Customer reviews: Independent walking in Britain

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our walking holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their walking holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their walking holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mrs Bryan on 14/09/2016

*****
Lovely route, fantastic scenery, quite challenging in some places and paths a little higher than expected for a person with vertigo.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mis Nair on 14/09/2016

***#.
A good holiday with manageable walks , nice weather and stunning coastal and countryside views . Best was Corfe Castle , a lovely little village overlooked by the impressive castle ruins. Accommodation fine except for the B + B in Weymouth ; room cheerless and austere , and location rather noisy ; was woke twice in the night by people shouting and swearing in the street below.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mrs Frames on 30/08/2016

*****
Overall had a fantastic holiday walking along the Jurassic coast. We were extremely lucky with the weather and pre-booked all but one of our evening meals (using Trip advisor) to ensure they too were of an excellent standard. The accommodation provided varied in style but all were scrupulously clean and offered an excellent selection of food at breakfast; the four star accommodation at the end of the holiday which included access to a heated outdoor pool and spa was especially welcome after all the walking. The route notes were excellent; very easy to follow.

Literary Walking in the Lake District

By Mrs Madeiros on 23/08/2016

*****
we loved it. you make the right choices. you care for detail. you are committed and reliable. you do all the hand work. we just turned up and paid. great!

Loch Ness and the Caledonian Canal Walk

By Mr Burridge on 23/08/2016

*****
A very enjoyable active holiday with wonderful scenery.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mr Pryor on 25/07/2016

*****
They were happy to wait unitl 10,00 a.m. to collect our luggage in the mornings, which was great,as we were on holiday and didn't want to rush our breakfast, before walking. All the hotels were well chosen. The holiday was well thought out. We took the wrong route at Durdle Door and ended up on an extremely steep area, so listen carefully to the Rep's instructions. Our rep recommended restaurants for us and booked them, so we had a nice meal at Rick Steins in Poole, and several other nice places, that we might have missed otherwise. Make sure you take a sun hat, as there is not alot of shade on the walks. Expect to feel quite tired, unless you walk 8 miles on a regular basis.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mr Boyd on 19/07/2016

*****
The holiday provided us with an opportunity to visit and explore an interesting part of England which was unknown to us and the walks were varied with some spectacular scenery. Apart from the walking itinerary itself, there were lots of places and sites to visit, including Portland Bill, Brownsea Island, Corfe Castle, the Swanage Railway, and by way of expedition from Weymouth, both of Thomas Hardy's houses near Dorchester. As usual with Headwater the accommodation was comfortable and thoughtfully chosen.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mrs Currie on 13/07/2016

***#.
Good walking with fantastic scenery.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mrs Fairhall on 30/06/2016

*****
If you enjoy being in the open air enjoying the country then this holiday is great with very comfortable rooms and great food and places to see, I would recommend this to anyone.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mr Cheetham on 26/05/2016

***#.
For keen walkers who want a holiday organised for them, including luggage-transfer, and are prepared to pay, this is an excellent holiday, but not for the faint-hearted or unfit, as although the distances seem short, the walks are often very strenuous, and there are frequent opportunities for stumbling over loose surfaces, especially on descents. The route descriptions are meticulous, and well-marked,and there is really no need for map-reading. The evening food is often expensive, especially at The Haven, where there is really no local alternative.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Ms Cozort on 09/05/2016

*****
Beautiful region, fantastic scenery, good walks but not too strenuous.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mr Whitehurst on 15/09/2015

*****
Great opportunity to visit famous sites in UK within a structured organised and well supported walk

Loch Ness and the Caledonian Canal Walk

By Mr Stansbury on 31/07/2015

***#.
Notes need to be refreshed - paths have changed in places (wind damage) and other minor inaccuracies. Craigdarroch Inn room disappointing - it was over the kitchen and smelt of cooking all night. Rooms need to have bathrooms not shower-rooms to help recover after each day's walking. Timings for walking need to take into account bus times in order to have realistic expectations of where and when to stop for lunch (3rd and last days)

Loch Ness and the Caledonian Canal Walk

By Mr Gray on 07/07/2015

*****
This is the perfect holiday in which to experience the grandeur of the Highlands while using a brand new, but sparsely populated, long distance trail. The accommodation en route is of the highest order and compares favourably with similar Headwater packages on the Continent. I sincerely hope it is a success as I would dearly love to repeat the exercise.

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Ms Waddington on 24/06/2015

***#.
Wonderful walking trip - could definitely be done more challenging walking options outlined in route notes & more of the coatst covered. It really is a turquoise coast when the sun shines!

Jewels of the Jurassic Coast Walk

By Mr Martin on 09/06/2015

*****
A unique experience that gave great opportunities to see parts of the country that we might not see if we were traveling independently. Following the route notes gives you the confidence to venture further, knowing that you could then get back to your route. Having a rep at the end of the phone just in case anything went wrong gave us a sense of safety and security and proved invaluable when I was unable to walk on the final day.