Customer reviews: Holidays in The Bay of Naples

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our all holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their all holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their all holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Hales on 09/11/2016

*****
We thoroughly enjoyed this holiday. The walking was fantastic and our guide Louigi absolutely made it for us. His local knowledge and his stories of past and present were fascinating. We were really lucky to be with a lovely group of like minded walkers which all added to a memorable time. Our one niggle is that we were disappointed with the Hotel Bellavista. We did not think the food was very special and objected to having to choose your meal for the evening at breakfast time. Surely this should not be necessary! Two extra nights staying in Naples was interesting! Miles away from the tranquility of the Amalfi coast but well worth doing.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Ms Hawkes on 31/10/2016

*****
Lucia was an excellent guide .She was enthusiastic and informative and looked after us very well. The hotels were in good locations and the views were excellent. The Hotel Garden was in a lovely location but there were some niggles which could so easily be put right. Breakfast wasn't very good - for very little extra they could have produced fruit salad, better quality cereal and fresh milk. Also the breakfast tables were in such strong sunlight you couldn't enjoy breakfast and, when asked they wouldn't move the tables- they just suggested that we eat outside but it was too cold to do so. Hotel Garden's garden and swimming pool needed a bit of TLC. All little things but could have made a difference as it was in a great location. At the second hotel I would recommend that Headwater reserves rooms that are not on the ground floor because these are straight onto a busy road. Overall the holiday was very good indeed and met our expectations. Thank you Rosie

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Bali on 13/10/2016

*****
This was our second time with Headwater. We really enjoyed our holiday. The walks were well chosen and so were the towns where we stayed. The Amalfi coast is stunningly beautuful. Some of the popular walks can get a bit busy - there seemed to be a lot of Americans everywhere. We stayed in 4 different hotels and they were all different in character. The highlight was La Conca del Sogno, a family run hotel in a cove with a beach. Would certainly recommend this holiday.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Mathieson on 04/10/2016

*****
Very enjoyable holiday overall, staying in good quality hotels. We did find some of the walking a bit more challenging than we had anticipated. It rained on the day we did the Path of the Gods which made it slippery and therefore extra care needed to be taken. We were warned about the 1,000 plus steps down to Positano but maybe more warning about the descent to Marina del Cantone would be helpful for future walkers. The guidance notes were very accurate on the whole with one or two minor errors. We didn't get lost. The taxi drivers were all very pleasant and punctual and we had no problems. Our only criticism is that we were not contacted by a local rep. at all. This may have been because we were slightly delayed on arrival ( only half an hour). We also had to confirm our final taxi pick-up ourselves (via the hotel) as this hadn't been communicated to us in advance- a slight worry on the day before we were leaving.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mr Reilly on 04/10/2016

*****
Great Amalfi Coast experience, with friendly local guide Luigi to ensure that the very best of the area is experienced. His guided walks were superb, and the Garden Hotel in Ravello was particularly friendly and delightful with scenic views. Walking is a great way to enjoy the delights of this superb coastline, with not too many exertions, but a level of general fitness is needed. The trip to Pompeii was very good, Libby our guide ensured we saw the ' must see' parts and navigated us expertly through the sometimes busy parts. The other included excursions to the local Pizza making rural restaurant near Sorrento was very enjoyable, while the visits to the two lovely villas In Ravello were a brief cultural bonus. Overall a very worthwhile 7 day Amalfitana experience. Thanks for a lovely week.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs McDonough on 16/08/2016

*****
Well organised and great routes. Accommodation usually gives more of a local flavour than big anonymous chains.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Pearce on 25/07/2016

*****
A marvellous combination of: exercise and relaxation in wonderful locations, staying in top hotels with everything superbly organised.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Morrison on 16/06/2016

*****
A perfect way to enjoy the splendours of the Amalfi Coast from a perspective impossible for holidaymakers tied to the roads. The routes were planned so that each day's walking was different - from rugged cliff paths and breathtaking coastal scenery to peaceful lemon and olive groves and friendly villages. While this holiday does not have the same amount of walking we have had previously, we welcomed the days off as an opportunity to catch the ferry over to Capri and visit Pompeii and Herculaneum. All our 'standard' rooms at Amalfi, Positano and Marina del Cantone had wonderful sea views. We upgraded to be sure of a sea view in Sorrento and were booked in to the fabulous Belair Hotel - would really recommend this - and indeed the whole holiday.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Hewson on 06/06/2016

