Customer reviews: Holidays in Brittany

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Ponting on 29/11/2016

*****
A well organised cycling tour thoroughly enjoyed by us both. Hotels were very well selected for the type of holiday, with much good food to enjoy whilst there. The luggage transportation was good and the Headwater Rep, Steve was amazing! well done to him for all he did for us!

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Towers on 09/11/2016

*....
I would advise potential customers to double check that the cycle rating reflects reality. For the Brittany Coastal holiday there is clearly a major discrepancy which completely ruined our holiday.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Berndsen on 23/08/2016

***#.
Great cycling. Authentic hamlets, nice quiet route.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Bridges on 23/08/2016

*****
Bikes and Cycling routes excellent. Very good choices of varied hotels - all very good locations. The Brittany coast is best seen by bike!

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mrs Monk on 17/08/2016

*****
A well structured, walking holiday on the Brittany coastline .

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mrs Evans on 16/08/2016

*****
Fantastic service from Steve and great routes to cycle. The Manoir des Portes served the most wonderful food. Both the Manoir and the Hotel Printania were full of character and gave wonderful service. Thank you!

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Clarke on 25/07/2016

*****
Careful consideration of grading and your own physical ability. Whilst every care is taken - cycling can be strenuous. Using electric bikes solves everything! ( But less exercise- but great for hills and admiring the country side! Using e-bikes helps multi generational inclusion and would enable less strong cyclists to participate easily on harder routes.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr File on 19/07/2016

*****
This area of Brittany is excellent for cycling with lots of off road cycling to interesting towns with lovely views. The long time Headwater rep here goes out of his way to provide support. He is the best rep we have had after over a dozen Headwater holidays.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mrs Long on 15/07/2016

*****
E bikes were excellent although son enjoyed physical demands of ordinary bike. Need to see them on more routes and more routes on an easy grading. Hotels can be a bit variable, all had their plus points but especially French Hotels can be a bit shabby. Need detailed larger scale maps are necessary to support the route notes which can be confusing. Food generally very good. The e bikes need to be able to manage demands of terrain and the needs of the riders.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mrs High on 15/07/2016

*****
A much enjoyed and excellent holiday giving us the opportunity to see some spectacular scenery. we did appreciate the days restbetween each walk as the walks were fairly demanding and the miles covered were probably to our limit.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Ms Gordon on 15/07/2016

*****
Stephen is a great asset to Headwater, he is outgoing, helpful and informative.Thank you again to the online staff of Headwater for a glorious 9 days!

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mrs Lynn on 15/07/2016

*****
Good food, good walking and good organization.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mrs Moffett on 13/06/2016

*****
We enjoyed it. very much. Steve was very good at adapting to our limited capacities.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Roberts on 06/06/2016

***#.
The holiday overall was good with two provisos It is a misnomer to call it a coastal cycling holiday. Very litle time was spent cycling along the coast or even close to it. It is harder than a 1 cycle holiday. It fits into the description of a 2 cycle holiday without a doubt. Too many times were spent walking the bicycle uphill. Only one of the 5 days could be considered 1 cycle.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mrs Ing on 06/06/2016

*****
A relaxing holiday in an unspoilt part of France. The coastal scenery is fantastic and the uncrowded stretches of beaches a joy to behold. What really made the holiday was Steve. He was so helpful and accommodating we were made to feel quite special.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mr Ingram on 03/06/2016

*****
A varied walk, first days along the magnificent coast and latterly along the river and into the forest. Comfortable Hotels and excellent food!

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Ms Jackson on 15/09/2015

*****
I am only learning to cycle, so some of the route was hard for me but the rep, Steve, was brilliant, very supportive and made sure I relaxed and built my confidence. The scenery was stunning and the route varied. Lovely holiday.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mr Still on 24/08/2015

***#.
Well researched, well organised, varied walks to interesting towns with an attractive mix of accommodation all supplemented by an excellent local rep.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mr Cook on 17/08/2015

*****
A very enjoyable experience in one of the lesser known (for Americans, at least) areas of France.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mrs Ball on 14/08/2015

***#.
This was my 16th cycling holiday with your company in the last 12 years! Had a really good time but the grading should be a 2 bike holiday as it was tough with lots of really steep hills. I was with my daughter and she found parts of it challenging. We stayed in the walkers hotel in Dinan as the cyclists was full at the time of booking. I paid 100 euros to upgrade to a room at the back of the hotel as the front was too noisey. The room was small with a large bathroom but not really worth the amount extra I paid. I think you should maybe look to have a different hotel in Dinan as there seemed to be lots of good hotels with more competitve rates which would be better. The proprietor and staff at the Hotel d'Avaugour were not welcoming and at times quite rude. There was no hot water on the first morning. As for your rep STEVE - he is amazing. So helpful, kind and thoughtful. You need to look after him. He is taking lots of photos for your monthly competition! I hope to book with you again next year. Josephine Ball

