Customer reviews: Holidays in The Danube

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Acheson on 25/07/2016

*****
Overall we found the holiday a great break for us. The route, notes, hotel locations, things to do etc all added to the enjoyment. Everything was well explained and set out for us.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Dr Leiper on 14/06/2016

*****
Great cycle holiday on easy cycle paths with quality bikes and excellent hotels.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Stillwell on 06/06/2016

*****
Adventure before dementure!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Watkinson on 04/03/2016

*****
Our cycling holiday was just the BEST! I am a non-cycling person, afraid in traffic, and not especially into sport and fitness. My husband is Mr Fit, and cycles quite a bit. This holiday was so much fun for both of us. Well within my capabilities, and although not very demanding, the cycling was enough to keep my husband happy. Can't wait to book another Headwater holiday.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs McBroom on 01/10/2015

*****
Excellent accommodation. Confidence with the equipment and support. Good maps and route details very comprehensive. Cycling down the Danube is great as the Danube cycleway is either a dedicated path or where it runs along side a road it is separate and safe. An added advantage is that it is flat and well surfaced.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Pritchard on 30/09/2015

*****
Very easy and enjoyable cycling through lovely scenery with excellent accommodation and many places of interest to visit.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Dr Miller on 30/09/2015

*****
This was my fifth cycle holiday with Headwater, and it was the most enjoyable. The cycling is very easy, and the route is very clearly marked, so there is absolutely no navigation skill required. Unlike some of the tours in rural Italy or Spain, there were numerous, widely-varied eating establishments with long opening hours right along the cycle path. The cycling path is flat, but it passes through some varied and hilly terrain. There are opportunities to make short (and possibly hilly) detours to see some pretty villages and interesting sights along the way. One very moving side trip is to do the short day trip (about 50 km round trip from the hotel at Linz) to the memorial at the former Mauthausen concentration camp. The high point of the tour is when it passes through the Wachau Valley, which is one of the loveliest wine growing regions I have cycled through. I did the entire ride, even covering the short stretch from Linz to Grein, which the normal tour bypasses by shuttle van due to its being thought too industrial. Also, the tour guide recommends taking a train into the heart of Vienna in order to by-pass a slightly grimy and graffiti-covered stretch of the outskirts of the city. I did not find this stretch particularly objectionable, and there is a certain satisfaction to completing the entire cycle path from Passau to the heart of Vienna. This would be a perfect ride for someone who is uncertain about committing to a bicycle tour. There are river boats and trains that allow one to skip cycling portions when the weather is bad or one is too fatigued. The cycling could not be any easier, and the maps and signs along the way make it all quite fool-proof. Note that Headwater will supply participants with a spiral bound book that contains high resolution maps for the entire route. This book is easily ignored as the usual Headwater instructions are so well done, but the book does contain some historical tidbits and also suggestions for interesting detours, so it is worth a read. A note in closing; the Passau-Vienna path is said to be very busy in the summer. I did my tour in late September and the path was wide open. Only the Wachau Valley section had any significant bicycle traffic.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Ms Nott on 15/09/2015

*****
Excellent holiday overall. It might have been better to have an extra day in Vienna at the end of the trip instead of a free day in Krems which was not as exciting as Vienna. The weather could have been better too!!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs O'Gorman on 17/08/2015

*****
A fantastic holiday for a family with teenagers. Easy but very enjoyable cycling in stunning countryside.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Kimber on 22/07/2015

*****
The arrangements were very good and instructions easy to follow. However, we found the bikes to be very heavy, and the crossbar on the ladies' bike was far too high, to the extent that my husband had to help me on and off the bike as I could not tilt it far enough towards me to get my leg over the crossbar without it falling on me (as it did on one occasion, resulting on me banging my head (thank goodness for my cycle helmet) and skinning my elbow!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Emms on 07/07/2015

*****
Delightful easy cycling (totally flat with excellent largely traffic free trails) in scenic countryside. Lots of opportunities to stop for coffe, cake, drinks etc

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Brown on 30/06/2015

*****
Every day was different. The bikes were excellent as was the luggage transfer. The mix of cycling and non cycling days was a bonus and allowed one to explore the local towns. Following a river downstream provided continuity and progression as it made its way down stream.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Gittins on 29/06/2015

***#.
Cycling easy even for us oldies,nice hotels,beautiful scenery and relaxed pace.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr McIlraith on 24/06/2015

*****
This was an easy ride for us and I would say ideal for less experienced cyclists. Everyone we met in hotels and restaurants was friendly and helpful.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Owen on 17/06/2015

*****
An exceptionally well designed tour, which includes valuable 2 night stops at the en-route hotels in Linz, Melk and Krems, the first two of which are really interesting to explore. The daily distances were will within the capabilities of these two 68-71 year old occasional cyclists. The Danube routes were well signed and easy to follow.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Devine on 17/06/2015

