Customer reviews: Cycling holidays in the UK

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our cycling holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their cycling holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their cycling holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Dorset and the Jurassic Coast Cycling

By Mrs McInnes on 19/07/2016

*****
A wonderful exploration of the Dorset countryside.Very friendly locals,good hotels,very good cycles provided by Roy Griffiths from sign post cycling who gave us an extra days use of the cycles at no charge.

Loch Ness and the Highlands Cycling

By Mr MacDonald on 15/06/2016

*****
Wonderful chance to experience the Scottish Highlands and Loch Ness region. Everyting great including the weather!

Dorset and the Jurassic Coast Cycling

By Mr Crossland on 10/09/2015

*****
The route and places visited were superb. There were a variety of options for sightseeing and plenty of time to see them properly. We enjoyed the variety of challenges for cycling with some long off road sections, a few steep inclines and practically no riding on busy roads. The written instructions were very helpful. As with other cycling tours we have taken it would have been beneficial if the route was pre-marked on the map provided and perhaps a few more cross references between the map and written instructions. If arriving by car, it is most important to phone Roy the local representative to help you sort the complex parking arrangements in Weymouth Swannery carpark. He is an excellent ambassador for Headwater. The Dorchester Sienna Restaurant was superb and visiting the Roman house is a MUST. When leaving Dorchester the route follows the Northern bank of the River NOT the right bank as written in the guidance notes. During the Wareham free day, we visited Swanage via the bus and steam railway. We visited the pier and saw a magnificent Tall ship and walked to the headland for good views of the Isle of Wight. We continued to walk on the Victorian coastal path to the excellent Durlston Castle for lunch and fantastic panoramic views. The Harbour Heights at Poole was the quality of Hotel we were expecting and provided superb views across Poole harbour. We returned to Swanage bus station by the half hourly bus service. Michelle from the Weymouth B&B found the cheapest (Fleetline) taxi return from Poole. This is a highly recommended way to return to Weymouth with suitcases.

Loch Ness and the Highlands Cycling

By Mr Gray on 10/09/2015

***#.
This was an interesting route in the Highlands, with plenty to see and experience. Weather was a problem on one day in particular, but you can't help that - it's been a bad summer in UK. Route needs a bit more work to sort out route instructions and generally settle down. Mileage each day conservative, but no harm in that as it allows for problems arising and time to experience features along the way

Dorset and the Jurassic Coast Cycling

By Mr Bailey on 01/09/2015

**#..
We went to Dorset in the wettest week of the year, so only managed half a days cycling. The local rep could not have been more helpful, driving us along the routes we were supposed to be cycling and pointing out the sights to see. Disappointed that in spite of phoning Headwater with our time of arrival, this was not communicated to the rep so we had to walk to our hotel. I am not sure this particular Headwater holiday is great value for money, as travel and dinner are not included, but I might be less critical had we had some decent weather.

Dorset and the Jurassic Coast Cycling

By Ms Skinner on 10/08/2015

*****
We were a group of three; two elderly parents and a sixteen year old son. We all thoroughly enjoyed the routes taken, places stayed and food eaten. It is a tricky task to ensure the enjoyment of three people with diverse interests, (my husband is an architect and loves old buildings!) so , I am very pleased that this holiday was such a success. Special mention of Roy who spent time and care ensuring that all was in order... And warned us about the steep climb up to Hardy's monument! I would recommend this holiday to anyone. The Dorset countryside is unbeatable, stunning and truly beautiful.

Loch Ness and the Highlands Cycling

By Mrs Ryan on 07/08/2015

***#.
Organisation and accommodation was first class, however weather was just bearable (both cold and Rainey), making it a tough cycle holiday. Also cycle notes for first day need rechecking as there are two obvious errors.

Dorset and the Jurassic Coast Cycling

By Mr Wignall on 31/07/2015

*****
Jurassic Coast cycling offered a superb variety of classic British countryside, thatched cottages, country lanes, ruined castles, sandy beaches and of course village greens with pubs. A few short hills provided brilliant views over Poole bay and the sea beyond and the route was a good mixture of quiet lanes, gravel tracks and minor roads. We mentioned a small tweek to the route notes around Corfe Castle to the rep you may suggest this amendment in the future. Unfortunately it rained for 4 days out of the 5 but thats the British summer for you !! How can we submit photos if we don't do Facebook?

Dorset and the Jurassic Coast Cycling

By Ms Singleton on 00/00/0000

*****
We loved our 4 day cycling holiday in Dorset. The B&Bs were excellent. The Kings Arms a little dated and the staff a little bored The Red Lion and Harbour Heights were perfect as were the staff. We definately want to do this again. Roy was so informative. The whole experieince was great. Thank you so much Del and Jackie