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mrs Riseborough on 21/07/2015

*****
I appreciated the choice of routes given on one of the days and the rep gave us many tips to add to our enjoyment eg a restaurant off the beaten track and certain view points. He also made sure we were aware of any obstacles on our route such as road closures.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Fletcher on 17/07/2015

*****
Really good holiday, challenging and rewarding.Loved the routes through the byways, hamlets and villages. Steve gave us lots of confidence, we felt that if there was a problem, he would soon sort it. However we did think it was quite expensive and the hotels and meals though very good did not quiet reach the standard that we might have expected. In 2007 we did a Loire valley cycling tour with Inntravel and their hotels and dinners were superior

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Ms Whiteaker on 07/07/2015

*****
The walking trip in Brittany was excellent. Our rep was brilliant, going out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed and more. The route notes were thorough and the walking itself was on lovely trails.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mrs Howard on 30/06/2015

*****
I am truely impressed with Headwater , Steve was fantastic , we rode together on 2 days. Mick the film maker/photographer joined on the last day , really great company. I'd love to see the movie you made of me cycling to promote Headwater .

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Broad on 22/06/2015

*****
The easy way to enjoy a cycling holiday abroad

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Ms Sampson on 19/06/2015

*****
Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience; a lovely lazy way of booking a really good holiday - everything is provided for and has been thought of. Excellent.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mr Rodesano on 15/06/2015

***#.
This was an excellent varied walk and well constructed taking in coastal paths, forest and river scenes and the beaches were superb.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr McGinn on 17/10/2014

*****
We find Headwater a very professional organisation. The cycling routes and notes are well thought out and the reps are knowledgeable and very helpful.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mrs Barrett on 17/10/2014

*****
Fantastic coastal walks. Distances are reasonable but remember as it is coastal you drop from cliff tops to sea and back up again. Fantastic beaches, well worth a return visit on the 'day off' from walking.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Dr Brech on 06/10/2014

*****
This was a good holiday made more enjoyable by perfect weather throughout. The cycling was varied and the terrain different and interesting. We spent two extra days in Dinan (we prefer 10-night tours) and found plenty to do. There were lots of opportunities for cafe stops throughout the tour. There were some hills but we four pensioners just walked up them - the countryside would have been less interesting without them! None was longer than 700 metres - nothing like the 3-km walks onto the Lot Valley causses or the 5-km slogs in the Jura. The rep, Steve, was excellent. We had heard good reports of him from other cyclists on earlier Headwater holidays and he fully lived up to his reputation. The loan of large-scale maps (1:25,000) was an excellent idea and should be taken up everywhere. And when we had our first bike problem in four years of Headwater cycling (a seized wheel bearing), he had the problem fixed with a new wheel within 30 minutes of the call for assistance. Informative, interesting and always cheerful, he is the gold standard to which every Headwater rep should aspire.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mr Tabrett on 22/09/2014

*****
This was a superb holiday made especially enjoyable by the exceptional help and untiring humour of your rep, Steve Barrington, who went way beyond the call of duty to look after everyone.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mrs Binns on 19/09/2014

*****
Varied locations made for an interesting cycling holiday, time given for exploring some of locations on foot or otherwise. Helpful information given

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Taylor on 16/09/2014

*****
This was our nineteenth Headwater cycling holiday and once again they delivered. An excellent selection of hotels in a variety of locations with accurately classified routes in between. We drove through the Tunnel but with the benefit of hind site we might have considered travelling to St Marlo as foot passengers, to be collected by their representative and taken to the first hotel. The countryside is charming, the coastal views amazing and once again it was rain free - that's only 3 days rain in 152 days of Headwater cycling holidays. I would not hesitate to recommend this holiday, but do a little practice on the bike before you go to get the full enjoyment.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Browne on 05/09/2014

*****
An excellent holiday with beautiful countryside and varied activities. Steve was the best rep we have ever had and his extra maps, information made the holiday that much more enjoyable. It was reassuring to have a spare inner tube and the bikes were well maintained.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Dr Taylor on 05/09/2014