***#.
Lovely flat (mostly) easy cycling. Very clean hotel rooms, most with a nice view. Good food.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Harkness on 11/06/2015

*****
The cycle route along the Danube from Paschau to Vienna was excellent - easy cycling, well signposted and extremely beautiful. We passed pretty wild flower meadows, dense forested slopes and wide terraced vineyards. The route took in many delightful towns and villages, with their pretty squares, narrow cobbled streets, castles, cathedrals and monasteries. Vienna is amazing and definitely worth staying on for a few extra days! The hotels were in great locations and the meals were very good. Headwater and their local representatives arranged a great trip for us - their customer service and attention to detail was excellent. Thank you!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Hood on 14/10/2014

*****
Well organised.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Beeby on 26/09/2014

*****
A very easy, relaxing and stimulating holiday. At times we would have liked to ride slightly longer distances, but accept that the intermediate hotels were all, in their different ways good.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Wilson on 25/09/2014

*****
Hugely enjoyable, a great adventure on an achievable scale.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Turnbull on 19/09/2014

*****
Another great cycling holiday. Thoroughly enjoyed our trip along the Danube. Cycling just at the right level of effort. Food grew, people great. Best organised cycling holiday so far.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs McIlhinney on 28/08/2014

***#.
We enjoyed the holiday, and the hotels and their service were generally very good or excellent, apart from at the Hotel Donauschlinge, where the staff were not as friendly and we felt they hurried our evening meal, bringing the second course before we had finished the first! In our view, the Hotel Zur Post in Melk was by far the most efficient, with the most helpful staff. The Steigenberger in Krems, although a very nice hotel, had less character (much more a standard 'chain' hotel) and our table in the dining room was tucked away in a rather gloomy corner, rather than the main restaurant – unfortunately the weather was not good enough for us to have a table on the terrace. We were impressed by Greenways Travel, who were very efficient and prompt about delivering our bikes, transporting us from Linz to Grein and then collecting the bikes at the end. They also provided a mobile phone for us to contact them if we needed to. We were unprepared for quite how flat the ride would be, and with hindsight should perhaps have opted for something a little more challenging. I think we expected it to be more like the Moselle ride, which we did with Headwater a few years ago and which rolled up and down a little – our 'best bit' on this holiday was therefore the ride from Melk to Krems through the Wachau, which was not totally flat.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Lloyd on 27/08/2014

*****
Outstanding experience in terms of cycling, locations chosen, landscapes and scenery, cultural activities and overall enjoyment.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr English on 07/07/2014

*****
The rep, Erhard, was the best we have ever had and produced lots of good information and even mobile phones for emergency use (not needed). The Schlogen hotel has the most dramatic location on a bend in the river that you can imagine, and it is worth the tough climb up the hill behind to view it from the top. Vienna is a big city in every sense with lots of grand buildings to see, and the trams make them very accessible, which we discovered thanks to the superb staff on the hotel recepion who know their town well. The route down the Danube is beautiful and ever changing and full of interest.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Hawkins on 16/06/2014

*****
We travelled to Passau via Munich Airport followed by an over 3-hour journey by bus to Freising station, train to Passau and taxi to the hotel. We purchased on-line a Bayern-Ticket for 27 Euros for 2 people which included both the bus and train journeys. We are both in our late sixties and found the cycling easy, although adjustments had to be made for the weather. It rained on the first day but after that the weather was hot and sunny necessitating early starts. The cycle paths were clearly signed so it was easy to follow the route and German and Austrian drivers are courteous to cyclists so cycling in towns was not a problem. The hotels were varied and well chosen and near the main attractions, the only exception being the one in Krems which was up a steep hill, but the hotel's facilities make the climb worthwhile. The instructions suggested going by train from Ottensheim to Linz but the cycle path was well separated from the busy road so cycling to Linz was not a problem. Similarly, the instructions suggest travelling by train in to Vienna but the cycle route was easy and the graffiti no worse than you find on the outskirts of most cities and it cheered up the drab concrete walls even though most of it was not up to the standard of Banksy. The food provided by the hotels was generally good and the hotels were near to restaurants when evening meals were not provided.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Poultney on 16/06/2014

*****
Easy cycling - with options to reduce length every day (only used once when one person unwell) - hotels in interesting or beautiful locations with plenty to see - good white wine area with everywhere having choice of wines by the glass (125ml) at reasonable prices.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Barr on 20/09/2013

*****
This was the best Headwater Holiday so far . Almost the entire route was on flat dedicated cycle paths or through quiet country lanes with little or no other traffic. Each day's cycling was easy and on average only about 25 miles. ( my wife and I are OAPs and we managed each day with no problem). The real bonus with this holiday is reaching Vienna at the end of the journey. I would recommend an extra night in Vienna before returning home..

