Customer reviews: Guided walking in Croatia

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our walking holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their walking holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their walking holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Hughes on 13/06/2016

*****
We decided to combine the Highlights of Montenegro Walk and Delights of the Dalmatian coast Walk. We took the first date in May. Imagine our surprise on waking on the first morning, to find a thick layer of snow had fallen overnight and was continuing to snow quite heavily. We hadn't anticipated snow at all and ended up wearing as many clothes as we could! However it made the mountains and forests look even more beautiful. It started to melt the next day and conditions were very slippery. Poles were needed by most people. In Croatia the temperatures soared into the 30's and we found the walks on day 5 and day 7 very challenging, steep, stoney paths,very hot. We felt this was more than a one boot holiday. The first hotel in Dubrovnik was five star and very nice but not necessarily needed for a walking holiday, especially as we had virtually no time to use the facilities. We had great guides and drivers and everything was very well organised. We had an enjoyable holiday in amazing scenery.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Horstead on 29/09/2015

*****
Stunning scenery, well chosen itinerary and hotels, knowledgeable and helpful guides. A busy programme.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Maddison on 02/07/2015

*****
We had a brilliant time in Croatia; it was our first time there and we can't wait to return. Our guide, Krsto, was very informative and helpful, and the itinerary was interesting.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Strickland on 17/06/2015

*****
The only problem with our holiday was that we did not receive the good quality maps which were promised and which we would still like to receive! Our walking holiday in Dalmatia was our first experience of a group holiday, so we weren't sure quite what to expect. Fortunately, our guide, Sanja, took us all in hand and her good humour and efficiency made all the difference. We cannot speak highly enough of her. We were also fortunate in that we got on well with all the other members of the group, and the atmosphere generally was very good. We didn't do quite as much walking as we had hoped - the first day was virtually rained off - and we spent quite a lot of time on the minibus, but it was worth it to be able to enjoy three such excellent locations in one week. Some of the group thought the standard of food in the first few days was not high enough. We're not complaining but we would have been prepared to pay a bit more for a wider choice. Anyway, it was a most enjoyable week and we would certainly consider going on another Headwater holiday.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Belchambers on 15/06/2015

***#.
The holiday was made perfect by are wonderful guide Sanja . This was my first visit to the Dalmation coast it is truly the very best coast line I have ever seen so clean and the people so friendly . The group were both interesting and good fun we were 14 and I do think that was perfect . The food on the whole was some what disappointing it would have been nice to have eaten in the hotels . My only other comment would be the grading I felt that all though we did not do a great deal of walking some of the walks were very testing and more like a 2 boot . This was my first time with Headwater I will be traveling with them again very soon hopefully . Denise Belchambers from the Cotswolds

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Clegg on 09/06/2015

*****
An excellent holiday with a nice combination of sightseeing and walking in the beautiful Dalmation Coast. A good holiday was made great by the fantastic Sanja Reiter who was an outstanding guide. As a PhD student of Croatian history she brought a special advantage for briefing us and telling the story of the region and the country. One slight disappointment was the limited choice of dishes as we always seemed to be 'off-menu' and it was especially hard for one of us a non-fish and seafood eater. And Headwater can't help Croatian food! But overall not too bad and the breakfast buffet at Dubrovnik Palace Hotel was outstanding. Don't miss this super holiday.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mis Puritz on 05/06/2015

***#.
A very good holiday for sightseers who want to do some walking as well. The Dalmation coast must be one of the most beautiful places in Europe.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Lewin on 04/06/2015

**#..
Sanja , our guide was incredibly knowledgeable about almost anything we asked . She has a great sense of humour and it always seemed that she was enjoying her time with our group and not just doing a job . Would have liked a whole day to discover Dubrovnik . Holiday spoilt by poor quality of lunches and evening meals .

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Emerson on 04/06/2015

*****
Very intereesting tour, with good local tour guides. Could have done with more free time in Dubrovnic so a closer hotel might have been useful. However, the facilities and beach at the Hotel Dubrovnic Palace outstanding.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Spencer on 14/10/2014

*****
Croatia is a beautiful country with miles of unspoilt coastline , lovely islands and friendly people . Dubrovnik is a fascinating city and the waterfalls at Krka were spectacular .The holiday was extremely enjoyable and our guide Sanja was very helpful and a delight .

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Woollen on 22/06/2014

*****
An excellent holiday: a beautiful country, perfect weather, wonderful walks/culture tours, good company, delicious food, lovely accommodation and a brilliant guide in Sanja.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs McInnes on 18/06/2014

*****
We have undertaken 9 holidays with Headwater and they have always delivered what they say they would deliver. The guides are the cream of the crop , Sanja was one of T&E best we have had in the 10 years of Headwatering .