*****
Great bikes, great service and a great holiday...thanks!

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mrs Lidgley on 29/08/2014

*****
Splendid! An escape from the normal!

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Carter on 27/08/2014

***#.
We are in our mid seventies and we wished to see if we could still manage to cycle the routes. We managed but found there to be more hills than anticipated and on reflection we would have been better to have taken our own bikes, particularly for my wife, this was not a reflection on the bikes provided but just what we were familiar with. We have used Headwater a lot in the past but cannot remember the division created by those who paid extra for higher standard. It was strange in restaurants seeing some being given better located tables thus removing any possibility of conversation, they also received much superior rooms. I suppose it reflects the age we now live in but in the past there was more a feeling of adventure and sharing it with other travellers.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Stamper on 18/08/2014

*****
Overall, this was a very enjoyable experience, one of the best we have experienced in France. We really appreciated the sea view room at the Hotel Printania.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Ms Bronger on 21/07/2014

***#.
Hotel rooms and area were great. We did upgrade every night. But don't expect the hotel food to be enough to keep you cycling the next day. Funky food with drizzle. The menu was repeated each night. We could have done with twice the amount we were given each night. Very expensive wine at all the hotels. Pleased we have been there but would not go on this holiday again.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Crockett on 10/07/2014

*****
Brilliant holiday, made us exercise! Hills were a challenge.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Ricketts on 12/06/2014

*****
Although there was an unexpected change to the accommodation at the end of the holiday the helpfulness of Steve meeting me off the St Malo ferry on the first day of the trip removed any further obstacle to the enjoyment of the holiday as my car was already located where I needed it to be for the return trip to the ferry on my last day. The bags were always present at the hotel to which I was moving when I arrived. The whole trip was made very enjoyable by the glorious weather and after the first transfer day any worrries I had about my baggage being transported were gone and I was able to enjoy the whole of the trip with a relaxed frame of mind. I would definitely consider a similar trip with Headwater now I am confident about their efficiency.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Ms Mulholland on 01/06/2014

***#.
As a solo walker I felt a great sense of achievement

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mrs Rees jones on 01/10/2013

*****
Excellent and very helpful local rep, Steve. The walks were quite long and the day walk from Dinard and Dinan had no places to stop en route for coffee or even to picnic apart from stopping beside the path/road.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mrs Craig on 25/09/2013

*****
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. It was very well organised with varied routes on almost deserted roads through beautiful countryside and coastline. Because it was very windy we found it more tiring than expected. Although the landscape is fairly flat there are some steep climbs. All the hotels(which were very different) were comfortable and the food of a high standard.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Dunn on 19/09/2013

*****
As you can tell from the above 'excellent' rating we had a very happy and memorable holiday and returned home feeling relaxed and fit. The holiday exceeded our expectations and we appreciated the level of planning and preparation that had been done by Headwater and by Steven (our Rep in Lamballe) to ensure that we had a trouble free and carefree time in Brittany. We loved it and are already thinking about which Headwater cycling holiday we could do next summer. With regards to the rating for 'level' of cycling - it was perfect for us, we are regular cyclists and 30 miles a day is a good average for us, but when we booked, we wondered if we would fine it too easy as it was classed as 'easy' and ok for people who hadn't been on a bike recently. I don't think I would have found it very enjoyable if I had been in that category. That's my only constructive criticism of the brochure - otherwise, we had a ball!! Many thanks.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mr Davies on 19/09/2013

*****
The Emerald coast walks are some of the best I have done. Your local rep. Steve Cunningham is excellent. Hotel at Lamballe has very good food and service, but the two rooms I had were fairly basic. The hotel Diane has good decor and service, but the food was a little disappointing. I did not much care for the Hotel Printannia, either the decor or the food. I had one good dinner and one rather mediocre one. The hotel D`Avaugour was excellent. In spite of my views about the hotels, I thoroughly enjoyed the holiday because of the lovely walks and gorgeous scenery.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mr Henderson on 11/08/2013

***#.
All in all we enjoyed the holiday. Helped that weather was good. Rep was good. Cycling was not easy at times but there was nothing that we could not manage (Even though walked up a few hills). Scenery was good but we were disappointed that two of the cycling days were not coastal routes. Sable D'0r Le Pins to Dinard particularly dull.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mrs Wilson on 03/08/2013

***#.
Overall it was a very enjoyable holiday made the more so by our excellent rep. It is an excellent way of seeing in detail a small part of, in our case, France.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mr Boyd on 23/07/2013

*****
This was our 10th French walk with Headwater. We had been putting off trying the Britanny coastal walk due to concerns about the possibility of bad weather but our fears were unfounded. In the event the weather was perfect for walking, the scenery was spectacular, there were lots of interesting places to see and visit, and we particularly loved our balcony overlooking the estuary at Dinard. Your local rep Steve could not have been more helpful. This was one of our favourite French walks and we would highly recommend it.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mrs Baser on 09/07/2013

