Customer reviews: Walking in Croatia

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our walking holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their walking holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their walking holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Dr Haberman on 29/11/2016

*****
Beautiful and varied walks. Good level of stamina required. Istria is very quiet but local people are very friendly eg a farmer gave us some apples when we resting (and obviously) tired. In the first walk, there was no shade. Walk 2 is longer but a little easier. It would make more sense to swap over walks 1 and 2 to allow travellers to acclimatise. We had a problem with the packed lunches. We mentioned on the application form that we do not eat meat. I rang Headwater the week before the holiday to make sure that this was known and had been passed on to the 2 hotels providing packed lunches. I was told that this would be done. On arrival, we found out that neither hotel knew of our requirements. Clearly, there is communication breakdown.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Burns on 29/11/2016

***#.
Good introduction to the area. Would have been better to have a hotel in/nearer Dubrovnik Old Town and to have had the opportunity to wander around by oneself

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Mitchison on 11/11/2016

*****
Excellent and varied walks in attractive countryside, comfortable friendly hotels and interesting local cuisine with plenty of truffles. Our very helpful local guide, Romina, advised us about possible issues and added to our enjoyment of the holiday.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Herring on 14/10/2016

***#.
The 3 location concept was very good and was what attracted us to the holiday. It gave us a very good overview of that part of Croatia and it was entirely suitable to the older generation.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Butterfield on 13/10/2016

***#.
Vegan vrata hotel had no hot water in our room on first day and only warmish on second day. Ate there and staff seemed stressed and this did not make for a relaxing evening. Not impressed with this hotel.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Cudby on 13/10/2016

*****
The holiday was extremely enjoyable. Our guide was Vanja and she was excellent, We loved Dubrovnik - especially at night after the crowds had gone and the City was all lit up. The walking was good and we particularly enjoyed the walking in Krka National Park. A little disappointed with Diaclecians Palace in Split - expected it to be more impressive and interesting. We were impressed by the Dubrovnic Hotel.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Wakefield on 04/10/2016

***#.
An enjoyable holiday.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Beaney on 04/10/2016

*****
Excellent hotels, really good walking notes (best we've had!), good food available locally. very knowlegable rep.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Wootton on 04/10/2016

*****
Our journeys on the Castle to Coast Walk took us through some of the most beautiful hill countryside in this relatively unknown region of Croatia. The walks were well-designed, well-described and very enjoyable, and the hotels welcoming and comfortable. Opatija is a gem of a resort and provided an excellent and relaxing conclusion to our trip.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Erdal on 04/10/2016

*****
The design of the week was very well balanced; the directions astonishingly detailed and accurate; the accommodation superb; Romina the rep absolutely outstandingly excellent. They even got good weather for us. After 22 years of never having an organised holiday we are converts. Could not recommend this more highly.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mis Pillar on 04/10/2016

*****
Great trip: stunning scenery & interesting/beautiful towns; lots of features packed into 1 week; lovely people and Saša guided us around her country with enthusiasm. Wonderful time.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Conroy on 15/09/2016

***#.
Croatia is a beautiful country and we enjoyed the contrast between hilltop hotels and two nights on the coast. We did however find the walking tough going at times due to the heat at the beginning of September - 30+ degrees. Maybe that is why there were only 4 of us on the trip, others chose a cooler time of year! The organisation was excellent as we transferred hotels, our Rep and drivers were friendly and very helpful. The food was slightly disappointing as there was little fish on offer until we got to Opatije. The meal at Hotel Vela Vrata was very good, we wished we'd eaten there both nights. We shall await the new season's brochure and plan next year's holiday after checking the expected temperatures.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Mellish on 04/08/2016

***#.
We loved Croatia and in particular the Adriatic riviera which was stunningly beautiful and relatively unspoiled. All the hotels were good and in excellent locations and Romina the rep was fantastic - extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. The walking was more challenging than we have experienced on other Headwater holidays and not quite as interesting or inspiring. It was very hot walking in July and there were lots of mosquitos - it would probably be a better choice in May or September. We will definitely return to Croatia to explore this beautiful country further.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Caves on 29/07/2016