*****
What a great way to see the Amalfi/Sorrento peninsula. The walks take you through stunning scenery away from the roads - areas that you would definitely not see from a car or a bus. The Walk along the Path of the Gods is breath taking. You also get the opportunity to see a wonderful array of colourful wild flowers. Don't miss Ravello and the two villas with their stunning gardens. The walk back to Amalfi from Ravello is very interesting for its industrial archaeology. The Capodimonte and Luna Convento Hotels were particularly luxurious and we had great sea views. The food in both was very good with plenty of choices. We had booked 2 extra nights in the Capodimonte and were told before leaving the UK that we had half board on one of the nights so we were delighted to find that in fact the price we had paid included dinner on all four nights. Pompei and Heraculeum are very interesting and a must. If you are going to see them by train from Sorrento, it is a good idea to go early afternoon rather than morning as the trains and the sites are less busy then. Headwater take note:that we did see a snake crossing the path before Massa Lubrense. My husband said it was only about 2 feet long but I think it was more like 6 feet!! It was jet black. The internet says that this type is completely harmless and in fact is a good garden aid as they eat pests. If visiting Massa Lubrense on your way to Sorrento, it is worth walking right down from the main square to the terrace overlooking the sea and going down the steps to the restaurant 'Il Cantuccio'. It serves great food in a shaded terrace adorned with colourful flowers and with wonderful views of the sea and Capri. All in all - what a great holiday! Janet Hewson 31 May 2016

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Floyd on 11/05/2016

*****
VERY well organised. HIGHLY efficient. Excellent hotels. Hard to beat

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Allan on 06/05/2016

*****
Hotels selected were superb (a higher standard than we would normally select for ourselves - that is one of the real pleasures of travelling with Headwater). Pick ups and tranfers were seamless and enjoyable - it was a delight to hear the drivers laugh! Food through out was excellent. Check out board arrangements - Grand Hotel Capodimonte actually provided half board for the duration of the stay (and not just the first night!) and this included a free salad buffet every evenning. Towards the end of the first day walk from Ravello to Amalfi (after the ruined foundry) there is a restored warehouse called Agricola Fore Porte converted to a restaurant/cafe where you can drink fresh lemon juice - a delightful family run business witha multi lingual daughter. Well done Headwater another excellent holiday!

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mis Brooks on 03/05/2016

*****
It was really great because we made it so. Headwater played very little part. The last walk was inadequately replaced with no warning or alternative. The second hotel was silly. You did not get a proper breakfast you had to pay extra. It was not to the standard of the other hotels was a strange choice. At the 3rd hotel there was nothing to do. We could not walk due to the weather. So this too was a strange choice. There were no reps what so ever. It did seem very expensive for what was provided. The taxi company used was excellent we were lucky to have the same driver 3 times. He really was wonderful with lots of recommendations for us. His name was neillo please pass on our regards.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Saunders on 25/04/2016

***#.
We very much enjoyed our holiday. The walking part was not as good as many we've experienced with other companies. This was partly because of its discontinuous nature - walking the Vermillion Coast with Sherpa gave us a full, continuous walk from the start in Colliure to the end at Cadaques. And apart from the 'Path of the Gods' and the walk from Ravello through the valley with the old iron works and paper mills, it was, in parts fairly mundane, particularly the last section to Sorrento. Our extension enabled us to see Herculaneum and Pompeii, and climb to the top of Vesuvius. We also took trips to Capri and to Napoli. So, all-in-all, the holiday was a great success. However, we would have been prepared to pay more for something that was slightly more interesting - better walks and better hotels. Having said that, the Luna Conventa was magnificent! Although the Capodimonte was very good in most areas, many English people we spoke to thought the quality of the dinner very disappointing.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Tonner on 20/10/2015

*****
Transfers were seamless - friendly drivers and always on time. Good variety of locations and hotels. We feel that we saw most of the Amalfi and Sorrentine peninsular because of the walks organised for us. And probably saw a lot of places normally not seen. We were a little disappointed that we were the only Headwater clients that week but it was apparently at the end of the holiday season. The weather although warm was unpredictable at times and we had one very wet day on which we had to abandon our walk halfway and catch a bus to our next hotel. The food arranged was varied and delicious. Sorrento was an ideal base from which to visit Capri and explore the historical sites of Pompeii and Herculaneum amongst others. We had an and extra couple of days at the Grand Capidimonte hotel which was in a good location to walk down to Sorrento and was the perfect place to end our holiday, it was excellent in every respect.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Ms Olson-williams on 16/10/2015