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Haines on 20/09/2013

*****
An excellent holiday cycling 285 KM from Passau to Vienna along flat safe routes. The Tulln hotel was a bit basic and the train journey to Stein was a pain but probably necessary. We followed the reps advice and went into Vienna using the island route which avoided the train route suggested. Overall the holiday ticked all the boxes as is usually the case with Headwater. Thanks, we will be back next September with our friends for another adventure!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Lachowski on 16/09/2013

*****
This was an excellent, well designed, well organised holiday with very good back-up from Greenways Travel.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Nichols on 12/09/2013

*****
After having many successful holidays without problem with Headwater Booking we were surprised to have difficulties getting: the rail return details confirmed; the invoice correct; the correct Reginal booklet sent through (3 tries); and the return transfer was still incorrectly notified to the local representative. Having said that your agents, Greenways' organisation was excellent leading to a successful holiday.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Davis on 16/08/2013

*****
A virtually hill-free ride through pleasant countryside neighbouring the River Danube, punctuated by stays in excellent hotels in historic towns and cities. No shortage of shops, castles, palaces, museums, and last but not least - coffee and cake shops. The challenge is to not gain weight!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Bond on 29/07/2013

*****
Wonderful scenery, cycling and wholly relaxing. We really enjoyed the whole experience.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr McGinn on 27/07/2013

***#.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable trip along the Danube.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Cockrill on 25/07/2013

***#.
Our first cycling holiday and generally it was a really good experience with an interesting variety of hotels. Beware of eating half board as in some hotels we felt we were treated like 2nd class citizens.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Laing on 08/07/2013

*****
Passau to Vienna cycling was an easy cycle ride ,staying at superb hotels amid beautiful towns and country-side .

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Fussey on 17/06/2013

***#.
Cycling very easy! Level or downhill on tarmac. Hotel in Tulln is not 4 star! Although it was OK and had superb position, compared to the ratings of the other hotels on the trip it should be nearer to a 2 star.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Bellion on 06/06/2013

***#.
An excellent route - distances well judged for the terrain (easy) and, because the tracks are so well signed, the route notes are almost unnecessary. Very well presented and maintained bikes. Hotels are obviously selected for location and in some cases there is little choice. All were clean and reasonably comfortable and, where evening meals were included, they were excellent - and some were outstanding. The only thing that Headwater couldn't do anything about was the weather - we cycled just a couple of days before the dreadful flooding that swamped the entire route.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Whittaker on 04/06/2013

*****
Every thing went smoothly, pity about the weather!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Hainsworth on 30/10/2012

*****
A wonderful experience and with time to explore different interesting places enroute

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Hollis on 24/09/2012

*****
Mile upon mile of dedicated cycle trails, through glorious scenery and picturesque villages, all running genetly downstream - surely this is the leisure cyclist's dream?. With no inclines to test us, our biggest challenge was resisting the cream-laden cakes, the delicious ice-cream and the dangerously sweet "sturm": the half-fermented wine produced from the vineyards through which we were cycling!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Wilkinson on 24/09/2012

***#.
Well organised and professional company who clearly know the region well. The quality of the equipment was excellent and the hotels generally of a high standard. The directions were well described with almost all routes on safe cycle paths. The distances were managable even for the over 50's! The transfer of luggage between hotels worked well and on all occasions arrived in our room before we did. Would recommend.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Ms Howell on 24/09/2012

*****
Headwter cycling holdays are always well organised. The bikes are very good as is the accomodation. However the half board menus sometimes offer too lttle choice.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Thompson on 03/09/2012

*****
A great trip though not quite as scenic as the Mosel and the bit into Linz in particular is, as advised best avoided. However, the route into Wien along the island, as shown on the map is an absolute delight and for that section the advice to go by train should be ignored.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Daly on 30/06/2012

***#.
Bikes, organisation, directions, beauty of countryside and routes are all excellent. Accommodation was generally good/fair. We found the hotel in Linz noisyand the room stuffy and hot and interior rather shabby. The location of the hotel in Melk was unsuitable being up a very steep hill and far from centre. Hotel de la Poste in Melk was good and Tulln hotel was picturesque and well located. Hotel Austria in Vienna ws very friendly and well located but again we found the room stuffy and rather small.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Haigh on 23/06/2012

*****
Thoroughly enjoyed it. May consider room upgrade another time.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Ms Stowe on 16/06/2012

*****
we had a fantastic experience - the cycling is very good and safe

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Akers on 16/06/2012

*****
Exactly as described in your booklet - wonderful easy cycling, lovely comfortable hotels and pretty scenery.

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mrs Oakley on 16/06/2012

*****
A Happy holiday which means more to us than fabulous or great - 5 stars

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Horner on 11/06/2012

*****
Great - holland next!

Passau to Vienna Cycling

By Mr Oldham on 00/00/0000

*****
Very easy and relaxed cycling with virtually no need for the notes as the Donauweg is so well sign-posted. Lots to do on the stay put days.