***#.
Some long ascents made for tough walking in parts but with the reward of good views. The spring flowers were wonderful. The stay at Motovun was enjoyable and the last 2 nights in Opatija a delight - pity there wasn't an opportunity to stay longer here since there was a lot to do and some great restaurants. We found Buzet disappointing. Romina (the local rep) was very efficient.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Coulson on 01/07/2016

*****
This is one of the best walking holidays we have had with Headwater. Excellent walking notes guided us through a lovely and varied landscape. And the accommodation in all three hotels was of the highest standard; perfect locations too.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Ms Escott on 17/06/2016

***#.
I am undecided as to booking with Headwater again, as there were some issues throughout the holiday which marred the experience. These were not things that Romina could have resolved as they were booking issues. I plan on submitting an email to Headwater shortly detailing these.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Henderson on 13/06/2016

*****
Headwater take care of planning process of a walking holiday. They provide efficient and reliable travel arrangements, excellent and interesting accommodation and a superb variety of walks with comprehensive notes. Our guide had walked the routes shortly before to double check their accuracy, attention to detail that reinforced our confidence. Evening meals are arranged for the first night at each location, giving us opportunity to explore, if we wished, on other evenings. In fact, our greatest concern was which wine to drink.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Cranmer on 13/06/2016

***#.
Tougher walking than expected. Most days finished with steep climb. Hotels variable, rep. super. Countryside lovely. We decided to have a rest from walking on Day 3 and hired bikes which was a pleasant change.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Hughes on 13/06/2016

*****
We decided to combine the Highlights of Montenegro Walk and Delights of the Dalmatian coast Walk. We took the first date in May. Imagine our surprise on waking on the first morning, to find a thick layer of snow had fallen overnight and was continuing to snow quite heavily. We hadn't anticipated snow at all and ended up wearing as many clothes as we could! However it made the mountains and forests look even more beautiful. It started to melt the next day and conditions were very slippery. Poles were needed by most people. In Croatia the temperatures soared into the 30's and we found the walks on day 5 and day 7 very challenging, steep, stoney paths,very hot. We felt this was more than a one boot holiday. The first hotel in Dubrovnik was five star and very nice but not necessarily needed for a walking holiday, especially as we had virtually no time to use the facilities. We had great guides and drivers and everything was very well organised. We had an enjoyable holiday in amazing scenery.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Galleymore on 03/06/2016

*****
Romina was a fantastic representative, both very professional and friendly. When my suitcase failed to arrive from Gatwick, and I had to wait 2 days for it to catch me up, she lent me a waterproof walking jacket and walking sticks.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Clayton on 03/06/2016

*****
This was our first holiday with Headwater and we really enjoyed the whole thing. The walks were just what we wanted (helped by excellent weather) with varied terrain and views, we had no problem following the route notes (so hardly bothered with the maps provided) and found the lunches provided by the hotels were more than enough for us. Our rep (Romina) was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The hotels were all great and the local restaurants, especially in Motovun and Opatija were excellent and great value. There're plenty of local wines too, which were not expensive and really good! The region is beautiful, the people we met were friendly and we can't wait to go back.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Price on 03/06/2016

*****
Some of the walks were challenging. The second day's walk was long at 12,5 miles. Buzet was not a good centre for tourism. The old town was beautiful but nothing there really as was the new town. Unless you wanted to walk back up many steps from the restaurant in the new town, you had onlt the one restaurant in the old town. Food was not brilliant. We ate there on the second night and and they started packing up at 9pm. They did not even ask us if we wanted a dessert or coffee. Just wanted us out. And this was a Saturday night!!!! The walk on the escarpment was beautiful but it was impossible to find the path down again. The notes said it was a hard to find path but it was IMPOSSIBLE. There were four of us and we failed. If the paragliding naturists want their privacy then they should put clear markers where we should go!!!! This was meant to be a 7.5 mile easy walk We used our OS maps to find an alternative roiute but it meant the walk was 11.5 in total.. In the blue book, others had written the same problem. and we did mention to the rep.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Wehl on 26/10/2015