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Drabble on 18/06/2014

*****
Well organised and a good combination of walking and sightseeing

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Saunders on 22/05/2014

*****
Well organised, excellent guide and transport. Expensive compared to package tour but well worth the extra for the personal service and all the organisation is done for you! Tours, visits and hotels well chosen and walks were lovely.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mis Bernstein on 20/09/2013

*****
Great holiday and great guide. Croatia was very beautiful and the people very friendly, mostly speaking good English. Dubrovnik was outstanding and far exceeded my expectations and I hope to return very soon. There was a great atmosphere, and walking in the warm evening air after dinner, through the crowded squares and streets was a delight. The only problem was the food which, on the whole, was extremely disappointing and certainly not up to the standard, I have experienced on all the other Headwater holidays I have taken. There was little variety in the starters and far too much fish (unfilleted) for me. Only one day did we have a choice. Usually the same vegetables were served - always chard with potatoes with fish. The desserts, when we had them, were good and the breakfasts in the hotels were good - particularly in the hotel in Dubrovnik. Croatian wines were good but very expensive - £30 upwards!

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Newman on 15/09/2013

***#.
The Dalmatian coastline is outstanding, a really beautiful area and one of the best locations in the Mediterranean/Adriatic region. Overall, the meals were disappointing with little choice and not to the quality expected for the price of the holiday. Also, to use low cost airlines such as Easyjet, which impose additional costs for comfortable seats, is inconsistent with the price of this holiday. The success of the holiday was largely due to Sanja's efforts

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Brown on 13/09/2013

***#.
Very enjoyable holiday with an excellent guide. The walk was certainly not leisurely but everyone managed it. The distances were not great but the gradients were steep and taxing, especially in 30 degrees of heat.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Watson on 24/07/2013

*****
Excellent holiday, with even more value added by leader Sanja, who made sure everything ran like clockwork. She was also most informative and helpful, very patient, and with a great sense of humour.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Wrigley on 10/07/2013

*****
The high score I have given you is due mainly to Sanja Reiter who is an excellent guide and a credit to Croatia.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Brooke on 09/07/2013

*****
An excellent holiday. No real criticisms except for the aeroplanes flying a few feet over the hotel in Trogir; and the drastically early departure from Gatwick. It did, however, seem rather expensive for what it was.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Beck on 28/05/2013

***#.
A beautiful region. The holiday featured an enjoyable balance of destinations and experiences. Our excellent guide led us on some good walks that we would probably not have been able to find as ordinary tourists. However, we did have some reservations about aspects of the holiday and the extent to which it fulfilled the expectations of the advance publicity. (Further details are set out in the final section.)

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Ingram on 17/11/2012

*****
We have been on 17 Headwater Holidays and we found this to be very well organised , thought out and very enjoyable. We have highly recommended it to all our friends . The guide , hotels . places were an absolute delight . ( Our first hotel was changed days before departure but was stunning ) We have not stopped talking about this holiday sine we returned Brenda and Simon Ingram

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Woodward on 17/10/2012

*****
Meal first night rather disappointing. Nice to eat in the town, but walking away from a very nice five start hotel to eat what could really only be described as a typical basic "tourist" meal was a bit of an anti-climax. Fortunately the restaurants we were taken to subsequently improved. We also felt that this holiday was rather overpriced compared to similar holidays we have done with yourself and other companies. However, this really was a lovely experience in a beautiful country.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Hunter on 17/10/2012

***#.
I felt that the travelling on the change over days took too long , the distances involved were not clear in the brochure . I felt that the middle hotel was poor in view of the cost of the holiday , the mini bus driver was good but the bus was not comfortable and there were no seat belts . however the holiday was enjoyable and the guide was very good .

Headwater response

Thank you for your feedback on the traveling element of the holiday. We will certainly speak with our local agent about the points that you've raised, ALL vehicles used by Headwater are required to have seatbelts fitted and we will be dealing with as a matter of urgency. Many thanks again for bringing this matter to our attention.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Hankinson on 01/10/2012

*****
An excellent introduction to the beauty and diversity of the Croatian coast - historic cities, stunning coastline, dramatic waterfalls, attractive walks. We had an excellent leader in Sanja, who took us to places that we would otherwise not have been able to access and was enthusiastic and knowledgeable about her country .