**#..
Disappointing

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Compton on 16/10/2015

*****
The Amalfi CoAst was beautiful and the walking challenging at times. There were a lot of steps on all of the walks. Our guide Lucia was extremely informative about everything and catered well with some who did struggle. Lucia was with us from breakfast all day and took the evening meal with the group.The coach drivers were very good, not fast and furious like most Italian drivers. Suggestions were given for our day off and a group of us went off to Heraculeum for the day by bus and train, a beautiful place to visit. The hotels were a very good standard with lovely views. The Bellavista had a busy road outside which was quiet at night, but the food was above standard and a wonderful choice every day. It was away from nearest village.The Hotel Garden had the best view and near to the centre of Ravello.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Jones on 16/10/2015

*****
It was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. The walks were varied and beautiful, sometimes challenging, but we coped. It was especially nice to have a local guide with insider knowledge of the region. The food was authentic and delicious at the hotels, and Lucia took us to very good local delicatessens to buy sandwiches or to excellent restaurants at lunchtime. We especially enjoyed the international group of lovely people.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Robertson on 15/10/2015

*****
Easy to book and everything arranged well. Headwater always have interesting hotels in lovely locations. A guided holiday adds so many interesting features to the trip and no worries about getting lost !

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Harris on 08/10/2015

*****
Our walking holiday on the Amalfi coast was wonderful. Our guide Luigi knew the area incredibly well and his knowledge and expertise was central to our enjoyment of every walk. He paced the walks well and there was always enough time to enjoy lunch or a coffee on the way! The 2 hotels had wonderful views and the food each night was excellent as was the company in the group. Overall it was a a great way to see the area and very relaxing as everything was so well organised. We would certainly choose a similar holiday again.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Black on 24/09/2015

*****
well organised travel. route descriptions were accurate and easy to follow. beautiful scenery and well away from the crowds

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Unsworth on 21/09/2015

***#.
A good holiday we both enjoyed. The hotels were in great locations, most with fantastic balcony views. Transfer between hotels was prompt in clean modern vehicles. The walks came with good route plans, occasional misleading directions, but no great dramas. Went through some fantastic small villages and great views, especially the walk of the gods.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Ms Best on 21/09/2015

***#.
The trip was very enjoyable, and was made more so because of out great guide. Luigi was helpful, knowledgable, well informed, and good company. The walking was interesting and varied, and, although the group had a range of abilities, it worked out well. It would be good to have some free time at Pompeii - I heard this mentioned by several people in the group. The food in the 2 hotels varied in that the evening meals in Ravello were excellent, but the breakfasts weren't great. The staff there were very helpful. The breakfasts at Massa Lubrense were really good, but the evening meals weren't good, and were sometimes almost inedible because they were so salty. Some of the staff were very unhelpful also.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Ms Friswell on 17/09/2015

***#.
Had a great holiday overall with good food and interesting walks. Loved the visit to Pompeii. Very much enoyed our stay at the first hotel, although found the second one too noisy as our bedroom was on the ground floor and had a busy road directly in front of the hotel. My experience with a guide (my first holiday with Headwater was self guided) was excellent. Luigi was full of really interesting information about an area he clearly loves. He was helpful, considerate and with a great sense of humour. He made every walk into something special and cant recommend him highly enough.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs McDonagh on 10/09/2015

*****
difficult to fault,made by extreme helpfulness from local agent,Liberata

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Lewis on 08/07/2015

***#.
A beautiful but very popular and busy part of Italy. Seeing it by means of a walking holiday is an excellent way of minimising the experience of crowds and seeing parts that most tourists do not see. Many of the views are spectacular and some of the foot paths are not to be missed. The end of June is a hot time and walkers need to be able to cope with that. All of the hotels provided typically friendly Italian service.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Johnston on 07/07/2015

*****
Excellent holiday. All arrangements worked well except initial briefing - see below. Local transfers were excellent.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Richardson on 07/07/2015