*****
Our Croatian walking holiday was a wonderful experience. The villages were picturesque and stunning in their location and ambience. The walks were through diverse terrain of natural beauty and the food was delicious. Highly enjoyable and thoroughly recommended by us both.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Riddaway on 12/10/2015

*****
A good holiday made especially interesting by Romina the local Rep. She is a lovely person, very helpful and very knowledgable and very willing to share her knowledge of the area. All the hotels were good and their locations very specacular . We wish we could have stayed longer in Hotel Sveti Jacob but had to return home. One night is not enough to enjoy the many attractions of this beautiful place.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs McMillan on 30/09/2015

*****
This was our first holiday with Headwater and we were very impressed. It was a good balance between walking and relaxation. The programme was put together very well: no walking on the first day, a gentle first walk the following day and then the longest walk mid-holiday. By the time we tackled the mountain walk, we were feeling fitter and more able to take on the challenges. It was good to relax by the sea for the last two nights and we enjoyed the coastal walk. It was a great way to discover a new area and we really enjoyed the beautiful countryside in Istria. The hotels were very good and the food was excellent. We would like to single out Romina for particular attention, she was absolutely delightful, intelligent, responsive and very caring, she did a marvellous job. Thank you Headwater, we are very keen to use you again in the future.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Horstead on 29/09/2015

*****
Stunning scenery, well chosen itinerary and hotels, knowledgeable and helpful guides. A busy programme.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Ms Winch on 21/09/2015

*****
Lovely holiday with very welcoming local people

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Truelove on 31/07/2015

*****
We had a really good week's walking, albeit in 40 degrees! Croatia was fabulous and we would return in the future. Your representative Romina Brumnic was absolutely excellent and nothing was too much trouble for her to arrange - a real asset.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Turner on 27/07/2015

*****
Having enjoyed a previous Headwater walking holiday in Tuscany that was also rated '2 boot' our assessment is that this holiday to Croatia was much harder and a reasonable level of fitness is essential. The hotels are all OK although we were a little disappointed that the swimming pools were indoor. At the Hotel Vela Vrata you had better like truffles! Day 5 walking instructions could be better. As part of the packed lunches (variable quality!) you receive a single small bottle of water - this was wildly insufficient especially in the intense heat of July. Overall though a great holiday, Croatia is beautiful.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Maddison on 02/07/2015

*****
We had a brilliant time in Croatia; it was our first time there and we can't wait to return. Our guide, Krsto, was very informative and helpful, and the itinerary was interesting.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Dr Simpson on 23/06/2015

*****
One of the best Headwater holidays we have done. Croatia certainly more than lived up to our expectations. Everything about the holiday was excellent and the people there were universally warm and welcoming. A wonderful contrast between the hilltop towns of Motovun and Buzet and the classical seaside villas of Opatija. It will be difficult to better this holiday!

Castles to Coast Walk

By Ms Birch on 17/06/2015

*****
Beautiful countryside, it was lovely to see so many wild flowers and butterflies (we went at the end of May). There was a good range of walks, all challenging in their own way but with fantastic views as a reward. You do need a relatively good level of fitness as it is hilly and we,d recommend boots as suggested by Headwater as the tracks are very rocky in places. Our favourite location was Motovun, with it's cobbled streets and bars and restaurants overlooking the landscape below. There was little to do or see in Buzet, so make the most of the circular walk whilst you are there. We found all of the hotels to be of a very high standard and the service was good, the room we had in Hotel Sveti Jakov in Opatija was stunning and the hotel was in a lovely quiet part of the town.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Curwen on 17/06/2015

