Customer reviews: Holidays in Carinthia

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Lakes and Mountains of Carinthia Walk

By Mrs Harrison on 30/08/2016

*****
a great holiday with a good balance between activity and rest and lots to occupy on rest days

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mrs Irving on 17/08/2016

***#.
We had a mixed experience, but overall enjoyed the holiday. The cycling was great, and the scenery was fantastic. The bikes and the route notes were both extremely high quality. Most of the hotels were wonderful, but the Familie Burgstaller was really geared to families with young children rather than older couples. The reps were 20 minutes late both collecting us from the station when we arrived and to take us back to the airport at the end, which wasn't very professional. Also our rep on arrival said that he had not cycled any of the routes for the last 3 days of our cycle trip so therefore couldn't give us any advice whatsoever about those sections of the journey! And obviously the problem with being booked onto the wrong flight from Heathrow to Vienna didn't get the holiday off to a good start.

Lakes and Mountains of Carinthia Walk

By Mr Brook on 08/08/2016

***#.
Whilst the hotels on the walking trip were very good they were generally a lot larger and less traditional than places we had stayed in before when travelling with Headwater. The exception was the hotel at Bodensdorf which had far more character.

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mrs Robertson on 22/07/2016

*****
An excellent holiday with a very high standard of hotel throughout. Without doubt our favourite hotel was the Lindenhof, where we had a beautiful suite of rooms all immaculately presented, and the staff were unbelievably friendly. The cycling was virtually all on cycle tracks, in the main interesting and varied but occasionally a bit dull e.g.. alongside the River Drau which seemed to go on for rather a long time. The bikes were excellent and the comfiest saddle I have ever experienced. The variety of things to do on the non-cycling days was excellent and Headwater's suggestions all very helpful. The complimentary Carinthia Card (allowing free access to various attractions) was a good idea and was made full use of on the non-cycling days.

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mr Davis on 03/09/2015

*****
Having done all of the other Headwater cycling holidays in Austria this one proved to be the best. We were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful scenery and varied and interesting cycling routes through a part of Austria we had not been familiar with. All of the hotels were very good or excellent in all respects: location, accommodation, food, and friendliness of staff. Gareth, the Headwater rep who met us at Villach rail station was excellent and could not have been more helpful and informative. Our bikes were brand new and didn't miss a beat during the whole holiday. We added on two extra nights in Munich at the end of the holiday, which proved to be an excellent decision. What a beautiful and interesting city! The 'two bike' rating of the route is probably correct - 95+% of the route is flat, gentle uphill or downhill, whilst there are three of four uphill sections where we had to get off and push. The nice thing about these was that they were followed by fantastic downhill stretches! Wish I could do it again!

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mrs Morton on 01/07/2015

***#.
Austria is a beautiful country to cycle in and there are good cycle tracks and paths which take you off the beaten track and help you discover the wonderful countryside. The people are very friendly and helpful but be aware there are some long steep inclines on the route.

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mr Goulding on 22/06/2015

*****
Austria is extremely cycle friendly - the whole route was mostly off road, very peaceful with spectacular scenery.

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Dr Fine on 17/06/2015

*****
A very enjoyable holiday, particularly the days at Burgstaller and Lindenhof. Beautiful countryside, better appreciated from higher altitudes: I would encourage visitors to walk or cycle uphill from these two hotels for really spectacular views. The Sandwirth was a disappointment. It is an ordinary city hotel in a town/city which has little to commend it. I would have preferred extra days in the Burgstaller and/or Lindenhof, or a hotel outside the city centre. Local rep. Gareth was delightful, always helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Headwater response

Dear Dr Fine, Thank you for taking the time to complete your post-holiday feedback, it was lovely to read that you had an enjoyable holiday, taking in all of the sights and sounds this beautiful region has to offer. We were however sorry to read of your disappointment with the Hotel Sandwirth. As we continue to improve and develop our holidays for future customers, we are sure you will be pleased to hear that we have taken on board the feedback we have received for this holiday and from this, we have decided to change this hotel for 2016. Replacing it with a hotel located very close to the Lakeside. We are sure you will agree this change will continue to improve the overall enjoyment of this holiday. We would like to thank you for travelling with Headwater this year and look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future. Yours sincerely, Headwater customer service team

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mrs Campion on 17/06/2015

*****
Great cycling in some lovely scenery. Our weather was a bit mixed but all the routes are suitable for rain or sun. We made good use of the Karnten card, especialy at Bodensdorf and used both the boats and the cable car / chair lifts to get to some fantastic views. Lots to do on the days off, but we tended to cycle anyway. Fab hotel at Bodensdorf with wonderful pool and spa facilities, could have happily spent a week there!

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mrs Bews on 16/06/2015

***#.
We totally loved Austria. The route was fantastic and not as challenging on the bikes as we anticipated. All the lakes were fabulous. The food amazing and people so friendly. We would love to go back again. Recommend this holiday for everyone

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mr Higton on 28/05/2015

*****
This was our favourite Headwater cycling holiday, the country was just beautiful with superb views, top notch hotels and in Gareth, the best rep we've had! The locals were very welcoming and its nice to be off the usual tourist track. The weather was unpredictable but we were lucky with only a brief rainfall on 2 days. It got pretty warm though. The 6k climb on the first day was a touch testing but do-able ! We were lucky that the road around Ossiacher See was closed on Sunday 17th May for a few hours to allow free access to families to cycle and roller blade around the car free main road.