*****
It was unfortunate that, having made the booking for this holiday, when the maps and walking guides were forwarded to us, they had been incorrectly copied so that every even page was missing. It took a couple of phone calls to sort this out. Also took a bit of time to clarify travel arrangements to and from the airport. This made us feel a little vulnerable though, actually, the arrangements were absolutely spot on - all the taxis arrived on time and were of a very high standard. The representatives in Italy were exceptionally charming and helpful. The description of the walks was a little misleading as some sections involved quite a lot of climbing and, in one case, scrambling down a rather precipitous, overgrown gully with loose rocks and stones presenting quite a challenge. The evening meal at the Capodimonte was dire, especially in comparison with the Punta Campanella, which was absolutely lovely. Breakfasts at the Casa Albertina were poor and I have marked the location as 'poor' because I thought it was harsh to expect your customers to climb all those steps to he hotel after the most challenging walk of the holiday involving, potentially, the descent of 1,000 steps through Positana at its conclusion. You will note, however, that I would book with your company again, and am considering the cycle ride along the Danube for our next adventure! Your staff in the UK are, without exception, very charming. It was unfortunate that our walking guides were not complete at the outset but it was a wonderful holiday so thanks to everyone involved.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Carter on 17/06/2015

*****
This was our first holiday of this type and was not sure what to expect, the route notes given were easy to follow we were collected on time at airports/ train stations /hotels. The agents were excellent with a full briefing one in person and one over the phone and both came back to me with requests that I made for additional information. The accommodation throughout the holiday was of a very high standard, all very clean and with excellent quality of food. Well done Headwater we will have no problems in booking through you again. Nick & Sue Carter

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Jenner on 17/06/2015

***#.
We enjoyed the walking, loved the hotel in Amalfi which was exclusive and liked the hotel in Positano. However we were the only English amongst a large tour party of Germans in Marina del Cantone and the Hotel Capodimonte was ghastly, appalling, dreadful and full of low cost package holiday tourists and the dinner in the evening at the hotel made me feel closer to my grave.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Senior on 09/06/2015

*****
All the arrangements worked well, the route guides were, with one or two minor wrinkles, very clear and accurate, the maps and information were good, the drivers always turned up on time. The hotel in Sorrento was very centrally placed and convenient for the train station and the ferry terminal, which was important to us.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mr Sinclair on 29/05/2015

*****
Headwater holiday was well organised using good hotels, a totally superb guide and lovely walking routes - couldn't really ask for better. We enjoyed the walking, the guide, the food and will certainly have another holiday with Headwater

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Ms Peevers on 29/05/2015

*****
If you're a regular walker then this holiday is a lovely way to see a glorious coastline and visit Pompeii and Capri, all in 8 days but we never felt rushed. If you've never been on a walking holiday this would be an ideal first-time trip; good exercise but not strenuous and after your walk you can sit in a bar and enjoy a beer and that 'good tired' feeling. In Ravello and Massa Lubrense there are local buses which will take you back to your hotel if you've had enough for the day.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Ms Sternshine on 29/05/2015

***#.
As ever, well organised, well thought out. Reps taking time to 'read' the group and provide appropriate guidance. If you like to walk , a great idea as you will always be shown routes/trails that you would be unlikely to find otherwise. No wasted time on the holiday planning the next day/days. Really good food.Other people in group friendly & convivial. Would suggest anyone considering this holiday should be sure they are happy to spend a lot of time walking up and down deep stepped inclines as this describes most of the terrain.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Adler on 14/05/2015

*****
Wonderful walks and spectacular views.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mr Gibson on 14/05/2015

***#.
Excellent guide volume of ,steps hard going . Appreciate hills have to be climbed but a variation of routes to the top where practical ... Luigi did try to address as best he could. Prefer not to have dinners in hotels every night ... would have been nice to sample local restaurants in that evening. Second hotel was poor (food aside) . Broken mirror in the first room allocated . Broken shower head in the second, roof terrace grubby... bar not staffed.. beer warm . Out of town location by busy road was disappointing. Luigi made the holiday

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Constantine on 27/10/2014

***#.
overall most enjoyable . hotels certainly adequate but food could have been better . possibly wine & certainly water should be inclusive with meals . walking good but too much roadwork cf. trails/tracks off road . guide good . travel arrangements good .