*****
A superb holiday in stunningly beautiful countryside. Great walking conditions and routes through varied terrain, sometimes challenging and always rewarding. The hotels were first class and staff everywhere were friendly and helpful. The final days in Opatija were relaxing and the effect end to a great holiday. Thank you Headwater! NB. We feel that the route notes for days 4 & 5 could do with adjustment as things appear to have changed on the ground. I would be happy to offer suggestions. Please advise how you would like these to be supplied.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Strickland on 17/06/2015

*****
The only problem with our holiday was that we did not receive the good quality maps which were promised and which we would still like to receive! Our walking holiday in Dalmatia was our first experience of a group holiday, so we weren't sure quite what to expect. Fortunately, our guide, Sanja, took us all in hand and her good humour and efficiency made all the difference. We cannot speak highly enough of her. We were also fortunate in that we got on well with all the other members of the group, and the atmosphere generally was very good. We didn't do quite as much walking as we had hoped - the first day was virtually rained off - and we spent quite a lot of time on the minibus, but it was worth it to be able to enjoy three such excellent locations in one week. Some of the group thought the standard of food in the first few days was not high enough. We're not complaining but we would have been prepared to pay a bit more for a wider choice. Anyway, it was a most enjoyable week and we would certainly consider going on another Headwater holiday.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Belchambers on 15/06/2015

***#.
The holiday was made perfect by are wonderful guide Sanja . This was my first visit to the Dalmation coast it is truly the very best coast line I have ever seen so clean and the people so friendly . The group were both interesting and good fun we were 14 and I do think that was perfect . The food on the whole was some what disappointing it would have been nice to have eaten in the hotels . My only other comment would be the grading I felt that all though we did not do a great deal of walking some of the walks were very testing and more like a 2 boot . This was my first time with Headwater I will be traveling with them again very soon hopefully . Denise Belchambers from the Cotswolds

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Clegg on 09/06/2015

*****
An excellent holiday with a nice combination of sightseeing and walking in the beautiful Dalmation Coast. A good holiday was made great by the fantastic Sanja Reiter who was an outstanding guide. As a PhD student of Croatian history she brought a special advantage for briefing us and telling the story of the region and the country. One slight disappointment was the limited choice of dishes as we always seemed to be 'off-menu' and it was especially hard for one of us a non-fish and seafood eater. And Headwater can't help Croatian food! But overall not too bad and the breakfast buffet at Dubrovnik Palace Hotel was outstanding. Don't miss this super holiday.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mis Puritz on 05/06/2015

***#.
A very good holiday for sightseers who want to do some walking as well. The Dalmation coast must be one of the most beautiful places in Europe.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Lewin on 04/06/2015

**#..
Sanja , our guide was incredibly knowledgeable about almost anything we asked . She has a great sense of humour and it always seemed that she was enjoying her time with our group and not just doing a job . Would have liked a whole day to discover Dubrovnik . Holiday spoilt by poor quality of lunches and evening meals .

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Emerson on 04/06/2015

*****
Very intereesting tour, with good local tour guides. Could have done with more free time in Dubrovnic so a closer hotel might have been useful. However, the facilities and beach at the Hotel Dubrovnic Palace outstanding.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs MacE on 22/05/2015

*****
Good walking with excellent notes. Excellent accommodation. Helpful local rep. Perhaps overpriced.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Morrison on 22/10/2014

*****
Challenging walking with a comfortable hotel at the end of the day.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Spencer on 14/10/2014

*****
Croatia is a beautiful country with miles of unspoilt coastline , lovely islands and friendly people . Dubrovnik is a fascinating city and the waterfalls at Krka were spectacular .The holiday was extremely enjoyable and our guide Sanja was very helpful and a delight .

