Feefo - Independent reviews
1-800-567-6286

News | E‑news | Brochures | Blog | Contact us

Customer reviews: Independent walking in Austria

Here at Headwater we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can continue to develop and, where necessary, improve our services and ensure our walking holidays continue to be the best they can be.

Eveyone who travels with Headwater will be emailed a link to our post-holiday questionnaire where they can give us an honest assesment of all aspects of their walking holiday - everything from how quickly we answer the phone to how clean the hotels were - plus, of course, an overall rating and comments about their walking holiday.

Any feedback collected is posted straight to our website - totally unedited. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of our holidays, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Austrian Lakes Walk

By Ms Townsend on 18/08/2017

***#.
Excellent walks and good route plans, simple but adequate hotels

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mrs Cottis on 14/08/2017

*****
Excellent holiday, we were blessed with fantastic weather which made the scenery even more stunning! Good support from Colin & Jill. Walk instructions clear, hotels and their locations of a high standard. Summit of Schober (optional) not for the faint hearted - deserve a Gold star for completing it!! Highly recommend this holiday.

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mrs Webster on 03/08/2017

*****
we absolutely had a brilliant time, the most beautiful clean organised holiday. Fabulous walking, fabulous views, lovely swimming places. Super reps to help us who went above and beyond. The hotels were fantastic and for me the food spot on. Kids found the half board fixed menu a little tough, so some more options may have been helpful

Austrian Lakes Walk

By Mr Anderson on 21/07/2017

*****
What made this holiday for me was the briefing provided by the reps on arrival at the first hotel. Information about routes, local buses (and bus stops), trains and ferries helped enormously to make me feel at home in the holiday region. The daily updates by text were extremely helpful too. Well done to Colin and Jill

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mrs Lees on 10/07/2017

***#.
once the holiday was sorted out properly, everything ran smoothly. All the hotels were well located and the reps very helpful with suggestions for local activities. We had lovely weather and the scenery was impressive.

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr Bridge on 15/07/2016

*****
Austria is a lovely country and the people are friendly. We had a great time and enjoyed the walks. My advice to you and my only difficulty was because we choose Stansted it meant getting up at 3.am. This was ok but the problem was that when we got to our first hotel we were too tired to take in all the information that Colin and Jill gave us. Its not a complaint of them but if we could of had that information on day two after a good nights sleep it would of been better.

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr Soutar on 06/06/2016

*****
Such a beautiful area and we enjoyed the walks - even in mixed weather conditions! All the hotels were excellent - the staff friendly and welcoming and all meals and wines were delicious. There was plently to keep us occupied on our rest days. Altogether, a perfect holiday!

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr Schafer on 17/11/2015

*****
We took our trip in late August. The trip was very well constructed and we thoroughly enjoyed the mix of hiking and exploring days as it gave us a chance to enjoy the beauty and culture of the areas we were visiting. This was our first self-guided Headwater trip (4th Headwater trip overall). The local reps Colin and Jill were very helpful, providing updated route notes and suggestions for things to see and do during our hiking and off days. The route notes were accurate and easy to follow. The hotels were all very nice and with the exception of the Hotel Bergrose, were all centrally located. ( The Bergrose was in a beautiful, quiet setting 20 mins out side of town.) It was very warm during our trip (~32 degrees) so we had to sleep with the windows open. The central location of the hotels made for rather noisy nights and we ended up sleeping with earplugs. The hotels and food were otherwise excellent across the board. This is a wonderful holiday.

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr Severn on 24/08/2015

*****
Excellent - we had a fab holiday!

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr Stephens on 24/08/2015

*****
It is a varied holiday of mountains and lakes with plenty of opportunities for wild swimming and the potential for great photographs from high places. Some days are longer and / or more arduous than the 1 boot. Note that if travelling through Frankfurt airport, you may be subject to security and / or passport checks despite only being 'in transit'. Also, be aware that the gates between connections can be some distance apart, so the 1hr 20mins between flights that we had was just sufficient to catch the onward flight. Very good holiday although temperatures were higher than expected.

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr North on 10/08/2015

*****
Loved this holiday although the walking was quite tough. Because the weather on the first day of walking to another hotel wasn't good, the slippery, narrow path deserved a rating of more than 1+Boot. Maybe an alternative walk at a lower level for such conditions could be offered. We diverted off the path onto a logging track for safety reasons but this made the walk longer so still tougher than expected. For us most of the walks definitely needed the + as part of the rating.

Walking in Mozart’s Lake District

By Mr Ross on 00/00/0000

*****
Excellent hotels and locations,varied walking and many opportunities for sightseeing and other activities,even when the weather was wet. We particularly appreciated the locations of the hotels which allowed us to walk into the town?village in the evening. Logging tracks had obliterated some of the signs or trails in some forested sections. We mentioned this to our tour managers who were going to check. Generally the walking notes were excellent, without the need of the map. Such was the excellence of tour managers Jill and Colin, they just happened to drive by and pick us up as we abandoned a walk due to rain and were waiting for a bus!