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Higgins on 13/10/2014

*****
Could not fault Headwater for their excellent customer service and organisation. I'm not even going to look at other companies now for any future walking holidays.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Edwards on 10/10/2014

*****
Thought the walks were a bit tame. The best walking was on Capri where I stayed for 4 nights after this holiday. Suggest splitting the holiday between main land and island. Lots of trouble with bites. Lovely food Luigi was a great guide. I would like to do more intensive walking with him.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Makin on 06/10/2014

***#.
Travel arrangements were good, hotels were easy to find and all but one was well maintained. Walks were very well described, distances were not accurate and the number of steps was a joke but the walks were clearly described an the views were wonderful. We saw many rural areas of the Amalfi Peninsular that most people will never see, they don't know what they are missing! are missing The rest days are a very good idea and gave us chance to do several things we wanted to do, ie go to Pompeii and Capri, without the break I think that the last few days would have felt like hard work.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Abrahams on 26/09/2014

*****
Well thought through and excellent administration meant we could concentrate on our walking

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Ms Hall on 28/08/2014

*****
We had a marvellous holiday and really enjoyed the variety of walks and hotels, and the suggestions for days off. The area was so beautiful and arriving on foot in each town was magical. Minor gripes were: not hearing from the rep (we phoned her on day 2). She told us of a landslide and said she would send us an alternative route, but this didn't happen. We found the alternative route without difficulty. The maps for the Amalfi coast were not helpful (and one was missing). The route notes were sometimes difficult to follow (we had to learn to concentrate!). We became proud of our navigation skills. Thank you! Where next?

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Moss on 23/06/2014

*****
We have just returned from another very enjoyable holiday, all the hotels were very good, in amazing locations with fantastic views. I would definitely upgrade to a sea view room at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, especially if staying on longer in Sorrento. The walks were varied and we had no real problem with the notes. Could be challenging to some as there are defiantly plenty of steps, both up and down, in many places! Walking poles very helpful. But you are rewarded with the views and the hotels. All our pick ups where excellent by the local agent, and the rep phoned us on the first evening as promised. We know she was easy to contact if we needed her. So, overall, an good holiday exploring this part of Italy, Thank you again, Headwater.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Welham on 16/06/2014

*****
We had a fantastic holiday with Headwater and loved every minute of the walks which were well planned, with clear instructions. Everything worked as expected and it was a very easy way to walk the best of the area without any worries. Thank you.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Young on 12/06/2014

*****
Terrific holiday in with superb views, excellent food and wine with delightful walks.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Dr Goodman on 12/06/2014

***#.
Challenging walking, as described, in a beautiful area. Interesting countryside and attractive towns and villages. Excellent local guide with intimate knowledge of area, history and way of life.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mis Lloyd on 30/05/2014

***#.
It was an enjoyable holiday and the company was good. The first hotel is particularly well placed for Ravello and was friendly and comfortable. The second is a bit inconveniently sited and Lisa could have given more helpful information about public bus regime re tickets etc. However, she was a knowledgeable and interesting leader especially at Pompei. Walks were very gentle and Lisa chose routes with plenty of variety and interest.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mis Perry on 29/05/2014

*****
This is a lovely area of Italy and all the places we stayed were good. The travel arrangements worked like clockwork and the walks were lovely. My favourite Headwater holiday, so far.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mr Harrison on 29/05/2014

*****
Excellent trip and guide

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mr Robinson on 29/05/2014

*****
The Amalfi walking trip was spectacular . Our guide was local and knew all the areas we visited inside out. She was on first name terms with people we met along the way and kept holiday hassle free , no queuing or waiting for buses. Italian 3* hotels are of a very high standard , well located and friendly

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Bevan on 28/05/2014

*****
This was our first experience with Headwater although we have previously toured and trekked with a number of other companies. We were overall impressed, and would certainly consider Headwater for other walking or cycling holidays.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Ms Philliben on 19/05/2014

***#.
Great company to deal with. We were looked after very well indeed!

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mr Munson on 19/05/2014

*****
Our holiday was both wonderfully active and relaxing. Paola (our guide) was superb throughout facilitating bonding within the group and providing us with a good level of information about the places we visited. Paola ate with us on 6 out of the 7 evenings giving us 24/7 care and attention. The walks took us through dramatic scenery and were pleasantly challenging and yet achievable for our age and physical ability. We enjoyed the friendly family ran 'back street' pizza places and restaurants that we were taken to. Pompeii was of considerable interest and was well explained to us by Paola, although we could have, perhaps, spent slightly longer there than the 2 hours we did, perhaps an hour at the end to wander by ourselves to visit the amphitheatre or the café. Both Ravello and the Garden Hotel were superb.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Wyatt on 18/05/2014