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Whitehurst on 08/10/2014

*****
Very good walking holiday with excellent accomodation. Croatia is a lovely country to visit, the people are friendly, there is plenty to see and the prices are reasonable.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Elliott on 28/08/2014

*****
The Istrian peninsula felt like an undiscovered jewel for visitors. Beautiful countryside, great local food and wine and you can walk all day without seeing anyone else! As always with Headwater a lot of thought had been put into the arrangements for the hotel and the walks and the local guide Romina was brilliant.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Hamilton on 10/07/2014

*****
This was one of most enjoyable and exciting Headwater walks we have experienced. Istria was unknown to us and we loved the hill-top towns where the 'truffle is king'! cuisine was superb and the hotel staff and local residents so friendly. The local rep was the most conscientious, helpful and friendly we have ever met. Please extend our thanks to her. The 'good' comment on Comfort at the last hotel related simply to the failure of the air conditioning system which was freezing. This was resolved by the staff. Fabulous holiday and the weather gave us ideal conditions.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Walker on 24/06/2014

*****
We chose a walking holiday because we enjoy walking and believe you get more of the atmosphere of where you are if you are on foot. After the airport we were driven to a gem of a hotel, with wonderful views and the sound and sight of swifts in the summer air. Our guide was very efficient and worked very hard to see that we got the most out of our stay. She was local and gave us sound information on what to expect. A couple of the days here saw quite high temperatures so we needed to make sure we had water or knew where we could get water on route.. The hotel at Buzet was also at the top of a peak so this is a holiday where you must be prepared to walk some high ups and downs. The third hotel at Opatija was very well situated and we had a very large room with a baloney. This hotel had a fish restaurant, the fish being caught locally the night before. On our final evening we had one of their superb fish meal on the terrace with the sound of soft live music in the background, which was a fitting closure to a very enjoyable holiday.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Woollen on 22/06/2014

*****
An excellent holiday: a beautiful country, perfect weather, wonderful walks/culture tours, good company, delicious food, lovely accommodation and a brilliant guide in Sanja.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mis Walters on 20/06/2014

*****
A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Croatia was a lovely country, the walks just right and the hotels great. The other couple on the walk were like minded and we got on really well.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs McInnes on 18/06/2014

*****
We have undertaken 9 holidays with Headwater and they have always delivered what they say they would deliver. The guides are the cream of the crop , Sanja was one of T&E best we have had in the 10 years of Headwatering .

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Drabble on 18/06/2014

*****
Well organised and a good combination of walking and sightseeing

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Mitchell on 16/06/2014

*****
SERVICE IN ENGLAND WAS INFORMATIVE, AS IN ISTRIA (RAMONA). THE HOTEL VELA VRATA WAS VERY DISAPPOINTING. THE ROOM WAS SMALL, THE SHOWER KEPT GOING OFF. ALSO THE AIR CONDITINIONING COULD NOT BE PUT ON. THE ROOM WAS TOO HOT, BUT COULD NOT OPEN THE WINDOW BECAUSE OF THE NOISE FROM THE CAFE DOWN THE ROAD WHICH WENT ON TILL 3AM!!

Castles to Coast Walk

By Ms Clarkson on 03/06/2014

*****
Superb location excellent guide really had an excellent break. Beautiful location would love to go again and again

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Thompson on 30/05/2014

***#.
Could have been lovely but spoilt by many problems. Disappointed.

Headwater response

Dear Mr Thompson, We were sorry to read of your disappointment with your holiday, I will contact you directly for more information and hope to reinstate your faith in Headwater. Yours sincerely, Headwater customer service

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Saunders on 22/05/2014

*****
Well organised, excellent guide and transport. Expensive compared to package tour but well worth the extra for the personal service and all the organisation is done for you! Tours, visits and hotels well chosen and walks were lovely.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Souster on 26/09/2013

*****
Must be our ninth or tenth holiday with you. A very well thought-out tour with the usual Headwater touch of finding interesting as well as luxurious places to stay and devising well-balanced walks to reveal the landscape. We were particularly impressed with the local agent and the two local taxi drivers who were always firendly and helpful.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Davis on 24/09/2013