*****
We had a fabulous time, thoroughly enjoyed the walks, though did find the route notes needed updating and clarifying in places - they're probably OK for very experienced walkers/mapreaders, but we're still relatively new to all this, and need things spelt out clearly, specifically and unambiguously! Steve the rep was brilliant, very informative and helpful. Food very good, hotels mostly fine, though our room in the Printania was a bit snug (but we did love their waitresses in full Breton outfits, set off perfectly by a lovely modern nose-stud!). Another excellent Headwater holiday - thanks!

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Ms Jorgensen on 28/06/2013

***#.
We were two 'grand old ladies' travelling together, the other quite inexperienced with this kind of holiday, and cycling every other day she met with great approval! Steve, the Headwater representative did absolutely everything to make the vacation a perfect one, and also his wife joined in. His historical and geographical knowledge is unique! The landscape was beautiful, and so was the people we met. The route was calm and easy to follow, except from some misunderstandings, but that I am used to, and is also the charm about it : ) Headwater was a new and good experience. Coming from Norway, this was my first cycling tour with a non-Scandinavian company. I have told a lot of friends about the walks and the cycling tours Headwater has :))

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mr Peacock on 23/06/2013

***#.
Overall a very enjoyable holiday. Particularly enjoyed the coastal walking. For us more time on the coast and miss out the trudge through the forest on the last day.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Ms Loly on 30/10/2012

*****
Headwater reps are always so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Steve provided lots of local information not otherwise available, as well as tips for the walking route. He went above and beyond our expectations, and added so much to our enjoyment of the area and to our trip. Although we have sometimes used other companies, Headwater stands out in the service it provides, an the quality of food and accommodation. Kudos to staff at Hotel de Diane in Sables d'Or les Pins who accommodated us beautifully in the midst of a very large conference group using the hotel too.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mr Britton on 01/10/2012

*****
We really enjoyed the week - a varied selection of walking routes, no difficulties navigating, four quite different places to stay and good weather. Congratulations on putting it all together and thanks for the effort you put in on our behalf - we will certainly be recommending the tour to our friends.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mrs Griffiths on 03/09/2012

***#.
Very enjoyable holiday - lovely resorts, coastline, food, but undulating pedalling rather than flat, with a few very busy road crossings with no provision for cyclists.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mrs Osborne-town on 07/08/2012

***#.
I loved the holiday and the settings, especially rural Brittany through quiet, pictoresque villages. I enjoyed the freedom from suitcase lugging and having to find accommodation. My only criticisms were: a)the cost and b)the grading of cycling difficulty- another woman and a man in our group- as well as me- found the routes hard going. I'd appreciate greater honesty in the route descriptions eg "this is a stiff climb" or "expect a gentle but very long uphill"- the good news was included, eg "enjoy coastal views as you freewheel into Sables d'Or" but to the virtual exclusion of the bad. I'd also like to receive details of those routes before I book and pay so I can make an informed decision.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Ms Allen on 07/08/2012

*****
The Headwater cycling holidays are a winning package - well designed and supported with all the practicalities taken care of.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mrs Cross on 07/08/2012

*****
A very enjoyable holiday, with a lovely wide range of places to explore (4 days by the seaside, 3 inland a good combination). We loved the freedom of exploring Brittany by bike - being able to stop whenever you felt like and go at your own pace - also the luxury of having a rep to tell us about all the local attractions. We bought ourselves some delicious picnics from the local patisseries/charcuteries, but this was the only cheap part of the holiday! The travel worked out the most expensive, as we like to travel by train and, as usual, left booking until the last minute, when (according to our Headwater rep!) all the cheap TGV tickets had gone. Moral of this story - book earlier next year! Helen and Roy Cross, Cambridge

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mr Suddaby on 23/07/2012

***#.
travel was problematic at times, see separate letter.Apart from that, very enjoyable.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mr Pearson on 07/07/2012

*****
Excellent walking and support from Steve whose local knowledge enriched the whole experience.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mr Wall on 30/06/2012

*****
A lovely break, with excellent accommodation and meals, with superb walking along the coast in particular.

Brittany's Emerald Coast Walk

By Mrs Anzarut on 23/06/2012

*****
One of the best Headwater Holidays we have taken.

Backroads of Brittany Cycling

By Mrs Thomas on 00/00/0000

*****
Excellent area to cycle. Beautiful coastline and an excellent way to experience the area.