Customer reviews: Activity holidays in Bermuda

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Sir Brooke on 28/11/2016

*****
Bermuda is a delightful place and absolutely ideal in November: lovely climate, beautiful beaches, historic interest, luxuriant vegetation, helpful people, more British and Britain. There is even a Marks & Spencer. and an excellent hotel.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Brown on 18/11/2016

*****
Bermuda is slightly off the beaten track, the air temperature is good for walking but also swimming etc. Bermudans are exremely friendly and not once did we feel threatened or have to stop people trying to sell us goods.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Ms Kay on 13/06/2016

*****
Bermuda is a first class holiday destination. Walking round much of the island is a great way to experience the culture of the island first hand. Headwater enabled us to do that.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Wallace on 29/03/2016

***#.
Really enjoyed holiday in Bermuda. Beautiful island. Excellent walks. It is an EXPENSIVE destination, and therefore (for us) Special, But we don't regard Coco Reef as meeting 'special'. Fabulous location, but it's a bit tired, could do with freshening up, and no apparent sign of management involvement- maybe that's the Bermudian way? Furthermore its close to a Bermuda College, and during our stay a group of students were also resident, who although decent kids, kept different hours to us, and on 2 occasions kept us awake into the early hours. I don't think hotel management is doing itself any favours by mixing them with holidaying guests. Restaurant food excellent, but menu needs regular update, a bit 'samey'after a week.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Marsh on 27/11/2015

*****
Bermuda is friendly, beautiful and relaxing. We followed all walks but one and wished we had had longer to do more (the walks didn't leave enough time for visiting museums etc). Coco Reef was a lovely place to stay.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Beck on 17/06/2015

*****
Thank you, Headwater: we would never have thought of visiting Bermuda if your brochure had not suggested it as a base for a walking holiday, and we would have missed a treat. A delightful destination, with friendly and helpful people, a comfortable hotel in an attractive beach-side setting, some lovely walks along the old railway trail and the stunning coastline, and a range of places to visit and learn about Bermuda's fascinating history, customs and society. The accessibility of all parts of the island and its excellent (and entertaining) bus and ferry service make it easy to 'pick and mix' elements of the recommended walking routes. We made full use of this flexibility so we could spend time in some of the museums and historic houses that help bring Bermuda's rich history and culture to life, as well as exploring the various nature reserves that feature in some of the walks. Highly recommended (and we found May a perfect time to go - warmth and stunning flora).

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Little on 17/06/2015

*****
Generally very good.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Bishop on 21/05/2015

***#.
Beautiful location, average breakfasts, excellent evening meals although limited menu.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Greenhill on 29/04/2015

*****
Walking in Bermuda was described well in the brochure and ideal for those of us who don't want a sun/beach /pool holiday. The bus/ferry service was excellent for getting around either before walking or after, we sometimes split the walk over 2 days as we stayed an extra 3 days and decided that to go to the end point (often a sightseeing place) and walk back, rather than start by walking. Everyone was very friendly and willing to show us the way if we were unsure. The maps and the guide notes were good. We added in going on the glass bottom boat and swimmimg with the dolphins as extras but readily available.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Conaghan on 02/04/2015

***#.
We really enjoyed our holiday with you. We didn't meet our rep which was unfortunate ( he was unwell) . I had hoped that he may contact us later in the week. We followed all the walks which we enjoyed. We both thought that the Island was rather more suburban than rural. Really enjoyed the bus trips and Bermuda.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Steinbock on 11/03/2015

***#.
Lovely island with great walks. Eating and drinking out can be expensive

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Walker on 03/03/2015

***#.
Bermuda was excellent Costa Rica was a rushed experience rather than a holiday; there was too much road walking! We were disappointed with the Flora content

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Hills on 13/02/2015

***#.
The walking aspect of the holiday was great but the Coco Reef was a disappointment. The hotel needs to be refurbished and better maintained and the main hotel receptionist who was on duty during our stay was disinterested to the point of rudeness. Bermuda in the winter is an ideal walking holiday destination, but visitors need to be ready for a virtually empty hotel with a skeleton staff.