***#.
We had a great experience, found all the maps and guides very accurate. The guide was very informative and gave us a good update on changes to the routes. All three hotels were very good and up to the expected standard, we were warned by the guide that the Hotel Bristol was not as good as the others, however we found the room very nice and the buffet particularly good and great value. We enjoyed Croatia and its people were warm and friendly throughout. This walk was not leisurely and required a reasonable level of fitness if it is to be enjoyed.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Brown on 13/09/2013

***#.
Very enjoyable holiday with an excellent guide. The walk was certainly not leisurely but everyone managed it. The distances were not great but the gradients were steep and taxing, especially in 30 degrees of heat.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Buckenham on 07/09/2013

***#.
We had read adverse criticism about the Bristol Hotel and your rep suggested you may change from this hotel next year. The hotel is a bit dated but it is perfecty sited for a selection of nearby restaurants and the delightful coastal walk to the local marinas. The staff were helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed the Sunday Evening Buffet. We had a balcony room facing the sea with a perfect view. The picnic given to us on the last day was the best of the week and the receptionist on duty when we left at 7.00am came out to wave us goodbye. The walk from Grosnan seemed longer than the 20km listed; we reckon it was about 25km.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Watson on 24/07/2013

*****
Excellent holiday, with even more value added by leader Sanja, who made sure everything ran like clockwork. She was also most informative and helpful, very patient, and with a great sense of humour.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Duesund on 13/07/2013

***#.
we suggest a few changes to the walks. The walk up to the mountain Ucka would be much better if the trip to Vela Draga was included, also that being on the way. The walk up was fine but should be extended to a walk down the mountain, giving the day much more meaning. The first day,s walk included a long portion on an old railway path. A little weary and boring. The last two kilometres were hell for all who dislike mosquitoes. The representative was asked directly at the info meeting about the mosquitoes and did not give correct information. Many walkers were bitten badly and the walk finished at the same spot the next day. The walk to Buzet was the best walk. More walks like this are very positive. We found many other places Headwater could have had focus. Why not include trips to Roc and Hum? Walking in this area was sublime. We also would have liked more descriptions about the things to do around places, since the local tourist offices were not on the ball at all. The biggest let down was the Hotel Bristol, inspite of the warning that the standard was lower. We expected a better welcome and expected a refrigerato in the room. Headwater would do better with a quality boutique hotel alternative, many of which we found attractive. We reccommend choosing a place away from Lovran, a town that was full of run down and ruined buildings. Volosko was a better alternative. Up in the hilltops were many OK places. We joined this trip to walk with family who had used your services before and were impressed by the standard of hotels and restaurants. They were offended by the standard at the Bristol. We thought the whole place was tatty. We hope our feedback will inspire improvements. We will certainly return to Croatia, but reccommend visits to other places as well. Nice walking companions make a trip such as this ideal for up to 8 people.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Dr Hodgson on 13/07/2013

*****
As a new holiday this year it all worked very well indeed. Istria is a lovely area and at the very beginning of July we were treated to abundant wild flowers, butterflies by the thousands, gorgeous views and stunning weather (though hotter then we had expected). Most days though we did have shaded sections to walk through. Loved the two hilltop towns we stayed in (Motovun and Buzet) and after leaving Buzet we did do a small (half hour) detour to visit the Vela Draga before starting our walk up Mount Ucka.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Shortman on 15/06/2013

*****
We really enjoyed our walks through unspoilt countryside, the wild flowers and butterflies in particular were delightful.The hotels in Motovun and Buzet were both excellent, and we enjoyed the food and wine.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Beck on 28/05/2013

***#.
A beautiful region. The holiday featured an enjoyable balance of destinations and experiences. Our excellent guide led us on some good walks that we would probably not have been able to find as ordinary tourists. However, we did have some reservations about aspects of the holiday and the extent to which it fulfilled the expectations of the advance publicity. (Further details are set out in the final section.)