***#.
Overall holiday was good. Never saw rep, although not really necessary. Big hotels at punta campanella and sorrento not great as they cater for the mass coach trip market and lose personal touch. We met inntravel (or possibly atg) walkers in punta campanella staying in small hotel which was idyllic. Luna convento excellent and set a high bar others did not come close to. Sorrento particularly disappointing as it was in chaos and couldn't handle the number of guests . It was the first time in 50 years travelling i have had to queue (30 minutes) for a dinner table. Food also left much to be desired. A smaller hotel in town might be a better bet and certainly more our preference

Headwater response

Dear Mr Wyatt, Thank you for your feedback. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your holiday overall. We were however sorry to see that you did not receive your welcome brief on arrival, this is usually carried out via telephone. We will ensure this is made clearer in our documentation for future customers. We were also sorry to see you were disappointed with some of the hotels you stayed in due to the size and lack of personal touch, wherever possible we try to use small and friendly hotels. I have passed on your feedback to our programme manager for their consideration. We would like to thank you for travelling with Headwater this summer and look forward to welcoming you on another of our holidays in the future.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Parsons on 16/05/2014

*****
Had one of the best holidays,but Paola was the icing on the cake.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mr Townsley on 16/05/2014

*****
Very well organised, beautiful scenery, good family run hotels wit authentic cuisine.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mr Goodchild on 16/05/2014

*****
Great scenery, fantastic local rep, wonderful views of the surrounding landscape and of course food in the lunchtime trattorias. Lots of walking down steps to the coastal towns though!

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Martin on 09/05/2014

*****
On our arrival we were welcomed by our driver Señor Russo who we found to be both entertaining and informative. Throughout our stay he was always punctual and reliable. Although we never actually met the resort agent she rang us to advise about adverse weather condition, diversions and alternative routes. Unfortunately we experienced poor weather but it did not interfere with our enjoyment of the holiday and we managed to complete the planned itinery. Overall all the htels were good and we were delighted to find our accommodation had been upgraded at the Pumta Campanelle where we had the benefit of a suite and a large sun terrace. We have only two observations to make to improve the holiday: (1) The cost of porterage at 3 euros per bag on arrival and departure should either be included in the holiday cost or guests advised of this in the holiday information. (2) the time of departure for the airport should be included in the holiday informattion to avoid guests having to make an educated guess based on flight times.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Ausden on 25/04/2014

*****
Could not be faulted to be perfectly honest, excellent accomodation throughout,well balanced walking itinerary, first class route notes and maps.The Amalfi coast was everything we hoped it would be and more, a great holiday.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Ms Parks on 25/04/2014

*****
Fantastic locations with carefully selected routes and hotels. Descriptions of the walks for for self guided tour where very easy to follow and very accurate.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Scott on 21/10/2013

*****
We had a lovely holiday on the beautiful Amalfi coast. Our guide Paula went out of her way to look after us and help us enjoy our holiday.Good walks. Ravello was a beautiful location and hotel with a newly opened swimming pool. The hotel in Massa Lubrensa was good and had alovely pool. Beautiful viewss over to Capri but very near a busy road with quite a lot of traffic.Thank you.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Bailey on 19/10/2013

*****
This was one of the best holidays we have taken with Headwater (this was our 5th). The hotels were both of a good standard which is not always what we have found previously (Jordan, Turkey, some of Croatia in Trogir and Bol). There was a bonus that Ravello hotel had just had a pool installed and this was excellent. The mix of walks / swimming and interest was perfect and the guide particularly helpful. One issue that was raised by everyone was the number of down steps there were on some of the walks. This was not good and affected the knees of us and many other folk....this should have been mentioned.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Waite on 12/10/2013

*****
Headwater provides an excellently organised walking experience - choosing breathtaking routes which are brilliantly and minutely mapped out. Quite the best walking holiday operator I have ever used.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Ms Osborne on 10/10/2013