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mr Duckworth on 27/05/2015

*****
Another excellent Headwater holiday (our third - and we will be back). The bikes were, as always, ideal for the kind of touring; clean, well-maintained with a wide range of gears. The 'hidden lakes route' was perfect; occasionally challenging, always scenic. As usual it's imossilbe to grade the route in terms of difficulty, as so much depends on individual cycling fitness and experience. Most of us do a fair bit of cycling, and so there were no problems. Yes, the famous 6k hill on day one was bracing, but we would not have missed it, and the free wheel down the other side was awesome. The route notes this year did not, as in previous years, contain any diagrams, which we missed. The notes were accurate, and well thought out, but over-wordy. The routes as far as possible avoided main roads, which was great. Please, please consider providing Garmin routes. Intermittant, poor wifi was a constant irritation in all the hotels. Three of the four hotels were excellent. However, the Sandwirth in Klagenfurt is a city-centre executive hatchery; perfectly helpful staff but, notwithstanding the choclate on the pillow (on first day, not the second...and when does one eat said choclate? Before or after teeth cleaning?) rather cold and clinical compared to the warm welcome at the other hotels. Central Klagenfurt itself is not the ideal place for a a cycling holiday; a more holiday orientated hotel on the outskirts or on the lake would have been much better. The standard of food was as good as you could expect in Austria. Nouvelle cuisine has yet to arrive, so the helpings were huge! Gareth, the Headwater rep, was outstanding; simply the best. A warm welcome, constantly cheerful and smiling. Nothing was too much trouble for him; he was always available and helpful above and beyond all that might be expected. There was one serious problem, which Headwater needs to address. For those coming from LHR to Vienna, the lack of time to change to the Klagenfurt flight is absurd. We made it, just, by a fast walk/jog through the airport, but a three of four minute delay (LHR flight late in, minor hold up in security, stopping for a pee...whatever) and we would have missed it. Some people did miss it, and were faced with hours in Vienna waiting for the next flight out, or a wearisome train journey. This needs sorting out. But, notwithstanding Vienna airport, this was (as is usual with Headwater) a great holiday and, as I say, we will be back.

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mrs Heller on 26/05/2015

***#.
Just needed to justify the 'fair' rating for location. We felt that the hotels were isolated and so difficult to walk into villages. They were resort hotels. Exception in Klagenfurt but not a very interesting or attractive town. The 'good' rather than excellent for the overall rating was really based on this not on the cycling or support we received. I would recommend a Headwater holiday but not this particular one.

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mr Johnston on 17/10/2014

*****
Good cycling in an interesting area not usually visited by people from the UK

Lakes and Mountains of Carinthia Walk

By Mr Howell on 17/10/2014

*****
Excellent mix of well chosen walks, in well chosen regions, with well chosen hotels. We know we can trust Headwater.

Lakes and Mountains of Carinthia Walk

By Mr McMillan on 25/09/2014

*****
The walking was excellent, all in all a great holiday

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mrs Roe on 27/08/2014

*****
Beautiful scenery. Lakes, rivers, mountains, flowers at every turn. Cycling quite demanding. We think 2.5 bikes, especially given the 6km climb on the first cycling day.

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mrs Rawle on 26/08/2014

*****
Pleasant and occasionally challenging cycling. Good hotels and beautiful scenery. English widely spoken. We would go again. A good addition to the Headwater portfolio.

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mrs Kimber on 04/08/2014

*****
Super sites and fun. Not sure we would go for a holiday with 2 flights so close together next time - to stressful.

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Ms Ray on 24/07/2014

*****
Our holiday was absolutely perfect, very well organised, fantastic bikes, great cycling routes, amazing scenery, wouldn't change a thing!

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mr Evans on 14/07/2014

*****
Good brochures. Excellent office liaison. Clear instructions. Well organized throughout. Highly recommended .

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mrs Laing on 27/06/2014

*****
Well organised

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mrs Kirby on 23/06/2014

*****
One of the best Headwater cycling tours we've been on. Lovely scenery, good hotels, friendly people.

Austrian Riviera Walk

By Mrs Beckham on 00/00/0000

*****
All arrangements were in place and ran smoothly. We enjoyed everything about our holiday and everything was as expected and hoped for.

Carinthia Lakeside Activities

By Mr Sherrard on 00/00/0000

*****
We had a tailor-made holiday based on one of your hotels, & it worked for us.

Cycling around Austria's Hidden Lakes

By Mrs Wilshaw on 00/00/0000

***#.
Great cycling holiday in some of the most scenic parts of Europe we have ever seen. Carinthia is blessed with its countryside, lakes and mountains and takes good care of them for all to enjoy. Headwater was a very good experience if a bit on the expensive side for UK visitors.