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Ingram on 17/11/2012

*****
We have been on 17 Headwater Holidays and we found this to be very well organised , thought out and very enjoyable. We have highly recommended it to all our friends . The guide , hotels . places were an absolute delight . ( Our first hotel was changed days before departure but was stunning ) We have not stopped talking about this holiday sine we returned Brenda and Simon Ingram

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Woodward on 17/10/2012

*****
Meal first night rather disappointing. Nice to eat in the town, but walking away from a very nice five start hotel to eat what could really only be described as a typical basic "tourist" meal was a bit of an anti-climax. Fortunately the restaurants we were taken to subsequently improved. We also felt that this holiday was rather overpriced compared to similar holidays we have done with yourself and other companies. However, this really was a lovely experience in a beautiful country.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Hunter on 17/10/2012

***#.
I felt that the travelling on the change over days took too long , the distances involved were not clear in the brochure . I felt that the middle hotel was poor in view of the cost of the holiday , the mini bus driver was good but the bus was not comfortable and there were no seat belts . however the holiday was enjoyable and the guide was very good .

Headwater response

Thank you for your feedback on the traveling element of the holiday. We will certainly speak with our local agent about the points that you've raised, ALL vehicles used by Headwater are required to have seatbelts fitted and we will be dealing with as a matter of urgency. Many thanks again for bringing this matter to our attention.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Hankinson on 01/10/2012

*****
An excellent introduction to the beauty and diversity of the Croatian coast - historic cities, stunning coastline, dramatic waterfalls, attractive walks. We had an excellent leader in Sanja, who took us to places that we would otherwise not have been able to access and was enthusiastic and knowledgeable about her country .

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr McKenzie on 29/09/2012

*****
Sanya Reiter was an excellent guide for what was a very well organised and enjoyable holiday. The walks were easy and short. Our 21st holiday with Headwater!

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Henderson on 29/09/2012

***#.
Enjoyable, well-led holiday, and especially strong on selection of restaurants (all outside the hotels). Our guide/leader Sanja was enthusiastic, energetic and knowledgable. She deployed her local knowledge (of people, places, contacts, restaurants etc.) very effectively. The walking was at the low end of one boot. Most of our group of 9, us included, would have appreciate more time walking and a bit more challenge too.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Rankin on 24/09/2012

*****
My first experience of Croatia was brilliant. Our guide, Vanja, was fantastic and an absolute asset to the Headwater Group. Nothing was too much trouble. She was always extremely helpful. The itinerary was accurate and allowed us to see as much as we could in the one week we were there. Walking was also good. I personally enjoyed the ferry trips to the islands we visited! Really interesting country.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Willis on 24/09/2012

*****
The holiday was very enjoyable; friendly small group, good hotels and food. Vanja was a brilliant tour guide, she made sure we all had a good holiday, was enthusiastic, friendly, very helpful and caring. However, we would have preferred to spend more time in Split and less time in the museum on Brac Island.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Teague on 24/09/2012

***#.
Great local guide who was available 24/7. She gave us an amazing flavour of her country and was hugely enthusiastic.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Langdon on 24/09/2012

*****
Croatia is an absolutely wonderful place to visit. The trip was extremely well organised. It was a pity on the flights that we had to change planes at Zagreb. Also, although I did not book at the last moment, I had to pay a very hefty surcharge for the flight. Vanya, our guide, was absolutely outstanding. She could not be faulted in any way and I would say that she is the best guide I have ever had on any holiday. I was the eldest of the party and, at times,I needed help when the terrain was difficult - she was always there. If all guides could be as good as Vanya, it would just be marvellous.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Collman on 24/09/2012

*****
We felt we gained a good insight into Croatia; we enjoyed the balance between cities, mountains, sea + islands and a national park. Both the tour leader and the driver were excellent. 10 is an ideal number for a group.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Lobban on 24/09/2012

*****
This was an excellent holiday and the guide Vanje was a marvellous asset to the group. Her knowledge, cheerfulness and helpfulness really made the experience good. The hotels and restaurants were all very good and the programme was varied with a good combination of walking, cultural activities and lovely boat trips. The walks in the National Park was and to the Monastory were particularly good because there were no crowds and the scenery was stunning.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Bagnall on 23/07/2012