*****
I loved the holiday. Some elements were to do with the weather and the beautiful location. However, other elements were thanks to Headwater. The guide was excellent and that was very important. I enjoyed the hotels and thought they were very good choices. The Massa Lubrense hotel wasnt as nice as the hotel in Ravello, but having observed the other hotels in the area, i thought it was probably the best available. i have had a quick look at the itineraries offered by other companies for the Sorrento peninsular and Amalfi coastline and didnt think they offered such an attractive itinerary. I was travelling as a single person (and was the only one on the tour) but found that it was very easy to integrate with the others as they were like-minded.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Dr Banyard on 23/09/2013

*****
This was one of our all time favourite holidays owing to the stunning scenery & the very high standard of accommodation offered. The walking schedule was relatively relaxed but the amount of step climbing might be daunting to some, though it would be easy to slow the pace if necessary and to take full advantage of the alternate 'rest days'. It was well worth the time and expense in adding a couple of extra days during which we explored Pompeii and Herculaneum and took a trip up to the summit of Vesuvius. The local bus & train services (although a little basic & crowded) were easy to use and efficient. Our dietary restrictions were catered for very competently and without fuss.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Brown on 14/09/2013

***#.
The major walks were excellent, views were superb and the route notes very well put together. The heat and lack of shade was the main problem, especially in the afternoon when the long 'downs' and many steps made for hard work. Your choice of bases for hotels was excellent as at all places there were plenty of opportunities to see the local sites using local transport which was very cheap. Our visits to Pompeii and Herculaneum from Sorrento were made even better by the fact that it comes free for over 65 EU citizens making for cheap days out when you consider that the return rail fair was at it's most expensive just over 8 Euros for the 2 of us! Extending our stay in Sorrento at the end gave us the opportunity to chill out at the excellent Hotel Favorita ( the icing on the cake in terms of facilities, service and comfort) and fit in the trips we wanted without being rushed at other times. Well done for putting together such an excellent package.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Gatward on 14/09/2013

*****
I've had 13 Headwater Holidays guided walking holidays now, and they have always been really enjoyable. I like the small hotels and groups of like-minded people, and although I travel alone I am always made to feel welcome. This was no exception, as Ulisse is an excellent and sympathetic guide, and the group of 5 English and 5 Australians was straightaway a 'team' for the week. The walks along the coast are beautiful. My only complaint might have been that the visit to Pompeii was not long enough (but then you really need a whole day), and the weather was too hot!

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Henton on 13/09/2013

*****
Our guide Ulysis was excellent in every way - cannot recommend him highly enough. It was our first walking holiday and thought we had booked an easy walking one. On checking after we found it was easy/moderate. For all that we managed and as my husband is 74 he found it challenging but so enjoyable. We would use your company again but would only go on guided holidays. One of the ladies in our group had been on 13 Headwater holidays but said the choice of guided holidays was less now.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Goodall on 13/09/2013

*****
This was our third walking holiday with Headwater and our first to Italy. Our hotels had fantastic views over the Almalfi Coast line and Capris as well as excellent food. Our guide Ulisse was very knowledgable on the history of the local area and looked after us all very well. A thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Turner on 07/09/2013

***#.
All the arrangements, transfers and pick-ups worked well with the drivers being friendly, helpful and always on time. All the hotels were of a very high standard with large rooms and excellent bathrooms. We had no contact with the representative over there but did not need any help anyway. All the walk instructions were very detailed and accurate and the only times we made errors was because we were talking and not concentrating on the instructions!

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Walker on 06/09/2013

*****
A fantastic holiday with excellent organisation, well-chosen hotels and superb walking route notes. Nothing ever goes wrong on a Headwater Holiday. Can't wait to see next year's brochure.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Ms Biagini on 08/07/2013

***#.
We were very disappointed that our walking itinerary was missing from the package sent to us, and we received it only at The end of our second day. We were also expecting to be welcomed by a headwater rep upon our arrival at Luna Convento Hotel, instead we had to call the help line to figure out what to do. Our rep Liberata, told us very bluntly that due to costs cut our briefing could only take place over the phone, with the line being cut every 3 minutes from her end. As a result ot this delay, we missed the visit to Ravello (supposed to be among the must see of the Amalfi coast) and nearly got lost on our first walk. In The hotel in Sorrento I had to sleep on a sofa dressed as bed for two nights, as we were given a double room instead of a twin. As a result I ended up with a bad back for the rest of the week! I would expect a bit more for the price I have paid!!!!