Headwater response

Dear Mrs Hills, Thank you for taking the time to provide your post-holiday feedback, it was great to see that you enjoyed the walking aspect of your holiday. Although, we were surprised to read of your disappointment with the Coco Reef. Ordinarily this hotel receives positive feedback. However, we realise that we cannot afford to let our high standards of accommodation and service slip, and have discussed your feedback with the hotel manager. He would like to offer an apology for the poor service you felt you received from the reception staff, and assures us this will be addressed immediately. There are also plans in the pipeline to replace the soft furnishings in the rooms and public areas. Whilst we realise this does not impact on your holiday, we hope that it goes some way to show we take the feedback we receive seriously. We would like to thank you for travelling with Headwater this summer and look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future. Yours sincerely, Headwater customer service team

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Neininger on 31/12/2014

*****
I can put in one word GO It`s worth it

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Pittam on 27/10/2014

*****
Bermuda was an excellent choice for a walking holiday & Coco Reef a great hotel. The food was better than our expectation. Walking was very easy just unfortunate that the storms had blocked the Railway Trail & paths. Just very unfortunate to have 2 storms hit within one week but cannot fault the care , help & advice given to us by Headwater - esp Lisa - & Tim who arranged taxi to airport etc

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Stather on 04/06/2014

*****
May is a good time to go for wildlife - and weather not too hot

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Dr Harrison on 01/06/2014

*****
Walks were slightly different to those in brochure, not a problem, but needs up dating. Very relaxing and enjoyable holiday. Bermudan people are extremely friendly and helpful, why can't we all be like that? Buses and ferries very reliable. Hotel looked a bit dated and the food was poor on Tues and Thurs - Island and Buffet night, so we went out as had read the headwater previous visitors book comments. Other nights the food was fantastic. Beach is rather small could be busy at peak times. Ran out of towels on 2 occasions. Can be very busy when the cruise ships are in. Overall, the walks were longer than advertised but very enjoyable. We had a great time. Lovely way to see Bermuda and some bits that others may not get too - Coopers Island.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Wright on 19/03/2014

*****
Walking pretty much as described, care needs to be taken on switching from rail track to road and vice versa… Avoid multiple bus changes at weekends as they run less frequently. The hotel has large parties of sporty types out of season, try to find out if any are there while you plan to stay, if there are, don't book. They are loud, boorish and their behaviour is totally unacceptable. Don’t expect the shop to be open out of season. Do take the ferries, though only one runs out of season. Do explore apart from your route notes, there are many other nature reserves to visit and also ramble around headlands, Simson's island particularly rewarding. The friendliness of the local people and the great hotel staff contribute to making this a really special destination and the stunning scenery everywhere is overwhelming.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Tuffill on 21/02/2014

***#.
The walking is pretty good but it especially suited us because there are good places to visit including the Aquarium, the Underwater Exploration Institute, the Museum at the Dockyard and the town of St George. The food at the hotel was very good quality and value as was the combined bus/ferry ticket which takes you everywhere on the islands. You can minimise the waiting times for the transport with some careful pre-planning. And you can walk straight from the hotel onto the sandy beach and swim in the warm ocean, even in February.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Kirby on 09/11/2013

*****
We found the route notes were a times lacking in information, distances from one point to the next for example, and at others over complicated when there was a perfectly good way mark to guide us. The hotel was excellent, very friendly, the food was very good, I did not repeat a dinner main course selection in the 11 days we were there!

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Howells on 07/11/2013

***#.
Walking is a great way to see a country, and Headwater provides a good service for doing so.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mr Fisher on 24/11/2012

*****
The hotel has lovely beach front location and excellent food. Enjoyable, safe and mainly level walking with lots to see and do. Easy access to buses and ferries. Bermuda is a delight!

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs James on 05/05/2012

*****
A lovely island with friendly people. The bus passes worked well but it was a shame that quite a lot of the walking was on road.

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Kingston on 08/03/2012

*****
Most enjoyable way to discover this island

Islands of Bermuda Walk

By Mrs Owen-jones on 10/02/2012

***#.
Good restful break. Rather quiet as off season -we were alone in the restaurant at times