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr McKenzie on 29/09/2012

*****
Sanya Reiter was an excellent guide for what was a very well organised and enjoyable holiday. The walks were easy and short. Our 21st holiday with Headwater!

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Henderson on 29/09/2012

***#.
Enjoyable, well-led holiday, and especially strong on selection of restaurants (all outside the hotels). Our guide/leader Sanja was enthusiastic, energetic and knowledgable. She deployed her local knowledge (of people, places, contacts, restaurants etc.) very effectively. The walking was at the low end of one boot. Most of our group of 9, us included, would have appreciate more time walking and a bit more challenge too.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Rankin on 24/09/2012

*****
My first experience of Croatia was brilliant. Our guide, Vanja, was fantastic and an absolute asset to the Headwater Group. Nothing was too much trouble. She was always extremely helpful. The itinerary was accurate and allowed us to see as much as we could in the one week we were there. Walking was also good. I personally enjoyed the ferry trips to the islands we visited! Really interesting country.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Willis on 24/09/2012

*****
The holiday was very enjoyable; friendly small group, good hotels and food. Vanja was a brilliant tour guide, she made sure we all had a good holiday, was enthusiastic, friendly, very helpful and caring. However, we would have preferred to spend more time in Split and less time in the museum on Brac Island.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Teague on 24/09/2012

***#.
Great local guide who was available 24/7. She gave us an amazing flavour of her country and was hugely enthusiastic.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Langdon on 24/09/2012

*****
Croatia is an absolutely wonderful place to visit. The trip was extremely well organised. It was a pity on the flights that we had to change planes at Zagreb. Also, although I did not book at the last moment, I had to pay a very hefty surcharge for the flight. Vanya, our guide, was absolutely outstanding. She could not be faulted in any way and I would say that she is the best guide I have ever had on any holiday. I was the eldest of the party and, at times,I needed help when the terrain was difficult - she was always there. If all guides could be as good as Vanya, it would just be marvellous.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Collman on 24/09/2012

*****
We felt we gained a good insight into Croatia; we enjoyed the balance between cities, mountains, sea + islands and a national park. Both the tour leader and the driver were excellent. 10 is an ideal number for a group.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Lobban on 24/09/2012

*****
This was an excellent holiday and the guide Vanje was a marvellous asset to the group. Her knowledge, cheerfulness and helpfulness really made the experience good. The hotels and restaurants were all very good and the programme was varied with a good combination of walking, cultural activities and lovely boat trips. The walks in the National Park was and to the Monastory were particularly good because there were no crowds and the scenery was stunning.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Bagnall on 23/07/2012

***#.
Three lovely places visited. Dubrovnik after our lovely evening meal in the open under trees was superb in the sunshine and a lovely place to walk round afterwards. Not far from the Hotel either. Beautiful country, wonderful colours of the sea around some lovely islands. Croatian people were friendly and with such a checkered history its surprising how they have recovered and not ruined their lovely countryside. We had the traditional meal of lamb with vegetables and a side salad, eaten out in the sunshine - absolutely delicious - particularly well earned after an enjoyable walk to the restaurant.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Springett on 07/07/2012

*****
Great holiday with a lovely bunch of people.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Taylor on 30/06/2012

*****
Excellent week with a good range of activities, excellent tour leader and a very good group.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Parkinson on 23/06/2012

*****
Sanja, our guide was really good. So enthusiastic, attentive & well organised but also great fun

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Bird on 16/06/2012

*****
Brilliant ! Had a lovely time - thank you very much .

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Renton on 16/06/2012

*****
Varied and enjoyable. Really good guide and group.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Ms Shih on 16/06/2012

***#.
Food was mediocre. But logistics handled well by local guide and we got to go on hikes which we could never have done had we travelled alone

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mis Monteith on 11/06/2012

*****
Very well organised and enjoyable introduction to Dalmatian coast, good accommodation in excellent locations, great restaurants, very friendly travelling companions, all made special by superb and very thoughtful lead guide Vanja, very helpful and friendly Sanja and excellent driver Ive.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mrs Walker on 11/06/2012

*****
Really enjoyed the holiday. Vanja and Sanja (who was taking over on the next trip) were excellent guides and made sure everything went to plan. It was one of the best Headwater holidays we have had - this is our 6th!. The area is one of outstanding beauty, the balance between visits and walking were perfect and the food and accomodation excellent. Our guides were full of energy and nothing was too much trouble, they were a pleasure to be with for the holiday.

Delights of the Dalmatian Coast Walk

By Mr Craven on 26/05/2012

*****
very enjoyable Vanja exceptional