***#.
Three lovely places visited. Dubrovnik after our lovely evening meal in the open under trees was superb in the sunshine and a lovely place to walk round afterwards. Not far from the Hotel either. Beautiful country, wonderful colours of the sea around some lovely islands. Croatian people were friendly and with such a checkered history its surprising how they have recovered and not ruined their lovely countryside. We had the traditional meal of lamb with vegetables and a side salad, eaten out in the sunshine - absolutely delicious - particularly well earned after an enjoyable walk to the restaurant.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Springett on 07/07/2012

*****
Great holiday with a lovely bunch of people.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Taylor on 30/06/2012

*****
Excellent week with a good range of activities, excellent tour leader and a very good group.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Parkinson on 23/06/2012

*****
Sanja, our guide was really good. So enthusiastic, attentive & well organised but also great fun

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Bird on 16/06/2012

*****
Brilliant ! Had a lovely time - thank you very much .

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Renton on 16/06/2012

*****
Varied and enjoyable. Really good guide and group.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Shih on 16/06/2012

***#.
Food was mediocre. But logistics handled well by local guide and we got to go on hikes which we could never have done had we travelled alone

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mis Monteith on 11/06/2012

*****
Very well organised and enjoyable introduction to Dalmatian coast, good accommodation in excellent locations, great restaurants, very friendly travelling companions, all made special by superb and very thoughtful lead guide Vanja, very helpful and friendly Sanja and excellent driver Ive.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Walker on 11/06/2012

*****
Really enjoyed the holiday. Vanja and Sanja (who was taking over on the next trip) were excellent guides and made sure everything went to plan. It was one of the best Headwater holidays we have had - this is our 6th!. The area is one of outstanding beauty, the balance between visits and walking were perfect and the food and accomodation excellent. Our guides were full of energy and nothing was too much trouble, they were a pleasure to be with for the holiday.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Craven on 26/05/2012

*****
very enjoyable Vanja exceptional

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Roberts on 00/00/0000

***#.
Lovely country. Romina was an excellent guide. The Buzet loop walk was boring and the notes were not adequate

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Defries on 00/00/0000

*****
Very well organized, would recommend to all.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs McDonagh on 00/00/0000

*****
brilliant holiday,well packaged,very thorough instructions,great locations

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mrs Saunders on 00/00/0000

*****
The 2 hill top hotels were excellent. Perhaps more warning should be given that these are steep uphills at the end of the days walk to arrive at hotel. Buzet really had nothing available in the old town, I had thought there might just be a little more, perhaps. Glad we were there only 2 nights.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Burgess on 00/00/0000

*****
As above maybe reduce prices.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mr Nicholson on 00/00/0000

*****
The package of walks in Croatia was very good, albeit challenging at times. The local rep was excellent and helpful at all times. The accommodation was well chosen and all transfers were timely and efficient. Overall it was an excellent package and we would recommend it to others. This was our second Headwater walking holiday and lived up to the standards set by the first one. We will certainly look to do similar walking holidays with Headwater in future.

Castles to Coast Walk

By Mis Lloyd on 00/00/0000

*****
Beautiful area of undiscovered gems of hilltop villages, lovely hotels, excellent representative and great 'real' food. Late July rather hot but still enjoyable as the walks could be started early in the morning thanks to hotels doing early breakfasts

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Reynolds on 00/00/0000

*****
The delights of the Dalmation Coast walk is a wonderful mix of walking and culture.The area is truly delightful as the holiday name suggests. The holiday was made extra special by Vanja, our wonderful, cheerful, enthusiastic, helpful and overall perfect guide! What is great about a small group holiday is that when circumstances require it, the itinerary can be changed very quickly and seamlessly and we still have a fantastic day. The only minor problem is that the menu choices were often limited although the places we ate at were generally good (do not expect fine dining!).