B + B in Weymouth ; room cheerless and austere , and location rather noisy ; was woke twice in the night by people shouting and swearing in the street below.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mrs Frames on 30/08/2016

*****
Overall had a fantastic holiday walking along the Jurassic coast. We were extremely lucky with the weather and pre-booked all but one of our evening meals (using Trip advisor) to ensure they too were of an excellent standard. The accommodation provided varied in style but all were scrupulously clean and offered an excellent selection of food at breakfast; the four star accommodation at the end of the holiday which included access to a heated outdoor pool and spa was especially welcome after all the walking. The route notes were excellent; very easy to follow.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mr Pryor on 25/07/2016

*****
They were happy to wait unitl 10,00 a.m. to collect our luggage in the mornings, which was great,as we were on holiday and didn't want to rush our breakfast, before walking. All the hotels were well chosen. The holiday was well thought out. We took the wrong route at Durdle Door and ended up on an extremely steep area, so listen carefully to the Rep's instructions. Our rep recommended restaurants for us and booked them, so we had a nice meal at Rick Steins in Poole, and several other nice places, that we might have missed otherwise. Make sure you take a sun hat, as there is not alot of shade on the walks. Expect to feel quite tired, unless you walk 8 miles on a regular basis.

Dorset and the Jurassic Coast Cycling

By Mrs McInnes on 19/07/2016

*****
A wonderful exploration of the Dorset countryside.Very friendly locals,good hotels,very good cycles provided by Roy Griffiths from sign post cycling who gave us an extra days use of the cycles at no charge.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mr Boyd on 19/07/2016

*****
The holiday provided us with an opportunity to visit and explore an interesting part of England which was unknown to us and the walks were varied with some spectacular scenery. Apart from the walking itinerary itself, there were lots of places and sites to visit, including Portland Bill, Brownsea Island, Corfe Castle, the Swanage Railway, and by way of expedition from Weymouth, both of Thomas Hardy's houses near Dorchester. As usual with Headwater the accommodation was comfortable and thoughtfully chosen.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mrs Fairhall on 30/06/2016

*****
If you enjoy being in the open air enjoying the country then this holiday is great with very comfortable rooms and great food and places to see, I would recommend this to anyone.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mr Cheetham on 26/05/2016

***#.
For keen walkers who want a holiday organised for them, including luggage-transfer, and are prepared to pay, this is an excellent holiday, but not for the faint-hearted or unfit, as although the distances seem short, the walks are often very strenuous, and there are frequent opportunities for stumbling over loose surfaces, especially on descents. The route descriptions are meticulous, and well-marked,and there is really no need for map-reading. The evening food is often expensive, especially at The Haven, where there is really no local alternative.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Ms Cozort on 09/05/2016

*****
Beautiful region, fantastic scenery, good walks but not too strenuous.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mr Whitehurst on 15/09/2015

*****
Great opportunity to visit famous sites in UK within a structured organised and well supported walk

Dorset and the Jurassic Coast Cycling

By Mr Crossland on 10/09/2015

*****
The route and places visited were superb. There were a variety of options for sightseeing and plenty of time to see them properly. We enjoyed the variety of challenges for cycling with some long off road sections, a few steep inclines and practically no riding on busy roads. The written instructions were very helpful. As with other cycling tours we have taken it would have been beneficial if the route was pre-marked on the map provided and perhaps a few more cross references between the map and written instructions. If arriving by car, it is most important to phone Roy the local representative to help you sort the complex parking arrangements in Weymouth Swannery carpark. He is an excellent ambassador for Headwater. The Dorchester Sienna Restaurant was superb and visiting the Roman house is a MUST. When leaving Dorchester the route follows the Northern bank of the River NOT the right bank as written in the guidance notes. During the Wareham free day, we visited Swanage via the bus and steam railway. We visited the pier and saw a magnificent Tall ship and walked to the headland for good views of the Isle of Wight. We continued to walk on the Victorian coastal path to the excellent Durlston Castle for lunch and fantastic panoramic views. The Harbour Heights at Poole was the quality of Hotel we were expecting and provided superb views across Poole harbour. We returned to Swanage bus station by the half hourly bus service. Michelle from the Weymouth B&B found the cheapest (Fleetline) taxi return from Poole. This is a highly recommended way to return to Weymouth with suitcases.

Dorset and the Jurassic Coast Cycling

By Mr Bailey on 01/09/2015

**#..
We went to Dorset in the wettest week of the year, so only managed half a days cycling. The local rep could not have been more helpful, driving us along the routes we were supposed to be cycling and pointing out the sights to see. Disappointed that in spite of phoning Headwater with our time of arrival, this was not communicated to the rep so we had to walk to our hotel. I am not sure this particular Headwater holiday is great value for money, as travel and dinner are not included, but I might be less critical had we had some decent weather.

Dorset and the Jurassic Coast Cycling

By Ms Skinner on 10/08/2015

*****
We were a group of three; two elderly parents and a sixteen year old son. We all thoroughly enjoyed the routes taken, places stayed and food eaten. It is a tricky task to ensure the enjoyment of three people with diverse interests, (my husband is an architect and loves old buildings!) so , I am very pleased that this holiday was such a success. Special mention of Roy who spent time and care ensuring that all was in order... And warned us about the steep climb up to Hardy's monument! I would recommend this holiday to anyone. The Dorset countryside is unbeatable, stunning and truly beautiful.

Dorset and the Jurassic Coast Cycling

By Mr Wignall on 31/07/2015

*****
Jurassic Coast cycling offered a superb variety of classic British countryside, thatched cottages, country lanes, ruined castles, sandy beaches and of course village greens with pubs. A few short hills provided brilliant views over Poole bay and the sea beyond and the route was a good mixture of quiet lanes, gravel tracks and minor roads. We mentioned a small tweek to the route notes around Corfe Castle to the rep you may suggest this amendment in the future. Unfortunately it rained for 4 days out of the 5 but thats the British summer for you !! How can we submit photos if we don't do Facebook?

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Ms Waddington on 24/06/2015

***#.
Wonderful walking trip - could definitely be done more challenging walking options outlined in route notes & more of the coatst covered. It really is a turquoise coast when the sun shines!

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mr Martin on 09/06/2015

*****
A unique experience that gave great opportunities to see parts of the country that we might not see if we were traveling independently. Following the route notes gives you the confidence to venture further, knowing that you could then get back to your route. Having a rep at the end of the phone just in case anything went wrong gave us a sense of safety and security and proved invaluable when I was unable to walk on the final day.

Dorset and the Jurassic Coast Cycling

By Ms Singleton on 00/00/0000

*****
We loved our 4 day cycling holiday in Dorset. The B&Bs were excellent. The Kings Arms a little dated and the staff a little bored The Red Lion and Harbour Heights were perfect as were the staff. We definately want to do this again. Roy was so informative. The whole experieince was great. Thank you so much Del and Jackie