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Castell on 18/06/2013

*****
The itinerary was well structured and well organised. Pick up and transfers were punctual and efficient. Hotels were excellent - great locations, wonderful views, comfortable and with a high level of service. The upgrade to the Excelsior Vittoria in Sorrento - due to the Favorita being overbooked - was very much appreciated. We were also grateful that a transfer to Sorrento port was organised for us on the last morning.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Stather on 18/06/2013

*****
We stayed at the Royal Prisco in Positano (not the hotel on the questionnaire) and I cannot change the hotel name - but all comments on the Royal Prisco are 'good'. Neither did we stay at the Favourita in Sorrento - biut we did stay at the Excelsior Vittoria which was excellent in all respects.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Ms Priday on 17/06/2013

***#.
We had a lovely time marred only by the fact that 3 of the 4 hotels provided a double bed when we as 2 female friends sharing a room needed our booked twin beds!

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Turner on 24/05/2013

*****
Wonderful location, stunning walks and scenery. Had a great time with others in the group. Slightly disappointed that guide knew less about the local Flora than we did but she was very knowledgeable about history and architecture.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Plumb on 24/04/2013

*****
A very enjoyable holiday. we were particularly impressed by the taxi transfers and their good driving on difficult roads. Always hugely reassuring to be welcomed at the airport, and when the taxi arrives on time, indeed early! The hotels were far more luxurious than we expected, so a real treat.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Whitehurst on 17/10/2012

*****
Reference to Hotel La Certosa at Marina del Cantone is incorrect because I didn't stay there but there is no option to avoid entering a review in the questionnaire. The holiday was excellent but only contact with local rep was one five minute phone call which was disappointing. I think the the route needs to be revisited and the guide notes updated. It seems as if they were written some time ago and time has moved on. Nothing major wrong but a number of small errors.

Headwater response

Thank you so much for your comments Mr Whitehurst, we are sorry you found the walking instructions to be a little out of date in places. A member of Headwater staff has since re-walked the routes and made the necessary amendments to the notes ready for the spring departures.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Chapman on 06/10/2012

*****
Two of the walk days included much time spent on tarmac and although the roads and tracks were quiet it is not our preferred surface. However all destinations were superb with plenty to do and with great hotels. Do add in a couple of nights in Capri, its wonderful but expensive!

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Ms Clarke on 10/09/2012

*****
Overall we really enjoyed the holiday The information given to us stated that the local walking guide would telephone us on our first evening. She did not do this. The walks required 3 different maps but we only received one from you Written walking notes generally excellent except going into and out of Massa Lubrenese on the last walk when they were quite confusing and we went wrong several times The Conca Del Sogna was a real treat, we felt like millionaires having a drink on the terrace with no-one else around!

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Pessall on 30/06/2012

***#.
Good in parts, not so good in others

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Ms Lockhart on 23/06/2012

*****
it was the second time i had done the Amalfi walk and enjoyed it immensely both times, apart from one bad experience at hotel Prisco.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Ms Tonge on 16/06/2012

*****
Very good. Much enhanced by staying at the Vittoria hotel in Sorrento

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs Moncrieff on 16/06/2012

*****
Poor experience at Bay of dreams with drilling in kitchen at dinner and noisy digger clearing beach for a day. Generally good instructions for walking, but one day was very poor. Left instead of right etc. impossible to follow. Rep's crying baby made phone calls v difficult, but she was helpful. Haven't commented on some of the hotels, because they were not the ones we stayed in. Overall good holiday with annoyances.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Dudley on 11/06/2012

*****
Extremely enjoyable balance of exercise and relaxation/exploring The arrangements during the holiday seem to flow well without a minimum of fuss from any rep or guide.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mr Batty on 11/06/2012

*****
A really enjoyable holiday

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Anstey on 25/05/2012

*****
Lovely walking. Excellent hotels.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mr Dent on 19/05/2012

*****
Really good

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mis Puritz on 12/05/2012

*****
Wonderful weather, scenery, walking and archaeology. But bad flights times meant I was tired for a day or two when I got there, and, after all the walking as well, pretty exhausted when I got home again.

The Amalfi Coast Walk

By Mrs Spurry on 12/05/2012

*****
We had a wonderful time, enjoyed the company of the rest of the group, appreciated the knowledge of the guide and loved the environment.

Amalfi to Sorrento Walk

By Mrs McIntosh on 05/05/2012

*****
good but broke ankle on third day - driver Nello was fantastic help